Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Porto Vista Hotel In Little Italy 3 stars

1835 Columbia Street, Downtown San Diego, San Diego, CA 92101, USA

#174 of 226 hotels in San Diego

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1214 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    The valet, Austin, was supremely polite and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The eggs and ham at the buffet breakfast at Glass Door was not even warm, but cold. The restaurant staff opted to serve out of the kitchen instead of chaffing dishes for the buffet, which was off putting and unwelcoming.

    The valet, Austin, was supremely polite and helpful. All the hotel desk staff were very courteous and outgoing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.3
    I had to get up at 4:30am and get ready.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to get up at 4:30am and get ready. There was no hot water. Had to take a cold shower. That was not a good experience. At check out the lady at the front desk was not very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Everything else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking needs to be free for the customers it's not fair for people to pay $25.00 a day for parking it's ridiculously stupid

    Everything else

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location!
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no pool. Just a larger jacuzzi.

    The location is absolutely perfect. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable. Overall, we had a great stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    Nahhh
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looked run down i thought it was going to be roomy and pretty but it looked like a motel 6 and way over priced smh $200 for 1 night i will never come again

    The room was ready when i arrived early

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.6
    Despite the photos, this is NOT a nice hotel and I would not stay here again or recommend it to anyo
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No storage in the bathroom for toiletries, hallways were not covered (not ideal in the heat or rain), looked like a motel converted into a hotel, old and dirty shower curtain hung on a plastic rod that was falling down when I arrived, elevator took forever, valet parking only and the valet had to keep my key (I'm not comfortable with that and prefer self parking), no room service and if there was, no menu was provided and trash cans were very small and cheap.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    awsome comfortable visit with family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    keeps your eyes open when you're driving up, or you'll ride right by. Might have to circle the block and try again if you miss it!

    Great location in Little Italy - the food court, shops all nearby. Great restaurants within walking distance, had a great visit with family there. Room was very nice and very clean, comfy beds, couldn't have asked for more. Rooftop seating with views of downtown as well!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.8
    The property was in the heart of little Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too crowded at night on the second floor on Weekends...

    The property was in the heart of little Italy. It was walking distance from all the hot restaurants, wine bars, and chill night life. Mostly Mature crowd 30s-50s.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Great time. Will be back
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator is slow. But expected that from the reviews. Only took it one time to check in. Walked the stairs the rest of time.

    Clean comfortable room. Had appetizers and breakfast up in the restaurant. Appetizers were delicious. Breakfast was basic. Eggs, sausage, potatoes. They do have a menu to order from but we opted for the buffet for convenient. Walking distance to little Italy. beautiful night was able to walk around came back for a night cap. Comfortable night sleep. Towels were soft love that. No view from the room but the bar had a wonderful view of the bay and city. Will definitely come back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.9
    location was great and the staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the wait for the shuttle bus was had a 50 minute wait form the airport

    location was great and the staff was friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.4
    We would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was expensive. Room was old looking. Refrigerator leaked onto the floor. Blanket on bed was old. No counter or furniture in huge bathroom for toiletries or other things.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    3.3
    Extremely mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First, they say that they have a pool which they don’t they have a jacuzzi big enough for 5 people( which didn’t even warm up)Second the bar staff is for lack of a better word discusting they don’t wash there hands after handling money or touching their hair. Lastly the room needs a lot of TLC and a much better cleaning staff. The rooms look a lot nicer in the pictures than they do in real life, and not sure if it states anywhere but it’s an additional 25$ per night for parking.

    The only thing I liked was the location and funny enough the vallet staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Very satisfied for our one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid $10 extra for our truck since it's more than 16 feet, but not all the valet knows how to drive stick. So we basically paid extra to park our car and pick it up ourselves multiple times.

    The overall hotel was clean, staff were friendly, the room and bed were comfy, and we even had a microwave.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    It wasn't what I expected but good for the price.
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was kind of crowded with unneeded chairs. There also were a few scrapes on the walls.

    People were nice. They have a pool and restaurant. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.0
    Poor experience overall. Do not recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Humid (even when outside wasn’t), small, cramped rooms, very very basic, price for what you get was very poor! Property was noisy, no feeling of comfort.

    The location was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    3.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spending the night in san diego Diego commonly done by me for leisure. This was my first time staying at this hotel and first time having an issue with any hotel that I've used through booking actually. After getting back to the room after dinner and undoing the bed to lay down i discovered a razor blade and also a plastic that belonged with a shaver immediately frightened and disgusted i attempted to call the front desk only to realize the phone didn't work at all no dial tone nothing. After pulling up the number through google i called the front desk and to my surprise instead of sounding alarmed the lady at the front desk sounded annoyed she didn't ask if i was ok nothing to sound concerned rather just another problem she had to deal with so all she said was that she couldn't move me rooms because it was fully booked so instead she said she was going to refund me my money and get someone over to change the sheets. That was her taking care of the problem never bothered checking the next day about anything or even if i needed anything else. Very unprofessional horrible experience.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.3
    Rooftop views and location were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is valet so costs about $25 per night. The website / when I reserved my room online also said breakfast was included but when I got to the hotel they told me breakfast was not included in my reservation.

    Rooftop views and location were great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic overnight to enjoy the sights and dining options of SD. Superb 'walk to ..' location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    One tip - their airport shuttle service is a very nice option, but sporadic, so if you have limited time take a Lyft or taxi. The airport is very close.

    Excellent location and great value. I'll stay again. Very clean. Nice comfy bed. Everything you need and nothing you don't. Set one street back from the main restaurant row so easy to walk to the heart of the action and great to leave the hubbub of that action behind at bedtime.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    I really like Little Italy, ad the central location of the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were tense moments at the front desk with other clients while I was there. It may be the small size of the lobby that exposes one to those conversations. There was an issue with an air conditionaer and another guest was asked to vacate for valid reasons. It's a pity such issues could not be dealt with more privately. The manager appeared and dealt professionally with the issues. My telephone went missing while there. I asked for help and they said they did a search. Unfortunately, I didn't recover it. That put a damper on the trip.

    I really like Little Italy, ad the central location of the hotel. Staff were helpful telling me where I could get services. I had a shuttle to the airport, and I really liked the personnel at the hotel restaurant the Glass Door-- I think it is. They were hospitable, played nice music, and the food was good. I liked the view from the restaurant as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Location & Hotel equalled a memorable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about very happy

    Great location which didn't let us down, so close to Little Italy and the harbour, friendly staff, amazing views across San Diego from their bar on the 3rd floor. Nice little little pool for dipping in on the 5th floor. Room massive, shower very good and lots of hot water. I could not think of a better place to stay when visiting San Diego

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.4
    Not as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms look nothing like the picture. At 3 am someone tried to get in our room. Front desk said they had computer issues, still sent security knocking on the door to confirm.

    Location was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    2.5
    horrible, do not stay here, i never will
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we showed up at 1am even though we were supposed to get there at 1130pm but flight got delayed and we show up and the valet/helper is arguing with the reception lady for about 5 min and calling eachother names and finally we get our room key, go up to the room and its a mess, bed was not reset, there were socks on the floor, also used towels in the restroom, along with used shampoo, it was a mess, I do not recommend this place especially for the price you are paying, their checkout time was at 11am and we got there at 1 am and our room was a mess, I will give credit to the lady in the reception she was awesome but it showed her job did not appreciate her, her help was outside messing around with the valet guys so she was alone. looked like she was about to have a melt down. but the manager called me the next day with the lowest excuse saying they had a problem with there system, but she was on the phone that same night with the reception clerk telling her all the rooms are clean, this was coming from the manager of the property, I will NEVER stay there again, if I had the choice to not stay there that day I would but my wife was pregnant and all other hotels were booked. also a nother guy showed up asking for a room and not 5 min later he comes back with the exact thing as me room was a mess. they did give us a room after about 45 min of going back and forth,

    reception clerk was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.9
    The location was great and even though planes were landing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in and check out staff were not friendly and barely acknowledged us. They need to learn a smile can go a long way. However, the other staff members were very friendly and were helpful. Additionally we were not allowed to have a late check out even though Booking.com stated it would be possible. Perhaps it’s Booking.com’s error rather than the hotel. Either way, someone from the hotel should be in touch with this website. The parking starts at $25 a day, depending on the size of vehicle. They refer their pool as a “spool” and the area is quite small. More appropriate for a nightcap. Finally, for some reason the temperature in our bathroom was hot the entire time of our stay. We had the air on and left the door opened and it stayed the same. If it was winter it would be comfortable but not for the Summer.

    The location was great and even though planes were landing nearby, we couldn’t hear them. Room was a nice size and the beds were very comfortable!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location, personal service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The modern façade doesn't really match the interior--the property is an older motel-style facility. I was a bit surprised when I saw the layout in person. The room was older and dark. Very clean with a comfy bed, but again, not what I expected. The takeaway: Great value, excellent location, awesome staff.

    Jose, the valet manager, was extremely helpful--he was so pleasant and engaging; gave us great suggestions for places to see. He went above and beyond. The property is in a great location--lots to do within walking distance (bars, restaurants) Great farmers' market a few blocks away on Saturday AM.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    2.5
    Paid for the room left after an hour of being there. Didn’t even stay the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was disgusting we were put in. Bugs were on the floor room was so tiny and smelt like cigarettes.

    Didn’t like a single thing. Horrible workers that work the front desk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.1
    I liked the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevators took forever. It got stuck at one point. My room didn't have a remote control for the tv. Tried calling the front desk using the room phone but it wasn't working. I had to call through my cellphone to ask for the remote control which took forever to bring up to my room.

    I liked the location. It is in the heart of Little Italy. Basically walking distance to everything and 15-20 minutes to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    I really loved the rooftop sitting area it's so relaxing...
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very difficult finding parking when the lot is full but we managed to do well.

    I really loved the rooftop sitting area it's so relaxing and peaceful. Also, the Glassdoor restaurant was amazing they workers treated us so well and the view was amazing. We will definitely be coming back again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    Simple hotel, but of a good quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The “pool” on the roof is around 6-7 square meters, very small and very hot, more like a jacuzzi.

    Simple hotel, but of a good quality. Nice views from the roof and the balcony. Few steps to Little Italy and a lot of restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed by condition of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our first night, we woke up to a flooded bathroom, it was the sink. There was sewage in the sink, the smell was bad and we were not able to use the sink until it got fixed at noon. We also wanted the floor cleaned before we showered. This was a huge inconvenience and there was no apology or offer to move rooms

    The location to the airport, beaches and petco park was good for us

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    4.6
    Decent enough place for our one night stay but not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service at check in. Late night check-in and woman at front desk was very nasty! Hotel is more like a motel with a notch up. Room was a little dingy and thankfully clean enough! Advertising on the hotel is a little misleading.

    Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    The location was phenomenal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was extremely slow. Most of the time we took the stairs, which wouldn't be bad but we were on the top floor.

    The location was phenomenal. Just steps away from Little Italy and an easy walk to the gaslamp quarter.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    3.3
    Rooms were dirty, you could hear every footstep outside of your room and cars are parked right outsi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were dirty, you could hear every footstep outside of your room and cars are parked right outside and each time someone alarms there car, you will definitely hear it.

    I didn't like anything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    2.9
    Very disappointing. I have photos of the room and the mould, unfortunately I can not up load them
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room had mould in the bathroom and for what you pay to stay here that was not acceptable. once you go past the reception towards the room, it looks like a prison block. We left a day early because it wasn't up to standard and the only refund we got was they wouldn't charge us for parking that night, well hello we weren't going to be there, I did think they may refund us our early check in cost but no, nothing. I would not recommend this hotel under no circumstances. Far too expensive for what you get.

    The hotel was easy to find, the valet parking staff were very helpful. The reception area was ok

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    I like the valet parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not cleaned. The bedsheets had hairs when we first checked in and you can tell they were not brand new washed bedsheets. The room was hot and humid but the AC started to work the next day. There was no late check out available.

    I like the valet parking. Its $25 a day but great service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clerk rudely refused to check me in at 2.57 pm. He made us stand 3 minutes in the lobby, holding our luggage because check in time is at 3 pm even though he wasn’t doing anything. Room service didn’t clean our room the next day until 5 pm when We came back for a nap. Elevator hardly works.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Aside from room mix-up and early morning alarms due to fire, overall this was not an unpleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff werent as helpful as they could have been. Mix up with room bookings, one room was great, the other was not even made up. Room was changed and for compensation, complimentary breakfast was offered but a fire in the kitchen, that morning meant the breakfast was cancelled and nothing was on offer

    Bed was comfy. Room was well equipped

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding Staff and great accommodations
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My safe in my room did not work.

    Staff was outstanding and the location was great! The Resturant right across the street (sorry forgot the name) was great as well......would stay here every time needed to be near downtown.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location close to all amenities and public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. The hotel is great.

    Location of the hotel is great. Walkable to all public transport and the harbour. Great restaurant and welcoming helpful staff. Good parking on site.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.6
    Great location, but no longer worth the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed here 4 years ago, but in my opinion it has gone down hill. Cleaning crew didn't bother to clean our room and under-staffing meant it took more than 30 minutes for them to bring us fresh towels and toiletries after we discovered the room uncleaned. Breakfast is not very good, bland eggs and sausage or bacon and the toast is stale and kept in a warming pan. Not worth the extra $ for breakfast. Forced Valet parking makes it harder to get in and out of the hotel.

    The location of the property is Great and the view from the restaurant is still good despite some new construction.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location but noisy enviroment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping cars, they were so noisy, all morning, they woke me up so early because of the noise and echo of those awful little service cars.

    The location is excelent, one street north to India St., tha main one of Little Italy, and just a couple of blocks away there’s Landini’s, wich offers beer and pizza up until 2 am.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    3.3
    Motel in disguise... watch out for the smoke detector!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This place had more negatives than positives starting with an elevator being down for at least a day and half during my stay. The hotel was very busy since most of their guests were there for a race myself included so to only have one elevator working was not good. I get to my room and I notice the smoke detector on the bed and the bed was somewhat messy also as if someone did not bother to clean up after themselves. Maintenance came and placed the smoke detector back on the ceiling. The beds are not comfortable and the sheets/blankets were not the softest. The walls are very thin... you can hear when the sink or the shower is turned on in the next room. The last night of my stay the smoke detector woke me up in the middle of the night. I had to turn it off and I called the front desk. They sent a maintenance man and he disconnected the smoke detector from the ceiling. The following morning as I was checking out I mentioned this to one of the front desk employees apologized for the inconvenience and she informed that they were not going to charge my card until she spoke to her manager about the incident and see what they could do about the inconvenience with the smoke detector. Well to my surprise several days later I was charged the full amount of my stay... I was very disappointed considering the type of night I had the last night. The amount of what I paid for this stay does not match the amenities and the comfort of the room.

    The hotel is in a great location of the city. The lobby is very clean and pleasant. You can walk to nearby restaurants, shops, and bars around this area. Close to several amazing attractions and the beach walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    Bad customer service
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told that it was $25 to park one time fee or we could park on the street. With that deal, we thought we should do that. Well it was $25 a night, the fire alarm went off at 6a.m. and wanted to talk to the manager afterwards but didn't call back after calling 3 times. Very bad customer service.

    The view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire alarms went off at 6 am which are deafening in the rooms continually on and off. For over an hour. And finally packed my bag and left

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    2.5
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I mistakenly did not read the reviews. I’m not going to go on... the rooms are discussing, filthy and in desperate need of updating. We didn’t sleep under the sheets.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed due to a private party.

    Location! Room we got was big enough for two beds. There was a fridge in the room and our view was good towards the park in the back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.4
    The location was great
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff hospitality was poor. Which made for an unpleasant experience. It was primarily check in, which is the first impression.

    The location was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    The hotel was perfect for what we needed for our stay to celebrate my son's college graduation!
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being led to believe at check in that there was a free happy hour with food and drink, like you get at other hotels when told there is happy hour. Happy Hour is not free, but reasonable. Bathtubs are very slippery, need a mat. Bathroom is not accessible if you have limited mobility so be sure and ask for an ADA room. One elevator that is very slow so that is a problem also for someone with limited mobility.

    Location, location, location....tram service from airport, trolley stop to SDSU and other San Diego locations close by, Little Italy restaurants all in walking distance. My son graduated at SDSU State and our family and friends stayed at the hotel. We could be together and we didn't need cars to get around. Super!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.4
    Great location but low quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one elevator serving all floors, very slow and often full. Lack of surfaces to put personal items in bathroom. Lose fixtures. Dark interior. Loud party on rooftop (our level). Cheap paper products. Lack of response to request. Two calls, 40 minutes. Irritating repeated texts.

    Proximity to Saturday market, restaurants and shops, close drive to Balboa Park. Centrally located. Great valet service. Comfortable beds. Refrigerator, microwave and second sink outside of bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location in Little Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The layout of the hotel was a bit odd and directions to the rooms are not well sign posted The lift is dark and extremely slow

    Good location Free shuttle to airport Free WiFi thoroughout property

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    3.8
    Terrible. Rip off.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payed for a nice room was down graded without being informed..was supposed to have view of bay in larger room with larger bed.. Got a view of the freeway. Was offered nothing for the 50 dollar difference. Not even an appology.terrible!! Never coming here again.I wouldn't if I were you...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff went above and beyond with their service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only dislikes were that the patio door had a latch that was loose and needed tightened. The other was the low water flush toilet, which I assume is state required. Neither were big issues.

    The staff went above and beyond with their service. We arrived on an early morning flight and they sent their shuttle. We asked if we could leave our luggage until check in time, but instead they already had a room ready for us. We love to stay in the Little Italy area and the hotel is one block away. We were always greeted as we went in and out. The staff helped us in so many ways. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I definitely recommend Porta Vista.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn’t made aware clearly. Clearly that if we checked in before 1200 extra charge. We would have waited. It took the third explanation to understand. Only complaint thank you

    Location parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Restless sleep due to hard pillows!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The four HARD bed pillows are the worst for sleeping. I ended up using a bath towel as my pillow. I usually stay at this hotel before my flight out of SD, but after years of complaining about these pillows and no changes, I’ll be looking for another place. Yes, the pillows are that bad!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.0
    Location without lustre
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, poorly lit and not enough electrical outlets. Not suitable for international travellers with large bags and adapters.

    Great location with easy access to trolley.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    The view was great and the location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower drain was clogged and after I checked in the head house keeper came into our room to check if the carpets needed to be clean for a wedding coming up but we weren’t dressed. Also the towels were a bit dirty. And there was no alarm clock.

    The view was great and the location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Over all good for one person, one or 2 night stay. Rooms are too tiny for anything longer than that
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were to thin, there was no clear instruction on were breakfast was. Room was dark.

    The staff was very friendly, pillows were big and comfy.great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    It was ok, but I don’t think that I would pay to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There so call texting for things that you need did not work for me. I requested a blanket via text and it never came. I had to call the front desk. When I did get a reply text it was the next day. There were not enough outlets and only one nightstand for two people.

    The location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.3
    The people are very nice and the location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise level is awful. The bed and pillows are low grade. Room was not clean and the sheets had stains

    The people are very nice and the location is great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Friendly staff and valet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/C very loud and didn’t circulate well in room unless it was on a freezing temp.

    Friendly staff and valet! Property was very clean and outside seating very comfy. Great views and the location was in the middle of everything my kids and I wanted to explore.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    The room was okay for a 1 night stay, but I would have not stayed there more than that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super small room, dirty linens, cold showers, not enough lighting in room only 2 working lamps, and we could only park on the property through valet parking.

    Toilet trees, comfy bed, fast WiFi, cable Tv, and super close to the Habor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Awesome spot best location Love The View I will stay there most definitely again and again in the fu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like what was that I need a more soap that's the only thing everything else is great

    I liked everything I couldn't complain I'll tell everybody my family friends to stay there when they go to San Diego

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.0
    I will never stay at this hotel and will not recommend to any friends or family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had my vintage cannon camera stolen from my trunk after valet took my car when we arrived. I let the front desk know about the incident, they didn't seem concerned said they would call me. Never called me, my wife called and talked to front desk and again explained what happened and they said they will have manager call me and again No one ever called me back. My wife called a 3rd time and again they said they would have manager call till this day no response.one of the staff even told my wife that they had cameras in the garage and would view the video for that day. Very unprofessional and very upset that they show no concern for their guests.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.7
    Fix the odor but other than that it was worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The scent of the unit.. I think there may have been mold previously or that they are still dealing with some water damage. Unit 423 or 432 not sure which number but it was on the fourth floor had this pungent smell to it. I didn't mention it as I did stay at this hotel before but on the first floor and it was the same pungent odor that lingered in the room. I'm sure this is no new news to the staff there. However, really recommend that something be done about it. It is bearable once you open the windows and keep the air conditioning circulating throughout and I did spray perfume to alleviate the odor as well. Even though, I did hate that portion of it, the pros make this place a definite contender for a re-booking. I was charged $6.00 for a face towel that had too much make-up - although I didn't fight the charge, I think $6.00 is a lot for that little white towel that you're given - it should be $4 at best. but then I'm just being a little petty so.. yeah.

    The location was prime. Great for those without a car and just want to get out and walk to dinner or grab a few drinks at a local bar. Also very close to the airport and the free airport shuttle was convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    4.2
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was music playing loud at 11pm. Called the front desk. They said they would take care of. Music started again around 12:15-1am. Called again. Also found cockroaches in our room on the furniture and floors. Very dissatisfied stay

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    valuable,saving cost
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    stay here for the show,it is not as the same as the luxaury hotel which i used to stay. but think of the location and the price,everything is ok, staff and online customer service is good! Thank you!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    It was fine and I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedding was a bit on the thin side and so we were a bit cold. I recommend guests ask for an extra blanket before trying to get to sleep.

    The room was clean and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    The lobby night clerk that booked us in gave fabulous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lobby day staff could have been more helpful and friendlier.

    The lobby night clerk that booked us in gave fabulous service. She was very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.8
    Great location but tired, staff were rude and my suitcase was rifled through. Wouldn't stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were rude on checkin and very unhelpful. Being on my own I didn't feel safe in my room. The room was tired. I placed a do not disturb sign on my door and it was removed. My suitcase had been gone through when I came back to my room the second night.

    The pool area looked nice. Great location close to good restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    6.3
    Will not be returning or recommending.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid way too much for these accommodations. Once you get past the nice front lobby, the rooms are down awful, half way house looking accommodations. I felt like I should carry a knife with me just to go to the ice machine. The bathroom sink took about five minutes to drain along with the bathtub when you take a shower. Besides the location this should not be first, second or third choice for a comfortable stay.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.3
    I will recommend this hotel to my family and friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you have to pay for parking when your staying in the hotel

    The location of the hotel. And everyone was so nice and friendly Very fast and easy at check in and check out. Thanks so much for our pleasant stay! Will definitely be back again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    It was an overall decent stay for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glass Door restaurant staff were not good at all. Went in for dinner, waited 20 minutes to be acknowledged but never happened. Approached them for service and they still never came over, we walked out. Elevators are very old and very slow. No gift shop/store. No pool/spa. Overpriced for what you get.

    Hotel staff were friendly. Text message helper was good. Rooms were basically clean ( except the random peanut & Cheeto on the floor), which is most important to me. Location was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed by the room and overall cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was nothing like the pictures. Very small. The bathroom was aged and falling apart. The door hinges and outlets were barely intact. The bathtub had dirty smear marks and was chipped. The corners of the bathroom were dirty and didn’t look like it was well taken care of. Definitely felt like a motel but with the price of a hotel.

    The staff was extremely friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful discovery in Little Italy! Fantastic location! Look forward to a return visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed better counter space in bathroom. Very difficult to do makeup, hair and routine care without a place to put your toiletries. The bathroom is very spacious, so a cabinet or built in shelf space would work well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    Restaurant and bar great views friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in .. got there late & tired and we were rushed by receptionist & couldnt find the room

    Restaurant and bar great views friendly staff Fab size room for the price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.4
    Below average for the price we had to pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was run down. The shower head made a loud noise when running, the mini fridge was so noisy we had to unplug it, the room was very dark/curtains were hard to open, and the accent pillow had weird stains all over it.

    The location was awesome!

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: