Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Place D'Armes Hotel 3 stars

625 St Ann Street, French Quarter (Vieux Carré), New Orleans, LA 70116, USA

#53 of 148 hotels in New Orleans

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 306 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Room - 1 bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personnel were awesome. Very pleasant and always willing to help. The hotel is close to everything walking. Very close to everything but you won't hear all the noise. We will definitely come back to stay here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - 1 bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was outstanding if you have a sweet tooth - Danishes - Muffins & Croissants - Delicious. The bed was very comfy - great nights sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - 1 bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff didn’t tell us that breakfast was included so we purchased breakfast each morning from cafes.

    The location was fantastic. Close to Bourbon Street but it was very quiet. The room was classic New Orleans style, old. I loved the look of the building, just as the photos depicted it. We enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and bed was comfortable. The parking was a bit pricey at US$37 per day but the staff in the garage were so nice and looking at the other parking available in the French Quarter, it was better to pay the extra money and know your car was safe. Plus you could take your car out for the day if you needed at no extra cost.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - 1 bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Place D'Armes is a charming place. Our room was cute and quaint, clean and the a/c worked extremely well. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Have tea bags with coffee in the room.

    The staff is very helpful and friendly. We drove here, the men getting are car were so great. Pastries were wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Room - 2 beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice, but small, swimming pool for those sweltering days. Rooms are nice and dark in the morning for added sleeping.

    The location is just about as perfect as you can get in the quarter

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Most rooms require going outside to get to them, and the rainy weather made it a chore to go from your room to the lobby to get out of hotel. Room could have used another light near bed, one person could read but second person had no lighting.

    Staff is always friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was one of New Orleans oldest all girl's school. It definitely has old charm, but with that does come little of modern conveniences. Hotel is located next to Jackson Square and next to everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - 1 bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area needs work. Trees need trimming. Leaves need to be raked out. Perhaps plant flowers. Perhaps fix broken concrete on floor of the pool

    Lovely. True to the period. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Close to Jackson Sq and great dining on St Charles St. All the staff- front desk, valet, etc were helpful with recommendations and any needs we had.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Interior Room - 2 Beds - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'll ask for a room with a window next time. It's a little strange having a pitch dark room when the sun is shining outside.

    Great location, very accommodating staff, clean comfortable rooms. This is our third time staying here and we'll be back again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need to be updated, worn carpet and broken knobs on furniture. The outside can keep its character but it’s the 21st century. The property was clean but the inside rooms looked dirty because they were so worn

    Location was amazing and the hotel had so much character and charm

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The patio and pool area are in an enclosed courtyard area which was very nice. The staff and the continental breakfast were very good. The best thing is the location to everything "French Quarter".

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room - 2 beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there was a refrigerator in room for people with special dietary needs

    The staff was super friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. The hotel was in a prime location with view of square. Beds very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - 1 bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, lovely courtyard into which you could take your breakfast, shaded by magnolia trees. Friendly and helpful staff. Would thoroughly recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room - 2 beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a perfect location in the French Quarter with a beautiful courtyard to relax in. The continental breakfast had delicious fresh pastries, fruit, and coffee. The room was comfortable and quiet. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room - 2 beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the room right across from the elevator on the third floor, so we didn't necessarily have a great view.

    The staff was amazing and incredibly courteous. You're right in the heart of the French Quarter and I literally do not think you could ask for a better location. The courtyard is an incredibly calm and beautiful place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the French Quarter. The valet parking was incredibly convenient. The room was beautiful, and had the best pillows I've ever slept on. I cannot say enough nice things about this place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room across the hall evidently had a group of women in town for a bachelorette party and who would come in late, around 1 am, and create quite a commotion that usually went on for about an hour. Made it hard to get a good night's sleep. They didn't seem at all interested in keeping quiet. One day early in the morning (e.g. 6am) it sounded like someone was moving a large piece of sheet metal either down the hall or just outside the building.

    The location was fantastic. The hotel was quaint and charming. it was very sufficient for our purposes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - 1 bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Musty smell in room, but it’s New Orleans....what can you expect? Room pretty small, but sufficient. Very nice decor.

    Perfect location, close to everything. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC unit in the room needed constant changing to keep the room comfortable.

    We loved the fact that the hotel was so close to everything in the French Quarter. It was a great location for a firsttime visit to New Orleans.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location and the fact that despite being in the middle of the French Quarter it was quiet. Would like a less sweet option with the continental breakfast. Perhaps some plain yoghurt or toast. Overall had a great experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room - 2 beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need to be updated, wallpaper, pictures. The electric outlets would not hold a plug in place. The room near the vending machines and ice maker was very noisy, also there was a table and chairs there. When there was a group of people in got noisy.

    The rooms were clean, plenty of towels. The a/c worked great and so did the ceiling fan. The continental breakfast was great but the room it is in is small.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - 1 bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We asked for a room with a window, and we got one but on the first floor (#129), so we really could not open the curtains as we were right on the street. This was kind of misleading, as we could not enjoy the view we paid extra for. That was very disappointing....

    The continental breakfast was simple but very good. the Staff were all wonderful but especially Stewart and I believe her name was Dionne at the front desk. I loved the character of our room and the courtyard was awesome. I am sure a little later in the spring, it will be stunning. Our room was a little larger than most which was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room - 1 bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtain had fallen off rod on one of windows- was hard to get back up. Also, water temp in shower was hard to control. Went from extreme cold to hot.

    Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows were at the floor level, and it was difficult to keep the drapes open for light without thinking people were looking up my skirt from below. Also, the lamps in the room were slightly dim and difficult to get light enough during the day (since I didn't want people looking up my skirt.

    The bed was extremely comfortable, the room was clean, and the location was outstanding!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - 1 bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choices and a more substantial breakfast. The bathroom fixtures were dated and the chairs at the table in the room need replaced.

    The location was excellent, and the courtyard quiet and beautiful. The beds were comfortable and the room was large.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no windows, had to have ventilation The hotel had a weird (old pumpkin) odor once heading toward the elevation

    Breakfast, location, staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 3 nights

    New Orleans just has a difficult water system and the older the building the more likely they are to have poor water pressure or leaky toilets. Not necessarily the fault of the establishment, but definitely something to be aware of when staying in the older french quarter buildings. Our toilet leaked continuously and the shower water pressure was very weak and hard to rinse hair with.

    The courtyard was gorgeous and private so you didn't have to worry about people walking in off the street so if you wanted to have a late drink by the pool you felt safe. Breakfast was nothing extraordinary, but just enough to get you going for the day. With the awesome location its likely most guest went out for breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room - 2 beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in clerk not very friendly; bathroom floor sticky; no shampoo or conditioner; weak, cheap shower head.

    Location was excellent. Beautiful interior garden area with pool. Check out clerk helpful and polite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - 1 bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water for two days due to freezing pipes in the city. Guests had to go fish water from the pool themselves to flush toilets. Would have liked some yogurt at breakfast for a healthier alternative.I went to the corner store to buy my own. Make sure you take into account added expense for parking on top of the hotel rate. Parking was expensive but consistent with location.

    Great location in French Quarter, authentic looking. Fantastic room upgrade to suite on top floor #508. Spacious and cute with three dormer windows, king bed and sofa. Very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some mattresses were a bit lobsided (not sure how long since they’ve been reviewed.) In the no window rooms there was noise pollution from other guests (we don’t blame the hotel for this.)

    The location is best! Originally booked a room with no window and after toilet troubles, we were moved to a window room (upgraded.) Breakfast was simple but lovely, fruit and pastries.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room - 2 beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the room was clean it was still dusty around the edges of the carpet, lamps, pictures, etc.

    When we checked in we requested a cab for the next morning. The staff took care of it for us and it was there on time.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - 1 bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind, the people who run the operation were helpful and the bellman was even giving time and locations of free jazz preforming nearby. We arrived around 830am and checkin was at 4pm; held our luggage for us and gave us a call when the room was ready..

    Location in french quarter was great right next to Jackson Square and at end of line for trolley line which places you near open market and local artists (street) in action. Good food eateries are also in this location that are reasonable..The accommodations were very good as were the pillows and the provided breakfast was fresh and filling. The trolley all day rate is $3 per person cash only.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little noisy at nights cos we were in room 118 right next to the street but all good

    Great little place in an awesome location enjoyed our stay! Stunning court yard

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wished my room had a window, my internal clock was a bit off from that. But that is why I got the price I did. Still a lovely room!

    The staff was absolutely wonderful. True southern hospitality! I will stay here again next time I visit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - 1 bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was not all that welcoming but the car park attendant and the bell hop were brilliant. The breakfast was very limited for the size of the hotel and the number of guests but it was adequate to get you started and there are plenty of places nearby that can be used if you desire.

    Very good location, within easy walking distance to all everything in the French Quarter. The hotel was very comfortable and quiet, even though we had a room that was right by the pool and a well used corridor we were not disturbed at all.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A mini-frig would have been really nice.

    Perfectly located just off Jackson Square in the Quarter. Easy walk to everything: Bourbon St, Cafe du Monde, Royal St, Frenchmen St... Nice interior courtyard for sitting, escaping from hubbub. Interior rooms shielded from street noise. High quality pastries at continental breakfast and all-day coffee pot. All employees greeted us with smiles and eye contact. Excellent restaurant right next door (Muriel's). Highly recommend this hotel. Exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like the roaches in my room. I did not like them on my pillow in my bed ! The room was very old and needed repairs badly I know from experience they are almost always full due to location charge a fair price sometimes gouge you but to have roaches is simply unacceptable. No other choice to stay in different room I asked . Sickening !

    easy to get to and stay in French quarter

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 1 night

    In today's modern age the WFI was pathetic; very frustrating as it was off and on so using it was very frustrating. Drapes hard to pull together so sunlight woke us up.

    Location in the Quarter; quiet location on that night

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room - 1 bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our friend's room was not so peaceful - they had a street side room with noises including trash truck early in the morning and street sounds.

    It has a wonderful peaceful courtyard just steps away from a busy noisy street. The breakfast was continental fare. Our room was peaceful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no window, which we knew cos that was what we booked. But that was the only downside.

    Breakfast was simple but high quality. They just had pastries, but nice ones, fruit, nice juice and coffee. Excellent location in the French quarter but not the super busy trashy bit!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room - 2 beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t see the value of paying approximately $700 more for a Friday night and Saturday night stay. The room was nice but I could see the dust under the furniture where the vacuum didn’t fit and other small signs of neglect in the room.

    I enjoyed the location, the boutique feel and the service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - 1 bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is starting to show a little wear which to me is understandable considering the volume of traffic.

    Being just off of Jackson square makes the location perfect. Everything in the Frenchquarter is walking distance. Our room was by the hotels courtyard so it was very quiet in the evenings.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television kept cutting out. It was the cable and would cut in and out the entire stay. That being said we weren't in the room very much so it wasn't a problem.

    If you are going to be walking around the French Quarter this hotel sits within easy walking distance from everywhere. We had an interior room so it was quiet. The room was clean, we checked for bed bugs and found none in our room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room - 1 bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cable was out in our room the entire time we were there. The bed could have been a bit more comfortable. The staff was great as was everything else.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room - 2 beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing I can think of is that I would like to have more than one ice machine for the hotel. It's in a centralized location near the pool in the courtyard, but it would have been nice to get some ice and not have to walk through the courtyard. Sometimes its nice just to throw on a robe and quickly scoot out to get ice.

    The PERFECT location!! Half a block from Jackson Square, 1 block from Decatur and Café du Monde, 1 1/2 blocks from Bourbon Street. Beautiful courtyard, parts very private. Public balconies overlooking Chartres Street, above haunted Muriel's Restaurant. Wonderful haunted history. Will stay here and one other hotel next time I'm there. Is quaint and has plenty of character.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive parking. Mediocre continental breakfast available limited hours.

    Great location in the French Quarter. Better quality furnishings than average. Very clean and well maintained. Helpful pleasant staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Definitely no negatives here!

    Absolutely loved this place! Very beautiful. So convenient to all of the "hot" spots in NOLA! Staff was excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The floor we were on was having trouble with the cooling system so our room was very humid and the towels didn't dry once wet. The breakfast was mostly bread and fruit and I can't eat bread so we suggested that maybe adding hard boiled eggs would be nice for some like me.

    Bed was comfortable, soft sheets and towels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in Jackson square area across street from cathedral. Walk out hotel and steps away from stores and restaurants. Some rooms are facing road are noisy but you can see a lot from windows. Interior rooms are more quite. Court yard of this hotel is beautiful! If you like high end rooms that are new and updated , then you might not love this hotel but if you like old but clean and unique rooms and a hotel with character that is beautiful with old charm in a amazing location , then this might be your hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - 1 bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Given a room that the roof was leaking, towels and floor in bathroom wet. Carpet was filthy and the room smelled musty. Told the lady at the front desk and she looked at me like I was nuts and said they would sent someone to look at it. 30 minutes later no one shows, asked for another room and nothing available. They did offer more dry towels, but we declined and found ourshelfs looking for another hotel at 5pm.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Room - 2 Beds - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Love the architecture, right in the middle of the French Quarter everything is walking distance. Cafe Du Monde is no more than a five minute walk. Right in the middle of all the action love our stay. Love the courtyard it felt like I was back in time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - 1 bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The washroom is a bit cramped but this is a very old building so what do you expect from something with loads of character and charm.

    The hotel is clean and in a nicer area of the French Quarter, away from the Bourbon street party and quiet, but easy to get to the streetcar and walk to Bourbon street etc. I felt very safe here plus the room was comfortable. The staff was always very pleasant. The inside courtyard was peaceful and had interesting character.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room - 2 beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast only. Guests with difficulty walking should inquire in advance regarding which rooms have elevator access. Many of the rooms have fabulous balconies overlooking the courtyard.

    Only bread/roll choices - no protein

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - 1 bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wished there would have been a small bar so we could have had a drink and sat by the pool. There was no place to sit but by the pool when it was raining.

    It was very convenient to everything. The bed was comfortable but the top cover needed to be cleaned. The maids were very pleasant and the Staff was helpful and also pleasant .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room - 2 beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For the price I was paying I expected more! The room seemed shabby, wall paper was peeling in the bathroom, mold and mildew on the tub and every electrical outlet in the room was lose and would not hold any plugs.

    The location of this property is excellent! 1 block from Bourbon St. and 1 block from Jackson Square! The chocolate croissants at breakfast were great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I can think of is that it might be nice to have a small fridge in the room.

    The location was amazing. I have trouble walking but even I could walk to Jackson Square, St. Louis Cathedral, Cafe du Monde!The breakfast was listed as "continental" but it had a large variety of delicious pastries and fresh fruit. I stayed with my four year old granddaughter and it was fine for her. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room - 2 beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful, quaint hotel right in the middle of Jackson Square area. 2 minute walk to Café du Monde. If you want a sleek, new, shiny hotel, this is not it. If you want a charming hotel that reflects the architecture and history of the French Quarter, this is definitely for you. Adequate pool in shady courtyard (pool towels provided!), beautiful balconies overlooking courtyard, nice continental breakfast with good coffee, on-site parking (with valet assistance), everything we needed for a family of 5. Deluxe queen room was big enough for 3 kids, plenty of floor space, large, clean bathroom. Loved it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Interior Room - 2 Beds - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been nice to go out the wrought iron gate in the corridor from the rooms instead of having to go back into the lobby to exit the hotel.

    location and decor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room - 2 beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly, the only thing I can even say (but it's just me because everyone is different) is that I wasn't a fan of the pillows. Just seemed like I couldn't get the most comfortable with either one pillow being too flat but two being too high. Like I said, that's me and everyone is different when it comes to bedding/pillows, etc. It certainly didn't ruin my stay at all. If anything, I'd probably be one of my pillows from home next time just in case. It certainly wouldn't keep me from staying here again. Everything else compensates for that little thing by a thousand fold.

    The service at this hotel is impeccable. Absolutely amazing staff. No wonder it's rated so high. It really didn't disappoint. And above all, Andrew down with parking and concierge has got to be the friendliest and most accommodating employee I've ever met at any hotel I've stayed at. Absolutely amazing. I can't wait to stay here again which hopefully won't be too long away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Interior Room - 2 Beds - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought I got a great deal but then you add in over $38 for parking and not so much. The young woman that was working in the evening was so rude and not friendly. The woman that worked in the morning was a little more friendly but not by much. We swam and the pool was really too deep for my young kids to feel comfortable swimming, I think the shallow end was 4ft. We of course left the life jackets in the car which was upstairs in the parking garage and not accessible. I asked for extra towels and they were never delivered. If I didn't have a car or kids and the ladies at the desk get an attitude adjustment I would like to stay there again.

    It was beautiful and the bellmen were friendly. Breakfast was pastries and fruit. Both were amazing. The coffee and orange juice were good as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room - 2 beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is OLD and smelly. The whole places smells like mildew. It was not clean. You have to pay extra for parking ($34 per day). The hotel staff that I spoke with was rude. I have used booking for many hotels all over the world. I seriously cannot believe that this hotel has a high rating. I would NEVER stay at this hotel again. Do not book this hotel.

    The only good things about this hotel are the location, the courtyard atmosphere and the morning coffee. I really can't believe that this hotel has such good ratings. The location is good if you want to be in the French quarter.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - 1 bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool is beautiful but needs updating because the bottom is cracked. The tiny roaches in the bathroom were not desired when we woke up the next morning. When we checked out, there was no manager present to tell, so the front desk told us to call her later that afternoon.

    Location is near the square. Nice room, but I expected a view. The only half-sized window was in a drop down, tiny area separated from the rest of the room. The living area and bedroom were nice. The valet parking was quick and convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Interior Room - 2 Beds - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 6 nights

    As others have noted, the interior rooms have no windows. They are quite nice, but my husband missed having natural light. The breakfast is truly Continental; just pastries and coffee, so don't expect a full meal.

    The location and staff were excellent. For the French Quarter, I preferred being right next to Jackson Square and Royal Street rather than Bourbon and Canal. The courtyard area was a nice place to relax in the evening.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff went above and beyond their duties. The room was clean and tidy. It was walking distance to Bourbon Street and Jackson Square. We will definitely return to this place!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room - 2 beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I would suggest would be earlier check in times:)

    Very neat hotel with New Orleans charm:) Not your average cookie cutter hotel! We loved the atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking wasn't free even for guests so we had a surprise $40 charge for just one night in the hotels parking garage. This wasn't disclosed or clear to us.

    I loved the charm of the building, we had a generous room upgrade. We loved the location. So close to lots of fun things!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I dont think anything really stood out that we did need or could not get.

    I traveled with my sister for getaway weekend during Memorial Day weekend. The location was within walking distance of Bourbon Street , Jackson Square, Cafe Du Monde, and catching any type of transportation. The actual hotel was enough for two people. If you do not expect to be in hotel for majority of time this is a good location. The breakfast that is included really only consists of coffee, pastries , OJ and some fruit. Overall, the customer service and stay was great. The hotel receptionist was very helpful in helping us get our boarding tickets and providing any type of information we needed. I would definitely return to this location with family.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room - 2 beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we could have checked in earlier, as the website asked our time of arrival , which was 12. But we couldn't check in until 4pm.

    Location was excellent and staff were very friendly and made us feel like we were at home. Breakfast offered fresh pasteries that were delicious, very fresh as though freshly made from a French bakery and very appetizing with coffee that was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Interior Room - 2 Beds - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wife and I both woke up the first morning with sore throat. Second day same thing only worse. Now we are home and I am better. She is down hard with sinus infection. I think it might be the air conditioning. I am a professional in this field. I know in humid climates mold can be a problem in AC units. I think you might have a problem there. I recommend having that inspected and cleaned. This was a regretible end to a wonderful vacation.

    Price was good for the location. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - 1 bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I planned on proposing to my girlfriend here which I ended up doing. When I called before we arrived and told them and was looking for accommodations to set something up, they didn't seem to care. However, I asked someone the 2nd day I was there and the front desk did offer a complimentary bottle of champagne

    Very nice rustic boutique style hotel. Will most likely stay here again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like many hotels the continental bkfst was just a sheet of store bought pastries and coffee. There may have been fruit but can't remember. The main front desk staff was rude but other staff were great and very helpful. We stayed the day after Mardis Gras and there was some loud machinery on the street below our balcony window. It may have turned off at some point in the night because we had no trouble sleeping.

    Beautiful courtyard. Awesome location, right near Cafe du Monde. Balcony rooms are great.You can see Jackson square just to the left. Overall we loved it and would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room - 1 bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was slow - really slow - and several of the tv stations did not work.

    The hotel was in a great location and really quiet given how close it is to Bourban Street and Jackson Square. The staff was very friendly and there was coffee all day long!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Room - 1 Bed - No Window or Views
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby area sorely needs to be fixed up and painted. Breakfast was cold croissants and cold danish. Would have been nice to have been able to warm them up. Yogurt would have been nice.

    Location is wonderful! Nice courtyards.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room - 2 beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price was high, but it was the going rate for the French Quarter. Parking was 38.xx a night with taxes.

    The room was lovely. Loved the onsite parking. Location was outstanding. Continental breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room - 2 beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything!

    This is the second time I've stayed at Place D' Armes, and it is as charming and comfortable as it was four years ago. The staff are outstanding and have such wonderful southern manners. Dionne at the front desk made sure our room was perfect and she is so friendly and accommodating. The hotel is right in the middle of the French Quarter and so easy to step out of and walk to any of the restaurants and shops. I love this hotel because it's dripping with old world charm and fits in so well to the French Quarter.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Place D'Armes Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: