Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North 2 stars

1840 4th Ave, San Diego, 92101, USA

#190 of 226 hotels in San Diego

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 422 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.7
    Feels like a mix between motel and hotell from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Feels like a mix between motel and hotell from the architecture of it. If you've never been to San Diego you might find the area a bit sketchy, but it's really not. This is just how San Diego is :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.9
    A HOME AWAY FROM HOME.
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the fact that it said there was parking available when it really was just street parking.

    The bed was so comfortable. I slept like a baby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    5.8
    comfy bed but budget holtel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we first had to move rooms as the totally no smoking had not been followed by previous guest. The toilet role holder in one room was falling of the wall. One room was disabled facilities floor was really slippery in bathroom. Lots of strange people were hanging around. the balcony rails were too far apart our 18 month old could get through them. the totally no smoking was only in the rooms so the court yard was always smokey. no staff help with baggage to and from room and small very slow elevator.

    location was good and the view of the planes as we were under the flight path

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.4
    Only coming back if I can't find any other options
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    DON'T FEEL SECURE, because they have a video camera at reception. Having a front door with a check-in desk slightly off the lobby. I felt as thought I was in a hamster cage with random locations for the two elevators that made the stairs a quicker option. Just thanking the stars I've been going to the gym in order to take up my luggage that wasn't stolen from the lobby.

    My suitcase was stolen from the lobby area while I was checking in, moving things to my room. The receptionist said the manager had access to the video, only to NOT have access by this time, there was no point calling the police, which I think might have been their idea from the beginning. The breakfast was decent and specific with the hours of availability. Since they allow you to make your own waffles, they tend to clean up early. Fruits, cereals, and yogurt are available making the place packed with strollers and families not aware they aren't alone in the space. I didn't spend much time in the hotel since bars and good restaurants were a car drive away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    2.9
    The room smelled like cigarette, I had to park my car in a...
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled like cigarette, I had to park my car in a lot across the street which I had to pay for. The hotel is located in a sketchy area. It was definitely not worth the money and I will never stay there again nor would I ever recommend anyone to stay there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    Great value for money. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Right in the flight path of the airport so quite noisy with planes overhead (but I think this is an issue in lots of parts of San Diego). Breakfast didn't really have any healthy options.

    The hotel location is great, walking distance to Balboa Park, Little Italy and Gaslamp Quarter. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, WiFi is great, aircon works and bed is comfy. Free coffee whenever you want it and small gym, both great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Great staff, great breakfast, great stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airport is pretty close so you can sometimes here the planes flying over head but it wasn’t bad.

    The staff was very welcoming and friendly. Thank You Luis and Onacia

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.8
    Okay, will not stay here in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area around the hotel was a little grimy, especially at night. No parking available. Had to search for streeet parking anywhere you could find it. Extremely inconvenient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Affordable hotel with good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Under flight path. At night there were a few homeless and drunks hanging around the next street corner. Area not that convenient if you don't have a car. I couldn't check in until 3PM.

    Room good, facilities good. Breakfast ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic hotel, great location. Perfect for those looking for somewhere to stay on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Around the area (this includes the whole of San Diego) there were a lot of homeless people, some of which would shout and be aggressive which was really frightening. We never had a problem directly around the hotel, it was mainly closer to Gaslamp.

    It was a lovely setting, close to one of the trolley tour stops and the San Diego zoo. We were able to walk to Gaslamp Quarter too but this was a tiny bit far and although we could have walked to the zoo we opted for LYFT to rest our legs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    All in all my stay was AMAZING!! I
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not knowing that the HUGE! 747 airplanes,from different airlines,fly over the hotel to land at the San Diego Airport. Afterwards it became a treat to see the HUGE 747 that CLOSE!!

    The greeting when you walk in was very WELCOMING!! Everyone should feel like they are welcome regardless if you're visiting or employed or just finding a place to relax! and having breakfast served was DELIOUS! the waffles, sausages, eggs, orange juice with a splash of apple juice with a delicious cup of coffee was the key to finish this breakfast it was all so FINGER LICKING GOOD!! AND using a napkin of course was a compliment to the cheif. Thank you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    5.4
    Breakfast was better then expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NO parking. had to park on the street, if you could find a spot. First evening police caught someone trying to break in to cars just around the corner. One ice machine for 5 floors and it was out of order. Was told by the front desk I could go to the local liquor store and buy a bag. Room was small.

    Breakfast was better then expected. Fresh eggs and sausage.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.7
    The Staff was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Room had a leak in the roof and they were unable to move us to a different room due to them being overbooked. The room was tiny, a queen size bed took up most of it.

    The Staff was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    The room was small but the bed was Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking or lack off. 24 dollars for the lot. Across from the hotel wasnt big enough forthe hotel or free street parking from 6pm-8am which meant getting up and puyting 25 cents for 20 mins every 2 hrs. Those were the options.

    The room was small but the bed was Comfortable.Nice breakfast for the Money. Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No on site parking. Rooms were tiny. No mention of ONLY 1 queen bed for all rooms. COT bed had no cushion left so the metal bar was stabbing me all night. A.C. was extremely loud. I'm honestly not the one to complain but this place was a disaster.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    3.8
    Internet worked fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slamming doors, planes, smell from the air con, room was not vacuumed during my stay, the coffee cups were not replaced, no tea just coffee in rooms.

    Internet worked fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel but parking a nightmare.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no rooms with two beds which was a detractor. Quality Inn itself was fine but NO OFF STREET PARKING WASN'T ACCEPTABLE FOR PEOPLE OUT OF STATE. It's been 30 years since I have parallel parked and it wasn't fun. I felt my car was in danger while we stayed there because of possibility of people hit by car in front of or back of my car depending on space. But the real issue is that booking.com should have been very clear about the parking status and wasn't. That isn't the hotels problem. I would not have booked there if it had been clear.

    Room was very nice which included fridge and micro. Very clean and fresh looking. Courtyard was acceptable. Cost was realistic. Close to Balboa Park and Zoo.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.3
    Clean VERY SMALL room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Shower water is cold - luke warm. Low water pressure. Rooms are 9' x '8 No closets No hotel parking/impossible to find street parking. A lot of homeless people sleeping on adjacent streets, not a great neighborhood to be walking around at night.. AC very weak will bring the room to low 80's

    VERY Clean, had fridge, iron, microwave, hair dryer The outside looks great Laundry in building (but need to get your own detergent and quarters)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.8
    adequate but did not match price paid
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    door to room needed repair there was at least a 1" gap and could hear a lot of noise through the door - man when we checked in said no smoking on premises but there were ashtrays full everywhere. checked later & nice lady said smoking was o.k. but not in rooms... ?!!

    bed was fine, breakfast was good -

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    6.3
    very unacceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no parking!! under glide path for airport. room too small for size of bed, had a queen. bed too close to a/c. a/c very in effective. think it is rude when I try to ask desk clerk for information and she is texting on her phone

    breakfast was good. easy access to freeway.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    3.8
    The first room we were given was very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first room we were given was very poor. The room had a very weird smell, the AC was barely working with a really loud noise and the trashcan in the bathroom still had trash and a used tampon! At least they were able to switch us to a better room but it still had a weird smell. Luckily we were just there for 1 night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    It's a nice place to stay with affordable rates and great staff of people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few stains in the carpet that's about it , everything else was great.

    The staff were really helpful especially with help getting my boarding pass printed out and room service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The planes go right over this hotel when preparing to land, which is quite noisy. But it's also kind of nice because you get to see the planes so close.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    6.3
    Not good for family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    all the rooms were queen size while we wanted king size one. overall room size is very small. there was no onsite parking so we have to hunt around for parking and it's paid.

    Breakfast was good. Rooms were neat and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.8
    You can probably find a better place to stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking. Guess I should have read the details. You are forced to scramble for street parking or pay at nearby private lot. Uncomfortable beds. Directly under the path of jetliners landing -- all night long.

    Great front office staff. Super nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.9
    Great place for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are very thin, we heard our neighbors blasting music all night and morning. Parking is atrocious. No street parking. Had to park in the lot across the street and paid $25 for 24hrs of being able to park there.

    The price is great for this being so close to downtown. The staff was super nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    3.8
    Only breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laundry facilities didn't have any laundry soap to purchase. The room smelled like smoke even though it was a non smoking room. You could clearly hear outside noises such as conversations, people walking above, water running and carts rolling outside the window.

    Only breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.1
    Better than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioning was quite old. It was not that efficient and making too much noice. Some days the breakfast service was quite slow that you have to wait to get a coffee or sth else.

    It was more than we expected. We didn't have a car yet it was walkable to the old town, little Italy and pier. But I have to mention that me and my husband like walking. It was clean and calm. The breakfast was OK, we didn't expect too much. There were fruits and scrambled egg.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.3
    enjoyed my stay, room maybe small but nice view from window, comfortable and homey
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    kitchen/dining staff not friendly free breakfast the same everyday, there should be some variation for those staying for days/weeks

    the front desk staff were accommodating and friendly room facilities were working well

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    4.2
    Would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small. There was barely room for our 2 small pieces of luggage and us. There was a rotten smell coming from the plumbing in the sink. There is no parking and it was difficult to find parking on the street.

    The courtyard was very nice and the location was great. The staff was nice. Breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    5.0
    Review shortcomings regularly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Improve breakfast menu Guests have to wait for food item refilling Today yougart not available on pointing out the counter girl told that bender didn't supply today very strange answers Shower area of bathroom must have some support bar or handle to hold on while moving on wet floor Your lift operation permit expired in 2015

    Average

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in odd location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the hotel was under an aircraft landing path we slept well. The sliding door to the shower (both doors) kept opening up exposing 1/4 the shower. (Room 505) This was our second room as the first room (309) was in a deep corner and we could not secure the window off the walkway. The window latch was located at the top of the moving section but the keeper was at the bottom. Easy fix.

    Staff was great. Nice hotel, layout and design, close to Balboa Park and downtown. Great location except......(see below) Young lady at the desk switched rooms quickly for us.....it was an upgrade to top floor....Very good!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.5
    Great staff, minor points for improvement
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bed sheets could have been cleaner, and the view from the room could have been nicer (refuse bins).

    The inn has a beautiful green open space in the middle. It is close to the Balboa park (walking distance) and the San Diego Zoo. The staff was very friendly and forthcoming. Fresh fruits part of breakfast, nice coffee. Value for money is good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.8
    The wifi was excellent and the bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound of planes didn't much bother me but I could hear tons of movement from other guests. Not people being annoying but rather then moving suitcases and the wall against which the bed was would sort of move\vibrate at night when the people next door would move. Pretty annoying but guess could be resolved by not having beds against each other on same wall.

    The wifi was excellent and the bed was very comfortable. Really didn't expect such a great bed for whatever reason, might be new. Loved the unlimited coffee and tea at all hours.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    Great for our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and not well ventilated. It got stuffy very easily and the a.c. wasn't the strongest.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and they always had fresh coffee ready. The beds here are comfortable and i LOVE the pillows they use. The hotel was close enough to walk to several places to eat and shop. It also was near freeway access which is very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    Such friendly staff, wonderful property, very cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in the bathroom had chipped paint and the floor looked dirty. Eggs were very bland.

    Such friendly staff, wonderful property, very cozy. Breakfast sausages were awesome, and the waffles were phenomenal

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.9
    Great spot for a quick stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that planes fly right over you every couple minutes. Shower could've been a little more clean upon arrival

    Comfortable bed and shower. Outdoor court yard. Decent wifi

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    6.7
    I was visiting San Diego for a conference and looking for a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were small ants and gnats in my room.

    I was visiting San Diego for a conference and looking for a reasonably priced place to stay. The Quality Inn was within the vicinity of conference site. I appreciated the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The complimentary breakfast was also a perk during my stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    6.3
    Cheap but not comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold on the bathroom ceiling, noisy airplanes fly above the hotel, no parking lot only street parking, and thin walls. It was hard to fall asleep hearing the loud TV in the next room.

    Liked the price and included breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.8
    nice property, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    if you want to have a more active nightlife you should stay at the Gaslamp district, but we could reach everything by car pretty well

    nice property, clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    7.5
    It was a good base to explore some of the highlights of a beautiful, friendly city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room was often crowded. Rooms were small. Smoking in courtyard.

    The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was small but adequate for our needs and clean. Location was good, within walking distance to downtown and close to Balboa Park, public transportation nearby with frequent service. Breakfast was substantial. Nice to sit in courtyard.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    convenient location for attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking could have been better, but there was lots available around the corners, block away

    The breakfast was good lots of variety. the food was fresh

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    5.0
    Overall it has reasonable price and location is good.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so small and old. There was annoying smell in our room like musty. Cleanless of room was just OK. Almost no facility in the hotel even not a business center or somewhere like you sit and work.

    Location was good and the price was reasonable. Actually, it worths what you pay. It is OK for a night but for a longer stay you should think twice. Breaklast was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    8.3
    Worth the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One thing I didn't like is there was no parking. Parking was hard to find around the hotel. I also didn't like the fact that housekeeping did not completely replace my towels.

    The hotel was great for the price. It was close to everything and the hotel staff was helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    5.4
    The bed was comfortable, and sheets were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was extremely small, with little place to move. Little nats came from the sink, and so we used the drain stopper to stop them from coming in but when releasing that we got an awful smell like sewer. Also, it sucks that there is no parking offered or at least a discount for parking because that started to add up.

    The bed was comfortable, and sheets were clean. The location was nice due to being downtown and near a lot of clubs, places to eat, and shopping.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    5.4
    Hotel itself was OK, but staff unhelpful and very noisy
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Worst part was loud noisy linen carts were rolled right past my window at 6 am! I can sleep through a lot, but not that. Even planes flying low overhead weren't as noisy or as intrusive as that (and yes, the hotel is right under the approach path for the San Diego airport). Front desk staff also didn't respond to my request for a AAA member discount, then did not give me a copy of receipt upon checkout. Rather than wait any longer for the receipt (my ride was waiting) I asked that it be emailed to me then never received it.

    Decent basic breakfast, clean rooms

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    7.1
    location, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff at the reception was not friendly. we were late for breakfast 1 minute and they said its impossible to have it, although there was still food on the table

    location, clean

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    6.7
    Good for catching ZZZZs but not hanging out
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My reservation was not to be found when I checked in. I also did not have soap left in room for showering until next day.

    Easy location for access within city without high volume of traffic. Alicia Salas provided excellent customer service.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    3.8
    DISAPPOINTED!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was right next to the airport so I heard airplanes fly overhead all night, the carpet was dirty, the area felt unsafe, and this room was not accurately depicted in the advertisement.

    The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    7.1
    Almost perfect stay!!!
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Answer is change. Until now I could't see another hotels or hostales,pensiones in Europe and south america like this Quality Inn. Ex)Iron(plancha) for clothes, microHonda for food.

    Cleanessentially is good but very bad smell in comfortable of room 411, 412, 421 more 422. Korean are very sensitive about smell of room. If each guest will can choose perfume......one room did not work heater. Reclaim but not notice more and in the morning were changed crew of recepcion.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    7.9
    Clean, good value and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small; I don't know if others are larger. There is no parking, but we always managed to find a spot within a block. Street only.

    The room was very clean and had everything we needed. The neighborhood is close to downtown, but quieter

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    5.8
    Good location near Balboa Park and surrounding area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was looking for the cheapest room I could find to stay at while visiting a friend, but was also still hoping to have the quality of a reputable hotel chain. You get what you pay for, I guess. At first glance, room had a modern look, but up close had not been maintained. Room cleanliness was below average and window was open when I arrived. A couple hundred dollars could have probably fixed the light switches, touched up the missing grout, chipped paint, frayed carpet, and shower caulking in the room. It was unseasonably cool in San Diego, so had to run the heater, which was loud and kept sounding like it was going to break down, which made it hard to sleep.

    Good location near Balboa Park and surrounding area. Good access to interstate. Having good TV channel, selection, WI-FI, and continental breakfast (with eggs and sausage) were pluses. Staff was generally friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    7.5
    Good accomodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    As I write I'm trying to be as impartial as possible. I live in Europe, and after a ca. 14-hour trip all you want is to get in a room, re-charge batteries, take a shower and be comfortable in bed. However, this was not possible as of my arrival. The big surprise came when got into the room, and realised that the bed sheets were heavily stained (yellow-brownish stains were all over the place, especially close to the pillow-area). Then I spoke to the person in the counter, and she helped me out by giving me new, clean ones (it was ca. 21:00 of the day of my arrival). It was most helpful at the time I had most scarce patience, and everything went smoothly ever after. Barring this rather "strange" episode, I don't have any further complaint whatsoever.

    It was a nice stay overall. Breakfast was a blessing (as much as you can eat, in the time frame from 7:30 to 10:00 am). Bed/room were comfortable and nice (SD weather helped a lot). The hotel is well-located (ca. 20 minutes to the downtown - SD Convention Center). I think in terms of cost/benefit this might well be one of the best choices ever.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    8.3
    Basic hotel with charm and nice rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast could be improved.

    I liked the somewhat older style with the courtyard with the tree ferns and palm trees. It was a small oasis in a city that seemed so heavily built. The staff were always helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    6.3
    Staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First night - no hot water until after asking for it, then a long wait. Second night - water only lukewarm. Requested wake-up call, but no one called.

    Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    7.9
    Good for the budget conscious traveller!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was pretty bad, not very close to anything, at least a 20-25 minute walk to the City and Gas Lamp District! Balboa Park was about 30 minutes away walking and the closest thing was Little Italy at about 15 minutes and then the seafront (USS Midway) was about 20 minutes! The breakfast was pretty poor, small choice of cereals and bread, make your own waffles and some very disgusting packet scramble eggs and sausages... We actually avoided the breakfast on 2 out of 3 of the days!

    This hotel was great value for money, it was clean and the room was a good size! The TV had good channels, the staff were friendly enough and the laundry was helpful!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    5.0
    so so
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude guy at front desk when we checked in. Rude! Gave us attitude. However, there was a young girl when we checked out who was lovely. Tips to her! Room didn't look like pictures on website, air con smelled horrible, room was small, bathroom even smaller, toilet was dirty. Pay anextra $15 a night to stay closer/nicer. If you get a cheap room it's okay.

    Location- still a 15-20 min walk to downtown. But an easy walk and nice. No bother to us

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    5.8
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ants! Every where! Noise from staff and other people staying! It was a small room with furniture that didn't fit. No parking at all! No bath tub (I had a toddler with me).

    It was comfortable and centrally located.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.2
    We are especially grateful General Manager Karla D’Moss ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 8 nights

    soft bed and mattress

    We are especially grateful General Manager Karla D’Moss , she came to us for help in a difficult situation - we both got sick in San Diego. She even brings foot for us.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    2.9
    Awful and won't be back
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled awful so we had to sleep with the windows open which meant no sleep because of all the outside noise. Here was hair left in the shower from prior guest and you could hear people next door opening and closing their door all hours of the night.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing had a few issues with this which led to cool/ cold showers. Complained daily but was not resolved. Friends also had problems with blocked toilets.

    Breakfast was great. Courtyard lovely place to sit and have breakfast. Free street parking around the area between 6pm and 8am and at weekends.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.2
    Shower indicators for cold and hot were not correct.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower indicators for cold and hot were not correct. You had to turn the handle in the opposite direction, something I realized after a cold shower. :(

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    8.8
    Good place for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Small room. I was living alone in a as they call queen room, but that was a cubby. It would be hard to accommodate two people especially if travelling with large baggage.

    Swedish style breakfast. Choise is not very wide but more than enough for economy class hotel. Staff is wonderful and eager to help. The hotel is 20 min walk from the downtown but quite near the Balboa park.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    7.1
    The hotel itself is kept very clean, the grounds had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, this hotel did not have any parking and finding street parking was very difficult. You had to either pay or search around for residential parking. Also, there were little things in the room that needed to be fixed properly that were not. The AC had a leak so the floor was wet, along with other minor fixes.

    The hotel itself is kept very clean, the grounds had beautiful landscaping. The complimentary breakfast was excellent with a good selection of items.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    10
    More then you pay for....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff : Let me say that the best thing in staying here is the staff, Jazmine will help you more then you ask or need, Melissa and Bobby won,t just give you there shirt they will buy you a new one , any thing to help you. They think there at a 5 star hotel and treat you like it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    5.4
    The staff was friendly- quick check-in/checkout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Taking into consideration that this hotel has a quite some of years under it's belt, everything was ok for the price, but only because we were in good amount of distance from plenty to do. We were on the 3rd floor and we were able to hear the water flushing through pipes above us when the toilets flushed. The toilet paper roll was broken and hanging off of the wall exposing dry wall and leaving holes. The shower also looked like it was barely wiped after the previous guests. There was leftover hair on the shower wall and drain), and there were small ants behind the microwave that we killed. I observed under and behind the microwave to see where they were coming from and found dust and debris and more ants, after wiping the area down with water and soap, it helped out better. I'm not picky when it comes to maybe having to kill a bug or wiping some dust off, and the reason for our stay wasn't to spend the day in our room all day, if that's the case we'd spend more money and go somewhere else. but these are some things that can easily be taken care of or prevented. The Ice bucket also looked like it hadn't been cleaned/ sanitized. The room overall looked older/ re painting and new lobby doors maybe in the future?? Just didn't have the best quality of maintenance upkeep or full cleanliness I would usually expect from a Quality Inn, as I have stayed at plenty around the state. Parking is not the best (but you can expect that around this area so no surprise unless you're not familiar with the area.) There is a lot across the street that charges $13/ 12 hrs. or $22/ 24 hrs. (no ins or outs)hence the walking everywhere part..which we don't mind anyway. There is 2 HOUR parking available (M-Sa 8PM-6PM) in various areas around the hotel, and it's $1.75 for 2 hours. The side walks in the area however, are another thing- holes, bumps, and lifted in some parts-Just be careful and mindful when walking.

    The staff was friendly- quick check-in/checkout. Rooms had basic necessities, and sheets were cleaned. No odor in rooms. Location is good and within walking distance (and we walked everywhere) from Balboa Park, liquor store, and food. There's also a small "hole in the wall" restaurant around the corner, "Taco Rey", good tasting/priced food, outside seating.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    5.4
    Decent, Economical, and Near Gas Lamp
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The palnes were load but tolerable since I was unable to ehar them from inside the room. the breakfast provided was lacking in freshness. the cleaning staff had to be told several time-each day-to service our room. Lastly, there were no coffee filters provided so that we could make coffee using our own coffe.

    The location was great; easy to get Lyft at night after visiting the gas lamp District. Economic.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    5.4
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking. You have to pay a ton of money to park anytime. And the rooms are very small, hardly any room to walk around the bed or the furniture.

    The location is great. Close to walk to the zoo and the pier.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    5.4
    Cheap and seedy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    no very clean.. one of my friends had to change the room twice because there were ants and roachs.. small rooms and quite old

    It was close to the center

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    7.5
    I overall had a good experience, worth the money spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location under airplane flight path, Bathroom door did not close, housekeeping knocked even with "do not disturb" sign, and lack of parking.

    Good location, friendly staff, continental breakfast, clean facilities.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    2.9
    Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North NOT Quality Worth!
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking available for hotel customers. It created a problem for my grandson who has a physical disability. Male receptionist acted as if he didn't care, was discourteous and unprofessional,refused to give a printed receipt of transaction. Small room with window that did not lock or shut securely and electrical cord from AC unit hung down over the corner of front door creating a hazard. Found hair from someone else on top of the bed sheets and bathroom toilet did not flush properly... breakfast was mediocre at best. Asked the young attendant to remove rotten oranges away from other food because they were a disgusting sight. Low flying planes were noisy but tolerable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    7.9
    The morning receptionist was very helpful and accomodating, patient, and all with a smile. Kudos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise of the airplanes. And definitely parking, something needs to be done about parking.

    Room 221 was small but nice and clean. Like the comfortable bed and pillows.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    6.7
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room. Initially worried about location. But it was fine. Car parking an issue as there are lots of restrictions.

    Very friendly staff. Good breakfast offered. Good amenities in room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    9.2
    Excellent Value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is extremely small and I did not like that the bathroom sink is outside the bathroom with the microwave nearby. The mounted mirror to that sink was also very high.

    Street parking is convenient if you get there early. The breakfast was a plus. This place had all of the accommodations, including a refrigerator.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    6.7
    Overall a good value for the price you pay, but terrible location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is terrible. It's right next to the airport and an airplane flies RIGHT over your head every few minutes. Also the parking options are terrible. When we got there we didn't know where to park and the man at the front desk was extremely unhelpful and just said "you have to figure that out on your own". You can park on the street over night, but only until 8am or you can pay an obscene amount to park in a tiny cramped parking lot across the street and when that's full, you just have to search for a spot somewhere and walk quite awhile.

    The hot breakfast was amazing! Our air conditioning wasn't really working, which should be under what I didn't like, but the lady who was up front at that time did what she could to make us more comfortable and gave us a fan from her own office so I appreciated that.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: