Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Romana Hotel - Houston Southwest 2 stars

6885 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77074, USA

#377 of 389 hotels in Houston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 78 hotel reviews

4.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    4.1

  • Comfort

    4.4

  • Location

    5.1

  • Facilities

    3.9

  • Staff

    4.8

  • Value for money

    4.2

  • Free WiFi

    4.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.2
    Room size is good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Breakfast which the promised. Over all the property was not maintained. Rooms were not bad but could have been kept better. WiFi is very bad too

    Room size is good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    2.5
    Horrible!!!!!!
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely the most horrible stay I have ever had at any hotel or motel!! The staff was rude and mean and they act like they’re really upset that you’re there! Had to argue just to get clean towels and saw two bed bugs crawling on the bed under the covers when I woke up. It looks dark and gloomy like the beginning of a horror movie and it seemed like we were the only people staying in the hotel. It’s cheap but honestly I would pay a little more to not ever have to experience that again. Most definitely two thimbs down!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    3.8
    Lousy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The clerk she was rude

    The clerk was rude stale bread and sour milk for the breakfast and lady said we could only eat one piece of toast and that was it or a cereal with sour milk

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    2.9
    The stay was horrible...I would not recommend this hotel to anyone! NOT even for 1 night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't clean,mold in the room no lights in the hallway.someone was trying to get in our room while we were sleeping no refrigerator or microwave in the rooms..and it was hot in the room

    The comfort of the bed that's it

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    2.9
    Nothing!
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was not secured! Car park next mine someone was stolen 4 wheels! The room was not clean! House keeping did not change the towels ! They give me the room with not clean! I found some used condom in trash can! Whole hotel with no ice maker merchine ! I never been the suck hotel like that! Never ! Never be back. Again even FREE ! I hate that

    Nothing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.0
    I left the very next day. I wanted to cancel the other 4 nights but she didn't want to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager was so rude and disrespectful. False advertising about the hotel. I felt robbed by her. I have evidence of photos times I took the photos. All the rooms were dirty, ugly and had a not pleasant smell. I had to call my credit card to dispute the 4 nights because she didn't want to cancel my reservation when I had the right.

    Nothing from this hotel!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.4
    Could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not comfortable and the lights in the hallway that lead to my room were out (about 3-4 of them) so I could not see my door. We were up on the 7th floor so minimal noise but because it is off the highway you can definitely hear the vehicles driving by. The neighborhood around the hotel is a bit sketchy as well. The staff was okay, but not the customer service I expected. I did not stay for the breakfast, but I don't really think this hotel was worth the price I paid. I would give it 2 out 5 stars.

    Stayed in the King Suite and it had a separate counter for me to do my hair and make up away from the bathroom and a full length mirror.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    2.5
    I won't be back .. horrible
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking lot was a mess, the hotel smelled like weed, the comforter had cigarette burns and stains on them, the hallway smelled awful like wet towels , the front desk man was rude , I tried to get a refund he told me I couldn't overall poor quality poor customer service I won't be staying there ever

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.8
    one elevator works, only one plug in room to use, no ice at location, hallways to room dark and tv h
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    one elevator works, only one plug in room to use, no ice at location, hallways to room dark and tv has maybe 7 stations and seem to play same-thing over each night.

    Lobby

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    4.2
    Worst stay ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty, smelled like cigarettes, thecroom was filthy, the sheets were dated, thecroom was dated. I was 3 minutes late after thec10 minute cut off and could not get a refund. I just wasted $104.27

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    3.8
    Be cautious!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my first time in Houston. First up Roaches! Made me sick to my stomach I killed at least 4. I tried my best not to be in my room for the most part. The hot water at least in my room was not hot at all barely lukewarm I attempted to switch rooms and the guy told me it isn't hot hot but it's warm enough I thought that was very unprofessional. He directed me to the manager in the morning told me he was busy and couldn't move me which was a lie no one was really at this hotel and I understand why. I never caught up with her to switch like I said I tried not to be in the room so I missed her. Their is no microwave in the room it's enough room for one so not sure why it doesn't have one but you have to go to the lobby. I was told because it rained the pool was closed and not clean. None of the ice machines work so again you have to go to the lobby!

    The only two good things about this hotel was the private balcony, and the size of the room. Oh and I will say the early check in was accomdating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and many things

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    3.8
    pour
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    must have new towels and new carpet, furniture.

    need remodeling anything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    2.5
    Never coming back
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty and it had roches everywhere and it smell nasty

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.0
    Stay was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rugs are old

    Egg ok , bed ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    3.3
    Won't stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty sheets, leaking toilet, dirty bathtub

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    4.6
    This place is horrible.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    This place is horrible.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    2.5
    I need to reschedule didn't make it in town in time just...
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I need to reschedule didn't make it in town in time just arrived

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    2.9
    The tv was pretty loud
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bug problem

    The tv was pretty loud

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    2.5
    Nothing the hotel was horrible
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing the hotel was horrible

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    3.3
    Not that good
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was to dirty

    Just the balcony an the bed but the rest was to dirty

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony door can't shut well, street noise comes in

    Huge bed, very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.4
    Okay for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have no refrigerator or microwave.., had a sock on the floor when we first arrived.

    Close to clubs

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    2.5
    Very bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    toilet water come out. And big hole on the wall

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    4.2
    The location, structure and parking space are all good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is poorly maintained and poorly cleaned. It needs serious upgrade.

    The location, structure and parking space are all good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.4
    Decent at best
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and used

    Height

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.4
    Nothing break fast was not good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nothing break fast was not good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    2.9
    Dirty and disgusting
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Idont like to dirty smells bad all the hotel was dirty alot

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    2.9
    I had roaches in my room and the front desk person was...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had roaches in my room and the front desk person was horrible.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.0
    The bed was constable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the rooms

    The bed was constable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough bathroom towels or toilet paper just half full and not another one in the room

    Quite

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    2.5
    Very very very very BAD!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really cheap hotel! Scary like in the IT movie!!! I will won't be going back there!! I would sleep in a dumpster before I go back there!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    2.5
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.4
    Not worth the price I paid
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty sheets, no microwave, no refrigerator

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.3
    Price and location
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted ground floor but didn't get it

    Price and location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.5
    Excellent
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok

    Excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    5.4
    It was just a place to lay my head for the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed a little old like something out of the 1980's

    It was just ok for a one night stay

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    5.8
    All in all it was okay for the price I guess you get what you pay for right
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dike Would not open had to ask the front desk guy for help 4 times!!!

    The beds were comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    2.5
    Dissatisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room with nasty

    The room had a balcony

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    5.4
    For the condition the room was and I don't think it was worth the pay and on top of that and then ro
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell and and there were roaches.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    4.5
    The iron and the bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff. He was very unfriendly hardly spoke English and rude! No continental breakfast as advertised. Hallways smelled musty as did the room. Renovation crap all over. No cable tv, and when asked the gentleman says no no we get new we switching. Really? I paid 90 dollars for a shower with no soap. No cable, no continental breakfast, unfriendly service musty smelling nasty room, and the list goes on! Will we go back? Never!!!

    The iron and the bed was comfortable. The shower head, & water presure.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    everything about this hotel was a disaster , from day one till last day I checked out . Never seen room like this in my life where the microvan and all other things not working properly . Lights and heater , and all other things were completely in a very bad condition . I had very bad experience by staying in this place . when I booked in they say breakfast included but there was no such a thing , no room service , no room keeping , no cleaning .

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    7.5
    I love this place since you have a balcony and great view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    When I needed ice, I had to go to the front desk and ask for such despite what appeared to be fairly-new ice machines on several of the floors. He returned with a numbered count. I think there were about 20 pieces, not the usual full container like most people would get. When I protested, he said there was enough there for me. I love how "others" define my preferences for me. Weird Staff!

    I love this place since you have a balcony and great view of the interstate.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    5.8
    I like the balcony with the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was not comfortable, the fridge and microwave and to be plugged up in the bathroom and there were still repairs going on and so there was no continental breakfast. They didn't even tell me about it when I checked in either. So we had to get up the next morning and go find us some breakfast!

    I like the balcony with the room. I was on the 6th floor and the view was great!

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff could barely speak English and the check-out process was a disaster. There was way too construction going on and some of the tv channels did not work

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    3.8
    The first room the bed was on its side against the wall.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Front desk customer service unacceptable.

    The first room the bed was on its side against the wall. The second room no shower curtain, dirty rag on sink, dirty carpet. Front desk guy told me to wait to shower tomorrow after the maids come and pillows they did not supply any extra per front desk guy . He said I should go buy some at Walmart.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    5.0
    The price was good for the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was under construction and it looked like it was slow going. Not a bad place for the night but not a great one either. And the night clerk didn't want to give me an extra towel.

    The price was good for the area.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    2.9
    There was nothing to like about this place.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel smelled, the room and bathroom weren't clean, barely had any towels, walked into the room and the curtains were hanging off the window. My husband had to fix the rod. Elevator didn't work part of the time and there was construction debris everywhere. They even served spoiled milk for breakfast.

    There was nothing to like about this place.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    2.5
    Terrible customers service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The customer service was terrible. From the minute I walked into the hole, I started looking for another place but it was quite late. I had booked 3 nights but had to check out first thing the next morning paying a cancelation fee. The Internet service was as bad as the customer service. Please run... It's not an option among no options..

    Terrible customers service!!!

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    4.2
    Location close to...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Staffs are irresponsible,not humble. Don't check and refill breakfast menus until we go and ask them.

    Location close to Indian/pakistaniab/mediternian/0persian halal foods

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    2.5
    There was nothing about this hotel that I liked.
    • Family with older children

    I didn't like anything about this hotel. From the location, to the smell, to the disgusting floor, to the cheap pictures on the wall.

    There was nothing about this hotel that I liked.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dirty Elevators and common areas. Ice machines did not work. They seems to intentionally not replace toilet paper, facial paper, shampoos and towels when out. Front desk - Michelle OK but others untrained. Front sliding doors off track, painters were full of garbage. Breakfast was not at the hours advertised and absolutely the worst - stale food, no knives and spoons, etc. etc.. WIFI slow. SEEMED LIKE THEY WERE OPEN ONLY TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THE TRAVELERS (INTERNATIONAL) FOR THE OTC - THEN PERHAPS THEY WILL CLOSE.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    2.5
    Horrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The front desk man was the worst and didnt care about nothing... I looked at 4 rooms and were all dirty and nasty....

    Horrible.... Dirty room, bed, tub, sheets just horrible .... terrible.... Hate it...

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    3.8
    The hotel was very run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel was very run down. Knew when pulling into parking lot it was not a place I wanted to stay with my teenager daughters. Hotel was very empty. Lights in hallways flickered. Was scared of what was in room that I couldn't see. We pulled comforter off bed because we could see stuff on it and new it was not clean. We only had 1 flat sheets to cover with, when asked for more blankets were told no. Also asked for few more towels and was told no. Man at night could barely speak English and would only tell us NO. We asked repeatedly. There was no breakfast like it stated on booking.com. Which was ok because we would not have eaten it. For the price I could have paid about $20 more and gotten a much nicer place.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    2.5
    The moment we drove away was the highlight of our stay.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    This hotel is dirty, poorly kept, and falsely advertises a free breakfast (there was only coffee), and the daytime staff was rude. I honestly didn't feel very safe in their establishment. If we weren't desperate for a place to stay while we visited the Texas Children's Hospital we would have left.

    The moment we drove away was the highlight of our stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    5.4
    staff hospitality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    cockroaches around in the room

    staff hospitality

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    2.9
    Not clean hotel and very old fernutres
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Not clean hotel and very old fernutres

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Nice, clean, quiet, great place for business, to change...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No food available, did not see a restaurant location.

    Nice, clean, quiet, great place for business, to change clothes and exit to the airport.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    7.5
    the rooms were spacious
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the rug could need some changing

    the rooms were spacious

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    6.3
    Room confort.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Customers service

    Room confort.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    4.6
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    2.5
    This property is not what was advertised on the internet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    This property is not what was advertised on the internet. If hotels in the area were not already booked up I would have turned around and left.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    3.3
    Only the bed was comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Where to start?.. Dirty and old otel, very low signal wifi, breakfast is weird.. And much more..

    Only the bed was comfortable.

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: