Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. Tennessee hotel reviews
  4. Memphis hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Residence Inn Memphis Downtown

Reviews of Residence Inn Memphis Downtown This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

110 Monroe Avenue, Memphis, TN 38103, United States of America

#26 of 136 hotels in Memphis

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 48 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.1
    The room was fine but our car keys were misplaced and our departure was delayed by more than 2 hours
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sleeper sofa was uncomfortable and the lighting was dim.

    Breakfast was good and the hotel decor was very good. The staff was very helpful and the location is near the river and good restaurants around Beale Street.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    5.4
    Not a good stay at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Studio with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    overall appearance was terribleand had to be moved from room to room because of terrible smells !! Staff is very nice and try to hard to be accommodating !!!

    Extremely disappointed with the overall condition of the property !! Needs major work and update !! I have stayed at this property property numerous times over the years and could not believe how it has gotten in the shape it is now !! Very disappointed and will not stay there again !!!overall appearance was terrible

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    7.1
    It's OK, not really worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Roof top bar never opened. No covers over valet area on street. Sucks during the rain. Starbucks closes too early Breakfast was very lack luster

    Room was decent Roof setup Location downtown

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    8.8
    Great location and decent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was ok but bed was too small. Air conditioning coming out of bathroom was a bit uncomfortable.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast included, great location, a short walk to Beale st. We also walked to the civil rights museum. Not too close to the noise, though.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    7.5
    It was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A concern I have is that there is not a bathroom on the rooftop. Also, when I booked the room, I didn't realize it was an extended stay hotel. Although the staff was nice, when we arrived, I was asked many questions about using the ONE luggage cart they had in the lobby. The staff did not help with holding the door when I was struggling to push the cart with our suitcases inside the lobby from the sidewalk. When we were getting ready to checkout, I went downstairs to grab the luggage cart to bring our suitcases and bags downstairs. I was questioned again about using the luggage cart. The worker asked if I was going to bring it back down because there were a lot of people checking out that day. I replied with, "Yes, I am one of those people checking and if you are concerned about other people using the luggage cart, then maybe you should have more than one in the lobby." We spent over $200 to stay for ONE NIGHT and I don't appreciate being questioned about using the cart or not having help when trying to maneuver through the door with our luggage. If i am spending that much to stay at a hotel, I would think there would be someone other than valet to help the guests with the luggage. The valet attendees were very nice and did help when we were leaving and packing the car. We parked our vehicle in the garage and didn't use valet. I appreciate them helping to open the door. Next time we will pack an overnight bag so we won't have to take our suitcases inside and rely on the ONE LUGGAGE CART.

    We stopped in Memphis on our way to New Orleans. We were traveling from St. Louis and knew we wanted to check out Memphis. I liked the rooftop bar, good breakfast, and the friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was quite basic

    We loved this 1930's art deco hotel which is in a fabulous location, a few minutes from Beale St. The decor was really impressive and there was a homely feel with all staff being welcoming and helpful. We were upgraded to a two bed suite which we appreciated. The roof terrace bar and cocktails were a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel with great staff and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have literally no complaints about this hotel.

    This hotel had the most helpful and friendly staff of any hotel I have ever stayed at. The location is perfect- just a short walk to Beale Street. And the included breakfasts were delicious!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    10
    I would highly recommend the Residence Inn, great location and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at the hotel were very helpful, giving good advice on where to eat etc. The location is excellent, only a few minutes walk to Beale Street and some of the other attractions. Breakfast was also excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    10
    Would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small vanity and bathroom.

    The staff was so incredibility nice from the doorman to the front desk to the kitchen ladies to security. The room was clean well updated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    9.6
    Great stay loved the roof bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wife said the soap shelf in the shower should be away from the shower head on the other side. Her hair got wet

    The staff is excellent. Breakfast was good and enough. Coffee excellent. Room was more than we expected.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    8.8
    MEMPHIS
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like the fact that parking overnight would have been 16USD if I hadn't found the parking structure right at the corner for 8USD

    I loved how clean it was, plus the hotel is located right across from some of the best BBQ in the city

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2017

    10
    LOVED the Residence Inn Mariott in Memphis!
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom had just been remodeled but the door needed to be closed to have full use of the sink. Sad when we had to leave!

    The staff was absolutely wonderful! They were friendly, polite, efficient, and met every need. 100% rating for the staff! Wished I was the Undercover Boss to reward this staff for their efforts. 'The View' located on the roof top was fun. Great guitar player along with food and drinks. Beautiful sunset while overlooking the Mississippi River. Delicious breakfast served in an immaculately kept dining area. Room was complete with a full kitchen and separate living area with second tv. Loved this hotel!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    10
    We will definitely visit again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need an ice machine on the floor and we laughed about how low the toilet was

    The comfortable bed and pillows, our view of the river, the location and the setup of the suite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2017

    8.8
    Solid hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was a pain, but there is vallet. And like I said, Turkey turkey sausage is awful.

    Loved the layout of the room. Sleeping quarters were cozy and kitchen/dining/living room was very spacious... breakfast was amazing both mornings, except the turkey sausage tasted like straight prison food.. But there was plenty other things to choose from. Room came equipped w dvd player and movies down stairs to borrow, as well as board games and a pool table. Family Dollar across street and Walgreens around the corner was super convient.. Not to mention how close we were to everything else...

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    9.6
    Location and cleanliness were perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Studio with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little expensive... but you get what you pay for!

    Location and cleanliness were perfect!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    10
    Lady at the front desk was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lady at the front desk was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    9.2
    No door
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The suite we had was a little dated and the bedroom was only divided by a wall, no door.

    Free breakfast and housekeeping.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was expensive. $20 per day.

    Friendly staff and excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    10
    Great!!! Would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing I didn't like about the property.

    Enjoyed my stay here. Everything was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    7.9
    The staff was amazing, super helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Little over priced

    The staff was amazing, super helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    10
    There is one word for this property AMAZING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I loved everything about this property

    There is one word for this property AMAZING

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    10
    We truly loved this hotel and plan on coming back in a few weeks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was gorgeous. Very modern chic. Very clean, we were both very impressed. That was the most attentive front desk ever.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2017

    7.1
    Overall it was an enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Confusion on staff explanation on inconsistent room charges

    Courtesy of valet staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stove didn't work

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    9.6
    Anniversary stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Th e service was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    10
    Excellent trip in Memphis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everyone was super friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2017

    8.8
    Excelent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathtop was not very clean

    Staff especially Pam and Olga. They were very helpful,polite, cheerful. We like the spacious suite and the terrace

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2017

    4.6
    Unpleasant surprise pet fee of $125. Beware!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Surprise $125 pet fee not disclosed until we got there. Plan accordingly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    9.6
    Nice clean and comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice clean and comfortable hotel. Staff was professional and very helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2016

    8.8
    Great location at an affordable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower didn't work properly and as a result had limited pressure.

    Helpfulness of the staff and vicinity to key attractions - we walked everywhere

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2016

    9.2
    Hotel was close to everywhere we needed to go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was free but it wasn't very good. Enjoyed that first cup of coffee, however.

    Hotel was close to everywhere we needed to go. Paid for valet parking at 11 am and didn't drive again until we left the next morning. The staff was great, super friendly and incredibly helpful.

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2016

    10
    Everything was perfect and I would stop in again
    • Couple

    I think it was all grand. I think it would be awesome to order food to come right to the room. We had a hard time find any resteraunts or cafes. Then again we re not used to the city ;)

    Everything was perfect and I would stop in again

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2016

    10
    I loved it it was comfortable,clean,the staff was awesome it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The valet parking was a little inconvenient because it was raining but no complaints

    I loved it it was comfortable,clean,the staff was awesome it was more than I expected

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2016

    10
    Really appreciated the lady at the receptionist desk named...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was ok.

    Really appreciated the lady at the receptionist desk named Ima Brown. She was extremely friendly and helpful and she answered all questions with a smile.

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2015

    10
    delicious breakfast included in room charge, large area for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    delicious breakfast included in room charge, large area for dining. Beautiful old building. Rooftop area is a must see. Just a few walkable blocks to Beale Street, yet quiet part of downtown.

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2015

    8.3
    The valets were so sweet and patient with us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was icky. Eggs were rubbery and there wasn't any bacon. The waffles were good but u have to make them yourself and my son wasn't patient. Only had fat free milk no chocolate. Didn't like our room was next to elevator and was so small for the price.

    The valets were so sweet and patient with us. Gerald even remembered my sons name and joked around with him. The rooms were clean and tidy.

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2015

    9.2
    All the staff were super friendly and accomodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were there for Memphis in May - so the prices were extremely inflated.

    All the staff were super friendly and accomodating. The room was perfect for our needs, clean and comfortable. The location was excellent for walking to the river, Beale Street, museums, parks, etc.

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2015

    7.9
    Very conveniently positioned for Beale Street, Main Street...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Freezing rain that unfortunately coincided with our visit - but you can't blame the hotel for that. Also we were asked for ID in a local bar even though we are both around 60 years old. Flattering or weird. Sadly we didn't have it so no drink!

    Very conveniently positioned for Beale Street, Main Street and downtown Nashville in general. Lovely building with some really nice art deco touches. We had cooking facilities in the room which were handy for making very nice coffee and popcorn. Not sure we really needed them otherwise though the fridge was handy for chilling wine. The breakfast was very good – waffles, potato cakes, granola and a good variety of lots of things. All in all a very pleasant and comfortable stay.

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2016

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    N/A

    Everything. Customer service was amazing and truly made our experience GREAT!

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2015

    9.6
    The roof balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The roof balcony. There was someone playing a sax down on the street below and the music floated up to us. View of the river and music. Wonderful!

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2015

    10
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None.

    Good location. Hotel room had cooking facilities, if required. Complimentary snacks and drinks available for guests later afternoon.

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2015

    5.8
    It's nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    They put us out our room

    It's nice

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2015

    9.6
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Avoid room 303 - it's on top of the air conditioning units and rather noisy.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2015

    5.8
    Convenient location
    • Couple

    Price of the room, over-priced for the condition of hotel...

    Convenient location

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2015

    7.9
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The decor was very drab and could do with redecorating

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2015

    7.1
    Kitchen in room, rooftop patio, free drinks and snacks in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No pool, slightly cramped room, on the expensive side

    Kitchen in room, rooftop patio, free drinks and snacks in the evening,, location

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2015

    9.6
    Excellent location to visit Memphis!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were in the smallest room on the floor. Still comfortable but small compared to the remainder of the floor.

    Excellent location to visit Memphis!

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: