Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rose Garden Inn 3 stars

2740 Telegraph Avenue, Berkeley, CA 94705, USA

#15 of 23 hotels in Berkeley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 991 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really to complain about, but we could have used more easy-to-reach outlets for charging devices. Also, the mini-fridge was a little noisy because the door wouldn't close all the way unless you forced it. Which is a very minor issue, and if you just pushed a little harder to close, it was fine.

    Exactly what we were looking for: a reasonably priced hotel near a friend's house. Was safe and comfortable. We arrived a bit before 3 (check-in time), but the room was clean so they let us have the room early. Breakfast was more than we expected from a free hotel breakfast, which was great since my boyfriend needed a large breakfast before an 80 mile bike ride he had planned. Also: there were free cookies throughout the day!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as clean as could be, facilities need to be upgraded like more towel bars, table in bathroom to sit items on, no place to put shampoo, etc in shower, better lighting, parking lot is WAY too small.

    Close to my son, room was secluded and quiet, old world look, breakfast included although just just buffet items, was nice utilizing the common area to play cards, garden area is beautiful, close to stores and restaurants to walk to.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some tlc, particularly bathroom and blinds.

    Bed was super comfortable, as were the beautiful public spaces. Roses were gorgeous and fragrant. Magnificent woodwork, stained glass and leaded windows. Nick was friendly and very helpful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful property with great restaurants and stores nearby but the experience still felt like a real "getaway" from the hustle and bustle...If you utilize ADA services call ahead of time to let them know what your needs are and make sure you can get a room that fits your needs!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are way too thin. I could hear the loud tv and loud voices until late into the morning from the room next door. I even called the front desk but nothing changed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very unique and beautiful building with a fascinating interior. Arts and crafts woodwork details throughout, with leaded stained glass in the rooms. We have found our place in Berkeley.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a bit stiff and we heard pipes at late hours and early hours of the morning.

    I loved that the property is gated. The grounds are beautiful with all of the roses, plants, and lots of outdoor tables to sit at. The staff is very friendly and helpful - they had great restaurant suggestions! Property is quiet and if you are a walker or hiker, the Greek Theatre is about 1/2 hr. walk or just Lyft or Uber.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was an oasis from the traffic and street noise with a beautiful secluded garden area where you can sit an relax. Located in Berkeley, it was convenient to the destinations I had to visit, which worked out well. I would definitely go back to this quaint but special hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really don't have any significant complaints at all! Air conditioning would've been nice, but not really necessary in the springtime.

    The Rose Garden Inn is SOOOO adorable! Quaint, old buildings with SPECTACULAR GARDENS!!! Kind staff, central location, yummy breakfast, free parking, surprisingly quiet, lots of fans for great air circulation! If you want a hotel pool and swanky digs, stay somewhere else. But, if you want to stay in a cool, bohemian, slightly-past-her-prime mansion and dine under jasmine blossoms and banana trees, the Rose Garden Inn is for YOU!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Kitchen
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not enough on-property parking (but nearby street parking was available and well-explained by the staff).

    Garden area outside rooms was beautiful! Staff was friendly and very attentive. Great location for us to stay while visiting family living in Berkeley. Quiet residential neighborhood. Very clean. Good lighting, plenty of outlets, wi fi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place used to be so nice- gorgeous rooms My room needed a coat of paint, a nail in the wall showed where a painting once hung- all felt tacky like place has slipped. So sad

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking VERY LIMITED! Weekends could be very difficult. We were there on a weekday so :) :) It is very old and needs more updating. There is some but it isn't all done well...

    The breakfast was excellent! It was also included in the price which booking.com didn't have right. Extra nice! The grounds were beautiful!! Fireplace going was nice. Afternoon cookies were too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good experience here. Stayed in 407. Very quiet and spacious. It’s an old building, but essentials in room were very clean and comfortable! Great bed. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too close to telegraph ave. Traffic too close so too much noise when we were trying to sleep. Hotel patrons came in late around 3am(the room next to us) woke us up in the middle of the night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor issues with repairs in the room (broken towel bar and leaking shower), most were quickly repaired.

    The beds are very comfortable. The gardens/common areas are beautiful! The location was perfect!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really appreciated the spare bathroom in the hallway!!! Also the room was easily accessible. Also, we really Loved the fireplace in the living room and that we could sit in there and have a great conversation together and enjoyed our Cheetos!!! Thank you‼️ 💋💨♥️

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older buildings need maintenance and modernization—leaky faucets, non-functional bathroom exhaust, cracks in plaster, bathroom door doesn’t close

    Great location, charming old buildings, beautiful central courtyard

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    paint and replaster the room. couch needs to be thrown out. walls paper thin, could hear neighbor snoring.

    paid for parking but there was no place to park. run down room. hard lumpy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom sink was clogged thus drained extremely slow. Bathroom fan did not work which meant extremely steamy from a less than 5 minute shower. Room was very noisy (could hear neighbors talking, plus whenever they showered, flushed the toilet, used the sink or hairdryer). Bed not comfortable. No drawer handles on the dresser. Couch fabric piping falling off. Several wall paint scrapes/marks. We hung up our towels everyday do we could re-use yet they still replaced them. They should be more planet conscious and only replace when left on floor like so many other hotels/inns.

    Location was good and room was big.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a luggage shelf in the room.

    I needed a break from construction in my home. I loved the quiet, thick cotton sheets, gas firepace,and private cable TV (Cinemax etc.) It is in a conveniet location to all the Berkeley happenings. Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is old and need necessary maintenance. A lot of things inside the facility were worn out. The staff really tried to solve things. It seems as if the management don’t want to invest in improvement.

    Clean linen and towels. Friendly staff willing to find solutions

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. No complaints, whatsoever.

    Lovely room in a garden. Berkeley is not the easiest place to stay and I have a daughter at the school. The Rose Garden Inn is an oasis. I stay there when I can because it is a respite from the outside. Lovely gardens. Lovely room. Clean bathroom. Clean everything. Comfortable places to sit outside and outside of the room. Scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon and a host of other breakfast items.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Kitchen
    • Stayed 1 night

    Every piece of furniture was uncomfortable. The bed was hard and lumpy. Faucets were wiggly, floors uneven and slanted, not well maintained.

    We could book a room same day when we needed to leave our home because the neighbors were fumigating. Lighting and fireplace were lovely! Lots of clean towels and nice bedding. The bed in the room was broken and we were moved to another room immediately.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Accomodations best described as 'funky'. It's basically several old, large mansions converted to a country inn.

    Great breakfast. Surrounded by flower gardens in the midst of Berkeley's main drag. Nearby restaurants abound.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no upkeep on the hotel at all. Paint was falling off the outside. The rooms were shabby and dingy and just plain old. Almost had a haunted feel. With a spider on the pillow to greet me to boot!!

    Breakfast was better than most free breakfasts I’ve had

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t initially get the room we paid for—we paid for a single Queen bed but instead were put in a room with a full sized bed and an odd extra twin bed on the side. We went along with it initially because we love the place and it wasn’t a huge deal, and we were also exhausted from driving from LA and had to get up at 7 the next morning, which made it inconvenient to complain. But the sounds that came from th “water storage tank” somewhere behind the wall, and from what sounded like a printer printing at 1, then 2, then 4 am were ridiculous and we were told we’d be moved to another room for the second night of our stay (which ended up being more like the room we’d paid for in the first place). We’re glad they helped out in the end, but it shouldn’t have been that way to begin with.

    We’ve stayed here for every single trip to the Bay Area we’ve ever made—this is the 5th time we’ve stayed here. We are almost always pleased with tthe comfort and the location of this hotel, and rarely have any complaints.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little attention to detail might be nice, like getting rid of the dead Poinsettias on the breakfast tables, changing the various clocks to DST, and maybe adding a little variety to the breakfast menu.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in a residential area, it's quiet but a bit of a walk to BART stations, the university, and downtown.

    Clean room, comfy bed, good water pressure in the shower. The fireplace was a nice rouch. The breakfast was very nice with lots of choices- tea, coffee, orange juice, milk and cereal, toast and muffins, eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes and fruit. Overall a nice property and I have no complaints.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping could be more friendly. They’re not bad. They just seemed in a rush to clean our room when we were still there

    The extra commodities, such as the refrigerator, fireplace, and iron were a nice addition

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    This review should be 1 star. This hotel is in a horrible state of disrepair. The room was very dirty, in particular the bathroom which looked like it hadn't had a good cleaning in a while. Mildew and mold in all the corners, the toilet paper holder was breaking off the wall, etc. The beds were old and worn out, so soft that you fell out of them. The breakfast was very mediocre for a $200 per night room. I do not recommend, and I would like to call out Booking.com for their sham review system that wont let me give lower than a 2.5 star review.

    The location is very convenient to the Cal-Berkeley campus

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the bathroom didnt have a clawfoot stand alone bathtub (keeping the Historic theme);however, it wasnt a deal breaker.

    Excellent feeling just walking into the property. Historic yet up to date. Breakfast was good, scenery was nice, location wasn't bad. Great place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ambience was strange - hard to characterize, but the cleaning staff and front desk folks were totally indifferent. The parking is quite limited, and the breakfast was really tasteless. The "hot" breakfast consisted of cheap bread & sweet rolls, tasteless bacon & scrambled eggs, and the usual beverages. I simply stopped eating after a few bites, and we noticed three women at the table nearby complaining about the taste also.

    The room was unique, and it's clear that the restored building & rooms date from the 30s, and that the hotel (or parts of it) was once a boarding house or series of rooming houses (we were in the main building). The room was clean and warm, and the area was quiet. but the parking is quite limited, and the breakfast was pretty tasteless. The "hot" breakfast consisted of cheap bread & sweet rolls, tasteless bacon & scrambled eggs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Rose Garden Inn met my expectations. It is probably a 2-star property, clean and with a very good location. I would not want to spend more than I did for a stay here ($80.00). It is a rather old house with numerous additions and out-buildings - not always the most attractive. The breakfast was ample and adequate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heat

    I would not give this hotel/Inn a 4.2. It failed to provide heat. I was miserable. Secondly, I have stayed at this property many times in the past. The property looks shabby and does not have the charm of Grandma's house anymore. Shame on the proprietor's for letting this gem deteriorate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small, (single person, Queen bed) I got a last min discount to book the room. Don’t feel it is worth more than $130/$140 a night( given it is near SFO). Otherwise everything else was great

    Property is located close to downtown Berkeley and is mile away from the nearest BART (Ashby). Good location. Breakfast is good and the staff are friendly. There are good restaurant options to eat nearby as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater turned on and off all night and was quite loud. Overall, the place feels old -- although it's not shabby.

    Quaint, old-fashioned inn. Certainly worth the money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit tatty in places but better than expected.

    Very comfortable bed, good powerful shower and lovejy fluffy towels. Good selection on TV, HBO etc. Nice and quiet too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms are very dated - DIY repairs are barely passable - am sure none meet code but is par for every place in Berkeley

    location - walkable to my out of town lab

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the front desk staff calling me twice about checking out at a certain time, when he was aware I had a family/children & tons of bags and suitcases to prepare/carry down stairs~

    The room was spacious, a Beautiful view and had everything I needed~

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Breakfast is good, but should figure out a way to keep breakfast warm the entire breakfast time~It was cold by the time I got to it, so I barely ate the breakfast.i cooked in the family suite kitchen

    It feels very home like, and not like I'm staying in your average hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head in the stall wasn’t working and the bar of soap was chalky.

    I love the fact that it wasn’t a hotel feeling and more of my own personal space feeling. Kind of almost like I was at home in my own bedroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need up dating. Old and a bit stale. I guess quaint is an adjective I would also use, but rooms need a re-fresh.

    First room was a bit damp and dungeon like. Requested new room and was accommodated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Handicap room they give I took a shower and it over filled into the living room and they didn't change my room or give me any kind of refund smh not happy and took my money off my card ten days late and got me overdarfted with my bank I'm was pissed trouble stay

    They gave me a handicap room in the shower Overfelt

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Breakfast was great! Atmosphere was wonderful. The bed was super comfy and having a fireplace and balcony made it amazing! Cozy, homey, and centrally located.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were paper thin - we could hear everything in the room next to ours. “Hot” breakfast was cold. Needs a refresh. Bedding was so-so.

    Price can’t be beat. Everything works in the room. Nice neighborhood.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wall heater went on several times in the middle of the night right next to my pillow! The sink was clogged with debris! I had to use the tub/shower to brush my teeth.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The free parking is very limited and on street parking requires moving the car every two hours during the day. That is my only complaint.

    Just a great property and a great location. Walking distance to all sorts of shops and restaurants, the UC Berkeley and every type of public transit.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to drag suitcase up several flights of stairs - I am 75 years old and that was awful. I asked for a clock in my room several times and did not receive one.

    fireplace, location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in Building 3 which was too close to the intersection of Stuart. The crosswalk beeped throughout the night. My neighbor (room next to me) stayed up til 2am and then snored quite loudly. The walls were surprisingly thin in this unit. I expect other rooms do not have that problem.

    Very lovely little location in central Berkeley. I just loved the location. Breakfast was great. Facilities were cozy. Easy to get public transportation with the bus right outside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because I like the theme I would just say keep going with it. Add some more of those touches to the rooms.

    I love the atmosphere; the tables outside; I love the Victorian novel look.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Credit card charge put through India causing my bank to almost cancel credit card believing it must have been stolen as I was not in India!

    Charming and cosy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a bit cold, breakfast so-so

    BIg spacious room, everything clean if a bit dated. Bathroom good, breakfast in the garden was very pleasant. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom fixtures were in terrible condition and need to be replaced. Sink faucet was loose, difficult to move to hot or cold, and difficult to turn off. Shower head was too short and leaky. Tiles and baseboard were broken at tub, and there was no exhaust fan.

    Bed and sheets were comfortable. Breakfast was better than chain hotels.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have not updated this property, and so it has a very ‘tired’ feel to it. This could be a gorgeous place with a bit of TLC. It’s like stepping back in time, in a decrepit way!

    Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost always the staff is excellent. Only this one time on check out the lone staff member sat in the office without looking up for many minutes to see that I was waiting for him.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    This particular room was really cold and cramped.

    Breakfast is basic, but good. Staff is nice. When it's cold, they have the fire in the fireplace going in the lobby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are of varying quality. I got a room here one time and there was a bed and a cot that made the room less spacious.

    Great location, nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast: cold eggs and potatoes, no coffee made (ask) Parking: limited on-site and no handicap on-site; area street parking limited Accessibility: not wheelchair friendly; steep inclines; signs misdirecting wheelchair access; small rooms TV channels sketchy; direct tv loss of signal regularly.

    Grounds, decor, cozy and quaint accommodations, loved the in room fireplace

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some maintenance issues, like dysfunctional shower curtain rod being installed improperly and lack of a drain guard so items can fall easily down pipe.

    The perfume of roses in bloom fills the garden air!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Property had deteriorated greatly since we stayed there a decade ago, especially our room (#407). There was no heat in the dining area, people had to wear coats to eat breakfast. Many other deficiencies.

    Convenient location. Complimentary breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a little worn and the floors are a bit uneven, but that's to be expected in a place of this age and didn't bother me.

    This is my second time staying here and I will stay again next time I'm in Berkeley. I love the flowers and the style of the place. It's like a little garden of serenity in the middle of crazy Telegraph avenue. It's walking distance to campus. I enjoy the warming fireplace in the lobby and dining room, the friendly staff and the old fashioned building. Also it has a great complimentary breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit outdated. TV did not work. Room very cold - old wall heater hard to control temperature.

    Buffet breakfast is good. Value for money overall.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were cold not geared up for winter, it’s quite tired the extra blankets we needed had cigarette burns in them, the whole hotel was cold including the breakfast room

    Bed was comfy, reasonable price, good location clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's old, tired and in need of lots of work to regain its former glory. We understand that this major work will begin shortly.

    Wonderful room in a former mansion

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Keys didn't work, Directions to room poor. Issues with check out and charges. Still working with credit card company to resolve issue.

    Breakfast was Good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Electrical and lighting needs work. The only thing about the Rose Garden Inn that wasn't up to par.

    The Rose Garden, breakfast, quiet beautiful grounds and lots of strong coffee by the fireplace made it a great getaway retreat in the middle of the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast staff were taking things away while we were still getting breakfast and there were still time left! They didn't know any English!! Could not communicate. Walls are ver;y thin. Doors did not close softly. one room did not have a window and we couldn't find an air conditioner but temperature was comfortable.

    The whole idea of sleeping in a beautiful old Victorian home was pretty cool. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'd like to see slightly better signage to find your cottage. I came in at night and it was just a little hard to see. The walls were a little thin so I heard my neighbors a little, but it wasn't incredibly disruptive. Parking on the property was a little tight but the weekend that I came, there was ample street parking.

    The hotel was quaint and decorated for the holidays which was really sweet. Room: It was a comfortable room. I enjoyed that I had a little gas fireplace. That was a nice touch. the bed was comfortable and the shower was hot and with great water pressure. The breakfast that was included was nice. Hot breakfast - eggs, bacon / sausage, toast and muffins, juice and coffee/ tea.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A comfortable quaint Inn. Within walking distance of the University of Berkely and downtown Berkeley. Bus access in front and across the street from the Inn. Great breakfast. Cozy beds. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Fireplace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lock on door broken, cold water faucet not working, toilet handle did not work, resulting in my employees having to remove tank back and stick their hand in water to flush. Horrid hotel. Do not book no matter what!!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, though totally livable, was shabbier than it appeared in pictures online. Couches were uncomfortable, carpet very worn. This inn has a long list of deferred maintenance.

    Our family suite was large and homey, parking was easy, and the price was right for accommodations so convenient to the Bay Area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was in a run down area and looked a little scary for the kids at night. We were all disappointed the room looked so plane and the bathroom needed a little more up keep.

    I really liked there were beds for everyone (7) in one room but they didn't come with the beautiful blankets n decorations in the picture, just plain white. But we all did also enjoy the garden and breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Borderline clean, chaotic and unhelpful service, repair work long overdue. Very basic breakfast.

    Pleasant patio, quiet - until other guests are allocated the same room as you and get in while you're asleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Whole existence is old, outside and inside and need complete upgrading.

    You can sit in the garden in peace. Personal at the reception is very friendly and kind.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very outdated and not clean. It is one of the worst hotel stays that I have had in 5 years. I checked in at 2am and was given a handicapped room that had mold, carpet stains, sharp pieces of plastic sticking out of the shower floor. A cold shower and a shower head that sprayed water all over the place. I highly recommend that you do not stay at this hotel The photos on the website are very deceiving.

    I liked nothing about this hotel. I do not recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Rose Garden Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: