Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Portola Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Two Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940, USA

#16 of 67 hotels in Monterey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2025 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Paid WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    6.7
    The hotel lobby was awesome, wished the room had the same wow factor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not ready at the published checkin time, but the hotel made good by giving a room upgrade. The room was nice but there was only one night-stand because the bed was next to the door leading to the adjoining room, even though the room was big enough, which was a real bummer. It being a spa hotel with a big price tag, I also expected better quality toiletries rather than generic ones.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.5
    We had a lovely break at the Portola and Spa hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbor View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a broader menu in Jack's at dinnertime.

    The buffet breakfast was first class. I particularly liked being able to order pancakes and omelettes. The beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.1
    very near to fisherman's wharf
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our first allocated room seemed to be the furthest away from reception and if we were cynical I would say that we became 2nd class citizens as we had booked for 5 nights it was via Booking.Com and not one of their preferred organisations. The staff changed our room to one nearer reception that was noisy and had no balcony or indeed view....taking the piss come to mind !!!

    very near to fisherman's wharf

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, peaceful stay in Monterey!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really, no possibility to pay with a Maestro debit card was the only issue we had. Staff was helpful though in assisting with the payment.

    Very comfortable bed, great location near the waterfront. It was easy enough to walk to the Cannery Row in about 10 mins along the water, and the fisherman's pier was even closer. Parking is taken care of on site and was easy enough to enter exit as often as we liked.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.6
    i would definitely go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i was deciding between this area or the cannery row. this area was more relaxed. its very close to the wharf and to the beach. theres a bike rental shop right outside the hotel and we rented bikes to go to the 17-mile drive.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.6
    Great place to unwind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for parking

    The room was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. Jacks bar was a nice place to relax, the bar staff and guests were very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.2
    Superb location and perfect facilities, definitely stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much to dislike really - not cheap but good value for location and facilities.

    Nice, attractive hotel. Rooms are a very good size with plenty of room for my wife and I, and our son's travel crib. The breakfast room looks more like a lounge bar but the food offering was excellent and the happiest omelette-making station! The atrium and bar area is very light and airy, great for dinner or a few drinks at the bar. The swimming pool is in a seperate building and is nice if a little small. Oh yeah, and the warm cookies upon arrival were delicious!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.8
    Clean modern big hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is in the building but they charge $20/night If I knew this I would park on the street outside the hotel for free....(5 minute walk but the hotel parking takes same time)

    It's a big hotel! My room was 10 minute walk from lobby Modern clean hotel close by the old fisher man's wharf and the cannery wharf. Main street in front of the hotel has pretty good restaurants

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    Just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything negative whatsoever.

    Everything! Absolutely stunning, faultless. Spotlessly clean, great friendly welcoming staff and perfect location. We were on a road trip but if we’d have had time, we would definitely have extended our stay. Exactly how a hotel should be. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location and hotel restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for very needed late checkout but the receptionist didn’t let me finish my question before saying its not possible.

    Great location and hotel restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    A wonderful trip to monterey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like was the fact that the rooms are not ready until 4.00 and there is a very long walk to the rooms.

    The rooms are very comfortable. The area around the hotel is beautiful with a lot of nice restaurants and u r v close to Fisherman's wharf. Cannery row is a bit of a walk away but it's along a wonderful path way.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    8.3
    It was a very comfortable room. And great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very dim. Would have preferred better lighting as well as a single point for turning of all the lights when in bed (master switch). The check-in and check-out waits were a little long. Not enough staff to handle peak times but really friendly staff.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and there was a cool breeze into the room when the shutters were open. Cleanliness. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    For this price per night I would expect to have breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For this price per night I would expect to have breakfast included, which was not the case. Hence, I find the hotel was pretty good, but a bit overpriced.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    Quite big, but comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very confusing how to find the parking lot, we had to circle around several times as some of the parking entrances were blocked.

    Spa and swimming pool is a great benefit. Good food places around. Very clean and comfortable,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    If you are staying in Monterey you have to stay at this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely loved this hotel. It was stunning from outside and to the entire decor within the reception area, restaurant and room. It was extremely clean and the staff were really lovely and helpful! It was a two minute walk to the beach and pier and we fell in love with the nearby beach! There is also a lovely cafe just outside of the hotel if you are staying on the poolside to your left.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.0
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with key cards and security system waisted a lot of time. Some staff was way to busy with personal conversations to help guests. Air conditioner was inadequate

    Clean and newish

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location for all of the activities close by - a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were nice but ours smelt a bit musty. Not sure if that was the carpet steamer they use or the fact that dogs are allowed. We had a noisy dog a few doors down and it barked a lot - would have been better to inform us that pets were allowed in the wing we stayed in.

    Great location for all of the activities close by - a few minutes to Fishermans Wharf and a 10 minute walk to Cannery a Row. Nice balcony and very modern bathroom

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    Well located hotel in Monterey, with decent sized rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is worth noting that this hotel accepts pets. This was not evident when we booked and I had to complain (a first for me in a hotel) about a dog that had been left alone in a room and barked non-stop for hours. The communal areas look a bit tired and could do with a fresh lick of paint.

    Well located hotel in Monterey, with decent sized rooms. Has a nice bar/restaurant in the lobby, and offers parking onsite (for a fee). They give you a very nice cookie on arrival!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    The location can not be beaten - a minute's walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The swimming pool and hot tub were in a separate building to the main hotel.

    The location can not be beaten - a minute's walk to Fisherman's Wharf

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    The restaurant cook for breakfast was super nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant cook for breakfast was super nice. Also the food she prepared while talking to us tasted great and was a really great experience. This is the first thing to remember Then, the hotel - we just needed a place to crash between 2 long drives. For the money it is OK, much better than most other options, while the decoration, facilities, restaurant, surroundings, are a great bonus :) Nice experience! Wish we'd stayed longer

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Wish we had stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    Very welcoming. Staff very friendly. Room was amazing beautifully clean and lovely pure white fluffy towels. The bed was sooo comfortable. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a bit surprised that the swimming pool was adjacent to the hotel!

    Excellent location & car parking. Friendly staff in all areas. Lovely big room, with coffee facilities, nice beds, great bathroom. Loved the atrium and atmosphere of the lounge areas.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.6
    Not worth the price you pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff took a long time to being the pack and play to the room. We actually requested it 3 times until we got it. The room didn’t have a beth. We showered our 11 months old son in the sink (he is way too big for the sink). The swimming pool is super small for the size of the hotel. Even that we paid a lot of money (more than $300 a night) our room didn’t have a balcony. And the hotel charges $20 extra per day for parking. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to my friends and family and will definitely not stay there in the future.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    4.6
    Bed was lovely and soft.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds with Harbor View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a VERY EXPENSIVE hotel and I was expecting it to be a treat for the final 2 nights of our family roadtrip holiday. The staff weren't attentive - we booked a table in the restaurant but they weren't ready for us. They made up a table from 2 x 2s at the edge of the restaurant space - it was so cold and we felt that we were sitting in the lobby - we asked to move halfway through our meal - they really weren't apologetic. I paid extra for a harbour view room, and I had to book a room with 2 doubles rather than 2 queens for, what I expected to be, a harbour view; but I was then told that they didn't have any harbour view rooms and the price for the room we had was the same. The pool was actually a plunge pool not a swimming pool and since it was in the building opposite, it was too much of a hassle to use plus we were only supplied with 2 robes and there were 4 of us. There weren't enough car parking spaces in the carpark for all guests so we had to take our chances and park in a reserved space one day. Everything was extra, car parking, expensive breakfast etc. We were only supplied with one single tube of each toiletry item for 2 adults and 2 teenage children. Far from generous and customer orientated. This was the only hotel that we stayed in that left us feeling cheated and fleeced - there are much better hotels with infinately better staff who care at much cheaper prices! Try somewhere else!

    Bed was lovely and soft. Bathroom was clean and shower nice and big. The toiletries that we did have were good and smelt lovely. The chef on breakfast made a great omlette to order and he was the only staff member that genuinely seemed to enjoy working there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location, valet parking was handy , friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s really a large conference hotel and can seem empty when there aren’t any conferences in progress Aspects of the hotel are dated and in need of an upgrading

    Great location, valet parking was handy , friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel. Couldn't have asked for more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All very helpful and friendly... Made conversation at checkin and were able to get us in a room before scheduled time as we arrived early. Got given beautiful warm cookies everyday. Room was very clean and cleaning staff helpful as well. Pool/ jacuzzi was clean and free to use. Area of hotel very quiet but lovely bars and resturants within 10 minute walk. Car parking is additional charge but they very kindly didn't charge us for the morning of departure. Hope to go again in the future and would highly recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing comfortable stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.3
    Great Hotel but poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a bad experience in the restaurant with very poor service. I emailed both the restaurant and the hotel about our visit but didn’t receive a reply. Which I wasn’t surprised given the attitude of the staff in certain areas of the hotel.

    Great location, nice roomy feel to the place, excellent decor

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in fabulous location close to everything in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel in fabulous location close to everything in Monterey. Four of us shared a lovely comfortable room, great pool area and pleasant staff in the bar. Loved our stay here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    Relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Harbor View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV channel choice was crap. Breakfast was over priced. Floor and desktop lights in room were faulty. Balcony doors were stiff to open.

    Fridge in the room. Two comfy chairs in room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    4.6
    I wouldnt be rushing back, very impersonal visit especially for a honeymoon, staff didnt care
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being located across from the actual hotel

    We stayed here on our honeymoon having travelled from Ireland, we were put in the adjoining building where guests were allowed stay with the Pets, we felt like we were staying in a Motel on the side of a road and not in the Hotel that we actually booked

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.1
    Not as moders as it looks in the photos...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were in a separate building across the high street. No security - anyone could take the lift to the bedrooms. The décor of the bedroom was old, in contrast of the modern look of the entrance and reception.

    Lovely entrance and reception. Clean rooms, not too small for a family of 4.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    The complimentary cookies on arrival we're amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt it was lovely but a little bit 'stiff' and soul-less. It's a big hotel but lacked the personal touch throughout the stay. Pool area a little small and lots of road noise both there and in our room

    The complimentary cookies on arrival we're amazing. Great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    Location is great (in the heart of downtown).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of carpet and a little pricey for the location.

    Location is great (in the heart of downtown). Liked the ambience and lobby area. Customer service was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Favorite part of stay - apart from the Aquarium & Bay in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Favorite part of stay - apart from the Aquarium & Bay in general - was the hotel's breakfast buffet, including the lovely lady having a great time making us omelettes to order. Excellent experience, happy 4 & 6 year olds to boot.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel in the perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is really big... and not the best value for the money we paid

    Nice hotel in the perfect location. Great personnel at the reception and a very good valet service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Brilliant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here as part of our honeymoon trip and the hotel is lovely. The staff are excellent, the room was really big and clean. Excellent location and valet service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Absolutely a great choice!
    • Solo traveller
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely a great choice! Very clean, beautiful, great staff, and awesome location. The price was reduced as a last minute booking; so that made it all the better! Delicious food as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Good location and clean place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need to pay for parking. Nobody helped with my luggage. No laundry.

    Close tot he Fisherman Wharf. There are lots of restaurants nearby. Lobby looks great! Chocolate cookies upon checking in at the reception are fantastic!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Californian Ultra Cool Chic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds with Harbor View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It couldn't have been better

    Californian ultra cool chic. This is way California reflects the leading edge of American culture. Great spot. Impeccable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.4
    No value for money, rooms are old
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures fool you! They look very nice because the lobby and entrance area are very nice, but the rooms are outdated and not better than at a cheap motel. Not worth the money. To go to the spa you need to cross a heavily walked pedestrian street and the hotel doesn't even provide you with slippers. We had to walk bearfoot.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location and room was very nice. Also great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was great, really accessible to the rest of Monterey. 17 Mile Drive was stunning, even though the mist was coming in. Also close to the town itself. If you are planning on doing Route 1, this is also a great place to start from.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    4.6
    We slept and left as fast as we could. Aweful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a old and not like the pictures. It is dirty with yellow walls. The room as large but dark and felt gritty. The stuff were unfriendly and slap dash. We were meet on check out in by a drunk man confronting the security about an issue. We arrived late and left early for whale watching.

    They gave us a 50% discount on the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.8
    The location and the pool were lovely and the room was nice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location and the pool were lovely and the room was nice, but didn't seem to live up to the price that was paid. We went for a wedding and it seemed like this hotel has a lot of destination wedding guests - in heindsight I would have stayed at a different hotel for less money. Didn't seem worth the $500 a night price tag.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.0
    We booked a double room for one night and upon entering...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a double room for one night and upon entering immediately noticed several large stains on the carpet. Also the bathroom floor was not clean. The outside balcony had cigarette burns on the carpeting. The beds were lumpy/leaning on one side indicating lots of use and had not been exchanged in quite some time. Upon checkout I addressed these issues with the staff and we received a discount on our room and free parking. I am pleased with the end result however the expectation is that for a 4-star hotel and in a close downtown location has its' facilities in immaculate condition. If the rooms would live up to the entrance/lobby area it would be great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    Photos are not the reality - looking tired in places
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area much smaller than expected . The rowing machine in the fitness centre was broken and not safe as was one of the spinning bikes. The mosquito net fell off its rails in the bedroom

    Beds were comfortable - staff were friendly and the complimentary beer while waiting to check in was excellent .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    The location is great and there’s a free trolley to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The on-site brewery bar was recommended for food and I really don’t know why as it was awful and the service was not great at all. Much nicer perhaps in the hotel restaurant. But we found a great brewery and restaurant up the road at Alvador, which puts Pete’s to shame.

    The location is great and there’s a free trolley to the aquarium which makes things very easy. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The pool is lovely, although a walk across the street in your robe is slightly annoying. Cookies on check in is a lovely touch. Buy your aquarium tickets at the hotel and you get two days for the price of one.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Spacious room with comfortable beds and a large bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room with comfortable beds and a large bathroom. Short walk to the wharf. Very helpful staff sorting the car park charge in the adjacent car park and whale watching boat trip tickets. Would definitely recommend staying here. Kids loved the warm cookie treat when you check in too

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    Great place in Monterey, very wel located and furnished. Nice accommodation and common facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, except the price that was a bit high if considered the city and the low competition in the area.

    The hotel was recently built and facilities look very good at a first sight. The hotel is well located in the middle of Monterey city and allows acces both to the boardwalk and the city with ease. We were accomodated in a secondary location just outside the primary building, the room was big and bathroom was great. Parking was comfy and we left the car the overnight without extra-charges.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was surprised that there was no air-conditioning. I didn't feel comfortable leaving the sliding glass door open -even partially. There was a ceiling fan and a stand-up fan so it worked out but it certainly wasn't ideal in this day and age.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.4
    Clean, but overpriced. Stay elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One in-room coffee pod for four people. Two bathrobes provided for four of us and when we called the front desk and asked for two more so we could go to the pool, it took an hour to get them, even though it was not a busy check-in time. One tiny shampoo bottle for the four of us. Parking in their garage costs extra. Staff have us misleading information regarding the Monterey Bay Aquarium tickets. Since they sell tickets to the aquarium, they should know better. Generally, this place was overpriced and not good value for money. I felt ripped off.

    Warm cookies upon check-in were nice. Rooms were modern and spotless.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location, near restaurants and walking distance to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our view was of a courtyard and outdoor firepit which got busy and we could hear the chatter from our room. By the tine we were ready for bed the noise had died down.

    Great location, near restaurants and walking distance to the wharf. The hotel had a great restaurant and bar which was packed when we tried to get a drink there at around 9pm. Unfortunately we were only staying one night so I didn’t get to take advantage of the spa or other amenities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    The Portola is in a good location in central Monterey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our first room was very noisy - positioned above the laundry facilities. The room fan did not work. But ... see section re positives.

    The Portola is in a good location in central Monterey. It has an attractive entrance hall. The breakfast was good. After complaining about our first room (we had booked 2 queen beds for four of us), we were given two executive suites and free breakfasts for both days. The suites were fab - we felt very special - so full marks for the hotel's response to an unhappy customer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    We stayed at the Portola Hotel and Spa for two nights on our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed at the Portola Hotel and Spa for two nights on our California Road Trip. I highly recommend it. We had two adjoining rooms, one for us and one for our three children aged 8, 10 and 15. There was lots of space for everyone. The weather wasn’t so great while we were here, so the jacuzzi was a must and the pool was heated too which made it more than bearable to swim in. Rooms are clean and have all the little niceties you’d expect - robes, decent coffee, good towels and toiletries. The location is good too - close to some lovely restaurants and cafes in the town and the port for whale tours and fishermen’s Wharf for more touristy shopping. I’d stay here again if I visited Monterey.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    This hotel has a beautiful lobby, a brewpub attached, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We checked in at 4:20pm and had to wait 30 minutes for a room. Because of that inconvenience, they said they would throw in free parking (value $23/day). They forgot! But they did take it off when checking out.

    This hotel has a beautiful lobby, a brewpub attached, very comfortable beds. Great location, can walk to marina and pier with several restaurants. Free trolley picks up right in front to go to Aquarium.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Very central and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area was right beside the 2 storey car park. There were hidden charges on the bill that I didn’t fully understand plus a 20 dollar plus tax charge for the car park.

    The location was perfect for the wharf. The beds were comfortable and the room was spacious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Best part of my vacation !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks in the bar are pricey

    Rooms overlooking the courtyard have a great balcony patio area. Walking distance to the wharf, and to the downtown restaurants. Great location!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.3
    Overrated
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small pool area and unfriendly bar staff

    Some really good staff however the experience was worsened by some really unfriendly staff. Great location. Nice rooms and comfy beds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Excellent, would come back without a doubt and would highly recommend to others!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t think of anything at all, really super hotel!

    Fab check in and valet staff, tasty cookies given to you on arrival, great lobby which was really quite impressive to look at. We had a lovely room with our own balcony looking into a little plaza - super nice!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.7
    The room was nice and the on-site restaurant very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double beds were very small - not the same as a standard UK double. The pool was poor as well as one had to cross a pedestrian street to access it and there were no changing facilities there - so the choice was walk across a public (ie non-hotel) area in your bathrobe or change in the toilet cubicle by the pool. It was not a ‘swimmers’ pool’ (it was small and round) and yet was not very warm so too cool for my children to spend much time in.

    The room was nice and the on-site restaurant very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Great place, a must if you're planning to stay in Monterey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing. It's a great place

    Everything. The room was spacious and clean, breakfast was good, the location is perfect, the staff are knowledgeable and friendly, the bar was relaxed and friendly. We stayed for 2 nights and would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    The atmosphere of lobby and restaurant were awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the room at 2nd floor. Our room was 268. It’s better to make the customers enable using stairs.

    The atmosphere of lobby and restaurant were awesome!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.8
    Well situated by the Marina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds too narrow 130cm so not really ideal for a family of 3-4. The check-in was not warm nor welcoming , nor by the arrival by car to get help with luggage nor the lady at the reception, they mostly seemed interested to sell the valet parking. The breakfast servers were not attentive and drinks took a long time to be served each time.

    Well situated by the Marina. Pool and warm jacuzzi. Nice breakfast. Great cookies upon arrival

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a damp patch were carpet had been cleaned but did not complain as hotel full.

    Excellent location staff mega friendly and area very agreeable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Worth the 4 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying extra for parking Not having breakfast in the standard price Not having a room with a view despite a request expressed many months ago.

    Overall hotel appearance. Reception area. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    The food in the hotel restaurant is for conference guest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the hotel restaurant is for conference guest. The venue is modern and nice but the food it three stars while you will get four or five stars if you take a sgort stroll down to Fishermans Wharf.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Best hotel in Monterey
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything about this hotel. It was absolutely beautiful, clean, and in a great location! My 9 year old and I totally enjoyed our stay and would definitely come again-soon!!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Location, quality of property and the amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was long but they bit beat to get through the long line of people checking in as quickly as possible.

    Location, quality of property and the amenities. Lovely bedding and comfy bed too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Great location, food was good, friendly staff, rooms in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn’t quite ready when we arrived at 5:30pm, however they provided free wifi and parking to make up for this!

    Great location, food was good, friendly staff, rooms in excellent condition and very clean. One of the best hotels we’ve ever stayed at!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location, right next to the wharf and custom house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast nice but not very well organised. Long lines for the omelettes (I gave up waiting), and the lines were in front of the other food so made it really difficult to get to things. Pool was a bit small and crowded - I’d expected more.

    Great location, right next to the wharf and custom house. Cannery Row and aquarium are walkable but with small kids would definitely recommend the free trolley which has a stop outside the hotel!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really beautiful hotel and well located. The people at the reception was very helpful and they even gave us two days of parking free and saved us 40$ dollars.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Monterey Nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having specifically emailed the hotel to confirm we had our 15yr old daughter travelling with us, we were surprised to be asked if we still required an additional bed. This had to be requested a further time following check in and had to be set up by ourselves. The room was not really big enough for the extra bed and it had to be climbed to reach the window or the room's only chair.

    Other than the extra bed issue, everything else was wonderful. Bathroom was great and we loved Peter B's Brew pub for dining - very relaxed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful property;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property; location is unbeatable; the price of our stay for the quality of the hotel was outstanding. The staff very attentive and helpful!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    The perfect hotel to stay in if you are roaming Monterey!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing, no complaints!

    I loved how this hotel location was right in the middle of all kinds of restaurants, shops and the ocean. The hotel itself was very nice, the rooms were beautifully decorated, the staff was very nice and accomodating. When we checked in, they gave us all freshly baked cookies. The ease of the parking garage to the hotel was very fluid, it made loading and unloading a breeze. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to stay in Monterey!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.1
    Nice enough hotel, uneven service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not check out through TV, breakfast w few issues: 1) personal tok someone before line to seat 2) focus problems w personal ( meat on veggie omelet, no coffey, had to ask twice ) 3) modest selection comp to price We were offered upgrade on the first night bc I was thinking on extending f 1 night but then it costed 100 dollars extra f the first night so we only staed 1n

    Good location on Cannery Row, central, good atrium, nice enough rooms, good valet service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Overall very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I will say is that the doormen could have been a bit friendlier.

    Our bedroom was lovely and spacious with very comfortable beds and good pillows. Our bathroom was also a good size with a big walk in shower. It was quiet meaning you didn't hear people next door or in the hallways. We were very happy with this accommodation.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: