Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Penguin Hotel 3 stars

1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139, USA

#181 of 390 hotels in Miami Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1527 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Here’s what: to my mind hotels should acknowledge that when they accommodate to the room 4 persons, related services should apply to all 4 people, e.g. there should be more than 2 blankets and 2 bath towels in the room and more bath accessories provided. They are eager to charge from you but received services do not meet customer needs. The phone did not work in the room so with each issue we needed to walk down to the reception. Also safe was not working (or perhaps it was extra charged to use, which to my mind is so yesterday...). Even the hotel is located by the beach, no place in the room to dry the swimwear... To sum it up: I personally didn’t feel I was cared and welcomed. Would I visit it again and recommend to a friend? If absoletely no other place available.

    Comfy beds, silent airconditioner(!!!), good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon check out there was a mix up, I had payed for valet parking upon arrival and the lady on reception was trying to recharge me. She didn’t seem to want to listen that I had already payed and insisted that I hadn’t, in the end she called somebody who had worked on the desk the day before and after some time she confirmed we was right

    Stunning views and excellent location. We was only staying over in Miami for one night, the hotel was central to where we wanted to be with a small walk across the road to south beach. The hotel provided valet parking which was great as there is nowhere close by for parking. I never like to use my credit card when leaving room deposits, the option to leave cash was fantastic for me as upon checkout it was returned to hand. The breakfast was also fab, I traveled with my 3 children. And they really enjoyed the breakfast selection and making their own waffles was fun. Would most definitely stay at penguin hotel again. There was renovations being done when we was there so hopefully next time I will have the pleasure of a refurbished hotel room. 2 cocktails per adult and soft drinks for children were also complimentary upon arrival. This was a nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In 45 years of hotel room use, I've never come across one so depleted of facilities. Bear in mind the room was $330 per night. There was one feeble bedside light you could not read by. There was no coffee maker - we bought one from nearby Walgreens for $15.99. The door was so badly fitting in the frame that it let lots of light in and the security lever did not work.

    We upgraded to a king size ocean front room, which had a great view of the palm trees in the park and the ocean beyond. Breakfasts were very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smell, A/C was terrible noisy so we still had to turn of and turn on at night so we couldn’t sleep well. Breakfast was bad for me. A lot of sweet on the morning. Just scrambled eggs with ham and toast bread which I ate and it didn’t taste me so much. They offer for drink just orange juice, pink sweet water, milk and coffee. So they didn’t have any tea or water.. i was really dissapoint.

    Lokalization, personal and services were very good. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There were construction/renovation works, which included some loud drilling on the 1st/2nd floors during my stay. Breakfasts were the same every day. No power outlets near the bed No minibar in the room.

    Excellent location - on the Ocean drive, but yet aside from the loud part of it. Close to the beach. Great staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean Front Room King Bed with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is nice & very Art Deco style like the rest of Miami, we had the room with the ocean view terrace which is INCREDIBLE, we never wanted to leave the terrace it was so nice!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast place too small, the room was not that clean, staff at breakfast did not do anything but turn up to ask for

    Its location , receptionist Carmen very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a boutique hotel, so the room was very small. There was no dresser or desk. There was a tiny refrigerator on the floor in the closet. There wasn’t many outlets. We had to pull the bed out to plug in our phones. The stand up shower was really small. There’s no ice machine.

    The hotel is close to many restaurants and stores. It wasn’t busy like the other hotels on Ocean Drive. The beach is across the street. Breakfast and two bottles of water is included everyday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had any complaint, it would just be that the WiFi was slow.

    My husband and I enjoyed everything about this cute hotel. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Hotel was clean and in a perfect location. The breakfast was awesome. Surprisely we were advanced to a beachfront view from our room. That was a gem!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room walls were dirty and marked on, the shower was dirty at the bottom and the lighting was rusted. The outlet plug was by the door and wasn’t but 1. The hallway floor was in need of a good vacuum and the maintenance working and painting while we were finding our room.

    I like that it was beach friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi wasn't that great while in room.

    Location, awesome. Just the right spot to be. The street mall walking distance. All bars restaurant along the same street. Bartender and staff super friendly. The facility smelled great n cleaned. Beach right across the street. Perfect. Highly recommend this place Also highly recommend using uber. Taxi n shuttles very pricey. Miami airport to hotel with taxi 75 dollars Shared shuttle but take about hour to get to your location 35 dollars Uber to hotel 25 dollars.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 1 night

    The minute we got in I went to the small bathroom to change my clothes since our room wasn't ready yet and there was a HUGE roach dead (but still tweaking a little) on the floor. I was so grossed out I didn't even tell anyone I saw it. The elevators only needed to go up 3 floors and kept messing up. Plus the hallway had wet paint signs everywhere and looked kind of dirty.

    The room was huge tons of space really nice wallpaper for good pictures. Lots of mirrors which I love. LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION this hotel was close to everything and right across the street from the beach. Great place to stay if your only doing a quick weekend trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beware: Rooms in the front have excellent views of the beach but can be very noisy even late at night, as there is heavy foot/car traffic. But then again, maybe you love such energy and that's why you selected the hotel!!!

    Nice minimalist hotel with clean and comfortable rooms located directly across from the beach with a friendly staff. If you are hanging at the beach or interested in seeing the crowd in the evenings walk the strip in front of the apartment, it's a great location. The complimentary breakfast is quite good, diverse and of good quality. I enjoyed my stay there -- suspect you will as well!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool or roof terrace

    Location, location, location! Staff were all very nice and friendly. Free breakfast, free beach towels, free drinks on arrival!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing not to like

    Perfect location. Very busy as it was spring break and there were a lot of teenagers around. Was certainly an eye opener!!!! Hotel was freshly decorated and very clean but basic. Breakfast was continental but plenty of fresh bread and bagels etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our floor was half way under renovation with ceiling and walls being redone ... but other than that it was nice accommodations for the price.

    Located 2 min walk across the street from ocean and night life. Amazing staff really mad the stay great! Carmen at front desk was very helpful along with Belinda when arriving and departing. Great bartender and wait stFf. Felt at home!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator only held 3 people but at least it was working. There was no room for a chair because we chose a king size bed.

    It was a quaint Art Deco style hotel. We only stayed one night before moving over to out timeshare property. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior definitely needs to improve and if the staff could be more fluent with English

    Everything's was great however they can definitely work on improving the interior.. Location wise its excellent..Service is good too..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean Front Room King Bed with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Be warned that if you go for the top (4th) floor room, that the lift only goes to the 3rd floor. You need to climb about 14 stairs to get to the room on the top floor.

    The room (401) - was out of this world. Yes, you pay a premium for it, but it's well worth the extra money. The room cost included a breakfast, which whilst not massive was totally adequate. As a hotel guest you choose from several different options + eggs with bacon or ham or sausage, fresh fruit, juice and endless coffee. I would recommend the granola and yoghurt option. Bar and reception staff were very helpful at all times and nothing was too much trouble. Beach is only a stone's throw away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small. These hotels were built in the 20's and 30's so not very spacious. But we knew that going in. If you want space, go to a high rise hotel off if the Art Deco district.

    Quieter than most of the ocean drive properties. Stay at the wrong place and all you will hear through the night is thumping music. This is a quieter, yet still near the action.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was small, but honestly when you're in tropical paradise you're not spending much time in the room anyway.

    The location was PERFECT, and the staff couldn't have been friendlier (especially front desk staffer Angela and server Roinier). It was an ideal spot for a little getaway.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No place for guests to sit except in the restaurant.

    Location, extensive continental breakfast, nice view from front terrace/porch. Good value on Ocean Drive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the windows in the rooms facing the beach front could do with cleaning

    The staff on the reception were very good and they were very helpful.The food and catering staff were good has well

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No high-speed wifi. Every morning we woke up because of noise and every day there were modifications. As long as we stay, they painted the walls next to my room and even they reconditioned while we were having breakfast. In the restaurant, glasses are dirty.

    comfy bed, clean bedroom, welcome drink, everyday free 2 bottle of water

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was dirty, there was short hair everywhere: in the shower, on the toilet, on the wall, on the sink, luckily the towels were clean. The room was extremely noisy and cold. The TV was broken, the remote control filthy. The welcome drink is not a welcome drink, you get a receipt and based on that you can claim your drink during your stay from the bar only during 5 PM - 7 PM. I don't know you but during that time frame I would be out not in the hotel, unless I am checking in during that time (which did not happen). Take a look at the pictures, it's nothing like what they pretend.

    Good location and tasty breakfast. Nice art deco and good internet connection. Nothing else.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls in the rooms very thin, could hear everything going on in the hallway (people banging on doors at 3am). Also building work right next door starting at 8am. Far too early considering most people staying here will be on vacation

    Great location, good breakfast, friendly staff, nice that they offer beach towels for the day

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was next to the kitchen=we had to wake up at 5 am when the kitchen staff started preparing breakfast...

    The location is absolutely perfect. 30 seconds walk to the beautiful beach, restaurants and bars everywhere. This hotel really has a cool, vibrant feel to hit and the breakfast is amazing! The free drink we were treated to when we arrived really made us feel welcome!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fabulous location - across the road from the beach, the boardwalk, and in amongst all the art deco. Lots of cafes and restaurants to choose from. Great breakfasts, and very convenient to have the café / restaurant on site.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not as comfy as I would have liked.

    Everything was great. Location was excellent and staff was great too. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were given was too small and did not fit the pictures and description for traditional king bedroom. Good that we got a bigger room later, which fits the pictures in booking

    Very good location and professional staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 1 night

    Valet parking personal could be a bit more accommodating. They wanted to charge 20 dollars more because i wanted to pick up the car 1 hour after the checkout as our flight was delayed and had more time to enjoy the location.

    Receptionist Super NICEE!!! Thank you. Parking is hard and the option was to pay for valet parking 35 dollars which is not bad considering it would be around the same anywhere else.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms tiny. The restaurant (unless you stay at hotel) tries to rip you off as in “tourist trap”. Asked for noon check out-told no-then said booking .com guest were to be accommodated if possible. So they let us check out at noon. Starting at 11:59 and every 1-2 minutes thereafter a maid was all but breaking down the door. She did this 5-8 times and we were out of room by 12:12 pm. I have been to lots of hotels-that was a first. Also do they only book fugitives from justice-$200 deposit you get back minus in house charges at checkout if paid it with cash. If credit card it’s 10 days to refund. If it’s a bunch of vagabonds ruining what was a great area from 90’s to a few yrs ago people need to know.

    Virtually nothing. Bartender was pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Corner Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little run down. It was not as nice as we were led to believe. The hallways were dark and had purple lighting.

    The view was nice. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficulty finding a place to park & unload the car. Getting luggage inside was a little difficult getting up the stairs & into the elevator. Parking was expensive

    Friendly staff, welcome drink, breakfast included & it was a full breakfast! Decor was great, room was clean! Great location!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderfully located directly across from South Beach, this facility certainly works with all of their staff to ensure its clients are courteously welcomed. Every employee, from the receptionist to the table waiters to the cleaning staff were friendly, attentive, and helpful. The facilities are kept in good order, and the room was modern, fresh, clean and upscale. Parking is somewhat expensive at $37.50 for valet, but two blocks away is a public facility for $20.00 a night if you are interested in self-parking. The morning breakfast is substantive, individually prepared from a rather generous menu and has very reasonable hours for those who want to start early on the day to those who stayed up late the previous night. I'll definitely be returning!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kinda smelt like they had just painted or something. Tiny fridge and aircon didnt make the room evenly the temperature.

    Right accross the road from the park and beach! Breakfast in the morning was great! Complementary just had to leave a tip. Room was very modern decorated, whole mirror wall. Bathroom was tiny but very clean and shower was pretty decent. Room got a bit stuffy at night time the aircon wasnt the greatest but would happily stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really.

    The entire staff was very professional and friendly, and the breakfast plentiful and delicious. I would like to specially thank Ms. Claudia Gonzalez for her outstanding help in ensuring that my old French phone started working properly in the US, a frustrating experience which she pursued until the end, always with a smile.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not get a room on the first floor near the entrance. We were in room 110 and the noise from the staff coming and going started to get annoying around 1 a.m. in the morning and continued for a few hours. When we checked out the woman at the front desk acknowledged that there is problems with the noise in those rooms and gave us a refund on the resort fee. It was nice to see someone step up, agree that there is a problem and at least offer something back. We would definitely go back.

    The room was clean and comfortable, the location great, good happy hour and a very good breakfast. Overall great value for South Beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 7 nights

    everything was fine

    Excellent hotel at Ocean drive. Right in front of the beach. Breakfast is great. Personnel is very polite, positive and smiling. They helped us with everything we asked for. Hotel and rooms are clean. Art deco style. I loved staying at the Penguin hotel!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views from the less expensive rooms are straight into the neighbouring wall, but you can’t complain given the price.

    Excellent location, good breakfast and nice bright rooms. Good value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No privacy, couldn't open the blinds, very noisy and couldn't sleep. I realized that the day before of my stay the rate dropped half and I paid much more. I asked for the genious late checkout but they didn't accept, only 1 hour complimentary.

    Location and cleaness

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking situation. There is none. We had to valet and it was expensive. Recommend getting dropped off by taxi or Uber or Lyft.

    The staff was very friendly. You receive two welcome drinks on arrival. There is a nice little bar and an outside terrace where you can enjoy your cocktail and view of the park in front of the beach. A complimentary breakfast is served ,very good with choices and also served outside with a great view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is very noisy (the windows are old and you can hear everything from the street). Also the furniture and the window curtains are very old and in a pretty bad condition.

    Nice location. The room size is ok although it is pretty cramped, the bed is comfortable. The bathroom is nice and clean - it seemes newly renovated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was very clean and very Art Deco decor. When we arrived we were given voucher for a free welcome drink and breakfast. I thought this hotel was a good deal. They do have valet at a cost of $37.50. Our room was 305 very tiny but well decorated with a refrigerator and a safe. We had a king size bed which took almost the whole room. Bathroom was clean and had a walk in shower. We would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room. Basic hotel. Then again... the reason you're booking a hotel on Ocean Drive, is because you want to be out & about in South Beach. For sleeping purposes the room is just fine.

    Location location location, we had a sea view room - and it wasn't expensive at all! Place wasn't super modern, but the room was clean!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't get my drink

    Besides the fact that we missed our welcome drink everything was EXCELLENT manager was a great guy and the food was sooooooooo good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were not greeted or offered help with our bags when we arrived, the elevator was broken 50% of the time we were there, and we were not offered help when the elevator was broken and I mentioned we had to walk down with our bags. The breakfast and morning staff was wonderful, the evening staff not so enthusiastic. The receptionists were very kind and helpful.

    We got two free welcome cocktails the first night, breakfast was included, the beach was right across the street, lots of restaurants all around, it was quite, I give it a 4.8 out of 5!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator did not work two of the three days that we stayed there.

    This is a nice hotel for the price. It's on ocean drive, so just cross the street to get to the beach. Breakfast was included and good, the room was clean and had all we needed. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything nothing to hate

    Everything the hotel staff was great especially james one of the staff members he was always welcoming helpful as all the staff was

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Group
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything - overall t was the perfect room for the night.

    We like that the hotel was right on ocean dr. Gave us The flexibility to walk to the beach instead of driving or taking an uber cap. The rooms was very clean, the air conditioner provided us cool night which helped us sleep more comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably a booking.com thing, but the final price I paid was a lot higher than what I 'booked' - there was State tax and a property tax I think. I'm not from the US so I am accustomed to the final price being shown I guess. Minor things in the room look old/damaged - like parts of the wall or cubhoard BUT spacious room and bed/bathroom very clean! The ''continental breakfast' is really a prie fix menu that you choose so not really buffet but adequate simple choices (bagel or pancakes for example, eggs, ham/sausage, fruit, tea/coffee, juice). Still, free breakfast is always good! The servers were very friendly!

    Small but comfy hotel! Excellent location. Got a room with the view of the beach. Everything is walking distance from the area - beach, Lincoln Road Mall, restaurants. Quick 20-25min cab from MIA. Wifi worked really good! Clean room! Staff were very friendly! I even got my room earlier (arrived at 1pm and checkin is 3pm). You get a gratis welcome drink/beer/cocktail!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hotel on ocean drive. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included in the price which was excellent. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast included in prices ...good breakfast . But did not like bill stating tips were expected .I think tips should be up to how good service is .....sounded like maybe tips were instead of get good wages from establishment

    Changed my room first day as very small and shower flooded . No problem . Better room afterwards .Reception staff very helpfull.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is way too tight, bathroom is out of date and appears thereby some dirty. sealing in shower needs to be renewed, wet bathroom after showering, under the bed a lot of dust, quality and choice TV Channels was less

    Location is good and the prices for food and happy hour are great. Food tasted nice. The Beach is across the street.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The elevator was broken for 4 days out of the 9 that we were there. Plus it is too small. Also the air conditioning for the rooms are old and make too much noise, they work, but are loud. The restaurants also deserves a little face lift, the food and drinks are fine, just a face lift would be great. The staff is fine as well, but it never hurts to invest in training always.

    Great location, but the hotel needs some upgrades in the air conditioning systems for the rooms and restaurant, new elevator as well. I would also recommend investing in a renovation for the hall ways and the hotel in general. South beach needs and deserves that. There is quaint feeling to the hotel but they need to stay atop their game by acting and making everything better before it is too late. The rooms and bathrooms inside are great, nothing needs to be done there. Maybe invest in some chairs and stuff for the beach use as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was last minute since our cruise was delayed from hurricane Irma. This property is great! The staff is wonderful and the location is superb! You can not get closer to the beach unless you want to be inside the water! We were concerned if they would have power since most in the south are was hit by the storm and when we left our home an hour north we did not have power. They had power and we were very happy. A warm shower and a/c, what a wonderful feeling that was. We walked around in the evening which was nice and ate out. In the morning the free breakfast was great. it was not the ordinary continental breakfast but a sit down and the waiter takes your order and serves you. They have quite a few options on the menu and the coffee is served in a real cup and saucer. So yes, the free breakfast was a nice change from the standard type. I do highly recommend this property to anyone traveling to South Beach!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing specifically.

    - Value for Money for South beach. - Welcome drink. - Clean/comfortable rooms. - Breakfast. - The hotel is close to the one of the cheapest parking in South Beach. I'd stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed is situated right infront of air-conditioning - when you turns it on you get cold very fast, because it blows with crazy speed right on you. It would be better to move beds from air-conditioning

    Room was very clean and bright, quite spacious. It is in the middle of night life and surrounded by bars, restauraunts etc. Perfect location!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no obvious place on the shoreline or prior to entering the facility where I could rinse off my sand covered feet. I felt guilty tracking sand inside.

    Jamie was an absolute gentleman, great server, very entertaining as he was coaxing prospective diners to join at the streetside cafe. Checking in and out was very simple and quick. The food was good, and the bar drinks were amazing. I have already recommended the hotel to my kids who will be joining you prior to their departure for their upcoming cruise in November.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing and made me very welcome and told me lots of things to do around the area that suited me as a young single traveler The food was also very good as were the facilities and the rooms were 10/10 Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Traditional Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave us a room in the lobby right across from the kitchen, seriously, no lie. Very loud, I've never seen anything like it, our door to our room was in the lobby, it was not with the rest of the rooms. I had specifically asked for ocean view, we had a view of an alley and people walking past our window all hours. That room should not be rented out at all or at the least rented at a very discounted rate

    Location, clean, helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of taxes added to bill, resort tax and hospitality tax (gratuity) plus normal sales tax. Just be prepared as prices shown do not include taxes. This is the same for most places in that location.

    Perfect location, great breakfast included. Staff very friendly. Rooms very light and airy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty minor quibble: air con was vital in the heat, and machine was noisy. But really no complaints.

    Welcome drinks and excellent breakfast included in price. Staff friendly and helpful. Very pleasant vibe. Good decor. Great neighbourhood, across street from beach, with downtown right behind. Massively improved my impression of Miami from initial visit at start of holiday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hallway to the room was really dim (blue lighting) and muggy the majority of the time. Our door to the room closed and locked, but there was a gap between it and the frame which made us a little uneasy, but we never had any issues. There were also small ants that would appear from the bottom of the bed and get onto the duvet.

    This was a great location being right across the street from the beach. The complimentary breakfast was better than I expected it to be as it was a hot meal (pancakes, bacon, and eggs). The staff were friendly and seemed as though they really enjoyed their jobs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked the reservation, Somehow I was under the impression that all of the rooms had a view of the ocean and ours did not. Just a little disappointed

    The staff was just amazingly helpful especially Carlos our wonderful waiter. We felt like we made a new friend. The restaurant on site had great food at a good price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative thing I can say is that the hotel lobby air is not that cold. It doesn't blow out a lot of air. The elevator is very small and very hot. It can only accommodate two people with small luggage. Our room phone did not work and there is no room service. Besides this I have no complaints about the hotel.

    The food at the Penguin is absolutely marvelous. I had steak, eggs and potatoes for breakfast it was delicious. The location is AMAZING!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited storage, rooms could use a small 3-4 drawer dresser or night stands with drawers. But still very pleasant room.

    very friendly and helpful staff. room was small but sparkling clean. The full wall mural of orchids behind the bed was AWESOME!!! The free continental breakfast is actually a full breakfast. Walk to beach, restaurants and nightclubs. And the price is right.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 1 night

    Еarlyer check out at 11 a.m.

    The location of the hotel is great. It is located in the quiet part of Ocean Drive. Staff was very friendly. Our room was modern and quiet, because he was looking at the backyard. Very clean too. When we arrived, we received a welcome drink, I liked it very much. Wi Fi signal was very good and it is free in all rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ammount of heatness that i felt in the hotel elevator and through the halls were terrible :( more A/C there were no veiws unless you ended up on the fourth floor and theres no elevator for the fourth floor like what ?! That makes no sense

    I enjoyed people watching as i ate breakfast the bacon and pancakes and the omlet was heaven (:

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service in the Restaurant was VERY slow.

    The Hotel was cute, but basic. Good for a nights stay. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast included was a plus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC breeze was directed straight to the another side of the bed and it made it impossible to keep the AC at cool enough temperature.

    Nice location and clean room. Breakfast was a good addition but with resort fee you might expect a little bit more.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that the room was so small, the photos make it look like the room is much nicer and larger. I felt for the money I paid, I was going to get a lot better quality hotel room.

    I liked that it was close to the beach and fairly close to the more busier parts of Ocean Drive

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't as clean as I thought the pictures can be quite deceiving. The room service staff didn't speak any English. When we first arrived it was stains on my sheets but they did changed them after I asked.

    The breakfast included was great. The staff was very friendly and it was close to all the attractions on south beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Room 1 King bed OR Traditional Room 1 King bed with futon
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Venue could use some upkeep other than that, I enjoyed my week stay. Thank you Penguin staff!

    I like the quaint accommodations with the location just a stones throw from South Beach and far enough from the hussle & bussle that you can rest in your room without all the disruptful noise yet steps away from all the action that takes place in South Beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have any problems during our stay.

    The room was very clean. Hotel staff were very accommodating. The restaurant staff especially Bill were great!

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Penguin Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: