Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ramada by Wyndham Middletown Newport Area 2 stars

425 East Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842, USA

#20 of 22 hotels in Middletown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 588 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    4.2
    It did the trick for our last-min booking, but I wouldn't go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room- Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel needs a MAJOR update! The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were a joke. I woke up with a sore neck each night. The shower has NO pressure, and all the electrical outlets were somehow too loose, and our chargers would fall out with the slightest movement. Also, I don't believe they permit smoking rooms anymore, but you can definitely tell they did at one point. The smells linger.

    This hotel was a reasonable price for the area, and a 6-10 min drive to all the places in Newport we needed to be. Free parking was also a plus.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.1
    Good value in basic older motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No carpet on floors. Very basic and old fittings. Tiles in bathroom broken & grouted so ugly & unattractive.

    Large room, comfortable beds. Nice towels & toiletries. Great dining room. Tea & coffee making & fridge. Large bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    Service in restaurant was slow due to many patrons, but we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding the hotel charge on two cards but Days Inn Kittery, Maine, explained the 1st cards would not go through but it takes 24 hours before it would go away while 2nd card was the correct payment card used.

    Service in restaurant was slow due to many patrons, but we put up with it as the food was excellent and worth the wait. Normally we would have sought dinner elsewhere but we were glad we waited.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    2.5
    Awful...not anyone's vision of a Ramada, gives Ramada a bad name.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This hotel is in serious need of remodeling. The entrance planters had dead plants with the plastic sticks that tell you what kind of plant it is (was) still stuck in the dirt. Doors are not automatic, so it's very difficult to get your luggage in; no one came to help. The lobby is musty and old, with worn carpet. The room smelled musty and dirty. There walls were bare and unwelcoming; NOTHING like the photos that were online. There was a huge hole in the bathroom door, the sink was so old the plastic was cracked and one of the toilet paper holders was gone (maybe ripped off the wall by the same person who kicked a hole in the door?!). While the suite (and I use the word loosely) had a nice floor plan, I was reluctant to sit on the couch; it was old/dirty and musty. This place is like a 70's leftover or maybe a local stop off for you know who.

    The food in the bar/restaurant area was pretty good, and the restaurant staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Comfortable, Clean and a bargain!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant closes really early! Booked this hotel because of the attached restaurant so to see that it closes at 9 was a HUGE disappointment!

    The gentleman at the front desk was very helpful. Suggested many cool sights and things to do.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    loved the shuttle to town and back, so reasonable and the drivers were helpful and kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everyone was helpful and kind

    The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was really clean and the shower was nice and warm. towels were plentyful and clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Overall our stay was comfortable and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room- Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Came back from wedding at 11 pm and couldn’t find parking. Had to park in the back - far from light and room. Thoughtful front desk associate came out a back door to lead us in a shorter route.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    The place is clean, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exhaust fan in our bathroom rattled loudly. You can hear people in the hallway even when door was close.

    The place is clean, friendly staff. Water pressure was awesome.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.0
    Double bed room was a good size and overlooked the back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom sink was horrible- needs replacement. They should have complimentary morning coffee and tea in the lobby for guest.

    Double bed room was a good size and overlooked the back garden. Beds were comfortable, everything you needed for a 2 night stay. Clean and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.7
    The staff was very accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room assigned for us smelled bad. The staff was very nice about moving us but the room we slept in had very uncomfortable beds. The other guests in the hotel were noisy and the coming and goings did not end until 3 a.m. the room was not a good value.

    The staff was very accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Definitely a good place to stay with reasonable pricing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be more modern and more high tech

    Definitely a good place to stay with reasonable pricing. We stayed on the first floor. The front desk attendants (night) were super friendly and nice. The room was clean. We had a working fridge, a good sized TV, and comfortable bed (no bed bugs, I always check!). I'd recommend staying here. And super close (drive) to the cliff walk!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Everything was excellent !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent !!! ........... better is impossible. Cleanliness, the guys in the front desk are phenomenal, the shuttle service is a great compliment and the drivers are very polite and professional. We definitely will come back very soon !!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.5
    Fine for one day stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed is too soft without support. The pillows are pretty small. Sadly we got a room close to restaurant and cleaning room. So it was pretty noisy at night.

    The location is really good. The room is huge with two king size beds. Overall, it's a clean and nice place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.9
    Having been staying here for many years as it is close to my daughter's house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows on the beds. House cleaning on the stairs and rugs.

    The bed was comfortable - the pillows are awful (little squares) I always bring my own. The location is good for getting to Newport - we usually take the shuttle to downtown (good for the money and you don't have to look for a parking space which is usually hard to find). The house cleaning outside the rooms could do a better job with the rugs and stairs. There is no elevator so be prepared to carry luggage upstairs if you are put on the second or third floors (the rooms are better on the second floor).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    Good clean comfortable place with decent prices if look for bargain weekends.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not pet friendly. Great location but need hotels that allow pets so will not be using Ramada for future trips into the middletown area or anywhere else for that matter.

    Rooms are clean, spacious. mostly comfortable. Our bed was comfortable but noisy so everytime you moved got alot of squeaking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.7
    it was OK, but the next room was noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room- Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom light was out and the bulbs had to be replaced. There was no mirror in the room, only the one in the bathroom. Four bath towels, only one hand towel and washcloth--both days.

    The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    clean comfortable room
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    clean comfortable room Portofino Restaurant is a hidden gem on the Island. Choose from 10 entrees for 2 with a bottle of wine! $40.00 Can't beat that.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.9
    Good property. I would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was adequate, a bit on the dark side. It could use a facelift. The staff was pleasant. The food was average.

    I loved the wood floors. It presented a cleaner appearance than carpeted rooms and hallways.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.2
    Pretty bad. I wouldn't recommend or stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thermostat was broken, shower drained extremely slow. Room was extremely small No outlets for electronics to charge. Thin walls, heard everything neighbors were saying and doing. Hallways smelled of pot. Dirty tub. Dirty room. Stains on sheets.

    The man at the front desk who checked us in was very nice and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    4.6
    The most dirty hotel (stairs and corridors) I have ever seen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The corridors and the stairs were filthy, The most dirty hotel (stairs and corridors) I have ever seen.

    The room was clean. The furniture was very old and one chandelier was broken. The air conditioned has water link.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    Last minute trip, good hotel for less than 100$ a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator so for seniors or people having problems with stairs make sure to book on first level.

    Good hotel for the price of 100$/night Did not eat at the hotel so can’t comment. Rooms are clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.3
    OK for the money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The housekeeping staff did not clean my room. The desk chair was OK, but could have been more comfortable. The cable could have been easier to use. An elevator would have been nice.

    It was near where I was going, and the front desk staff was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Completely satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I didn't like was that the doors to the room closed too loud. You could hear them slam shut when people walked in and out of their room.

    The beds were so comfortable and the location was perfect. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel that I would stay at again if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed on the 2nd floor, and there is no elevator in the hotel. Makes it difficult to carry your luggage up and down the steps.

    My room was very clean, I liked that the floors were hardwood, and not nasty carpet. All staff that I encountered was pleasant to deal with. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.3
    Very clean and comfortable, but very noisy. Not recommended if you want to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room- Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    VERY NOISY!!!!! The walls are do thin, the door open and closed next door and I thought it was our room door that open and closed. The sound was that clear. You can hear foot steps from the room above. If someone takes a whirl pool bath in the wee hours of the morning, it will wake you up. Room to room communication is easy, you just speak. Got waken up 4 times on the first night by a mother negotiating sleep time with her young child. This was at 23:00. Paper thin walls. Not to mention there's an airport next door and we had early flight overhead 2 mornings.

    Very clean rooms. No carpet, so it's very comfortable. Fridge works great. Comfortable bed. Good AC.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice location, close to shops, attractions, and beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room- Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Third floor room was available, but Inn had no elevator. Would have been tough lugging suitcases up two flights, especially for those of us over 60. Facility eliminated 10% discount off restaurant tab for guests. We ate elsewhere. Summer rates were too pricey for what was offered.

    Prompt, polite, professional service at the desk. Very helpful answering all questions. Happy they changed our third floor room when we realized there was no elevator.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Clean comfortable and what a fantastic value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic

    Clean comfortable and what a fantastic value. Staff helpful, courteous. A little hiccup after checking but staff made it right professionally and quickly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Good stay, convenient and does the job well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Number of options for vegetarian food seems to be limited. Also the breakfast table counter seemed to be a bit cramped and could do well to be more spaced out. Perhaps one or two more dining tables would also help as we had to wait to find a table to sit down and have our breakfast.

    Good room, centrally located, easily accessible

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable. Hotel staff excellent!
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant subpar, disappointing Food -basic fare Bar very noisey, especially on weekends Kitchen area noisy , door opened , hallway smelling of grease and cigarette odors, loud radio music.

    Staff attentive, and accommodating Preferred room choice honored Facility clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Aside from the loud noise caused by the exhaust fan, it was a nice and comfy stay at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointing part was the exhaust fan in the bathroom. It was so loud as if you were in a construction zone. Called and notified the front desk staff, but she said there's nothing that they can do about it. We also heard the same loud sound of the exhaust fan in the room next to us. It's about time to replace those old exhaust fans as it disturbs the person sleeping.

    The room was great with a lot of space. Bed was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    It was ok for 1 overnight stay
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Two King Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the annoying sound coming from the bathroom fan. Morning of checkout there was no hot water. Nothing like taking a lukewarm shower.

    I liked that we were on the the 1st floor, because apparently they don't have an elevator. The Restaraunt in the hotel was very convenient & the breakfast was delicious. Location was also convenient as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Good all around, great location just minutes away from Newport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room- Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy walls are thin. AC was leaking but we had hard wood floors so it wasn’t too bad and no elevators.

    Clean, comfortable, pleasant staff. What more can you ask for?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Room #246.
    • Couple
    • King Room- Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the simple "closing" of the doors in the hallway by the adjoining rooms, were very, very loud. The hallways have a Very Noisy acoustic sound, when walking down the hallway that penetartes into your room.

    Room #246. Clean room. Very comfortable bed. AC was considerbly quiet. Plenty of room. Bathroom was spacious, clean & very functionable. Priced right & an overall Very Nice room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    It was good for a holiday weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe just a little updating of the rooms.

    It was clean and convenient to get to. I would go back again. The staff was very nice. It could use just a little updating, but perfect for our stay. I will go back to this location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    It was clean and the parking was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no carpet in the guest rooms or the hallways. The walls are thin and all night you can loudly hear the people above walking on the hard, laminate floors. This makes it very difficult to sleep. They should carpet the guest rooms to cut down on noise levels.

    It was clean and the parking was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    Oddly renovated and no elevators
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. No extra blanket. Rooms were not cleaned during the day. We left our room at 9 am and came back at 4 to unmade beds. They were knocking on the door to clean as we were trying to get dressed for my nieces wedding. The television did not work right. There were dirty cracks in the walls of the bathroom. The towels were rough and small. NO ELEVATOR. I have bad knees and would never have expected a three story hotel to not have elevators. Luggage was a bit of a problem. It was very oddly renovated. The beds lacked support. The WiFi was very cumbersome, slow and unreliable. Not enough outlets for charging.

    Floors were nice. Restaurant staff were amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    It was a nice large room, near to where we wanted to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room- Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tv had 2 remotes and was hard to figure out. The workout room was a joke. It has 2 treadmills and an eliptical in a room that's designated as the guest laundry room. There was no way to turn the tv on, no cups for water. and it was very warm inside - probably from the laundry. No elevator and a noisy lobby - especially in the a.m. when your room is near the staircase.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.4
    Location was fine, room was clean and pleasant, noise didnt help my relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whomever was in the room above me sounded like they were moving furniture every day that I was there. It woke me up out of my sleep because it sounded like construction going on above me. When I asked at the front desk what was going on upstairs and told them it sounded like construction, the front desk posits that there was no construction going on. I stayed 3 nights and was awakened by that noise; scratching and thumping UGGHHH! Also there was no ice machine near our room. We felt like we needed an UBER to take us to the ice machine which was all the way at the opposite end of the hotel.

    The pillows were plentiful and like puffy clouds and the the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    It was ok, the staff in the restaurant was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room- Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 source of coffee and it was not good, only one hand towel in the bathroom. My wife fell getting out of the shower,( suggest a bath mat with rubber bottom)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    First room was really small with no desk, but they moved us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First room should be reserved for a single person..

    First room was really small with no desk, but they moved us the next day when we asked. Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Acoustic insulation very poor, therefor rooms were noisy. You could hear people walking above and talking next door. Doors don’t close well so it added to more noise.

    Clean rooms, comfortable staying, good price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    OK place to stay; price was reasonable.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not able to get the TV to work the first day; had to have someone come in to do adjustments so TV finally worked. Annoying noise from the refrigerator every time it turned on. Did not get much sleep because of this.

    Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    Well laid out and comfortable
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    King be had 4 tiny pillows, furniture beat up, TV had a cut in the screen, maids took all towels & didn’t leave any, when I called for some they only brought two.

    Well laid out and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.8
    If you want a good nights rest.... this isn’t the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the 2nd level there is no carpet so you can literally hear everything ALL NIGHT. Was awake every hour with people talking, walking up and down the hallway, slamming doors (I don’t know if people were actually slamming doors or if the lack of sound absorbing carpet made it that loud). No elevator either. Get ready to carry all your luggage up 2 flights of stairs. Beds are extremely uncomfortable. I didn’t know double beds were still in hotel rooms. So short my legs were off the bed all night. I had to sleep diagonal just to fit. Save yourself a restless night and pay an extra 30 bucks to stay anywhere else!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Great value with close proximity to Newport.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent value with close proximity to Newport and beaches. It's clean, comfortable and even has a little restaurant on site with a cozy bar. The price is right. I've stayed at many establishments and this place is one of my favorites for price and convenience to my business in Newport. Nothing fancy but definitely a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Highly Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was both gorgeously classic and modern chic. This is the first hotel I've stayed in with non carpeted floors in the halls and rooms. It did wonders for my allergies!

    It was located in an area with easy access to shopping and dining.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.4
    Couldn't get much sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room- Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because of the hardwood floors in the hallway, we heard every footstep, conversation, and rolling luggage all night. The doors to the rooms slam shut. The stairs were noisy. We heard conversations in the rooms next to us. Didn't get to sleep until 2 am. Also the elevator was not working. Could have been fire hazard. I usually don't complain and take things in stride, but this was pretty bad. Surprised for a Ramada property.

    Comfortable bed. That's about it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.0
    Very spacious, they did a great job cleaning the room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spacious, they did a great job cleaning the room! Never had to ask for more towels or blankets, and there was a fridge and microwave which was helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.3
    Very fair.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to walk through the smoking section to get to our no smoking room. The wood floors made for noisy neighbors. No continental breakfast or coffee. Toilet was dirty.

    Location to near our destination was good. Price was ok. Staff was ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.3
    Staff and bed
    • Couple
    • King Room- Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. Walls are too thin you can hear your neighbors talking. Doors where always slamming at night in the hallway.they need to fix the doors.hallways have laminated floors you can hear everyone walking and suitcase cart was so loud. Need a carpet runner in the hallway.

    Staff and bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Great place easy convenient inexpensive and the staff was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small but other than that it was nice clean bed was very comfortable. I especially liked the pillows.

    I came in during a storm. I had to reroute because the Pell bridge was closed, I called and told them I was going to be rerouted the women behind the desk gave me the route to take and told me not to worry my room was all set. Very considerate and very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Spacious comfortable room,clean,polished,quiet.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Spacious comfortable room,clean,polished,quiet. Staff are very pleasant and accommodating. Excellent attention to guest needs. Restaurant/bar on site,No smoking policy. Affordable,"feels like home!"

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    3.8
    It was a poor stay the smoking was from Friday night Saturday and on Sunday just before I left there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The constant smoking for all 3 days on my non-smoking floor and the morning guy who was at the desk on Saturday and Sunday.

    The bed was fine the showers were good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.1
    King rooms were spacious and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room- Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms smelled like stale cigarettes and the shower was cold.

    King rooms were spacious and clean The bartender suggested great dining places and made the most delicious salted caramel martini. She was friendly, helpful, and never rushed us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    This hotel was extremely comfortable and reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Not much. The only thing I can think of is their business center could stand to be improved. It was just a small computer crammed into a corner at the base of the stairs. The Internet connection was OK but, after doing an online check-in for my flight home, I was unable to print my boarding pass on the attached printer. Luckily, the Front Desk clerk was very accomodating and allowing me to use my own laptop to email the boarding pass to the hotel and he printed it out for me on their office printer.

    This hotel was extremely comfortable and reasonably priced. I had a very large room with the bedroom separated by a door for privacy from the "common" area where there was a couch, a desk, sink, a coffee maker and a seperate bathroom. The bedroom had a microwave, a refrigerator and a TV with basic cable 3 channels of HBO included in the price of the room. Probably the best part of all was the restaurant attached to the hotel. The food was excellent and all homemade right there on the premises. I will definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.9
    The staff was accommodating and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water in the shower was a little too cool for my liking. The water was more on the warm side. I would have liked the water to adjust to a hot level, then had the opportunity to readjust to a cooler setting if desired.

    The staff was accommodating and helpful. The beds were very comfortable and the room was clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    3.8
    Not returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Two King Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Miss matched furniture not comfortable of a room window was broken unorganized and smelled in the hallway and lobby

    Location for my daughter being at college

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    5.8
    Clearly in need of some more work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Two King Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was old, shoddy, and clearly in need of a total renovation and upgrade. Significant gaps in the caulking, cracks in the fake marble sink, towel hook falling off the door. T The fan (heat and maybe exhaust) was so noisy, we immediately turned it off. Also, because the new (and otherwise nice) wood floors in both the hallway and rooms reflected sound and left gaps under the room door. Consequently, noise from the hallway easily penetrated into the room (the cleaning crew should be reminded about this as well).

    The new floors were very nice and clean. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was cleaned very well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.8
    Staff was friendly and the beds were surprisingly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hardwood floors in the rooms and the hallways + thin walls = a very noisy stay. You can hear every single noise. The bathroom walls had paint peeling off of them. There was a mysterious brown substance/smudge on our ceiling which grossed us out. Newport is expensive in general, but location aside, I'd never spend more than $120 a night for this hotel.

    Staff was friendly and the beds were surprisingly comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    3.3
    Could not wait to get home to remove the filth from this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    There was nothing to like. The place was very dirty and worn out. I will never use the Ramada again not will l use your service again because your company did not do due diligence in representing this hotel. Your algorithm kicks out a score of 3.3; this place is no more than a 1.5 and that's generous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.4
    Close to newport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy plumbing, door didn't close automatically and by pushing you make a Big Bang. No carpet in corridor, we heard every step of people walking, very ugly lobby

    not far from newport

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    Fair value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wood floors were very noisy, hallways needed vacuuming, no coffee in lobby, toilet paper location was bad, needed more hangers, breakfast not included

    comfortable beds, nice tv, good shower

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    The staff are very accommodating and friendly. Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There should be carpeting in the halls as it is very noisy when people walk on the wood floors. The bathrooms should be updated as the rooms on the second floor have been redone but not the bath facilities. The pillows should be a regular size - they changed them to small square ones which are very uncomfortable but the beds are very comfortable.

    The location is good for downtown Newport especially if you use the shuttle (parking is difficult). The restaurant is very good as well as the bar managed by Maureen who is very nice and friendly. Have been coming to this hotel (under different names) for 15 years. We like that the bar hours are longer than they used to be so if you come in late you can still get something to drink.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.7
    Average hotel. Not a bad place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the 3 small pillows. My bed wasn't as firm as it should have been. Breakfast service was lousy and food was barely average. The guy at the front desk had been smoking pot.

    The location was okay. The facilities were okay. It's better than the Comfort Inn near the beach facility-wise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    4.2
    Would not choose again. A disappointment for a Ramada.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Two King Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a very tired hotel. Shower curtain was ripped in several places. Curtains on the window had two tears. Door to room and bathroom both very hard to close, too tight a fit. Floor dirty. No carpet in corridors makes it noisy.

    Staff was friendly and responsive. Waitresses in restaurant were great. Bed was comfortable!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    4.6
    The maintenance person tried his best to ameliorate,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room- Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was on the second floor with no elevator access. Upon entering the temperature of the room was in the low 60's because the in-room AC was left on high, full fan. The temperature outside was slightly warmer, mid 60's. We tried putting the heat on just to warm the room to something more comfortable. The heat did not come on and the unit began to click, loudly. It took two tries at the front desk to get maintenance up to tell us the unit was shot. We were offered 2 other rooms, the first smelled of cigarettes even though it was a non-smoking room, the second was on the 3rd floor, again no elevator access, and was just big enough for the bed let alone people. We kept the original room which became uncomfortably hot during the night. We tried the AC in the morning thinking since it was working when we first arrived it should now as well. Within minutes there was a puddle on the floor. To make matters worse the toilet was not bolted to the floor so any time you needed to sit the bowl rocked from side to side. We asked the chamber maid, in person face to face, to not make up the room only to find after our day out the room had been made up. Although the location was great for access to Newport I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, especially considering the price it was a bad experience and poor value.

    The maintenance person tried his best to ameliorate, although unsuccessfully, a non-functioning heater/air conditioner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    4.6
    HEED THE REVIEWS!!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From walking through the glass smudged, needing-a-paint job front door to vending machines , noisy hard floors, stuffy room with loud AC that had to be on constantly, mattresses were not equal...(one needed replacing), to the jacked-up price due to Newport Boat Show. This was way too pricey for the low quality! HEED THE REVIEWS! We didn't as we were on a budget. "You get what you pay" didn't apply...we paid way too much!

    Parking, hot water shower, we had trouble with the TV remote and it was dealt with immediately with courtesy by the custodian.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.7
    Overall for money spent hotel was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room- Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel must be an older place, didn't have an elevator. Check in personal didn't really care. We were on the 3rd floor. I have had bypass surgery

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.1
    Good experience overall. Location and rates were good if visiting Newport.
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV was not good. Told front desk and she said she would have someone adjust but it never changed.

    Restaurant was good. Our room was good size but not all of our party had the same experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    4.2
    Good location, but look elsewhere to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Where do I begin. Lack of parking. The noise. The room was large but not clean. Old furnishings. It is a motel with a restaurant/bar. Disappointing. This was the only place of 5 that we stayed at during our trip that did not include a free breakfast. Also, way over priced for what we got.

    The price of the breakfast in the restaurant was very reasonable. The waitress was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.0
    Great location but the room was in poor condition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    My bed was broken and the toilet was also broken, and I got in really late due to a night wedding so there was no time to switch out the room. When I told the woman at the front desk she didn't really seem surprised like this is just how it was normally.

    Waitstaff in the Portofino was excellent and had great coffee.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Clean comfortable stay. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have an outdoor pool.

    Very comfortable,clean hotel with a fair price. Loved that this hotel has hardwood flooring in the rooms and hallways. No smelly dirty carpeting like alot of places. Quick and easy 7 minute ride to the beach. Food at the restaurant was very good( especially the salmon and fresh, HOT bread :)) Also nice to be served by such a friendly waitress.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.8
    Fine for the location and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy because floors are hard wood, anywhere there was carpeting the rugs were filthy - looked like they've never been vacuumed, outside doors were damaged and didn't close so basically zero security.

    Beds were comfortable, room was clean,staff was friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.3
    Disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place looks rundown and is not very clean. The lobby carpet looks like they vacuum it infrequently. Where our room was located (2nd floor facing parking lot) was loud and there was a bright spotlight shining in! We had issues all night with loud neighbors - making an incredible amt of noise in the hallway. Ended up calling security at 2 am. The front desk was within earshot of the noise but didn't take care of it until we called for security.

    When we had to call for help getting the TV to work, the staff showed up quickly as well as when we had to call security in the middle of the night for extremely loud neighbors on the floor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff needs to work on costumer service

    The rooms are well kept cleaned the entire hotel clean, spotless but the staff need a little more training on costumer service but over all I was satisfied with my staying confortable beds and pillows. Good location 10 mins from downtown.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ramada by Wyndham Middletown Newport Area traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: