Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pier Blue Old Saybrook - Clinton 2 stars

1430 Boston Post Road, Old Saybrook, CT 06475, USA

#4 of 7 hotels in Old Saybrook

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 347 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely old. Bottom of tub was stained. Light switches, and remote control dirty. Towels were rough and thread bare. Way over priced. Signs of renovation around the parking lot. A room in this condition should be $99 or less a until complete renovation is done.

    Close to Waters Edge Resort which is where we attended a function

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furnishings, curtains very outdated...from 60s/70s. instead of a couch, there was a long wooden bench in front of dresser that had TV on top. Walls thin, heard next door TV that was loud all night long. Mini fridge discolored, old with freezer that had too much ice build-up. Stayed Memorial Day weekend, Friday night. With tax, cost was over $170. Certainly not worth it for the type of room we had.

    Bed comfortable. Room clean. Convenient location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They have free breakfast, but pretty sparse. There is a nice breakfast place just across the road, if you're picky.

    Very good value. Nice hotel for very reasonable rates. Rooms on first floor or near office may be noisy, but our 2nd floor room was very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They are rebuilding the hotel, so, it is a mess outside. We did not like the breakfast, at first day (weekday) the breakfast was very, very poor. Only on Saturday the last day of our stay that they improve a little bit.

    The room and the bed was ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rug in our room, Rom 105, felt wet when we arrived like it had just been cleaned and had a fragrance smell.

    The room was spacious and the the 2 full beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Non-Smoking Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was never cleaned. piles of trash and garbage still in the wastebasket which smelled up the room. I came down to breakfast at 9:25 by the clock in my room, and I was told I was too late.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Non-Smoking Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Construction/repairs in progress which made it less attractive, but also showed the intent to keep the place in good repair. Room had a slight unpleasant odor on entry which I didn't notice later.

    Nice room for an overnight stay. I would return again. Staff friendly and helpful. Glad to see the eggs for breakfast. I can't eat gluten so I don't usually find much I can eat on the buffet. They let me check out late. Thanks.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Non-Smoking Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely needs some updating. The rooms are fine but certainly nothing special. Everything was clean but you could just tell that things in the room had not been replaced in a long time.

    It was very cost effective for a one nights stay for my business trip. They had all of the amenities that I needed and it was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's under renovation from a patron driving into part of the facility. Makes appearance look bat from outside

    The rooms were nice with solid hard wood furniture. Very interesting for a motel type place. Beds were comfortable. Rooms were quiet given it's proximity to the main road.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your doing a good job and see you are in the process of renovating.

    The beds were excellent, nice and firm, the room was warm, comfotable The shower was great, lovely hot water. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Non-Smoking Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the room I was assigned smelled like a smoker had been there. I noticed a wing of the motel was being remodeled so I expect that will not always be a problem. I don't believe there were any other rooms left when I checked in so I couldn't ask to change rooms.

    Proprietor was a little bit gruff, but turned out to be a very nice gentleman! The room furnishings were charming and unique. The bed was large, clean and comfortable with ample pillows. The bathroom was updated. I was offered a complementary bottle of water at check-in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facility was filthy. The hallway was littered with dogfood and debris. The comforter was stained, shower filthy. No heat. We asked to be moved and the staff was helpful. Second room was cleaner.

    Staff was friendly and responsive

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lowest price in this location and adequate facility. Why pay more for the same thing up the road. Even my picky wife said the bed was really comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Non-Smoking Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Continental breakfast was very limited. The property was not what I expected as from the pictures.

    The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The price was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked that each room has distinctive furniture, definitely unlike cookie cutter chain hotels. Also, the two brothers who own the property were especially nice and accommodating to our group's needs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Non-Smoking Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to turn on heat when I got to the room so it took a while for the room to warm up.

    Breakfast was available at 6am for early risers and those people who need to get an early start.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor lighting, dirty tub threadbare towels, fridge didn't work, bed was very uncomfortable, no real blanket, inadequate pillows. generally a dirty feel to the room.

    nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have absolutely no complaints. Loved the place!

    Family run with a warm welcome. They care about their property and take pride in accommodating people's needs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room did have a slightly stale smell, but I think that was left from a previous incarnation as a Days Inn or other hotel chain unit. Other than that, I found my room to be spacious, and the bed was extremely comfortable.

    The desk staff members were uniformly friendly and helpful; and the Indian restaurant adjacent to the site, Himalaya, was excellent. I'd definitely stay at this hotel again: it was a clean, comfortable, and pet-friendly hotel in a beautiful part of Connecticut.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a musty smell...we got used to it after a few minutes but anyone who is sensitive to smells may want to check out the room before booking or bring a portable deodorizer.

    The complimentary breakfast was very good. There was plenty for everyone and it was hot and fresh. The proprietor kept bringing out fresh hot eggs and fresh coffee.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was nicely appointed with a separate reading/study area as well as space to visit and relax. There was a peaceful, welcoming ambiance to the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn't cleaned before we got there. Gave us a temporary room until ours was ready. Was almost late for our event.

    Quite centrally located for our busy weekend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not one thing to complain about.

    The service was excellent. We were greeted by Sunjay, who helped us with anything we needed. What a pleasure he was! Richie made a wonderful breakfast each morning with a friendly smile. Kudos to an amazing staff. We will visit again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets smelled of to much bleach. Yes it's a good thing that it was clean but it was overwhelming. The pillows were to puffy.

    The workers were super friendly and helpful. The rooms were huge and clean. The beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a lot of character and was very comfortable. The staff were kind and attentive. The room itself was fantastic and if I'm ever in the area again I will stay here for sure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The old stale smoke smell in the bedroom, from years of being a smoking room. The décor is really ugly, old and mismatched (nothing like the relatively nice outside appearance) The furniture was very old and cheap. Marks and dents in the walls, tear in the mosquito net covered in tape. 2 pillows only and a strange decorative throw, mismatched bedding. The bathroom was tiny-you couldn't shut the door while standing! The sink in the bedroom and not the bathroom. The cleaning was patchy. The breakfast selection was poor. The hot food was very overcooked and limited selection. The coffee was stale. The reception area was awful- stained chairs-not a great first impression.

    The bed was comfortable. The room was fairly sized. The property is well located for nearby towns. Adequate parking. Property is quiet and we couldn't hear other guests.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pics on the website did not represent the facility at all! It was just short of a dump, for $200 a night! Very old and dated with nasty furniture both in the room and out back. No pier in sight!

    Really, nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was expensive for the location, surrounding outer grounds and the motley decoration of the rooms.

    I did not eat breakfast at the hotel, so I cannot rate it. The room was clean, but in general, for the price, the whole place needs a facelift. Old Saybrooke does not have a nice miderange hotel or motel and this hotel has the potential to be better for the price. It was expensive for what was presented.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were not enough eggs. Patron had to request. Homefries were not replenished. Someone should have been monitoring, especially since this was in the middle of their breakfast serving time. Toilet had a leak around the base as floor was wet

    They gave each guest a cold bottle of water. This was much appreciated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    OMG! This place needs a MAJOR overhaul!! It is just short of a "a dump". The beds and linens were clean. Towels and bathroom were clean. The rest of the room - disgusting. It just needs to be updated and redone. The carpet so filthy that I was glad I had socks. The room was musty. I didn't stop sneezing all night, I'm sure I inhaled mold spores.

    I liked the price, and location. Was not expecting to have to stay at a motel so this was convenient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Non-Smoking Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of a thing!

    Manager was extremely helpful in fulfilling every need. Mannerly, respectful as well as knowledgable. Room was clean, quiet. Bed was comfortable, clean. I would definitely stay there on my next trip.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the time frame I had to be there.

    I liked the friendliness of the staff and the surrounding area. How calm it was and how good the food 😋 was.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit musty - which may be the result of the humidity of the area being so close to the Long Island Sound.

    We were in the area for a family wedding. The location was convenient and easy to access. The beds were fine. We were able to get a good sleep before heading out early the next morning to make a flight. We were able to leave early without rousing staff to check out. The staff were friendly and accommodating - we were able to enter the room earlier then the scheduled check in time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More options at breakfast but home fries were fantastic!

    The manager waa quite sweet, offering cold bottles of water almost immediately. The room was large and comfy, as we are a family of four, and came with fridge and microwave.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing this was the best place we have stayed so far clean comfortable and gave out bottled water for our trip.

    It felt clam and comfortable and there were no pets. There were two restaurants adjacent to the property, one was vegetarian and the other was a bistro lounge. It was reasonablely prices and delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was included but there wasn't much variety with food choices. Better to either shop at the grocery store and use the fridge and microwave in the room or go across the street to The Tea Room. The motel was undergoing some renovations but it didn't affect our stay.

    The motel was within walking distance of restaurants and the town. Parking was easy. The motel was pet friendly with a large grassy area to walk dogs. They even had potty bags on the property to use for clean up. There was a picnic area with grills to use. The staff was very pleasant and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedspread was dirty, the walls were dirty, the toilet wasn't secured to the floor or wall, and the piece of metal that covers the seam from the room to the bathroom wasn't attached to the floor at all and actually stuck up. It tripped us up a few times. The air conditioning didn't work at all and it was sweltering in the room. The mini fridge didn't work, and it was plugged into an outlet that was overflowing with plugs. For a non smoking room, it sure didn't smell that way. Overall, I expected much MUCH better from a place that I am giving my hard earned money to stay in a home away from home...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Non-Smoking Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit boring. Maybe add yogurt and some fresh summer fruit?

    Room was clean, and easy to access from parking (I had a lot of bags to bring in). Front desk was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Cleanliness of property--- stairwell/hallway carpeting needs vacuuming -Only one ice machine working -Refrigerator in room not working properly... freezer section was frozen shut/ice crusted around it

    -Sink located outside of bath/toilet area - Comfy beds - Good hot water pressure -Air Conditioner worked great -Evening check in person friendly and knowledgable -Breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv remote for closed captioned

    The bed was perfect. The staff is very friendly. Tries to please the customer regardless. Very rustic if you dont mind under improvements, good quick overnight stay for a tourist.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet all stains, night stand sticky to touch. Bathroom upstairs used, pipes made noises in our room. No coffee pot said was on site I called desk they said they didn't have a spare. One person at desk if they left u had to wait, some people waited 10+ mins.to check in. Definitely don't recommend it to anyone I wouldn't pay $50 for it and I paid almost 4 times that and booked it few months back....

    The shower was good, that was all.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For $200 a night, this hotel was not up to expectations. The quality of the hotel is equal to a Days Inn or Motel 6 for under $100/ night. I expect much more from a hotel charging a premium for a hotel room.

    The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Non-Smoking Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The woman behind the front desk was wonderful. The breakfast was less than accommodating: very little selection with dry potatoes, no coffee or eggs when I arrived and no utensils for which to cut one's bagels. For the money, $273.00 for 2 nights, I could have done better. Sorry!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not fond of the decorating in the room. Just not my taste but it was very clean and well kept.

    Beds were comfortable. The staff was very accommodating and polite/friendly. Nice breakfast too. Very generous with nice cold bottled water. Nice on hot days.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was loose. Room keys didn't work on several tries and we had 3. Had them replaced. Worked for 1 entry. Front desk staff "suggested "we had damaged the keys that we only had for 10 minutes.

    Bed very comfortable. Complimentary breakfast was adequate. They were remodeling and have a way to go.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not immaculate... corners and drain needed attention... but that was the only thing and it was clean enough. The TV did not work and staff had trouble sorting it out before getting it going. Coffee was awful but Dunkin Donuts is a half mile away!

    Comfortable beds, clean and modern room, pretty surroundings, very quiet at night. Beautiful seating area outdoors in back. This is our 2nd or 3rd stay here and we would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The complimentary breakfast was lacking in good fruit, good gluten-free products. The eggs needed to be re-freshed at 9:00.

    Good firm mattress, nice sheets, quiet location, convenient cafe across the street.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby needs major upgrading , rug in common area is extremely dirty and smelly due to recent rain. Rug in bedrooms needs replacing.

    Bathroom and sheets were very clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Non-Smoking King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv didn't work. Many small bugs like fruit flies flying around room. Shower water pressure erratic. Basically cheap accommodations at high price. Friends stayed here 3 nights for not much more than our one night. Smelled cigarette smoke in spots around rooms and hallways. No offer of cost adjustment when advised office at checkout.

    Bed was comfortable. Room was spacious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Non-Smoking Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like the old tube-style TV, or the purported "library" which had a few videos to borrow but no player in the room. Also disliked the TWO (2) towels and facecloths provided in the bathroom: too rough and their thinness was far from plush. Finally, various remnants of its better history remains as a DAYS INN....oddly some items in the room still state DAYS INN after years of it being unaffiliated.

    Enjoyed the BREAKFAST: a notch above a "continental breaKfast with severAL TYPES BREAD FOR TOAST, 2 DRY CEREALS, SCRAMBLED EGGS, SAUTEED CHOPPED POTATOES, PANCAKES, BAGELS, MUFFINS, AND JUICES AND COFFEE. LOVED the FRESH CLEAN SMELL OF THE BED'S LINENS!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Non-Smoking Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to clean. Awful common areas.....the walk to rooms is terrible. The office area is very bad. They never asked us if we were smokers or not. I didn't think to mention non smoking. We asked for second floor and got a smoking room. Coffee is awful. Sorry, this was my third time and it has give diwnvevery time.

    Location and price

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the heat was turned on before we got there. The continental breakfast ok, pancakes not good. We went to the kathrine Hepburn theater, I thought the hotel was closer, I wanted walking distance. Needed to drive.

    It was clean. The bathroom was big. We called the table the Paul Bunyan table. It was quiet, safe. It was cheap for 1 night.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Non-Smoking Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast, white bread, lack of fresh fruit. Did not eat there, stopped somewhere else.. Powered cream for the coffee

    Polite and responsive staff. The staff immediately fixed an issue with the TV. For the price this was an OK place to stay. Would have given it a better score except the carpet was old and kind of funky.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms are so small. There was not much out for breakfast. It seems like only the bare necessity was put out for breakfast. We did not eat there, but had not planned on eating there anyway. The appearance of the motel was a bit run down or looks to be on the cheap side of things. Then again, the price was very low too.

    The location was 2 miles from family we were visiting. The room was clean and the beds were nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted a location convienent to highway and Mohegan sun casino. Price wise was very affordable, compared to the other hotels that outrageously increased the prices for the new year's eve night. We were given a nice newly upgrade room however it smelt of smoke, (marijuana ) don't understand why the guests knowing it's non smoking will smoke. It's not the hotel's fault guests don't follow rules. The front desk man was pleasant and gave us another room. The room was clean and bed very comfy. For the price it's good . The room had refrigerator and microwave, coffee maker and sofa. It was dated but we'll kept . Free, ample parking and close to outlets and shopping area. Heat worked fine. I don't mind staying here again next time I visit the casino. The casino is approx 20 mins away.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We felt safe, but noticed that the locks on the room doors were on the older side.

    Simple, but clean and attractive, and the price was very reasonable. The breakfast buffet was generous and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Age of the property, breakfast marginal and not provided at the times promised, room was too hot & couldn't be adjusted.

    Location & cleanliness

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff was very friendly! Helped us find directions to our destination for the day. Accommodations were clean and quaint. I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the wood trim had some paint chips, but it was minor....overall everything was very good

    The room was spacious, had a large table (sawn plank of wood, very decorative) with a matching bench, and an upholstered chair for comfortable reading. There is a frig and microwave, cable TV with wide range of channels, and free wi-fi. It is close to Old Saybrook, and numerous places to eat and shop.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    scant breakfast offerings, facility looks run down, could use some fresh paint, having a microwave in room would be helpful

    good location to family located in Essex

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Non-Smoking King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a funky smell. And stunk of smoke that was coming through the vents. The staff said it was a non smoking establishment which surprised me because it was evident that people smoke in the rooms. Also the walls are thin. I was woken up by heavy footsteps coming from the room above and the ceiling was creaking.

    The bed was comfortable. The staff was very kind and eager to make stay comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Non-Smoking Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I noticed or could comment on negatively regarding this hotel.

    Beds where very comfortable, and the rooms where very well laid out and spacious! The staff where very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was very friendly and could not do enough for us. I will be staying there again in the very near future and will recommend staying there to everyone.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy to find a 10 min walk to a residential area beach. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was adequate and a bonus. Just stayed 1 night but could easily have stayed longer as lots to do within 30 mile radius.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The chairs in room were not comfortable for relaxing. The room itself seemed crowded with furniture.

    Easy check in. Cold water Quiet pretty grounds. Spacious bathroom Comfy bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night clerk was great,expect he was owner. TV was an issue but was taken care of immediately. Breakfast was fine. Night was quiet .sheets were amazing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have visited Pier Blue several times and find their level of customer service excellent. From the chilled bottles of water when you arrive to making sure your stay is going well. Their central location is excellent for both enjoying area restaurants and points of interest. In warm weather their rear lawn has picnic tables and grills to use and each room has a micro wave, small frig and a coffee maker. Beds and pillows are very comfortable and each morning there is a complimentary breakfast. Great value when visiting Saybrook-Essex area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, no place to unpack clothes. Bathroom was very tinny, bathtub did not drain while taking a shower. The hotel is very dated in need of renovations.

    The hotel was clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The low rate is why we chose to stay here.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the room, it smelled a mix of cigarette smoke and of closed quarters. Got better once we opened a window.

    The bed was really comfortable and the staff were great!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little outdated, but I understand they might be remodeling and the staff and cleanliness make up for the rest.

    Great staff. Very attentive to my requests and friendly with my children.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was very friendly and gave us a map of the city and he told us what we could see in Old Saybrook. He told us the restaurants where we could eat. The hotel is not far from the beach by car (3 minutes). Old Saybrook is a beautiful place ! And we slept very well !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Non-Smoking Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I hate to say anything negative but to make the rooms even better, it might be a good idea to "air out" the room before hand. There's a strong "stale" odor. If the window was left open at times, it might help.

    I was only there for one night and didn't stay for the breakfast but the coffee maker in my room was convenient. The room and bed were clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. I discovered when I got home that I left a necklace in my room. I called right away and the manager Joan went right to my room , found it, called me back and held it to give to a family member still in town. This kind of service makes a hotel excellent in my opinion.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpeting could stand refreshing, especially exterior, Faint smell of old smoke.

    Bed was comfortable. Staff was extremely pleasant and very accommodating. Room was clean and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Non-Smoking King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really..

    It was clean and comfortable and well situated. The staff was friendly and offered ice cold water on a very very hot day. Breakfast was a plus making a reasonably priced room even more valuable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Non-Smoking King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower walls had patch jobs. The property was not as expansive as they make it sound while you browse. The property is backed up by marshland and ends on the Long Island sound. But you can't access any of it which was part of the reason I wanted to stay here.

    Big room, California king bed with clean crisp white sheets. A huge long hand carved table and bench were location directly under a 50 inch (or so) flat screen tv. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was also large, big shower, not bad for the price. I would definitely stay here again if I was returning to the area

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: