Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Shade Hotel Manhattan Beach This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

1221 North Valley Drive, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266, United States of America

#1 of 11 hotels in Manhattan Beach

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 49 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    5.4
    I won't stay there again until they do a remodel
    • Family with young children
    • Plaza View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    technology, disco in the restaurant at night, room was super loud, room was awkward (bath tub in the middle), dated fire tornado ?, light therapy, what?

    great location, bikes to use

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    9.6
    Our stay was flawless one could say, we could enjoy & rest, waiting 2 days for our flight back home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast options could be a little better (more), but it's not that I didn't like it.

    Bed was wonderful. Wifi worked like charm even when walking with my laptop open (in an important conference) from my room to the dining area. Staff was very helpful, quick and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    10
    A perfect way to arrive to LA
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Spa Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can’t think of anything!

    Loved the location!!! comfort & extreme cleanliness of the room, hot strong showers & hot tub in room a bonus. Very friendly staff, in house bar... Everything about the hotel far exceeded our expectations! The kids made use of the heated roof pool which they loved! For someone who stays in some of Europe’s top properties constantly for work I was very impressed with the overall comfort of Shade!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints at all!

    I loved the spa tub that was in the room and the lighting! And not mention they gave us a free glass of rose cause it was my wedding night! The service was fast and great! 😘

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2017

    9.2
    Owner has spoken with me on several visits to make sure...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms need updating but they are very clean.

    Owner has spoken with me on several visits to make sure everything was satisfactory. All of the staff is so friendly. Great location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2016

    9.2
    Swanky boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bikes were terrible and no small size available. The gowns provided were only one size. The bar and restaurant were open to non-hotel residents so lost a bit of exclusivity.

    Friendly attentive staff. The rooms were amazing and the overall atmosphere was great. The roof deck was great too. Very swanky.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    9.6
    Shade Hotel and Manhattan Beach complement each other - it's always a pleasure to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Plaza View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helpful staff, comfortable room, great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    9.6
    Great staff walking distance to main restaurants and also free beach bikes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Spa Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tempurpedic mattress

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    7.5
    Bath tub!
    • Solo traveler
    • Plaza View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There's entertainment going on downstairs and it was very loud

    Bath tub!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    5.4
    If you have to stay in Manhattan beach it’s the bet of a limited selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Spa Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A room with 0 view. Dark rooms

    Average hotel. There are no better options, expensive for what you get

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    10
    High quality hotel with relaxed atmosphere.
    • Solo traveler
    • Plaza View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Leaving.

    Quality, laid back hotel. Kale salad.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    7.5
    Short stay. Leaving with a sore neck from Rick hard pillows.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Plaza View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows on the bed hurt my neck.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    10
    We had a great time and would return to the Shade!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Plaza View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    Staff was excellent, property was well maintained and in a perfect location to explore Santa Barbara

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Spa Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the variety of food for breakfast. Could have been more of a variety each day instead of the same thing everyday.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2017

    8.3
    Location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room above us was extremely loud all night long like someone was on a treadmill right above us.

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2017

    9.2
    Quality hotel in nice LA beach suburb. A favourite stopover.
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb, relaxed, high-quality hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2017

    10
    The rooms And The food were amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no 24 hr room service .

    The rooms And The food were amazing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Spa Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location in Manhattan Beach. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice continental breakfast comes w the room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel in nice beach suburb.
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful, friendly staff. Great rooms. Nice beach suburb close to the airport. Excellent stopover.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2016

    10
    LOve the location and the staff are superb !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Spa Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have stayed two times now and we still find the lighting design very tricky !!!

    LOve the location and the staff are superb !!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2016

    10
    Loved my time in MB
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Forgot about breakfast

    Location, comfy beds, spacious room, sleek look!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2016

    10
    Excellent experience
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The high charge for our dog. $125 for one night is really over market

    Excellent experience

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2016

    10
    Best customer service you were treated like vip the stay was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The jacuzzi pool was a little cold

    Best customer service you were treated like vip the stay was extended by 2 nights due to great service beautiful rooms great food. There was a new even everyday at the zinc lounge

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2016

    9.6
    Rooms are amazing, quiet, comfortable, and full of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Would have been nice if the bar had stayed open a bit later on a Saturday night. I think it closed at 11pm.

    Rooms are amazing, quiet, comfortable, and full of technology. The hotel is near all the shopping and restaurants. The beach is a short walk away. You can't ask for anything more.

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2016

    7.5
    Jacuzzi tub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extra Charge for cheap Items like bottled water in such an expensive room. I got billed for a valet that I did not have. It was supposed to be removed and when I got my credit card statement, It was doubled! The free breakfast was motel 6 quality.

    Jacuzzi tub

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2015

    7.9
    Staff is great.
    • Solo traveler

    Price is expensive for location 3 blocks from beach and a bit away from center of activity.

    Staff is great. Rooms are very nice. Location is just OK - a little off away from the core energy of Manhattan Beach.

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2015

    10
    Awesome experience!
    • Couple

    I would have like to seen more variety for the inclusive breakfast and it should be available for in room especially because we were on our honeymoon.

    Awesome experience!

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2015

    6.3
    For a 6 hour transit from Los Angeles airport it was a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel retained a further aud204 debit for 10 days following our brief aud 650 stay. This was totally unacceptable. We were offered a usd25 credit in lieu of breakfast. It was mediocre, drinks were too well spiced with ice and service was flippant. We deserved better from what appeared to be a hotel favouring young pretentious yuppies. We are experienced global travellers and do not make these comments lightly.

    For a 6 hour transit from Los Angeles airport it was a good location for beach and ambience, though still several blocks from the beach. Myles appeared to be the only attendant who showed any consideration, and ensured a prompt taxi back to lax when several other staff failed to respond.

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2015

    10
    Great rooms, nice features, close to a lot of restaurants...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Great rooms, nice features, close to a lot of restaurants and shopping. EASY walk down to the beach. Usually stay at beachfront places but this was great, grab a coffee and head on down to the pier. Great place to take photos.

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2015

    7.1
    Great location, nice helpful staff, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We found the jacuzzi tub in the middle of the room a little cheesy especially with the disco lights. Foam memory mattress and pillows not my favorite. Room was very dark.

    Great location, nice helpful staff, great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2015

    9.6
    スタッフは非常に親切です。
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    去年と同じで、イベント開催日には一部通行止めがあり迂回の必要があります。One day, road near the hotel had been closed to traffic for event of something.

    スタッフは非常に親切です。ビーチまでも近く、レストランもホテル周辺にある為便利です。昨年5泊し、非常に過ごしやすかったので今年も5泊しました。 I had a good time to stay at Shade.I stayed long days that was 5 nights.Staff was very kindly,near beach,some restaurant,everything good.

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2015

    8.3
    The Shade Hotel is in a wonderful location in Manhattan...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Shade Hotel is in a wonderful location in Manhattan Beach. Manhattan Beach is a great fun neighborhood with easy access to LAX. There are plenty of shops and restaurants and also a wonderful beach for swimming.

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2015

    9.2
    Great location, in the heart of shopping close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The decor is a bit dated. The color is very dark. However , the bed was probably one of the most comfortable I have slept in.

    Great location, in the heart of shopping close to the beach. Very friendly staff. The owner actually asked me if I needed anything. Very pleasant!

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2015

    8.3
    Great service, great location, good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tries too hard to be hipster; very loud disco music on weekends so ask for room far from bar. Room sacrificed practicality for style.

    Great service, great location, good food

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2015

    9.6
    Very hip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not cheap.

    Very hip. Nicer than normal room. Great location! Right in the heart of all the restaurants and super close to the beach. Free bikes were awesome.

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2015

    9.6
    Quiet with enough to keep it lively as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One owner with one dog made Zinc lounge really difficult to enjoy in the mornings. The barking was too much

    Quiet with enough to keep it lively as well. We were there for the Super Bowl and it was fun watching it in the Zinc lounge. Breakfasts were great and the bikes were a wonderful addition. Staff was super friendly. Concierge staff was extremely helpful.

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2015

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We are guessing that the pool motor was just above our room and was very noisy until around 10pm at night. as we were were travelling for business and had jetlag we went to bed early, but were disturbed every ten minutes by the motor turning on for about 15 minutes every ten minutes or so.

    Great location. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2016

    10
    Relaxed atmosphere but highly professional.
    • Solo traveler

    Relaxed atmosphere but highly professional. Very nice beach suburb of LA.

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2016

    10
    Great stay, lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    Great stay, lovely staff

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2016

    9.6
    Staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was very friendly. Hotel is in a great location

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2016

    8.8
    The Bathtub and Location and general awesomeness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    price

    The Bathtub and Location and general awesomeness.

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2016

    8.3
    The staff is excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel needs an interior design face lift. It is very dated.

    The staff is excellent! They go out of their way to help in anyway they can!

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2016

    9.6
    Attention to detail and courtesy decoration / champagne...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Attention to detail and courtesy decoration / champagne for our anniversary were much appreciated.

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2016

    10
    Super helpful and happy staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Rooms a bit dark, but well appointed

    Super helpful and happy staff. Great food

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2015

    10
    Location, service, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No view

    Location, service, staff

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2015

    9.6
    Love the location, the heart of Manhattan Beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Love the location, the heart of Manhattan Beach! Amenities were excellent.

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2015

    7.9
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Needs a total interior design remodel. Very dated.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2015

    7.9
    Funky layout.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Shower was cold. I had to crouch in the bathtub to wash my hair.....

    Funky layout. fireplace was trippy

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful employees
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Very friendly and helpful employees

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2015

    5.8
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Alarm clock no air conditiobing

    The location

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2015

    10
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing

    everything

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2015

    10
    Location was fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Location was fantastic. Room was very modern.

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2015

    10
    Perfect location for one night layover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location for one night layover. Close to airport, walk to beach, boutiques, restaurants. Enjoyed small pool before long flight.

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2015

    9.2
    Free Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Free Breakfast

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2015

    9.2
    Stylish but friendly, super comfy bed, great bar, small...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    No gym on site (or swimming pool)

    Stylish but friendly, super comfy bed, great bar, small plates menu, in the heart of Manhattan Beach, free bikes.

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2015

    9.6
    We loved the room and the staff was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    it was a little loud, but wasn't loud in the room

    We loved the room and the staff was amazing

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2015

    9.2
    Easy to walk from hotel to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    So many appliances in the room with bright LEDs we had to cover them up to darken the room.

    Easy to walk from hotel to everything.

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2015

    10
    Everything was first rate and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was first rate and professional.

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2015

    7.9
    Big Tub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower was nice, but bathroom a little small. Noisy buzzing sound?

    Big Tub

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2015

    9.6
    Fantastic location and close to LAX
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Fantastic location and close to LAX

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2015

    8.8
    Comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much

    Comfy beds

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2015

    9.2
    Location and the sexy, modern style of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little pricey, with no view, and an expensive continental breakfast.

    Location and the sexy, modern style of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2015

    10
    The spa tub was what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fire tornado in the room was a little odd

    The spa tub was what we wanted. The beds were a bonus. The grilled cheese sandwiches in the bar.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: