Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Phoenix West 3 stars

1500 North 51st Avenue, Maryvale, Phoenix, AZ 85043, USA

#70 of 141 hotels in Phoenix

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 71 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    It was pleasant.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seems it needs a bit of an upgrade, bathroom kept a lot of the moisture even when a quick shower.

    Extremely accessible, close to freeways. There is construction around it, but still it is very accessible. Hotel seems like it needs some upgrades, but it is worth for the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    I was very pleased with my stay and would not hesitate to stay again or to recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was too cold for my granddaughter to swim in but the spa made up for it a little in her mind.

    The room was very nice clean and quiet! The pillows where great I am now on a mission to find them for my home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    Staff was not to happy or thrilled customer service could of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was told room came with breakfast yet than when I called agent was snappy said No than I had random people knocking at door after I placed sign looking for previous guest just ended up checking out early never again 160.00 down the drain no kudos for return

    Staff was not to happy or thrilled customer service could of used improvement

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.4
    Horrible customer service. Front desk was rude and unprofessional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on website showed double room. When u checked in I got one room with 2 beds. Pool closed early bar and restraunt. They don't offer a continental breakfast and they should at the price they charge for the Room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    My stay
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did find a hair in the bathtub but the restaurant did accommodate me with a free breakfast for the morning and did apologize. Also I reserve 3 rooms and was overcharged for one of them and it did take them awhile to reimburse me for the overcharge.

    The room was big but it has small restroom, the restaurant was on site and the food was good. It had a covered pool so you didn't have to go outside to go swimming and it had a nice Lounge so you didn't have to hang out and eat heat outside. My family was there for a funeral but they in made our stay comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    We had a fantastic experience at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have any concerns that weren't met with resolution or understanding.

    We had a fantastic experience at this hotel. I can't say enough about how impressed we were with every part of our stay. We booked our first night through a third party site and found a conflict in pricing when we arrived. We were happy to have arrived and just paid the higher rate that night. This was in no way a problem created by the establishment. It was a great room with two extremely comfortable queen beds. We needed to book another night after arrival, but the doubles were sold out. We were offered a king room with a queen sleeper at a very affordable rate. We were in the middle of a move, so We couldn't be at the property to move our things. When We returned late that evening, we found that they had us all settled into our new room. We were thrilled to see the room and had already decided we were at a top notch property. From the front desk staff to the housekeeping, maintenance and food service, the guest services were just awesome. The pool and hot tub were clean and the temperature just right. The fitness room was smaller than some, but had everything we needed. There was even a laundry facility that was free and available to guests. The thing that stood out the most was the hospitality and the employees.Everyone seemed to be enjoying their job and they seemed to take pride in making this the best experience for the guest. Hats off to you,Phoenix West! We will be back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    5.5
    It was decent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that was only one receptionist, very inconvient. Also I didn't like that there was only one very slow elevator, super annoying.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 elevator for entire hotel. Restaurant service was horrible! Not a very professional star as major mistakes were made during our stay - including turning our keys off before checkout. Very disappointing for an IHG and HI club member.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    10
    Best Hotel I've stayed at all year!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I had to leave!

    The Bartender was very friendly and accomodating! And the Blue Burger was Amazing!!!!!! The bed and pillows were so comfortable! I also loved that when I checked in, and got to my room, my A/C was on and the room was nice and cool! That was soooo nice!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    Comfy but had to supply me own breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not including which seems really cheap to me, but I had packed food to have for breakfast.

    Beds were comfy and they provide a lot of tolitries.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Close to good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    House cleaning knocking on door early on checkout day. At 9:00 Am

    Close to good food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    Price difference
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They wanted to charge me more than what we signed up for

    What's a nice place to stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.4
    That I had booked a smoking room and when I arrived they...
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had booked a smoking room and when I arrived they booked us in a non smoking room wasn't very happy about that.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    6.7
    It was ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stores around the area

    The rooms where nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Great stay; very personable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convienant to the interstate

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    2.5
    Very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Great place to stay after a long day of driving.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find entrance at night.

    Love the larger pillows for the king sized bed. Room was spacious. Loved restaurant and bar in the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.5
    Booked for 2 queen beds, rec'd room with 1 king bed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked for 2 queen beds, rec'd room with 1 king bed, roomate, had to use rool away bed, very unconfie!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    i loved everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i loved everything. everything was really good i enjoyed everything staff were helpful and nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    It was awesome!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't complain about anything.

    Food was awesome!!! Will definitely stay there again!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Would stay here again if in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was free with our reservation and the food was great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    3.3
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude employees under staff not the room I booked

    Clean room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    The room was very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to complain about.

    The room was very clean and comfortable. Loved the staff too!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    5.0
    I thought breakfast was included and indeed it was not and I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought breakfast was included and indeed it was not and I was given unfriendly service when I brought my siblings to swim in the pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    4.6
    Mold in tub surround!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mold in tub surround! Poor cable reception

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    5.0
    The bar and restaurant where convenient but expensive
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was garbage bags in my room and it was very expensive

    The bar and restaurant where convenient but expensive

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Liked everything. Location and all.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    5.0
    Dead lock wasn't operable which was later repaired
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dead lock wasn't operable which was later repaired

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    7.1
    Some good some bad 😕
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable, pillows too flat,no maid came to clean room,no complimentary breakfast

    Easy check in,bar,free WiFi, clean room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel with excellent amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Added breakfast was a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    10
    Best place to stay when going to a concert at the pavilion. Shuttle service, great before and after
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shuttle service from concert to slow. Happens at shift change

    Colton the bartender is awesome. Food is excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.8
    Nice place. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Get location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.6
    Clen ,nice and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clen ,nice and comfortable. Recomended

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    10
    Best place to stay when going to a concert at the pavilion. Shuttle service, great before and after
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Colton the bartender goes the extra mile !! Great service for breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    Food was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was great! Had a good time at the bar. Shuttle ride to concert. We will stay again for the next concert.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    7.1
    The afternoon customer service lady was always friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leak in the room above us. Loud noise dripping into the tub that we stopped with towels. Breakfast was slow. The cost of the room was a little spendy. Don't know if that had something to do with the spring training/vacation crowd.

    The afternoon customer service lady was always friendly and waved hello whenever she saw us. Great location. Nice aesthetics.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    6.7
    Staff made me laugh and were nice, they always are.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location lots of homeless wanderers around but I like that Guero Canelo was right there next to it.

    Staff made me laugh and were nice, they always are.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    7.5
    Staff was very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I don't know if AZ had a bunch of residents upgrade their mufflers or if the area is know for street racing, but there were so much vehicle noise late at night. I know the freeway is close by, but there seemed to be an excessive number of modified exhausts driving by between the hours of 11p and 3am. Luckily I was so exhausted, I was able to sleep despite the noise.

    Staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms were large and included both a microwave and mini fridge. Loved the number of pillows, which were big and fluffy. Easy to find and there's a McDonald's near by if you don't want to eat at the hotel. There was also a rec room of sorts in the hotel, with a pool table, TV w/ satellite, and additional entertainment. There's also and indoor pool.

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    7.5
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was to small. The restaurant was not very good. The fish meal was not cooked fully. The staff was informed and they still charged us for the meal. Did not like the one elevator, had to wait a long time for it. All the other Holiday Inn's had free breakfast for the same price.

    The location was good. The staff was friendly. The bed was comfortable.The place looked clean. The price was not bad.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    10
    The information as we arrived late from los angeles, staff...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing to say

    The information as we arrived late from los angeles, staff mentioned if we had dinner and that hotel resturant was open for a few more minutes. As well as information of hotel amenities available, breakfast was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    6.3
    We stayed in a suite and it was clean with all the amenities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    VERY NOISY!!! Between freeway, sirens, and the suite having a adjoining room with inconsiderate guest staying in the other room im suprised we slept at all

    We stayed in a suite and it was clean with all the amenities that were advertised plus a few more that were not but everything I expected in a suite

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.3
    We only used the hotel as a stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our booking said breakfast included. What no one said was the voucher was for $10 each. When we complained though the girl on reception was very good she refunded the difference. Be careful which side of hotel room is on.Ours was very noisy because of traffic.

    We only used the hotel as a stopover. The room was big and food good.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    7.9
    Location is close to where I was visiting and really easy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Curtains wouldn't close completely and bright light shone in at night, A/C was directed right at bed and it was kind of uncomfortable trying to sleep even with it on low.

    Location is close to where I was visiting and really easy to find. Room was pretty comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    7.5
    There was a party on Saturday night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was a party on Saturday night. The music was so loud from downstairs the walls, floor, and windows vibrated in our room on the second floor. It was too loud to hear the television and we couldn't sleep.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    3.3
    The Super Bowl
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't smoke on balcony even though it is outside! Everyone I encountered that worked there has a attitude problem, except the restaurant staff! Managers were never available and will mot return your phone calls! Worst stay I have had in a long time!

    The Super Bowl

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    8.3
    Great bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great bed.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    Really like the clenliness and enjoyed the drinks at the bar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was a little bland.

    Really like the clenliness and enjoyed the drinks at the bar!

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent breakfast!!!! An service!!!

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    7.1
    The staff was great.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The staff was great...

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    7.1
    Staff was helpful & efficient to our requests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Elevator slow. Noise in other room.

    Staff was helpful & efficient to our requests.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    7.1
    Restaurant so so limited
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant so so limited Price was extortionist Toilet did not flush. So nice living with turds for $ 290!

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    9.2
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly staff. Live band playing, we enjoyed it. Close to good restaurants and stores.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    10
    Staff was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room 250, Toilet runs non stop need to have that fixed

    Staff was very nice. The food in the restaurant was outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    3.8
    Staff wasn't very helpful and we were displeased with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff wasn't very helpful and we were displeased with the marjuana smelling hall and room.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    8.8
    Staff was very nice, room & lobby were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no breakfast, only coffee in the lobby.

    Staff was very nice, room & lobby were clean. Free wi-fi with code provided.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    10
    Bed was very comfy and loved the personal balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complimentary breakfast

    Bed was very comfy and loved the personal balcony

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    7.5
    Big room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dirty carpet, dirty bath.

    Big room

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2015

    9.6
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    everything

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: