Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix - Tempe 3 stars

1429 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85281, USA

#32 of 78 hotels in Scottsdale

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 414 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.5
    The place was nice
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was rude and complained I was taking to much food I have 6 kids and they couldn't eat I went to work and had to drive back 60 miles away

    The place was nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    I would choose to stay at the Red Lion Hotel again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has lettered lighting which indicates which building one is facing. I stayed in building “D” However, the “D” building light is not working. This caused me to drive around the hotel grounds several times before finding building “D” repairing that particular fixture would truly help, especially given the fact that customers are expected to distinguish the hotel buildings by the letter signs affixed to each one.

    The room and accommodations were great given my three day rate. The hotel was very clean and the grounds well kept. In addition, the staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Unhelpful desk
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff was very unhelpful and kind of rude, no smile .

    Everything else besides the front desk agent was excellent . Nice clean room polite housekeepers . Great breakfast .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Great location!
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location! Complimentary breakfast was a plus and it was really good! The staff was so polite and it was always clean. The pool was great for a quick dip.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    2.5
    It was the worst experience to stay there I ever had!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the worst experience to stay there I ever had! The staff was very arrogant. When I came to the hotel, the staff told me I have to pay two times of the price I booked in the booking. I asked why, he said, “you have to ask booking.” After I called booking, he changed price for me. Then, I tried paying cash for the room fee. The stuff said they don’t accept cash. I said, I only have cash in that time. He said, he can go ahead cancel my reservation. It was around midnight. I was so tired.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice clean value holel. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee could have been stronger. Lol

    Bed was comfortable, room was quiet and clean and the breakfast was very good with a nice selection. The price was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Desk clerk checking us in failed to record that we needed a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desk clerk checking us in failed to record that we needed a 7am shuttle to the airport the following morning. The driver was not there. A security guard getting off duty drove us to the airport. Kudos to him. the desk clerk at 6:45 pm on the 20th should be reprimanded.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    I m not sure I would do a second round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    more customer service and partrolong to hold the noise down.

    I only wanted two more pillows and was blown off with a lame excuse. other than the the unbearable noise in to parking lot the stay was ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Good location, clean property, good breakfast, but staff was not very friendly.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The second queen bed was literally pushed to the window and air-conditioning unit. You could not walk on that side of the bed. Only two towels and we had four in the room.

    The room was super clean and the breakfast was great. Close to ASU so that was helpful for our plans.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    Close to ASU and clean and comfy.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apparently the hotel has a new computer system. So we were given the key to our room and walked in on a whole family already booked in that room. Super awkward and the family was very concerned obviously. The staff switched our room immediately, and apologized, and I know mistakes happen.

    The beds were super comfy and the air conditioner worked well. The toiletries and towels were nice too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed my stay no dislikes.

    I like the soft beds and pillows ! Breakfast was good. Staff was also great . The Ac was in the bedroom and the living very well needed during my stay . The price for the rooms was also great 💕

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    I'd come back cause we love the place and dc the comfort off the rooms, but not again after that
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast. The burritos could have been cooked different, the orange juice was going sour, as well as the cranberry and apple juice were SO watered down they hardly tested like what they were. The last time we stayed in May, the food was amazing, but that was a weekend, that is what I was guessing the difference was, but still the food served should not be nasty just cause it's a weekday!

    Beds were comfortable, room was large and had all the ammenities. Clean place e'll the way around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    overall Diana, Reyna, and Victoria made our stay better thank you ladys
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    our sheets were dirty in both beds and sofa sleeper.

    a very friendly facility, diana at front dest awsome. Reyna in breakfast great service. Victoria house keeping did a great job in our room. thank you all

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    3.8
    If you are considering this property, please make sure that there is nothing else available first.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Um, everything could have been better. The property needs attention and the rooms need attention. If they would invest as much effort in the upkeep of the property and the rooms like they do the landscaping, this place would be much better. If you have a physical disability, you want to ensure that you get a ground level room, as you will not be able to maneuver around the corners when you get off of the elevator, especially if you are in a wheelchair. This is not the best hotel for people with disabilities. This place is really not worth the money you spend. I learned my lesson and will pay a little bit extra to stay at the hotel next door or the one's that are a little bit further up on Scottsdale/Rural roads. Do yourself a favor and do the same!

    The shower was hot and had great water pressure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping did not get to our room in a timely manner. We didn't get our room cleaned once, by the time they showed up it was late late afternoon.

    Location. Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Reasonable prices. ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Kingsize bed was the best... Christian, front desk was the best ...quiet, freeway close for getting around... shopping close...ASU down the street. ..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Pretty solid place to stay, just make sure you go in to the right front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a bunch of spiders under all the stairs. How did I notice them? One bit me on the arm on my way down the stairs. That wasn't great.

    The breakfast and breakfast staff were more than your average hotel breakfast. It was actually pretty good! I'd definitely come back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    the room was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was great! spacious and just what we wanted. comfortable furniture, we got the king suite and both rooms had tvs. the breakfast was good no complaints. the only weird thing was my wifes phone was stolen from the patio, not the hotels fault but still weird.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Location and ease of entering and exiting the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jet noise from the airport. The aircraft were both in and out depending on the time of day just south of the property. It wasn’t terrible but a little extra noise canceling insulation would help to keep the room quieter.

    Location and ease of entering and exiting the property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Not the best; wouldn't stay again or recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are very thin, can hear neighbors and street noise perfectly. It's age is starting to show-mold, ripped furniture, mismatched appliances, squeaky doors. Staff was somewhat unhelpful (inexperienced?). VERY noisy area-street racing on Scottsdale Rd. all night Saturday!! Trashy area-adult store and smoke shop are closest stores.

    Rooms were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    I enjoyed my stay there, the room was so clean and cool! The staff was real friendly! Thank you.
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room fridge did not work; the light was on but that was it. Some of my other friend's that stayed there, their's was not working either. Only the friends that rented the "suite" room, fridge did work.

    I did not have a chance to do so.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    I loved everything at Red Lion Inn. I will definitely stay here again & would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything that I didn't like.

    I loved everything about the room. It was very comfortable & clean. The breakfast area was great & the food & coffee was amazing. Loved it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    Not Scottsdale, Tempe; but room was quite nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room service from outside service so-so. Breakfast foods s disappointment -- need hot sausage, bacon, eggs.

    Handicapped parking spot close to room -- bonus!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    4.6
    Would not come back, nor recommend to others!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet in our room got clogged up at night. We called the front desk for help. They brought us a plunger and asked us to open the clogged toilet ourselves. It seems like their costumer service is as bad as their plumbing. In addition, when we complained about this incident at check out it didn't seem to bother anyone. This gave me the impression that this wasn't the first time this has happened to them...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay! No problems at all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't have anything about your facility that I didn't like.

    I was not expecting the room I got, and LOVED it. Beautiful room, amenities were great, the grounds were very clean and well kept.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Hotel was very good, but nothing to do in walking distance. They do have a complementary shuttle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing I didn't like was the location. It was safe and quiet, but there was NOTHING to do in walking distance - I had to Uber or drive for everything - and, that was something that I didn't like. It would be great if there were restaurants or bars closer to the hotel. Other than that, I enjoyed my stay. They do have a shuttle that will take you within 3 miles of the hotel; that was very nice and it is complementary - no pay (I did tip the driver).

    I liked the stay because the hotel was very quiet, well maintained, and clean. The breakfast was popular, although I don't usually eat breakfast. Nice pool area too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant sta
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar. Breakfast was just dull normal.

    Super clean. Rooms nicely appointed. Kitchenette large enough to work for an extended stay. Pleasant van drivers. Even had night light in bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.0
    It was just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you walked across the carpet in the room barefoot your feet were black. There was a transit sleeping outside in the foot court. When she was awakened she kick over the garbage

    Not worth the money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.0
    Horrible
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get the room we booked. They were going to give us a king with a sofa bed even though there were 3 adults and one child. They gave us a TINY room with two queen beds when we had reserved a junior suite. The air conditioner was 6 inches from my face. After several complaints involving calling the manager at home they comped us a second room. Very unsatisfactory stay!

    They bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.8
    Ok, we usually stay in Marriott’s and will stay with Marriott
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not layout very well. The coffee pot at one end of room and cups at the other end. Carpet was dirty. If you walked barefoot across the floor your feet were black. The bed was so high off the floor you almost needed a stool to step on to get in bed.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.3
    We had a nice time in Phoenix watching ball games. This hotel served us well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotels in Phoenix in March are outrageously expensive. This one cost half again what it should have given the quality, but the location and season made it rather spendy. It was, however, a bargain compared to what else was out there.

    Breakfasts were varied, and decent considering the style. Rooms were clean and moderately spacious. Pool was clean and good sized. Ample parking. Stores and restuarants nearby. Easy access from the highway. Very pet friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Website did not specify no cash transactions allowed. I mostly use cash when traveling so i had to run to a store to load a pre paid debit card.

    Location is close to many entertainment destinations

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.3
    good location ..convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    shower head nearly unusable more like garden hose without a nozzle ... gasket seals around entry door broken or missing, front building gets lots of road noise .. I'll ask for a rear unit next time.

    Nice staff, good breakfast, comfortable beds, conveniently located and nice suite layout

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    Located close to Old Town Scottsdale and the spring training ballparks. Great location and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cleaned early by the housekeeping staff. The room was very clean. Nice darkening blinds. The breakfast they offered a variety from cold cereal, fresh fruit,to eggs, bacon, English muffins, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, and waffles. It was all fresh and delicious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Great visit. Hotel has a small resort type feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    .

    Beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. Housekeeping staff were friendly and prompt and did a great job. Breakfast variety was really good too! The kids loved the pool and it was clean!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.9
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not appreciate the BNSF crews in the parking lot running their trucks at 5:30AM. But I would not consider that the hotel's fault.

    The staff was friendly and professional. The bed was comfortable, the room good size.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Overall enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cleanness of the rooms and restrooms serving the main Lobby. The room size.

    I liked the location. The breakfast was great. Staff members are friendly. Parking is spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    Not expected chain hotel to be so nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You do the airplanes in that area of Phoenix. We did not mind as we wanted to be in the Scotsdale area

    We had a junior suite: Very comfortable and spacious. Friendly staff. Nice setup of the hotel in general (small green courtyards etc.). We felt very comfortable, given this being actually "just" a chain hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    5.4
    The personnel at check in should wear a uniform. The guy at checkout didn’t look professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn’t have a microwave. In the picture it looked like there was one. The room was very tight. Do you really need that big desk? There was only one towel in the room and no hand towels or wash cloths.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.8
    Would cone back but not during spring training
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The refrigerator froze over and u cannot keep anything in it. We had to eat breakfast Out because these included breakfasts r all the same and mostly inedible.

    Bed was king sized and comfortable- high though and a bit hard to get into

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    Would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner in sitting room was a little loud. Room was right next to a main road and traffic was loud.

    Room was great. Breakfast was what I would expect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    4.6
    Cramped room and not a great value especially when resort fees are tacked on
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was already cramped and the desk chair arms were too high to fit under the desk which made it worse. The bathtub drain was rusty and the water pressure was low. Compared to 3 other hotels I stayed in during this trip this hotel was the least value for the money (but it's in Scottsdale right?)

    The airport shuttle and the convenience to the rental car place across the street

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Other then your breakfast very good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast serving not early enough. Booked hotel for the breakfast to find out it’s served to late in morning. Didn’t get to enjoy not one day of breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    It was very lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little on small side.

    The bed was great. The pillows were ok, I usually travel with my own but decided not to this time. Great breakfast. Nice that there a BBQs if you want to use them. Lots of things to do in and around the area. People were really pleasant. Ladies were nice that were getting the food. If the weather would have been warmer we would have eaten outside. It is a lovely area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.7
    Hidden fees
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were costs charged that we were not aware of when we booked the room. What we paid was not the same as the price quote on booking.com. Hidden hotel fees?

    Very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Nice room, quiet area mostly, beautiful evening sky
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two double beds would have fit better in this room. It was a little difficult to squeeze between bed and bathroom wall. Room layout was a little weird, but it sufficed nicely.

    The food was great for breakfast, a wide selection. The room smelled and looked very clean, beds were comfortable. Loved the 3 different courts with lots of unique sitting area. Very nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    We were gone all day and just used the room for sleeping . Quite comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 separate sink and shower/toilet areas. Our bathroom/shower shld have had a table or something to put your clothes on while showering... all the soaps were on the sink side...not convenient for showering.

    Loved the breakfast, staff super nice and very helpful!!! This is my number 1 need "service" I would stay there just for that. Location was also great. We didn't use the property shuttle service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    5.0
    Started out bad when I got there - manager made it better by giving me a small credit for problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Got there at 2:30 in the afternoon - a room was not ready till 5:00 - had to wait in the lobby till a room was cleaned. Clerk at desk stated that he could not help it because " you booked through a third party" ? Why would booking through Booking .com at a discounted rate affect my room status? I did complain to the general manager and she did give me a credit on my bill which was good. The breakfasts provided were poor - had hard "scrambled eggs" - very poor cooking. The new manager was very nice / professional - just needs to fix room cleaning delays and breakfast problems.

    Room was old -but OK

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    enjoyed our stay very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was great

    rooms were nice and clean, bed was very good, its a very good place to stay if you fly out. They have a large yard for parking is very safe, we have parked their a few times in the last few years.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    Really great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom needed updating.

    Location, felt safe. Staff friendly-Diana great at check out. Breakfast good. Location perfect for seeing family. Loved little apartment.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Though I’ve stayed at luxurious resorts in Phoenix area, this above average inn surpassed them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have had more healthy options, however it was still excellent.

    We loved everything from the hot tub and the pool to the gas grills and the exercise room. The staff was beyond excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    We had awesome service from the staff and the room was great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property and the room were immaculate. The breakfast in the morning was awesome. Real eggs and sausage. Waffles were also available. This was great value for the price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Short and sweet...Nice hotel and amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room layout was awkward. The bathroom was right beside one of the beds. You had to walk around the bed to get to the bathroom, then walk around the corner to wash your hands at the sink. Not a good layout at all.

    The property was very clean. The staff was friendly. Liked the small putting area on the property. The outside seating areas were fabulous!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    This is a decent place to stay and is fairly well managed still had issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn't all that friendly a master extra pillows didn't receive pillows during the entire stay parking was minimal

    The breakfast was good in the Room was clean when we got there

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Great place for a weekend stay if you are in Tempe/Scottsdale area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything, it was a great place to stay.

    I stayed in one of their king size beds and it was really comfortable. The room was very clean. The hot tub and pool were very clean and well maintained. The breakfast bar was really good. My daughter loved their home fries.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.8
    comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 9 nights

    more healthy cereals at breakfast like muesli need sign to tell guests where to put pool towels some staff a bit cold lot of groups so you need to watch when to go in the pool

    fruit at breakfast not far from bus stop pool and jacuzzi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.7
    Okay.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had issues with people who stayed at this hotel; I had to be moved 3 times. Unsavory people walking around the area during the day and night.

    The beds are comfortable. The breakfast was decent but they had the same items each day (it got boring). The maids were very nice and a couple of the ladies up front were very kind.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    Very good to stay a couple of nights in Phoenix.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could of been better.

    The pool was great. We had a problem with the toilet in our first room so they changed us straight away to another room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Family friendly, budget friendly, super clean rooms and great property. Excellent stay!
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area in the very late evening/early mornings can be a bit shady. As a mother traveling alone with just her child, I would have felt a little less nervous at 2:00 am gathering my things out of the car and heading to my room if there was a security guard patrolling the area at that hour.

    My son enjoyed the omelettes at breakfast. The amenities were great, the rooms were very clean and the toiletries were a very nice touch. The room was large and the beds, super comfy. I told a few of the families that also traveled to AZ for the weekend that this was a great place to stay and the price was great. We will stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    5.4
    Would not stay at a Red Lion and Suites again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable, they didn't provide extra blankets for the fold out couch, there were stray cats around the property, strange guests and a lot of airport noise.

    The complimentary hot breakfast was the only thing I liked about our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Everything was wonderful for our family and it definitely is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really isn't anything I could complain about! Great job!

    Everything was wonderful for our family and it definitely is a place we will stay at again! Also the staff was amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Red Lion Rocks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like that there is any charge on your credit card...a hold that falls off within 3-5 business days. Hopefully it does (we will see). When you travel with a secure, loaded credit card it takes up some of your avail spending budget

    The rooms are super clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.5
    Pool was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been better.

    Pool was great. Our room was located next to the pool. Room was clean and the bed was nice. Wifi also worked very well and was free of costs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful Hotel 😀
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They usually have a very delicious breakfast, but more variety in main dishes and cereal would make it even better!!

    This hotel is excellent. My son loves the swimming pool there! The rooms are spacious and always clean! We usually get a hotel room right by the putting green! It is a very pet and family friendly hotel! Our go to!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    close to Mill Avenue in Tempe and Papago park, variety of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On site restaurant would have been nice.

    close to Mill Avenue in Tempe and Papago park, variety of breakfast foods, free airport shuttle. Updated facilities, clean, spacious room. Polite staff. Fast wi fi connection. Overall, great value for the money I paid.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Stay here, you won't regret it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Excellent property throughout - very clean and spacious. The bed was luxurious and comfortable. The size of the bathroom was probably twice the size of your standard hotel bathroom and again, clean and bright. We got to this property by car but we did see their shuttle and overheard the receptionist say it would pick a guest from the airport in 15-20 minutes. Hot breakfast was a welcomed bonus (no sausage or bacon on the side, but the omelettes had chunks of ham inside). Their coffee was also surprisingly good and fresh. I could keep listing this hotel's values, but it is better to experience it in person. Would definitely stay at Red Lion again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Amazing find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, nothing was a problem, we were given loads of info on surrounding areas, places to eat etc. They even offered to help us return our car to the airport the night before and shuttle us into the airport the next day all free of charge. Lovely outdoor seating areas here to.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    My Go-To Hotel!!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect! I wish my vacation would have been longer!!!

    The staff was amazing from the moment we walked through the doors!! They helped us out with so many things throughout our stay. The cleanliness of the room is unlike any I have stayed in before. I felt so comfortable in the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    5.0
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that we were aware of.

    We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Nice pool, friendly employees. Very clean. Good breakfast. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    The mattress was exceptional, felt like my personal cocoon...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really!! There was nothing I didn't like.

    The mattress was exceptional, felt like my personal cocoon and the staff was very friendly and helpful. There was a feeling of happiness everywhere. It seemed like all the visitors were happy and it became contagious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    An oasis in Phoenix
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room with the king-sized bed is a bit small with limited space to put luggage. Another luggage rack would make it better for two people sharing.

    From the moment you arrive and see the sparkling fountain, the flowering shrubs and cacti, the friendly and helpful staff make you feel that you are an important and welcome guest. The rooms are comfortable and well-appointed and the included breakfast is much better than average with hot entrees that change from day to day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    8.3
    You get more than your moneys worth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The surrounding neighborhood was not great.

    The shuttle and it's driver were helpful and friendly. Staff at the desk were helpful as well. Good overall value.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    7.1
    ASU visit as a potential college
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One bed did not have correct size sheet that kept sliding up onto bed, even after we had room service come to clean and make up room. Box spring on one of 2 queen beds needs replacement as it made large spring creaking noise when lying on bed and turning side to side. Height of bed not standard and may be high for some. Tub clean but needs resurface at bottom from wear. Fruit Salad at breakfast tasted pre-packaged and fishy...it was unpalatable.

    The small fridge in the room is great! Front desk was accommodating for the room change and helpful. Breakfast was adequate and they made effort to change hot items each day so it offered variety. Not far from ASU. Overall, clean place and good stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    From Camper to Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    After 4 days hiking AZ, the Red Lion was a sight for sore eyes! Loved the putting green! The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast area was welcoming with both inside and outside seating. The omelettes were delicious! The king size bed was fluffy and cozy. Wendy Battaglia, Chicago

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.6
    STAY HERE!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathtub needs a little TLC - was clean but damaged so it "looks"'dirty.

    BEST Bed /pillow combination for the best sleep I've had in 6 weeks!! Felt like I was in a tropical resort!!!! ❤

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: