Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of San Remo Hotel 2 stars

2237 Mason Street, North Beach, San Francisco, CA 94133, USA

#78 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1659 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Interior Window without Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am just 1.50 m tall and my bed was very high and uncorfortable to go up and go down. The employee who received me hadn´t a goodwill in helping me with my poor english so I didn´t ask to change my room. (The others employees who I met at night and the another day were very solicituos with us). The rooms has a very beautiful decoration but are very small. The hotel and the restrooms are very clean and offers coffee and water all the time and parking with discount.

    Location, decoration

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room without Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very charming hotel. Feels like time traveling. Kan recommend the hotel for a weekend trip, but if you like us are out on a longer trip and have large suitcases it`s very inconvenient. The rooms are very small and I stress the word very! We were 3 persons in our room 2 grownups and one 15 year old and every time someone had to get something from the bag the other to had to leave the room...There are 2 showers on every floor and to toilets, but just one sink per floor (some rooms do have their one sink). Wasn`t really a problem with the showers but it could be a bit of a queue by the sinks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could do with a sitting room that could accommodate 7 or 8 people. Rooms are very small as would have been normal in 1906 when built, but we really didn't mind this.

    This is a charming old style hotel, at a budget price for San Francisco. The management have really tried to create pleasant ambience with plants, pictures and other decorations everywhere. Location is superb, close to Fisherman's Wharf, Cable Car Museum, Lombard St etc. A gem.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel is very central to the places we wanted to visit. Staff are very helpful and informed. Every thing you need for a holiday without breaking the bank.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small.

    Added touches like cold water, selection of hot drinks available 24/7 and various toiletry items. Helpful staff. Great location near public transport and Fisherman's Wharf.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room without Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little bit to small

    Shared bathroom wasn't a problem at all. It was very clean. Room was clean. Discount for a parking in mall was a nice suprice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had nothing to complain about at all.

    The hotel has loads of character. From the moment you enter you are surrounded by old artefacts, pictures, news articles and objects from its past. This really makes a change from staying in bland chains. The bedroom was small but comfortable. Its size is dictated by the historic design of the place as are the bathrooms which are shared. Our room had a sink and a window opening onto the street. We didn't feel there was excessive street noise. The bedroom had a wrought iron bed and antique furnishings and we peeked in a few other rooms (the doors are left open on empty rooms) and each one had its own unique design. The showers and toilets were immaculately clean and we never had to wait. I even located a bathtub and had a good soak. What really made this hotel unique was the thought put into providing for your every need. In the bathroom areas were soap, cotton buds, mouthwash and combs along with the usual shampoo and body wash. The bathtub room even had two kinds of bath salts. Earplugs were provided in the bedroom and the foyer had a table with free coffee, tea and iced water along with sweets and brownies. The laundry room was also a bonus as we had been travelling for over a week by this time. This hotel is a little gem and you should definitely stay there if visiting San Francisco.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room without Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no problem with the off site roof top parking over at the Safeway, but be aware that car break-ins do occur.

    The San Remo felt like a unique European bed and breakfast (minus the breakfast). We rented a room with a twin and a double bed. Perfect for our little party of 3. Beds were comfortable. The San Remo has thought of so many details to make your stay lovely. The shared sink area in the hall provides new combs, mouthwash, fresh washcloths.., There is a coffee station in the front hall that has to go cups and also some candy and brownies. The property is old and unique and has so much character. We loved this place! It’s a good value if you don’t mind the shared hall bathroom facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Interior Window without Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaners were quite loud in the morning- to the point it sounded like they were shouting to each other. We also found some hairs on our pillows after one room clean that was not ours.

    Fantastic location, 2 minute walk to the cable car, 5 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf. Friendly staff. Thw shared bathroom facilties were always clean and good to use. It is a cool and quirky hotel- part of the historical charm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin- Sized Beds on the Interior without a Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant wasn't great, expensive menu and the food extremely ordinary.

    Great location for the Fishermans Wharf area. Rooms are small but the hotel is quirky and has a nice feel to it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for room standard and quality.

    Whilst the property is authentic it requires an update of bedding and mattress. Location of bathroom facilities was too far from bedroom. Distance was not made clear when booking. Room price expensive for what was on offer. Had to wait to use restrooms and showers due to lack of facilities against guests. Lack of privacy due to blackout blind being the only separation from room to access to corridor which all guests had to use. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel cleanliness was managed well by the staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good. Room a bit small but we knew that when we booked but chose it for its tradition and charm

    So much. Helpful staff, quirky look, relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a small bed for two people but the mattress was good. There is no elevator so heavy bags can be a challenge (only one floor to go up)

    The complementary coffee&tea is of good quality. There are some small brownies that helps for the breakfast. It is at least a warm start of the day. The hotel had some charm, a bit old but charming still. There are some massage chairs that are amazing ! I was having a 15 minutes massage for free everyday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room without Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent Oldie Worldy hotel, very fitting that it has been kept in it's original style of over 100 years old. It's like going back in time with all of it's smart decor. Forget the thought of it being a downside that toilets and showers are communial, as it all works very well. With brass/copper piped urinals and basins etc.All part if the experience and the fun! Coffee, tea, sweets, combs, mouthwash etc etc all supplied in the communial area. Comfy, cozy rooms may be small but adequate and the hotel is perfectly located, less than 19 minute walk to Fishermans Wharf, Pier 39 and boatds to Alkatraz. Trams also within minutes walk if hotel. Go for it, you will enjoy.....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the room next to one bathroom section, and we could hear everything, so from 6:30am when other guests started using the shower we could not sleep anymore. The room is really really small, the mattress could be much better, as you could feel every move of my partner.

    The location is perfect, and has some really nice breakfast spots nearby. You have free coffee and tea almost all day ;) The bathrooms and showers were always really clean and always with enough amenities. Wifi works fine! And personal is really helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathrooms and showers but beautifully clean and not really a problem

    Fantastic location, helpful well informed staff, great attention to detail in assuring guests comfort in beautiful quirky hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathrooms!! We didn't have time in the mornings to wait for the showers or toilets to be empty ! So we just showered in the evenings as we didn't want to get up at 6.30am - the location and character outweighed this however and we would definitely stay again😊 And definitely recommend this hotel😊 Thanks for a lovely stay!

    We loved the hotel, especially the location and staff were fantastic 😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room without Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a little small, but that's to be expected in a property like this. The bathrooms were a walk down the hall, and while more inconvenient that having them attached to the rooms, they were never crowded and kept clean.

    I loved the character of the room and property. It didn't feel anything like a chain hotel and I loved that. I also appreciated that they were able to give us close rooms for our family since we couldn't fit into one. The location was fabulous. We could walk almost everywhere we needed to go.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin- Sized Beds on the Interior without a Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small and uncomfortable showers (and they are not in the room) with no space to change, so i had to go just with a towel by all the corridor, the hotel is on a first and seccond floor without elevator, so you had to carry all the luggage up (and it was a lot and heavy), the bathroom (which was not in the room) was just a toilet and the sink was in the middle of the corridor, the room was very small and not very clean, the bed was too small for two people. I think these conditions are fine for students, which travel with little money. However, it was not so cheap, so I would expect to find better places for more or less the same price or cheaper places with similar conditions

    The staff was nice and they accepted to keep some stuff in the fridge for us

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking was a problem, though that is probably a general problem in SF. They cooperate with a nearby parking garage for 20$ per 24h. Unloading your stuff in front of the hotel is free.

    Awesome hotel. The hallways are so beautifully decorated. Plenty of showers and toilets. Both were kept clean regularly during our stay. The location is more than perfect. Walking distance to cable car, italian disctrict (lots of dining options) and piers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its a long flight up the stairs with a heavy suitcase but I realize an elevator would be out of the question.

    I loved all the interesting decorations, the sinks, all the personal items that were supplied. I did have a little trouble with the bathroom arrangement at first but once I got used to it everything was fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room without Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the quaintness and quirkiness of the hotel. I love old architecture and this has it. I didn't mind the shared bathroom, my son thought this was odd not having experienced that before. Claw footed tub was great. Location was the best to get to many sites and activities on foot. Staff was super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towel deposit box overflowing,; needed changing.

    Decor, esp the live plants, vines, ferns, etc. The warming racks for the towels. The books available for browsing. The massage chair. Quiet. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smaller double bed, limited space in room

    This place has a lot of pluses, good shared bathroom wash station with all complimentary mouthwash, most toiletries, coffees teas mini choc cakes and candies ., washer and dryers, free bathrobes to borrow The rooms are small and cosy with only double beds so a bit snug but comfy. Brian the Manager is very hospitable Very close to Pier 39 Fisherman’s Wharf Ghirardelli chocolates. Powell Tram Great bar downstairs happy hour 4-6😋

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are very small as mentioned in other reviews but okay if you are planning to spend most of your time exploring the city and not in the hotel. No room for two suitcases, would be better without the wardrobe for a young couple.

    The location is brilliant, just a five minute walk from Fishermans Wharf and the bicycle hire shops if you want to cycle over the bridge. The bridge is much further than it looks on a map. The communal toilets and shower areas were always kept clean and stocks replenished like cotton buds and mouthwash. Hotel is nice and charming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin- Sized Beds on the Interior without a Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Public sitting places were miniscule. There were times of the day when the 6 toilets and 5 showers were not enough for the number of guests.

    Location was great and the property has a nice ambience. Each room, though tiny, was individually decorated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a nice historic hotel in upper North Beach that has been restored, which is now our favorite place to stay. Great location one block fron the cable car line. Wonderful historic Italian restaurant too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room without Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The small size of the room surprised us but given the age of the building I could understand it. A bit better description would have prepared us better.

    The Hotel is centrally located only two blocks from the Cable Car and four blocks from the Pier.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking for the car was understandably not on site - but I like to have a closer watch on my car if possible!

    Location, location, location - and the staff were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Interior Window without Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms close together and some very noisy guests next door. Not the hotels fault but the rooms with shared facilities are small and subject to rude guests so a bit of good or bad luck.

    Great location near cable cars and Pier 39. Affordable for San Francisco.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Great showers - beautifully decorated, hot and powerful. Although they were shared facilities they were always clean. Free massage chairs - amazing for the legs after a long day's sightseeing! Complimentary hot drinks station with a good range of drinks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The massage chair in each floor - great addition!! Place with a lot of character and charm. Even though the bath and restrooms are joints they were clean all the time. Place is close to the pier and wharf so walking is a great option

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin- Sized Beds on the Interior without a Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms very small, not much privacy as Bathrooms and showers were at the other end of the hall from Bedroom, OK for 1 or 2 nights, but would not suggest a longer stay,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room without Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was really small with three persons (around 10sqm?). Bathroom/toilett outside of room. The matress was already a bit used up with the area where people sit going downwards. We let our son sleep on this side. As adult I would fall out. If the place was not so special/old fashioned I would not have been happy, but I could accept it for this and the price as San Francisco is expensive. Our room had a window to outside, but not all rooms do.

    Cute hotel with character in a good central location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin- Sized Beds on the Interior without a Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a lovely cosy hotel very close to the embarcadero. It was a very short walk to the Alcatraz ferry. There are loads of nice little touches like the marshmallows for the hot chocolate, toiletries and it was great to be able to print our boarding passes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin- Sized Beds on the Interior without a Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor indoor-climate due to lack of air conditioning. Small rooms. Not enough toilets and shower rooms compared to number of residents at the hotel. Paper-thin wall - but it is an old building. So it is to be expected.

    Very nice, classic hotel close to Fisherman's Wharf and all the hotspots in North Beach. Recommended to young people who enjoy B&Bs and hostels and a very Bohemian atmosphere. Location perfect. Very close to the old trams.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Interior Window without Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite cramped room and no window. It was smaller than I expected, but it did add to the atmosphere of an old-style hotel.

    Great location near Fisherman’s Wharf, clean shared bathrooms. Excellent restaurant below with live jazz on the day I was there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed hadn’t been cleaned, just rearranged after the previous guests. I opened it up when I arrived and found hairs on pillow and mattress. The lady at reception apologised and put clean bedding on immediately

    Location is perfect. Even room on main road is very quiet. Hotel interior is quirky and unusual, very warm and welcoming. Good selection of teas, coffee, water. Luggage storage allows you sightseeing before travelling on

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very (too) small. No breakfast. Toilet and shower have to be shared with the other guests. There is hardly a possibillty to sit somewhere and relex. No chairs in the room and very limited options elsewhere.

    The hotel is an old building and has a lot of charm. Good coffee and tea available with delicious brownies.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi worked well in my first room but wasn't reliable in my 2nd room. Staff did agree however that it was knocking on and off for everyone so it didnt seem to be a usual thing.

    The hotel itself is a living museum. Art adorns every wall and room at the hotel and there are so many nooks and crannies and interesting artifacts to check out while you stay. The old-fashioned theme running throughout the place is just lovely. I was worried Id find it weird going to the bathroom down the hall but it was kinda cool, a bit quirky, I liked it! The facilities were almost always available and if one restroom was in use there were others just down the hall. Showers were fab, a lovely hot power shower to refresh you before a day of sightseeing and wandering San Fran. The little touches like hot water on your floor for tea every morning were much appreciated along with the other condiments available also. The location is superb. A few minutes walk to The Wharf and Pier 39 - and just around the corner from Powell Mason cable car which is a thrill ride and a half heading to Chinatown! Trader Joes, 7 Eleven and Safeway all on my block! So handy! I enjoyed my stay so much in fact that I cancelled another hotel I had booked for my return to the city and re-booked San Remo. I really didnt want to stay anywhere else :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room without Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didnt work at all on my tablet and worked intermitently on my mobile phone. Bit of a pain if wanting to look up stuff for your travels etc.

    I stayed in two different rooms for 6 nights. Beds were extremely comfy. I would recommend a room with a sink as they are much roomier. I really enjoyed wandering around the hotel, marveling at the diverse and interesting artifacts, framed pictures and memorabilia dotted around the corridors and rooms. The place is a living museum. Fabulous!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room without Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place looks much better on pictures that living there in reality. The rooms are not designed for practicality eg. my room had lace curtains on the window, nice - until you realize that everyone walking past can see through it and see me lying in bed or changing my clothes. The lack of privacy is really unacceptable. The room was tiny - perhaps to be expected - but it also meant that if you want a desk to put a laptop on and do some work, there is none to be had. There were also no tables or any sort of workspace in the common area, this is really a hotel for leisure only. The rooms are so closely spaced that you can hear every word of a conversation going on in the room next to yours even if the speaker is talking at normal volume. Unfortunately, there was guest on the same floor who talked at abnormal volume at 5 am in the morning and woke everyone up, causing a loud quarrel that interrupted my rest. The laundry is reasonably priced - but there is a rule to say that you can't do laundry after 10 pm which means that since there are only two machines, if the person in front of you decides to split his laundry in half and hog both at 8 pm, you probably can't get access to it. Since most people sightsee in the day, this rule about laundry is ridiculous. All these little things caused a lot of of frustration and anxiety for me and the price is relatively ok for the area but not low enough to make up for it. I definitely won't be coming back.

    The rooms were very well decorated. Instagram-worthy places at every corner. There was also a nice massage chair on every floor. The bathrooms, although shared, were very clean and the air well scented.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room without Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great! Close to tourist attractions, and walking distance to Little Italy and China Town. Staff is nice. Building and rooms are quaint! Shared bathrooms are very clean and all amenities are there! Best rate for North beach location. This was my second stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Interior Window without Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was quite small. But we were really comfortable.

    It was perfect. We felt like in historic hotel. Really clean, good facilities, good location.. We loved it. Good value for the money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Interior Window without Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe trade in the heated towel rack for a shelving system to hold more towels. 8 isn’t enough per floor. The staff member we dealt with in check in day was having a horror of a day. She admitted that. But her mood was quite sour.

    Nice and close to fisherman’s wharf. The coffee station was nice too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surrounding streets are very dirty but I find this a problem throughout the whole of SF. Noise levels are high but ear plugs are offered in the room. There isn't a lot of room for your luggage in the rooms so you need to organise yourself or drop it and explore the city.

    This little gem of a hotel is in a great area and walking distance to lots of highlights in San Fran & if not a cheap cab ride. Also close to cable cars and trams. They offer discounted car parking 2 blocks from the property (there is a loading/unloading zone out the front for check in/check out). This is a bonus as parking in SF is exorbitant! The rooms while small & basic are beautifully decorated as is the whole property and most of the staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. There is a very nice nearby cafe that does good coffee and breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have no complaints

    This is a hotel with real character and charm that makes you feel like you've stepped back in time. The location is ideal for Fisherman's Wharf and the surrounding sights.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room without Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a charming old hotel, European style with the bathrooms and showers down the hall. These are exceptionally clean. The hotel provides many nice little amenities, like Q-tips, mouthwash, decent towels, and has coffee and water available all day long, with small snacks as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bothered us, but don’t expect big rooms with high tech stuff.

    The shared bathrooms are extremly clean and we loved all the details in the hallways. It’s very quiet at night and the corner with the massage chair is perfect for relaxing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were cramped for two people and two people's luggage.

    Welcoming and warm atmosphere, helpful staff, simple but comfortable! Very accommodating when trip members had travelling issues.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin- Sized Beds on the Interior without a Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were way TOO SMALL!!!!!! No chance to fit two people and two bags in a room! Totally disappointed by the size of the rooms!!!

    Hotel molto eclettico e particolare.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin- Sized Beds on the Interior without a Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was charged incorrectly but eventually staff helped me out

    Very comfortable, nice, authentic and beautiful hotel. Great location, close to the most attractions. One of the best places I've ever stayed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived after reception had closed, I had contacted the hotel prior, and received a prompt reply with details for check in, everything went to plan. We stayed in a room on the second floor with sink, the room was small, but the bed was comfortable.The hotel will store your luggage if you feel short of room. The shared bathroom and toilets were not a problem, they were always clean, clean towels and toiletries available. A hairdryer and dressing gowns are available from reception. Tea and coffee are available in reception until 8pm, and then in can made in the laundry room, where there are also vending machines with snacks and cold drinks. Washing machines and dryer available . WI Fi was good. The hotel is in a good location for Fisherman's wharf, there are plenty restaurants and cafes close by, and a supermarkets within a few minutes walk.We also ate in the Italian restaurant attached to the hotel, the food was good, you can also have small plates to eat in the bar. The San Remo hotel has a real old fashioned charm, with nice touches around the hotel in keeping with the age of the property, it has a calm and tranquil feel . I would certainly stay at San Remo again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed room was too small we barely fit, although we went just to sleep. We had sink in the room which was quite convenient. There were other double bed rooms a bit bigger.

    The building is from the early 1900’s and very well maintained, its been a pleasurable stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room without Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't tend to plan my travels ahead; I like to find out where locals go and what they do and go from there. When I asked 3 different people on reception questions about the town, they were not rude, but they didn't have much information about the town. It was a bit of pulling teeth to get even a recommendation for dinner. I love it when hotel/tourist industry folks help me get to know their city. That didn't happen here. But, everything else was really wonderful. I will go back to San Remo in a heartbeat.

    It had a great cozy, historic vibe, with background about San Fransisco and San Remo specifically. The hallways and rooms were quaint, they had recliners around for folks who wanted to relax in the brightly lit window nooks. And, they had a library of great books. The location was perfect. I will tell anyone headed to San Fransisco about it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Interior Window without Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the rooms were a little small, the beds were ok in size considering the size of the room yet this was compensated with a great theme in the hotel...very funky place.

    Very close to a number of attractions and the water front. I would definitely stay again and would even bring a group of friends with me and they to can enjoy the San Fransico hospitality and all the great places to be....Well Done San Remo Hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's exactly as advertised, so I'd say everything was great.

    The staff was very accommodating when we asked to switch our room, and the rooms felt like we went back in time (in the best way possible).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Interior Window without Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds need to be upgraded......not comfortable for 2 people

    Nice European style hotel, extra clean and very quaint with antiques in every room.......think B&B without the breakfast, short walk to Fishermans wharf, staff was very helpful. Italian restaurant & bar downstairs was good & has entertainment several nights a week.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Interior Window without Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything.

    So much character and charm. Tiny little vintage bedroom that was comfy and quiet. They though of a lot of cute details. Also, a very convenient laundry/snack/tea room open all hours.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Interior Window without Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A garbage truck made a ton of noise one of the mornings. The staff moved us to another quieter room for the other two nites. Maybe a sound machine would help for that room.

    It is so beautiful with the lace curtains and the plants and the art. A very cozy atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old world charm throughout. My room was lovely, if small. Just right for one person. It was great to have a sink & towels in the room. Also some nice touches - snacks & coffee near front desk, small snacks in room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rates you see in booking.com are not including tax but it is a general situation in California.

    This hotel is between North Beach and Fisherman's Whorf which means you can go most of the places by walking or by low cost via Uber. The bathrooms were common but we never felt we are using common bathrooms with other guests. They were always clean. We stayed for 5 nights and the room was cleaned every day. All the rooms and otel itself was designed with "antic" stuff and we really admired it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    for hair dryer you should ask for it from the desk. having no fridge is a bit annoying.... the water from shower was too weak...

    very close to fishermans wharf which is very convinient. it was quite quiet even though it is near the wharf. quiet and safe!! shared bathroom is no big deal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin- Sized Beds on the Interior without a Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small, it's okay for just sleep, but no for spend a lot of time there

    The kindness from the staff and some antiques like the way to flush the toilet is really cool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price the accommodation was good. I was worried before about there being no en suite, but the facilities are plentiful. Very near good transport links, I travelled all round San Francisco and also Oakland. Safe neighbourhood. Very quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room without Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like the ambience of the hotel. Rooms are very small, but I do not mind that as we have stayed here numerous times and are used to it. I love the location, it is close to North Beach, great restaurants, great coffee shops, and near the F line and the pier areas. Beds are comfy, they have free coffee, little touches, like hand sanitizer, lotion, shampoo in the shower and q tips and make up removal pads in the sink areas, Bathrooms are shared as are showers, but the price is fair and affordable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room without Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not told until 3 hours after check-in that there would be an additional $20 cleaning fee per day for having my dog. The listing on booking says there “may be” charges, but if you simply use the pet filter you might not see that. The listing on Trioadvisor simply says “pet friendly.” I found it troubling that the terms of the contract (the check-in paperwork is a kind of contract) changed after we had checked in and gotten comfortable. The manager was very personable, but felt the Hotel was covered by “there may be charges” in the listing. Part of this probably due to the limits of online listings, such as booking, and how much wording is allowed, but still troubling that they did not send an email or, inform me at check-in, or, at the very least, acknowledge that 3 hours after check in is too late to change the terms of the agreement. Still it’s a lovely place; just needs more organization in that way.

    The hotel is very charming. The rooms are small but lovely, the bed was really comfortable, and the staff warm and welcoming. There are little jars of candies everywhere which makes it feel like grandma’s house. It is situated a few blocks from the bay, and there are many practical amenities nearby too—Trader Joes, etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I parked in the parking lot associated with the hotel and found out someone tried to break into my car unsuccessfully but managed to break my passenger door handle in the process. Wasn’t a great morning. Some guests don’t realize that the set up in this boutique hotel is similar to a house. People can hear your conversations in the hallways and in the rooms so being respectful early morning or late night for other guests would be highly appreciated. I was woken up to two guys talking extremely loud thru the hallways at 5am! Then the garbage truck or street cleaners at 7 and someone outside having a morning conversation outside. Wish I had earplugs.

    Comfy beds, nice amenities and great location. I want to go back and try out their restaurant!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Interior Window without Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sinks are not very handy located, separated from the toilets. Noise at night wakes you up, there’s silent hours from 11.00pm to 8.00 am, but people coming home after midnight a little drunk is loud, talking and making noise, so woke up at least 3 times each night after midnight. The room is very small, barely space around the bed, reminds more like a room in a dorm than a hotel.

    Hot showers and comfortable bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No drink making facilities in room (available at reception). Room was small - this is a historic hotel and so the rooms are small. The shared bathroom made this feel more like a hostel than a hotel. There are steep stairs up to reception to carry your bags up - no lift. The restaurant next to the hotel was very expensive so we ate elsewhere.

    The hotel is very quirky with lots of character. Staff were very helpful at all times. The location is excellent for exploring and is very close to Fisherman's wharf which is just two blocks away. The cleaners were about all the time cleaning every part of the hotel. The bathroom was shared but was spotlessly clean with plenty of clean towels to hand. Very reasonable rates for location and so central to city amenities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Interior Window without Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Liked the location which was a short walk from Pier 39. I especially loved the historic features of the hotel and how the decor matched. Despite having a shared bathroom, there were plenty of showers and facilities available.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot, tiny room, tiny bed, shower with almost no ventilation so my clothes were humid, washing machine stopped 15 min because it was running out of water...additional fees for parking. 124$ for 1 night for THAT, I feel like they stole my money

    Free coffee and tea, décoration

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    + The hotel is quaint and cozy and has a charming feel to it and is well located. Free coffee in the mornings. — The rooms are super duper small, and our bed was the smallest queen sized bed we’ve ever slept in. Also, there were probably rubber sheets underneath the actual sheets in the bed (maybe the lining around the mattress was some kind of rubber fabric, I don’t know) which made for a really sweaty and uncomfortable sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room without Sink- Shared Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was very small and bathrooms were not discerned with men and women. Is here for human?? And then, their circulation was weird. It does happend but already my emotion was gone.

    I don't do part time job here. I was deceived by this website. Is this hotel??! When I think, San remo is not hotel. Here is not better than inn and hostel. They must change level of grade lowly. This accomodation place was the worst thing of which I have ever experienced until now. The room was smallest and bathrooms were not discerned with men and women. Also, the lanes are very narrow. overally, I felt only uneasy and upset about this San remo hotel. I can't recommend other people to go here!!!!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room without Sink - Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few too many indoor plants for my taste.

    I love the San Remo. The staff is helpful. Upscale hostel feel. Quaint and quirky. Clean bathrooms. Great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse San Remo Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: