Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Shangri-La 4 stars

1301 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, Los Angeles, CA 90401, USA

#142 of 352 hotels in Los Angeles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 898 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is feeling a bit dated and is in need of a spruce up - particularly noticeable in the bathroom and the general feel of the hotel.

    Fantastic location, and the rooms have nice ocean views. On the whole, the staff are excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave in the room, concierge was not helpful and not accommodating at all. Requested to heat up my dinner and never called back, asked for 3 times already and ended up couldn’t even do it. Toiletries are missing stuff, no toothbrush etc. For almost $900 just for 2 nights I even have to ask for a pair of hotel slippers and bathrobe to bring to my room. For a shangrila hotel, this one is old. I paid for the best hotel along the strip and not satisfied what I paid for.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is amazing, very friendly and accommodating!!! Room had a beautiful view of the beach, we were on the 5th floor. Room service is 24 hours and the food is great! I would definitely stay here again! Great value and a wonderful hotel. Very close to Santa Monica Pier!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The “hidden” charges like the resort fee of $25/night or the very expensive parking charges of $42 per night when you can park the car in a secured garage for $17 overnight one block behind the hotel! Breakfast was also too expensive for what you get, like scrambled eggs are not served with toast. If you want bread, you need to pay for it. Not worth it. Go out for great breakfasts within walking distance. G

    Good accommodating service by the staff especially the receptionists. Excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need renovation even if only cosmetic

    Friendly, forthcoming personnel at the front desk, especially big thanks to Hanna who made our stay very pleasant, helping us with the room change

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked Coffee in the room though it was free down in reception.

    Fantastic staff very well run a credit to the manager. Perfect location and excellent facilities. The best hotel and staff on our trip across the USA.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Shangrila Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My phone was stolen when I visited the roof top bar. Manager refused to speak to me and look at security cameras to help me. Security director and front desk were nice but Im not sure anyone working here has enough experience in customer relations.

    Interior design and proximity to beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights over bed—we prefer individual reading lights in case one person wants to sleep & the other read—and light switch is hard to reach.

    Poolside was very relaxing; bed very comfy & the view & fresh air was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the pictures of the hotel are much modified, the rooms are old unsupervised, the price performance ratio is inadequate, bad beds

    the location of the hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was pretty smaller than I thought. Bed and bathroom were fine but TV, couch, and friger were pretty old and small. We can see the beach but the small window didn't open fully. Rooms were expensive because of the ocean view I think.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night time by the road. Not as good as shangrila in other places considering the hotel rate.

    Location is pretty good and easy to go anywhere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really uncomfortable, the couch felt like I was going to bounce off it, it was really hard and so was the fake leather. The floors felt like concrete and the controller didn’t work to the tv.

    How close it was to the ocean and shopping centers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are tired, it’s also noisy in the hotel as it’s on a main road and there is a club on the 7th floor. For the prices they charge these should reinvest it in renovating the hotel

    The location is good for shopping and the beach. The staff are nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could i stay longer!?!?

    The staff here are amazing!!! Adrienne on concierge worked miracles to get me a car to drive down to the pacific coast - no mean feat for her on oscar weekend with all car hire places booked up. The bar staff, breakfast staff are all ace. They make you feel really special. Best hotel experience I've had in years and i'm very fussy!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely welcoming, friendly and accommodating. The room was spectacular, we stayed in the king ocean view! Very pleased with my stay and would highly recommend to friends/family.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Shangrila Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure if it’s worth the money. The overall vibe of the hotel was too stuffy! Too many security people seemed a bit over the top!

    Amazing huge bathtubs were a real treat! Good location walkable to everything in Santa Monica

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older / dated hotel. Suite common areas are very small. Overall decor is not appealing and overdue for an update.

    Rooftop bar. Location. One bedroom suites with kitchens are great for families.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Closet very small - maybe because the bathroom is large. Light switches were almost too modern - took us a while to figure them out.

    Bathroom was great. Lots of space, huge tub, big towels. Nice bedding pillows etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room service did not pick up the phone in the morning for breakfast.

    The location of the hotel is ideal. We had a 5th floor room with a perfect view of the beach. Room was just as pictured on the site. The rooftop bar is a great place to be in the late afternoons and is a landmark in Santa Monica. Pool area was very well appointed and lots of lounging areas and very clean. Our experience was exceptional right from check-in, where the hotel manager carried our bags to our room himself (using the stairs!). The concierge also very helpful in making reccos and bookings for us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overrated poor breakfast. Except the few choises you get when you have paid extra for breakfast: Charging 8$ extra on top of that to get som bread (4 toasted slices) Coffee OR juice, you wont get both. Silly, stupid!!

    Location, ocean wiew, roof bar, nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, very noisy during the weekend, very expensive for the facility and standard, very old furniture I will not stay there again

    Only the hotel location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridors are in concrete and when room service push their trolleis they makes a bit of noise.

    Location is perfect to those who want to stay in Santa Monica. Staff just cannot be more friendly. Front desk, security and restaurant cruw all them very nice and welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Iconic building with a wonderful style and decor. Kid friendly despite being very cool. Lovely little pool and spa. The staff were awesome with none of the pretentious LA air about them. The rooftop bar is a must for a martini when watching the sunset.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Shangri La in Santa Monica is a beautifully restored boutique Hotel right across from the beach and a five minute walk to the Santa Monica Pier. You can throw open the windows and soak up the atmosphere. The roof top bar has spectacular views of the sun setting on the ocean and a great selection of drinks and eats. The staff at the Hotel were excellent and Adrienne - the concierge is a great asset to the team!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely with an amazing view. However the hotel had altered the bathroom so I couldn’t open the bifold windows to see out through to the ocean as the picture on booking.com illustrated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator was quite old and small. I can barely turn around with 4 adults.

    Got upgrade from 1 bd to 2 bd. The room has a nice ocean view and it is easy to access the beach and pier. It's also within walking distance to downtown area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints whatsoever about this hotel. Great choices for breakfast, lovely staff. The pool area is so pretty but this time of year it’s too cold to use. Room is lovely with excellent sea view (404). Also rooftop bar fab.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Shangrila Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was $40.00. Building is very old and could use a few more upgrades for a bit more luxurious feel. The roof bar outdoor area especially could use a makeover.

    The hotel is in a great location across from the beach of Santa Monica by the promenade. Lots of great restaurants & shops in walking distance. Great pool and Jacuzzi. The beds are very comfortable. Super cool roof top bar with fire pits and ocean view. Excellent Staff!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The all in cost of the booking is somewhat misleading from the headline rate. There were a lot of extras which should really be flagged to you well before when they actually are.

    Good staff, nice location. Really Cool rooftop bar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise outside from patrons of rooftop bar-pretty bad as they leave-but that’s the only negative. All three nights they seemed to hang around for about an hour laughing and talking on the street!! But it is lead up to Xmas!

    Location-fantastic, staff awesome, rooms a little on the small side, view of beach and sunset-perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some work going on so having a mid afternoon drink in the bar was not as peaceful as it could have been. However, not sure how long this will happen and certainly didn't distract our stay

    Beautiful hotel in fantastic location with valet parking. A real Art Deco gem, rooms were large enough with lovely touches and the shower was extremely powerful. The original windows had been soundproofed with secondary glazing which kept the building true. Nice to have cocktails in roof top bar. Pool was open but was desolate due to season. Didn't dine there so can't comment.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooftop bar is a favorite spot n LA. The restaurant and staff were great too, even though my choices seemed a bit limited as a vegan. Really nice ocean view room with lots of character.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This whole experience started badly - although I booked in October - with a free cancellation option - my credit card was debited within 10 minutes of the booking. I tried to explain the situation and unbook, to no avail. I asked to speak to the manager about this on my arrival, but he did not respond. In the end I met him as I left - disappointing absence of customer service for an American hotelier. Although this tinged my view, there were other examples of a failure to train staff and support them when they took the initiative in trying to deliver customer service that is my expectation of ALL the other Small Luxury Hotels of the World that I have stayed at. The personal experience is what matters and what you carry away with you. I very much doubt if we will be back!!!

    Very comfortable bed. Some of the staff were excellent and tried to make the stay "special" despite the negative comment, see above. Breakfast good, pool area good, although cleanliness needs attention and great views of the sea and sunset

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra charges of $25 for facilities which is not transparent. Breakfast was a la carte, expensive but not impressive

    The view, room, bath, bed, location, staff and top roof bar

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfortable beds, pushy (and somewhat disrespectful) staff

    I would really like to thank Adrienne, the Concierge Manager, for everything she did for us before our vacation. She is the best!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Shangrila Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there is an extra fee for the booking that you need to be aware of so the stay is fairly expensive

    Great location and service, the pool area and bar on rooftop was very good. The room size and bathroom perfect for

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite tired, enamel peeling of sink, floor tiles loose, furniture tatty.

    View over the beach from the room great, location to shops, restraunts excellent and far enough away from the pier that it’s not noisy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left to go pick my boyfriend up from the airport, and when we returned someone had been in our room. They stole my medication (Medical marijuana). I have this for insomnia and I had trouble sleeping both nights. I will never stay there again. For the money I spent on the room, I would have thought that that kind of thing wouldn’t happen there. :(

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For breakfast, we went to Starbucks because for a family the al la carte is too expensive. No breakfast buffet.

    A small privately run grand hotel, not from a chain. In a beautiful well renovated art deco building with a great atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deposit still being held / waiting for luggage held in storage / bar staff in roof top bar not friendly / breakfast expected better

    Great hotel great staff .. Value for money I did expect a little more to be honest but Santa Monica is Santa Monica and demands a certain price - great location .. Roof top bar was nice but too quiet for us staff in there were a weak point not too friendly I am still waiting for my visa holding charge to be refunded and this is tiring as we have had no problems with other hotels / rentals on this vacation refunding deposits etc Overall staff fantastic .. Nice personal touches gifts in room for our child on an evening We love Santa Monica and would return to this hotel but may look for better deals elsewhere next time

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security was rude to all visitors that was standing in line for the roof top bar The appearance of the building needs to be repainted by professionals , The property looked more like a motel 6 than a luxury hotel. The elevator was ridiculous, every time you wanted to go up or down the other elevator would be qued.

    location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view and proximity to the beach was awesome! I especially loved the Front Desk staff, especially Francesca and Ajar. I also really appreciated Jean Paul's help with my luggage and his warm greetings.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no desk or table and chair in the room. I asked the staff to help and called several times, but sadly there would be a $500 charge per night to change rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice room but showing signs of wear and tear. Needed to ask twice for ice for room. Ended up taking it upstairs myself. Lifts small and slow. Used the stairs. Stairwells bland.

    Pleasant greeting and friendly staff. Pink pool towels rolled up on sun beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Shangrila Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV didn't work. We were moved but the TV didn't work properly in the new room.

    Great location, nice room and facilities and excellent staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    definately not worth the huge amount we payed per night. thought it would be much better. we were told breakfast was not included, but at checkout we had been charged for it, although we never ate there. the towels smelt really bad. windows were rusty and the hotel generally was very old. the second day we entered the room and on the (newly made) bed sheets there was a big red stain like nail polish. unfortunately there is nothing I can find that we liked at this hotel

    the only nice thing was the location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Shangrila Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was the size of a closet and so overpriced for what it was.. no view at all... barely room to move around

    Clean and nicely appointed. Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    EVERYTHING! A very creepy and sketchy place!! Horrific accommodation. Took the ShangriLa name and charges accordingly but in no way measures to the standards!!

    NOTHING!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have coffee making facility in room and would be 10 out of 10

    Great area and location with an iconic hotel close to everything and very nice pool and roof top bar and Terrace

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Shangrila Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel reneged on the room upgrade, which we had booked several months before and refused to budge on this issue, saying the hotel was full. We asked to see the manager who didn't deign to see us, but advised the receptionist on the phone. The first room we were given had a malfunctioning wc and cracked bathroom basin and not even a chair in the bedroom. We complained and were given a better room. Despite having taking full payment off our credit card on 8 May, when checking out on 4 August, the hotel wanted to charge us $100 'facilities' charge, which we refused to pay, so eventually the receptionist said she had taken it off the account. We asked for a receipt to confirm that they had not taken any extra amount off our credit card, but she said their system didn't allow that. Our credit card statement arrived this week and the hotel has indeed taken $100 off the card- we are disgusted and of course have no paper proof of what was agreed. We will not recommend this hotel for the above reasons- although all the staff are uniformly wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is terrible, old, ugly we disliked everything and so over price, we paid 500 euros for one night and the day before we arrive the price was 350 euros for same room but too late to cancel and rebook. Not a Shangri la at all, never come back again

    The staff is great this is the onlt things and specially Francesca at the front desk

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After 35 minutes of checking in, security comes knocking on our door and falsely accused us of smoking marijuana. When I told him no, 30 seconds later knocks again and said it was coming in our room which crossed the line. I let him come and check the room with our 3 kids inside and didn't even have the time to unpack our luggage. I was really shocked and that was very unprofessional and rude.

    The inside of the room which comes in a bedroom style and also you have everything you need inside

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best part of the stay was experiencing the help of Adrienne, the chief Concierge...she is simply fantastic! The best help I have ever experienced...and I travel quite a lot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little dated... the shower leaked through the wall partition: but it was a lovely room and very clean!!

    The rooms were a little dated and needs some refurbishments; but they were comfortable and clean. The extras provided are excellent and the staff were second to none... I wouldn't hesitate to go back. Location was fantastic and allowed easy access everywhere. Uber into the centre of la was only $20 which saved on parking fees and stress!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist was either new, or not informed enough, she said our reservation was without breakfast when it was with breakfast, she neglected to book a taxi when we asked her to, resulted in us waiting very long for a taxi, and in the end had to use the chauffeur of hotel to go to the airport and that was very expensive.

    The location was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The infrastructure is poor, badly maintained, not clean. Furthermore we were confused with their name, we thought they would belong to the shangri-la group, which is absolutely not the case and the quality can not be compared at all...

    They managed well our complain by doing their best to compensate our disappointment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooftop bar has horrible cocktails that are overpriced. We complained since it was NOT up to the standard of the hotel and they did nothing. I'll never go to the bar again.

    Amazing historical hotel in the heart of an amazing city!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and the cabinet could hardly fit anything. No space in the bathroom to hang towels, water pressure was bad.

    Location was excellent, so was the ocean view from our room. Andrianne, the concierge was really helpful, and the staff members in general were really good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Shangrila Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed was not very comfortable rooms were small so was toilet Tub might be difficuy for elderly people as it was high but nicely shaped and large lovely boutique hotel rather than modern 5 star which might not be appreciated if traveling from long distance and wanting more facilities/ space for luggage

    location is priceless staff were polite and very welcoming had lovely breakfasts with cheerful staff pampering us

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The poor front desk services. There are hidden charges such as Amenity charge of £21/nt. The sofa bed was one of the worst I have come across - sagging in the middle and you cd feel every spring. The hotel had run out of any additional bedding or rollaways but couldn't be bothered to let us know until late at night and made no effort to recompense after our 2 nights poor sleep.

    The food in the restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurant with few options on the menu for breakfast and lunch/dinner. Parking very expensive and charged twice, during the stay and at check-out. By the way, every day we had someting charged on the credit card, whether parking or expenses in the restaurant.

    Good location, but in hight Santa Monica high, that's why it's hard to get to the beach. Staff very attentive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom with almost no wather in the tap and very little in the shower - simply not acceptable in 4-star hotel for this price!!! Request for fixing it didn't help :(

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Shangrila Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everyday having to ask for face cloths and hand towels after room has been serviced.

    Excellent location means Santa Monica shops, restaurants, and Pier are all within walking distance. Valet parking is convenient. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Shangrila Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a $25 per day charge labeled "amenity fee" that was not disclosed until we arrived, and wasn't included in the booking price.

    The location is close to the beach and many restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed that the advertised feature of the hotel was the roof top terrace and bar . This was closed because it had been let to a film production company . The inconvenience to guests is obviously less important than the revenue generated by another higher paying user . Guests should be informed prior to the event to enable them to make alternate arrangements if desired.

    Close to beach and town . An attractive pool and surrounds

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the balcony on our 6th floor room has a low rail which would not be suitable for children as they could stand on the ledge and potentially fall. I just kept an eye on my 7 year old however could be improved in raising its height.

    We had a fantastic experience as the staff were so welcoming and attentive in all aspects from front desk to the dining. Our view was just spectacular to watch the sunsets.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Shangrila Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit run down looking. Had no hot water in the bathroom shower.

    Location was excellent. Staff were super nice. Amenities bad hotel bar were great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We booked breakfast included: food is very good but choice is limited so after few days (we booked 5 days) you want something else. While service in general was good, we had few issues with missing towels after roomservice. some parts of the Hotel needs a refresh (e.g. paint on walls). Price is very high.

    Beautiful iconic hotel! Location is great (best in Santa Monica) en the view from room is amazing (beachbeachviewview). Service is very good and team is very helpful. Nice but small swimmingpool pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rules of the different areas. We were denied entry into the roof top bar , even as guest of the hotel, because one our guest had on flip flops

    Decor and location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is very tired and needs an overhaul. Also the difficulty at check out because the booking.com confirmation didn't match the invoice was a pain in the arse, always stupid hidden fees, you must do a better job of being transparent

    Superb staff and place had a decent atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was ridiculously squeaky, shower water pressure was very weak, bath towel was missing upon arrival, cups at breakfast were dirty. Also do not book your room inclusive of breakfast, the breakfast that is included is not their full breakfast menu which you can actually order at the same price with much better options.

    Beautiful pool area and amazing staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower in room I nearly slipped and fell every time getting in and out. Rooms need cupboard space for hanging clothes especially longer clothes.

    The roof top bar was great and the view from our room was great. Staff were great and super friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking pricey. That would be my only complaint.

    Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Pool was beautiful. Kids were welcomed being able to swim at anytime. Pool open till 11pm. Elegant place yet kid friendly. Food delicious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't believe the photos shown online. Rooms are poorly furnished. It does not worth the money at all, nor does it worth the brand of Shangri-la. Except for the breakfast, everything is a waste of money.

    The breakfast was awesome. It could be the best brunch I've ever had in the U.S.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to use the taps in the shower and basin. Bathroom door not well located.

    Location was terrific and the views over the beach area are impressive.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Shangri-La traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: