Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Peery Hotel, an Ascend Hotel 3 stars

110 West Broadway , Salt Lake City, UT 84101, USA

#34 of 69 hotels in Salt Lake City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 345 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Very appealing entrance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC exceptionally noisey. The night concierge who greeted us at 0330 did not address us by name!!! He asked if we had a booking??? A little strange I think. He should know to expect us and greet us by name, I believe. Again we left at 0300 only to discover our train was cancelled. Surely the concierge could let us know this!!! So we did a taxi trip to the train station and back again at 0333!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Very appealing entrance. Clean spacious and tidy. Water coffee available 24/7. Room and bed good size. Bathroom nice and large. Didn’t really have much contact with staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very small. The sink was in your face when using the toilet. They couldn’t find our reservations that we booked on booking.com.

    The bed was very comfortable. Clean room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Our room was small but functional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was small but functional. Everyone on the staff is very friendly and helpful. The Carnegie Pub attached to the hotel has a great staff and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We had breakfast there every morning and loved it. Parking was the only thing we felt could be improved. The hotel has no parking of its own, so you must pay $15 a day at a private lot next to the hotel or feed meters on the street. Only a few blocks away from Temple Square.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Comfort and elegance I thought were things of the past
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm a nostalgic traveler – I long for the days when air travel was dignified and elegant, when a train trip included fine dining with china plates, linen napkins and real silverware, and when hotels were luxurious places with excellent service and every comfort. The Peery brought my fantasy of the elegant and refined travel of the past to life. It's a beautiful historic hotel with high ceilings, dark polished woodwork, and a grand, deeply carpeted staircase (also an elevator if you prefer). Beautifully maintained and updated, furnished with style and taste, spotlessly clean, with thick soft towels, heavenly comfortable beds, an elegant bathroom with glass and tile shower (yes, plenty of hot water), and competent, caring service with a touch of formality. The hotel restaurant, which also provides room service, serves exceptionally delicious food – some of the best meals we've had in years of travel. All for very reasonable prices, in a location near everything in downtown SLC. I didn't know such elegance in a hotel still existed. My only regret was that our two-day stay at the Peery wasn't longer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    Great spot to stay while you visit SLC!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking lot.Have to use the lot next door which was a minor inconvenience. Parking lot had plenty of spaces and was inexpensive. This was the only thing that I could think that wasn’t great about The Peery hotel.

    Comfortable beds with high quality thread count sheets. design choices appreciated. Large room with high ceilings. Very clean .Across the street from High Point brewery which actually had quite decent food for a brewery. Only stayed one night but definitely would come back next time we travel through on our way to or from The Teton’s

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Perfect way to spend our wedding anniversary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because our room was on the top floor on the corner, our room was unable to get below 77 degrees during the day.

    The bed was extremely comfortable. The location of the hotel is within close distance to so many great restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.8
    Nice Lobby, but the rooms are not that comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small room loud during the night (bar playing loud music) the inlet of the bed was not covered in sheets

    Nice entrance and lobby, very stylish the hotel is in the City Center of SLC and malls and nice cafes and restaurants are in walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful, historic hotel in the heart of Salt Lake City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is not included. No pool. Bath tubs need to be replaced/refurbished.

    Beautiful, historic hotel in the heart of Salt Lake City. Amazing value for the price. The hotel is gorgeous. Staff is very friendly. Walking distance to restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    Staff were nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bathroom with hair in the sink and floor. Bed jad hair as well, with feathers all over the place. I told the front desk about it. After housekeeping came hair was STILL on the floor and feathers were still everywhere.

    Staff were nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Best plan in SLC!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved everything!

    Employees have been adorable as I arrived so in late for a delay of my train. Rooms are clean, the bed is super confortable, there is a cozy bar and restaurant and the location is perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    The location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside to this hotel was the parking situation. The hotel does not have a designated parking lot. Parking in the lot behind the hotel is semi-secure but is metered and is $15 for 24 hours.

    The location was fantastic. A short walk to temple square and all of the surrounding areas. The hotel is incredible. The architecture, design and facilities are amazing. The bed was extremely comfortable, the shower was great and the staff was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Great for couples, business travellers, and singles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    AC was pretty awful - it was warm when we got into the room, even though the AC was set at 70. Bumped it down to 68, left for a few hours, and noticed it was about the same temp as before. Also - replace the luggage carts! Pretty sure they've been with the hotel since 1910 too.

    Hotel embraces it's historic status, and the results are beautiful. Impressive lobby, lovely grand staircase. Rooms are cozy small, but we had enough space for two and a fair amount of luggage. Bathroom is also snug, but accommodates two with a little squeezing. Never heard a peep from the adjacent guests, and slept well on the king size foam mattress. We didn't actually eat or drink at the bar downstairs, but the selection of liquor was pretty impressive and had we gotten back before they closed, we would have popped in for a nightcap.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    The Peery Hotel, built in 1910 and recently refurbished, is...
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, however, is noxious. The Peery hotel does not control the parking, the fees, or anything relating. And they do not have valet parking or discounts on the steep fees. Ascend would do well to address this issue.

    The Peery Hotel, built in 1910 and recently refurbished, is in a good locale, with plenty of nearby businesses and eateries. The hotel was refurbished excellently, with luxury furnishings that appear to be period.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Modern eclectic style is beautiful and lots of restaurants...
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is very tiny. Toilet is situated too close to the tub. Sink is outside the bathroom. It’s very inconvenient if traveling with other people

    Modern eclectic style is beautiful and lots of restaurants in walking distance. Parking lot not owned by hotel but next to hotel it’s convenient enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable one night stop over in downtown SLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The basin in the bedroom was strange. Room quite small. Dirty windows. Check in staff and check out staff could have been more friendly. It appeared as if they were not too keen on their job. Expensive parking in next door lot. Very loud A/C.

    Location. Nicely decorated. Clean room and common area. Comfy bed. Coffee available in lobby all day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay when in SLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    LOL...never did see or hear the ghost! :-)

    Beautifully renovated property, excellent staff, great restaurant on site, easy access to downtown area, great value

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.0
    No sleep - too noisy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking (site says there is), the air conditioning didn’t work, the rooms are tiny (the bathrooms microscopic) and the noise carries so much - the party in a guest room until 3:30am meant we didn’t sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice area and beautiful building.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive parking, Friday/Saturday the area, so parking, is crowded. My room was towards W Broadway and it was loud due to music from the other side of the road of a pub. At the Carnegie restaurant which is part of the hotel the staff wasn’t able to serve breakfast as ordered on one of three days. The place was never full or packed!

    Nice area and beautiful building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    convenience to capitol theater. Hotel nice
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Business center was not connected to internet. Could not print boarding passes. Desk offered no assistance to get it working

    The old charm architecture and decor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Will stay again
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is a quite hotel, with antique design, the front desk are very helpfull people. They have spanish spoken at the restaurant and very nice to. Also close to the light train and restaurants. Good Wifi!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Absolutely wonderful. Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere and decor in the hotel Was absolutely adorable, the staff was so friendly. A special thanks to our Bartender/server Alicia who maintained a very friendly and professional dining experience! We will return for sure

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.7
    A work in progress
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Another stand or shelf was needed in bathroom...

    The building is old and while the furnishings were new and attractive the room was noisy due to the old pipes. Paint was wearing off doors.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    It's a quaint, reasonably comfortable place for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The thermostat must have been broken in our room because it was BOILING hot. On top of that, I was charged an extra $100 in housekeeping fees because of a bit of confetti on the ground in our room. I understand that vacuuming might have taken a little longer, but $100?! Seems ridiculous.

    The location is excellent. It's within walking distance of many great restaurants and Temple Square. It's an iconic, historic hotel with an old-timey feel. The front desk staff was so kind and accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Perfect week-end getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Offer of additional $6 breakfast advertised on Booking.com site, wasn't available at the hotel at time of check-in any more. Not really the hotel's fault, though, I guess.

    Wonderfully comfortable bed, good location in hotel. Great location downtown. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.9
    Over all we had a very nice stay. The bed was comfortable and the room and bath were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    When checking in the clerk was very cold and unfriendly. We also bought some water and snacks hours later and he was just the same way. No personality. Wished the parking was better and that you didn't have to pay $15 to park there overnight.

    The room was rather small but comfy and clean. I loved the fact that is was built in 1910 and still had that old time charm! I would stay there again and recommend it to others!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.1
    The bed was AMAZING.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view from our room was so lame. It was looking outside across to the other windows of the building. If you want a nice view, I guess you have to specify. I asked for something special and romantic because it was our anniversary, but I guess there was a miscommunication. We also didn't like the fact that we had to pay for parking and the hotel didn't offer any alternate solutions. We spent about $45-50 dollars on parking alone. I feel like the hotel should have it's own lot or at least a solution so that you don't have to pay $15 a day for parking.

    The bed was AMAZING. Seriously the best nights sleep I've had in a while. I loved the old architectural feel of the building. Had a lot of character. The lobby was beautiful and cozy. They had water, tea and coffee available. Had comfy chairs that you could sit by a fire.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.8
    Wished we had stayed somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No parking. Had to pay to park. No heat, had to have space heater in room. Bathroom not very clean. thin walls, could hear everything going on in other rooms and outside. Did not receive a final bill. Room very small.

    Restaurant was nice, food was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    Added cost to park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just know that there is no parking. It cost $15 to park in the lot next door. Also there is no breakfast included. I probably would have stayed somewhere else if I had realized this.

    Very clean, comfortable bed, nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Other than the major parking irritations, the hotel really was wonderful with a great staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With all there is good to say about the Peery, the unfortunate downside was the parking. The hotel does not own any parking areas. All parking is either in a paid city lot behind the hotel or on the street, if available. If city or street parking fills up, you’re out of luck and may be forced to park blocks away and still pay for parking. Parking on the street is paid $2.00 per hour during the day and limited to four hours her stay, which is incredibly inconvenient when you have business meetings and have to I nterrupt your business and go out to move your car and plug another meter. The city parking lot has two options for parking. You can pay for seven hours for $7 or 24 hours for $15. There are no multiples for shorter or longer times or other prices. I used this lot and had difficulty with the card reader to pay via credit card. When I tried cash, it would spit out less than perfect bills and time out with money already in the machine. I lost $13 in the machine one evening. I spent hours on the phone dealing with the company to get my money refunded. I also told them they may want to replace the card readers in the payment kiosks. Another evening took me 30 minutes to get the card reader to read my credit card. The whole parking fiasco makes staying at what is a lovely hotel very irritating and terribly inconvenient, especially when trying to do business. You’re always worrying about paying parking fees. I would like to suggest that the hotel find a way to work an arrangement with the city parking to allow guests to park there and collect parking fees as part of their hotel charges, which they can then pass on to the parking company. It would save guests wasted time dealing with flawed meters and having to interrupt their activities to constantly worry about whether the parking will expire and having to move their cars for feed the meter again. It would also go a long way to enhance business for the Peery hotel.

    Hotel staff were very nice and helpful. The hotel has a restored vintage look, which makes it look quaint and inviting. It is an historic building. Foyer is lovely and a nice place to relax and sip available free hot tea, coffee or hot chocolate. The room was very nice, although small. It reminded me more of a European-style room because it was so small. The bed was outstanding. Very comfortable with memory foam. Small shower stall in the bathroom but no bathtub. Hotel restaurant offered guest discount on breakfast and the food was very good. The atmosphere was wonderful. Everything clean and well maintained. I stayed five nights and grew to really love the place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Bed was super comfortablr.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms was too dark to easily work at night. Internet never worked in either my room or common areas. Restaurant advertised as open til 10 but I was was told the kitchen closed at 9 when I tried to order food. Pizza is a staple on the room service menu but when i tried to order I was told they were out of dough. Sodas were 2$ a can in the lobby.

    Bed was super comfortablr.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    6.3
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I accept that it is an old and boutique hotel but super small room, poor lighting, small bathroom, no chair other than a small hassock in the corner. Stayed one night but would not return for a stay of more than one night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Very comfortable and lovely hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't intend to watch much tv while staying but I turned it on and there was a blank menu page and static. Maybe something to look into.

    Very comfortable and lovely hotel! Nice lounge area in the lobby to sit and work. And I loved finding the bathrobe in the bathroom!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.8
    Beautifully decorated, comfortable and stylish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking... it's a paid lot that is $15 a day. They don't validate or even tell you that it is a paid lot before booking. We went to check in, asked about the parking, we were told it's a paid lot. We went out to pay and already had a $25 ticket. We were given breakfast tickets for their restaurant, told they were included with our room. They were not vouchers for breakfast, but discount cards that took $2.50 off the meal. The food was ok, but thinking I was getting a free breakfast and then paying $20 instead was disappointing. We only used the card one morning and walked to a much better restaurant down the street for breakfast.

    Beautifully decorated, comfortable and stylish. Wonderful neighborhood, easy to walk to shops, restaurants and everything we wanted to do in the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel with fair rates and great location. Make sure heat/air conditioner is working.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't get the heat/air conditioner to adjust. The room was 80-85 degrees all night. Would have been helpful if we would have known at "check in" to shut it off since it's run off of solar panels and wasn't working properly. It was the maintenance man the next morning that informed us of the information in how to have made it so we could have got a good nights rest.

    The hotel is absolutely beautiful! I loved the renovations to make it modern, but yet it also has historic, nostalgic feel to it as well. I liked the convenience of the location as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful and Comfortable Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small. As a single traveler, this didn't bother me much, but everything was tight as a result. Particularly the shower, which was only about 1.5' x 2.5' wide by maybe 6.5' tall, its definitely tight in there. If traveling as a couple, I would suggest asking for one of the larger rooms. Also, I stayed on the second floor and there was this constant pulsing I could hear coming from somewhere in the ceiling above the bath area. I have no idea what was causing it, maybe the heating system? Anyways, it caused the mirror in my room to rattle and I had to wedge a washcloth between it and the wall to get it to stop. Additionally, when the heating or fan kicks on, it is loud. I couldn't sleep with it on. Fortunately, the weather was nice while I was there and I didn't really need it.

    The hotel is beautifully restored while still managing to keep its historic feel. The bed was comfortable and the staff friendly. It is located only a block from a light rail station which took me everywhere I needed to go, and there are numerous restaurants and bars within walking distance. The City Creek shopping center, Temple Square and several theaters are also within walking distance. The capitol building is a bit of a tougher walk, but I managed it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Good staff, clean, excellent bed, tiny and crowded room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was almost same size as bedroom. Maybe too large? No hook or towel rack anywhere tub/shower—should I throw clean towel on floor or walk wet ten feet across room to fetch towel? All that empty bathroom space also means there are no armchairs in room; sit on bed, on floor, or on the one desk chair (about 3 ft between desk and chair 😕

    Bedside lamps included outlet and working (!) usb charging port. Loved the bed and the plethora of pillows.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    enjoyed the stay at a nice botique hotel in the heart of salt lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    thermostat is either heat (winter) or ac (summer), so if its hot in the room don't set ac and turn on the fan - it will heat it further. turn it off and let the room cool down on its own.

    beautiful hotel at a very reasonable price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Highly recommend the Perry!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The downside of 'historic charm'...old doors that are not too soundproof. Also, cleaners vacuuming the lobby Sunday morning as I was enjoying said charm.

    The historic charm cannot be overstated! So fun to sit in the well appointed lobby and think about all who came before. Good bar right off the lobby and a nice little attached restaurant (Carnegie's) with good food and service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.1
    It was OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and seemed cramped. Next time we will pay a little more for a hotel even closer to the arena.

    my wife absolutely loved the mattress. It was very firm memory foam. We chose this property because it was fairly close to the Vivint Smart Arena.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful surroundings, great updates to a historic hotel... noise level within the room sucks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was smaller than expected, which was fine. However, there was a obscenely loud clicking noise every 30-45 minutes, so I was awoken several times throughout the night and was started a few times thinking that someone was trying to get into the room since it sort of sounded like the lock on the door being engaged. NOT COOL.

    The staff was great, friendly, warm, funny. I loved the character of the Hotel, and the history. Beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Small town hospitality is a Metropolis.
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On the negative side the Wifi was not fast enough to stream movies online. this difficulty was not enough to ruin our trip or to give us a negative opinion of the hotel.

    The staff were charming and very accommodating. The hotel offered a more personal experience than the large super hotels that were only a block away. I appreciated the breakfast options. Instead of offering a buffet they instead had coupons that reduced the regular cost of breakfast at their restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    My second stay here was just as great as the first!
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    A/C never got the room below 75 degrees, which wasn't a huge deal, but we like our room a little cooler.

    The bed and all it's accessories were very comfortable! The hotel also smelt very nice and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Quaint and quite the bargain
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some issues with thermostat but staff promptly resolved

    That it was a suite, felt like it had a story to tell, was convenient location and the awesome staff. Oh and the inexpensive breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    I really enjoyed my stay. Everyone was wonderful and let me change my room to one with a bathtub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had trouble numerous times with the card key opening the room door.

    All breakfasts I had there were wonderful. The yogurt and fruit plate were presented very attractively. The eggs and sausage were also wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    It was enjoyable.
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains let in way too much light, especially in our corner room. Once maintenance switched the heater on, it was warm, but the heater was very loud.

    Everything was clean and comfortable. The pub downstairs is amazing.and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They had great recommendations for restaurants and transportantion.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    We can recommend this hotel to anyone who needs / wants to spend some time in the downtown SLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast included.

    Excellent downtown location, close to the major SLC attractions. Car parking around a corner is not too expensive (12 bucks for 24 hours). We had two rooms - both quite spacious and well equipped. Everything one would like to expect in a room! And the price was good!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    The bed was very soft.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was small. Sink was in main room, not in bathroom Fridge would be nice.

    The bed was very soft. Liked the historical charm but modern updates to make it feel clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    I WOULD RETURN...COLLECT GOODIES AT CHECK-IN. AVOID A GROGGY TRIP DOWN THE STAIRS IN AM
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I BOOKED FOR MY WIFE AND I (2 ADULTS) BUT AS USUAL, 1 OFFERING OF SHAMPOO, CONDITIONER. ONE REGULAR COFFEE (TWO DECAFS...WHAT'S UP WITH THAT?) ONE PACKET OF SUGAR/CREAMER... HEY! NOT EVERYONE TRAVELS ALONE!

    THE BED WAS AWESOME

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel - different from the usual chains but the Carnegie restaurant needs to up its game
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast restaurant "Carnegies" wasn't great. Service was insincere and slow. Got our breakfast order wrong and received the bill before we'd even finished - overpriced too

    An old hotel recently modernised inside so it had style and a change from hotel chains that all look and feel the same

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    central location downtown, able to walk to the theater,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    central location downtown, able to walk to the theater, malls, museum, restaurants. beautiful, historic building, air conditioner not the best but probably par for the age of the hotel. hotel bar and restaurant very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.3
    Great historic hotel, horrible service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though their website said they had 24/7 check in service, I called ahead because our plane didn't land until 11:30 pm to confirm that we would be able to check in past midnight and was told that wouldn't be a problem. When we got there the doors were all locked and there is a sign that said to ring the bell after 12pm to enter. There is no bell. There was no one visible in the lobby so I called the hotel to get the voicemail. So I resorted to banging on the door. After about 10 minutes the lobby attendant came out and gave me the "I'm on the phone" hand gesture. I held up my phone to show that I was trying to call the hotel and it clicked and he came over and let us in. Didn't hold the door for us with all our bags because as we were being let in the phone began to ring so he rushed to the check in desk to answer it. Meanwhile I'm traveling with my five year old who's been in a car for 3 hours, on a bus for an hour in an airport for 3 hours and on a plane for 5 hours and I really just want to get him to bed after a long day. Fortunately the gentleman was kind and got us checked very quickly. In the morning we came and went through the lobby several times loading our baggage into our car. There was a bell hop and a door man, neither looked up from their phones to see if we needed assistance or to open the door. Not once. The desk attendant was on her phone every time we walked by. This hotel is so charming it really was unfortunate that the staff was not trained to do their jobs well. They were all friendly enough when prompted, but the had to be prompted since every single one we dealt with seemed to need to constantly be on their phone.

    The hotel was charming in its historic significance. Not a luxury or modern hotel by any means, but I like old inns and hotels, so I thought it was a fun place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Close to downtown SLC, comfortable place to stay near downtown SLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    "Business Center" was a room with a single, ancient, non-functioning computer and printer, one desk and a sofa and chairs. (Staff offered to let me use another printer...)

    Great location downtown, room was very clean, beds were quite comfortable, Bigelow toiletries and a great shower, plenty of towels for the four of us (2 adults, 2 kids)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Small but comfy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slighlty larger bathroom / vanity / shower would have been nice.

    Bed was very comfy. Accommodations are small but cozy. I would stay at the Peery again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Best historical hotel - everything excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything!

    This is the oldest hotel in Salt Lake City and was renovated in 2016. Charming old hotel that was renovated with a keen eye toward that history. Beautifully done and wonderfully cared for. Every single person who worked there was an excellent source for town/hotel history, where to eat, where to park, what to see. We travel a lot and we both said this could be our all time favorite hotel! We loved the ambience, the room, the mattress - everything!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful interiors!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff seemed unavailable at times. From getting valet, to checking in, getting help to take our luggage upstairs, to ordering breakfast, to checking out of the hotel... each step we had to wait for someone to arrive/pay attention that we were waiting for 2-5 minutes.

    The lobby bar was great. There was shuffleboard, a DJ, and the bartender, Mark, is your best friend. The single King room was clean and beautiful. Breakfast was also tasty

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.3
    Very good bang-for-your buck upscale hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decent hotel. Good location just off the main drag, but close enough where we really never needed our car. Nice and upscale design, decent gym, clean, no complaints

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Luxurious getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room doors are very heavy and hard to push.

    We generally book the Peery when we travel through Salt Lake. This old hotel has been vastly upgraded. Our room was wonderful, bed fantastic, bathroom pleasantly roomy. The staff is and has been consistently helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    5.8
    The Peery. Location good, service fair.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately, the hotel was out of coffee for the rooms during most of my stay which was extremely inconvenient. The last day I was there, the lobby was also out of coffee. There is no way to ensure the door can't be opened from the outside and the maid walked in on me the first morning I was there. The look of the rooms was very dull and there were snags in the cover and rough sheets. The first room they offered me had no closet. Fortunately I was able to move since I only had hanging clothes for my business trip. The staff did the minimum customer service, don't expect any extras. For the price I paid customer service should have been much better. My stay was disappointing.

    The location was perfect for me.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful downtown story.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there was hotel parking. Bathroom a little bigger. Pool and hot tub.

    Beautiful remodel. Loved the decor and style. Comfortable spacious rooms. Wonderful beds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    4.2
    Reconsider during colder months
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We checked in very late as our flight was delayed. There was no heat in the hotel. The guest services representative said there was no one on property at the late hour to fix our heart and they were sold out. He asked if we wanted a blanket. I requested two. They were old and ripped. The next morning I asked if we could use another room to shower because it was so cold (50's) and they offered to bring a space heater to warm up the bathroom. My husband and I both got sick after our stay there that night. We were refunded around $40. Definitely a disappointment.

    I didn't not like this Hotel at all.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    5.0
    Tiny rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are tiny. Way too tight for two people. While the decor and finishing were pretty, things were starting to get run down. The bed spread had pulls, and the shower grout was dingy and dirty.

    The staff was very friendly, helpful and prompt. The decor was beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.8
    Good stay in Salt Lake City
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy air-conditioning​ in bedroom. Noisy ventilation in the bathroom. Noisy water system i.e. Any water flow, washand basin, shower, lavatory cistern, all producer a loud rushing noise which is heard from other rooms and so, presumably, the noise from each room is similarly distributed

    Characterfull period decor, spacious comfortable foyer. Well placed for visiting historical areas.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Central and stylish hotel but choose a big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy air conditioner. Had to ask Reception for extension lead as plug in the bathroom badly designed and wouldn't take a plug with a converter on it. Small room.

    Very central. Nice lobby. Helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    A most pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything about the place.

    The building is historic and beautiful, starting with a huge, elegant lobby. Our room was smallish but with high ceilings and big windows. All the original wood doors and molding was like stepping back in time. We loved the place. Staff was excellent. Food in the adjoining restaurant was delicious and well priced.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.2
    Great choice in downtown SLC!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful! We were a big group and they accommodated all of our requests. Located right next to downtown Salt Lake City.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    6.3
    Good location, tiny rooms, mediocre service - not worth the price tag.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, while nice, was tiny. Service was mediocre. Wifi, while technically there, had such poor coverage and was so slow it was unusable. I had better service at $50 motels, and paid almost 4x as much to stay here.

    The location is excellent, right in the heart of downtown, walking distance to many restaurants and the theatre. Rooms are quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.6
    perfect stay in Salt Lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the city center, in a nice area with several restaurants. The rooms are beautiful and renovated. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    2.9
    We will not stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was not helpful. Air Conditioner did not work our room was 77 degrees all night and staff had no answers. Very noisy bar next door.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got a ticket in parking lot while checking in. AC valve had to be adjusted to get the AC to work. Front desk was very accommodating.

    Beautiful restoration, located in the heart of Salt Lake.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic location, ideal for city. Fabulous staff. Rooms a little small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room, fans very noisy and don't work too well as they were part of the old hotel heating system (the staff know this). Hence, maybe an issue in the summer when it gets hot.

    Great location, great renovation and all areas look fresh and impressive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    6.3
    Not the best bang for your buck
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were tinny! INCLUDING THE BATHROOM. For the money I think that I will go back to little America and get a suite.

    Design was nice. Enjoyed the old feel. Location to restaurants was nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    FELT LIKE I WAS IN 1922
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe just a sign stating how to turn the tub/shower on ... we had to call to get instructions, but that was minor.

    Great accommodations all around! Had a great night's sleep and was within walking distance to our plans the next day!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    Outstanding. Excellent. Best beds ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is outstanding. The guys at the front desk were very friendly, the mattress of our bed was out of this world. The rooms are very well done, with a nicely hidden bathroom. Great coffee maker. A lots of outlets to charge our devices. The building itself is old but very well maintained. I would have given this property an 11 if that was possible.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.2
    If you like turn-of-the-century (19th - 20th) architecture, you'll love staying at the "Peery."
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Next time we go to Salt Lake City and stay at the "Peery," I'll request a larger room with a bigger bathroom.

    For a 107 year old recently remodeled hotel, it is clean, grand and beautiful. Our room #219 was very small and the bathroom was tight. Most rooms, I noticed were larger. However, we were quite comfortable in our room and the bed was AWESOME! The staff were friendly and quite helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    8.8
    Cute little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny. Pictures on booking.com must be of the king suite rooms, not a standard king room. Parking was also a problem. While I expected to pay for parking I thought they would have their own lot or garage. They do not. There is a lot next to the hotel that is reasonably priced. However if there are any event taking place the price drastically increases and you will be lucky to find a spot at all.

    Staff was wonderful, rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: