Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pine Inn - Carmel 3 stars

Ocean Avenue & Monte Verde Street, Carmel, CA 93921, USA

#36 of 44 hotels in Carmel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 396 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely living in Carmel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress on our queen-sized bed could have used a bit of refreshing. A bit of a rut had been worn in the middle - go with someone you like.

    What an elegant entrance and lobby! Absolutely lovely, great period furniture, comfortable and very esthetically pleasing. There was even a fireplace in the lounge. This place has an amazing history yet is very approachable and comfortable. Of course the setting in Carmel is exquisite!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    I really enjoyed my stay. I loved the decor and would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator which can be a challenge if you’re disabled.

    I loved the restaurant. I enjoyed the breakfast provided Monday morning. There is a parking lot provided around the corner.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location, gorgeous decoration, high price, long history
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no laundry room for guests to use, and washing clothes after the beach has been a big problem.The room in one of our friends suddenly had a power outage at night, and the staff did not troubleshoot after the inspection. It has been until dawn, and as of today, there has not been a reply and compensation from the hotel.

    The hotel building is a 19th-century antique that exudes a fascinating sense of history.The lobby service is very good, parking is convenient and free.The interior decoration presents the taste and interest of the owner and the elegant aesthetic.Italian-style fine breakfast is impressive,The location is great that a short walk to Carmel Beach.The interior of the room is very special, and the shell-shaped soap has become a favorite souvenir for children and brought back to China.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful, old-school historical property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Next time, if available, I'll ask for a king-size bed. The queen we had was comfy, but my husband and I just weren't used to the smaller size. Nice linens and pillows though.

    What a great, historical building. Beautiful lobby and so was the room. Full of beautiful antiques. And the full breakfast buffet was a pleasant and yummy surprise (I didn't know it was included).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Lovely place in the heart of Carmel, close to everything that makes this place so special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only potential negative for some, was the lack of an elevator and narrow staircases for upper floor access. Understandable for a historic property and wasn't a big deal for us.

    Love the idea that this is a historic hotel with a lovely Victorian sitting lobby. Rooms are old, but nicely furnished, clean and comfortable. The adjacent restaurant is a bonus for cocktails and a very nice complete breakfast, which is included. The desk clerk, Vicky was especially welcoming and sweet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.5
    Surroundings perfect but hotel not up to my standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV was facing the wrong way so you had to turn over to see it on your side. The tub wouldn’t hold or plug so I could have a decent bath. I had to stuff it with wash rags but this really didn’t help since the water continued to drain. I was in room 8.

    I liked the free parking and excellent breakfast. I especially liked the new hired lady at the front desk who was helpful and sympathetic

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.9
    There is insufficient parking - there is a carpark but this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is insufficient parking - there is a carpark but this was full each time we would have liked to park. On street parking in the neighbourhood is restricted to 2 hours.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    4.2
    Theft - never again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Careful - no pets allowed - no warning on web Page or during booking - they tell you upon check-in and will charge you 250 bucks on top - thanks much!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasurable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upstairs could possibly do with a facelift.

    Good hotel in great location but bedrooms and corridors somewhat dated. Breakfast very good and staff lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Cosy room, excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of stairs! Nothing else to dislike.

    Cosy room, excellent breakfast. Great location. Car parking lot very close. Good views from the top floor. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location and easy to get to most points of interest in Carmel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    When they say 4 is check in time, they MEAN 4. We arrived early and hoped to be notified if the room was ready earlier, but it was not. Also, our suite (#60) was advertised as 560 square feet, and it might have been half that big.

    The location is terrific! Right in the center of the shops and restaurants and a short walk to the beach. Easy!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to find parking. They have a parking lot designed just for hotel guests, but not enough spaces for everyone, it was full, so had to find parking on the street which was not easy as Carmel is always packed.

    Location, comfy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no complaints!

    Such a cute place! Our room was very clean and spacious, even for our family of 5. The hotel was perfectly located in the hearted Carmel!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.8
    A nice, if unspectacular place with the benefit of a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, limited hotel parking, no room fscilities, no breakfast provided.

    Great location in the centre of Carmel. Minutes from the beach. Very helpful when one of our party realised they’d left some items st the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.0
    Lots of street noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too loud to sleep. Saturday night was bar noise. Very early Monday morning was street cleaning and garbage removal. It was also very hard to find a parking spot when the tiny lot was full.

    The big TV and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    The charm and history of the hotel are worth seeing, but be sure to check room accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was incredibly small. There was no coffee in room. The lobby is unavailable for enjoying a coffee or glass of wine-it is only to admire. There were no guests in the lobby at any time we walked through-well appointed, but not welcoming.

    The location is ideal for shopping, dining and ocean viewing as well as beach time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Central hotel, good parking area when there is a space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The attitude of the receptionist at both check in and check out!

    The room was charming, lovely decor. The bed was very comfortable. The evening meal that we had was very tasty, served by an excellent waiter. Great, friendly bar staff too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.8
    better if you choose somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's just a very old inn. they pretend to be vintage, but it's only an old property. very rude valet Be, who stood inside my room waiting for tips, staring at my bag, after helping with the luggage, made me feel very uncomfortable. way too pricey for what they offer

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    My new favorite hotel in Carmel. I wish I had discovered it sooner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Key had to be rekeyed morning of checkout, although checkout was not for another few hours. The fire alarm battery in the room was in need of change as it kept chirping; this was a bit of an annoyance.

    Beautiful suite. Regal, tastefully decorated, roomy, comfortable accommodation. Our bellboy Marcos was fabulous in helping us with parking and room access. Warm welcome at front desk. Turn down service in the eve!! Breakfast was included. French toast was divine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Loved the room - beautifully big with two large queen beds...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was that on weekends no breakfast served to hotel guests - had to join the public and pay.

    Loved the room - beautifully big with two large queen beds and a large sitting area attached. Right in heart of Carmel and the wonderful restaurants, wine tasting, beach, shops etc!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful property but wish there was coffee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee in room. Especially annoying on weekends when breakfast is not provided. Parking is great if you get a spot but they have 18 spots for 49 rooms and just tell you to park in the street if you don't get one.

    Beautiful historic property in the center of Carmel. Great ocean view from our room. Room is well organized with huge closet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Classic old hotel in a prime location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a trace of mustiness in the room (old building), but it was readily dispersed by opening the window and letting the sea breeze in.

    Gorgeous view from our 3rd floor king room! Also, staff sent up a bottle of champagne for our (37th) anniversary - we were married at the Pine Inn May 12, 1981.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.2
    The Pine Inn has seen better days. Not worth the price nowadays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front desk ladies were indifferent and standoffish. We had 2 rooms and both were tired, dingy and rough around the edges, e.g. bedspreads, upholstered chairs and dressers were threadbare, spotted and banged up. The toilets and tubs had not been cleaned and were quite dirty. Sheets, pillowcases and towels were nice but the mattresses sloped downward on each side and were terribly uncomfortable.

    On the plus side, the adjoining Il Fornaio restaurant is one of the better in town and the complimentary breakfast buffet is a nice touch. You will need that strong Italian coffee after enduring the mattresses at the Pine Inn.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.7
    Every thing was clean and in order .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed has seen better days... time to replace the mattress. I did not rest well at all.

    Every thing was clean and in order ... the only problem was the bed... I believe it is time to replace the mattress.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.9
    Historic Pine Inn -- Cute, boutique-y and a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff could've been more available. They were usually in the office behind the desk but came right out when you said "Helloooooo?" and were very friendly and efficient. It's a small hotel so not a really busy reception desk. An elevator would be nice in order to access the 3rd floor rooms -- pack light! (The bellmen are very fit going up and down those stairs.)

    Pine Inn is the original, i.e. oldest, hotel in town. Our Booking.com room was very small but was on a corner with a view of Ocean St. (the main drag) on one side and the ocean on the other. This was a very nice surprise. Worth the extra set of stairs to get that view I think. The bathroom was a nice size. Decor was nice, sort of antique-y and the pillows were great. Large flat-screen TV. The hotel's location is wonderfully central.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Phenomenal location. Clean rooms. Courteous staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the window shutters were broken. The air conditioning definitely needs an update

    Courteous staff, great bathroom, very clean. Loved the location, excellent parking arrangements.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.7
    Paper thin wall and no privacy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I paid more to get an ocean view room, the view is good. However, we had a horrible night because the wall is so thin, the headboard in the next room were set up against the same paper thin wall. We could hear every conversation they had while resting on the bed, it sounded like they were grandparents with a grandchild. They were not even loud, just carrying a normal conversation as we heard. We had to whisper to each other that night understanding they possibly could hear us. We were waken at around 6am by their conversation. We had about 6 hours sleep all together. It was supposed to be a relaxing weekend, but turned to be a tired one. Also, at check in, we were told briefly by the lady at the front office that "the hotel parking is behind the building". We drove around the building and couldn't find it. We asked another older lady later at night, she was nice to come out and showed us where the parking was. The lady could have just added one more explanation (if she cares) when we checked in, that the parking is behind the building "across the street" and that could save us time driving around twice. The parking signage is not easily be seen because all the cars on the street blocking it.

    Location is great, the bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the room that bookings.com gave us was the worst room in the place....very small and on a 40 degree tilt, actually difficult to walk through this room. And when I saw what room I had, I wasn't allowed to upgrade because it was booked through your site...basically telling me that you got the worst room because of how you did it, and you are stuck with it. I would stay at the Pine Inn again, enjoyed the restaurant attached and the location in town, but would call them directly next time. Gave me some district of using bookings. com again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    excellent location, older hotel with parking included
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would like to be able to use the lobby area to meet up and have wine with friends. Unusable lobby isn't good

    The rooms are dated and could use some easy upgrades - bedding and such.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    We had a very pleasant stay for a last minute trip. We hope to return soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking lot on first come, first serve, but parking available in neighborhood until 10AM.

    Beautiful ocean view, convenient location to restaurants and shopping - all within walking distance. Front desk and housekeeping staff friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location... walk to everywhere. We celebrated a friends 50th wedding anniversary ,Dec.16 and they had had their wedding reception at the Pine Inn 50 years ago to the day !! Wonderful time with friends and family.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    6.7
    A Dated Property in a Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities are very dated and need upgrading. Outside of the flat screen TV, everything else goes back to the 50s. Further, the bathrooms are tiny. They offer free breakfast, but only Monday thru Friday, which I think is chintzy.

    The location is fantastic. It is in the best part of downtown Carmel. You can walk everywhere, including the beach. And it is nice having Il'Fornaio on the premises.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.5
    Love Pine Inn. It's a gem. Lovely room for the price. Will definitely stay there again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small parking area for hotel guests. We were fortunate enough to secure a parking space when we got there.

    Pine Inn is centrally localated and close to Carmel Beach in the heart of great shopping and restaurants. We have stayed at other hotels and motels in the area but nothing compares to the Pine Inn for charm, price, beautiful rooms and on site great il Fornaio restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable,comfortable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ordinary but don’t let that put you off

    Bed was great .Room size great. Staff very friendly and helpful - family atmosphere . Boutique feel. Bar was welcoming and it’s location couldn’t be better for restaraunts etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.1
    All was good except for the screw up by booking.com!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked 2 rooms at the same time with each room under a separate name. However, booking.com sent the reservation to the hotel as 2 rooms under only one name. Thus, at check-in the clerk could not find the reservation for one of the parties. This caused tremendous agitation and upset for all involved. I produced the confirmation printout but the clerk still had difficulties although all was eventually fine. The bottom line is make sure you can produce your booking.com confirmation printout at check-in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    4.6
    Overpriced and crowded. You are much better off at the Best Western by far.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room very small and there was no air conditioning. It was hot that weekend and there was no way to escape because our room was hotter than outdoors. There was no pool or jacuzzi. No breakfast, although boutique coffee is down the street and better anyway.

    Location and historical.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.9
    Loved the location. Overall a Very nice stay in Carmel. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quaint, charming hotel, bathroom in Room19 could use a refresh, but it was functional!

    Stayed in Room 19. Nicely furnished, quaint surroundings with very comfy bed. No A/C but staff provided a very welcomed fan when requested, plus there was an overhead fan which helped keep us comfy while sleeping. Windows could be opened but based on location of room 19 did not feel comfortable keeping them open at night. Power in room went off once but staff was very quick to fix. No elevator, but bellman will help you with luggage. Great buffet breakfast in the morning downstairs at Il Fornio.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    The Pine Inn is perfectly located for a visit to Carmel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Connecting to the internet was challenging

    As I was being assisted to my room, I experienced sudden injury to my foot. The young man assisting me provided first aid and arranged to have me moved to a ground floor room that was lovely and allowed me to really enjoy my stay. Il Fornaio was easy for me to access , the room was very comfortable and every member of the staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    Character of hotel is great - location is also very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is a bit loud - even on 3rd floor you could hear people walking around. Parking is also a challenge.

    Character of hotel is great - location is also very central.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.8
    we had a fabulous stay in Carmel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms and bathrooms are small.

    Carmel is gorgeous and this hotel is smack dab in the middle.. Breakfast buffet (not offered on weekends) was wonderful.. yes, great scrambled eggs and coffee. Il Fornaio restaurant on the property is also wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Overall a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The clerk who checked us in made us feel us feel unwelcome. The hotel had been highly recommended by friends. We were to ask for a specific room. When we asked we were informed that since we booked through booking.com we couldn't have that room or a room on the first floor since it cost more. I asked about upgrades and again "since you booked through booking.com..." We certainly travel enough to understand that upgrades often come with a fee. We were not offered any price info. I did speak to the manager upon checking out and explained how we were treated. She apologized and said that she felt it was handled poorly and would speak to employee.

    The included breakfast was fine. Buffet style and suitable. Nothing fantastic about it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.1
    Property has limited parking !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They say they have parking available but they never mention that its limited and it might be full. when they are full they do not help you at all, they just say "you can park on the street but its 2 hours only " so you might get a ticket and they dont care if you do.

    Hotel was nicely placed it right in the middle of downtown so you can walk to all restaurants and also to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.9
    Carmel Pine Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom floor was never clean and free of hair.

    The breakfasts were extraordinary; eggs were light and fluffy and the bacon was exceptional. The service was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.7
    Quaint hotel with great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was across the road. Stairs into property and 3 flights up to room which made getting luggage in very difficult. Staff on arrival were not very helpful but after shift change they were lovely. Don't arrive at 3pm!

    Great location in the middle of Carmel. Close to lots of eateries and little shops. Easy walk to beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Bar staff were lovely as we fancied a dessert with our drink...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the most pleasant staff at check-in

    Bar staff were lovely as we fancied a dessert with our drink and it wasn't a problem Great location in a beautiful town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    A Beautiful Hotel in the Heart of Carmel-by-the-Sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator.

    The staff was very friendly and helped us in extending our stay at the hotel. The courtesy breakfast was excellent and served in the restaurant. The room was beautiful and clean. It allowed us to open the windows and take in the fresh air. All toiletries, such as soap, shampoo, lotions, and even hairnets, were readily supplied. We will definitely return to this hotel unless it's sold out. I recommend this hotel for seniors and newlyweds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    Fun romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above , And also it was a little noisy in the am as it was garbage day ;(

    I liked that we were upgraded at no extra cost , I liked that I was able to change the date last minute as I had a family emergency . I had been told by someone at the pine inn that this would not be possible but fortunately someone called me back and told me to call customer service at booking . Com and they would work with me . This was true , I think my guy that helped me was called Bruce . Unhelpful person at pine inn was " David " Had I not gotten to Chang my night I would probably not returned to the pine inn again . We have been going for several years for our anniversary

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay in Carmel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was excellent. We walked everywhere, leaving our car in the parking area. Parking spots are scarce at the hotel, so if you get one, it's a good idea to keep it. The food, staff etc. all wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    Carmel central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs updating. Stuffing on chairs was bursting out- shutters were falling apart. Other than that we liked it just fine. But for $200+ night I would expect better value for the money

    The historic building and easy access to downtown shops and restaurants and beach

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drainage issue in the bath tub

    really good, clean hotel with very helpful and friendly staff. Associated restaurant looked good too even though not tried

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.9
    Relaxing return visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed an in room coffee maker but the Il Forniao bakery and restaurant are open early enough.

    I have stayed at The Pine Inn several times because of its location, free parking and old fashioned charm. The staff are always pleasant and helpful and my rooms and linens have always been super clean. The room sizes can be a bit small compared to a more modern building but they are adequate, especially because I am usually alone. I'm always glad to have the help of the bellman on check in and check out because there are several flights of stairs and no elevator. I will visit again without any hesitation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.8
    The Pine Inn: a Carmel tradition!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had insufficient flow. It was also hard to adjust hot and cold.

    We love the ambience and location. We can walk everywhere: the art galleries, shops, restaurants, and beach!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.8
    Old world charm in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bedroom we were allocated through our booking.com reservation was in the annexe and impossibly small for two people. We upgraded to a larger room in the main building which was perfect but the first room was very disappointing.

    it is in a great location just a short walk from the beach and the main restaurant and shopping area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.2
    Great location, great value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would have liked to have a coffee maker in the room, since the breakfast isn't served until 8 am, and the sun is up at 6 am. The wooden louvres on the windows don't do a good job blocking out the light, so we were up at 6 am as well, and even the nearest bakery doesn't open till 7 am. It didn't help that our room faced east. So--if you're light sleepers, avoid the east-facing rooms.

    The location couldn't be more ideal, right on the main shopping street of the bucolic Carmel by the Sea, only a couple of blocks from the beautiful white beach. The red and gold plush lobby is a nice touch. Il Fornaio restaurant is on the first floor, the food there was wonderful, and on weekdays the guests can take advantage of a free full buffet breakfast there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.9
    The building is old (that's the attraction) and some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free Parking is advertised, no reservations needed but when we got there, it was full. Lucky we could park on the street outside the parking hours as we were leaving the next morning. Not sure what would happen otherwise.

    The building is old (that's the attraction) and some areas show it. Our doorway and area leading to the hall was actually sloping.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    5.0
    Skip Carmel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean. Litter in corridors. Room not vacuumed well. Check in staff had poor English. Did not explain room location, internet access, parking etc until prompted. No refrigerator in room, no tea or coffee in room.

    Beautiful old character hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    3.8
    WORST Front Desk Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at front desk, so impolite and disrespectful

    Front desk was rude, Iliana was the name & a Filipino (i think) night shift. Parking was so difficult. No coffee at our room & Iliana kept on mentioning 3 times "coz you book through booking.com Your room doesn't have sofa bed or extra bed" to other customers, don't go to Pine Inn if you don't book straight to Pube Inn coz if you book through other web sites, you will get a cheaper or ugly service by having rude front desk. No good customer service at all.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    6.3
    You're Paying for Ambience. Nothing Else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Cold reception. 2. Shower was old and not maintained properly. 3. Our room overlooked exhaust pipes and all sorts of events wafted into our air-conditioner less room. 4. We lost something in our room!! :(

    1. Great location, in the middle of everything. 2. A lot of history and charm.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    5.4
    Like going back in time...to an old bordello
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was small and dated. not in a cute "step back in time" kind of way but really dated. The windows were big and had rickety shutters all of them, many of which were broken. I looked over a working area of the hotel on the roof. It didn't seem safe for a single woman (people could easily look in the broken shutters). The room smelled bad when I entered and that smell never left. It was dilapidated.

    Staff was polite but not effusive. location was excellent but the restaurant closed at 10! They did call me early for check in.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    5.4
    Our room was in the back of the building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in the back of the building. A service truck arrived each morning at 3:45 am. It must have been a delivery. It was very loud and woke us. The cart that was used on the paved walkway was extremely loud. It lasted what seemed like 30 minute. A little frustrating.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    Staff very courteous and we love Carmel and pine inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to upgrade because when we booked for one adult and 12 yo child, booking.com gave us one queen bed at a good price but you can't fit three people in one bed!

    Room 6 is fabulous

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    Night away at the pine inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plantation type blinds were in need of repair, as they were missing several slats. There were several guests who were on the loud side until late.

    Staff was very friendly, the hotel was an historic building being built before 1900,my wife thought it was very quaint and we enjoyed the views of the ocean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.9
    Pleasantly surprised with the Pine Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lobby was cool, but would have been better with an afternoon wine/cheese hour and possibly breakfast.

    The location was amazing - centrally located within easy walking distance to restaurants, wine tasting and the beach! The Il Fornaio bar was really comfortable with an awesome bartender.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    COULDN'T HAVE BEEN NICER, RELAXING AND WALKING IN BEAUTIFUL CARMEL-BY-THE-SEA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since my husband and I are seniors, 79 & 74, we had about 4 small flights of stairs to carry our luggage up. Fortunately we are in good shape and don't have knee problems, but when I booked on Booking.com, the lower level rooms or the rooms in the "main hotel room" were not mentioned. I did learn when we stay there at the Pine Inn next time, I will try to get one of the easier rooms for carrying luggage up.

    The breakfast that we had for 2 mornings was very good, buffet style in a comfortable dining room that felt like a cottage room surrounded by the patio and pretty flowers outside.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    what a view of the ocean
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from the room of the ocean was great. I did not want to leave the room

    love the beds. business travel is hard. temperature control and the quality of the beds are very important.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    8.3
    Nice linens, pillows, pretty quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All 4 lights above bathroom mirror in dark alcove did not work! Radiator heat turned off one night, very cold room. No hair dryer or robe provided.

    Nice linens, pillows, pretty quiet room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    6.3
    It's all about the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was so tiny you could barely shot the door while inside, and if someone opened it it would hit your knees. The bath tube was the tiniest ever. They had no included breakfast on weekends.

    The location is just amazing. Right at the main street, close to the ocean and it's a beautiful building.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    4.6
    Location GREAT, but poorly maintained rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had two rooms. One room the furnace did not work and made loud banging noises which kept both rooms awake during the night. Same room the ceiling fan did not work. No management personnel on premises on Sunday to address our issues and no attempt to right the situation of a poorly maintained room. An offer of a round of drinks or a small percentage off the bill would have gone a long way. Instead we were just given the managers card to call back. Poor customer service! Why should I have to call back, they should have followed up with us.

    The location was amazing! Restaurant and bar were excellent!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    8.8
    Duped on room rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    majority of electrical outlets didn't work. I asked for a room for two adults and one child, got a good rate, but when I got there they said room only had one bed and that we would all have to sleep in it unless we wanted to upgrade for $80/night more!

    location, proximity to downtown

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    7.9
    Carmel stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room and key and went up and unpacked into a pretty room with an ocean view. 35minutes later we got a call from the front desk that we were in the " wrong room" and needed to move. Other than that, our stay was fine.

    Convenient location right on Ocean Ave

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    9.2
    great recharge after busy December
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot think of anything was an great time got exceptional weather along with everything else.

    We like historical properties especially if they are kept up. We like to park our car and walk so location is everything.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    7.5
    Beautiful place... room not so much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater in our room was very noisy, kept me up all night and then the kicker was a delivery truck right outside our window at 7am. Complained to the lady working the front desk and didn't get any kind of resolution.

    Staff was great, bartenders were excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    10
    We loved the quaintness of the hotel and the close proximity...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the quaintness of the hotel and the close proximity to the ocean. It was great being located above the Lush natural cosmetics store, the scent of the store filled the hallways of the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    6.3
    Special occasion, didn't feel special...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Never have we stayed in a hotel that did not offer a small coffee pot in your room. There was no complementary coffee available in the lobby either. No fruit or cookies offered to guests in the afternoon as most hotels in Carmel. Disappointed that breakfast is only part of your stay Sunday through Thursday! Room has NO AIR Conditioning. Extremely warm on 2 floor, even with windows open and we went in November....Don't go in summer!!! Parking is limited on the next block.... first come, first serve! No elevator, so had to carry luggage up the stairs.

    Location is the best!! Pretty lobby...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    3.8
    Not worth it. Total disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly rooms. Parking full and had to park in the street. Attention poor. Bad attitude from the concierge. Wifi did not work in my room. Engine sound all night long.

    Location ok. Breakfast ok. The rest Really disappointing. Not worth it at all

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: