Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rodeway Inn - Berkeley 2 stars

1461 University Avenue, Berkeley, CA 94702, USA

#14 of 23 hotels in Berkeley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 290 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    City hotel in Berkley, perfect for visiting SF downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room could be cleaner (more focus here than on the outdoor facilities); strange spots on our door to the bathroom; carpet should be replaced

    Quiet,spacoius room; outdoor facilities very clean; American breakfast in the small lobby with good coffee; easy free parking; 5 min walk to Bart station (metro to SF downtown in ca. 30 minutes); fridge and microwave in the room; neighborhood ok; uncomplicated proplong of our stay; good WiFi

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    4.6
    Will not stay again or recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are cleaned with a cleaner that is stronger than any cleaner I have ever smelled. It was so strong the rooms reaked that were being cleaned all the way out to the parking lot outside. We tried to air out our room with the door open for an hour after we first got there. And after that we had to sleep with the window open (which thankfully they do open). It was toxic and made it impossible to breathe or sleep. I did let the office know that it was an issue (my daughter also had severe asthma due to how strong it was). The response wasn't even an apology - it was very much a who cares attitude, with a small "i'll tell housekeeping". I will not be staying at this hotel again.

    Average room - convenient location. It would have met expecations except for complaints listed below.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.2
    The guy working the desk continued to party and be loud...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy working the desk continued to party and be loud outside my room all night long. I was woken by loud hindi yelling at least 3 times and what appeared to be his family and extended family packed into one room. Very disappointed and i got zero rest.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    3.3
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The paint from the ceiling was falling off. Room is very small, you barely can put all your baggage. It is outdated and the carpet should be washed or replaced. It is stated that the breakfast is from 6:30 am till 10 am, but there is no enough food even if you come in 7 am.

    Nothing. Maybe free parking but you need to fight for it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.3
    It was decent and served the purpose of being close to UC Berkeley
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dirty, we had to wipe down everything, blanket had stains

    Close to UC Berkeley, nice people at the front desk When I told them the blanket had stains they immediately placed it, they clean the room when ask, the continental breakfast was good and they provided ample replacements of the food

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Overnight Stay In Berkley
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didnt like was no coffee maker in unit.

    Property was quiet. Staff was polite and friendly.It was clean. Environment was relaxed and peaceful. Conveniently located.Price was affordable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    I highly recommend this hotel!
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I highly recommend this hotel! The cleanliness of the room and all the amenities for the price were fantastic. The staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.0
    Sounded like construction going on in the room next door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sounded like construction going on in the room next door. Go little sleep. Desk attendant promised continental breakfast at a certain time in the morning. At that time the attendant refused to do anything (even make coffee) available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Pricey for the room, but worth it for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a washcloth covered in tiny black hairs left hanging over the shower curtain and a bunch of long dark hair clumps in the tub (not our hair)

    Location to local theater was perfect, front desk clerks were very friendly & helpful, room had nice shutters that blocked out light, off street parking, quiet area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    2.9
    Next time I will splurge in spending $20 more to stay somewhere nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was rude. The staff member finished his cigarette, knowing I was waiting for him to return my ID, before coming back inside to return it to me. The walls are incredibly thin here so you can hear guests screwing at 3AM. This place is not okay. Avoid it.

    I liked that the location was at least within a mile of UC Berkeley.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    It was pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continental breakfast could use a little work. I was expecting better waffles than toaster waffles. Otherwise it was good.

    This was definitely best franchise hotel that I have used. There are some signs that there is work to be done. Ie. cracks in the Bathroom door. However, the owners did the most important parts first. The bed was comfortable, the carpets were clean and had clearly had been replaced recently. The room was definitely worth the money paid. I would stay here again. It was

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Good place to sleep if you want to visit the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could have been bigger, better pillows, blankets, bigger bathroom, softer bed, lol, but if I wanted all of that I would have stayed at the Hilton and paid 5x times what I paid here.

    Visiting only for the day and our objective was to Uber or Lyft around downtown and check out the town on a Thursday night so we just needed a place to sleep and this place was truly perfect for that. Though small and packed in, it was clean enough, the bed soft enough and the shower hot. It was close to everything we wanted to do/see and the price seemed fair for what we got.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location for Bart & easy to get to SFO from here. Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like the use of paper plates & plastic cutlery for breakfast. No coffee making in the room

    Easy to find & good for travel using the Bart

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    3.3
    A real flee bag
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean, the bed had a severe sag in middle, there were ants in bathroom and sink area, tv controller didn’t work, will never stay there again or recommend it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is a jem in the middle of Berkeley.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free wifi is always good. It was a very nice place to stay and the pictures that have been shared show no surprises. It's very cozy. It is close to my job and to all main areas of Berkeley, including BART. I plan on booking this hotel from now on when I stay overnight, if available.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Rodeway inn
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of other occupants. Free Breakfast advertised is misleading

    Access to Bart station, 7-11, university. Mention that the inn is a 7 minute walk from north Berkeley station so newcomers won't need to find a ride to rodeway.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    6.3
    Convenient location close to Bart and UC.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not cheap when taxes are reflected. I could smell the hint of cigarettes too. Front desk staff was polite and accommodating. I checked in 2200 on Feb 12.

    Convenient location close to Bart and UC. Plus there's a 7-11 close by. I felt safe walking late at night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    The bed is like a cloud very comfy and they have a sitting...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was really nice

    The bed is like a cloud very comfy and they have a sitting area where you can use ur computer and eat breakfast nice location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Rodeway Inn Berkeley CA
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated. Small area for breakfast

    Very close to the rail link into San Francisco. Walking distance to many bars and restaurants. Easy access to the interstate

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    Quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet. Comfy bed. Great restaurants on same block. Used AC Transit bus to get to campus & back, after our first looong walk. Rooms are single story, so no one above/below you. Complimentary breakfast is minimal, but there is a coffee shack several doors down.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable basic accommodation a little way from downtown Berkeley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby was a small room lacking charm with a counter and a few chairs and tables doubling as breakfast room. The included breakfast was quite basic, and I would have preferred a cheaper rate and taken advantage of the excellent nearby eateries. No interesting tourist sights within walking distance. On returning to pick up left luggage, no toilet facilities were available.

    Very comfortable bed, rooms well insulated for sound and heat, though some noise from courtyard cars. Aircon effective. Good furnishings. Close to some very good eateries. Nice that room was available for early arrival. Good access to public transport with bus by door and BART an easy walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    5.8
    Good location on University Street. Convenient. Staff friendly. They need to get new furniture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room smelled and needed to be ventilated. Air conditioner didn't work properly. Needs new furniture - desk had broken drawer, and chair had old upholstery that needed cleaning.

    Clean room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.5
    Decent hotel for good price, free parking and wifi big pluses
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom of my room had clearly been upgraded, but the room itself had not and was basic. It was clean, but worn out and aging.

    The location in Berkeley is great - very near the North Berkeley BART station, giving easy access to the rest of the Bay Area. The free on-site parking is a huge perk and uncommon in this city. Wifi worked great, staff was accommodating and friendly. The breakfast is very basic - coffee/tea, juice, cold cereal, and toast, but no complaints, it is super convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    4.6
    Overpriced for the condition of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty! The outdoor steps were hideous. The dirt on the bathroom door frame was hopefully blood, and not the other dark bodily fluid. Hairs were found in places they should not be. Ceiling peeling from water damage. Lots of chipped paint.

    The freezer actually froze my ice pack, and water.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    3.3
    Keep on looking, don't waste your money here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Harassed by the owners about the guests I had over, they thought they were spending the night (over the limit of the allowed guest) even though they were there for about an hour.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    Surprisingly great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little uncomfortable and outlets needed to be updated because they were a little loose on some.

    The cleanliness of the room was better than expected. Really liked the upgraded baths with granite tiles and shower heads were tall for my partner. Wi-Fi was fast and reliable. Parking is nice and secluded from main street. Perfect stay for the price. A.C. unit worked like a champ! Entrance is only accessible from university ave.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    3.8
    Dishonest front desk
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dishonest desk staff. I asked to check out one day early. She said I needed to call booking.com. Bookimg.com policy is they check with hotel. Response from manager that booking.com received was they would not refund because it is a busy weekend. On speaker phone with Booking and lady at front desk she still wanted to make excuses and blame others. She never would be honest. Room was cramped. Two beds jammed in one foot apart. Not night stand. Beds are hard as a rock.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    5.4
    Hard to justify price, even on Graduation Weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On a normal weekend, I would think this place would go for maybe $125/night. Because of graduation, the four nights cost us over $1000, including taxes. Don't know their regular charges/night, but this really felt like gouging. Yes - Berkeley is expensive to visit, but really!!! The tiny breakfast area had decent coffee, and packaged butterhorns. Dry cereal and oatmeal you could add hot water to. Very basic stuff, but would keep body and soul together if you couldn't get to a restaurant. Most nearby were not open for breakfast.

    Stayed here during graduation weekend at UC Berkeley. This is a very average motel originally built many years ago, but claimed a remodel about 10 years ago. Three adults managed to stay in the room, but it was among the smallest I have stayed in in years. If this wasn't one of the busiest weekends of the year, I probably wouldn't choose it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    5.8
    The location is convenient, close to North Berkeley station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room definitely needs some renovations. The sink was broken. The AC is out of date and very loud. Also the walls were quite dirty in several places. It is better for the hotel to say that there is no breakfast at all, because what they call breakfast is indeed something terrible. The jams are bad and the package was dirty. Often there was no coffee at all. There was even no fruits. The stuff was acting weird. I have asked for the receipt at check in and gave them the address, they put it in the form incorrectly, so I asked them to change it, they said that they made all the changes. At check out I asked for the document and the address was incorrect. Moreover they were telling me that it is my fault and that it is me who typed the address. It was quite rude and never happened with me before.

    The location is convenient, close to North Berkeley station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    5.8
    Nice Staff, But Sub-Par Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is a little sketchy. University Avenue is not the best choice for visiting Berkeley University.

    North Beach Pizza, just up the street, was pretty good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.5
    I've Ben staying there now along time like 3 times a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've Ben staying there now along time like 3 times a week the rooms aren't that nice but there very acomondating ..... and the lady at the front desk is so sweet ❤️I will always come back

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    5.0
    OK choose without breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the licht didn't work in the bathroom, when I asked to fix it,.. He asked me of i could manage it without... He send someone in the end, but it took a lot of effort. And the breakfast was pore, little to choose form.

    The room was clean and just renovated. The room looks good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    6.7
    Good location, more or less nice.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some things were a bit strange—poorly installed shower rod, broken molding...as if a drunken handy man had done some of the repairs. Also, the wifi frequently stopped working, and getting the staff to reset it took copious explanation.

    Good location right next to a Thai restaurant, room layout was spacious and logical.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    6.7
    Hard to find anything cheaper...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Noisy boulevard, also in the night. The breakfast is kind of a lie, since only some coffee, juice, milk, bread and jam are available, so you cannot consider it a meal. The furniture is old and the entire room would need some refreshment.

    Hard to find something cheaper and pretty close to downtown Berkeley. 20min walk to campus.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    7.9
    Hot coffee from the office.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have helped if description had told us it was near the N. Berkeley BART station -- we got off at the other one and had a long walk. Not clear why we were not eligible for an AARP or AAA discount. No rack at sink for hand towel

    Hot coffee from the office. Room staff honored our do-not-disturb sign.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    4.6
    Soggy Stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioner/heater unit worked; but, it was leaking water onto the floor in my room, next to the bed and the door. When I confronted the staff he said that he didn't have any other room for me to go to. He brought some towels to put on the floor. However, that was the side of the bed that I wanted to sleep on; but, the floor was wet. He brought in a portable heater, which was okay. When I woke up in the morning, the water was over more of the floor, now covering where the door was and going to the portable heater. I turned it off; because it seemed like a safety problem (should the water go to the portable heater). I asked the staff if I could get a discount; but, he said no. I was disappointed. The area where the "breakfast" was very small and only a few people could be in there at a time. I noticed the pitcher of milk was left out on the counter and not in the refrigerator. I didn't think that was good as the milk could go bad. It was an off color.

    Price was low; but, I guess you get what you pay for.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    6.7
    Great price - and not so great....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating/AC is very noisy! Breakfast is lacking - toasted waffles! Coffee was good. WiFi was not protected.

    New bathroom. Price. Location. Firm bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    8.8
    Right when you walk in the room, there's a huge water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right when you walk in the room, there's a huge water spot in the carpet from the air conditioner. Also, the address makes my gps thing the hotel is on the other side of the block from where it actually is. Other than that, the hotel is quite nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    6.7
    basic option, ok. dont expect anything memorable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    very basic place, with even more basic breakfast. My fridge was a freezer. Loud heater.

    . Rooms are clean, somewhat outdated. One of few places in Berkeley that is reasonably priced.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    A wonderful, quiet and memorable overnight in Berkeley for $90 total on a Saturday? Priceless!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to really complain about, a little hard to find, but the GPS was off about 1/2 mile but we found it!

    Well for what I paid a day before staying from online, saved about 45% and what a value! Great little, quiet, very clean and for the money, hands down 100% satisfied! I've stayed in places that were near $200 per night that didn't compare to my stay at Roadway Inn! And with all the tax and room fees, $90 total was a huge bargin in my opinion! In fact, my fiancé and I spent our very first night together here, so it has a very special meaning and connection for us! We've already decided that this will be our Anniversary Hotel from now on and hopefully nothing will change? Don't fix what isn't broken! Well done for whomever the Owner, Manager and staff are!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    9.2
    I highly recommend the Rodeway Inn!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have nothing negative to say. This place more than exceeded my expectations.

    A great little Inn that is such a great value. Places in the area are priced higher and are not close to the cleanliness and comfort this place offers. Great comfortable bed, bedding feels new and clean, nice large mounted flat screen with premium channels. Place was remodeled not too long ago and you can tell the staff keeps up the maintenance.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    7.5
    I'd stay here again. The price is reasonable for the room and the location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could hear more street noise than I expected but it wouldn't stop me from staying there again. The room was a little run down. It could use a coat of paint and some new furniture.

    The location was very convenient for me. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    8.3
    Good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were quite uncomfortable and the shower head was pretty bad, the water flow was so low it was hard to do anything.

    Room was clean, bed fairly comfortable, room had everything I needed for a quick trip. Wifi was easily accessible and fast. Location is nice, quick walk to the north Berkeley BART station and a $7 Uber ride to the UC Berkeley campus. Good value overall. Would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    2.5
    Horrid
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The manager and staff could have been more accommodating. The hotel rooms were booked for business for Caltrans. I have passed this problem to anyone that may be working on the imploding the old Bay Bridge piers - approximately 200 people. It's the manager's loss. Everyone is staying at the Executive Inn - very accommodating and happy to have us.

    Needed to cancel a room - Manager would not cancel, we had 4 people to a room for 2 days, one person would not stay because of the bed bug review; however, the other three folks were staying. WILL NEVER USE THIS HOTEL AGAIN.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.9
    No-frills, clean accomodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is pretty basic. Had to open packaging for all the bread items. Not even butter for your toast.

    About what you would expect for a basic low budget business trip. Staff was accomodating when I needed to leave my car for a little longer than check-out since I was taking Bart to the SF. Nice and close to North Berkeley bart station. Fridge, microwave and ironing equipment were a plus to make up for meager breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    6.7
    Perfectly nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small by today's standards, but it was fine. The location is adequate and convenient. The "continental breakfast" was acceptable.

    The place is very clean and welcoming. This is an older facility that has been nicely kept up. It is certainly a good choice for budget travel. We normally stay in "nicer" places but Berkeley was quite full due to homecoming at Cal and we did not want to pay a premium. Although this place is not fancy, it was a perfectly nice place to stay and we have no complaints.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    one night stay ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    good value for the money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    Fishing trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets and bedding

    Safe, I felt safe

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    A little European in Berkeley
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Courtyard setting; quiet; great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Strong WIFI connection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sockets are somewhat difficult to reach.

    Strong WIFI connection. Well furnished.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Easy parking and quite large, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of choice at breakfast but it did the trick anyway.

    Easy parking and quite large, comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    5
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Quiet

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Great central location, spotless room, beautiful roses
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great central location, spotless room, beautiful roses

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Unexpected gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking

    It was downtown and easy to get to.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Staff were very friendly and accomadating.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and accomadating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Smile
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon noisy and bathroom door unable to close

    Reception staff, Kishan, very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Fountain and plants
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fountain and plants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    2.5
    Never stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water pressure in shower. Hard bed. Dirty carpet. Smelly microwave.

    Fountain in parking lot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    2.5
    Thumbs down👎
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything...misleading

    Nothimg

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    Helpful kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful kind staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.5
    Perfecto customer Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything great customer Service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    Horrible, never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Guests are allowed to freely make noise or party (loud talking and loud music) in room (10:00 pm to 4:00 am).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    Outside appearance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower Bed somewhat hard

    Outside appearance

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    A very friendly place in a perfect location, good for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very friendly place in a perfect location, good for exploration of Berkeley. Comfortable rooms and good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    4.6
    It was cheap, very cheap.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blankets and sheets are old, place was crammed.

    It was cheap, very cheap.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Cozey, comfy at a great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More pillows..

    Staff very nice and accommodations were comfortable.. Mespecially the bed..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    I'll come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The friendliness of the staff makes the stay very pleasant and the location cannot be beat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    It was a low-cost, high-value stay in a clean,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a low-cost, high-value stay in a clean, well-maintained hotel. More than I could have hoped for. :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small. Towels were dirty. The were still cleaning at check in time. Walls are thin you can here everything in neighboring rooms.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    3.8
    there were no eggs at all it was a buffet like a school...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    there were no eggs at all it was a buffet like a school canteen

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    The yard is nice and pretty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The yard is nice and pretty. The room is quite spacious and comfy. Nice breakfast. Easy check-in/out. Good and safe location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.3
    Room need paint, was a little beat up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room need paint, was a little beat up. Was very clean though.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Thank you
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I didn’t find it earlier

    Room very clean excellent service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ac/heater to lound.

    Access

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    The room was smaller than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was smaller than expected. Breakfast selection was decent.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: