Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection 4 stars

421 West B Street, Downtown San Diego, San Diego, CA 92101, USA

Review score

Based on 94 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Paid WiFi

    4.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wish they had a shuttle or recommended drivers

    The staff was amazing. I was due to arrive at the property with my husband, but he unexpectantly got ill and was admitted into the hospital. I was terrified to ride in an uber, but Deanna offered to stay phone until I arrived.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice comfy bed and shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am pretty sure they were hoovering the floors at 4am which kept me awake for an hour. Also breakfast was delicious but very expensive for what it was.

    Nice comfy bed and shower

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    3.8
    We were in San Diego for the Del Mar horse races and to see...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in San Diego for the Del Mar horse races and to see a Padre game. We wanted to stay in Little Italy to see a different side of the city. The service from everybody besides the front desk was awful. Called several times for the air conditioner to be fixed only to be met with rudeness and told that both the loud noise and lack of cold air was normal. That I could move rooms but would have the same issue in other rooms. San Diego was unusually warm that weekend which made for an uncomfortable night. The night was so uncomfortable that we decided to check out early and lucked out by getting a room at the Omni hotel for the rest of the trip.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Very Good Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff said breakfast was included(essentially it was an allowance/voucher) which it was but no explanation of what dollar amount was the limit. At checkout surprise! Three slices of bacon $9.00 extra.

    A very good stay with comfy beds, friendly staff and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    beautiful hotel for a romantice getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check in was not thorough . No information about the amenities or basic hotel info were given or explained (check out time, how our prepaid breakfast worked, what the club house hours were, nothing). And i would have liked more eating options especially like a restaurant. If there was one we were not informed or any eating options on site expect for the bar and room service. which both were very good so it worked out ok for us. But I must say we were upgraded to gorgeous corner suite because our room was overbook, and yes we were only charge the rate of our original.

    The hotel itself and the room are beautiful. The location is the middle of downtown with lots of food, entertainment, and shopping all within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Wifi should be free!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In 2018, there really should be free wifi in this kind of hotel (password = repstaff). Parking was really expensive. Wine glasses were dirty at the rooftopbar and service was slow. The VIP outdoor restarant was always empty, yet we could not enjoy it. No pool. Service was very slow at brunch downstairs. Very noisy early in the morning, not sure if it was maintenance or the doors... Shower could be improved. Price for drinks and food too high.

    The window bench was nice. Very clean. Nice decor. Glad to have a fridge and safe. Service at reception and valet was great! Close to transit

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    The room was very clean and organized.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell from the bathroom was stayed the whole time when I was there. WIFI is not free.

    The room was very clean and organized. Nice view from high floor. Almost everything is perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value for money. Staff were all so helpful. Our flight home wasn’t until 8pm at night and they let us use the shower in a free room to freshen up.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Best Hotel experience I've had..
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - High Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything I didnt like

    I liked everything from the inside of the hotel, but mostly the location. Everything was within walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    The bed was so comfortable and the reading nook was awesome.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I unfortunately had some very drunk neighbors who came in at 3 am breaking things and yelling at each other. Security was called and they quieted down.

    The bed was so comfortable and the reading nook was awesome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.4
    Nice hotel, disappointing facility extras
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very disappointed with their lack of facilities. No pool

    Room size was comfy & is the bed was comfortable. Loved bikes all over the city to use.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    It was OK, not worth what we payed for one night.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Bed was too hard, my wife and I got back pain, could not enjoy. The knob in the tub was loose and need it to be tightened.

    Location was great and customer service was awesome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Great boutique hotel with friendly people willing to go above and beyond
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fitbess centre was below par compared to other like hotels.

    The staff at this place were impeccable and extremely friendly. I’d recommend The Republicz

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Far exceeded expectations! You get beyond what you pay for! Friendly staff and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel far exceeded my expectations! Went with a small group of friends for my 21st birthday, staff was beyond friendly and welcoming! Room was beautiful and clean!! 10/10 excellent hotel! Will come again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is extremely expensive per night....$48

    The staff was super knowledgeable and very helpful at helping us find great places for food and drinks around town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    4.6
    Won't stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in room 414 and there was a low rumbling noise that never stopped! The staff want prompt and responsive.

    Location near the airport and restaurants

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We accidentally forgot to put the card out that we didn’t want our sheets/towels changed and the cleaners came in and did it anyway. It would be cool for the hotel to switch to a greener default such as requesting turn-down service rather than automatically changing everything when we leave the room.

    Design/ambiance and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    Great room and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Corner King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food and bar service was not good.See above

    Food service and Bar service was poor. We had to go out for most meals. Roof top restaurant was closed on Sunday after brunch !!! Lobby bar was very small and very loud!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Great experience, and left the hotel feeling refreshed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish the staff gave us a better description of the hotel offerings. We had to find the rooftop bar ourselves and had to ask about breakfast.

    Very nice vibe in the hotel. High-end features and staff was great. The room had a great layout and the bathroom was very well done. Comfy bed with plenty of outlets on the bedside table. Would def stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    6.7
    Modern look, easy access to downtown-Little Italy-Gaslamp
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was gonna make coffee but there was trash from a prior guest bt my cup and the supposed new lid

    Modern look, easy access to downtown-Little Italy-Gaslamp

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Dont have free guest WiFi and free parking , the hotel...
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dont have free guest WiFi and free parking , the hotel front desk told me there only has valet and 49$ per night

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Great overall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost for valet. Should be complimentary.

    Easy check in, great room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Loved San Diego and Hotel Republic a great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were attentive, great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    This property is excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge too much for parking

    This property is excellent! Very nice hotel, with excellent facilities and ideal location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent beds and great views from high floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent beds and great views from high floor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue was the rug in the room was really dirty.

    Beautiful hotel. The room was really comfortable, quiet, and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wait to check out took some time, no one was asked to help as the queue built, in the end it was ok

    Lovely hotel in a great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    When we looked up the hotel it had a pool showing and when...
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we looked up the hotel it had a pool showing and when we get there there was no pool that is the down side of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wow....was greated by Sophia. a real pearl...master of costumer service....exceeded all expection and whent beyond

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Large room, centrally located.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Corner King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little noisy, although parking is convenient, system upgrades during my stay made entry and exit troublesome.

    Large room, centrally located.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was great but kept hearing a ding noise all night

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    The room was nicely decorated and clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nicely decorated and clean!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    It was fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very expensive

    It was fun

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.7
    Average overall
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was a little bit cramped and the location was not ideal. Parking is upwards of $40.

    Clean room, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Great friendly staff. Beautiful hotel. Wish we could have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    friendly accommodating staff. Went the "extra mile" to ensure our stay is stress free and enjoyable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    exclent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    exclent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    staff were excellent and very helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bit expensive in general , and especially parking. location not perfect but OK.

    staff were excellent and very helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.8
    Thourghly enjoyed hotel stay,partly due to friendly and attentive staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2nd floor restaurant not available.

    Excellent staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent base
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast arrangements very poor.

    Location and staff

    Stayed in November 2017

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40