Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Serenity at Home 1 stars

57 Rutland Road, Brooklyn, NY 11225, USA

#1 of 10 B&Bs and Inns in Brooklyn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 78 B&B reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plenty of creaking floorboards... but that’s part of the charm as well!

    Great feel, quiet place to return to after days in Manhattan. Zenobia was a great host.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Days of Summer Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The district was safe but really poor. McDonald,s seemed to be the top eating place.Even Subway had closed down (the sandwich bar not the railway). Z was full of Personality but lacked the practicalities of running a guest house.

    Access to Manhattan,although I did walk to and across Brooklyn Bridge (a Bucket List tick)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Zenobia, the owner of the house is a warm, friendly, loving woman who helps you making the visit of NY special. In the morning café was always ready. We have had a wonderfull time overthere, especially the breakfast on our special day was great...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Summer Breeze Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all, I received a very unpleasant welcome from the owner. I reached the guesthouse around 8pm and pressed the doorbell. No answer. I tried it again and again (more than 5 times) but still no answer. I was so tired from carrying my heavey luggage and walking down the unfamiliar & unsafe neighborhood, but tried to be patient and waited for 30 mins. When I tried it again, and the owner finally came out. When I explained to her that I had been pressing the doorbell for the last half an hour, she simply told me, she didn't hear. Absolutely no word or gesture of apology. She even told me that was no one's fault. The room was not clean enough in my opinion, but what I really didn't like about the fact that the rock of one of the windows was broken. Especially since I didn't feel safe around the neighborhood, I could not get a good sleep with the rock broken. I decided to stay here after reading all those positive comments, but learned that comments are subjective and there are reasons behind the price.

    The price of the stay is low compare to others.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Day Dream Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although I was glad that there were breakfast foods available, the kitchen could have been a tad more comfortable and well maintained.

    The owner is a sincere and friendly person. Without my solicitation, she upgraded my room since there was availability to do so. The bed was comfortable and the room was warm, even with temps in the 20's (F) outside. It was located within reasonable walking distance to a metro line with frequent service to Manhattan.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Days of Summer Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv would have been nice

    Host!! Z and her family are fab can't do enough for you. Bed and room were lovely and comfortable. Warm and clean too. Had no problems with wifi and were on the top floor. Jazz music and incense in the hallway/living room lovely atmosphere. Great location, can be in central Manhattan in 20 mins. Great to experience 'real' NYC too

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was good. The owner showed us immediately to our rooms with no indication that there were no cups upstairs. So we could not get a drink. We had no idea where the kitchen was. There was no hot water, she denies this but it is the case. I ran it for minutes night And morning but no hot water, so we could not wash. Main bedroom - 2 beds pushed together with big piece of old dirty looking foam hidden beneath the sheet. So this was hideously hot and uncomfortable. I had to remove it. The toilet flush is intermittent / broken. Blinds in bedroom did not open. Wardrobe space just tatty cupboards with random shelves. No soft lighting in main bedroom, just overhead with several broken or missing bulbs.

    Absolutely nothing was good or even adequate. The owner was unreceptive to our complaints.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Day Dream Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    nothing.

    Great place to stay in Brooklyn away from the hustle and bustle of Manhattan. 5 minutes walk to the Q line subway that takes you to Manhattan or Coney Island. Very safe suburb, even late at night with plenty of shops and restaurants opened long hours. The room I stayed in was a single room. Super comfy bed, plenty of space to unpack all my clothes for a week's stay and overlooking the garden. An old house full of character, wooden floors, lovely lounges downstairs, kitchen for a simple breakfast, big bathroom to share. Plus fresh flowers, lovely candle burning at night and smooth jazz music playing. I didn't see Zenobia much but she was a warm and interesting hostess. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Surrounding neighborhood might be uncomfortable for some or older travelers. OK for us.

    Room was very large with extra sitting room with TV in connected room off the bath. Innkeeper was wonderful. Character of an old Brooklyn Brownstone. Close to subway.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Day Dream Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - wifi in the room was a bit weak, but in the common area it was good

    - good and calm location (near some nice caffees and restaurants) - near subway station (20min to NY downtown) - very nice host - I would stay there again!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found it interesting that so many found the host friendly, as this wasn't my experience. Additionally, I didn't find the room quite as clean as I'd hoped, particularly the drawers and window sills.

    The bed was very comfortable, and the location was convenient. Cinnamon Girl coffee is awesome and right around the corner!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Day Dream Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Basic nuts and bolts cleaning was fine but the secondary cleaning like dust built up on lighting fixtures, hardware, and some windowsills was not so nice. Also, if it advertises wifi it should specify where in the house it is reliable, such as only downstairs.

    pretty home, good location near the q train, an express to manhattan. Friendly generally helpful host. overall nice decor. She was especially kind and comforting to me when I arrived very frazzled. She also carried my luggage up 3 flights of stairs and then back down again. She was fun to talk with and interested in her guests. Good value for money. I would grateful to return on my next trip.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Summer Breeze Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A perfect bed and breakfast for the adventurous traveler looking for something a little different. Ideally located close to Brooklyn's Prospect Park, and only 20 minutes by subway to Manhattan. Best of all, Zenobia -- the owner -- is a terrific host and will make you feel right at home. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Summer Breeze Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Sharing bathroom -The long way to Manhattan -The kitchen has to be cleaned more often

    - The neighborhood - The bed - The silence during the night - The owner

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    A great guest house in a very convenient location. Zenobia couldn't of been more welcoming and helped us find the things we wanted to see. Prospect Park is beautiful and the area where the guest house is, is well worth exploring. Great room, great size and very clean and organised. We'll definitely be back!

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top location in Brooklyn and the best and most hospitable host ever!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Summer Breeze Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host is soooo nice that is feel like we are in our home!what a lovely house! Strongly recommend this guest house!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Days of Summer Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a bit of a nightmare. Not much space so it can take a long time before you can find one.

    Nice location close to Prospect Park.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Days of Summer Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room; separate bath and sitting room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Summer Breeze Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no breakfast, and not aloud to use the kitchen, specially on weekend.

    Ok for one night

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Summer Breeze Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very nice owner, she makes you feel welcome, nice discussions

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Day Dream Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The friendliness and information from the owner. Bed was comfy and clean. Smoking area in private garden.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Day Dream Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet room. Comfortable beds. Owner friendly. Very relaxing so Serenity was an apt name!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Day Dream Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of

    It was a very comfortable place to stay and also very clean!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Days of Summer Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zenobia was lovely and very helpful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Day Dream Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A friendly host to chat with and plenty of advice on where to go..Close to the subway,and a comforable room to come home to.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little cold

    Comfortable sleeping Wide bed Warm & clean blankets

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Days of Summer Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not find someone/owner when I need something or have any question

    The room was really nice and it was very peaceful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Summer Breeze Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La climatisation un peu bruyante.

    L'accueil de Zenobia !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Summer Breeze Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near Prospect Park ( Great place to exercise / relax / Green ). Excellent friendly staff. Quiet location on big avenue

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Questions about breakfast options available. Not enough variety. Little fruit.

    Staff, openness, and conversations. Music, space and night caps.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Days of Summer Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great few days at Serenity at home. It's a great neighbourhood and Zenobia made us feel really welcome.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No water pressure for a shower and you had to run the water for 5 minutes before it was hot. Also, there was no trash can or chair in the room. The bed was very hard and we could feel the springs. Also, there was only one toilet and one shower for 4 different bedrooms. In the middle of the night if you had to pee and there was someone in the bathroom, you would have to walk down 3 flights of stairs to use the bathroom on the main floor.

    The hostess was friendly and lovely. The house was a gem from the turn of the century

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Solo traveller

    - Sometimes I had a minor troubles with WiFi connection

    + Perfect place for rest + Big house with vintages furniture + Veeery nice staff + Comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Awesome room, really comfy bed, love the charm of the whole place, and Zenobia is super cool and friendly. :) Also the neighborhood is great! I made some friends there and I only stayed for a few days!

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Big clean house. The place has a calm ambiance that is a great shelter at the end of a busy and tiring day. The location is easily accessible to public transportations.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    for me the matress was a bit too soft, but i'm used to harder ones.

    very friendly and helpful owner, the old house has a great atmosphere, close to public transport, quiet and friendly neighborhood, clean room

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Zenobia is a smart, engaging woman and she made us us feel warmly welcome. Her place is stylish, and a perfect base from which to explore NY. We loved our room, and really appreciated the extra sitting room which gave us space to unwind.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was a wonderful warm and familiar stay in Zenobias House. We loved it. The best choice and place to relax in the Big Apple! Everthing you need you will find here and if you want a new friend too :o)

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Neighborhood is a bit dodgy at night, my wife could not go out alone

    Proximity to Subway station, helpful owner, felt like home

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Need TV or at least a radio in the rooms

    The host was excellent Breakfast incredible Rooms comfortable House beautiful

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No hand soap in bathroom Very low water pressure Floors are dusty and you are not allowed to wear shoes Only one outlet in the room

    Staff was nice

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Zenobia made me feel at home; I would definitely go back! The neighborhood is conveniently located and feels safe. Excellent choice!

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    To short beds when you are tal. No place to keep your clothes with just one drawer

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    If you're willing to share a bathroom this place is great - great host, great price and a comfortable stay!

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The very personable approach of the host, character and atmosphere of the house, flexibility of service and ease of commute to Manhattan.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Browse Serenity at Home traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: