Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Resort at Squaw Creek 4 stars

400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146, USA

#2 of 7 hotels in Olympic Valley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 359 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Queen Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sinks did not drain well in bathroom. A very spread out hotel. Minor but the restaurants were a bit out of the way and kind of weird location. It wasn't ideal with a large party to get a table at the restaurant because they wouldn't take reservations. A family of 12 couldn't get seated until 9 pm and eating at 9:30 pm when we arrived at 8 pm. This was not ideal. People just sitting around watching the games on TV and not ordering. Maybe have a separate sports bar so others can eat a meal between 6-8 pm. No other restaurants are close. So you have to really go out of your way for dinner outside hotel. This was less than ideal. Sandy's should be bigger as it has a good menu but not enough seating during prime time. Lots of kids running around hotel as it is a very active family hotel. Not exactly quiet and intimate. It just depends what you prefer

    I liked the variety of activities at the hotel. It was well thought out and organized hotel. Decent food options from very casual to fine dining. Beds comfortable. Beautiful view. Friendly easy going staff. Really liked the gym, wet sauna and dry sauna facilities. The hot tubs were nice as they were designated for both adult and separate for children with different temperatures.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fireplace Suite - Forest View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is on small size. Kitchen too small and barely functioning. A lot of things are not free. Went to Yoga and wasn't told that they would charge us.

    The lift is right there. No line! Awesome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fireplace Suite - Forest View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No activities available for weekdays. Everything was available for weekend.

    Very comfortable bed. Everything was so clean! We came here for a quick vacation and simply everything was amazing! A lot things to do around here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Queen Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication—Squaw Creek lift and this end of mountain closed—would have liked warning. Ski Valet closed. Found out by not getting phone answered, walked downstairs and asked how I get my skis—they sent me into a room to find them.

    Rooms are great. Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was just a little soft for my taste. We were unable to find parking the main lot and it was pouring rain so we had to use the valet service.

    Hotel is beautiful and has a wonderful location close to all that Squaw Valley and Truckee have to offer. Very romantic setting with a gorgeous view. Breakfast buffet was delicious and had great variety of fresh and local options. Room was clean and tastefully decorated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fireplace Suite - Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool area does not look too pretty :) some pools were closed (winter) with plastic cover not very attractive look.

    The hotel is very close to the slopes of Squaw Valley. It also has 1 lift right next to it. So you can start skiing right from the hotel. Shuttle to Alpine Meadows every half hour - very convenient. Also Jacuzzi and small swimming pool open 7 am- 11pm, so regardless of when you arrive you can soak and have fun outside looking at beautiful mountains.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minor downside was that there were no instructions as to how to work the coffee machine in the kitchenette, though a quick call to “guest services” was all that was needed for a bit of guidance. It was simple.

    Beautiful resort in a fantastic location. Perfect if you want to ski. There is onsite ski/snow gear rental and an onsite ski lift, tho this is not for beginner skiers. But don’t fear, the Resort provides a regular free shuttle service to Squaw Valley village (5min drive) & Alpine Meadows to accomodate all ski levels. Resort facilities & service are world class. A meal at the onsite Grille restaurant is a must if you want fine dining, The food/service was superb. the pub style restaurant is also fab if you want something a little more casual. A swim in the heated pool and hot tubs at night under the stars is worth a try. Towels, robes and slippers provided. We had a king valley view fireplace suite, which was very well appointed and included a kitchenette. Highly recommend Resort a Squaw Creek as a great place for everyone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fireplace Suite - Forest View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the rainy weather on the last day of our ski trip but as awesome as The Resort is even you guys couldn't control that!

    Everything about the resort was an exceptional. We had a delightful dinner at Six Peaks with Amber as our server

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fireplace Suite - Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Six Peaks Grille: very sophisticated dining but over the top menu selection. Tasty but no opportunity for simple and healthy cuisine: ie, no plain grilled fish etc. or plain salad. Value did not match quality of food. Steaks were predictably expensive and my son enjoyed the bison ribeye. I ordered the homemade pasta with shrimp, which was the smallest portion imaginable with only 3! medium size regular shrimp. For $39, they should have been jumbo! Our waiter Jonathan was very gracious but I didn't need a blow-by-blow detailed description of each ingredient in the dish (clearly, he was asked to memorize the chef's interpretation). Marin at front desk was dead-pan and perfunctory and offered no information beyond the minimum, unlike other staff there.

    Staff is incredibly friendly, welcoming and helpful, especially Zach at front desk and bell hops/valets. Mattress is super comfortable. Loved set-up of King Fireplace mini-suite. Quiet, forest view. Plenty of amenities. $5 credit if you skip housekeeping. Fitness room amenities: I skied all day after checking out and was permitted to shower before departing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Queen Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The relation price/actual service. Very exoensive. The website said breakfast included, but at the checkout I had to pay for breakfast.

    The website sell it as a suite; it was a very common room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fireplace Suite - Valley View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There needs to be elevator access between the rooms, the ski rental shop and the spa. For someone with tricky knees, after a day of skiing, all those extra stairs are unpleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Queen Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The base Room rate was reasonable but all the extras added up quickly ($40 valet, $30 resort fee per night and late check out fee of $150). Room was very small for 2 adults and 2 children which is what we selected when booking. The late check out was very expensive and based on a bad experience with having our bags arrive to our room over two hours after we checked into hotel, I felt they should have compensated us with complimentary late check out. Hotel waived the resort fee of $30 for inconvenience but $500 for 1 night stay was a bit much considering the room size and the significant delay in start of our stay because bags were lost.

    Beautiful location. Nice swimming pool and hot tub. Ski lifts right outside hotel. Several restaurant choices onsite. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room - Valley View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They dropped the ball at every turn. Bellman never came for luggage TWICE. They gave up my room after they told me not to worry about it. The room key didn’t work consistently. Packages could not be delivered in a timely manner. The business facility was ill equipped and items to be printed had to be emailed to the front desk because the printer would not work. The room phone wouldn’t charge so it could only be used as a speaker phone. After much complaining management apologized and offered to comp the nightly valet parking ($40), room upgrade fee ($50) & resort fee ($35) when I received the final bill they had charged an extra $1900 of the supposed waived fees and refused to reverse them back out. This place is a well known service nightmare in Squaw Valley.

    The waterfall is nice. Best place to buy ski boots is Elite Feet which is on property.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV didn't work-- first the battery in the remote was dead, then no stations came in -- they said it was due to the snow storm. They wouldn't adjust my price after realizing I should have gotten a 25% discount via my corporate discount program.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel did not meet expectations. It was overpriced for what it delivered. The quality of the experience was very disappointing. The hotel was disorganized - from check in/check out, to housekeeping, to food and beverage.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room - Valley View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were there in the snow, so very cold. Rooms get cold, not great heating. Bring a blanket. Hot Chocolate in the morning. Fun things for my kids 11 and 15 to do. Close to everything needed. Sandy's Pub has really good food and service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fireplace Suite - Forest View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I know it picky, but for a suite there should be a TV in the bathroom. Also, having the spa directly across from the gym really detracted from what should be a tranquil spa vibe.

    Liked the location! It was an amazing property on its own but it was also close to the lake, good food, and amazing hikes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We went for a long weekend trip to Squaw and had the best time. The staff was so friendly and attentive. We got snowed in and they helped us as well with logistics. We ice skated and were close to the Village. Definitely recommend!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pub downstairs had really mediocre food. The onion rings literally came out of a Sysco Foods bag! A little creativity would go a long way in the primary casual dining restaurant on the property.

    Really comfortable accommodation right at the base of Squaw. The ski valet rocked!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Returant service is a little inconsistent/slow. But generally worth the wait.

    Beautiful facilities, very good restaurants in all levels, reasonably priced rooms for high-end accommodations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fireplace Suite - Valley View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear the people in the room next door as there is a connecting door in the room. Restaurants and bar area are closed early, not able to get anything later at night.

    Beautiful location, service was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room - Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Valet and bell hop couldn't figure out how to get our bags to our room. We did what they asked us to do (give them car key, leave bags in our car, and they'll deliver bags to room), but they couldn't remember how to do this, so we waited an hour for bags after we had skied all day. - Rooms were LOUD. We could hear everything going on in rooms around us. - Ski valet couldn't get their act together - not only with us, but with others in hotel (based on our conversations and witnessing activities). - Restaurants were packed with hour-plus wait times for two people. - In-room dining was a little cafeteria downstairs that doesn't have wide menu. Pizza is lousy and took a long time. Morning hash browns were french fries. - There were drunk college kids in bathrobes in the lobby singing with the lounge singer. - If this hotel wasn't located at Squaw, with lift service out of its back door, it would be the equivalent of a Holiday Inn. The lobby view and ease for skiing are its only redeeming qualities.

    The proximity to skiing is the only redeeming quality of this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fireplace Suite - Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The resort was amazing! The staff ( Conor on the front desk was so helpful), the beds were so comfortable, the pool and tub after a long day of snowboarding was the top the la creme. My husband dropped of our kid at the ski camp with the shuttle and than he was able to ski his way back to the hotel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room - Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sandy's pub didn't have great service. Would like to have more dining options and wished the ice rink was open more, but they can't control the weather.

    Tyson was the best! Provided great and pleasant service and helped greatly when our car battery had died. Went well out of his way to assist us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Queen Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The self-packing area is limited, it is hard to find the parking packing after 4:00pm.

    The staff is friendly, the lobby is very welcoming. Easy to access ski area and have onside restaurant and fee coffee in the morning!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fireplace Suite - Forest View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is too far from main lobby No covered connection from room building to lobby. Having umbrellas to cover is not chic Service at the restaurants is terrible. The hostess at Six Peaks needs replacement. Food quality is questionable The sofa bed is really uncomfortable Poor in room lighting Needs warm floors in bathroom The quality of soap and shampoo is so cheap Housekeeping takes forever to fix your room No amenities in the lobby (only free water, really?) Mistakes in my final billing (charged someone’s food bill on my room)

    Location and access to the chair lift for ski in and out Lobby is gorgeous Stores offer high quality products Comfortable main bed Good TV Heating is excellent (fireplace and heater) Clean carpet Small kitchen and fridge (stove no use though) Dinning table in rooms Extra storage closets

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room - Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price, it would have been nice to get a little more value and not have the food costs be so high for the food that was in the mid-price range.

    It was very convenient for access to the ski runs but to get back to the resort you would need to be able to ski a difficult blue run. The food on the property was likable, and beds were comfortable that you were able to get a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room - Valley View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ski shop overcharged ski package (then rebate the difference when discovered). Front desk overcharged our stay by $800, then said it was "an accounting error" with no apology. I had to spend 30 minutes combing through the bill to find the overages and the desk did nothing other than reprint the invoice. Sandy's restaurant appears to be run by mainly high school kids. Food is subpar and comes out cold (onion rings) or tasteless and overflowing the glass (milkshake) so that you're left with a messy table. Oh, and don't get a room that faces the pool and slopes. At 2am the snow groomer truck comes to refinish the snow near the lift with a super loud backup alert (beep beep beep...) which wakes you up every morning.

    Ski in, ski out was nice. Hot tub was hot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was excellent, very tasty but I think at least that should be included in the high price per night that we payed. Beautiful spot, but all that glitters New Year's Kaleidoskope party sucked! Awful music and DJ, didn't meet the described expectations, it really sounded exceeding, but it was opposite. Dinner was ok, too expensive tickets for that kind of aparty and a dinner, plus we payed for drinks.

    Breakfast was excellent, very tasty but I think at least that should be included in the high price per night that we payed, super comfortable stay and feeling like a fairytale, the village is pretty close that gives you extra fantasy story for your trip, amazing hot tubs in the middle of the winter cold, spa is amazing, very nice spiritual places, ski-lift and sledding field right there, everything is close by and amazing! It was our 1 year anniversary with my husband, the staff left us a bottle of champagne and chocolate strawberries in the room with a beautiful note congratulating us! Very sweet of them. I WILL COME BACK BUT NOT FOR THE PARTY FOR THE HOTEL FOR SURE IT IS BEYOND LOVING

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fireplace Suite - Valley View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had asked for early check in prior to my arrival and of course that didn't happen. I was told 30 minutes and it ended up being 2 hours. After traveling 9 hours to get there it was a miserable wait with a very tired 7 year old. This resort gouges you on everything. They charge $25 a day for a resort fee, yet charge extra for ice skates and everything else. I'm a generous tipper but didn't this trip because of the outrageous fees for everything.

    I was traveling with my 7 year old grandson and he loved the skating rink, movie night and room service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fireplace Suite - Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This resort has it all! It has gorgeous views and too many amenities to count. The staff is top notch. We were even treated to a view of the Squaw Valley fireworks at night :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Queen Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In an attempt to meet the “guaranteed check-in by 4:00”, we were assigned a room that was not ready - dirty bathroom, un-refreshed coffee/tea, bathrobes had to be delivered. We realize it was a busy time, but feel like the check-in could have been handled differently. Especially since we started contacting the hotel at 12:30 about check-in, but continued to be told we couldn’t get on their early check-in list until we were there in person. After arriving, we were patient about waiting until 4:00 - but disappointed in the state of the room.

    The resort is beautiful! Winter activities were great - including ice skating and hot tubs opened until 11:00. Free shuttle service to/from the village is very convenient. The staff worked hard to make up for a less than perfect check-in experience for us, and we appreciate that!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room - Valley View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls between rooms are a little thin, noise carries, especially across the inside doors between rooms

    All the staff were super friendly and highly professional. Rooms, amenities, and food were all top notch.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Queen Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is old and not renovated yet.

    The services from staff are very good, the facilities are good, my family has a lot of activities to do arround the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room - Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutly nothing - everything was perfect

    Just behind the ski lift !!! The localization is perfect and the view from the main entrance is awesome !!! :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Queen Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door connected to neighbor's room. It locked but you can here loud conversations and crying kids at night.

    Resort located in breathtaking Squaw Valley surrounded by mountains. Nice beautiful property.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Queen Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and Jacuzzi were filled with leaves. We had no glasses in our room to drink water. The staff at front desk were not very helpful. Very disappointed

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room - Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Self-parking is a hassle. They offer valet, but the resort is already on the pricey side.

    Beautiful location. Great amenities for families. Quiet room with comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Fireplace Suite - Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cost was excessive for the room but understandable for the resort.

    Room was very roomy and perfect for a hassle free comfortable stay in a beautiful setting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Valley View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Diningroom was closed two out of the three nights we were there. The one night that we ate there the beef prices were exorbitant. No unsalted butter or even unflavored butter was available. The dining room did not carry the gin we like but the bar did and they didn't communicate or share. The bar menu was definitely limited. The concierge was of little or no help and she seemed to care less. Clearly this is a resort of corporate retreats and destination weddings outside of ski season. Staff has little interest in the occasional guests wishing to stay in a nice place to explore the area.

    GOOD PANCAKES. Good access to Lake Tahoe.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Queen Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Your cost control systems are too effective. It was hard even to get a decent shower, because the volume of the water had been restricted.

    It is a nice, workmanlike hotel--nothing special but nothing to criticize.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Queen Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bell service wasn't available on Monday September 25th. On the first day we arrived they took a while. Felt like I was obligated to use bell service when we got there because we needed the cart to haul bags to the room. Would have helped myself if I know the service was spotty.

    Walking trail, heated pool, amazing views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Queen Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The phone on the nightstand didn't work, there was no clock in the room, one of the knobs had come off the dresser, and one of the lights was out in the bathroom.

    The bed was very comfy, I slept like a log

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room - Valley View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If anything, and this is not a big thing, but while lounging around the pool, we found that either there weren't enough servers to come and take food and drink orders, or it simply took too long for service. But no biggie.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fireplace Suite - Forest View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pool chairs are uncomfortable.

    The pool is in a beautiful setting. Good pool service. If you want to relax, this is the place. Also great for families.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food selection and quality was mediocre. Expensive, but not great.

    A great family hotel, away from the noise. Had a shuttle that took you in and from the village. The pool was awesome! My family stayed there all day!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room - Valley View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed by the service at the front desk and Six Peaks Grille. It wasn't atrocious but some lacked customer focus.

    Love the variety of activities for adults and kids on the property and the proximity to Olympic Valley.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guard at the gate was rude and condescending. I suspect being a young non-white had something to do with it.

    Swimming Pool was great! Viewing decks were comfortable and had shady seating to enjoy the mountain views.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room - Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rebekah at check in , no welcome back or anniversary acknowledged.

    When we arrived at check in we were not welcomed back or acknowledged that it was our anniversary. We had gotten married at the resort last year in June. While waiting for bell to take our bags and see the front office people standing as we waited we were not impressed. However after waiting by the pool for our room to be ready and enjoying the day as well as live music we began to relax. Upon check in to our room The Concierge Kate Ulberg was simple wonderful, and went above and beyond. Kate had a welcome back card and a nice bottle of wine as well as a thoughtful gift in our wedding colors waiting for us. IT simple made our weekend. We ate at six peaks and Amber was our server, she was so prompt, kind, and friendly. Please make sure Kate & Amber are acknowledged for their outstanding service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night

    had pool time on Sunday morning between 9:15 to 10:45. distinct natural gas odor detected during that time possibly from fire pit from the pub? Or some other source. It was not pleasant to breath that air. Also families enjoying the pool with young children with screaming loud voices. Makes it unpleasant for those of us who now travel without young children. And most of us would be controlling our children voice volume in such shared setting. The other pool could possibly become a "children's play pool". ? Just some thoughts.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room - Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like that our room was separated from our neighbors by only a door. If you're a two room family, it would be great. Since I was traveling with my son, I didn't mind the lack of privacy. I don't recall if this was described online when I booked the room. Thankfully, both sides of the door were quiet! The interior is starting to have that dated look, but this is minor. The only other issue/problem I had was with the food choices - we ate at the pub and the deli - both were expensive, and the execution was average. However, everything was fresh and lots of kid friendly choices.

    The property and amenities are fantastic. It's a beautiful setting with great services, and excellent staff. The pools are beautiful, the terraces - awesome. There's a shuttle that goes to Squaw Village. A schedule of events for guests is posted in the lobby everyday. I was very content sitting in the hot tub, enjoying the view and the stars.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Queen Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a bit far from the rooms. Didn't want to pay $25 for valet when I am already paying a resort fee! I was slightly concerned that I might run into a bear on the way to my car at night.

    Very comfy beds Clean Quiet Great outdoor heated pools and jacuzzis Beautiful views Relaxing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fireplace Suite - Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort could use a little updating. It's very 90's style.

    I love the location of this ski-in-and-out facility. Get a room with the breathtaking mountains; so worth it!!! The hotel is spacious and has a large heated pool, as well as several hot tubs. A paradise for young, old, and romantics. The staff makes this place. Everyone seems to like what they are doing. The restaurant was superb!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I've been going to Squaw for 8 years since moving to America and the kids love it but the service didn't feel like it lived up to other trips. Maybe felt a bit out of season and they were cutting back to save money. Breakfast the pastries weren't fresh and they could make life easier leaving out coffee and juice for self service.

    Good location, great pool and hot tubs. Lift was working when others in the resort wasn't.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phones not working so had to use our cell phone to call concierge. Not a big deal

    The senary is amazing. The staff at the spa were wonderful. Love the spa.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Fireplace Suite - Forest View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room keys do not work well. It forgot to snow! That we have to leave!

    Food was fabulous as were the shops. Views .ambience and the high quality of our ADA equipped room. Ease of everything.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fireplace Suite - Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was not at all friendly or helpful. The Squaw Creek lift was closed with no warning during our stay which took away from the overall experience.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shuttle wouldn't pick us up in the parking lot when we were lost. Finding the shuttle pickup and drop off spot was difficult. Staff wasn't very helpful overall, except for the bell desk.

    The bed pillows were relatively comfy and the lift was next to the hotel, despite it being closed on Saturday.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room - Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I came at high season and it was a bit pricey. Snow was so heavy so 90% of lifts couldn't operate(not a hotel's fault at all)

    Can access to a ski lift at hotel but if you want to go all lifts , you should take a 10mins free shuttle bus, great facilities, kids friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Guests have to walk outside and down a long walkway to get to the lobby, outside and down 2 sets of stairs to the spa and fitness area, down 5 set of stairs outside to the pool... weather was single to double digit with blowing winds. Poor set up for winter. Housekeeping did not clean our room until very late after we called to ask each day. TV was set so one person in King room had to turn head to see it. The ski lift is long and slow. The resort is very expensive so we expected better.

    The Six Peaks restaurant on site was better than the Plump Jack! The masseuse, Andrew, was wonderful. Our room was roomy, comfortable, good bed and pillows, safe in room, free internet. The elevators were fast. The ski in-ski out was the bid attraction along with the spa and the hotel's fine dining restuarant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Queen Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No roof when walking between the lobby and and the guests tower. Waited over an hour for the valet parking. No indoor parking. Breakfast is at extra cost. Spa is outdoors.

    Lobby is really nice. Rooms are OK. Location near the Ski lift is also good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went to the breakfast buffet and you have to ask the server for many items, coffee , juice , cutlery , sauces ... felt like they did that so that the staff would get tips but makes it less efficient for customer . Also rooms are located in another building which doesn't have a covered walk way . Housekeeping start knocking at 8am . Not negative but just to be aware , very family orientated so lots of children running around and can be a bit noisy if you next door to them .

    Excellent location for ski in ski out. Was very convenient to be able to rent skis and store them each day right on your door step . Convenient shuttle bus to the village for more dining options.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Fireplace Suite - Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to walk outside in storm to get to main part of hotel where great restaurants were but they did provide umbrellas ... I had to stretch for this one! I

    Loved room with separate BR and sitting/ dinning area with fireplace. Windows all around and view was exceptional! Weren't expecting such a well stocked kitchen or such a wonderful staff which did everything for us. All in all it was a delightful getaway in the middle of a huge snow storm in January.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Fireplace Suite - Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location of property without Squaw Creek chairlift being open was a disaster. Also, not having a decent restaurant open during our stay was a disappointment as well as 6 Peaks was closed.

    Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Queen Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couple things were annoying -but by no means would have caused me not to stay there again. The walkway to the pool was an icy mess - to the point of being dangerous. Note it is also far from the hotel - the hot tub was luke warm also - it may have been broken or something. Luckily there are three to pick from. The hotel part is a hike from the main check in area - and part of the walk is outdoor. My biggest issue is the food options - breakfast choices are poor and horribly overpriced - like $8.50 for a sausage egg cheese (in a pre-made patty heated up) on a croissant, $5.00 starbucks venti coffee (black coffee) - etc. recommend shopping for food before hand. The middle range restaurant was of very poor quality. Part of this may be I was at Whistler the week before and the food choices were absolutely fantastic and reasonable!

    Location was fantastic! Wifi was blazing fast, main lodge is beautiful! Valet was fast and friendly. Staff was super friendly and eager to please.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Queen Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could get better training and/or more support during busy weekends. They were clearly short staffed during the Christmas/New Year week. As a result, the desk staff was short tempered and snippy at guests. The room we were put in was not clean. It clearly appeared that it had not been dusted or vacuumed. I had a horrible allergy attack and broke out in hives all over my face and other exposed areas of my body. My guess is that there was a pet in the room and that the floor was not vaccuumed or that the pillow was not changed. So, I asked to be moved. Rather than immediately apologizing and asking to accommodate me, the front desk instead questioned my claims asking me why I was only breaking out a couple days after I checked in. As if they didn't believe that my allergies were real. It could have been bed bugs that I was reacting to for all I know, yet I was being very understanding and reasonable and not demanding anything other than to ask if it was possible to be moved. I could have canceled our trip and asked for reimbursement. We're loyal guests to the Resort and had stayed there numerous times and in fact had another upcoming reservation. So, I asked the front desk to please put a note on our file stating that I have allergies to pet dander and if at all possible to put me in a room where the owner does not own a dog. Rather than just saying ok, the front desk person wanted to tell me that they can't do that because they can't guarantee that a service dog might have stayed in the room before me. I wasn't asking to make sure no dogs ever stay at any room I stay in. Rather, just put a note stating that I am allergic so please put me in a room where there is less of a chance that a dog definitely stays there (i.e. A room where the owner does not have a dog or does not allow non-service dogs to stay).

    The location and ski in/ski out ability is great. It is also much better than the village which could get loud. The location and facilities are family friendly. I liked my massage and massage therapist. She was very knowledgeable about muscles and the best massages for skiers. The valet staff does their absolute best and are unsung heroes. They dig out your car from under the snow and always are happy to see you. They work so hard. My family and I have gotten to know the shuttle drivers and truly love seeing them every year. It is always with sadness that we take our last shuttle ride every season but we get very excited to see them upon our return the next season.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fireplace Suite - Valley View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly managed primary casual restairant during holiday time (lots of empty un-bussed tables at Sandys Pub) while running an hour wait.

    On property options for food are good. Spectacular view. They may try to put you on the second floor even if you paid for a view, but we were accommodated and put on the sixth floor when we asked. It made a huge difference on our five night stay during a major snowstorm.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fireplace Suite - Valley View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One thing was that you had to use a bell boy which is fine but we sat in our room for 30 minutes waiting for our luggage so we could go eat dinner. Had to call the desk to see where our luggage was, then on the checkout the bellman came and loaded 2 Playmates on top of each other which fell on the ground breaking some bottles in it and spilling all over.That is common sense that you don't stack 2 playmates on each other since they aren't flat-no paper towels or coffee filters in the room-called for them but did not receive them so went out and bought them-other than that I would stay there again but just have some ideas for future guests. I don't think many people cook there but we did breakfast and needed some things for the kitchen.

    The location was really nice and the room was nice

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Fireplace Suite - Valley View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I should have requested a handicap suite - long way to elevator - my fault!

    View was breathtaking! My daughter and granddaughter were able to enjoy sledding, ice skating, all in a lovely decorated setting.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Enjoyed our first time visit with excellent accommodations, friendly staff and fantastic resort overall. Sitting on the outdoor patio sipping wine and taking in magnificent mountain views, followed by wonderful spa treatments--magical! Perfect for our fall weekend getaway!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room - Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty slow service at the cafe ... not just too many people, but workers really moving slowly, not knowing how to work the systems, not knowing the menu. Self parking is too crowded ... I shouldn't have to cruise around and wait for someone to leave.

    Location is great, overall feel of the resort is great. Comfortable rooms. Love the shuttle to the village, but would ideally like it to run more often (3 times per hour?). Also, having a nice walkable path to get to the village would also be great (for the summer months).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Fireplace Suite - Valley View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the menus for the 3 restaurants on site were limited. it would have been great if there were a jacuzzi closer to the guest rooms and/or spa. We didn't use it because it was too far to walk to in the cold weather from our room.

    The property is beautiful! The spa service was amazing (ask for Norma Jean if you get a massage)! The room was nice and the staff was super friendly!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fireplace Suite - Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Still not sure how the frequent user program works. This is our 3rd year in a row, and nobody from hotel has followed up with us.

    For our size and age of family the resort is perfect. Family golf, swimming, work out facilities and great hikes keep us very active all week. Many food options at resort and short drive to both Truckee and Tahoe city and O village if you feel like a change of pace. Bike riding, badminton, chess and spa are all accessible at resort. The resort is first class and best thing is you don't see any lines or get that over crowded feeling like a lot of resorts in the summer.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Queen Room - Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we called to get our car because we forgot something in the car. When we went down stairs to get into the car no one was there. Our car was in the same spot with our keys in the csr.

    The room was awesome!! Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room - Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service from and at the pool bar was poor. I was ignored while staff served and chatted with younger customers who showed up after I did. Wait staff also walked right passed us as we lounged by the pool while asking other customers if they wanted anything. I felt that as a senior I as slighted. Also the room smelled musty.

    Beautiful place with great amenities, especially the pool. Most of the staff was great, especially the bell staff, front desk and the staff at the cafe.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: