Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Santa Monica Motel 2 stars

2102 Lincoln Boulevard, Santa Monica, Los Angeles, CA 90405, USA

#258 of 352 hotels in Los Angeles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 981 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.8
    Staff were great; venue cheap & basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No A/C ; it was usually hotter in my room than outside day & night, so windows had to remain open all the time. My room & adjacent were non smoking (essential for me), but smokers operated unrestricted & strong cigarette smoke regularly entered my room. Breakfast offered in cramped entrance lobby.

    Staff were excellent: friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.8
    Need more of a breakfast too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning Everyone putting fans outside their door to blow in room. ? Channels on TV, not good They need little window units

    Cute room though

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem was that there was no air-con, only a fan. It was particularly hot while we were there so the first night was hot and uncomfortable. However, the next two nights we opened our door in the evening which helped.

    The room was very clean with good facilities, 2 large double beds which were very comfortable. Staff were lovely and very helpful. The location was great, 15 minutes walk to the beach and shops, pharmacy and a laundrette very close by. Lots of parking and it was very quiet despite being near a fairly busy road.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    The room was as described, comfortable and spacious enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning in our room did not work on the night of our stay so we had a hot nights stay.

    The room was as described, comfortable and spacious enough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Takes 15 mins to reach the ocean by foot and roughly 20 mins...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room did not have AC - I knew that when I booked the room. However, my room was on the second floor and it got really hot because of the heat coming from the roof of the first floor adjacent to the room. Bear in mind this fact when booking the room.

    Takes 15 mins to reach the ocean by foot and roughly 20 mins to the SM promenade. The room was clean and staff was nice. I had no problem with parking the car.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location! Worth it if you don't need cool air.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no ac and only one fan was offered. The weather had been around 110 during the day and 80 at night. Very narrow parking.

    The rooms were clean and quaint. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.3
    Nice Motel, although excessively overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for what you get A/C not working, during the hot LA summer... and 1 of the fans in the room made an unbearable noise while working Parking space not that large (had trouble parking a medium sized SUV..)

    Nice rooms Close to Santa Monica beach 24/7 lobby

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel to visit Santa Monica
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Drunk neighbors in the courtyard, noisy till morning. It is strange that receptionist/security did nothing to calm down them.

    Near Santa Monica beach. Good location to relax few days after long flight from Europe and start voyage via Big Sur to San Francisco. Near by LAX. Free parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Would Stay Again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC but we were given a box fan that helped and made up for it :)

    The staff, Laura was amazing as was the other lady that checked us in sorry I can't remember her name but she was there there when we checked in on June 29 at around 130 - 2 PM. The distance it is from the beach as well was perfect there are also places to eat just minutes away. Beds were comfy. Pillows were great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice place, reasonable price, good location, our stay was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Convenient location, close to the pier, beaches, mall, metro, whole foods, also the way to the airport is very easy. The room was really nice, clean, comfortable, with good amenities. Ceiling fan, large comfortable beds, fridge, microwave, TV, etc. Everything looked new and fresh. Wifi ok. Anytime free coffee, tea in the lobby, morning snacks. The place feels safe. Our host Linda was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Room spacious and with private parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room spacious and with private parking. A lot of restaurants nearby. Their green program is great, if you don’t need daily housekeeping, can have USD10 back 👍🏻👍🏻

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    3 nights in LA
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    The staff were very nice and always there to help. Although the hotel is on a busy road once you are in your room you woul never know. Room are very nice and well maintained. It’s an easy walk to the beach or Santa Monica.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Just for sleeping is a good place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just for sleeping is a good place. We arrived late in the night and it is convenient the fact that the reception is one 24 hours. Despite the rooms are new and renovated we found a cockroach in the bathroom. The staff was super helpful and moved us to a better room and reimbursed us for the taxes and fees.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice trip, great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was not ideal and there was someone constantly smoking marijuana.

    It was a cute little hotel. Facilities where nice and clean and really close to everything you could need.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    The front desk staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff was very friendly. She made sure my room was ready 2 hours before check in time! The room was also very clean. I would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.0
    Room was so small for 5 ppl, I booked almost a year ahead...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They also told us there was breakfast in morning, there was nothing

    Room was so small for 5 ppl, I booked almost a year ahead and specified for 3 kids and 2 adults, I’m sure you could of put me in a lil bigger room. And room felt musty and old feeling

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    All the staff at Santa Monica Motel are very accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All the staff at Santa Monica Motel are very accommodating. They have OUTSTANDING customer service. For example, Laura agreed to house the rental bikes from the "Bicycle Ambulance" shop a block away for them to pick up the next morning as my flight was too early to return them to the shop. The rooms were very clean and the perfect size. The location is outstanding. About a 20 minute walk to the beech. Based on the outstanding customer service, hotel cleanliness and location, I highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall, it’s excellent😎 Especially, I love the way Sean treat us as a friend without doubt! Thank you so much that we left a great experience in Santa Monica. Well.... I’ll definitely recommend all of you guys to visit here and enjoy your vocation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My daughter (15) and I stayed here during her spring break simple rooms with basic amenities. Great place for families. Staff were easy going. and very friendly. Two blocks to pacific palisades park and a 10 min walk to the beach or the pier. 12 min to the promenade (lot of stores, restaurants, bars. Location / location / location. only negative was small bathroom with no counter space, but reading previous reviews had us prepared for that.We would stay again, for convenience to the beach and beach towns.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    My room had an issue with the a card key not working.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had an issue with the a card key not working... The staff apologized multiple times for the inconvenience and made sure I felt secure in my room. The staff that afternoon was great.. I will definitely use Santa Monica Inn again. Thank you for the hospitality!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing Motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the noise in the area. From the cars beeping to the liquor store yells close by, it was tough to sleep through.

    I liked that the property was close to many stores and a pharmacy. That probably explains the many cars though. The look of the property was also pleasing to look at. The motel looked welcoming and comfortable from the outside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Would recommend the motel
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was like a cloud, the room was quiet (away from traffic), walking distance to Santa Monica Pier, perfect for the LAMarathon, and that I could leave my car after I checked out. The staff was very friendly, too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Great stay for what we needed. Very clean looks like it have been refurbished or new owners. But it's made it look very nice and the beds where nice. Very close to the Santa Monica pier we walked there took us 15-20 minutes and depending on traffic 45 minutes to an hour to the airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.8
    Had to Santa Monica for work and this ended up being like my second home.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow too thick.

    Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Casual modern decor with the perfect aesthetics for comfort. Just close enough to all the downtown hustle of santa monica, but right outside enough to feel like you can “get away”.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    The room and the facilities where great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and the facilities where great. U 10mins from Santa Monica and Venice beach. Bout 15mins from downtown. Shopping, nightlife and decent restaurants are all close by. The staff were also top notch and happily looked after me and provided good information and also accommodated me when was flight was delayed by looking after my luggage and allowing to spend more time to explore the area. Very grateful and will definitely return

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.9
    Recently renovated, clean, nice bed.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms are next to a busy street. We got room at the back of the property so this was not an issue.

    Recently renovated, clean, nice bed. They have a computer with a printer in lobby. Good value in Santa Monica.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Very nice motel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls, no AC but they got us two fans on the room

    Very nice motel. Small but personal was so nice, rooms was clean, location just 10 min from santa monica brach. Free parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    I liked the rooms, all newly done and very clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the outside when driving up, does not look as appealing, but when you go into your room, way nicer than you think!

    I liked the rooms, all newly done and very clean!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Would go back 10 times over again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was off and on. Definitely not a deal breaker though. We were there for vacation, to disconnect.

    Honestly, I wasn’t holding my expectations too high because I knew it was just a “motel” but Shawn, Erik, and the rest of the staff were more than amazing. They were so nice and welcoming. They were knowledgeable of the area and were more than happy to give advice on what to do and where to go. They were so helpful. You can tell they have done a lot to keep the place up to date and clean. You’re seriously a 10-15 minutes walk from the beach, the pier, and 3rd street promenade. If you’re looking for somewhere ideal to stay without breaking the bank and leaving you with plenty of money to spend. This is your place. I will definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Excellent staff, location and value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sean and the team at this hotel were awesome. We had a flat tyre and they couldnt have helped us more if they tried. The maintenance crew even gave us a jack and WD40 to loosen some rusted parts on our car and equipment. Rooms were clean, price was great and location was fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like kettle and tea/coffee facilities in the room. There was however a fridge, ice was available and coffee was available in the reception/lounge area.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. There is a Starbucks and Japanese restaurant (and more) within easy walking distance. We enjoyed walking to the pier and to Third Street Promenade. We didn’t fly till late but our bags were taken care of after check out. Would stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel close to Santa Monica beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in general OK but I would prefer to know the exact price considering tases and everything else.

    The location is good for visiting Santa Monica Pier. The room is OK.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Staff was friendly and the hotel looks like it received a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls were thin. Very thin. Also, I had some neighbors that were way too loud from 1-4AM. It took 2 hours for the staff to get them to quiet down. There isn't AC. Beware if you are staying in the summer.

    Staff was friendly and the hotel looks like it received a facelift recently. Design, furniture, and paint were all feeling very updated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    A diamond in the rough, not to be missed for business or pleasure!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have had more drinks available for purchase, whether in vending machines or preferably in the lobby and preferably healthy drinks your clients would enjoy :)

    The room had a wonderful sense of light and of design, most unexpected. Friendliest staff at all levels. A hidden gem.....

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed my stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a little tight and no AC

    Bed very clean and comfortable. Staff very considerate and polite. Room was really well cleaned and made up each day too

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.8
    Add for the place was not factual.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Add for the place was not factual. It does not have microwave, fridge, extra chairs. No phone so you better bring your cell phone and last wake up call are done the old fashioned way they come and knock at your door.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.1
    It was a good place in a good location, with just a couple small hitches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed vacuuming around beds. Water pressure in shower was not very good.

    Friendly. Helpful managers and staff. Close to many food options, and to beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.5
    Overall liked our stay was great Value for money and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air con. So was extremely hot as there was no real way to cool the room. They supplied two fans which was helpful but still very hot and hard to sleep. There were also ants in the bathroom and kitchenette.

    Loved the location in Santa Monica very conveniently placed and central. For the price the location was great value for money. The room was nice and clean. Laura the hotel receptionist was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    I loved it so much that I'll be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ac if you go in summer but we went in Fall and it got naturally cold, plus they provide a large fan.

    The room was beautifully decorated and super clean. I loved the friendliness and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    I would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    my only suggestion: there was no closet to hang my things. if a portable butler/valet clothes stand could be added to the room, that would have been perfect. (I hung my hangers on the sliding shower door).

    I was a female solo traveler on a budget for one night in Santa Monica. The Santa Monica Motel was a very nice little experience. the staff, Laura in particular at the front desk, who gave me a choice of 2 open rooms. she wanted to make sure I was comfortable. my room was bright, clean, the bed/pillows were very comfortable and the bathroom amenities/towels were very nice! just note - the property entrance is on a busy street. I stayed in the corner room on said street and it was ok for me, but if you're a light sleeper, get there early to request a room toward the back of the property. Santa Monica is a popular destination and pricey. when I come back to SM, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    5.0
    Average..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty overpriced for what is a low grade motel. I had people chatting in the smoking area outside my room at 3am in the morning.

    The weather was good !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Pretty good 3 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning / parking a bit tight / no signs in car park keep quiet during sleeping hours

    Friendly staffs / nice refurbished rooms / close to Santa Monica and food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    5.4
    I booked a room with two beds. When I got to Santa Monica motel at around 11pm.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was heartless no compassion was not I was not asking for anything free. They did not have to treat us the way the did the security guard was kind that’s in.

    JUst the location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.4
    Reasonable if you don't mind the noise.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location on busy street, across from live music club, very noisy, bring your ear plugs. Accommodations from 1960's or early '70's.

    Friendly staff, complimentary coffee, clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.1
    The room was very clean and clear.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The family room is small (beds and space around). We couldn't have our breakfast (even a small one) because there was nothing left at 9.

    The room was very clean and clear. The guest clerk was nice and smiley.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    6.7
    Okay, but pricy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bathroom, no airco, no wifi reception in room

    Most friendly reception personnel ever! modern rooms, parking, fridge in lobby which can be used, good toiletries.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Accessible location, friendly staff but room nearest the office needs better noise insulation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in the room closest to the office. Disturbed nights sleep due to an argumentative customer in the office plus traffic noise

    REALLY FRIENDLY CHECK IN STAFF PLUS GOOD LOCATION

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Very clean and affordable for Santa Monica
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean rooms, ceiling fan was a good replacement for air conditioning. Staff helped us and nothing was too much trouble. A great place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Bring your beach cruisers, alot to see!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was really a neat & clean place with a nice remodel not to mention the staff was energetic with a very upbeat attitude that communicates well & delivers.

    Did not know when booking room that there were know air conditioners in any of the rooms to help cut the humidity & scrub some of the heat during the day. T staff gave us a box fan to help move the air.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.9
    Staff were very friendly - late check in was useful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we were last to check in we had a room without a fridge - not the end of the world for us but some travellers may require one.

    Staff were very friendly - late check in was useful. Rooms were clean, ensuite was on the smaller side with a dodgy tap but had been recently redecorated. Coffee and bottles of orange available along with muffins for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    Overpriced, but safe and clean in an ok location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no air conditioning, there was a room fan but it got a bit warm, especially at night. I thought it was way overpriced for a motel that far away from the beach.

    The staff was great and the Motel was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.7
    A bit remote for an easy walk down to the pier, about 40...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit remote for an easy walk down to the pier, about 40 minutes. The Air Conditioning didn't work although an additional fan was supplied without asking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    Fair value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The towels were not as clean as the linens on the bed. They were washed but stained so I preferred not to use them. There were some ants in the washing area. Rather than being dirty, this was probably because my room was at the ground level and close to the bushes outside. In any case, it is not nice to have ants walking on and around your cosmetics.

    The bed was comfortable and the linens were clean. The staff at the front desk was very helpful. The location requires some walking to the main attractions but is still close enough to the center. While there was no air conditioning, the ceiling fan was more than enough to keep cool. The wi-fi was very strong.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.8
    Perfect location to the Santa Monica Pier
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO A/C so you had to leave the widows open for any air - and since the windows were open we were exposed to the noisy environment outside our room.

    The Staff was great. Gerry was an excellent host and provided great information, a hairdryer my wife needed, and a map of the location and places to see.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    5.0
    Nice location, but no cleaning, no AC
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleaning staff did not clean the room, we even had to ask for more toilet paper! And there was no AC in room 27, we had to sleep with open window which was not so comfortable because of the noise.. I would book another motel next time as it was too expensive for the service (or no service).

    Location was good (by car, by foot everything ok), safe neighborhood.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    4.6
    NO AIR CONDITIONING
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The boxfan from Walmart wasn't a good touch.

    There was no Air conditioning and the room was 90 degrees. The parking spaces are tiny and my 2 door, small, very small, not big car was keyed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    4.6
    Overpriced fleabag motel.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hot. There was no a/c. We had to open the window. It was very loud outside with people shouting and a bar across the street. We did not sleep well.

    The staff gave us extra towels.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.0
    Not a safe neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We went out for a few hours and our room was broken into and our laptop stolen.

    Only stayed 1 night but room was ok. Very expensive for what we got. We did book for 2 nights but our room was broken into on our first night. The management did give us a full refund.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Great for business travel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a bit tight. But like I said, great deal for the price!

    The place was very clean. The room was small, but I was there for business and just needed a bed and a shower. It was clean and in very good condition. Staff was friendly and responsive! Great for the business traveler traveling alone and just needs a clean place to sleep.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.9
    Good value not far from Santa Monica Pier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main road was a little noisy but we used earplugs and it was fine.

    The staff were very helpful and even gave us a room early as we were jetlagged. The motel was a nice walk to the pier and retail district.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.8
    Good staff, room a bit small
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    The staff was really polite, good position and pretty nice room. It is not very cheap considering the facilities, but everything is expensive in Santa Monica

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    4.2
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls could be insulated, heavy drapes on windows to drown the noise and aircon should be fixed.

    The rate was relative to the standard of the room. Room was on the main traffic side and very noising. The noice coming from next room's bath room was very deafening so as the thumbing on the wall etc. no curtains so that did not help. The aircon was firing up so it was Turned off. The fan was making a lot of noise but just left it on because it was too hot in the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking lot is small so people with large cars/trucks should have a designated spot to park.

    The staff was excellent and went out of the way to help accommodate my service dog.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.5
    Exactly what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water didn't work for the shower the morning we were leaving, but this was throughout the motel and was out of their control so can't moan too much. Thought the price for 1 night was a bit steep though

    Staff were good, very friendly. Basic but all we needed for an overnight stay, about 15 mins walk from the pier, bars and restaurants. Free parking was good, and they allowed us to leave the car there even after we checked out and went to the pier for the day

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.5
    Decent one-night stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a trashcan with an ash tray directly outside of our window. We often heard people speaking right outside our room as they were hanging out and smoking. Not a fan of smoke so we had to close the window to keep the smell from entering our room. Also had to close out shades for full privacy.

    My boyfriend and I booked one night here to celebrate his 30th birthday and it was a pleasant stay. We are not picky and enjoyed the location of the motel. We did not want to walk to the pier as it was a cold night, but took an Uber for a cheap 5-6 dollars. The rooms were decent and comfortable. We were happy and surprised to see the toiletries included, and coffee :) Bathroom is small but very manageable. There was also a small closet. Flat screen t.v with many channels. Oh! They had vanity lighting and a mirror in the room which was perfect for me when I was getting ready.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.5
    The motel should have given a discount or offer a refund to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The motel should have given a discount or offer a refund to everyone staying there due to the obscene construction noise of replacing their roof. The last night I stayed there was the first day of the roof replacement. At 8am I had six men in work boots hauling up the materials and stomping all over the roof/thin ceiling above my room. The sound was so ridiculous I recorded it on my iphone. I also took pictures of the men on the roof as I was leaving. I didn't complain a lot about it as I was leaving at 9am and was already awake, but if that had been a vacation day where I wanted to sleep in....I would have been livid.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit noisy around. Rooms are too close to each other and you can clearly here people around talking.

    The place is much better than the rating it has. High in value for money when compared to other places around.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.6
    Above average value.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Encountered no problem during our stay.

    Excellent and honest service, friendly staff, comfortable beds, very clean, modern equipment and remodeled interior. Above average value fort price. Sincerely recommended to all.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.6
    Everything was nice and clean.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I didn't like was that when I was checking in the person was charging me more from when I booked! I had screenshot everything on my phone when I booked, price, etc. so I was still able to get the same price, just thought that was weird, wasn't sure if they were trying to overcharge me or what

    Everything was nice and clean. Thank you!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Will come back to this place for sure
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the blaket smelled used

    The lighting was great, had a small vanity to do my make up. The stay was pretty quiet. Was close to the beach for cheap. Two dumbs up for this place.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    8.3
    Friendly, welcoming, good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and after getting stuck in traffic congestion for 2 hours at the end of a long road trip Johnnie's smiling face and helpfulness was extremely welcoming. Johnnie recommended El Polo Loco for dinner and we found their meals and service excellent also.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    8.3
    The staff is what makes it special
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very helpful, especially Roy helped us a lot when we were checking in at 2am, which is usually not possible the way we planned it. He did a great job trying to find a solution with us.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.1
    The room was clean, the staff was friendly, and the location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was kind of small - would have been nice if it had one queen bed instead of two double beds. Also would have been nice to have a small refrigerator and microwave in the room as well as a comfortable chair or two.

    The room was clean, the staff was friendly, and the location worked well for us.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    7.5
    Stayed in the back portion this time and it was far superior...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Last time I stayed in the front portion and it was nothing like the back. Noisy neighbors and completely different room.

    Stayed in the back portion this time and it was far superior in all ways.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    Good job guys!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It really was all good! Nothing negative

    The manager was cool. You guys we're dealing with construction and handled it like pros. Good job! Keep up the good work. Wish I remembered the managers name... sorry...

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Santa Monica Motel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: