Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of PGA National Resort & Spa 4 stars

400 Avenue of the Champions, Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33418, USA

#4 of 9 hotels in Palm Beach Gardens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 98 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    The pool and hot tub were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WAY TOO EXPENSIVE for food and beverage. Had to pay $3.50 for a club brand bottled water! The cafe didn't have anything for breakfast at 9am and their oven was broken.

    The pool and hot tub were amazing. My kids had the best time ever. The room was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful, expensive, comfortable.
    • Couple
    • King Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television hard to work. Toilet seat broken but fixed that day. Water bubbling up out of ground and could not use our patio. Restaurants charge 18% automatic tip but the wait staff did a poor job. They never followed up with us after receiving our food, had to find my own ketchup bottle for my fries, had to ask for a refill of my beverage. For 18% gratuity, these are basic tasks to complete and weren’t done. We didn’t eat there again.

    Grounds were well kept. Bed is very comfortable and rooms are quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    I would not recommend this resort unless you play golf
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn't carry the high expectations as one would expect from a spa resort. It lacked the attention to detail; robes were worn and needed mending and bathroom floor tile grout was grungy. Also there wasn't any hooks to hang robes or clothing. Closet rail hung too low where clothing touch the floor; dress and jackets.

    Staff was professional and accommodating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.3
    great location- not worth the stay unless your are into golf.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The check in staff needs a little more guidance and supervision. Breakfast staff not helpful, paid no attention to us until we were done eating and honestly 60.00 for 2 people for breakfast is a bit on the high end. I don't really golf so really not the location for me. I would not recommend this location to anyone unless they are pure golfers

    The grounds were beautiful. The house-keep staffing was great! Very nice and did a good job. Spa was great- Roosevelt the attendant was very professional. I don't really golf so really not the location for me. I would not recommend this location to anyone unless they are pure golfers

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointed
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    so very disappointed for the price. Felt like I was in the basement. First level ( assuming because of pet) Ceiling was low and ugly. Not cozy at all, don't think it was dirty, but felt it. Tried to find out if additional pet cost, was $300!!! And told not allowed to leave pet unattended and pet not allowed in any facilities, which I can understand, but made bringing my little lap dog a miserable experience. Thought it would be better, been at mandarin oriental, and that is pet friendly!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Overall good
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Two Double Junior Suite with Resort View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too dark everywhere, you can maximize if you are golfing but if your not your still paying for the golfing rate.

    server & host was good and friendly, steak very good. Free parking or valet (both available) Staff are friendly Dog friendly Gated community and great entrance drive

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is tight if there is an invite. You may have to walk for if you do not use the valet.

    Nice and inviting place. Something exciting is always going on.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.1
    Ok but probably would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds and Golf View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't quite put my finger on it but the whole vibe of the hotel was not great, staff ok, room was cleaned but not restocked on coffee making stuff, no bath mat. Just general attention to detail really

    Nice large room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.1
    Short overnight before golf - lively hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds and Golf View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for more expensive room, and got a view of driving range. Expected a Golf course view, and while it did face the golf course, it was underwhelming. Reception on TV was a bit fuzzy, and the double room was a bit on the small side. Value for money wasn't necessarily there for me. We probably would not stay here again because I would only give our room three stars.

    Pretty property, lively social area, comfortable beds. Breakfast buffet was delicious with good service.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    5.0
    Premium prices, run-down condition
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds and Golf View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Horrific, damaged, beaten-up furniture and rugs that should have been discarded and burned years ago. Entire hotel looks run-down, bordering on seedy. Needs a major investment of money and time to bring condition up to acceptable from the present appalling. The bar was over-priced and service there was dreadful. Would never stay at this resort again. No value here.

    Clean. Comfortable bedding. Best part of my stay: it was only one night.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    5.8
    Was not impressed with the customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn't ready until an hour after check in time and we had no bathroom lighting until after 10pm.

    The pool was great and the bar served food on the patio that overlooked the pool.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful golf courses and neighborhood around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds and Golf View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No in room dining menu. Asked three times to bring. Can't reach front desk - Phone buttons did not work and where not programmed as shown. No wine glasses in the room.

    Beautiful golf courses and neighborhood around. Nice swimming pool. Cool bar at the lobby.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    10
    Everyone was extremely accommodating from staff to clerks to wait staff. So very pleased.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange but the toilet paper was so far from the actual toilet. Didn't ask, but prefer a walk-in shower for us older folks, many have stability problems like stepping over a tub. That's all though.

    We loved the breakfast buffet, the evening entertainers, the bed was super comfy. Loved the little cafe, Ironwood Restaurant, readily available flavored water in lobby.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Excellent place to pass two hectic business days.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey and limited food options.

    Very comfortable room. Priced well. Beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing loved it all

    The service us A1

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    The pool was great, comfy beds.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds and Golf View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was great, comfy beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Delightful
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds and Golf View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Music:/ entertainment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    It was a 70th birthday bought for us by our family and we had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main course of our meal was brought to our table while we were still eating our starters.

    The facilities were first class.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Golf tourney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Two Double Junior Suite with Resort View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ironwood was not great Golf tourney impact made food/beverage struggle

    Golf tourney Gym

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    Very comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    $100 per night damages deposit that didn’t get returned until 48 hours after checkout!

    Very comfy beds

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    5.8
    Thanks god it was a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view of our room. the room itself was pretty bad. We have requested twin beds and we got a room with one bed.

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    An unexpected night of luxury and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    $20 valet is a little steep.

    We had very good room service and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was way too pricy

    EVERYTHING. FOOD WAS GREAT. Resteraunt was way too pricy. That was the only problem.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic stay, polite helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King or Two Double Junior Suite with Golf View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice atmosphere and feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa pool entrance wasn't well marked

    Nice atmosphere and feel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Poached eggs were perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At the outside Bar (lunchtime) I was billed $17.50 for a Mojito - outrageous.

    Poached eggs were perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Awesome Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds and Golf View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Antonello Marcino the Concierge was wonderful went out of her way to make our trip even more special.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.4
    Good but ask about taxes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxes for golf and pool without using the service

    Nice place, pool and nature

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Cortney without a U (waitress) was a delight. Ambience, food and everyone was a very nice experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Food and drinks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and drinks.. Amazing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.6
    Staff and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds and Golf View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra charges

    Staff and facilities

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.6
    We are Coming Back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds and Golf View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little noisy overlooking spa pool

    Loved the atmosphere friendliness of staff and energy of the property

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    7.5
    Liked the energy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled like it was once a smoking room

    Liked the energy

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.3
    we will return next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the shower was so weak , hard to get clean with no water pressure, very dissatisfied with the showering

    room was great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    The pool and room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool and room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    10
    Wonderful resort in a location convenient to all of Palm Beach County
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Don't laugh...but the toilet tissue needs an upgrade.

    The room was spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    5.8
    Tries hard, but needs some updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelled musty. Restaurant was sub-par. This is an aging property in desperate need of a facelift.

    Front desk staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    Relax, comfort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds and Golf View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was very good from all departments. All the areas were very clean and organized. I would highly recommend this location to anyone.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    8.3
    Staff was great and friendly and so accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not comfortable. 18% gratuity added to everything.

    Staff was great and friendly and so accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    5.0
    Facilities were all there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was designed to rip off the visitor $25 + taxes valet parking $6 + taxes a bottle of water $295 a round at the national $25 + taxes above the room rate to use the facilities which we never used but still charged for The rooms were tired and worn The bathrooms were old and worn $26. + taxes for breakfast

    Facilities were all there

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    9.2
    I shipped my clubs via shipstix checked out on Sunday left...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I shipped my clubs via shipstix checked out on Sunday left clubs with shipping instructions on case with bell captain they could not locate them for delivery back until Tuesday now they will arrive a day later very poor organizing.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    9.6
    The spa was wonderful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Was very upset I was not told upfront there was a major event going on and that all the menus were going to be limited. As I was there for work I intended to eat at the hotel but due to the limited menu I ended up going off property

    The spa was wonderful. And loved all the salt pools

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    4.6
    The property was decent, but I'm not sure it was worth...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Apparently this property went through a renovation recently, but they chose the absolute worst lighting for the rooms. We had a junior suite, and it felt very dingy. The fan didn't work. We were also told that we could walk out of the room to the pool, but it turned out we were on the complete opposite side of the resort, which was fine but gave us a bit of exercise carrying an infant back and forth as needed. The bed was really terrible - lumpy and the pillows were too firm. Not the relaxing stay that we had hoped for. We booked PGA National for a convenient place to visit family in the area. Unfortunately, we ended up staying during a big golf tournament. Because of this, we were forced to valet our car and were told that our family could not valet their own cars on the property, but we would have to go to get them. At first this seemed understandable; however, we only stayed during the first day of the tournament and the hotel was by no means full or even close to crowded. As we requested the car to pick up our family members, the valet locked the keys in our car while the car was running. The car was a rental and we didn't have an extra set of keys. The valet staff was incredibly unhelpful and even tried to blame my husband for the mishap. The valet was going to charge us for the cost of getting someone to unlock the car. We ended up using our triple A. We had to do all of the problem-solving (e.g., asking if they had someone who could drive us over to pick up family, which they did have, but just never thought to offer). The valet never bothered to tell a manager about this, so we had to, and he was very apologetic and after some negotiating they did comp the cost of the valet parking, which was nice (though I had to ask for this and I thought it was something the hotel should have done automatically). The food was mediocre and overpriced, which I expected.

    The property was decent, but I'm not sure it was worth the money. We rented a cabana by the pool for the day, and that was really nice. Our server was great and really helpful. The pool was nicely heated, though in the infant pool was too cold. Also the bathroom had two sinks, which was nice, but no bathtub, which made getting sunscreen off of an infant a bit challenging.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    9.2
    The golf was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lobby bar got a bit loud.

    The golf was great. The buffet breakfast was very good but a little pricey. The area is upscale with beautiful landscaping. There are many good restaurants in the area.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    8.3
    Since it was a convention the staff was great and the resort...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The suite was not what I expected. It was dated and not worth the money I paid. Would not stay at the resort again.

    Since it was a convention the staff was great and the resort was nice.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    5.8
    The property is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pool area wasn't clean - daily we found cups and wrappers in and around the pool. The staff wasn't that friendly. The food at the inside bar was awful.

    The property is nice.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    8.8
    The front desk staff was courteous and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The golf shop staff were uncaring at best. I was surprised at how unwelcoming they were. The breakfast food in the restaurant was, in a word, "disappointing." The service was slow and the meals were very expensive. The free Wi-Fi was spotty and we had to call for tech assistance. For the money...I'd choose another location before I'd come back. Surprising that the PGA puts their name on such an inferior product.

    The front desk staff was courteous and professional. The grounds were delightful and well kept. The room (very spacious) was in close proximity to the lobby.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    7.5
    The very comfortable/friendly/helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice but not as beautiful as I expected for the money. I've stayed in nicer hotels for $100 less.... but PBG National was very nice, comfortable and we could make the rooms dark in the day time for sleeping when needed.

    The very comfortable/friendly/helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    3.8
    Very noisy especially late at night and room was not...
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Location and pools.

    Very noisy especially late at night and room was not refreshed appropriately. Not very clean.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    6.7
    The bar the pool was amazing food was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The noise u herd in rooms was so loud .the bathroom was small and I felt like was in a cave

    The bar the pool was amazing food was good

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    9.6
    They made my lady and I very welcome.
    • Couple

    Breakfast is so expensive

    They made my lady and I very welcome....

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.6
    I liked everything about the resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing I didn't like was the 25.00 resort fee.

    I liked everything about the resort.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    10
    Huge property, with great facilities - golf and tennis,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Huge property, with great facilities - golf and tennis, great restaurants and bars.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    7.5
    Bathrooms are out dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathrooms are out dated. No fitted sheets on bed.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    7.9
    Staff/location/golf course
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi poor/ TV in and out/ value of room poor

    Staff/location/golf course

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Browse PGA National Resort & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: