Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Abrego 4 stars

755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940, USA

#10 of 67 hotels in Monterey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 663 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    Be informed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The was no air conditioning in the rooms so an uncomfortable night sleep. There is only one communal area so it is the bar and dining/breakfast room. The bar closes at 9pm so no food or drinks after this time.

    comfortable beds and pillows, nice bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Best kept secret in monterey city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Two Queen Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was wonderful and accommodating. Let us check in early without prompting. Food was good. Get the bruschetta during happy hour! Got a room with patio and fireplace, very nice. You are within a few steps of the free trolley ride system Stop. Great location away from the tourists.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Nicely furnished and spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the rooms do not have a/c. Sound insulation is poor as you can hear foot steps above you and noises in the corridors.

    Nicely furnished and spacious rooms. Location is 10 minutes from fishermen wharf and there is plenty of restaurants and cafes around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Easy access when arrived to Monterey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Two Queen Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs No free breakfast Ask for more towels if you have more than 2 guests

    Easy access when arrived to Monterey. Parking. Delivered towels quickly. Jacuzzi

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.8
    My stay was an unpleasant one
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Will never stay at this hotel again the outer rooms have no a/c so they are hot and musty smelling with ants . Just a total vacation killer . Insist on the main building or stay anywhere else. Total waste of a trip.

    nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Pleasurable, easy vibe, comfy rooms and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrific value for money - we had a king room and definitely more than enough space for the 2 of us to unpack and unwind. We specifically chose this location because of the proximity to one of the main restaurant strips before the promenade and still comfortable walking distance (approximately 30min) to Cannery Row. Bathroom had a luxury feel and so great that the tapas and breakfast are available here also although we were not here long enough to enjoy!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Ideally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything for us to dislike.

    Five minute walk to Main Street with its bars and restaurants. Similar to the beach and a 10 minute drive to the famous aquarium. Easy access to the main roads leading to other destinations. Large bedroom and bathroom with ample storage facilities. Our room had a balcony for a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    King room was downstairs and out of the way. It was also very dark in the room and the view was of the driveway to another hotel or apartment. During breakfast we had an issue with a nut allergy. The waiter blamed us for not advising him of the allergy, although there was no mention of nuts in the description of the item we ordered.

    Great location. Staff was mostly fabulous. Room with 2 queen beds was on second floor and great. Dinner at the restaurant was very good! The pool area was fabulous!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location and nice looking rooms.
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome was a little frosty to our party by the late night lobby. The floors were super creaky that all of us staying on the ground floor were woken up by people walking around above us at 4am through to 9am. It felt like the entire room was being freaked from all sides. We weren’t able to sleep unfortunately.

    Great location and nice looking rooms. Comfortable beds! Lovely staff the next morning discounted out stay because of the issues we had, which made us feel valued.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good. We had a problem with our toilet and they moved us to a new room immediately.

    The room was spacious and lovely. Nice linen. Great bathroom. It was a short walk from several good bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Very nice facility, spacious room, very nice bathroom, clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in staff was not particularly helpful (gave me a bunch of half-hearted excuses for not being able to switch my room from one king to 2 queens)

    Very nice facility, spacious room, very nice bathroom, clean, easy distance from the aquarium and many nice restaurants nearby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel, slightly over priced and staff could have been more friendly and better trained
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Generally the staff were not over friendly or well trained. No in house promotion of breakfast or dinner so had no idea as to what food was being offered or what price it was. To be fair they did try and promote the happy hour

    We stayed here two nights. Our room was large, light and very comfortable indeed, especially the bed’ We used the swimming pool for a short while as the wind was cold could not fault really nice clean and enjoyable! Given that we had no breakfast, or complementary anything at £210 a night not good value compared to many other places we toured on our three week holiday

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    A very nicely appointed hotel and staff; close to restaurants and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really...

    Beds and pillows were really nice; how they were made up was nice too. Ample covers and comforters. Quiet rooms, nicely made up and has a small refrigerator. Shower is large and has a nice sprayer... Overall very nice place to stay. Staff is very nice and attentive. I accidentally left my lights on my car, they called immediately to notify me! Great service!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Good sized room with a great bed, robes and absolutely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good sized room with a great bed, robes and absolutely amazing fireplace!! However the couch looked old, as did the carpet in the hallway. The driveway was right in front of the room so we could hear people driving past in the am. Didn’t think it was necessarily worth the $260 paid unfortunately. Location was a convenient and short walk to downtown though.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    Never put your customer in any room without a clear escape route in case of emergency. Remove the 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room never got clean, nor did we ever see housekeeping, never received any clean towels. No Fan in the bathroom. When you open the Patio window you are looking at a 10-12 foot Clement wall, never stay on the bottom (1st) floor, if there was an emergency in the hallway you couldn't escape through the window due to the 10-12 foot wall. Not SAFE 👎

    The fireplace was good to have especially in the cold and raining days.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    very comfortable acomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    not cheap

    very nice room! huge comparing the usual.. friendly stuff while check-in (Daniel I think ) nice fireplace looking good great location highly recommended

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    5.4
    Stay at Abrego in Monterey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like that for the price they charge and as a hotel of that size they dont provide a bell hop. When I asked for someone to help with the luggage they just told me to grab the trolley outside and do it yourself. I have no problem doing that if im staying in a motel or hostel. I think they need to improve on their service tremendously

    The property is good and well kept

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    So far a very comfortable hotel if you don't mind some of the noise from neighbor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wall does not isolate sound well. I can hear neighbor water running from in the pipes when showering and maybe a bit of snoring. Earplugs are provided but I didn't need it as I was too tired to fall asleep quickly.

    Staff is very friendly and welcoming. They are able to give me some good deal for birthday treatment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Good central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little small but cozy

    It was a good location. Rooms were cozy and clean. The staff was friendly and accommodating. One of the best updated modern hotels for the price. I loved the fireplace.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice location, walls too thin, will probably stay elsewhere next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls all around were too thin- We could hear footprints of a child upstairs loudly as well as people having "fun" in the room next door. WIndows opened straight into the parking lot or pool entrance next door so they had to be closed with blinds all of the time defeating the purpose of having windows Bathroom sink with mirror had no storage space and bathroom sink without mirror did have storage space- Go Figure

    Decor and furnishings were up-to-date and nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable reasonably priced hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It appears that the property has floor boards and so occupants on the floor above were very noisy stamping around but overall quiet at night which was the most important.

    Very comfortable and quiet room as located on the inside of the building, outside rooms likely to have traffic noise. The heating was a gas log fire very original and gave a warm homely feeling.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.0
    Didn’t Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff tried to give us a different room at checkin with a small discount because the fireplace was broken. We opted to wait until late checkin for a room with an operable fireplace. We were given the room next door to the original booking and both room (our friends had the original) had faulty fireplaces. When you choose a hotel because of the features you expect that price point to include working features. Hotel Pacific down the street offered a cheaper rate with all features working and described at checkin. The manager did offer a full refund and quick checkout when the issue was brought to his attention which was greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    We were upgraded to a premier room which was huge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little further from Cannery Row than I had realised.

    We were upgraded to a premier room which was huge. Because other rooms weren't ready when we arrived we were given a wheelchair accessible room, which we didn't need. I was really impressed by the adaptations such as a huge roll-in shower with fold down seat and two shower heads, low peephole in the door and easy roll-out access to the street out in the event of fire.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.1
    good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms have no AC so we had to leave the slider open but the balconies are close together so you can hear the neighbors. Our neighbor kept coming out on his deck to smoke and would talk to the person in the room until early morning.

    good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    Great value for a friends trip to the beach from the Bay Area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No heat/ AC in rooms outside of the main building. The staff was kind enough to switch my room to one in the main building which had AC but it didn't work very well.

    Great location and the grounds are well kept.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed the trip; not so much the tool for reasons mentioned. I included photo of the sink!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV was above chest area or front of bed which is ok, but the fireplace was several feet away! You can enjoy the fireplace. Again, the room was designed for a wheelchair person! It was ok; we were not charged for the upgrade, but I would have preferred to be in a regular room, which the hotel person didn’t point out except the room is larger. 😜😳

    The room was large, but it was built for wheelchair access. The bath or sink was awkward. Poor lighting for makeup purposes. Sink didn’t drain well so water could build up & overflow since sink was flat like 1 inch in depth. Very weird!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    Loveky
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the bottom floor & room overhead was a bit noisy - upgrade was offered but had to pay - hotel wasn’t that busy so thought this could have been waived 😄

    Gorgeous room fireplace was great although only needed it on for 20 mins loved the spa - were offered an upgrade which was nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.2
    May have left a poor feedback on this hotel by mistake...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all good

    May have left a poor feedback on this hotel by mistake thinking it was another I had used in San Francisco day before. If so ignore any negative remarks from me and rest assured this property is excellent Great staff and comfortable beds and cleanliness of the room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    6.3
    Great hotel facility not hotel member though.
    • Group
    • Premier Two Queen Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front members are not friendly. My party is 3 but the towel sets snd glasses are 2 sets so I asked them to bring another set but never received any.

    Room is clean & good interior design

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.8
    All and all this hotel was very nice and close enough to everything, would defiantly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were her for our 17 anniversary and we let the hotel know that when we booked the room. Out of all the rooms they could have put us in they stuck us in a room on the busiest traffic.

    The rooms were nice and clean. The staff was very accommodating as well. 10 minute walk to the wharf. About a 25 minute walk to Cannery Row.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    California trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a good size, the staff were lovely, it was in a good location, it was clean and there was always hot water - will definitely stay again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    Good size room with large comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't really fault it

    Good size room, and large comfy bed. Found the hotel quiet, and limited noise from the road, even with the door open. Walk to the main attraction area was an easy 5/10 min walk. Empty fridge was available to use

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.7
    We had a good stay.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hair not in the food. Good lighting.

    We had a good stay. The lighting was not good in the rooms but the worst was in the morning we ate at the hotel restaurant. There was a long hair in my family members omlette and another hair found in my breakfast sandwhich. Regardless to say, it ruined everyone's meal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Two Queen Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean - the room was sparkling clean. Loved the fireplace in the evening. Three complementary bottles of water in the small fridge was a nice touch. The only thing we didn’t like was the smell of the room when we first walked in. We left the windows wide open and it cleared the air in about two days. Nice stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.0
    It did the job but I would choose to spend my money elsewhere during my next trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could have been nicer I had three poor experiences, one over the phone, one when we were checking in and lastly when we went down to the bar. The room definitely needed to be cleaner, especially the bathroom. I found long red hair in the shower, we both have short / brown hair so it was definitely not ours.

    I do like that I can see the ocean from our room, albeit far away but still a view!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.8
    I charming place for a business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nicely decorated, with big luxurious bathroom. Great restaurant for dinner on site. Free morning coffee and biscotti in lobby. Wonderfully helpful staff. I was along the street, but didn't have street noise with the door closed. Small patio area off my room for sitting outside. I walked to my conference near the harbor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful, clean property, very comfortable rooms, super friendly staff, would recommend.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We used Uber to get around over the weekend and we had no way of distinguishing that our room was not in the main building. So they would pick us up assuming we were right there in the main building and we would always have to walk for my room to the roundabout and meet them.

    It was very clean and the style of the building was beautiful. It wasn't a very big property so we didn't have to walk very far for my room to the main building.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.2
    I wish we had booked this hotel for more nights of our trip.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    getting breakfast of runny eggs "over-easy" delivered to our table in a cardboard take home box just because we asked if it will take very long to get served. And then watching the server take away the plastic utensils and leave to never come back to provide a real plate. Obvious example of where grade school students that skipped a lot of classes go to work.

    I am picky and the hotel was nice. It is nicer than the reviews indicate..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    5.8
    So so so noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So so so noisy. Room ok but noise cancelled anything good to say. Have never ever had such a noisy room - almost impossible to sleep at all. With such a noise problem should not have delivery trucks arriving in the wee small hours. Guess there's a reason that it's the only hotel room that I have ever stayed in with ear plugs in the top drawer.....

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Comfort and convenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room isn’t air conditioned but has a good working fan so we had no problems with the temperature. That’s the only thing which is remotely negative, we loved the place.

    Lovely room so comfy and equipped with fridge, tv and tea/coffee maker. Close walk to everything. Beautiful walk to the harbour and saw the seals. Lovely and friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Our room was in the main property, we had access to both a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was in the main property, we had access to both a fireplace, and air conditioning. Luckily for us, all that was needed was the a/c. It's in a great location, and is within safe walking distance to a number of fantastic restaurants and bars. We stayed here as part of our honeymoon, and were greeted with a complimentary bottle of wine. We also took advantage of this hotels central location by taking a drive south to Big Sur, taking in Pebble Beach and 17 mile drive along the way, as well as north to Santa Cruz. We hope to one day return to Monterey, and would stay in this hotel in a heart beat.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant convenient hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find and big car park. Layout was more motel than hotel but room was large and comfortable and bathroom was really nice. Added bonus of robes in room which is always a nice touch. Walking distance of the main shops etc. Didn't try the restaurant. We were only here for one night as part of a longer trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    The staff at the front desk were amazing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Two Queen Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the front desk were amazing ! So helpful and friendly-we were coming down for a Birthday/Military send off after being in the midst of the Napa Valley Wildfires for 6 days. The clean room, great beds, good location....and the fun birthday surprise of wine and chocolates were all wonderful! THANK YOU

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Good location, nice staff, dissapointing room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was ground floor, right opposite walkway. Everyone could look straight in our room so we had to lower the blinds. No air con and with blinds down made opening window difficult. Also next to cleaning room.

    Staff great, location good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    A very impressive hotel and highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wow - what a great hotel. It is really smart and well kept and everything is impressive. A lovely lobby with helpful and professional staff, a stylish breakfast area (and patio if it's sunny) and a fantastic bedroom which was large, clean and very stylish with the most fantastic bathroom. The hotel has a nice pool too. Although on the edge of some busy roads the hotel was quiet and an easy walking to the town center with some very nice restaurants, and a 20 minute but scenic walk to the Aquarium and Cannery district. Although a little pricier than some other hotels in the area the standards it sets are very high. Breakfast was extra but was very good quality and nice choices.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Best hotel in Monterey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the fact that the breakfast bistro closed at 10:00.

    Premier king room 3rd floor. Great big room. Comfortable huge bed. The hotel is clean and freshly renovated without funky smells. We got great view to the ocean. The shower is very big and relaxing. Defently one of the best hotels in the erea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    Nice location but super noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was super noisy. Dogs barking all night and we heard each movement of tge people in the room above us. Even tge provided earbuds did not help dor a good night sleep.

    Spacious and clean rooms, modernized shower

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Clean, great location, and friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't figure out temperature/Air conditioner controller. The fan blows directly on the bed making for somewhat unsatisfactory sleeping conditions. Though we appreciated

    Restaurant service was prompt and kid friendly. The milk cups for the little ones is a nice touch! Location is in fact a very good one as it's near the main downtown area of Monterey. Didn't realize how close it was until we went to nearby Dennis the Menace park - another gem in the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear people in next room a bit. Needed more lighting in bathroom. No light over sink around mirror.

    Fireplace, and balcony. That it had a restaurant. Unfortunately we did not use it. Large walk in shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Good staff and great breakfasts. Book rooms in the main hotel for a more comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room booked as a deluxe room was very small and dark without air conditioning. You could also hear people in the other rooms.

    Due to out booked room not having air conditioning the staff at reception upgraded us at no exrra cost. Our upgraded room in the main hotel building was larger with air conditioning and a balcony. The choice of breakfast was very good and beautifully presented. The breakfast staff were very good. The hotel was in walking distance to Fishermans Wharf and restaurants in Alvarado Street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.8
    Overpriced motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very private, if you have your blind up, everyone can see in. Overpriced for a upmarket motel, very far from any attraction/restaurant/entertainment.

    Looked new

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic location, beautiful grounds and welcoming Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Two Queen Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a rare heatwave for Monterey, there is no Air Conditioning unit in the rooms. The hotel provides a small, but powerful, table top fan. This did not help much, though. The warm humid nights were a bit uncomfortable.

    The location, the room was spacious, and the grounds were beautifully done.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable hotel but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough chairs at swimming pool. Very noisy hotel, you could hear the floorboards above you squeek when people were moving. Woke us up at 1am when people got back from a party. If you book ask top floor, everything should be fine.

    Nice, clean rooms with a balcony. There is a free shuttlebus going through town and to cannery row about 500 meters down the street

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    Overall great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Two Queen Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning, and hotel restaurant hours are limited.

    The hotel and facilities were amazing. Clean rooms, nice design, heated pool, and restaurant was delicious. Locations was perfect distance from all attractions. Overall great stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    Overall nice hotel. Just wish they let you know that not all rooms have air coconditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioner so we had to upgrade our room for 22 dollars a night. Was not happy since the room was already $212 a night with no air conditioning. Our upgraded room was close to the main street so the noise woke me every morning.

    Close to downtown.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    5.4
    A little disappointing and not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very noisy when we were trying to sleep. The noise from the room above during the night was really loud and enough to wake us abruptly a couple of times during the night. Also it seemed the walls were thin and there was noise from the next door room and from cars outside. When we told the reception staff the next day, they didn't seem concerned and didn't offer an apology. For the relatively high cost, I would have expected a much better experience.

    Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.3
    A good hotel in a good location. Would return if stayed in Monterey again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ceilings appeared very thin (Guess the guy upstairs was getting his 10000 steps in). No air con although Monterey was not too hot.

    The hotel was in excellent condition with a luxury bathroom, comfortable beds and a good size bedroom with a fridge and TV. Lovely swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Small Gym area. The hotel was in a good location. Walking distance to fishermans wharf and a short drive to Cannery Row. Good priced French bakery nearby. Did not use hotel restaurant. Good size car park with free parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.9
    Loved this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the pool and spa! Great little resurant inside the main hotel. The distance to walk to the beach and the warf is so easy. You can hit all the fun shops on the way thorugh the downtown. We loved Turn 12. The fireplace is the best thing when you come back from the chilly beach. If you need a late night meal- good luck. Denny's is about the only thing near the hotel. Rooms 2301 or 2201 can be noisey. Staff entrance to kitchen and other areas near the window. Lots of plates clinking and staff communication early in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    6.7
    Nice boutique hotel, ideal for Monterey area but thin walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Two Queen Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast not included - went off site to a lovely local french bakery. Only one washing machine and dryer so difficult to get a slot to use them. Unfortunately, walls are thin and therefore noise from other residents, particularly children and a lot of thudding from other rooms as if things being thrown around. It may be a family friendly hotel but this is a disadvantage for anyone wanting a quiet stay. This was the main problem, otherwise a lovely hotel. As it's 3/4 blocks it might be better to put families in one block and other guests in different blocks to minimise noise for say couples.

    Rooms spacious, clean, well presented. Enjoyed using the small gym. Nice pool area but didn't get chance to use. Laundry facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.4
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon. Next to a busy road. Ear plugs in room as at night you have to open windows as no air con. Did I mention there was no aircon!!!!

    Clean. Comfy beds. Pool and jacuzzi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Gone racing - best long weekend ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing bad to sat about this place - will definately book again.

    Location very convenient for our prime purpose of visting Mazda Raceway - Laguna Seca Room very nice all round - fantastic bathroom - free parking - excellent pool and spa

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.5
    Ideal for a short stopover in Monterey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Concerned that the elephant in the room above might have come through the ceiling... limited public areas made it feel somewhat like an upscale motel.

    Staff extra helpful and friendly. Room was generally fine, location great for a stroll to fisherman's wharf (and from there to aquarium)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    We were in town for a wedding. Our stay at the Abrego was the icing on the cake!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the decor, cleanliness, comfort, amenities and location. Easy access to freeway, shopping, restaurants. The hotel restaurant was excellent. The servers were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    My 'Hotel Abrego' experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The (free!) wifi is really slow. I stopped using it after few minutes. Just too frustrating. Plus, not really a complaint since we didn't eat breakfast there, but I don’t think the hotel's breakfast is worth it because there are great places close enough to the hotel.

    The room we got was spacious and clean (parking lot view, unfortunately). The fireplace in the room is a great touch; we haven’t used it because it was warm enough, and our room had perfectly working AC. Got two complementary water bottles, which hit the right spot as we were thirsty after the long day (other than that, the mini-bar was empty). The bathroom was clean, big and comfortable, which is all you really need from a bathroom. There is an outside pool (heated) which we ended up not using since we checked in late, but we took a peek and it looked clean and welcoming. The front desk personnel was super nice and helpful! One more good thing we loved was the free parking, which was great! It’s not easy to find a parking place in that area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Great place - would stay here again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having the toilet in together with the shower and the sink etc separate was a bit unusual but other than than - nothing bad! Was a lovely place and we'd stay here again.

    Fantastic sized room, great location, easy to get around from, lovely staff and really relaxing place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Relaxing family friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking lot is hard to maneuver with larger vehicles re

    Enjoyed the hotel, had adjoining rooms to family members. Very quiet, friendly staff, children enjoyed the pool and adults enjoyed the spa. Will diffentially stay there again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Finance system needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel payment system - took funds from AUD card, took holding funds from Travel Card, took actual payment from Travel Card - paid basically 3 times - still waiting over a week later for them to release funds!

    Great Location, easy walking, for Carmel By The Sea - lovely. Nice big rooms, very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.1
    pool is nice but customer service not
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    sink in our bathroom was broken and squirted water everywhere. no room service. i felt that as a younger person, the service was not up to par. i was not once greeted when i walked in as opposed to an older couple who came in after me. for $200/ night i expect to be well taken care of.

    Ernie the bartender was amazing! very attentive and made sure lo the guests were acknowledged.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Room was very spacious and comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Two Queen Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very spacious and comfortable! Overall very nice, clean and quiet hotel. Would definitely stay again. Close to downtown Monterey and fishermans wharf.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Great experience at Hotel Abrego
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very comfortable and enjoyed the fireplace!! Staff was able to accommodate us on an early check in and very friendly!! Hotel was located near shops and restaurants. Short drive away from Cannery Row and the pier.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.6
    Hotel Abrego
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very warm. There didn't appear to be any air con so we used the provided fan, which was relatively effectiveness but overall the heat did make sleeping well difficult at times.

    Fantastic hotel just a 5 minute walk from downtown Monterey and 25 mins from Cannery Row. For us this was a perfect location, with great restaurants, bakeries and ice cream.shops nearby. Rooms are a great size and the bed in particular was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay in my new favourite town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only gripe would have been that we had to keep our blinds closed most of the time as we were overlooked from the car park

    We arrived having driven for a couple of hours and we're really happy to receive a warm welcome from the reception staff! We were honeymooning and over the moon to relieve a little treat when we got to our room! Close to lots of amazing restaurants and walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row Bar at the hotel was convenient and the staff were great Laundry reasonable and easy to use - much appreciated after having been travelling for 2 weeks Room was good size and very comfortable/ clean Parking was very convenient and plentiful and free

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in Monterey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly we had to leave to return to the UK!

    Great hotel in Monterey, excellent room and the staff were all really friendly and helpful. The hotel has a heated outdoor pool and this is a real sun trap with sunshine from morning to evening. The restaurant has a reasonable choice of meals, priced fairly for the area, and breakfast was excellent. The hotel is a short 5 minute walk to Alvarado Street with shops, wbars and restaurants and only ca 10 minutes walk to the Fisherman's Wharf, with an excellent range of restaurants and bars plus boat trips for whale watching. If you are in to motor racing the famous Laguna Seca is a 10 minute drive inland. If you are a golfer then Pebble Beach is about 10 minutes drive along the coast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    Very comfy!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Two Queen Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would've been nice to have breakfast included.

    Loved the styling and condition of the hotel. Very comfortable and homey. Quiet too. Very close to Monterey attractions (though perhaps not all by foot).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    7.5
    Good location for visiting this interesting town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was disappointing at dinner, better for breakfast. The view from our room was of the car park, but that didn't matter for just a couple of nights. We spent a lot of time away from the hotel.

    Comfortable bed, large room with good space for clothes and luggage. Well placed for walking in to town. Helpful staff on reception. Parking was easy, and access to our room was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: