Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Park South, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4 stars

124 East 28th Street, NoMad, New York, NY 10016, USA

#118 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1119 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the room was very small. No tea/coffee facilities. No ice machine - you have to request ice from reception. No fridge. Pretty basic for the price. Beds were very small.

    The hotel was near subway station and pretty close to everything. Reception staff and door staff were very friendly. Hotel was clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super helpful staff! Arriving at 7am from a red eye flight and knowing that check-out time is still not noon was a bit stressful considering the need to crash in a bed and shower. They were very helpful in trying to get us a room right before we finished our breakfast. Super grateful and totally a life saver!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -

    The coffee shop is basic & not great value, we didn't try the breakfast restaurant (which looks great) but lots of good breakfast choices in nearby establishments.The seasonal Rooftop Bar has an energetic atmosphere and great service (but get there early as it can get very full)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super freundliches und kompetentes Personal! Ask for Barbara!! Best recommendations ever!! Absolut gorgeous! Invested a lot of time and heart! Thank you so much!! Next time we’ll definitely stay at this place!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did run out of toilet paper, they should be aware as to how many guests are staying in the room

    Roof top would have been wonderful, hours should be extended to accommodate a more flexible schedule eg: 3pm-12pm

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was a little steep for a two night stay but it is midtown

    Awesome food in the hotel, friendly and helpful staff, noce location, comfortable rooms!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn’t have room service! There are no refrigerators in the rooms. Not even a coffee machine. You must go out to eat and drink.

    Excellent location, close to everything, line 6 Subway at the corner. NoMad is hype! The hotel has a fantastic staff - always friendly and willing to help. The two restaurants are very good and the Roof bar is an amazing place to have drinks with a view. The room is not big, but the beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator, coffee or tea in the room! It’s ridiculous in a room where there are an iron and a safe. I left my sports pants in the bath room by mistake. I am not sure if they would try to contact me for it.

    Location is grat! Restaurants are OK!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are redone and very modern and clean. Nice shower, bed, amenities etc. Very quiet as we were at back of hotel. Lobby could stand to be up graded. Good staff. Fabulous upstairs outdoor bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noticed smell from smoking area in the hotel sometimes made its way into the lobby. If they fixed this the place would be perfect.

    Lovely staff, couldn't be more helpful. Excellent location with subway just outside the hotel. Very comfortable and the food at the restaurant and cafe was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent location with a subway station in the same block and walking distance to many interesting places and restaurants. The room was small, but very quiet and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Wifi unstable and somewhat slow (On the 6th floor) If you are an early sleeper you might be bothered by the no ice from the rooftop (we rather went up there :) )

    Great location! (1 min away from metro) Amazing (friendly) Staff! Clean rooms Great Rooftop bar!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We received a great and very friendly service from this hotel and even got a free upgrade to a bigger room. Unfortunately 1 of the mattresses of the 2 double beds was a bid worn out. The rooftop bar is really nice and cozy and there are two restaurants in the hotel. The hotel was perfectly situated at a mid-short distance from midtown and downtown sight seeings and boutiques. Great hotel for a nice stay in Manhattan.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Upon entering the lobby, the first impression was that of an oasis of style and refuge in the city. The personnel were remarkably welcoming and helpful with directions and information. Over our weekend, we were able to enjoy the great location and metro access just a few steps from the front door. Wonderful foodie gems in the hotel and surrounding locale. The rooftop bar was a special treat. I would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent attention from the personnel who really helped us move around NY with their advice. Very nice hotel, specially due to its location. Maybe a bit pricey, the room was smaller than usual in the US (though pretty standard in size for an european hotel), but I think that comes with it being in Manhattan. The mediterranean restaurant was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late in the evening - 10.30 pm- after a long transatlantic flight and were unable to get any food other than pizza which was shocking. I can’t eat wheat and my 19 year old granddaughter doesn’t eat pizza, A few simple alternatives and the option for a hot drink would have been sufficient.

    Staff were extraordinarily friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms are a bit small, but very clean.

    This is the second time I am staying at Park South hotel and it was again a great experience. Lovely staff, very clean rooms, delicious breakfast and great location. Will definitely go again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the room was a little bit small, but I think the sizes in NYC are always small.. Roof top is closed in winter and we missed the opportunity to admire the view from there

    Perfect location, easy to find Nice room and clean Wifi works No issues all good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were so helpful Location fantastic, we were able to walk pretty much the whole of Manhattan from here. Rooftop bar was fantastic, only wish we had more time to enjoy it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the executive room is quite spacious, particularly for NY standards. large bathroom, and overall very nicely decorated. we love the Covina restaurant, it is very cozy, vibrant, and the food is great. the hotel location is very convenient near the subway, or walking distance to many attractions/popular spots.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three small things: - the smoke detector flashes all night, normal. But it was directly over the bed. Pretty annoying when trying to sleeep. - Free wifi was weak, normal for a hotel. I hotspotted the whole time. - The “Fitness Center” is a creepy little room in the basement. But! It did have all I needed for a little work out.

    Great place. Very friendly team, excellent location, delish food!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish the Rooftop Bar had been open. I was a week too early.

    The bed was exceptional!! I usually don't sleep well. I slept and I slept. One of the most comfortable mattresses I've ever slept on. The cleanliness was also exceptional. The staff was wonderful and extremely helpful. Check-in and check-out took at most 3 or 4 minutes, most of that spent answering my questions about the location. I am usually not effusive about anything, but this was an excellent hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi speed was slow.

    All staffs are friendly. The room was cozy and the bed was really comfortable. Location was great, and we can easily find many good breakfast near by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was hoping for a soaking tub as per room description. Instead the room had a shower. The good thing was the shower had a handheld shower head. The bad part was the water pressure was mediocre. There was also no room service, but the restaurant in the hotel was very good.

    LIKED: The breakfast croissant sandwiches, the coffee from Covina, the size of the room, the view, the doormen, when we asked for extra blankets etc, they arrived quickly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no room service, I was there for 6 nights and paid the same as a colleague who stayed in a far superior hotel in an excellent location.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, staff were so helpful and the room was a fantastic size and spotlessly clean. Would have no issues recommending to my friends and would most definitely stay again next time I'm in town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny rooms with a terrible view of someone's sex den. Absolutely ZERO amenities (not even a mini bar). The desk and door staff were very nice, but the reservations people were truly horrendous. My shower leaked, and there's no natural light, in addition to absolutely zero storage. Don't even get me started on the bed. Too many other complaints to mention here, I had to leave and find alternate accommodation. Easily the worst 4 star hotel I've ever had the misfortune to stay in.

    I am certain they have rigged the reviews on Booking.com etc. The location is reasonable, however there are plenty better in the city. The Redbury and HGU are just a stone's throw away but comfort wise, they destroy this hole in the wall, rundown dump by a country mile. Do NOT trust the photos!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window didn’t seal correctly but given warm weather wasn’t a real issue. Superior Queen is still rather small so don’t bring too much luggage.

    Location is very good; attached restaurant (Covina) and coffee bar is super. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water ran a bit brown in the sink and shower. Likely a city issue, but would have been nice to receive a warning from the staff if they knew.

    Old school candy at check in; the restaurants were both great (Oya was entirely overpriced, but lovely); the staff were kind, warm, and efficient; the room was well adorned, spacious, and quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your basic breakfast was $30....$30!!!! This isn't going to work well for your family and millennials. They will go elsewhere. In NYCthere is plenty to choose from. Keep your meals lower and you will discover more people staying with you and eating in your restaurant..

    Brad and Rachel were top notch. Location was excellent for on street parking on the weekend and off street parking was a good value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had more storage space. We were a family of 4 in a double, had to leave clothes lying around on the chairs.

    Staff very helpful. Excellent location. Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    Staff helpful and friendly. Rooms clean and comfortable.Had to stay extra days at last minute, no problem. Porter called a taxi and we got a stretch limo instead at taxi price, all the way to JFK from the centre of Manhattan. Beat that!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room was a little small, view of a light well from second floor not wonderful. Bill itemized the room costs only and not charges for meals, those showed up on my credit card and since we paid directly for breakfast and charged dinners to the room its hard to discern what the hotel charged and what we paid on the spot.

    Staff people were excellent, helpful and personally engaged. Doormen, friendly and always ready to assist. We like the cosy "library" with interesting collection of food and wine books, the fireplace and the wine.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have been a little more updated but not terrible.

    Staff were super lovely and helpful. Comfy beds. Great location. Not that I used the subway but the station was just outside the hotel. Great food - we had breakfast there most days. Would -00% recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was very nice, it is beyond my expectations. Lovely boutique hotel with great staffs, they are so nice from the moment you checked-in to checked-out. Definitely will stay here again if I visit NYC next time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are a bit too small. I stayed in delux type of room, but still it's quite small. WiFi does't work properly, you cannot rely on it if you need to work

    Location is very nice. everything is clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    the room representation

    This is the second time we stayed at the Park South. The first time the room was amazing and this time maybe due to the holiday season it was not a great room. But the staff totally make up for what was lacking in the room. Rachael is so amazing and professional- she made up for everything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds do not have mattress covers which we found bizarre. No waters or mini fridge in the room.

    The style, cleanliness, staff and food were exactly our style.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Views from the rooms

    Park South is definitely my go to place to stay in NYC. The rooms are elegant and comfortable, the location is slightly off the beaten path so it is quiet (for New York) but very close to the subway (1/2 block) so getting anywhere in town is easy and the staff is always courteous, professional and pleasant. I have stayed at other hotels in New York but the price, accommodations, location and service at Park South can’t bebeat

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very small, bathroom very small, no refrigerator, no coffee maker. Just really tight room. But I guess it is NYC.

    Close to where we needed to be.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small, but typical for NYC.

    The library was cozy after a long day walking in the snow! The attached hotel restaurant and coffee bar was amazing!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know this happens in other hotels too but my key card kept deactivating every day when I got back to my room. Pretty annoying when you’re tired but have to take a trip back down to reception to fix it every time you want to get into the room.

    The staff are a credit to this hotel. I travel to NY for work fairly regularly and will definitely stay here again. The Covina restaurant is awesome. Great food, nice atmosphere and friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    The location is very convenient, close to the subway. The room (executive) and bathroom is large for NY standards, very tastefully decorated and comfortable. The restaurant Covina is very cozy, fun, with high quality food. Overall the staff and service is great; the hotel also has it's own car service. Atmosphere of all spaces of the hotel we visited is more than pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room, beds a bit smaller than normal, the booking.com total price of the room did not include taxes meaning that the total amount we had to pay was approx. 320 USD higher than expected - you should be informed when you book the room. The taxi the hotel arranged for us to go to the airport when leaving had a high price: 85 USD plus taxes = 93 USD. Going from the airport to the hotel when arriving (yellow airport taxi) costed 65 USD.

    Good location, friendly staff, cosy fireplace relaxation area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating/air con unit was very loud when in use.

    Staff were amazing at the hotel. Nothing was too much to ask for! Always there to help, offer recommendations. Requested extra towels/robes for room, it was delivered to room within 5 minutes. Great service! Chuck, Jason, mario, the front desk team, door man all great guys! Size of room was perfect considering it has previously had poor reviews. The view from the room was not great but didn’t spend much time in room anyway so not a huge issue. Restaurant Covina great for food and drinks. Did the best English breakfast tea in nyc!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Initially the water pressure in our shower was poor. A call to the front desk and a visit from a handbyman solved the problem quickly. After that our room ranked among the best in our New York experiences.

    Generally a fine New York hotel, especially for the cost and comfort.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel Bar and Restaurant are really nice! The breakfast that is included with the room is a real sit down breakfast at the hotel restaurant and was delicious!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and noisy - the air conditioning was really loud and the windows very thin so let all the noise in. I had a very poor waitress in the restaurant.

    The staff in the hotel were fantastic. Good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was checked out the day before we were booked to leave, took us fourth five minutes of going up and down to re epitome before someone finally came up and took care of the problem so we could get back in our room for the final night. We were also told we could request late check out but the person we spoke to did say we had to do that before six am the next morning. Disappointing after multiple stays that were Always enjoyable,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was so small, hard to move around even with just two people. Sink was plugged for almost entire stay, we figured out how to fix it eventually ourselves.

    Staff was really nice, good location, nice bathroom products.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly overpriced for location and immediate neighborhood. While very convenient for our needs to mid-town, Union Square, Gramercy Park the surrounding establishments were surrounded by trash.

    Perfect location for our needs. Hotel & staff very accommodating. Enjoyed the Roof Top Bar very much our room key allowed us to skip the line which was an added benefit. Restaurant Covina looked very nice, didn't have chance to try.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room keys did not work several times. Also, almost all the tables in Covina (the house restaurant) were reserved and hotel guests had difficulty getting seated for brunch.

    The staff was great and had great suggestions for extra things to do!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are taking public transportation from the Airport, you need to transfer at a couple of staions. All the double bedroom didn't include the bath tub. So, I recommend you to make a comment about it when you make a reservation.

    I liked the service of the hotel. All staffs were very helpful and concerned. The room was gorgeous and bed was comfy. It was little bit small than I expected but still perfect for single person. The hotel was near the subway station. And surrounding area was safe enough. Reasonable price in NYC.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    See my full comments above. Good and bad.

    Room decor was very nice and elegant; however, the clothes closet was extremely tight. There was another "closet" but it contained a fold down/out ironing board. Bathroom amenities were very good but there was no "anti-slip" ridges on tub surface and nothing to grip if you slipped. We had two double beds for two women and found that the only place for luggage was against the wall beside bed. We asked for and received a small refrigerator for yogurt and cold drinks but this consumed another corner. I found other hotels in this area that average $200 to $250 per night so this stay at Park South was expensive averaging $400 per night. If someone was on expense account and traveling alone, I would recommend. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. Traveling at our own expense we were trying to keep food expenses to a minimum so we found other locations for breakfast and meals. We understand that the roof top is a great meeting place for young singles but the drink prices were outrageously expensive and there are better views. For the room price I believe there should have been an in-room coffee service since they do not have room service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee wasn't great and gym equipment was limited but that's to be expected in such a small space.

    Hotel rooms although small, were very well appointed and comfortable. As a lone traveller I felt safe here and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The roof top bar was lovely and meant I didn't have to wander too far for a drink in the evening!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms & fitness centre are perfectly nice but a bit small.

    The staff were really helpful. It's also right down the road from a subway station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was big enough but it was not comfortable at all. Rooms are advertised as being suitable for 4 people but this must be for small people since beds are small and are more or less comfortable if you sleep alone. Bed sheets were worn and torn. Not suitable for a 4 star hotel in the middle of the Manhattan. Air condition was loud and I can not imagine having this running 24/7 during the summer. You can open the window but it is very heavy and limited to have just a few centimetres available since it is blocked for safety reasons. Bathroom is renovated but with sliding doors which are not sound proof. The shower itself has a nice concept but the pressure is dreadful. Annoying behaviour started with a breakfast, claiming that we have breakfast for only two persons, we were three. After this was sorted out there is another non conventional habit. After you finish your breakfast (which was included in the room rate) you receive a receipt with a price of your breakfast and other additional items that you may have ordered. This way, the staff calculates the tip. For example, breakfast per person is 11 USD times 3 is total 33 USD even tough the breakfast is included, you have to base your tip on the "fake" amount. On the day of the check out, again they mentioned how we had only breakfast for two persons and not three and that they made exception. No you didn't, you just forgot to mention that in the Terms and Conditions. Some of the staff in the restaurant is just plain lost in the space. Some will bring you water immediately others need to be reminded. A rise and shine package includes orange juice and filtered coffee but if the waitress wants a bigger tip base, she will bring you a freshly squeezed juice at the price of 8,8 USD per glass not the juice from a container that is included. Don't care about the tip system in USA, this is just bad practise and a system how to get out of the customer as much as possible.

    The location of the hotel is really good. Liked the a la carte breakfast order even tough there was a limited choice what you could get. Most of the hotel staff is helpful and willing to assist.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small issue, wardrobe space limited.

    Cleanliness, quality of room and roof top bar. Excellent food in the Covina restaurant. Staff knowledgable and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    I would have loved a coffee maker in the room!

    The staff are outstandingly helpful and very friendly. Business area with a printer which is very useful for printing out tickets, boarding passes etc. Rooftop bar and good restaurant and bar on the ground floor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cooling and heating system in the room has a very noisy fan. I was glad I could open the window so I didn't have to have the fan on.

    Great to be able to open the window and get fresh air rather than having noisy fan and A/C. Staff are fabulous, and the barman too. Also a graat location and a good vibe.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff indifferent.needed stamps .got no help.when I checked in the room.nocoffee maker.no info on hotel.no menue.i would not go back for the price.

    The area.the AC was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had issues with the elevators at some point during our stay which meant we had to take the stairs which were quite steep. The view from some rooms will not be great, my view was a brick wall but I'm guessing that depends heavily on the type of room you choose.

    The room was extremely clean and comfortable. It looked exactly as advertised on booking.com. The staff at the front desk as well as the doormen were very helpful and friendly. The location of the hotel made it easy to walk around to explore new restaurants and shops. The WiFi speed was also quite fast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food was exceptional in the restaurant the first night after a 5 hour delayed arrival from Alaska due to storms in Newark and rerouting to Syracuse to wait it out. (Alaska Airlines was truly fabulous with passengers!) Hotel staff (desk, door, housekeeping, restaurant) were very friendly and accommodating. Room was comfortable and well planned with desk, chair hidden cubbies for the iron, board, safe, extra towels, tissues, etc. Great use of space in NYC. Grew up on 31St and then Stuyvesant Town so I was very familiar with the area and knew I could walk anywhere. Easy access and transfers on any bus or subway if you prefer rides to miles and miles of great exercise. Knew also that daughters and I could shop and eat until we dropped. Bargain, as well as high end, shopping galore. Even a really terrific fresh bagel, pastry, coffee shop two doors down from hotel entrance, Starbucks (less than 2 blocks east) and an organic coffee shop (less than one block west). If you can't actually live in NYC, you need to visit the Park South Hotel whenever possible. You will not be disappointed. We will return!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very minor things, like shower-head not moving ; it gets a little uncomfortable in a small shower. Also, the a/c unit was too powerful even at low settings for the room size and I had to turn on and off pretty frequently to keep temperature comfort. A minibar would have been a nice bonus.

    location, very good price/quality ratio, small but comfortable room, very friendly and helpful front desk staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Noisy climate control both inside the room as well as in the hotel courtyard which was sometimes disturbing at night, it must be said though that the room temparature was nice given that we were there during a heatwave.

    Good location in mid Manhattan close by subway. Friendly staff, clean hotel, good breakfast. Dined once in the hotel, which was good too. Good beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom was a little small, and shower wasn't super clean.

    We were upgraded to a king size room, it was such a great treat. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, staff was amazing. We checked in on a super hot day, and the front desk staff made sure to let us know about fresh lemon water that was available, the perfect afternoon pick me up!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A bit small rooms, we had a room for 4 and there was no room for suitcases. Roof top bar was closed at 10 Pm. Very expensiv breakfast. Not that many restaurants in the neigbourhood

    Location, near subway, calm and quiet. Very comfortable beds

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in a small room this time. The price was great, but compared to the room with two doubles that I had last time, it was tiny. (However, this was a VERY quick visit...and it had everything I needed.)

    I love the Park South! I've stayed 3 times for business, and I love being on a busy side street with local regular city food options and more upscale event dining both right there. The rooms are great. The smaller ones are perfect for a quick sleep. If you're spending more time in the room, I recommend getting one with two doubles or going for a larger room size. The bigger rooms are truly large for NYC. Covina is delicious!!! I had dinner there during the last two trips. The rooftop bar was much better during my first stay. It was much different on my second, and I didn't even go up there during my third stay. However, the view up there is wonderful. Overall, this small hotel is friendly and awesome and I'm sure I'll go back for business or personal again and again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    I stayed here for the second time after a three year gap. They were kind enough to give me a lovely large accessible room at the back and convenient for the lift to the excellent roof bar. Staff were very helpful and welcoming. Wifi was good although I did have to login in many times a day as it didn't seem to remember me when I left the hotel. Location near Madison Square is great, very quiet but only minutes from Macys and Empire State, and a short walk to Times Square and Chelsea. Also convenient to get downtown to Liberty Tower, Wall St, Helicopter tours and Brooklyn for the amazing walk over the bridge (do it at night). Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping. One day my towels had holes in them. Another the tea and toiletries weren't replaced. Toilets in lobby weren't clean. It was hit and miss in this area and for the price I do not expect that.

    The restaurant (pizza was outstanding and New Yorkers who worked nearby ate there too), the roof bar, the lounge areas and the desk staff. Great subway approx 50 metres away. Easy enough to walk to from Penn Station (20mins). $10 cab rides home from theatre. Excellent restaurant across the road (Sotto Suolo on 27th Street).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was very comfy, the fruit bowl was exceptional and the tea menu was exciting! You stood out and I will recommend you to my friends who travel!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Queen room was a bit small, possibly the norm for Manhattan. Book King room for a decent size.

    Location is perfect. Right next to metro and easy to walk around. Super helpful and friendly staff. Clean and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were extremely pleasant and endlessly helpful. The beds were very comfortable, as were the pillows. The hotel is very clean. There was a problem with the air conditioning after we had booked in and it was sorted quickly and efficiently by Lewis, who gave us an upgrade for the inconvenience of moving rooms. The situation of the hotel makes it easy to get around. We enjoy walking and it was in walking distance of Times Square, Central Park etc, although NY was experiencing a heat wave so we felt drained! The roof top bar was a bonus. The food, especially breakfast, was delicious. A couple in our party were going on to Canada and had to redo their eTA. They were able to use the hotel's computer and printer to do it easily. Very pleased we booked it, thank you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The a/c was close to the bed but wasn't noisy. I was alone so I could sleep on the other side.

    Staff was amazing, room was comfortable and very quiet. Newly remodeled. Great deli next door. Wine store down the street and Walgreens around the corner. Subway just down the block and buses that ran uptown and downtown. Walk to midtown was possible too. Elevator was fast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our room was very small and the air conditioner in the room was too much for such a small room so it was either extremely cold or hot.

    Such a nice hotel, and very lovely staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: