Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ramada Plaza by Wyndham Nags Head Oceanfront 3 stars

1701 South Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948, USA

#7 of 16 hotels in Kill Devil Hills

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 954 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    The property was in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property only had one medium pool which was located inside. The room was always extremely hot and had a very strong smell of chlorine. It made it very u comfortable to swim.

    The property was in a great location. You were within walking distance of restaurants and surf shops. We had a great time here and would stay at this location again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable - after getting the issues I encountered with the room taken care of.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That I encountered several major issues with the room immediately, which had to be addressed and ultimately delayed things in my schedule because I could not leave the room until these issues were taken care of; I feel that customers should not have to come into a room and find issues with the air conditioner, refrigerator, and desk lamp or any others that must be resolved before they can actually get settled in the room.

    Great location. Several issues when I entered the room, called the front desk, maintenance came within a few minutes; maintenance guy was friendly; after observing the issue w/the air conditioner, he left the room & came back w/another guy, who was also friendly; they had to replace the air conditioner unit; had to replace the refrigerator; had to replace the desk lamp as there was no mechanism to turn lamp on & off; all issues were resolved immediately, but took some time to make the changes, which delayed some things I needed to do; but was happy overall after these issues were resolved.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers were week. Floors in the room were all tile. Looked beautiful but you could never get them sand free.

    Perfect location, beautiful beach. Had a bar and restaurant for quick bites overlooking the water. Convenient location to restaurants. Definately go to the kill devil grill!!! Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Could have a better way to get to beach.

    good restaurant. The beds were very comfortable. Balcony gave great view of beach. Over all, a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Great long weekend girls trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If we had one negative thing to say it was that the bathroom ventilation could use a little work. It had a musky smell all the time and everything felt damp. Otherwise great room and hotel.

    Location is perfect and view from our third floor oceanfront room was great, especially for sunrise! Staff was friendly. The sitting area on the deck facing the ocean was nice in the evening. Beds were comfortable and AC worked great! Our room had a mini fridge which was a nice bonus so we could keep drinks cold for the day! I've stayed here several times before and would definitely come back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.8
    would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was greatly understaffed. We were suppose to check in at 4, couldn't check in until 8:00pm because housekeeping didn't show up. Bar tender didn't show up so the cook was serving as the bartender and didn't know how to mix drinks

    Hotel was greatly understaffed. We were suppose to check in at 4, couldn't check in until 8:00pm because housekeeping didn't show up. Bar tender didn't show up so the cook was serving

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointed in the hotel, stayed there before and didn't have problems like this.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were toenails and piles of dirt on the floor when we checked in. Roach at the door. There was no toilet paper in the bathroom. The TV did not work. There was coffee, but the employees would gather in front of it and they would not step aside for the customers. The pool opened at 7, but was not "ready" until 9:30.

    Room temperature was good, a/c worked well. Close to restaurants and activities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    2.5
    Worst property I have stayed in, with a terrible staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See above. Terrible property. AND, its on the ocean and there is NOWHERE on the property to see the beach unless you go out onto the outside deck. No views from the lobby etc. of beach. Nice view from restaurant but the one beer we got was lukewarm.

    Nothing. Front office staff was awful and I can only assume because I booked through booking.com they didn't care about us. They were taking care of walk ins while telling us our room was not ready. Terrible location all the restaurants and such are a $20 uber drive away.. NO bellstaff to help us. Just the worst!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Great central location for the Outer Banks experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being directed to the beach on the elevator via the second floor via the pool... need room key to get in and out... and the pool walkway is very wet

    Finding the ground floor access to the beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Coffee in room was not the greatest but the coffee in the reception area was great. Restaurant was okay but our waitress was not.

    The beach was oh so close and the chair rental was great for the long stays on the beach. Was close to everything. Millers restaurant was just across the street could walk there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    Not pleasant due to noise during night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Motorcycle rally took place while we were there. Noise all night long. Staff moved us and said they’d address the problem as other patrons had complained as well. Issue was not addressed and we didn’t sleep all week. When I emailed to express our concerns it was unanswered. Otherwise a nice hotel although no outdoor pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice place but felt restricred
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that you couldn't smoke on the balcony and that the space for smoking out back was so small. I thought the price was expensive especially when you couldn't do what you wanted on the upper deck. I also spoke to other guests that felt the same way about how smokers are treated. For the price we should have been able to take our drinks & smoke looking at the ocean. The pool was a little dirty as well. The restaurant also always had a foul smell to it.

    I liked the amenities and being right on the beach. I likes that the staff respected my privacy during the day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Was a very nice vacation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can think of is spending that much money for a week [got a great deal though ] well worth the money but they don't give free breakfast in the a.m

    The hotel is in a nice area shops resturants in walking distants the rooms were big and clean and right on the beach!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities could have been cleaner. But over all great service and friendly staff.

    Staff was helpful and friendly. Went out of their way to accommodate my family and myself. Price was reasonable. Always clean towels and from kept nicely. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Great Location! nice pool and hot tub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only negative issue issue we had was the mattress and pillows. Mattress seemed TOO soft and worn out. Pillows were useless, no support at all. We did not bring this concern to their attention. The hotel was filled close to capacity, getting a different room or bed was probably not going to happen. otherwise, we had a nice vacation .

    Clean room, A/C worked properly. Parking was never an issue during our 5 days. pool and hot tub were very nice. beach was an easy few steps away. staff was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was practically sold out. With so many people checking in - at the same time, why could management not come help the one front desk woman? She was fantastic, but the line to check-in was literally out the door!

    There was a biker convention at the hotel. The front desk was overwhelmed when we arrived - there was one woman working. Management let her down in my opinion. she handled everyone with a smile and patience. Our room was not ready yet but she said that rather than our coming back for keys, we should droop our bags off in the room and enjoy our day. Wow. That was really ice of her. Everyone we encountered there was just terrific. Thank you for a lovely stay in Nags Head. Yes, we would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Overall, very relaxing vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t realize when I booked the hotel that there was going to be a biker convention going on at the same time. There were some days and nights that the group was rather rowdy and loud late at night. Coming and going late at night/early morning on the bikes did disrupt our peaceful sleeping/vacation at times.

    Great location! Walk right off the deck onto the beach. Never felt too crowded on the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.7
    Won't be back to this Ramada.VERY understaffed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were understaffed and we had to wait past check in time along with many others..They can't handle cleaning after large groups.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Very good except for the pool problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People that were not staying at the hotel were constantly coming up from the beach using the pool. It is so bad they need to station somebody at the pool gate to check the keys.

    Great staff, always helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    We had a nice get away. We are ok with not so good weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very moist. Even the sheets seemed moist. We paid extra for a beach front room...but we could see the ocean... I asked for an upper floor. We we're on the 3rd...to me that was a lot of money for a view of the dunes in font on our window...

    The people were very nice. Everything seemed clean...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Make sure you book this hotel straight with the hotel and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An ocean view. Otherwise the hotel was very nice and the staff was pretty good. They just did not give us an ocean view when it was obvious that the hotel was not completely booked like they told us.

    Make sure you book this hotel straight with the hotel and make sure you get a room with an ocean view. We ended up with a city view and the hotel would not accommodate our request to get an ocean view even though the hotel was obviously not full.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    3.8
    Not at all what we expected based on the website photos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not at all what we expected based on the website photos. Strong smoke odors. Stains on carpet. Very noisy during early hours. Restaurant didn’t feel well staffed for the Sat of Memorial Day weekend - many open tables that hadn’t been cleared. Mix of dated materials and feel with some improvements. Cost felt very high for quality of facility. The decking and outdoor area are beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.0
    Mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Beds uncomfortable, bath too small, noisy, beach access closed when pool closes at 10! Adjacent access completely unlight-stupid setup. No late night room service-also closes at 10. Bad!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.6
    Not bad but not good either.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was poorly laid out, one bed jammed against wall and other caused stepping on raised edge of metal strip separating different types of flooring. Hated sliding door to bathroom, gave little privacy. Railing on balcony was loose.

    Location was convenient to beach and attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.0
    Not impressed, expected a beautiful room for the price and it was not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a room to relax because we were on our honeymoon and when we checked in our room wasn't ready yet even though it was almost an hour after check in time so they stuck us in a room by the elevators and the storage room for the housekeepers and the vending machines. It was so noisy and we couldn't relax or sleep. The ceiling was leaking right over the toilet and when we called they said nobody was there to fix it until the morning and they didn't have another room available to put us in, whenever the room above us flushed the toilet it would leak worse. We had to be careful when using the bathroom and cover with a towel so toilet water wouldn't drip on us. Housekeeping came early, around 8:30 am, even on our check out day and woke us up. You would think on check out day we had until check out time to be out of the room, we were not ready because we were trying to enjoy the view one last time. The hair dryer was so tiny it took over an hour to dry my hair enough to do anything but it was still damp, they should state that it's small so we can bring our own.

    The view was pretty and it was nice for watching the dolphins.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    The Ramada was great quality for the price paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was amazing! My 3 year old was constantly saying hello to anyone we passed and everyone was so friendly and seemed genuinely happy. The beds were also extremely comfortable. The beach was so close and the pool was well kept.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    The view and the balcony were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The WiFi was horrible. Slow and frequently dropped. Combined with poor cell reception in the building, it could be annoying.

    The view and the balcony were amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    4.5
    Stay was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were very outdated and in turn didn't feel very clean, the bed was hard as a rock. The pool had a band-aid in the bottom of it that stayed there the entire time.

    The staff was very helpful and friendly, and the access to the beach was nice including the nice sun deck and the shower outside to get the sand off of everything!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent staff! Great views, comfortable rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not ready at check in time, had to wait 35 mins. as did many others in line. Housekeeping did not replenish towels on 2nd day, had to take our own off cart. Did not clean our room on 3rd day, although we were out all day. Had to have front desk hunt them down. Housekeeping could move a bit faster. Sodas in machines, hot. Management needs to be available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Exactly what I wanted; should have stayed an extra night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and City View - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first keys didn’t work. Would have been a problem were it not for housekeeping.

    The first keys we got didn’t work but housekeeping let us in the room. I enjoy hot tubs; yours was clean, great temp and great jets. The bed are very comfortable. The veranda outside the room and also the beachfront. decking were very relaxing spaces.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    We have been coimg to th Outter Banks for 40 years and this was at the top of our list!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All was great except the floors in our room were not clean. I know they were short on help and were rushed but the next guest might complain. they were dirty and if you walked barefooted it stuck to the bottom of your feet. I wore socks because of this and they were black. Not a major complaint but thought it should be addressed. We made our beds and only used the set of towels from the first day, housekeeping were very nice and asked if we needed anything everyday.

    The lady that checked us in was more than nice. House keeping was a little behind and we had to wait a couple hours to get into our room. She gave us 2 free breakfasts which were awesome. the people in Peppertree were fabulous. Then she told us that the manager gave us that night free, since it was 6:00 pm. We were thrilled and had a wonderful time. I would definitely stay again and recommend it to everyone. thank you for a really nice enjoyable mini vacation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location , some staff friendly but room not clean. So so visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had not been completely cleaned dirty coffee pot , pubic hairs in shower and urine all around bottom of commode. Floor was dirty. No housekeeping services 3 out of 4 days. Had to call for towels and toilet paper. The restaurant was horrible. Food and service was terrible.

    Manager and front desk staff friendly. Beach and deck area were great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.0
    pretty dam good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    whirlpool was filthy i got a uti and the dr pointed thr finger at nasty water in whrrlpool. too bad, because i love swimming in the poo[ then relaxing in the whirlpool

    room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy near 11 pm and near the elevator. The pool was a bit dirty with some sand and hair.

    Beds were comfy! Shower was nice and hot. Parking was nice and close, plenty of spaces. Loved being right on the beach!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    I would definitely stay in this facility again!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No extra towels left in room.. but they gave upon request. We found a lot of dust under the bed when leaving and packing...

    Overall great stay... request honored... staff was very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    I can’t wait to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We had an excellent experience.

    Clean facilities, nice pool, great beach access! The staff was friendly and accommodating. I loved every second of my stay, and I hope to return again soon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.3
    I used to love staying here but this was our last trip. Other places nearby nicer for lower price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to use card to open the gates. I'm in a bikini no pockets. It was really frustrating. The air conditioner gave me a allergy attack it was visibly dirty and needs to be cleaned. I vacation often and for the price this place just doesn't have it. Go somewhere else.

    The staff really was kind and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.9
    It was nice all in all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought by the booking .com sight we made our reservation with we were getting a hot tub /in the room.

    Hot tub outside was great. The walkway to the beach was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    Outer banks was great, good food, great stores; we will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At the end of Saturday evening, there was two semi-tractor trailers taking up valuable parking spaces. No one knew who they were; but there was over flow parking across the street. It was not problem walking across the street.

    Our first room had an issue and the assistance manager quickly took care of the problem. She moved us immediately to another room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable, would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all.

    Room was clean and comfortable with a refrig. microwave and safe. Good size flat screen and very comfortable bed. We both slept like babies. Great view of the ocean and quite. Staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Definitely would stay again ... just no frat party
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A frat party was being held on Friday evening and they stayed until Sunday morning. I think you can guess the rest with a bunch of frat brothers staying at your hotel. Staff was excellent in their duties all considered.

    Comfortable room with excellent staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    3.8
    Will not stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite that access the hotel was not good for family stay. There were two large groups and they were loud and one could hear conversation loud and clear throughout go walls and doors.

    The pool and access to the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    We have stayed here before on a family weekend & will stay here again on future trips!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the only thing we didn't like was the outdoor bar area is still under construction so we couldn't have a cocktail while enjoying the ocean view.

    Ate at Peppercorns for breakfast. Food & Service were excellent. Room is an older room but very clean. Enjoyed sitting on balcony & dolphin watching.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Great place to stay and I was able to book that morning and the laundary facilities were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the towels from the bottom of the stack appeared to have brown stains that were not consistent with rust. I photographed the towel and brought it to the attention of the front desk.

    I was placed in a room at the opposite end of the hallway from the ballrooms and I was not bothered by the noise that was coming from the ballrooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    All the staff at Ramada Plaza Nags Head were extremely professional and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could say was what I mentioned before about it being warm in the area where the pool was. I'm assuming because the pool might still be heated that's why the windows were closed and also maybe because the season hasn't actually started.

    I particularly liked the deck out back. The pool and hot tub were nice, however, it would have been nice if the windows were open because it was pretty warm in there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed the stay, especially since weather was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outlet in room didn't work so coffee pot had to be moved and micro could not be used. Little pricey for street side, especially since food is pricey too and there's no continental offerings.

    Repairs and additions outside will be great when finished. Deck is always nice for those who are staying street side.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    4.2
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was very excited to stay due to the high reviews, location and indoor pool. I get in the room put my purse on the bed and the first thing I've noticed was how much dust the room had...EVERYWHERE, and it wasn't pollen. Opened the refrigerator to put some drinks inside, it was dirty. Microwave same. Tray that holds cups same. Linen who knows if they were cleaned or not. Didn't have that fresh feel and look to them. Called front desk, manager came up looked and agreed with me and he told us if we could go downstairs until he had it cleaned. Asked if we could go to a different room, but he said they didn't have any available.We leave, came back but it was only partially cleaned. The linen were not changed, room still very dusty. The bathroom you could also tell it wasn't cleaned. My husband didn't want me to call again and my little girl wanted to go have some fun. So I let it go, but I was so disgusted. I wish, I could have left but who knows if I could have found another hotel. It was just for one night but still... Even on the balcony there were stuff from previous occupants. Who knows when was the last time that room had been cleaned, but it wasn't recently.

    location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    Location, dining, allowing small dogs, and being actually on the beach are MAJOR PLUSES.
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was a non-smoking room but the area by the door and closets smelled heavily of cigarettes. Overall the hotel needs to be updated.

    Dining for breakfast was Good overall. Would definitely use again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    I would stay at this location again but would hope that some of the deficiencies were addressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staffing for this hotel is not adequate especially since our visit was during spring break. Housekeeping was overwhelmed which caused many vacationers an extended wait for their room. Then, check out was slow and inefficient. I was not even able to get a receipt?! The pool was very cloudy and the area was not well lit which caused me concern about my grandchildren's safety.

    This hotel is in need of some updates but is a great location and family friendly. It is a good value for the money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice clean rooms though a little small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The access to the beach was through the pool area which was tough with a toddler. It may have been due to renovations.

    Nice clean rooms though a little small. Friendly staff and great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Had a good time, would probably stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately we were between two rooms with kids, seem like the parents had no control, running back and forth from room to room, doors slamming, went late into the evening started early in the morning.

    Everything went well...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.8
    An ok place overall but don’t set high expectations. Main reason to stay here is it’s on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived at the 4pm check-in and the room wasn’t ready. There were never any clean towels at the pool. The pool is open from 7am to 10pm but the card access doesn’t work on the door until 8am. When I asked for clean towels for the room they said they were behind on laundry.

    Great location - in the beach, convenient to restaurants, entertainment, parks, etc The staff were mostly friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.1
    Just ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went to egg hunt hat started at 10am, they started it early and it was over when we arrived at 9:50. Shower water pressure was low and the water temperature fluctuated drastically from hot to cold. Extra resort fee paid when booked online and then charged again when checked in.

    Proximity to beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Painting on our floor unaware of this could smell paint in room. Cleaning staff very slow at getting rooms done seemed to want to gather by rooms and talk

    Location to ocean was great. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    This was an amazing stay..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I only stayed one night

    This was an excellent experience. I hadn't been here since my grandparents who have passed took me here. Me and my fiancee came to get away for a night and I was amazing. Would recommend and stay here again..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was there for 4 nights .The housekeeping was understaffed and did not come to tiddy up our room till I called on the 3rd night. They did come to ask if we needed new towels each nite but that was it!

    Excellent staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.3
    Will not tell anyone to stay there.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To start with the booking.com had me staying in a 2 queen bed instead of the king size bed i had requested and had the confirmation on. The receptionist took care of that issue, she was great. The room had ants in it. The hook on the wall that you hang your clothes on fell in the floor. There were intoxicated people above me hollering until the we hours of the morning and the bath tub drain was full of hair so it wouldn't drain properly. Needless to say I was not happy with my stay.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    4.6
    Terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Triec to check in server down. Able check in finally. Room was on 5th floor farthest from elevator. They forgot to activate our room keys. Waited 30 min after I called desk. Housekeeper had to let me in. 30 min later someone brought activated keys after I texted them. Later they had no water and when we returned to room it ran rusty. Couldn't shower or brush my teeth. Will not ever stay there again.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful oceanfront view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding not clean,old and tattered. Trash under the bed.Balcony furniture covered in bird poop as well as the railing.

    Beautiful oceanfront view. Convenient location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    My family has been here many times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our last trip the hot tub indefinitely down, couldn't get service in restaurant for nearly 30 min. Got up and left. I would return again but the hotel needs to take a careful look at having enough help in the restaurant. There were three tables with people and they were over worked because I think the sole waiter was serving, tending the bar and also preparing the food. Could have been an off night, so just a suggestion.

    My family has been here many times. Great location, facilities, and that's why we keep returning. Every experience has exceeded expectations except the last. I would definitely return but if the last trip signals a trend, may be finding a different place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    2.5
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like being blamed for something and we was out of the room most of the day so we knew it was not us and my husband hand got messy up in there door that goes outside his hand looks bad

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.0
    The staff and quest were very warm and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have a free continental breakfast. The room was very dusty. The furniture was scratched up and not polished.

    The staff and quest were very warm and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    The lobby looks great upon entry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little smaller then what the pictures lead on to be. Only one nightstand with the king bed. So everything was piled over there and if I wanted something I had to get up and go around not to wake my wife.

    The lobby looks great upon entry. The new deck and plankway to the beach looks amazing. It was clean and quiet. We had a great view of the beach from the fourth floor. The indoor pool and hot tub were well maintained, it was nice to be able to relax due to the weather not being friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.5
    Bed was comfortable enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Plumbing needs help. very slow toilet, small sink and small bathroom. Mirror in bathroom is low, Ok if you are less than 5' 9" tall. Construction was going on near our room in motel, noisy during the day. The price was 35% higher than this time last year, too much for it being the off season.

    Bed was comfortable enough. staff was very friendly. Very clean room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Oceanfront location, easy parking, low off-season room rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow wifi, furnishings were well used

    Oceanfront location, easy parking, low off-season room rate. There were many restaurants and stores not far away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    Very nice for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are starting to show a little wear and tear but could be easy fixes.

    We had a very pleasant stay for my daughter's birthday. The hotel is under construction building a deck and walkway down to the beach but was not noisy and still had beach accessibility. The rooms are a bit worn and dated but still were extremely nice, the carpet in our room was starting to unravel from the seam. The bed was excellent and had a great nights rest. We were very impressed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Overall Wonderful stay.
    • Group
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didnt like the fact that they didnt have Continental breakfast when traveling it would be nice.

    We had a wonderful time I really didnt want to leave. Listen to the beach all night was the best sleep i have ever got. We the place was very clean, friendly staff, loved the restaurant on site. The one thing that did bother me was the balcony rails seems a little loose other than that great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That they tried to put us in a pet friendly room without asking first. I have a daughter That is allergic to dogs and cats.

    The hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    My stay was nice and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could be a little more up to date.

    The bed was super comfortable and the staff was very friendly. I had a great stay with Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    Not too bad, but won’t choose to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom was smaller than anticipated. It made staying for a family of 4 cramped. The bed was uncomfortable and lumpy, and the pillows went flat when laid on. No breakfast option included, could’ve stayed next door for less money and free breakfast. The walls are really thin, you can hear other guests talking as you walk through the hall. And hear the next room use the bathroom. And hear ever time someone went onto their balcony. Booking says pets aren’t allowed, which is needed when you have pet allergies. However, the place allowed pets for a fee.

    Loved the ocean view and the location was close to everything. The staff were very friendly, and the room was cleaned daily. Always had plenty of towels.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.5
    Staff was superb front desk and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather dated - did not match booking,com rating at all. Furniture etc was old. Bath was not great and water pressure was poor. Hallway was dirty. Too loud ....

    Staff was superb front desk and restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    3.3
    Room was dirty and hotel seemed to be neglected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was leftover food in fridge from previous guest, tub stopper did not work, non smoking smelled like smoking, room was not cleaned thoroughly.

    The beach

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Peaceful beautiful Oceanside room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the hot tub worked.

    Rooms clean,im in the cleaning business so I know what to look for,bed was soooo comfortable, all staff super friendly and helpful. This was our 4th stay here and we will return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Great view and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We asked multiple times to have our sheets changed, and they never were. They were dirty upon arrival, so we left the card on the bed to indicate we wanted them changed - and assumed they had been - but then noticed they weren't. Very frustrating, but didn't let it spoil the view.

    We had a 5th floor room with balcony facing the ocean, and the view was absolutely amazing. Great, central location - close to Jockey's Ridge, Wright Brothers, and some good restaurants. Enjoyed coming to OBX for the first time in the off season. It was very relaxing!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    It was so great, I was upset we had to leave so soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was slightly disappointed that we weren't able to access the patio/deck area for the hotel, because they are in the middle of a major remodeling project. But, overall, this did not cause us any hardship, because we were still able to access the beach from a side door. Also, it would've been nice if the hot tub was a little hotter (which is more of a personal preference then anything - we like them super hot). But, as the pool maintenance guy explained, they are restricted to keeping the temperature below a certain level to prevent the growth of bacteria. (Perfectly understandable, in my opinion.) And, the restaurant (Peppercorns) was a little pricey for what you received. While the quality of the items (food & cocktails) was good, they were still overpriced by $1-2 dollars per item. (I'm not sure if the hotel has any influence over the restaurants' management or pricing, but I felt that it should be included in the review for future visitors.)

    There were so many great things about our trip, its hard to remember them all. To Start: the hotel was exactly as depicted, from the moment we walked in the door, got to our room, and explored the property. My fiance and I were booked for an "ocean-view", which turned out to be an "ocean-front" view. (So I was already happy.) Then, after unpacking, we relaxed for a while on what must be the most comfortable bed I've ever experienced. (Yes, this includes my bed at home.) I was impressed that the room looked exactly like the pictures on the website (as often, this is not the case.) I was a little amused by the "barn door" on the bathroom. (It took a little getting used to, but it did provide more room within the bathroom, so I think it was a good idea.) The indoor pool was great, as it was slightly heated, and fully functioning, even though our visit was in November. (Some hotels close down their pools during the winter, which can be inconvenient.) We enjoyed the pool and the hot tub on both nights of our short weekend getaway. On the last morning there, we ordered room service from Peppercorn's, and it arrived pipping hot in less than 15 minutes, so I was quite impressed. The Belgian Pecan Waffle was excellent! Overall, I was very, very impressed with the condition of the property, the courteousness of the staff, and the honesty of the advertising. My biggest issue is that we weren't able to stay longer. I look forward to booking at this location in the future, and highly recommend it to any one visiting this area of the Outer Banks of NC.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: