Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Plantation on Crystal River 3 stars

9301 West Fort Island Trail, Crystal River, FL 34429, USA

#3 of 8 hotels in Crystal River

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 986 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room...strong musty and mildew odor. Offfered to "refresh it" which helped a lot til next day. killed bug in bathtub with paper towel and left it with a note for housekeeping but was still there after they cleaned room.

    staff was nice and polite

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Waterfront
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Such a great location. Friendly & helpful stafff especially Kathy at the Tiki Bar she was so lovely and such an asset to the hotel. The snack menu was great also . The rooms are huge with really comfortable beds & pillows. We really wished we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A cleanliness issue on staircase carpet and room window.

    I really liked this hotel as I had everything I needed, A room with a view of the river, a nice swimming pool, friendly staff, and a restaurant. The location could not be better! My only two small complaints were that in the staircase area, carpet was very dirty and stinky. I hope they renovate that area soon. Also the window of my room was not cleaned for a while. I had a nice view overlooking the river so I really wished it was sparkly clean. The upstairs door to go down to the lobby area was most of the time stuck and I needed to use the door on the other side which made my trip to the lobby or ice machine very inconvenient. I told this to a front stuff, and sounded like this happens often. I went to the restaurant once and the food was good and the waitress was very friendly. But it was almost empty for lunchtime and I think it was due to the bad reviews the restaurant received in the past. I think if the service and food is CONSISTENTLY good, it has such a potential it has a beautiful outdoor area. Other than that, I loved this hotel and I definitely would go back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Waterfront
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Buffet dinner was not that good and did net meet expectations. The area was way more built up that we expected for "Florida's nature coast". We rented kayaks and had great time but there were power boats everywhere and shores are lined with houses. Bikes were ok but no real trails to bike on. Air conditioner was very loud in the room.

    Swimming with manatees was amazing. Staff were very friendly and polite. Property was beautiful and lots of activities etc. Room was spacious and clean. We had an amazing meal at Vintages on 5th - its not in the list of recommended restaurants from property but should be!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room - Waterfront
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I checked in, I was put in room 227 (?), right above the service door! The first 2 nights were AWEFUL!!! 😩 By 5am, big beeping trucks we’re picking up garbage and throughout the day, delivery trucks came and went. I’m not certian why you would even consider putting a “guest” there (especially over $100/night)!! 🤯 I was moved to the Orchid building and the last 2 nights I actually got some sleep.

    The staff was all very friendly. The morning waitress (Cheryl) was AMAZING! I was traveling alone on my birthday and she made sure that I had an extra special day. She even picked up a helium “Happy Birthday” balloon and a coffee mug for me! Your company is VERY lucky to have her as an employee!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room - Waterfront
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and hallways definitely need a facelift. The hallways smelled of mold and the carpet was pretty bad.

    The location was great and overall the property was a great value for the price. The rooms are spacious and the ground floor rooms have little seating areas outside. The tiki bar food was delicious and also a good value, as were the cocktails. Staff was super nice!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travelled miles and miles to get to this hotel for 4:00 p m check in. Tired from driving, at 5.00 p m tried to book dinner, only to be told they were fully booked. What all evening?! We were totally flexible but still couldn’t/ wouldn’t accommodate us. Didn’t make it clear they were part of the Choice Privileges group so didn’t get any points as members. Rooms were pretty substandard and very tired compared to a lot of what you would consider to be some of the more basic hotels. Did the $15 one hour manatee boat trip. Save your money and instead go with Cpt Mike about 30 min drive away who really knows his stuff. $20 for 2 hrs or discounted from certain hotels - excellent. Pick it up from Stumpknockers Restaurant (great little find). Sorry to say we think you’ve become very complacent because of your setting and pretty outside area. Won’t be back.

    Great location. Beautiful pool and outside area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Waterfront
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place generally shows its age and needs some renovations: For instance, the door to our room was difficult open, one day there was no hot water.

    Pleasant grounds and rambling buildings

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phantastic Resort directly at the water with Manatees! Manatee diving tour from the hotel was very impressive. So many Manatees so close! Location is unbeatable!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Waterfront
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old carpet smelled in entry of building but nothing to be upset about with such a chill place to relax.

    This was a great place to go relax and get away. It is not a party, night life destination, it is more for families and adventurous for laid back adventuring couples.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Property is very dated and in need of repairs and renovation. Carpets had multiple stains, especially in the hallway; the lock to the entrance of the building was broken. The whole building had a very run down feeling. As the property allows pets, we had to put up with a dog barking desperately since 7am as its owners left it alone in the room.

    Nice location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We changed rooms as the basic room we had been given had two smaller beds and a funny smell. For 20 dollars more we had a much nicer room.

    It was deserted when we were there and we saw manatees swimming outside. beautiful situation. We ate at the pizzaria on the left out of the hotel which was great (zafarellos?)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was fairly basic Disappointed not to be able to get a drink at the bar when we arrived at c9.30pm

    Easy to get to (by car), but tucked away Set in a beautiful location - the river wraps around the pool Fab pool area Perfect location for manatee watching - which, by the way, you can do on site it you like (we went with River Ventures, who were ace) Lots of activities, including kayaking from the resort Early breakfast, great if you want to get up and out

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Waterfront
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bed in room 131 was very noisy when you did any movement in it.

    enjoyed the place very much and activities around the location. Clean and service was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Waterfront
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building does not have an elevator, and the majority of the facility is out-of-date. The older bartender inside at the 82degree bar restaurant could be much friendlier. The rooms are in need of update. There are a lot of noises in the hotel throughout the night that keep me from getting good rest.

    The pool is amazing. My daughter and wife enjoyed it very much. The restaurant and bars on property are fantastic. The food is really top-notch in the area. The rooms were extremely clean as well as the entire facility. Great value for the money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Waterfront
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the décor is slightly dated.

    The location was great for what we needed. We wanted to stay in Crystal River for the "Swim with Manatees" experience, so this hotel was ideal. It also had the bonus of a golf course close by. Good value for our 2 night stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Waterfront
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hallways have no damping capabilities for normal noise. Our door to the room (#225) had at least a 3/8 and in one dimension a 1/2 inch opening. tried a pillow and towel to damp the hall noise but no luck. The bath room had a pocket door for privacy, however it could not be shut leaving a two inch gap. Some privacy! We requested a change and were graciously acomodated by a lady at the desk. I'm sorry I didn't get her name. Breakfast buffet was tasty, but at twice the price of a place across rt. 19.

    beautiful grounds, friendly staff and front desk ladies very acomodating when we requested a change of rooms for the second night.The lady lobby bar manager very friendly and helpful regarding local attractions. Nice bar menu for diner. Would like to try the golf layout next time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Waterfront
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant was good, but overpriced. Some parts of the hotel need to be freshened up (the carpets in the hall and stairs, for example).

    Lovely grounds on Crystal River, lots of activities available to guests. Our room was quite spacious and the staff at the front desk and in the restaurant were very friendly and helpful. Perfect location if you're in Crystal River for a manatee tour.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interaction with staff at the front desk. Quite rude and defensive when’s asked normal questions. Extra 17 dollar resort fee to use parking and WiFi.

    The soft beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Waterfront
    • Stayed 1 night

    Alarm went off at midnight and did not get turned off until 1:15 - got no sleep! I only wanted a cup of coffee in the morning and the hotel (even at this price) did not provide any.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No restaurant open 3 days in a row it, a technical problem i was the only answer i got, being charged $42.00 hotel services fee (what services) no mention of this when booking. + a very shabby room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying a resort fee no time extra. If fee known sooner would not have kept reservations. Traveling with party of people made canceling difficult

    Pretty area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t spend a lot of time at the resort. We were out experiencing the areas natural attractions. The time spent there was comfortable. There were many amenities available that we did not have the time to fit in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place was a great disappointment. The doors to the rooms do not fit, so they are slammed every time they were closed. (They are being updated with new keyless systems, but the doors do not fit into the opening! And there are no sound-softening cushions at the doors.) The a/c unit made noise all night. The fridge made noise all night. The guests in the hall made noise all night. The dresser drawers did not fit in the dressers. The safe is in the room, on the floor next to the fridge. The bar managers said nothing when guests were shouting at each other while other guests were trying to enjoy some late-evening time together. I was told that that the place was being upgraded in the near future, but I will not ever go back. We were booked into the place for two nights, but we left after one night in that place. I place the blame on upper management for not paying attention to the details. They should note any place that needs paint (check out ANY stairway railings) and make the small fixes right away so that the big problems do not develop.

    The front desk staff was very nice. They apologized for each of the things I told them about.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Waterfront
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too service minded staff at front desk and bar focusing on dollars and payments. The swimming pools were warm but need to be cleaned better and more often.

    Nice place with fantastic location by the river. A lot of activities offered at the hotel and by adventure center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Waterfront
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor issues: Tough to control Air. It was so cold in the room but we managed to turn down themostat. Furniture was a little dinged up. But overall these were really minor issues. Loved the place. Constant music at pool and on the manatee cruise. Could do without it on the cruise, or turn volume down. It was hard to talk to guide and hear since music was too loud.

    Amazing location and amenties. Staff was excellent. Loved Michael in the lounge area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price without special!! We are a lower income family and on social security.. soo really enjoyed the Plantation.. but it would be hard to stay without special.. and a lower price should be available for breakfast.. or a snack bar.

    Best Pool ever ..beautiful property!!! Took the pontoon ride..wasn't very long for money. 1. wish list..needs Microwave in room ( the little coffee makers ..do not keep coffee hot) Would love to stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the high prices for everything and the additional resort fees on top of what booking. Com quoted. Not a lot of elevators for people on 2 nd floor.

    Beautiful place with the river in the back. Very clean and well run. Lots to see and do at a high price. We

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a waitress in the bar area, not the tiki bar, the restaurant bar,she took forever to take my order, gave me a dessert with liquor on it without informing me, and then disappeared, I had to walk up to the bar to pay. That was frustrating. She was also complaining about how hard her day was... Not appealing.

    I loved most of the staff, there was one girl who was always on the golf cart, I would see her at 8 in the morning bringing towels and at 8:30 at night still working, she always had a smile on her face and she was so kind. It seemed like that place couldn't run without her.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Additional to the AC a fan would be good to better distribute the cool air in the total room and not only directly in front of the AC where the beds stand.

    The pool and the pool environment with the river around is very nice. Breakfast delicious, rooms large and good equipped. Bath could be newer but everything was clean and working!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Waterfront
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were very short staffed all three days from the restaurants to the tiki bars and they never had pool towels. Also they are geared for families but have no kids menus or kid/family food very upscale which didn’t match the family atmosphere. When we did try eating there it took almost 2hrs start to finish.

    They did have a bunch of fun family activities such as pool, shuffle board, giant checkers/chess, cornhole, croquette and horseshoes with a game room so geared toward families. Very charming and laid back almost too laid back if you were on a tight schedule.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Group
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    A facility that is a little tired. Our Valentine's day event with 11 couples was understated. Our private dinning room was plain. Food was acceptable, although not hot.

    Beautiful location with plenty of things to do.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Waterfront
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were there for Valentines. They only offered a limited menu for this evening so you would think they could have done a great job. They vegetables and potatoes where cold as well as the plate and although the chicken was warm in was tough and dried out . Over priced for what you get, both room and food

    The grounds were pleasant and people running the pontoon boat ride were knowledgeable and friendly. The lounge staff also friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Waterfront
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bottom bed sheet was rough ( had little nappies on it, in other words it was Ballie). I really liked the idea of the laminate floors, but they were very dirty. The railings on the stairway when we walked down through the exit doors were filthy. The breakfast was not hot. How do you expect to serve a buffet without heat under the pans keeping the food warm? Would not stay there again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Waterfront
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was horrible. Floor was dirty. The drain under the sink broke loose,water everywhere. Patched and unpainted walls Curtains off the rod, etc.

    The food and dinner service were fine. The property was horrible.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Waterfront
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the outside the hotel is amazing! Inside is sad. All the areas need serious updating, there is mold in the walls and hallways, the rooms are ok. Plus the pricing seemed the change the minute we got here, and to charge and extra $14 something for a resort fee is just way to much. I would much rather stay at an arbnb next time for less than what we paid here.

    Best thing by far in this place is the Restaurant West 82, our server Alex went above and beyond to make our experience great. The hotel is located in a great area as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Waterfront
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were many great outdoor activities - pretty pool, great hot tub, outdoor chess set, shuffle board, croquet. The tiki bar had good, inexpensive drinks. The staff were friendly and gave great local tips. We were able to borrow towels for our manatee tour.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in we asked for a ground floor unit if possible. They were so nice to make the change from our 2nd floor unit and upgrade us to a ground floor with a patio. We truly appreciated and enjoyed it!! This was such a beautiful place! We loved the hot tub, boat ride, and snorkeling with the manatees!!! Would definitely come here again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom could have used a string to dry wet clothing. We were in 202 on a Friday night and the noise of the hallway entrance door was quite loud.

    Staff was excellent; Food superior however the room needed some improvements. Having access to a dryer is good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Waterfront
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was clean but the hallways and elevator were in need of updating ie cleaner new flooring. I also didn't like the "$14 Activity Fee" because we didn't use any of those options.

    The person who checked us in was extremely helpful and professional. I had made a mistake with our reservation and she solved the problem immediately.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great property, great staff and amenities. Fantastic location ! Ssnorkelling with manatees was a lifetime highlight! Super convenient on site, great staff. My room price even included a round of golf... Fantastic! Winding road leads out to the beach where the locals were having a drumming dancing celebration at sunset, wonderful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room - Waterfront
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could use updating and you hear ever thing.

    Staff is always amazing. Super friendly. Love all the games they have by the pool Life size checkers,chest,jenga,bean bag toss, etc...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding in the hotel and the drunk guests yelled in the hallways all night long. The manager apologized for their behavior the next day but we didn't sleep much

    We had a great time at Crystal River. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Very close to the river and its manatees

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit dated but it was fine.

    Arrived Christmas day. I was happy to see that the restaurant, bar, and excursion/gift shop remained open. Nice amenities onsite. The room was spacious and the property had charm. Manatee excursion was awesome!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really don't have any complaints.

    Loved the property, staff, and the service. I would stay there again. Lots to do on the resort. Crystal River is a small quaint town you will enjoy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property was very dated. The stairwell and hallway leading to our room was dirty. The beds weren't as comfortable as you would expect for the price of the hotel. The wait staff was lackluster There were only 2 tables occupied in the bar and I waited for 10 minutes before approaching the bar to ask for a drink. Her response "I'm sorry I did not know you wanted something". Overall I would say to stay elsewhere. This property was not worth the money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Jacuzzi was down 2 of the 3 days of my stay.

    I liked the room size, the comfortable bed, the cleanliness and maintenance of the facilities overall.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard. Very noisy outside and in hallways. Didn't get good sleep at all. Worst stay in a hotel in my 41 years of life and for that much money.

    Front desk was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast wasn't included, but was really good. The pool was heated, but didn't feel that warm.

    The room was really spacious, as was the bathroom. The hotel is located in Crystal River, the manatee capital.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was pretty firm so I didn’t sleep very well. However I wasn’t expecting something luxurious for the price I paid.

    The hotel staff were really nice and allowed me to borrow a towel for my boat tour even though I was checking out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Waterfront
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled like mildew, the toilet ran all night and made horrible noises that woke us up ever hour, other noises from the building that made sleepongnchallenging.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast staff on one morning were sullen and unhelpful and did not bring the requested beverage. The room was also not cleaned on one of the days meaning we had to go to reception to ask for bathroom paper.

    Location was fantastic, the pool and river and outside facilities were brilliant. The staff at the event centre and the entertainment manager and outside bar staff were excellent. Food and music at the outside bar also great. The events including swimming with manatees were out of this world.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On Booking.com it stated "no pets allowed" but there were some very noisy dogs in rooms near us. We were woken up before 6am by one of them barking almost constantly.

    The location of the property was what we liked most

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Waterfront
    • Stayed 3 nights

    parts of the property - rooms in our section (Orchid) need upgrades badly dirty rugs and floors - room make-up very late - insufficient room supplies (soap pieces, towels, tissues, toilet paper)

    Great location - easy for boating, diving activities

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Waterfront
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow check in, only 1 staff and 5 guests waiting. Signs for hotel are poor, there are 3 other “plantation” in the same road. No shower cap in room

    Great staff, nice views, very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noises.

    Beautiful old building and our room was very spacious. Nice outdoor pool and gardens. We stayed there so we could go on their manatee swim which was an amazing experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool water temperature was just a little too warm

    Breakfast had very good choices. Housekeeping was great, we asked for extra coffee to be put in room everyday and they did it. On site fishing tour and manatee tours and boating! Made for an awesome vacation!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a little expensive and not included but cheap and delicious sandwiches are available at the golf court house located opposite to the plantation and many excellent restaurants are close by.

    Almost everything but the manatee tour was extraordinary 😊😎

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not get to enjoy the spa . It was closed Sunday and Monday ..the days we were there.

    The view of the river. The spa, restaurant, and boat rentals on site !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stand in room 102 and the smell of that wing was not pleasant. There was not enough lightening in tub/shower.

    The over all appearance of the Hotel and grounds. I give staff excellent service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Minor things like burnt out light bulbs were taken care of right away when we asked, but the carpet in the room looked stained and dirty. The room could have used some updating, but we spent more time outside anyway.

    The service was impeccable at both the front desk and the restaurant. The location is gorgeous and there are lots of things to do for both young and not-so-young. We especially enjoyed the sunset boat ride with Captain Memphis.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Waterfront
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The overall appearance of the property needs improvement including the grounds and patios. The mattress was NOT comfortable and the room furniture looked dated.

    I enjoyed the waterfront location and marina, and the reception and dining room staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The manatee dive was extremely disappointing. The staff was great. The trip was to the end of a residential canal with limited visibility competing to see (1) manatee and (1) calf with 4 or 5 other tours. The water conditions were so poor my wife would not get back in the water. We saw more manatee activity at the resort boat ramp after the trip. We understand you cannot control the water conditions or the manatees, but you marketing did not represent our experience.

    All aspects of the resort were well organized. The activities were accessible and easily scheduled.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant was very expensive for what you got. Not impressed with food. Too crowded. Didn't know it was scalloping season! Went for a quite getaway and heard people yelling in the halls and doors slamming until 1:00 AM. GOT NO REST!

    Room was clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Waterfront
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were first greated by a polite woman from Orlando. She was joined by a rude woman that treated us as if we were somehow challenging her. Rude, shockingly unfriendly, down right nasty and aggresive. So aggresive that she scared me. I had to ask her to please stop being so aggresive to us - we were only checking in. Ruined our stay. When I complained, I was told the manager would call me. She never did and I was left with an absolute feeling of indifference. Definitely not feeling the love. Hallways to rooms were constantly filled with trash that was not cleaned up or vacuumed. Room was clean. Bathroom was clean but shabby. I am OK with the condition of the room as long as it is clean... Did not sleep because the behavior was so weird at the front desk.

    The restaurant staff wereally lovely and the food was good with good value provided.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Waterfront
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we stayed at a golf villa that was perfect for our family!! We also rented a charter and had the best time scalloping!! The location is perfect and allowed us to explore the area for local restaurants and activities!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit dated. Could use remodeling. $2 coffee? What's with that? Didn't realize you should book manatee tours in advance and also didn't realize you just don't go out swimming to find manatees but need to book a tour. Also didn't know summer isn't ideal time to swim with manatees, winter is.

    Nice pool and drinks at pool. A lot of ice machines.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of noise from hall. Manatee trip not worth money and disappointing due to very unclear water (not sure where they took pictures on website) and only 3 manatees at location (but that was not their fault)

    Large pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the grounds were being worked on, either for irrigation or electrical wiring problems, which kind of took away from the otherwise lovely landscaped grounds to wander around. Also, there was a big contrast at the Sports Centre, they seemed to think you knew all about it already, like for snorkelling or boat trips, & handy & useful information did not seem to be readily available & did not encourage us to inquire further.

    Rooms were furnished to a very high standard, loved the lamp-bases with what looked like crystal-clear water in them, rooms were a good size with high standard of cleanliness & decoration; internet worked well. All the staff were very friendly & polite & in a very genuine way; the bar staff made extra effort to get you want you wanted either drinks or food-wise; & the restaurant staff very attentive & well-timed with food delivery & so on. Location is super on riverside near marina; felt like we were in a southern-style mansion & regretted having to leave.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had no toilet paper, we had to call and ask for some, took about an hour to get there. No ice machines on the second floor. The stairs we used had 2 dead roaches from the time we got there and still there when we left. Employees don't knowledge you with a smile or a hello. Went to dinner at 8 and they didn't have room for us so we had to eat in the bar area small lunch and dinner menu only couldn't order off the entre' menu. Even though you stay at there place they still charge you $10.00 to launch your boat. Breakfast cost us $13.95 each it wasn't that good. I sent 2 coffee cups back one had lipstick marks on it and the other had dirt on it. I was asked if I would like some juice didn't get it until my husband asked for it at the end of eating and I got it in a to go cup. We will never go there again or recommend this place.

    The grounds look very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Waterfront
    • Stayed 1 night

    The refrigerator was not cooling very well. The coils were very dirty.

    Loved the big beautiful swimming pool. The friendly staff and the great food and service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    had to pay a lot of extras like boat ramp. Had to pay for room fee and didnt even get room cleaned... i am still fuming angry i had to throw dirty towels and garbage in hall. I wrote a very poor review and told them at check out and instead of offering someone to talk to she just said "ok" NO care... i will be sure NOT to recommend and even writing this I doubt i will hear from anyone!!! In a nutshell it was really a ZERO!!!

    restaurant and location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Waterfront
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is old, and it's on the water so it's real musky feeling in the halls and elevators and such. The room had the AC going so I didn't notice it in there and slept fine but the halls of a waterside, boating hotel should not have carpet. They really need to tile the halls. The peel and eat shrimp was awful. It is served cold and despite what the menu says does not have old bay on it. It's basically a shrimp cocktail they didn't peel for you. The pillows were the squishy kind, my partner loved them, I hate them. Would have been nice if they had two of each on the king beds so you have a choice. We paid for a waterfront room, don't. They gave us a room on the 2nd floor with a view of the canal. No patio or anything. I had them downgrade me to a regular room and was much happier for the rate.

    The food at the inside the restaurant was fantastic and so was our waiter! You have the choice of formal dinning or casual dinning, the menu is the same for both except in the casual dinning area you can get a lunch portion. We ate in the casual dining area. YOU MUST ORDER THE CRAB IMPERIAL, AND HAVE THE COMPLIMENTARY CORNBREAD, both were amazing. I really enjoyed seeing all of the families together. Lots of older children with their parents. We did not have kids with us and were never bothered at all. The company was very well behaved. I would love to take my kids back to this hotel and would defiantly go back if we were by boat. There was lot of stuff for the kids to do, the pool was giant! This is a place where the kids and parents can have fun at the same time. They have Bath and Body works toiletries, and provide a special towel for removing make up which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not the hotel's fault at all, but when we were at the pool some drunk guys came in from the river on a boat and talked really loudly. They loved saying the F word every other sentence. Again, I'm not sure how the hotel could prevent this. This was the only slightly negative thing about our stay.

    Very neat place. We loved the pool and the river.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leak in hallway with a home depot bucket catching the water outside our door in hallway. Could hear the drop drop drop all night. Restaurant prices to high along with high drink prices.

    Overall beautiful hotel, friendly staff. Great location for boating.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Plantation on Crystal River traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: