Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of San Carlos Hotel New York 4 stars

150 East 50th Street, Midtown East, New York, NY 10022, USA

#47 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1026 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elite Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Reasonably priced hotel with spacious, clean and comfortable rooms. Lovely staff, genuinely friendly and caring. Everybody expects tips in New York, and the San Carlos are no different surely, but they never bully you or make you feel uncomfortable. This is an old-styled hotel, but well maintained and expertly run. Would stay in it over any other in Times Square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elite Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking garage they partner with was a complete disaster, but I guess worth the discounted rate.

    Space is not what you think of in NYC and the San Carlos had more than enough for all 6 of us! So clean and staff was helpful and friendly!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - King
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, clean, comfortable, spacious room with convenient kitchen utensils, coffee maker and fridge. Welcoming staff that made things easy!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a. Everything was great. Blowdryer didnt work but called housekeeping and they brought a replacement right up.

    Location, the size of the room, location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our view wasn't great we could only see the air conditioning units. However we weren't there for the view from our room we went out for the views which were incredible.

    The hotel is in a great location, clean, comfortable and staff were all friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Elite Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is no free breakfast any more, but an excellent Diner just across the street which we enjoyed. You can pay to have bf on site but we liked the Diner

    Location is excellent, just around the corner from the bus stop and the subway. Easy connections to just about everywhere! The man on reception (older man, didn't get a name) very helpful and chatty, very hospitable. I like the fact it is only a short walk to the elevator and hardly a wait at all, unlike some big city hotels. Air con very good and no noise of the city in the room at all. We had a suite so plenty of space, and decent value for NY. As for the question - would you stay here again? Yes, most definitely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location Large room perfect for family Found kitchen facilities v useful Very comfortable bed PC &printer great for checking in &printing boarding passes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - Queen
    • Stayed 4 nights

    minibar was empty and we should have known this before going to the room. Water was not available.

    The front desk personnel had knowledge about what they are doing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elite One-Bedroom Suite Queen
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sirens at night!!

    Lovely hotel - the bed was extremely comfortable. The suite was great with the seating area and separate kitchen area. Our daughter slept on the sofa bed which she said was really comfortable also.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elite One-Bedroom Suite Queen
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor niggles Despite booking for 3 adults had to ask for the third bathrobe. Also requested a kettle which never materialised but made do with filter coffee machine which was ok This wouldn’t stop us staying again but prefer lower East Side location

    The room (1 bed elite) was clean spacious and well equipped. We Traveled with our 20 year old daughter and it was good she had own room (sofa bed) and bathroom. All staff encountered were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I stayed in this hotel in 2017 and a complimentary breakfast was provided. The breakfast is now extra $10 for continental and €12 for American and is outsourced to connected Spice Symphony restaurant. On my first morning I went there for breakfast. Some of the items listed in the menu were not available and I decided not to eat here due to the poor reception I received on entering restaurant as well as the lack of knowledge shown by the waiter. This restaurant will give the Hotel a bad reputation and they should return to supplying their own simple but good breakfast. For the duration of our stay we eat at the excellent New York Luncheonette across the street

    We had a large room with two comfortable queen beds. The staff on reception and porters/concierge were nice and helpful. Rooms were comfortable and very clean and well serviced with toiletries and towels

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Junior Queen Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We are always disappointed when the towels are replaced despite our hanging them for re-use in order to ¨conserve resources,¨ as the signs say in hotel bathrooms. Also found random bits of stuff on the carpet, so perhaps could have used a more thorough vacuuming. Bathroom and kitchen kept very clean.

    Loved all the space in our junior executive suite, especially the kitchen nook for privacy in the early mornings while others slept. The breakfast was excellent, especially the pastries!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very comfy Quiet room - great sleep quality Computers available on 2nd floor and free printing facilities for tickets etc Gym small but good Bathroom large and shower strong All staff exceptionally friendly Tastefully decorated for Christmas Close to subway and walking distance to Rockefeller Centre

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Junior Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room was big enough for 4 people to move around easily. Loved that there was a mini fridge and microwave. Huge bathroom. And loved that there was separate living area and bedroom. Also has a free breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Elite One-Bedroom Suite Queen
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Had made small request before arrived, it wasn't done but sorted quick enough

    The elite suite was perfect for 4, we also got a rollaway bed so two teens didnt have to share a sofa bed, all the beds were very comfortable. Rooms were spotless, wifi was good, you get a decent complimentary continental breakfast and hotel has thought of everything from small gym, internet lobby, daily chocolates,newspaper, cleaning. It is located a short walk from St Patricks Cathedral on the hectic 5th Avenue but the hotel itself is on a quiet road and a haven from the hustle and bustle.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Junior Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was expensive, but compared to other NYC hotel rates it was at or better than their rates.

    The room was big enough for two adults and two teenage children. It was an easy walk to Rockefeller Center, Time Square, and the Theatre district. The staff was very courteous and helpful as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elite One-Bedroom Suite Queen
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast room is too small, too crowded, with cold pastries.

    Sofa bed very comfortable, as often not the case. Wonderful location to walk to nearby sites as well as get to local transportation. Lots of great restaurants and bars just down the street!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Junior Queen Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is very basic and small area.

    Very spacious room. Lights and power sockets everywhere. Good size kitchenette. Very helpful staff. Very convenient location. Very good restaurants nearby with excellent happy hour menus.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elite One-Bedroom Suite Queen
    • Stayed 5 nights

    VERY Friendly Staff! I was travelling with my 3,5 years old child, hotel had perfect location, close to city attraction but also very close to grocery, pharmacy stores and even to great restaurants. Excellent & very fast room service for everything requested extra to regular service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Junior Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative was the construction going on next door which was quite loud in the morning but certainly did not effect our stay.

    My adult daughter and I visited New York for my birthday and to experience the Christmas decorations. We checked in and were given a room upgrade to a suite. Our room was amazing. It was clean, spacious and was above our expectations. They even included complimentary robes for us. Also included was free wifi and a continental breakfast. The location was great and only a 2 minute walk to the subway. Everyone was friendly and helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay special. We were treated like family. The staff was amazing, especially Quoron, Bobby and Janet who is the Director of Sales & Marketing. We love the bag Janet gave us along with all the goodies. We will definitely be back and cannot wait to plan our next trip. Thank you to everyone at San Carlos.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Junior Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub had blemishes in the porcelain. Looked old and like it needed to be replaced. How does it get that way anyway?

    Perfect location, classy staff, coffee and danishes in the morning were great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elite Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were booked in a suite. It was perfect for my family. We all enjoyed the room and the location to the things we like to do while we are in NYC. The service was excellent. My Aunt had trouble with the TV and they came to fix it for her. :-) We were very pleased with the rooms and the service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Elite One-Bedroom Suite Queen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent and I arrived via subway which was incredibly quick from JFK. Hotel is 2 mins walk from subway. Food good, although no room service breakfast until January - but desk staff ordered for me from the deli over the road and had it delivered! Great service. Room HUGE! Will stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Rooms were very well equipped and spacious . Everything you needed was there including bathrobes and lovely toiletries. Complimentary breakfast was a bonus. Great location and easy access to all of the sights.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Junior Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious and clean accommodation. Nothing pretentious and very good location. Question about ease of access from airport is a little inane since getting anywhere in Central Manhattan from JFK in rush hour is always problematical.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The restaurant used for room service could have been a little more bilingual had a little trouble communicating but food was excellent.

    The hotel was in a great location not crazy like around times square but within walking to everything. The staff was great always willing to help with directions, restaurant suggestions, etc. Especially the doormen.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They took out the first night stay 4 days before we even came and before my free cancellation date and on the website it said PAY AT THE HOTEL NO MONEY NOW!

    Close to our event

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Elite One-Bedroom Suite Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing....the service was outstanding.

    the room felt like an apartment in New York City vs. a typical small hotel room. Loved it!!! Will stay again as long as the rates are good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elite One-Bedroom Suite Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was ready early ( around 12 pm). Free continental breakfast. Friendly staff. Nice room ( although view wasn't the best). Free access to computer and printer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elite One-Bedroom Suite Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1 bedroom studio was very spacious. Pull out couch is only a full so we needed a cot as well to accommodate our two college aged daughters, but once that arrived we had plenty of room. Beds were all comfortable. Staff was pleasant, nothing out of the ordinary but helpful and nice. Decor a bit dated and stuffy looking and AC boxes are huge and take up half the window and we didn't use it as it was noisy. However, room couldn't have been quieter - you'd never know you were in NYC so we slept well! Breakfast was filled with sugary products so we ate elsewhere, where we could also get a real cappuccino, but I'm sure many would find it okay for a free breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Junior Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stay at the Junior suit, it's a shower but is not a bathtub, so the water run all over the place.

    The bed was nice and comfortable, clean bath with a good shower and soups. It's a cozy hotel and a nice hospitality. Yes, I go back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Junior Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there was a minibar for snacks and beverages, this was the only option in the hotel for bottled water etc. Bodegas were all around the hotel but that would involve leaving the hotel. It would be nice to have the option of a vending machine at least one place in the hotel.

    The room was spacious, clean and smelled great. Staff was extremely helpful and went the extra mile to entertain our 6 & 8 year old children while we took care of some things in the lobby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Elite One-Bedroom Suite Queen
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The sofa beds are absolutely unsleepable!!!!!

    The staff was amazing. We had James at the front desk that went above and beyond our expectations. The only thing that I would not recommend is that the sofa bed is not good for 2 adults. A small child would be ok I think but not even a teenager as the mattresses on them are very old and worn out. Nothing but springs there!!!! They brought in 2 roll away cots and they were fantastic!! Room was very spacious and clean and we had one and a small half bath which was great for 2 couples. Breakfast was fine you could eat a great continental breakfast. The only complaint there was they only had apples for fruit and nothing else. Would have preferred a bit more fruit or at least bananas. Would definitely use this hotel again and I would recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - King
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Well this was bread, bread and more bread. This was very poor and we had to find alternative breakfast arrangements. No hotel bar, just the usually expensive mini bar!!

    The bedroom was spacious and very comfortable. Bedroom and public areas were exceptionally clean and tidy. All staff were very polite and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room was smaller than I thought, I had seen the pictures in the website so I expected a much larger room for 4 people. It was a little difficult to move around the room. A little tight, for the people and luggage.

    What I like the most was the staff working in the hotel, very attentive and very helpful always. Not a single issue with them, the other way round. Fantastic people. I also like the location, so close to Rockefeller Center, Saks, the Fifth Avenue, Central Park, etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - King
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    Very nice hotel. Good location. Not far from grand Central station. Staff very pleasant. Only continental breakfasts available, but that was quite acceptable to us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Elite Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had read online that there was a coffee machine but no mention of a kettle so we did take a travel kettle with us since two of the party were tea drinkers.

    We had a suite room so there was plenty of space and a small kitchen area with a full size fridge which was a great bonus. Rooms had a turn down service with a chocolate being left each night. The breakfast was more than sufficient - a buffet of orange juice, yoghurts, breads and Danish pastries. Could be busy at times but everyone was accommodated. Location was perfect for being near everything without the noise and busyness of Times Square. Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Junior Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff uses public lifts in a rush hour (8.45AM), you'll have to wait for them to elevate their houskeeping carts. The cafe is full during the breakfast time. There is a line of persons waiting for their table. Have to plan your time or use your room number as a dining room. The staff doesnt distinguish if you are in your room, while performing housekeeping. Possible to get uninvited guests while you're sleeping, or taking the shower for example. It's ok for economy class hotels, but, in my opinion, not ok for the hotel in San Carlos price range.

    Spacious room numbers, a lot of wardrobes to place your suits. Furniture is in good condition. Near the bed there was a Clock combined with iPhone speaker dock - very convenient! Clean and large bathroom. Silence at night Hotel is in Manhattan midtown, which is convenient for business trips as well as for New York sightseeing. Subway enrance is around the corner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elite One-Bedroom Suite Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were not soft enough my neck hurt fairly badly because pillows were hard

    Liked the fact that we had a suite so kids could sleep in living room with pullout bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elite Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would love to see more items on the breakfast buffet, but it's a minor issue

    Well kept hotel in a fantastic location, spacious rooms, good value for money, with the friendliest staff - with special thanks to Gabriel at the front desk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly and efficient. Hotel was quiet, clean, and conveniently located. We travel to NYC from NJ for medical appointments several times a year and we're looking to make a mini getaway out of this trip. We arrived early and asked if we could store our bags at the hotel until check in. We were delighted when the woman at the front desk informed us our room was ready, and we could go ahead and check in. We are normally a "three star" family and definitely enjoyed a four star experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front desk were all friendly and very helpful! the young man that helped us store our baggage prior to having our room was so nice. would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elite Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    only negatif point, the Windows are getting Old, and the air conditionning too. I think something can be done in the futur.

    everything OK, nothing to complain, we had a great stay, next to subway, 1 street away, and the personnel helfull when we had a question for a location to visit. Hotel safe, video, etc...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room could be bigger. I cannot drink milk and would have liked an alternative like soy (offered by other hotels)

    I liked everything about this hotel! The breakfast room is beautiful but small to accomodate the many guests and sometimes you have to wait.The staff is very nice and helped us to find a table. The location is excellent! We walked everywhere, even to the budget on the west side where we gave our rented car back. The car service to the airport was organized at the reception and was also excellent!The rooms are very clean. My family and I will stay here again😊

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Executive Junior Queen Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast fatal. At the Hotel with 4 * First time I ate breakfast served in plastics. Choice more than modest. It is not worth booking with breakfast.

    Nice and helpful service. Big room. Location and cleanlines in the room. Polish employees in the service. Very nice and well working. Thanks to older maid from the 7th floor. Exemplary work.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elite Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Construction workings next to and in front of the hotel. Breakfast: Carbon-hydrate only. Not enough sitting place, have to wait.

    Perfect location near 5th avenue, Empire State Building and Central Park walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Junior Queen Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst breakfast I have ever had in a hotel. If you want something even semi healthy then definitely don't even bother!! Gym was very small and under equiped (but at least there was one and it was still good enough to fo the basics - and it was 24 hours). Air conditioning was very loud, but room was hot and stuffy without it. Too much noise if window was open.

    Spacious rooms and a good location. Helpful staff. Handy to have fridge, microwave and tea/coffee in room. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast a shambles, far too small a room for the size of the hotel. Went once and couldn't face it again!

    Rooms clean and relatively large. Nice bathroom and fridge in room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Junior Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was not all that good.We ended up going out after the first morning.

    Comfortable beds, big rooms. Clean. Staff was very responsive and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elite Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool but who needs it in NYC. Free breakfast was ok. Did not use hotel parking but it's 30 dollars a day no in or out.

    Location is great 10 minute walk to radio city and 15 to Times Square. Great subway locations 3 minute walk to E train to get to One WTC. Staff at hotel very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elite One-Bedroom Suite Queen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved our stay there. We were able to check in early because our flight the day before was cancelled. The front desk staff was very nice and asked if we needed anything and gave us a map of the city. They even gave us free umbrellas to use.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Executive Junior Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large rooms, comfortable beds, newly renovated bathroom, nice kitchen, friendly stuff. Walking distance to the Central Park, museums, Time Square, 5th avenue and more.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - King
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A few more healthy options could be offered with breakfast. The entire offering was made up of highly processed options and a few apples every other day.

    Great staff, excellent location and a very spacious comfortable room!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elite Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only those of us with iphones could connect to the wifi. samsung phone didn't work. The breads and pasteries at breakfast were a little dry. Major construction work going on so a little noisy and dusty outside the hotel but not a major issue.

    The room was very spacious and quiet for a family of 5. The beds were comfortable. The staff were very friendly. The location of the hotel was very central. Just a 10 min walk to the first stop of the hop on hop off bus tour in Times square.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was dark, with dirty windows and the aircon quite noisy but effective. The beds were VERY comfortable. The breakfast room was often crowded with too many guests using a small space. The breakfast, included in the tariff was very basic.

    An absolutely amazing location - we could walk to so many things. A real hidden gem in the heart of upper Manhattan. Considering NYC hotel prices it was quite reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Group
    • Elite Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast... I would prefer to have bit of vegetables, ham, salami & cheese. End of the trip we had enough of eating "sweet" breakfast.

    The room for New York was quite big, it was a nice, spacious and clean room. The housekeeping was extremely helpful. Receptionist always happy to help too. We were on the 11th floor but the view wasn't as great, we were looking at the buildings... but in overall it was a nice stay. The location is great, just few minutes walk from 5th Avenue.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't expect a big breakfast spread. It is moderate. For us it was sufficient and we were glad we did not have to search for a place to eat every morning.

    We were impressed with the friendlyness of the staff! Frontdesk, door men, housekeeping all outdid themself!! Hotelroom was the quietest I ever experienced in NYC. We did not hear any traffic or sirens all night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed and accommodations very comfortable. very clean, and updated. free WIFI. free continental breakfast. great location for many many great places to see and have fun. Staff was very professional and friendly. Restaurant on premise.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Elite Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Immediately upon entering the San Carlos Hotel their was an ambiance of graciousness and quality. Check-in was quick and welcoming, and within minutes we were in our room via the speedy elevator which was always readily available. Our family suite was exceptionally comfortable and spacious, as likewise was the bedroom. A perfect location for visiting New York with an attentive staff ever-ready to help in any way. The Continent breakfast also far exceeded our expectations. We will be returning every year to this home away from home in New York Ciy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find anything not to like.

    Hotel location was excellent and the staff was very friendly. The room was large and very clean. Restaurant adjoining hotel was great. We walked to most sights from hotel- Empire State Bldg, Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Times Square, restaurants, subway station. So convenient! Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone. Loved our stay at San Carlos!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff is absolutely amazing. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a suite. Every individual we encountered working there provided outstanding service. When the hotel realized we were celebrating a birthday they made sure it was extra special. The hotel is within walking distance to the theaters, shopping, and Central Park. We took Uber from LaGuardia to the hotel when arriving, and then took New Jersey transit from Penn Station to Newark Airport for our return. The hotel is located right by the subway station. Everything about the visit here was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Elite Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quiet, exceptional staff, not a single issue. They provided umbrellas for the rain days, brought ice to the room, provided extra linens and blankets, everyone was extremely nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything.

    The entire staff made our stay pleasurable. They went above and beyond to make sure we were accommodated. They went as far as upgrading our room to get us in hours before our reserved room was ready. We will surely return and stay at the San Carlos during our next visit to NYC.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More fruit options at breakfast would have been an improvement and at least one protien source.

    Very friendly staff.breakfast staff very efficient at replenishing supplies.chocolates left on your pillow at nite is a nice touch.spice symphony restaurant is connected thru the lobby.we loved our dining experience at this restaurant.wonderful service and delicious food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - King
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is very conveniently located. Staff friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast is a bonus. When it rained, the hotel provided umbrellas and plastic bags to put them in. Room is large by NY standards and the bed is huge and comfortable. Concierge is knowledgeable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room - King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The value. Get suite for less than the cost of a room in a typical NY 4 star hotel. Also the locations just a few short blocks from 5th Avenue shopping and Rockefeller Center!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elite Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I prefer more modern decor. I prefer my pillows to be softer.

    Excellent location!! Wonderful that 6 could fit in one suite. Free wifi. Continental breakfast included. All this in midtown E!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elite One-Bedroom Suite Queen
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    . No view from the room, Breakfast was ok, can be better, the price for the room is high but this is NYC....

    Nice and very big room, good location in NYC, can walk or take metro to any place in the city

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elite Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WHERE magazine in the room was an old issue(March). We were there on April 17 & 18th!

    Staff very friendly ---good location ----comfortable Family Suite!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Junior Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not appreciate being charged for our first night a week in advance to our stay, despite the 'no pre-payment is needed' on my booking confirmation, and received no satisfactory answer when we called to enquire about this.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Junior Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in the fitness room was out of service.

    The front office was very accommodating and incredibly friendly. When my daughter (2 years old) and I checked in, we were greeted with a smile and my daughter was given a teddy bear, which she insisted travels with us during our NYC visit. After checking in, we were given instructions to the parking garage ($30 for 24 hours, which is awesome for NYC). The bellhop, also incredibly wonderful and friendly, helped with our luggage. The room was spacious (junior suite), comfortable beds, and clean (room, bathroom, and eating area). After settling in, the front desk called apologizing that they forgot to give us our complimentary wine. Although they offered to bring it up, my friend came down to get it. Throughout our stay, they've continued to be consistent with their service. House keeping was fast with my request for extra blankets. When they've noticed my "Do not disturb" sign, a housekeeper who was passing by asked if there was anything I needed, such as extra toiletries or towels. Even after checking out they were great. I left my daughter's security blanket in the hotel and the housekeeping manager retrieved it for us while I waited in the lobby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is one person who helps to carry luggage and order taxi, i dont remember his name. He proposed us to take hotel car to the airport instead of taxi and was quite pushy with this asking us every time about when do we leave etc etc. I didnt like this, last day i just tried to avoid him by all means.

    This was my 2nd stay at San Carlos and I am sure not the last one! The room was quite spacious for 2 persons, and bed was comfy above expectations. Internet was very fast and stable. Continental breakfast quite good. We were never disturbed by any sound from corridor or other rooms (either by pure luck or because of great soundproof of the room). Room was really clean every day!! It is walking distance to anything and 3 min to subway! This was my bday travel and hotel presented me a bottle of wine and some sweets, this was very nice. I have to say all hotel staff (except 1 person mentioned above) was more then kind, nice and professional and made our visit a real pleasure! Thank you so much!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Junior Queen Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is some construction going on next door and we had a bit of an issue with the door key cards but it in no way detracted from the visit

    Lovely spacious suite, which was peaceful and comfortable, very friendly and helpful staff, great location, very near subway stop and a good base to walk from, I chose the hotel based on similar reviews from previous travellers and was not disappointed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on the third floor and had a view of the rear of the hotel. Would suggest staying in a room higher up.

    Within walking distance to main attractions. Accessible by transit. Clean room, comfortable queen-sized beds, plush towels. Decent continental breakfast to get you started for the day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - King
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We can't fault this hotel in any way!

    All staff were very polite and helpful. Room was excellent and everything was kept up to the best level. Breakfast was always fully stocked and very well presented.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse San Carlos Hotel New York traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: