Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ramada by Wyndham Gaslamp Convention Center 3 stars

830 6th Avenue, Downtown San Diego, San Diego, CA 92101, USA

#178 of 226 hotels in San Diego

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 973 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one thing we didn’t like was the elevator. It took a while for it to come down and it has two doors that are a challenge to keep open with luggage.

    The staff was awesome. When I booked hotel through booking it said continental breakfast was included. They don’t have continental breakfast but they did give us a food voucher for the restaurant connected to them. The room was adequate. It is definitely an older hotel but for one night, can’t really complain. It is above a comedy club and other bars so it was a bit noisy. If noise will bother you stay somewhere else or asked to be in a room away from the street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very dated and worn out, including room furnishings and elevator. The front desk does warn you, but the noise from nearby clubs and bars is very loud. They provide ear plugs, but I still used a white noise app. It’s a good price, but don’t think I would return.

    Great location, very polite staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator works harrdly ever or takes forever.

    Location is great. The place has limited amenities like the elevator that work half the time. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only parking available was valet and charged for it, which should of been complimentary to the stay. The elevators did not work properly and had to climb 7 flights of stairs to my room

    I liked the convenient location to many restaurants and shops. The bed/pillows were very comfortable and the hotel restaurant, Brian's had amazing food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room did not feel clean. There was dust on the tables, windows and doors. There was hair in the shower from a previous customer, a stain in the bathtub and the tile was dirty. The TV remote didn't work and when asked for it to be fixed it wasn't. The old fashioned elevator may appear charming, but was very challenging to use (it was hard to open and close, particularly with bags and the outside door was heavy). The carpet had a strong odor in the elevator that was nauseating. In understanding the age of the building and property add to the charm and history, upgrades would be recommended.

    The front desk staff was very friendly, it is in a great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is awesome, centrally located and super easy to get to places. Also the staff are very friendly and helpful Bryan's cafe is just too good for all time eats !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I requested information prior to our arrival and did not receive an answer. Upon check in the booking was in the name of one of our party when I was the one who had made the booking. Took some time to find the booking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dirty sheets, small bed, clunky and tight elevator, weak aircon. Rooms were different in the pictures.

    Location was where the nightlife is, everything you needed was walking distance. It was a charming old-school hotel. Great cafe to have breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights just went on and off even if you didn’t do anything in the room. Didn’t get much sleep. Have informed the front desk. Hope that they can do something about this.

    The coffee/tea/coco machine in the lobby is top.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room layout was bizarre and the elevator while classic was infuriating. The window air conditioning units are terrible.

    The location is awesome and the hotel itself quirky and nifty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The biggest issue is that there is no parking! You need to either park in the street or use the valet service of the hotel which is pretty expensive ($35/day). The elevators are slow and not very reassuring but they are historic and match the hotel style.

    The room was small but clean and the bed was comfortable. The hotel style "belle époque" is very cute. The rooftop is very spacious and has an amazing view over downtown and you can bring your own food and drinks. The location of the hotel is the perfect since it is situated downtown (just a few minute walk from all the restaurants, bar, baseball stadium, the marina...etc.).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Although the booking said that breakfast is included, I was given a voucher for $7.99 which covered only one light item, not even tea/coffee/bread and I was expected to pay for the rest. The entire breakfast should have been included 2. It has old furniture etc.

    Staff very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a very old building, close to noisy nightclubs. Expect to hear revelry, sirens, and early morning construction. Did not have a free airport shuttle as mentioned on booking.com (or free parking)

    Great location for walking around the Gas lamp district.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small, but since we don't hang out in the room, it was fine. It is a 3 star hotel, so we didn't expect much. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The staff was very competent and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is only valet parking available for $30, the closest nearby lot charged $12 for 9-10 hours parking (and you couldn't move your car!), street parking wasn't available at all. Other than that massive inconvenience, the property itself was lovely. I liked the antique elevator, the stained glass windows, the tiling in the bathroom in the room. Walls were thin, sure, but it was an old building located downtown and they provided free earplugs. Overall a nice stay for a bit of a hectic business trip- best value for price in the area for sure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady at the reception called Aura together with two other guys stole my credit card. There is a trick they do to hide the credit card of clients. Be careful!!! All services in this hotel are awful!

    The only positive thing that the hotel is in the center of the city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the AC in the room could of been better but we used the ceiling fan to keep cool.

    It was in downtown and near everything. I loved how old the building was. Also I shouldn’t of listened to one of the comments about the valet pricing. The lot next door charges the same price, should of just done valet for $30. Friendly staff. Great food in Brian’s 24

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was terribly slow... but i knew that would be the case. Room is a little small.

    Excellent location and great staff. Didn’t have any issues with noise. Room was clean and bed comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are fairly tired. Level of cleanliness ok but not great. No refrigerator. There is a lot of noise here, they warn you about the area which is to be expected in the city centre but the main issue was my room on Level 6 overlooked the rooftops which were full of noisy aircon units. Also, the inconsiderate guests in the neighbouring room on my last night were worse and having a party in their room which kept me awake till 4am, bad luck I guess. There is no restaurant or breakfast provided but the diner next door is ok. The staff did not come across as very professional or helpful. If you are booking because you see name Ramada like I did you may be underwhelmed. If you think budget city centre hotel you will feel better about your stay!

    The hotel is in a great location at the heart of the Gaslamp area. Easy walk to trollies buses or waterfront. Short ride from airport. The hotel is old with character and impressive lobby and classic original elevators. Room was on the small side but cosy. Great bars and restaurants in very close proximity. It is great staying in this Gaslamp neighbourhood. Other bonus was the hotel have free bikes for guest use which was great. I got over to Coronado and would recommend this if you like a bike ride.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I'm happy with the property- no issues!

    I really liked the historic building, the great location, and I found very good restaurants in the area. Very friendly and helpful staff is a big plus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I believe there was bugs in the room. My guests and I, woke up the next day filled with bites all over our bodies.

    The location and neighborhood was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is extremely small. Good for traveling alone but not good for a couple or more. I was very shocked at the size of the room and extremely disappointed since the pictures don’t advertise how small the rooms are

    It’s right downtown and everything is in walking distance

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The valet service was slow but we tried to keep in mind that construction was going on in the city.

    The location was excellent. The views from the rooftop were amazing, during the day, during sunset and in the evening.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on the 7th floor was amazingly noisy because of a nearby ventilation system. Noise level comparable to a plane. 'included breakfast' is really a USD 8 voucher, you'll have to pay more to get even a basic continental

    Location very central, lots of animation around Nice view from the rooftop

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lamp in room was broken; one very slow elevator worked (one out of order). Small rooms with narrow hallways--quaint, but not entirely comfortable, and not worth the price, despite being located in a nice part of a very popular city. Staff was very pleasant and eager to please.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've stayed here more than once. unfortunately the last two times we have had issues. the time before last someone walked in on my wife as she was in the shower. only to find out it was the owner of the hotel. then when i booked a night and was not able to stay. all i asked was for a manager to talk to me and see if i could get a credit and no one got back to me. i find this very unprofessional and bad business. especially after what happened with my wife the time before. I gave them a second chance and they failed.

    food was good and good prepositions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator situation is...interesting. Only one elevator was working and it can hold 4 people at a time (or two people with luggage.) the building is old so there are a lot of strange noises.

    The hotel is in a great location and the staff are warm and welcoming. The bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the old style of this hotel. Windows that opened all the way, service style elevator very retro style. It's not just the style, it's really old! Not a luxury hotel by any means, but comfortable beds and great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is little small, with very little light.

    Location of the hotel is nice. Was there by St-Patrick and the street being blocked by the festival we have been given free pass to get in it. Which we liked!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was small and I was placed by a noisy air conditioner of an adjacent building. Staff wouldn't move me until half my stay was over. I complained the after the first night and wasn't moved until my third night.

    The staff very nice overall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was not included in the cost, but I didn't know until arrival. I could have self parked for less than the valet parking.

    Staff was really friendly, hotel was very old and charming..elevator has a metal gate! Location was outstanding.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is very old and a lot of the property seemed to be in the original condition. Nothing was delapadated or ugly. The elevator was my favorite There does need to be more historical value put on the bar in Brian’s. Especially for movie buffs!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is quite old and the rooms don't look very appealing at first sight. However, the bed and the bathroom were good. So, in the end, I did enjoy my stay there.

    The bed was comfortable, the wifi was good and the neighbourhood was sufficiently quiet at night to allow sleeping. There is a good breakfast restaurant next door.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head was spoilt.

    The front desk was exceptionally friendly. Special thanks to Aura. The hotel had a Bohemian feel to it. The location was superb. Situated right in the heart of Gaslamp, San Diego's entertainment district. Surrounded by multi-ethnic restaurants, bars, clubs. Was it noisy? What noise? I wasn't in the slightest disturbed by noise. My room was quiet and cosy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heavy sound might come from air conditioner. It is uncontrollable.

    Give $7.99 voucher x2 per day which are useful at the restaurant on the ground level

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly and attentive. The hotel had a vintage feel. The elevator, although small, was a really interesting piece of history. The connecting restaurant was open 24 hours and had a wide variety of food options. Roof top was very relaxing and you could survey all of Gas Lamp from it. It was very conveniently located as well. We had a very pleasant experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location has ups (downtown) and downs (noise). Rustic chic (in particular elevators) are both bug (sometimes difficult to make them work) and feature (unique).

    Staff was great and very helpful. Free airport shuttle was convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy heater/cooler in room. Mattress was old. Lots of streetnoice but the hotel left a note in the room to warn me

    Nice room, good bed, very clean. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I had a bit of trouble with the wifi at first but staff were very helpful in resolving this. Air circulation in room could have been better but aircon / fan helped with this. Building is a bit old but that is part of the charm here.

    Bed was extremely comfy and the double rooms extraordinarily spacious -- essentially two rooms in one, connected by a door. Spectacular value. Old-fashioned historic building and super-friendly staff. If you like hotels with character and charm, this is the place for you. Not a luxury hotel, but very comfortable and friendly, and excellent value as well. The 24-hour diner connected to the hotel was also very good value and extremely convenient. We regularly split meals here and easily had enough food for two people in one meal. The old original elevator was also a treat -- and we were very amused by the plaque on the wall, which said that when the elevator was originally built people came from miles around to "marvel at its swiftness". We certainly had lots of time to marvel at its swiftness while going up to the room! A charming hotel with lots of character.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated furnishings and drab throughout. Shower was tiny and plumbing was poor, leaving standing water in shower and sink. Could be cleaner.

    Staff was friendly, location convenient, bed comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Goodness me, this hotel is a mess. Let me start with the good - all the staff are exceptionally nice and helpful. The property is smelly and run down and lacks upkeep. It's exceptionally loud as they need new windows. First I was assigned to a windowless room (technically, it had a small window that overlooked a tiny interior courtyard, with a couple empty park benches, which was creepy af). So I was moved to a room with a window, which was better, but the window was FILTHY and had tagging etched into it. The bathtub, regardless if it had been used by me, gurgled up water for 2-3 minutes at a time intermittently. The paint was chipping off the walls, the carpet was filthy. It is by far the creepiest, dirtiest, and noisiest hotel I've ever stayed at. It's astounding that it was nearly $200/night. Like I will never stay at a Ramada again because I cannot believe that a prominent corporation would allow a property to look like this.

    The staff were really nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable beds and soft pillows. Also, room was very clean with all the necessary accessories. Great value and in a very convenient area. Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was not properly clean. Blinders and Windows were so dirty that you couldn´t see through them.

    The location is good but the price is too high for the quality of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for microwave I lost my memory card in my room What happened to this hotel? Booking.com said breakfast included, but no breakfast. Please don't go there

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise in alleyat 9:00PM. Call to desk, clerk checked, crew saidthey would be done at10:00 PM. Should have asked/demanded another room. How rude! Also no direct to facility phone number so we could ask questions about parking. No number anywhere in or out of Booking.comw

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While I like the old elevators, they are very difficult to navigate with luggage. The room sounded like it was in the middle of a wind tunnel, even with the window AC turned OFF. This wind tunnel sound is what I dislike the most, the rest I could live with. Yet I paid for basic and got basic.

    I loved the location and the staff were all great! In this regard it was just what I needed for this mini-vaca.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With our accommodations???? Not a thing.

    My wife and I had booked this trip on short notice. On line check in indicated that our room was the last available for this time frame. It was a queen size bed with disability accommodations. Not that we need special accommodations thats just what was left. So we booked it and arrived on 02/02/2018 for check in. The receptionist behind the desk checked us in and asked the purpose of our visit. My wife explained that this was our first vacation in 3 years due to preparing and having a kidney transplant. I was the recipient and she was the donor. As my wife was completing the check in I went to retrieve our luggage from the car. As we were walking past the desk the receptionist stated she had given us the wrong key. She had upgraded us to the Presidential Suite. You can imagine our surprise when we opened our door. Great Job.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shuttle service to airport, misleading ad for it. Elevator too small and awful to use. No assistance from staff with elevator or luggage.

    Not much

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hot water and the music in the lobby is very loud and annoying.

    Rate is excellent and the rooms are good, beds and pillows comfy. Great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was No refrigerator!!!? I have never been to hotel that doesn’t have a refrigerator. Also the faucet and bathtub constantly had running water no way to turn it off.

    Staff was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Antiquated and incredibly slow elevators. Heat register in the room was constantly making a low noise that took time to get used to.

    Good value for the money. No frills. Kind and helpful staff. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Tech support was very good--I had a problem with the WiFi that was quickly resolved.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately we got a leak in the bathroom the first night but was fix right away. The next day we left at 11am and came back at 11pm, we didn't put the do not disturb sign so the room could of be done... We came back, nothing was done, the bed was as the same state as when we woke up , the bathroom not done. The next day they did the minimum, make the bed clean the bathroom, the carpet wasn't vacuum and the dust wasn't done/ We took pictures of it as we wrote words with dust on the bed furniture and painting. This is a vintage hotel, which is great, the elevator is awesome, staff super friendly but big no no for housekeeping and breakfast. We took the breakfast including which wthey will give ou a $7.99 voucher for the restaurant that as a continental for $11.99... not really breakfast included west of money on that part.

    I came for Christmas with my parents. We shared a room. The bedroom are well set up as both beds are at opposite sides, a bathroom separate them. Location is the best as you can walk around and have great restaurant (loved the russian at the corner of the other block) If you are looking for the best location, friendly staff and are ok with not really good housekeeping nor include breakfast you can go eyes closed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom The lift The size

    The Hotel is old and cramped. The ironing board is under the bed, the iron is in the toilet and the vanity basin is in the bedroom. The left is slow and the room is very very small.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    California or San Diego must not have a noise ordinance law because across the street they started their construction job at 6 am. I cannot and willnot fault the hotel but it did cause me to get less rest than I was hoping to get.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shuttle was not available on arrival at the airport but it was easy to take the public bus instead. After that everything was absolutely fine and the hotel paid for a taxi to take us back to the airport at end of stay.

    We had a good sized comfortable room and the location of the hotel was very convenient for Downtown, Gaslamp Quarter, Broadway Ferry and city buses. Staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking price could have been specified, we did not know that we would be charged $30/day for it. Also, the room and facilities were very outdated. The pictures on the website must have been from a different property.

    Hotel staff was very nice and accommodating. Check-in process was very smooth and easy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel breakfast area was absolutely slammed in the morning, and there didn’t seem to be any considerations made for guests of the hotel vs people just eating at the restaurant. Giving hotel guests a separate line or some sort of preference would’ve been nice.

    The rooms were very clean and the staff was able to accommodate our large group with two rooms right next to each other. We received complementary breakfast vouchers for everyone in both our rooms! The hotel bar was awesome, and the hotel location is in a great location for getting around downtown easily. We loved it!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was $30 a night which was 25% of the total for the entire room!!

    A great location, close to Gaslamp and the trolley stop. Great bar and restaurant next door, open 24 hours!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    30" walk in shower in our room. Very hard to shower in. Should of looked at the shower before accepting the room. My fault. Needs night stands on both sides of the bed.

    The hotel staff was awesome. Rooms are what you pay for. Great location though. I'd stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is my first time writing down a comment on booking. This hotel is very old. The building estimated in 1913. The equipments in the room are very old fashion. Also, I would like to say that the sound-proofing is the worst. I can hear the noise from outside all the night and very clear sex sound from next door. By the way, this hotel won’t offer you a free parking, and they will charge you $30 for valet. I have been San Diego for so many times, and I wouldn’t book this hotel anymore.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More coffee and creamer options for the rooms

    I liked the rustic features of the hotel, the staff were all very accommodating and it is close to a lot of things in San Diego

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked this hotel because the listing said it provided a free airport shuttle. When arriving at San Diego airport we called the hotel to let them know we'd arrived, only to be told we would have to pay for a $15.00 taxi ride to the hotel because 'the shuttle was broken'. They would pay for the taxi back to the airport, but we had to pay for the additional cost of getting to the hotel. We also booked because breakfast was included - which wasn't actually the case. We were given a voucher for $7.99 off each meal at the restaurant attached to the hotel. Nothing on the menu was $7.99. The restaurant was fabulous, but again, we had to pay extra for the so-called 'included breakfast'. The noise of the wind through the airconditioning vents drowned out any party sounds from the street below, but the window in the bathroom wouldn't close properly and let in cold air and sound from the outside.

    Location was great and the bed was comfortable. The restaurant next door had fabulous food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevators are too complicated. But having and old elevator is a part of the charm of the place

    Awesome location. Living in an old building with a modern comfort. And an awesome rooftop.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Staff was very nice. We love that we got two rooms for the price of one! Queen beds in each room with both having TV screens it each room!!. One room had a full bathroom, the other a wash sink. Living with a husband who wants to wake up in the middle of the night to watch sports or what-ever, while me-the-wife is trying to get very needed beauty undisturbed-sleep in the next room was a blessing!! Most people would have a problem with the very old elevators, ( hubby at first bitch about them) but we used the stairs (9th floor ) and got our needed exercise - In the Gas lamp district, there is so much opportunity to pig out! So many restaurants not enough time. We only used the elevators when checking in and out with our luggage. This hotel should upgrade the elevators. This is a lovely, naturalistic hotel but they are losing customers with these old and hazard elevators.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I didn’t like is that there was no bathtub. I like to soak in a hot bath. However the shower was great and I always had hot water.

    I liked the 24 hour restaurant, convenient to walk to shopping, attractions, restaurants or just to see the scenery. Rooftop has great views.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was good. Room small and no fridge. Strangest thing was bathroom had no sink in it so you had to exit the bathroom and go into the bedroom to wash your hands. This didn’t seem right. Lift was a death trap. Those lifts are banned in the UK

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cold, no heater. The elevator is so old, that it is almost scary. The promised rooftop is just a rooftop, no facilities there, some chairs and that's it. I hoped for at least a bar or a restaurant there. In addition, it's rather tricky to find. But! The main disadvantage is the noise!!! They will provide you with earplugs for free, but they don't help.

    I like their restaurant is open 24 hours. That's it. Free breakfast, yes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first day they didn't clean my room. I told them about it and made my own bed. But six days later the same thing happened. This time I complained and they cleaned it. One time could have been an oversight but twice is incompetence. I hope they get themselves organized. It was the only bad point of my stay.

    I liked everything. It's a great hotel...except the housekeeping service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking and parking was expensive

    I read some bad reviews and we were pleasantly surprised with the hotel. It is a historical building and some things were old like the elevator. We consider it a plus with character. We were attending a holiday party at Omnia and the location was great - only 4 blocks away. We loved the 360 degree view of San Diego from the rooftop. The hotel was considerate and gave us ear plugs since it is in the busy part of downtown with busy nightclubs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms were very small, and the hotel itself hasn't been upgraded in a long time. It is located in the "Gas Lamp" district. It's very lively (and noisy) on weekend nights. The neighborhood is marred by the high number of homeless.

    In 1912, the elevators in this hotel were the "fastest in the world," and attracted visitors from all over southern California. There is a very nice 360 degree view from the roof. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Discount coupon for restaurant not usable for room service. Room went unattended by house cleaning for 3 days!

    Desk staff were very pleasant and accommodating. Location is great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel offers a five people room where only 4 people would fit. I call the hotel before arriving to San Diego asking about the room's layout and they told me they could add an additional bed. The surprise was when I arrived to the hotel they wanted to charged me 10$ a day for a bed so the five people of the reservation could have a place to sleep. I had to call booking and they made the hotel not to charge us for that bed. The additional bed was terrible, we have to move a table in order to fit it on the room since housekeeping just left it in the room. I've asked Booking to remove this offer from the web but they didn't want to, they just gave me a compensation, so that's why I'm writing this review, to warn you about this place since it looks like booking doesn't really care about this. After some days, the hotel tried to charged us with the bottle of water from the room that we didn't take it, so check your card records to avoid surprises. If you want to enjoy some days in San Diego, avoid this place.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would not recommend this hotel for the room cleanliness. When we entered the room it was tidy but certainly not clean. I'm usually not picky but I didn't appreciate finding someone else hairs under my pillow, in the shower or sticky and dirty glasses wrapped like they were clean. Also, we didn't try rooms on the street side but even with traffic, they are probably quieter than the one we had facing the courtyard. Impossible to sleep because of the noise coming from all other rooms AC. The staff gives you a warning though by putting ears plug on your pillow...Maybe we were not lucky but on top of everything, no remote control for the TV...

    Good location, easy to access and pretty friendly staff but that's it!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from outside. Valet parking only, so park elsewhere (plenty within 2 blocks).

    Unusual hotel, period features very nice, clean and comfortable. Excellent location for exploring all parts of central San Diego, walking distance to everything except beaches .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a budget hotel, Make no mistake. If that’s ok then you’ll know what to expect. It feels old and antiquated. The elevator is a little bit frightening so I walked downstairs. The area is extremely lovely/noisy all hours. There is a construction site opposite which starts at 7am. Not he hotels fault but there were a lot of homeless people nearby, I’m ok with that and, very sadly, it’s present in most cities but they tend to congregate in certain areas and this is one. Can make some people feel uncomfortable. The benefit of the ‘cheap’ room rate was quickly offset by the cost of the parking,

    The rooftop is great, you can take your own drinks up there and enjoy 360 degree panorama, especially sunset. The rooms are very clean

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: