Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel San Carlos 3 stars

202 North Central Avenue, Downtown Phoenix, Phoenix, AZ 85004, USA

#96 of 141 hotels in Phoenix

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 132 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.4
    hotel need some restauration...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the hotel is old and some restauration is needed. The bath tub is very old. The furniture need to be replaced: scratches on the table and the armoir. There are pidjons escrements on the balcony. The balcony is the nest for several pidjons...The noises from the street are very loud during night.

    the location is nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Loved the old time historical feel, but could update the beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very very hard, definitely need to be replaced. We also like our room a little cooler but there are not any individual room controls. The only control is opening and closing the vent.

    The feel of the hotel is old and reaches back to a different era which we loved. The outdoor pool on the third floor was also very exciting for our daughter especially at night. Super friendly and attentive staff. I read another review before we booked that said it was haunted but nothing exciting to report. All in all great location, great staff, and we’ll probably return in the future.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    Close to everything especially the conference venue as I was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Due to the nature of the hotel the wi fi was very bad. It was almost impossible to not have the connection drop out during use

    Close to everything especially the conference venue as I was there for a conference

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    4.2
    i also left a message with management, with no response
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were told we would receive tickets the St Patricks festival-we didn't our room key didn't work, I asked to come fix it 3x, after waiting 20 min-I had to come back down with my luggage the cleaning people started vacuuming and using walkie talkies at 8am, I had to ask them twice to stop yelling in front of our room we left before check out

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.5
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed on a room facing Monroe. I would ask for one on the other side on Central as there was a VERY loud bar across the street that kept me up until 2-3am when I had to get up at 430 for a flight!

    Love the historic building, the rooms all have unique settings or themes. The old bathroom facilities are charming. The hint of hauntedness makes it intriguing. The staff was very accommodating when I asked to be moved to a room with a city view. I did not go in the pool but it is a charming pool deck.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.7
    Too expensive without any reason for it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No possibility to have warm running water in the washbasin. Shower is impossible to get stable water temperature (It jumps from cold to extremely hot).

    Friendly staff, convenient socket location, comfortable bed, spacious room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.4
    Would not go back unless paid to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    20 dollars for parking. The hotel manager for the day was really rude and accidentally charged us for two rooms. We called and got left on hold for 10 minutes, and had to call back in order to speak to anyone. We weren't told where our rooms were, the radiator didn't work, and the bath stopper didn't fit. The restaurant was overpriced, the bed was hard as a rock. To be honest one of the worse hotel stays I've ever had, but the room was clean, so I would go back...if someone paid me.

    The Hotel was clean and had a rustic and classic vibe to it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.3
    Antique Style Hotel with Charm!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property smelled very old but it was clean. You have to be okay with being in a antique type musty smelling hotel.

    The staff was absolutely the nicest and it was clean!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Housekeeping was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    too old fashioned for me. no room service available for meals.

    Housekeeping was great. Came in everyday while I was away and made the room look new again each time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    good location but poor sound isolation
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. the internet may be slow sometimes. and the shower/bath is not as convenient as expected. (have to pull the faucet hard) 2. poor sound isolation. I can even hear the snore of people next door. And I was waked up by the loud talking and laughing next door in the last day I stayed there.

    0. good location and convenient traffic. in the center of downtown Phoenix and it's convenient to go to everywhere (stadium, art museum, etc.). And the light train station is near there. 1. I like the historical decoration and really enjoy be in the history. 2. staff there are very kind and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Very excellent place to stay, thank you guadalupe staff
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a little work in porch area, but still a pretty area.

    Very good breakfast,very friendly host an staff, love the decoration in the room,beds comfortable,very clean bathroom.all together bery GOOD!! Hotel,would like to stay again.n

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    6.7
    I would not stay here again!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The loud noise, from the street you can hear every car passing by and not to mention the housekeeping staff, they had a conference outside my door at 7am!!!! Room was terribly hot!! We're in AZ! Room temperature was 80 degrees not acceptable.

    Great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    5.0
    Pre-historic site in Phoenix. Way too expensive for what you get.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pre-historic I would say. No breakfast, No room service, No working Wifi, you could hear people in the rooms next to you and in the hallway, ... Not for this price !

    Central Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    3.3
    Never Again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worn and musty! Extremely overpriced for the value! Spent $500 for two nights including parking for a crappy experience. Never again! I try to stay in historic hotels when I travel and expect some quirkiness in the plumbing, heating, elevators, thin walls, etc. Hotel San Carlos has ratty furniture, in the lobby and in the rooms. The drapes were filthy and dusty and the television was from the 1990's. The ceiling fan/light, the only overhead lighting in the room, had a long chain hanging over the center of the bed. It looked like a hangout for junkies. Truly horrible. I tried to get out of the reservation but was informed that since I booked through Booking.com I would be charged for the room one way or the other. Extremely disappointed - with the hotel and Booking.com!

    Towels and shower items were nice, but bathroom was 3' X 8', but had no vanity for setting anything on.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    8.8
    Historical hotel, Great staff, Convenient central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    David the manager/desk person was so pleasant and helpful. Rooms are dated but comfortable. Privacy is an issue as air/heating come from a central system and goings on can be heard between floors. Highly recommend this centrally located hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    6.3
    :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Daytime front desk was uninformed and fumbled through their jobs. Restaurant closes early, only ice machine is on the 3rd floor. The hotel website says free parking..not true.

    Downtown location, walking distance from just about anywhere you want to go.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.8
    Historical Phoenix Charmer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was quaint but not at all user-friendly. There was no place to hang a wet towel & it was the size of a closet.

    Fantastic location, incredibly helpful staff (David in particular), and a rare taste of metropolitan Arizona history.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.1
    I very much would have liked to see an emphasis on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I very much would have liked to see an emphasis on the hotel's haunted history. Phoenix doesn't have much of that, and I was looking forward to it. Alas, there was no mention of anything paranormal.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel near Phoenix Convention Center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No fridge in the room. They charge a "Surcharge", for each day of your stay. They say this is due to the hotel being historic. This did not appear on my Booking.com confirmation.

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    7.5
    A Fair Price For a Fair Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As others have said, it's a very tired looking hotel - fixtures, fittings and decor all look dated.

    Well located, good facilities and reasonably priced hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    8.3
    Great Historic Hotel in Downtown Phoenix.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't really complain but the bathroom is quite small. We knew it was an historic hotel. Also, there is no real heat/AC control but we were able to control the temp ok. Just know this when you book the hotel.

    Very historic downtown hotel. We spent quite a bit of time just reading the plaques. Great location to downtown attractions.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.9
    Conveniently located in the heart of downtown.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could hear noises in room next door and above me. I could hear a conversation through the ventilation system. Hotel was very loud.

    Conveniently located in the heart of downtown.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Comfortable historic ambiance!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lobby smells old...but it is old. Gorgeous space, so no complaints here.

    Very historic with tons of ambiance! Clean and comfortable rooms and nice pool/patio area!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    8.8
    Nice change in pace
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff during shift exchange with guests waiting took there time with personal conversations. No amenities advised of

    Bed was extremely comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    5.4
    The room was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself was very small and dated. The bathroom was tiny and claustrophobic. I actually cut myself on a sharp metal piece protruding from the wall. While I was visiting I also used the fitness facilities.. One half of the weight stack was broken making it unsafe to use. I also used the public ladies room on the second floor and was locked in the restroom for several minutes as the doorknob was extremely loose and wouldn't turn.

    The room was very clean. The staff that I met was very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.2
    Happy I only stayed one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bathroom, paper thin walls, out dated decore. A two star maybe even only a one star at best.

    Bed was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    4.6
    Dirty, electrically unsafe and no facility of drinking water
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good reception staff

    Dirty rooms and elevators, no water facilitiy, electrical extension wires runs all around the room unsafe environment

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    -
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    -

    -

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Great position friendly and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little old small bathroom

    Friendly Staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    Very small bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom. Quite a lot of noise from other rooms, hallway

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    It was the best place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was best hotel i every stayed at

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    perfect location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    perfect location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.8
    The internet in this hotel is non-existent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet in this hotel is non-existent. It’s not worth the price paid

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Loved it over all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was too noisy.

    Antique style

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    4.2
    It was too dufficult to live with no drinking water and room service .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drinking water supply in room No room Service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.5
    Location, history, atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed. If the bed was more comfortable, I would stay here every time I travel to PHX

    Location, history, atmosphere

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    This hotel is a real treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very charming vintage hotel, with lots of history as pictured in the wall art throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Great place to stay on budget
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was just two blocks from convention center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    The location was great, we could walk to the ball park and not have to fight the traffic😀👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No on-site parking. Had to park in a parking garage. Fortunately, it was close by, but had to pay to park it there

    The location was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Just a great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn't know 😊

    Just a great hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Great location with history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. All was great!!

    We loved the location and history of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.6
    I like the location and cute rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked them to price match a lower price and was told they couldn't do it.

    I like the location and cute rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    6.7
    Very noisy in the weekend, and way to expensive for the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy in the weekend, and way to expensive for the quality of rooms and installations.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    4.6
    cheaper then a competition
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very thin walls

    Indeed historic, this property needs some help.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    4.6
    Great location run down condition.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air condition controll, tiny bathroom, room desperately need refreshing and updating especially given the price.

    Location was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    4.2
    Last resort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    5.0
    Expensive for the facilities and state of the property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is in dire need of an upgrade and redecoration.

    Central location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    3.3
    Historic, and very dated hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very outdated, terrible fitness center, no in-room thermostat, phone in room didn't work, small room

    Location was OK

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    Fun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    loved it!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    7.9
    Very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small and dated.

    Very clean. Historic. Really good property for the money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.5
    Valet service had a problem taking our truck due to its size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet service had a problem taking our truck due to its size

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    9.2
    The pool was nice :) the gym equipment was better than my...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was nice :) the gym equipment was better than my expectations.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    8.3
    gREAT FOR HALLOWEEN
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the creeps outside the hotel

    Creepy

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    7.5
    Staff was very helpful and the central location to downtown...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very helpful and the central location to downtown is great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    6.7
    Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact I couldn't cancel after I found out it was supposed to be haunted.

    Location was great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.3
    I can't understand why should I pay extra three kinds of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I can't understand why should I pay extra three kinds of tax and the total tax is almost 20 dollars for each night.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    10
    Love the San Carlos!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the San Carlos!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.1
    Location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were paper thin. I could hear my neighboors talking and coming in/out of their room. Old facilities

    Location was great!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.2
    Hotel with a character not owned by chains
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room or at the end of the hallways

    I liked the location and the character of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    5.8
    Living in it''s past glory !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets in both rooms were sticky and dirty. Housekeeping did try to clean them out but of little help.

    The locaction.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    2.9
    Nothing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't like anything. The front desk staff was particularly awful, uncaring, and condescending. The noise from their cleaning staff was obscene and the refused to do anything about it.

    Nothing! It was the worst hotel experience of my life.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    6.7
    Location was great, room was small but nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed was hard as a rock, harder than any other hotel that I stayed in. Wi-fi was spotty and slow.

    Location was great, room was small but nice. No weird smells. Pool was shady but nice and quiet. I asked for a quiet room and didn't have any noise problems.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    9.6
    We loved the history of the hotel and the extras available...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was a little dated and too firm for my liking, but it wasn't completely uncomfortable. I still slept pretty well.

    We loved the history of the hotel and the extras available to everyone. If you request a ghost tour, they'll gladly give you one. My boyfriend and I absolutely loved the old-time feel of the hotel and the charm.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    8.3
    The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The walls were a bit thin, but not overly bad. The Wifi was sometimes slow

    The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The pool area was nice. The is a historic hotel, and the pictures and newsprint in the halls were interesting. The hotel was easy walking to the convention center and good restaurants, and a comfortable walk to the Phoenix Art museum and the Heard Museum. The hotel is an easy walk to the light rail.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    7.9
    The location was perfect, close to Downtown.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is no safety box in the rooms. The hotel does not offer breakfast. Rooms might be a bit noisy, you can hear what is going on in other rooms. No A/C in rooms.

    The location was perfect, close to Downtown. It is 5 minutes away from the Convention Center. Good wifi. Beds are very comfy, rooms are very large.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    7.9
    The bed was extremely comfortable, and the room was clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Walls were thin. I could hear everything next door. Lots of light leaked around the door and kept waking me up.s

    The bed was extremely comfortable, and the room was clean. Staff was friendly. It was within walking distance to the convention center.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    7.1
    Location was excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower pressure was terrible. Walls are thin so can be noisy. Older feel, a bit rundown.

    Location was excellent! Vietnamese restaurant attached was great!

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    7.1
    Very center of the city, easy access to any place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was very weak. The hotel is very historic. i.e. very old.

    Very center of the city, easy access to any place.; convention center, train line, art district, restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    2.5
    I could not produce a lower score than 2.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Broken window shader, HEATING DID NOT WORK !!! 😡😡😡. Dirty corridors.

    I could not produce a lower score than 2.5. It does not deserve a 2.5. It was a cold winter day and there kiroto12as no heat... imagine this... go somewhere else. I will NEVER go there again, NO Way.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    5.8
    It is in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Heat did not work in room until the morning we checked out. Hot water comes and goes. Even changed rooms, same problems.

    It is in a good location. Train right outside the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    9.2
    The home feel of it all, I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking was outrageous, employees need to be a little bit more knowledgeable about it. Thinking what they told me, if I didn't move my car for 24hrs, I would be charged$12 for all day parking, no I paid $22. 6 hrs is considered all day parking for $12.

    The home feel of it all, I would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    7.5
    Roof top pool an oasis in the bustling downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Roof top pool an oasis in the bustling downtown. Close to Art District and Sky Train Great Irish themed pub next door with good food and live music any day of week. Front desk staff have such grace and courtesy to guests. Hotel is an icon.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    6.7
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Heat didn't seem to work properly. It was strangely cold in Phoenix when I was there, and the radiators didn't seem to do much. Had to pile on blankets.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    7.5
    Staff, location, history behind the hotel, it's pretty...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Difficult time sleeping due to noisy rooms, could hear guests talking in the next room, along with strange noises, maybe ghosts? Lol. Parking valet was unavailable which caused me an extreme amount of stress, as parking is inconvenient and in garages or available spaces on the street.

    Staff, location, history behind the hotel, it's pretty cool staying at a hotel where Marylin Monroe stayed. Plus, I love haunted places!

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: