Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rodeway Inn Monterey 1 stars

2041 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93955, USA

#59 of 67 hotels in Monterey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 219 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was covered in hair when we arrived! It was digusting!

    The location is very good for the price, it's a very short drive to town. The bed was comfortable and the staff was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave us the keys to a room that was already busy and after they wanted us to pay twice for the room. Furthermore, we paid for a queen bed but we didnt have and we didnt have wifi from our room (not to mention the noise or the breakfast almost nonexistent)...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived everything was great with the manager. He was nice and it was quick to check in. The room and cleanliness was my problem and even though I asked to have Clorox wipes so I could wipe it sadly myself there was never even an offer to lower the price or refund somewhat of a discount. I am usually very quiet when it comes to asking for anything but called the manager twice regarding the lack of clean of the room. There was hair in the microwave and refrigerator not just one hair, a lot. The bathroom especially the toilet looked like it had been at least a week with not cleaning it. I had to clean the room myself the first night. He was sweet to come in and look and hand over the wipes but yeah... It's not like I'm asking for new decor or even the walls to be painted it just was someone else's dirty room and I was expected to sleep in it. Really made me feel gross and sad since i was staying here 5 nights and was not offered a discount or anything as bad as the room was and he knew it. I could've been very rude and maybe i should've been looking back. Just disappointed since he seemed cool. I should've taken photos.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was advertised but very disappointing. Something better could have been offered for breakfast. The heating fan a bit too noisy when running.

    Comfortable cozy room and bed and location not bad. convenient for taking a bus into all main places.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looked dirty, the bed was uncomfortable and squeeky. The iron did not work and there was holes punched throughout the room. One in the main room, one in resroom door and sink was cracked. Overall the whole place needs to be updated.

    Other than the hotel been very centralized to a lot of tourist areas there was nothing great about it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are old and not well maintained - humidity stains on the walls. Dark stains on the bath tub and bugs running around the room. Wi-Fi spotty at best.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    our bed was very uncomfortable, it sank in the middle. we asked to be moved to another room but NEVER got moved.

    there wasn't breakfast provided that i know of, not even coffee so if there was i was not informed about it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was really bad, only one outlet in the entire place (in the bathroom), holes in the walls and doors, no “privacy please” placards so I couldn’t keep anyone out, and I had to forcibly shut the door each time.

    Nice staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property seemed rundown. Not a great neighborhood, stairs were uneven and dangerous, kids were climbing on the roof and yelling all through the property. There were roof particles on the ground that could have caused a slip and fall up or down the stairs.

    The bathroom had nice tiles

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was dirty, staff didn't answer door for emergencies. cockroaches are gross. not worth 83/night at all.

    it was in perfect location to get where i was going quickly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels could be improved.

    Much better lighting than in the past visits, very good lighting in the room. This is important to quests, often lacking in many short stay hotels. Liked the in-room coffee pot, and the ironing board. Close to the room parking. Good customer service as well. And of course the wi-fi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complimentary coffee in the room wasn’t replenished for the following days we stayed. The complimentary breakfast was in the office and was very small, not a lot of choices, and no where to sit and eat, and not we’ll advertized that it was there.

    Very roomy and comfortable, great location and value for your money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tap leaked water all over counter, sink leaked a lot of water onto the floor from plumbing underneath, cable channels did not work: Dish satellite did not work even after I tried everything possible to make it work for almost an hour! Front desk staff person was like thanks for letting me know, I'll take a look. I should get a full refund for experiencing all these issues!

    Bed and linen and towels were clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location.. Large parking on site.. Shops and restaurants very close.. Staff very helpfull and friendly.. It is everything u need and expect for overnight...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is in huge need of an overall update. There was an inch gap between the tub faucet and the tile. No grout. The light covering over the sink was hanging open- looked like it could fall at any minute. Rather than having a designated smoking area (preferably by the dumpsters), each room had a chair right next to the door so you could sit and smoke, which plenty of folks did, and the secondhand smoke was sucked right in through the a/c units. Room smelled heavily of air freshener. When we opened the door to air it out, a little kid from an adjacent room kept wandering in to our room. Mom didn't seem to care. After midnight the youngsters next door decided to have a chat and a smoke outside our window. See above. After 20 minutes I had to get up, stick my head out the door and tell them to pack it in for the night. And there was a 50 cent charge to use the ice machine. $130 a night was outrageous.

    Five minutes from the airport which is why we chose it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to upgrade your rooms,not just throw paint on the walls,entry door falling apart outside steps tile cracked. Bathroom is functional mold accumulating in shower area. Parking limited for the price you charge for a room would expect better

    Location was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't remember anything bad.

    We stayed in quite a few places on our trip and this was one of the earliest.All in all it must have been fine or we'd remember .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Non-Smoking Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My card was charged before I even arrived without any warning or email confirmation which created additional problems for me with my bank. Rooms are dark and drab.

    Pretty close to downtown Monterey.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non smoking room the smell cigarettes! Walls in the room and walls in the bath were dirty. In the morning twice tried to came in lady for cleaning the room. Unprofessional. Purpose sleep in the night after work..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was ok but not great. Room was clean but there were stains on the bed cover. Breakfast consisted of coffee and a soggy cinamon roll. Way too expensive for what you get. We stayed in a super-de-luxe suite in Vegas for less.

    Nothing special.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing stands out as not to like - it's Monterey on a budget

    Monterey in high season is not going to be cheap but this place provided reasonable accommodation that was clean and comfortable and within a short drive of the city centre for a budget price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old. A lot of things broken. Not enough place so the refrigerator is blocking the sink... Continental breakfast is a denish maffin and coffee/orange juice, not hardly a breakfast.

    Location was ok. Staff was kind

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom sink did not have a plug to keep the water in. It was detached completely. I tried to fix it but it didn't work . So I could not keep any water in the bowl.

    Room was good. I slept well. Fridge and Micro were a blessing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They said breakfast but that was misleading a mini Danish roll and coffee is not breakfast.

    Easy to find and clean room bed was comfortable and nice n quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had no hot water in the morning till it was time to leave. there was no trash can as well

    all there was was pastries most places give a variety and there was no place to eat it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a very basic motel. The parking lot spaces were very narrow, and if a car was in the nearest spot to our door, they would have blocked the only handicapped space. It was not very close to anything. I thought it was overpriced for what we got.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location. Quite expensive for almost not existing wi-fi, breakfast = coffee + one bun in plastic bag. Good just for sleeping. Loads of loud long term tenants.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of noise from the airport

    Bed was comfortable. Fast check in. Low prices. Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roaches, rude mgr/owner (?)

    Near freeway, grocery store

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People also staying there were very noisy in the morning.

    It was nicely located. Short walk to food and dining

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet looked unsweeped and someone’s toe nail clippings were still on the floor

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ruff and small towels.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very comfortable room with easy access to Highway and town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just danish for breakfast which they advertise as having breakfast. They had no extra pillows. Room had a smell even though smoke free

    Park

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean, old furniture

    Spacious

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no electrical outlets, one behind the bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work and no morning coffee..,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was next to a busy street and very loud. Airplanes flew directly over the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of sockets to charge phones etc.

    Room was clean and comfortable, within 10 minutes drive from main tourist attractions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continental breakfast....let's say it was a sweet pastry out of a packet.

    Good enough for one night

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had spiderwebs ..the towels looked dingy

    Price

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Helpful, clean, right off the freeway (close to everything we wanted nearby). Even upgraded us for free when our party size grew unexpectedly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty and poor quality. Would never stay again.

    Nice office staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor breakfast

    spacious rooms

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good price

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were realy no breakfast, despite promised, just juice and donats and no chairs and tables, standing....

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place had no pool and on our 2cnd night nobody came to ask what was needed.

    Price was just right.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV, price, breakfast, coffee

    Nothing.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The minibar was dirty, had food from the previous guest I guess. The clerk wasn't there when I turned up and I had flying wait 45 min to check in. Breakfast is a coffee and packaged mini Danish.

    The location and the quiet neighbourhood.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Walls are thin. But still slept ok.

    Comfortable bed. Plenty of room. Friendly behind the desk. Recommended a fantastic place down the road for breakfast - was lush!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was unavailable when needed. The walls are paper thin, it sounded like someone was literally about to fall through the roof. We ended up barely sleeping because of all the noise. The bathroom was filthy.

    It was a good location for where I needed to be

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Definitely a 40.00 a night place. I rented 2 rooms one upstairs and one down. Both were supposed to be Kings. One room was and one wasn't. The king bed was really a double. There was mold under the caulk in the shower area. The sink had some kind of rusty black moldy stuff growing out of the drain. The TV's were from the 80's. There were dirty beat up chairs outside each room because the rooms were really small and cramped.

    staff was nice.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not so much plug for the battery of my phone and my computer. I had to use the plug of the TV.

    Very nice place. I decided to book one more night, because it was a nice motel. Good and safety free parking, quiet, room clean, good bed, wifi, hitter, fridge and microwave. The personal was kind and nice. I'll probably come back in this place if I come back in Monterey! Close to different restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing. No problems was detected.

    Very good reception from Mr. Sid or Cid (sorry if not this name). Fast Wi-Fi, clean. Simple acomodation. I recommend! One facility is a gas station very near. In the same block.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had problems with our roon! The door was not locking, the fridge broken and the roow smell bad! I asked for a non smoking roon but they were booked! They tried fix the door and the fridge but still not working fine! The employee was very helpful and give us a discount.

    Location is good!

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor phone service, poor WiFi access, very poor attitude from manager and staff, delays in service, questionable truth-telling.

    Nothing! I couldn't wait to get out of the place.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    dirty - not enough shampoos - smelly - unsafe due to a refrigerator set up too close to bathroom sink!! Water pressure in the shower was awful - sink filled up!

    Nothing at all!

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The continental breakfast was pretty insubstantial

    Location a little hard to find but in close location to the sights on the Monterey Peninsula. Couldn't beat the price for clean room and bath - had microwave and fridge, free parking. Great for a budget getaway

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Place holds itself out to be a comparable place to stay within the location when in truth it is a hideous, charge by the hour dump with a coffee maker claiming to have complimentary breakfast. I registered three people for my room through booking.com only to end up with a room with one double bed and no roll-away until I threatened to get my money back. Very smug employee didn't help the experience either

    Leaving

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    How loud it gets. You can constantly hear the planes. People talking and banging up stairs all hours of night Had to wait 10 mins in reception pressing buzzer for someone to arrive and wifi hardly worked we had to go to Denny's to use it.

    Location is close to beach It's walking distance to restaurants and stores

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I thought I was getting two beds there was only one. Staff put us in a different room with two beds but then charged me an extra 10.00 and never offered me a receipt.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    no breakfast

    easy access, good location

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Couple

    The parking lot was too small. Furniture needs to be updated. Also needs more wall outlets available to guests.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was not good.

    Easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great value!

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bath room plumbing fixtures need att.

    Staff there was nice Raj was real nice

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Smelly room

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Couple

    Tv channels has realty bad quality pictures

    Clean and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Strange old rooms, Mold in room

    The city

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Loud ness between the room

    Beds

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    TV was not HD

    Location for golfers was great.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel has not been upgraded in many years & had no water pressure in the shower.

    The location was nice.

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Guests also reviewed these properties: