Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Monterey Peninsula Inn 3 stars

1101 Lighthouse Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950, USA

#12 of 22 hotels in Pacific Grove

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 983 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Great spot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get te AC to work and there were children running around screaming the entire next morning which woke us up (early!) and wouldn’t allow us to get back to sleep after having a nice but very late night. Would be nice if the place told people with kids that there are other patrons who sleep past 6am so they shouldn’t let their kids play screaming tag around the property until at least after 10am...or never.

    Location was great, room was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    I would stay here again if the rate was more competitive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room. Bed was angled downwards. TV was crooked. Was hot in room (no AC).

    Great location. Quiet. Close to beach & 17 mile drive. Walking distance to downtown Pacific Grove.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    2.5
    The room was cute and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parties. Till 3amn. No security , too noisy. They need better communication. No one called the cops or security night manager to co9me and remove the party goers when it state's close spa area. By 9pm, I called 2x

    The room was cute and clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.5
    Excellent location and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Superb location just off 17 Mile Drive and only a few miles from Carmel Beach. Close to the restaurants of Pacific Grove which was amazingly quiet and spacious. Also only a couple of miles from Monterey. Enormous rooms with multiple beds. We could have survived with fewer rooms for our family. Breakfast only in Reception and adjacent patio but fresh and plentiful. Tremendous, helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.8
    Inn does not measure up to photos and marketing advertised
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that the AC unit was broken/did not respond. I did not like that you could not wash your pet in the bath/tub. The story of their generousity regarding why they allow dogs at the inn seems sarcastic when they don’t even allow your pet to sit on any furniture or deny them a wash. My pet is my child, and I didn’t like being told I cannot wash him despite paying a fee. I did not like that the treats provided for the pet are not high quality for the pet fee charged - it’s the highest pet fee I’ve had to pay. I did not like that the room smelled like faint urine from someone else’s pet - I could smell it all night since the damn AC unit wasn’t working. I did not like that we were in a room right next door to construction. The next morning the crew came to work. I did not like how thin the walls were to the next guest - I could hear more than I wanted. The breakfast was a total disappointment - equivalent to a motel 6 or lower. Not even juice was offered. Simply over sugared cheap pastries and bad coffee. I didn’t feel like the price for what I paid was worth the stay in the end.

    I liked that the unit had a kitchenette. The housekeepers wash the dishes provided, which was a surprise. I like the appearance of the rooms online, but they are a little lack-luster when you arrive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    We have stayed here before, and it has always been a very pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot water was not hot, tepid at best. There were long black hairs on the bathroom floor.

    The room was fine; the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was basically just pastries and coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Cute, clean, and cozy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't dislike anything! Just a heads up: there is no A/C, but it wasn't a big deal because the weather is perfection and a large fan is provided just in case!

    The hotel was perfect and cozy!!! Super clean and cute hot tub! The location is so quiet and can easily access great areas. The coffee was delicious!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing oasis with a private pool, true Bali feel and breathtaking views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I absolutely loved how wonderful the staff was. We were even upgraded to a special teak house for our honeymoon. It was very thoughtful and we were so appreciative I absolutely loved how wonderful the staff was. We were even upgraded to a special teak house for our honeymoon. It was very thoughtful and we were so appreciative. It was super clean. The pool was a great temperature and also had a lovely view of Bali Landscape. It was just down the road from tanah lot temple. Seriously we cannot believe how beautiful this place is! It really made our honeymoon magical. The shower was even a rain shower which was really cool. We had a lounge area and a kitchen. The kitchen was stocked with glasses and bowls plates and silverware The shower was even a rain shower which was really cool. We had a lounge area and a kitchen. The kitchen was stocked with glasses bowls plates and silverware. The house was very cool with a lot of wood detailing. It really made the trip!! We will absolutely be staying here again when we return to Bali. It really was a quiet retreat to get away. Perfect!!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    It was a lovely place! Next year, I will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well kept property with lovely touches such as patios, firepit, patio table sets, and fountain in public areas. The room was cleaner than clean. Staff was welcoming, friendly, and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Gorgeous place, clean, modern, comfy. Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fan in bathroom was a little noisy but that didn't cause any issues.

    Really clean and comfortable room. Friendly helpful staff and beautiful location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    The bed wasn't bad and it was close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was just sweet stuff for the most part, not great. It was not a hotel you would want to hang out in, but it is clean and fine for a quick stay in a pricey area.

    The bed wasn't bad and it was close to everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent

    This hotel jad excellent and friendly personnel and the room was very clean and comfortable. It very easily compared to our 5 star hotel in Vegas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice place to stay, nice location, and a nice time in Pacific Grove.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The two largest disadvantages were the expansion that the Inn is undergoing (adding a couple more rooms). Of course, that noise is a temporary inconvenience; and - for those who like the security of a walled-in hotel - the openness of Monterey Peninsula Inn would be an issue.

    The Inn's location along Lighthouse Avenue was GREAT!! A short drive down the road from the business (tourist) district, restaurants, & shops; yet less than a mile away from the lighthouse (not TOO impressive), and the beach. Great staff - from the folks at the front desk, to the housekeeping crew.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.4
    Room overcrowded for furniture in small space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room overcrowded for furniture in small space. Faulty TV reception not fixed in two days. Outside construction underway. Parking lot and drivein area very uneven.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.9
    The bed was so comfortable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not ready at check in. Bring your own soap and shampoo, The breakfast should be described as a muffin or bagel.

    The bed was so comfortable. The location excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Simple but nice place to stay on a trip down the coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a nice stay here, the beds were very comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was an added bonus. Beds were very comfortable and the space was very clean. Good recommendations for dinner in the evening from the gentleman on the desk too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable, and quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too expensive.

    Clean, comfortable, quiet. Very nice bed, excellent pillows. We enjoyed having a kitchenette this time. Even though we went out to eat, it was nice to have the fridge and stove for storing and reheating leftovers. Our room was equipped for people with disabilities, grab bars in the bathroom all around the toilet and shower, drop down seat in shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Very good motel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just one gripe: the bathroom was big enough to fit a few more towel rails - which helps with drying towels, rather than leaving wet ones on the floor to be replaced just because they can't be dried properly.

    Really nice motel in a brilliant location: barely five minutes on foot from miles of footpaths along wonderful beaches. "Downtown" Pacific Grove (again, you could walk there easily along the ocean) has a really nice atmosphere, with lovely cafes and restaurants and a good bookshop. I liked P.C. much better than the rather chi-chi Carmel. As to the the motel, the rooms have everything you need (coffee maker, microwave, decent desk), the decor of my room was fresh and in immaculate condition. The bathroom was fairly spacious, with a lovely walk-in shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only very minor issue was that the Venetian blind in the kitchen area allowed light from outside into the sleeping area.

    The room was spacious, comfortable, recently renovated and equipped with a full kitchen. It was like an apartment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice room and layout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pricing was a little high for the area. Need more cookware, dish towels, silverware and settings of dinnerware. We actually cooked and needed a few more necessities.

    Nice room and layout.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    Experience was good. Price was right. I would come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better shower head. Not enough amenities-no hand lotion, hair conditioner, thin towels. Noise on the street.

    Room was clean and neat. Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.4
    Average stay but bad experience with booking.com overpricing than actual if you book direct
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cottage or Family Suite - however you refer them is just the size for 2 adults plus 2 kids. We got mislead by booking.com description about family bungalow and right recommendation for 4 adults and 2 kids. We wanted to be sure and even reached to booking.com support, but they misled again saying its family bungalow (which is again wrong description per booking.com website). There was just a standing shower in family suite. We ended up making direct booking for much much cheaper price and larger rooms with 3 queens beds and private patio and bathroom with bathtub. Breakfast was part of standard price for all guests, but it was highlighted as two difference prices in booking.com website giving a feeling you pay more and get more. Again misleading information from booking.com. Breakfast was just OK, muffins, donuts, bagels and coffee but no cereals or breads or bananas or eggs. Overall we were sore on the cramped space and frustration on how booking.com mislead us into booking such small space as family bungalow at higher price. We might stay in Monterey Peninsula Inn again but will never be back on booking.com again

    Location and friendly front desk staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    4.6
    Blah
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was misled in being told the rooms came with Jacuzzi bathtubs and they didn't. I was also told the fire put /hot tub area was 24hr ..it closes at 9pm and my room had to be switched due to NO HOT WATER

    Quiet location on comers were friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Overall a good choice with a great location in a quiet residential neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The gate keypad for the spa needs a light above it so you can punch in the tiny code without a flashlight at night.

    The room was small but the bed new and the bathroom had been renovated so quite comfortable. Big closet. Simple continental breakfast, but includes packet oatmeal and good coffee. Nicely redone lobby with lots of tourist info. Clean spa. You can walk to the butterfly reserve (they're on site Nov-Jan'ish). Many sites are a short drive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.9
    Beware; no A/C
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A/C, did not notice when I booked, but what hotel doesn’t have it?! Only a small box fan was available. The pocket door to the bathroom kept getting stuck. Sink didn’t drain.

    Love Monterey!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location, friendly staff, comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom set up was odd, splitting the toilet from the sink is great, but you had to walk thru the bedrooms to get to it. The rooms were cramped. It's an old property going thru rehab, which is good. They need to update the shower and floors in the bathroom.

    Great location, friendly staff, comfortable beds. Quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Wish we were there for more than one night at the property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Spacious clean room with full kitchenaid. Staffs are friendly. Location is few minutes away from Pacific Grove but approximated 30 minutes away from Carmel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.0
    We took a dog-friendly vacation with our puppy. It satisfied that goal very well.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't have a problem with this property and the staff was perfect to help and welcome.

    Although an older property with bungaloe type rooms, the room looked like it had been recently remodeled. The bathroom especially. The property was clean, breakfast had fresh muffins, bagels so better than some not as ample as other, but nice patio furniture to sit at during breakfast. Property was not as close to Asilomar beach walking as I thought but closer to old town. VERY dog friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    The place is within walking distance to the beach and food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entrance to the place needs a stop light. It hard to get in and out when the street is busy.

    The place is within walking distance to the beach and food places. Very convenience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Fun drunken nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast, stairs are broken to the beach and no jacuzzi.

    The room 220 above the office, is not good if you and your partner are trying to be intimate but I loved that room and the angle of it and the view, it was so beautiful and spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Only 1 request that they would get a different brand of sheets they're too rough & itchy.
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi not very strong, cannot receive calls or call out inside the rooms or on the property. The material on the sheets too rough and itchy even though they're clean.

    The property and inside the rooms are very clean the staff members very helpful and polite the front desk service excellent! There continental breakfast I love their danishes and the coffee. This is our second trip there and we would come back again in the future. Very close to the ocean and a nice quiet area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed for the money spent, only plus was location. Would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one bar of soap for vanity area and shower so you had to take from place to place. There was no lotion or any other toiletries. The clocks were not set and could not be set. The air conditioner did not go on. The water in bath tub did not drain. The bathroom floor was not swept.

    The bed was comfortable. Parking was right in front of your room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    It was very nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction going on in the building we were in. It got very loud and interrupted our relaxing get away.

    It was very nice and clean. Perfect stay with our pups. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    2.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness and cleaning service for got my watch which I had got for my birthday and they did not return it turn right back around and went in the room in the maid said she didn't see it because I have previously complained about how dirty the room was

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.0
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was the worst of 16 countries I have visited. The bathroom was only adequate, I had to sit sideways on the toilet because my knees wouldn't clear the wall.

    Location was good and quite

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Great pillows, LOVED the late check-in option only bummer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great pillows, LOVED the late check-in option only bummer was that the fire pit was not working and the lobby (with the great coffee and baked good and fruit) didn't open till 8. So YEAH this is a great hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay! Will come next time with our dogs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    They have comfortable beds, nice walking areas by the hotel (including the Butterfly Sanctuary), and the clean rooms were a great blessing on this trip. Near tide pools for the kids to explore as well as some sandy beaches just 5 minutes away from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    I had booked a family bungalow and was put in a two room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked a family bungalow and was put in a two room detached bungalow. Obviously, I had to pay more. Plus, the huge $308 price said it included breakfast which was not true. It included a very light continental breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful family vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful place, excellent, friendly staff and service, we upgraded our room and it was well worth the price. All tourist places are a few minutes away, very near Monterey Bay Aquarium, walking distance to Point Pinos Lighthouse; all the restaurants we went to served superb food! My family and friends wanted to go back! Thank you MPI !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People staying next to our room hit the wall probably a few times not sure with what, but could clearly hear the banging. Insulation isn't very good.

    The Deluxe room with kitchen #439 is very new and nice. Great lighting in the room, the best brightness I have ever had in a hotel room. Location is good, very close to the coast and lighthouse we had a nice time riding around in our electric bikes. It's not too far either to drive to downtown for dinner either. Our kids live the room, very homey and comfortable they say.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More tables in the room to put items on. That the continental breakfast didn’t include some type of cereal. That after a day of sightseeing we came back to a room that wasn’t cleaned and we had to ask them to clean it and waited an hour until it was done.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    Good place to sleep for one night, but that’s it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small Shower very small Soap was not good/ not much in other items. No plates for the continental breakfast not lids for the coffee.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall our stay was pleasant and close to the coast we would consider staying here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed in the morning to not see a great breakfast :( Because our family bungalow was so comfortable. We thought our experience for breakfast in the morning was going to be jest the same and be a great start to our morning, but it wasnt.

    The Family bungalow was very accomodating for our family of 6.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    I'd happily stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was bleak and not what I expected for a place that boasted breakfast- bananas, pastries, tea, and coffee.

    The hot tub was clean and nice and toasty. The location was fantastic- so close to the coast and close to lots of offerings in town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Let’s just say, I will return! Great place!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv not working after front desk person came and got it working. Not sure why. Was a bit frustrating.

    Beds were comfy!! Rooms were clean and cozy. Easy access.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Monterey Peninsula Inn is a quaint and lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very happy with everything, would definitely stay again for next trip.

    Suite was clean and comfortable. Close to restaurants, beach and other activities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Sweet retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking distance to the beach. Two queen Rooms are great. The beds are separated by a door, we didn't have to hear snoring all night. Didn't have a chance to use the Jacuzzi or fire pits that was a bummer but there's next time. Very clean and the balcony was the cherry on top. Great little spot. Can't wait to book again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.3
    It was not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A feature of the publicity is ‘Breakfast Included’. What a joke. A few high sugar, high fat, pastries in a tiny lobby, worst ever..

    Decent sized room, clean enough, quiet location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Was good. Felt safe and nice quiet area with close access to ocean and lovely Pacific Grove.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light breakfast was disappointing. Only donuts. Very unhealthy. There was fruit but no yogurt or any other choice.

    The cottage was very clean but awkward to be comfortable. All in all the location, outside and in very clean. ALL staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    5.0
    Not what is showed on line outdated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to go through 2 rooms to get to only old shower no kitchen facilities Outdated

    Bed hard family unit unexceptablehad to go through 2 rooms to get to shore only No

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Cute little one story property updated, and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was a little hard, bathroom needs a little more counter space, though they did add a long narrow shelf trying to solve this problem. Very small bathroom makes it a little difficult to add counter space.

    Cute little one story property updated, and clean. loved it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    Not bad, a few adjustments and it could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non functioning heat or noisy heaters. Needs some work to seal the doors. The deluxe suites are far nicer than the king single standard room. Clerk wasn't real helpful when informed about the heat issues. One small change is to invest in fabric shower curtain liners.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    3.8
    Close to aquarium
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I killed a cockroach in the bathroom ( it wasn’t a bug), the floors were very gross and the bed were like sleeping on rocks. The continental breakfast was 3trays of donuts and pastries (taste old) and a little bowl or fruit and coffee. We will never stay there again!

    Close to aquarium

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    3.3
    Bad experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air conditioning in the room, only a heater. But the heater did not work for the whole night. We were about cold to death. And we when told this problem to the staff, the office was already closed so we called emergency staff. He said the heater will run in 10 minutes, but it didn't working after 30minutes!! So we call back the emergency number for several times, but there was no response. What's more, the heater was still down when we left the hotel.

    Location is OK

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    Location, family cottage, continental breakfast, parking, and room extras made a good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting was too dark. Invest in higher wattage bulbs. Facility is showing its age. Could upgrade bathroom sink and vanity.

    Comfortable bed and linens. Nice to have a fridge. Blackout curtains were good to have. Towel sculpture was a nice touch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    A perfect getaway
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast pastries were stale.

    Pets are welcome. Walking distance to Asilomar beach and walk. Reasonable pricing. Clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    Good for a romantic stay in Monterey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i would say the breakfast, can offer a bit more for the price

    The type of the room makes the atmosphere very romantic, good for couples. The space and cleansing was fair. Very quite place. the heating worked very well. A big thumb up to the service: the receptionist was very kind to arrange our late check-in, after their opening hour. Good parking and nice outdoor jacuzzi. Breakfast was ok, just don't expect too much, is not a 5 star hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    2.5
    Stressful weekend that was intended to relax and rejuvenate
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Banging heater all night long. At least 1-2 times/hour the old heater made a very loud bang. It prevented us from sleeping at all. Staff response? "Sorry about that." They knew full well about this problem in cottage 415.

    Pacific Grove

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    Just okay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower heads meant for very short people, bed too hard, high price for what you get, walls appeared to be molding in the bathroom, rusty bar in shower.

    Location was nice, room was pretty clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.1
    I liked that they had pet friendly rooms so I was able to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have some adjustments but I guess it’s not too bad for what we paid for. Only thing I didn’t like was that the door was old and hard to open/close due to it being old and falling off the hinge so you had to lift the door every time you wanted to open/close it. Also the shower could of used a plastic curtain to keep the water in the tub instead it had a regular shower curtain and there would be a puddle of water when getting out. Had to lay towels on the floor to avoid falling. Other than that everything else was okay.

    I liked that they had pet friendly rooms so I was able to bring my dog along with me on this trip.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.3
    Adequate, but nothing to write home about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our suite was tiny and included 3 beds! There was hardly any room to walk around. For a suite with that many beds and can supposedly accommodate up to 6 (???) people, it was so small. Thankfully it was just me, my husband and our toddler. The breakfast was just sugary pastries. No cereal or muffins or bagels- just danishes.

    Nice location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    Acceptable for a short stay where you just want a clean bed and a shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was weak. The wifi terrible.

    It's OK but that's about it, nothing special. Consider this for a clean bed for a night or two but nothing much more. Had this been a business trip it would have been a little frustrating due to the Wifi being very poor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.8
    Location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is old, room small, shower extremely small and shower head very, very low. I’m 5’7” and could not put my head under the shower head.

    Location is great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Stay was ok, but not something I could recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction Monday Tuesday Wednesday mornings. Too many sweets for breakfast. Need cereal and more fruit and yogurt.

    Location was good. Little traffic and close to beach and downtown Pacific Grove.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    4.2
    Poor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a very over rated old motel. For $250/ night, the breakfast was doughnuts, the fire pit didn’t work and the postage stamp size rooms are very old, they simply put lipstick on a pig. Will not return!

    Large bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location near downtown PG;
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location near downtown PG; very dog friendly - they provided us a dog bed, water bowel & two little treats! $15/night extra for our pup.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    very comfortable, quiet, nothing fancy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I unplugged the land line first night. It would ring on and off once or twice. coffee pot never worked. I told desk clerk and he said housekeeping would replace. If they did( i don't think they did) it turned on by itself in the middle of the night! I had to unplug it it was so hot!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Good value!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't imagine someone designing and building a big beautiful shower with no ledge or shelf to put soap and shampoo. There was so choice but to put them on the floor. Just seems dumb.

    Reception was friendly, bed was comfortable, pillows were excellent! There's a hot tub and fire ring outside - we didn't use them, but would have if we'd brought swimsuits. We chose this place because of the price and didn't expect much. We found everything clean, freshly painted, nice tile and fixtures, etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Worth the money, great service but dated rooms and a basic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic nothing fancy. Rooms were dated and a small bathroom.

    Bed was extra soft and comfy. Check in was a breeze, we came late and they gave us room number and keys over phone.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    5.8
    Will not be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater, even though turned off, started knocking loudly at 2 AM both days of our stay. It's continued for 35 minutes each time. Was told by the front desk that I have to wait till Monday to talk to a manager to get a refund. I guess the front desk staff isn't trusted to refund such a terrible experiance. We came to Monterey to relax but never woke up having that feeling since we were up each morning for an hour. Rediculous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and clean :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was small very which I didn’t expect but it was kind of a fun experience. Kitchen kinda small but it was plenty for our need. Heater kept making a banging noise which scared my son at night a bit but with reassurance he was okay did keep him from sleeping in the extra room lol. One of the windows didn’t lock at all could easily be opened from outside but I trusted the place was safe and it was but it could use some repair. Also a lamp didn’t work,but again not a big deal but for some it may be. Lastly some eggs and toast for breakfast would of been nice but Pastries, donuts and coffee were good Oh and they had apples and bananas available.

    The room was nice and clean so comfortable, I walked on the carpet with just white socks and they weren’t dirty I was so impressed some places look clean but aren’t really. Our room was clean :) and wow they give so many towels you don’t have to go ask for extras.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.7
    Brilliant location, tired facilities
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold with only an ancient, noisy radiator to heat it. Shower didn’t work and produced brown water. Closet smelled musty.

    Really close to the beach. Great location. Staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.1
    The room was adequate but I suggest getting a mini studio if you want to be comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front door to our room is in dire need of replacement. The room was a lot smaller than expected and there was no desk to sit and write. Except for the frig and microwave, it was truly the very bare minimum.

    As I said, the location is great; the bed was comfortable; there is an evening fire pit that was very relaxing, and a hot tub that was clean and next to the fire. Frig and microwave.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    The room was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly. Parking was just outside the door of our room. The location was just a few minutes to the water, or to old town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.1
    Love the city but probably won't stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow cases weren't fully dry, gave me an irritated eye the next morning. Rooms are tiny with very thin walls.

    Location is great and fire pit/hot tub was a nice bonus

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: