Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pelican Cove Resort & Marina 3 stars

84457 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036, USA

#3 of 15 hotels in Islamorada

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 646 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The paddle boarding and activities included -at the resort.

    They charged us a different amount then what we booked it for though booking.com they said we couldn’t have the room for that price because booking.com offered us a wrong price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast area too noisey with a tvs and music all going at the same time. Would suggest more relaxing music and no tv. Also one day the lawn service was blowing the breakfast area while people weere still eating. Hard boiled eggs offered with continental breakfast....nice addition!!!

    Wonderful staff ,especially Fred ,the manager, of the beach area. Lots of water sports from kayaking to paddle boarding. Nice beach with kids activities. Nice bar and outside eating Dock next to property which maKes it fun to watch boats coming and going. Great views from most of the rooms. Fish tacos and rum punch excellent. Would return!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From check-in to check-out it felt like we were staying with family and friends. Duke & Kitty at the bar were amazing-drinks nice and strong! Tina & Mike(Manager)were extremely helpful when we checked out letting us know of traffic delays. Rooms were very clean & gave full views of the ocean!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa bed was uncomfortable but we didn’t complain. I did mention it upon check out and the receptionist told us that had they known they would have switched it out.

    The resort fee includes a lot of amenities like paddle boarding, kayak, snorkel gear , ping pong and they have a nice movie room with free pop corn.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No clock in the room. All the coffee pods were decaf. Safe did not work. Reading lamp did not work. And the TV did not work. A technician worked on the TV twice, it never worked. Breakfast room semi-flooded in the rain. At the price we paid, this is unacceptable.

    The ocean view was great. The people were charming. Breakfast was limited, but good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Resort fee a bit steep ($30\day) when you're paying the sort of price for this standard of accommodation.

    Great beachfront location, fantastic views from the seafront room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A third floor room is actually 4 flights so if you don't like stairs make sure to get a lower floor.

    Yenny the hotel receptionist was fabulous. Very fun!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didnt like the country music that played loudly every day, all day until midnight (or it felt like that). I think the resort would do better playing very low steel drum or Caribbean music . Not everyone want to hear country all day. It was difficult to sit on the beach and relax with that loud music playing all the time.

    The location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was included but it was far away from a tasty healthy breakfast. The same options every single day: bread, sugary porridge or sugary cornflakes. They didn’t even have a microwave in their breakfast room to make porridge properly. Quite disappointing start for a day!

    The location of the resort is excellent, staff is very friendly. The beachfront location is a priority for me and this place does have its own beach with variety of simple activities: kayaking, paddling boards, bikes. Always clean and tidy. Hard to say about room size vs value for money. There was a mistake on their system and they haven’t got our booking that we made via booking.com site. So after some discussions and checking our confirmation, we’ve got the room and we have been upgraded - junior suite with the ocean view! Great customer service from Pelican Cove team! It was perfect size for 2 people with its own kitchen area. We haven’t seen the standard room though as they were quite busy that week.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very basic. Loan of sports equipment was very weather dependant even when the weather was okay. Seemed to depend on which member of staff was in charge of it.

    Fantastic views and location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room with a crib for our 7 month old baby but we were given a room with no bath tub and had no plug in the sink. Luckily one of our friends had a bath tub in their room so we could bath the baby. There was also no high chair available for breakfast or lunch.

    The setting was so lovely and peaceful. The rooms were spacious and clean with lovely view from the balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Needed Protein on the continental breakfast. Needed true patio furniture for the patios and not kitchen chairs. Rooms were alot smaller than expected and the furniture inside was too big for the rooms.

    Beautiful view! Pool, beach, and activities like kayaking, paddleboarding, fresh beach towels are nice. (that you pay for with your daily resort fees) Lots of chairs available by pool and beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room door needed to be reset. Bar was below our room and closed at 10pm but loud revelers were allowed to party till after 11:30pm. Neighbor yelled to stop but no one did. Don't care for the faucet in the bathroom.

    All staff were great and helpful. Right on the beach. Off the main road yet near all restaurants etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms were small but pleasant. The one BIG disappointment for us was the lack of shelves/drawers to unpack the luggage. My family of four were leaving out of suitcases for 5 days and my husband (who isn't fussy about accommodations at all) and I really didn't like it. This is a kind of deal breaker for us to come back. The room is small, but I believe it could be rearrange to fit a dresser.

    The property is really beautiful and the staff is very nice and accommodating. Breakfast on the beach till 10am (sometimes later that that) was awesome. I like the fact that resort fee covers all sport rentals kayaks, paddle boards, bikes, other... We tried them all. The property has a lot to offer to keep everyone busy. We played ping-pong, soccer on the beach, football, kids were jumping on trampoline and did some snorkeling. We also visited other sister properties and enjoyed their pool (Amara Cay). Food and drinks by the pool were very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oceanfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked to have had more lunch/food choices and the quality of the food that was prepared needs improvement. More variety of dishes and hours of availability could have been later. The continental breakfast also needed more variety of choices.

    Resort was kept very clean, staff was awesome, overall a great experience!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pull out couch was not comfortable.

    Staff walked me wherever I needed to go instead of just pointing, rooms very clean, gorgeous view and amenities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sofa bed had a terrible mattress. the dock was unavailable due to construction. There is no restaurant, only food you can order at an outside bar until 6 pm (mostly sandwiches.) Kids take over the pool are and jump and dive. The swim area of the ocean is kind of mucky and gets deep very fast. The room was very small. The breakfast includes no hot food. there is no marina. Our phone did not work.

    the views were lovely and the balconies had chairs and table. the bartenders were very informative. rooms were clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were only there one night but we're very pleased with the location of the hotel as well as the cleanliness of the room, comfortable bed and friendly staff. Since they were not full,they upgraded our room to a view of the beach...at no extra charge. Also enjoyed Theatre of the Sea which was a short walk from our room!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is simply WAY over priced

    If they got the room rate right this would be a nice place to stay - because it’s so expensive for we fee robbed!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The barmen on sunday April 8, was Not half as good in his Performance as The Lady on Duty The day before.

    Rezeption very friendly and well informed .The Beach attendent very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't think of anything. well, the water flow of the shower is low like almost every other place you can stay.

    We really enjoyed the stay. Very friendly and informative staff! Great amenities included with the price. The smaller resort gave it a feel of exclusivity and is still very well appointed! I Highly Recommend Pelican Cove

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room could have used a little more furniture, specifically, an end table on each side (there was only one on one side, but we made do). And I wish the balcony furniture had been a little more comfortable.

    I was impressed with how great everything looked after the big hurricane last year. The landscaping was in place and beautiful - all exteriors, including the tiki bar, pool, and beach, looked as if nothing had ever happened. The room and balcony were fresh and clean, and the complimentary continental breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water went out for about 8 hours and no one had details and said it was not their fault. They would not give us any credit either. The room was not cleaned very well either. Their was sand all over the floor and bed. We were supposed to have a free continental breakfast. There was a toaster no bread, their was cereal no milk, there was about two apples. We just left to eat somewhere else.

    The activities on the water and the food at the bar which is open from mid day till about sun down. Not a big menu but the little we had was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow Food service at lunch time. And for the cost breakfast could be a little bit better. And they do Need more activities for the kids. Maybe someone organizing events.

    They did a great job rebuilding from the hurricane property looks great. The staff was very pleasant and helpful especially our bartenders Gail and kit!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oceanfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were smaller than expected.

    Beautiful location and wonderful, helpful staff. The kayaks, paddle boards, and snorkel gear included in the resort fee were an added and fun bonus. My kids also loved fishing off the docks at the marina (we rented poles from a nearby marina). Though the overall property isn’t huge and the hotel was at capacity, but it never felt crowded. Overall, great stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oceanfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't book directly with hotel-had to go thru Bookings.com. air conditioner was extremely noisy! No phone in our room. Tv must have just been installed, not set up. We had to unplug & start over. Only icemaker on the property. No carts for luggage.

    The view was beautiful as usual. Everyone u talked to was friendly and helpfel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Oceanfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower temperature was very hard to get right. It was either hot or cold, no in between. The blankets on the bed were too thin and there weren’t any extra blankets to use.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could be more updated but definitely clean. Continental breakfast included and was okay;very basic.

    You can kayak, paddle boat, have access to private boat tours on the premises. Staff great!! Fred Is wonderful !!! He handles water activities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfasts were good and sufficient but hot eggs would have been nice. Small point but brochures for local restaurants, attractions in the reception area w2ould be helpful.

    The staff was friendly and distinctly helpful. Great location. The balcony was a plus - I'm surprised that it wasn't mentioned in the computer that all rooms had them, or in the "amenities" disclosure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That everything you need is right there for family fun.

    Very nice spot. However, we checked in later in the day and for only 1 night. Still had to pay resort fee but didn't have enough time utilize any of the amenities. Know for next time!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You bar closes too early. Also perhaps 2 bartenders...at times it could be crazy for Duke and Kitty during their shifts but they were gracious nonetheless.

    The staff was very friendly and knowledgable. Everyone we came in contact with greeted us with a smile. Ava, Yeny, and Duke were the best!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly and helpful, top knotch customer service! The Accomodations were extremely clean and the views beautiful. Highly recommend and plan on coming back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great beach property! Rooms were clean however they lacked in lighting and room had a few items that didn’t work. Tv broken, door lock inoperable, safe broken, light broken. Lacked end table next to bed. We had 3 rooms and only one room was up to pare. We will probably not return. If your going to spend big bucks in the keys there are better properties to stay at. The one we love has not reopened yet after the hurricane!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom very small. Rooms nicely furnished but a little basic. Food offerings on site very limited but the property is only open weeks since hurricane IRMA.

    gorgeous beachfront property, grounds beautifully kept, spotless with lovely planting throughout. Lots of free watersports included in hotel fee. Place is heaven great laid back feeling, staff are so helpfu . Lovely Tiki bar familly friendly place, Direct TV, great beds. linens and towels, free parking and WIFI. would stay again in a heartbeat

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we had was quite small considering we paid over US400 per night. Continental breakfast could have had fruit. And PLEASE STOP using throw away crockery & cutlery. It's killing our planet and your beautiful envitonment. It's so easy to change. I was really shocked to see the amount of waste created.

    The beach area, pool and activities on offer (SUP, kayak, pool toys, water trampolines, location right on the beach. Bar food was also good quality. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was our feeling that the facility is not ready to be open quite yet. The restaurant is not complete the free breakfast buffet leave much to be desired. We had an infestation of bugs all over our counters. I think given time it will be an ideal place for anyone to go. They have only been opened a short time and perhaps they should have waited a little longer. They are just recovering from the hurricane

    The view of the ocean is spectacular. The folks that work there are very accommodating and make you feel extremely welcome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An extremely poor breakfast which was very surprising in relation with the price/night we paid... Isolation of the room which would need some renovation / refurbishment. Noise from the road very present....

    Friendliness of the staff. Wheather.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only complaint was the bathroom lighting could be brighter and the shower head was weird.

    The resort was the perfect size -not to loud and crazy! Duke at the Tiki bar was awesome and had great restaurant recommendations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking,com and this resort need to figure out the amenity list. There is no laundry. There was one ice machine for the whole resort. And while I had two rooms I was forced to book separately and no rooms even close to each other. They started us 1/2 Of the resort apart. And their refrigerator sucked!

    Nice recreation opportunities but lots of waivers to fill out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man’s attitude at check in. He was very curt and unhelpful in trying to help us change our room. Having stayed at 9 different hotels during our road trip, he was unusually unhelpful. There was hardly anything within walking distance from the hotel.

    The view from the hotel onto the beach The free parking A charming man working at the bar

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast selection, $ drinks at bar. Just re opened after hurricane so attention to the small details weren’t getting done yet to make it a 3 star hotel but give it time.

    Pool, beach, water activities, bikes, balcony views. Just reopened after hurricane-grounds/landscape were all new and beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was pricey. Breakfast only consisted of coffee, cereal and toast. Need to get some eggs or waffles.

    We loved our ocean view every morning , the bartenders were great, restaurant was pricy , the breakfast that was included was bare minimal like only coffee , cereal and toast. Beach and pool were great! Staff was great! Lots of stuff for kids to do! Great little getva away spot we will be back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were rather surprised to see the influx of "questionable" people over the weekend. It appeared that some may have just come in for the day?? If that would be the case, we will definitely NOT be back over a weekend. We came for a quiet, relaxing vacation which it was except for Saturday and Sunday.

    The staff were super friendly and accomodating, the facilities are very well-maintained including the beach and grounds groomed daily

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was affected by Irma, they are still doing construction to reopen but not there yet. There were fire alarm tests every few minutes (really loud), we went to ask for a kayak and there was a contractor working with a chainsaw 2 feet away from my child to build a palapa, the kitchen closed one hour later than it was supposed to for no reason, one of the underwater lights of the pool is not screwed in place, the included breakfast was just a couple of toasts and cupcakes, some employees at the reception and bar are not familiar with their jobs, plus other nuances. I tried to talk to a manager to discuss this but could not find one on site. One may expect this things from an inexpensive hotel, but certainly not from one that charges almost 400 usd per night

    The beach, the view, the loaner kayaks, the multitude of beach play sets for kids to have fun.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little small

    Loved the locations - beach area is beautiful - no need to bring a towel they are provided so are the kayaks and paddle boards - snorkeling equipment you name it. Staff was great everyone was friendly and made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing worth mentioning.

    Staff were extremely accommodating. Fred was an excellent ambassador, facilities were well maintained and ideal for a family vacation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They still had some minor repair work going on to the property from hurricane damage, but it looked beautiful nevertheless. The included breakfast was pretty poor, we chose to walk to Starbucks after the first day. They need a small grill or something at the bar area to offer lunch and snacks.

    Beautiful location with bikes, kayaks, paddle boards, snorkel gear & other water toys available. The staff was very helpful, especially Fred. The location within Islamorada was very good, close to restaurants and other attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was only continental but they only just opened after the hurricane.

    Room was fantastic. Full sea view - beautiful! Facilities were brilliant. Love to go back again with our children.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booked I thought I got a kitchen but only had a deluxe room. No food on property as grille wasn’t set up. Bar was missing many items.

    Great location. Clean and new rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location was great. Staff was awesome. My husband drinks coffee and prefers a stronger option. It was nice to have a continental breakfast included and available if you don't want to go out for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor Breakfast Breakfastroom located far away from tables and chairs. Why? It was raining, and there were only a few tables to use - half of the tables and chairs were wet!! Been in USA in 3 weeks - why do you use all that plasticplates, plasticglass and plasticcutlery? It is awfull and not climate friendly- will never happen in Europe

    Nice room and bathroom excellent location Serviceminded staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was functional but basic. Fridge in room pretty tiny, we had expected better self catering facilities

    Fantastic vista and sea views; pool lovely and private beach area / amenities excellent. It never felt crowded. Also recommend Captain Sue for snorkeotrips.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only down points was no inside seating tables for breakfast when it rains. Staff is very kind but could use an extra bar tender :)

    The location is great, all the rooms have ocean view and are bigger than what I expected, very nice for a 3*. The hotel, rooms, pool and beach are very clean. There is a lot of activities to do and private space to relax and isolate. Very cosy, cute modern decoration, terrace are big. Highly recommend it :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prior to our arrival, we found it impossible to communicate with staff. They didn't respond to email messages, and never answered the phone. I ended up stopping by early to ask when we could check in. I was told that someone would call me when our room was ready. No one ever did. Finding our room after check-in was a challenge, as the building is a maze and lacks directional signage. The room itself was too small and was not well maintained. We found that the thermostat was not working, due to a sensor on the balcony door that had not been properly maintained. It took the better part of an hour to get that fixed. Meanwhile, we waited in an increasingly sweltering room. The air conditioner was noisy when it worked. It woke me up, every time it switched on. Breakfast was continental style, served in a room that was too small and lacked any tables. The choice was basically danishes, bagels, and cereal. The only protein option was hard boiled eggs. The coffee was, however, decent. Since the room lacked tables, most people were forced to consider the option of braving a rainstorm to reach the tables under the shelter at the tiki bar. You're probably better off driving down to the Green Turtle for breakfast.

    The location is decent, with nice ocean views. The beach, pool, and common areas seemed reasonably clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing place! Fantastic rooms and we even got upgraded to a room with a sea view as it was our honeymoon which was a lovely touch! Free water activities such as paddle boarding and kayaking and a lovely bar and pool. Such a fantastic place!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No hotel restaurant, Breakfast very basic, just cereals and toast. No option to have an extra bed in the room, two children had to share a fold out sofa bed.

    Good range of water facilities. Snorkeling, Kayak, Paddle boards and fishing. Nice clean beach with good views out to sea.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no trays to place breakfast plates!

    Very recently renovated, with style, not luxurious but truly done with thought. Intimate, comfortable and very family friendly. I found the bathrooms nicely renovated. Rooms medium size good for just coming in to sleep. Beds very comfy, linen all cotton, nice. Again, no luxury but really nice & solid. Towels also nice, mostly new. The balconies are specially enjoyable, good size, lovely view. Property frequented by Europeans, fewer Americans. The biggest perk is the water sports: canoes, kayaks, paddle boards that you can rent any time, free of charge! We have never enjoyed those sports more. The lagoon, and the waters around are perfect for such sports.The Tikki bar was fun & Gail, the barista, was so nice & generous!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was rather small and the pool toys (many were provided, which was a huge plus) were rather worn out. The property itself seems to be old, but they have done a good job with renovating the interiors to make you overlook that.

    This was a great little location with fantastic view of the ocean. We loved the inclusive deals like the paddle boarding, kayaking, and games on the beach. The seating on the beach was very ample and enjoyable. The parking was ample and the staff was incredibly friendly BIG KUDOS to the bartender, Duke. He provided great service and recommendations for food around the area. Not to mention, loved his 80's music playlist! Our room also had great views and it was amazingly quiet. We visited without our kids, but would definitely return with our kids as they would love the beach!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Partial view, we paid 700 dollars for 2 nights, that hotel was not worth it, and we requested early check in for 1300 and we did not get in our room till 1530. The kitchen has weak menus and people that work there are not friendly at all

    Really Nothing. Weak kitchen

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was so tiny. We were so cramped and paid way to much for such a small room that the frig didn't cool and the ac didn't keep up either.

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning in the room was very loud and came on and off through the night, which was disturbing. The bathroom was small but functional.

    The location is stunning - the swimming area was excellent and the pool bar was staffed by friendly and helpful people. Local restaurants within walking distance were very pleasant and the atmosphere and mood of the place could not have been nicer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    I think the breakfast could be better. Would be nice if had a good restaurant. Or even a raw bar to go with the really nice tiki style cabana bar that's by the pool.

    The bed was actually good. Hubby and I stayed for 12 days and we really got to know the property and understand how nice this really is to be here in this location. We had the use of Pelican and Post card Inn and the Starbucks is one of the best ever. Anything you want is right there. You can rent boats , Charter a fishing boat go out with a guide or not. evening cruises plus the hotels have all the water toys like kayaks , floaties, water boards paddle boards.. you can snorkel right off the beach and there is a reef,, we saw lobster and tons of fish and we are divers.. nice reef so close. The beach is cozy and quiet small but private. We wanted a quiet place to relax and this was perfect. Very nicely updated and the shower was great!! After 12 days it felt like home!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast & amenities were included in the cost of the room. Lots of fun things to play on in the water. Everyone was very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some plug points were faulty, along with our coffee machine, however these were quickly seen to by maintenance once we had reported it. Not the most sophisticated resort, but the Keys generally appear to be very casual.

    Staff were super friendly and the resort had a relaxed feel about it. We had a very comfortable stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very hot sunny day, and there were not enough umbrellas at the Postcard Inn

    Had a wonderful second story balcony room with a great view of the Ocean, pool was nice, toys and floats for kids both in the pool and ocean....Able to use the facilities the next day after checking out both at the Pelican and at it's sister resort next door the Postcard Inn which has a great pool overlooking the Ocean. Use of Kayaks was nice as well as Hammocks and multiple games, no shortage of activities to keep you busy. Wonderful place!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small. no Desk or extra chairs,I think I paid too much for it. Not much activity we had to to go next door for it . Food not great and very expensive

    Location ,friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only minor complaint would be that the pool was VERY warm, felt like about 90 degrees.

    We enjoyed our 3 nights at the Pelican very much. The best part of the hotel design is the fact that every room has an ocean view and balcony. The hotel staff were friendly and professional. The complimentary breakfast was good but the only items that are hot are the coffee and toast/bagels (eggs are only hardboiled), but it's adequate to get your day started. The Keurig coffee machine with complimentary coffee in the room was a very nice touch. All said, we would definitely return again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds and sheets were not that comfy. We booked 3 rooms together, well in advance, and when we arrived, 1 of the rooms was a different type and on a different floor. The staff eventually accommodated us, but we were initially told that "we have someone else checking into the room you want tomorrow". Well, if we're here now, and we paid for this type of room, I expect to get what I paid for. A little frustrating at first, but happy they sorted it. The pool is very small and got way too crowded when a few screaming kids entered... The free breakfast was continental and nothing special. I wouldn't book here thinking that you're getting a great deal on breakfast each day, especially when there are soooo many great spots in Islamorada.

    The front desk staff was nice and the view was amazing. The beach was spread out and we loved that we didn't have to be on top of everyone. The pool was tiny, so we were thankful that there were chairs on the beach to get away from pool noise. The staff was great, Fred at the beach, and Gayle at the bar were always really friendly and helpful. Loved that Kayaking and paddle boards etc were included in your stay. Also liked that we could walk over to Postcard Inn to use their pool and get a little more excitement.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The property was poorly managed - Motel 6/Red Roof Inn would have better trained employees - Check in was slow, two employees, one customer, check in still took 10+ minutes - there was a low quality "free" continental breakfast - for $300+ a night (?!?!) - someone spilled cereal at breakfast, I pointed it out to the employee - who told me it was not her job to do clean up - but I was welcome to take more cereal - several people walked thru the mess over 15 minutes, with several commenting about the mess-no employee moved - a guest dropped a glass in my room and we asked housekeeping for someone to clean the floor, they left glass on the floor, and left a puddle of coke under the coffee table. - Wi-Fi was hit and miss the entire time I was there - either slow or not working at all - "beach" has sharp rocks along the shore and limited access to the water - kayaking was allowed behind parked boats near the dock - but we were not allowed to "go out" because the water was "rough" - although there were kayaks out from other hotels - but we were not allowed - even though I am an experienced kayaker. Very disappointing - for $100 a night I would not go back - what a dive!

    Beautiful location, nice room, nice setting in the keys

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Oceanfront Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could only find one ice machine on the property.

    The resort was fabulous. The staff very accommodating. The view was wonderful. I would recommend this resort to anyone traveling to the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could have been better.

    We were her for a weekend and it was perfect! I highly recommend this place. The rooms were clean and cozy. The staff were wonderful, loved the calm and quiet space. I loved that we could use the Post card Inn beach and pool. Great amenities and location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was small and crowded. We had to ask for toilet paper, housekeeping never left an extra roll.

    The view from the balcony was beautiful. We enjoyed the resort including paddle boards, kayaks, fishing rods and other activities for our use. The resort was very clean. Free parking was also a plus!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very comfortable and in good condition. There were 3 of us so we needed to use the sofa bed which was paper thin and was not comfortable at all.

    Staff was fantastic! Very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beach side is not the best for swimming. Noisy sometimes at night.

    Location and very nice view. There is a swimming pool so this is basically what the kids want and some options for adults to (kayak & SUP).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was amazing

    Everything. Literally. This was hands down the best place we have ever stayed in Florida. And we go to the keys every year. Will highly recommend to everyone. So impressed! Can't wait to stay again next year

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Pelican Cove Resort & Marina traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: