Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Shelborne South Beach 5 stars

1801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139, USA

#167 of 390 hotels in Miami Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 941 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very educated and helpful with the exception of a person in the valet who didn't say thank once and yet he still spit on the floor twice in front of me. he is always with the blown.

    Very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely room and facilities. Good value for money in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - although the breakfast was lovely there was a 20% mandatory service charge added to breakfast; I don't get that because it was a buffet so we served ourselves.... - we weren't able to take the complimentary bottle of champagne provided outside to drink by the pool area which was a shame!

    - breakfast was lovely and fresh - receptionists were always really helpful - the cabaret show was so good, such talent from the pianist and singers! - beautiful pool area and the towels actually covered the whole sunbed so no burning hot material on your skin! - complimentary bottle of champagne and bowl of fruit from guest services to celebrate our honeymoon was a really nice touch and made the stay extra special for us! - the beach was lovely but there was quite a lot of seaweed to get through before the nice bit of the sea! - most of the restaurants nearby seemed to also be hotels and we prefer going somewhere that is just a restaurant so would recommend 'La Leggenda Pizzeria' on espanola way and if you turn left when coming out of there there are more restaurants on espanola way!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    3.8
    Expensive for what they offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We arrived the same day that the construction arrangements began in the pool area and the exit to the beach. Nobody told us in advance that the pool service was not going to be available. When we arrived, upon check-in the hotel employeee said "you can choose another hotel if you want" ... this is not an option to give when you are standing at the front-desk of the hotel!!! It doesn´t matter if the beach is great... we pay for a hotel with a nice pool área, and it wasn´t available!!! We were VERY DISAPPOINTED! The other solution you gave us was to go to the hotel pool next door, that meant going out on the street, going around and asking permission to go to the pool!!! In addition to these inconveniences, the pool of the Nautilus was going to have all its guests plus the guests of the Shelborne, that's not fair for the first ones or for the second ones. It is not a quality service as expected. Additionally the spa did not work and the fitness center was closed and turned off. We hired a room with a view of the city, what we got was a room overlooking the space between the two towers of the hotel. Given what they charge and the category of the hotel, they should have an ice machine on each floor, instead of the guests calling reception every time we need it. The room was for two people and they left a single bathrobe.

    The only person who was interested in giving us an answer and an apology was Oscar, nobody else tried to improve our bad experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.0
    My stay was horrible!!!!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The horrible beach view from a room with a balcony, dirty bathroom upon arrival, sheets were stained really bad(had to get them change) and overall a horrible room for $700. I can’t forget about the filty carpets in the room 🤬

    The staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Loved the ability to use the bikes that gave us some extra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool water turned the ends my blonde hair green. Not a huge deal - it washed out - but beware! The gym was also under maintenance and was closed when we tried to go.

    Loved the ability to use the bikes that gave us some extra freedom to explore and roam around. We cycled down the pathway to Malibu farm for lunch - which we really enjoyed! The rooms were clean, and the views were fantastic!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, lovely hotel. Small issues which were mainly out of the hotels control.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything in the hotel has 20% service charge added on to it. I know this is done elsewhere in Miami as well but as an Englishman I would prefer to be able to make my tipping decisions for myself. Considering this service charge guarantee I would have expected all the staff to be cheerful and helpful which wasn't the case with some of the bar members. There is also construction being done on the hotel next door which does spoil the pool area experience somewhat.

    Excellent location. Beach just out of the back of the hotel is great, if you make it there as the pool area is really nice and quiet when we were there. Presentation of the hotel and rooms is fantastic and front desk staff were really helpful when needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Engagement Celebration a Success with the help of the Shelborne!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only downside was the elevators. They can take a long time to make it up and down, they were super dirty, and one was frequently broken. It didn't take away from our experience but if I had to pick something that would be it.

    The location is perfect! You can't go wrong with the view, the city of Miami is what we went for for a less expensive room but it is one of the most interesting cities in the room so the view was amazing! On top of that we knew we would see the ocean in no time because it was right outside of the resort! (which they had their own section of the beach marked off for. They also did an excellent job of making our engagement extra special by sending champagne to the room and sending up a beautiful note.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    3.8
    Inhospitable staff made sure to make my stay as unpleasant as humanly possible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What they considered "service" plus all the hidden fees that booking.com failed to mention. Room service brought me sandwich bags of ice - never seen anything like it - I've gotten better service ( not to mention cleaner ice) at bait camps

    Leaving

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.4
    Not friendly staff. Not clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unfriendly and not helpful — everyone — on reception, doormen, cleaning ladies, pool staff: didn’t even said hello, doormen never opened the door, sometimes they just ignored when we addressed to them — it was really disappointing. Furniture in the room and bath room is old. Bathroom not clean. Shower gel was not refreshed , when we used it. We’ll definitely not stay in this hotel next time.

    Good location. Spacious room. Nice design of lobby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    The staff are amazing great location the room nice and clean and perfect WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility are amazing the room nice and clean . We loved it . Staff are friendly. WiFi was perfect . It was great experience for our family . We’ll definitely come back .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.3
    I would consider returning but before next visit to Miami I will research other Hotels for options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No clear information about property and amenities and front desk staff didn't do a good job of providing information.

    The property is very nice and facilities staff is very friendly and helpful. Amenities are great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.8
    Disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. When we checked out from the room the Staff said the hotel has a shower room. Later when we went to the airport they said there was no shower room. So we could not take a shower before a 16 hour flight. Is this a 5stars hotel??? 2. They did not vacuum the room for 3 days. Disappointment!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Great bedding,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Oceanfront King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    music on the pool area can become annoying and loud the bar was closed all day, so was the concierge service and other common areas...so it lacked of soul

    Great bedding, nicely decorated, calm and not too crowded pool side, proximity to the beach (few steps away) free bikes available

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.6
    I rarely write a negative review in all of my travels over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I rarely write a negative review in all of my travels over the years. Staff was very unfriendly. From the reception to the Restaurant to the Cabanas to the cafe in the front of the hotel. Food served was as if we were in a Pub. Booked a suite which was one small room with a pull out couch. Very deceiving. First day we arrived we went to the pool and an hour later someone caught a guy stealing out of their Cabana. No security in sight. The hotel guest had to body slam the thief and yell several times for security. None of the staff smiled nor appeared to want to be working. We will not book at this place again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.8
    The room was small and smelled funny. Enjoyed the nice pool and beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was disappointing and overpriced. The room was small and smelled funny. Can't believe they still have carpets in their hotel rooms.

    The location of the hotel is very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    3.8
    I'm thinking it's too much the price compared to the quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was very poor. Not only at restaurant but also, at hotel lobby/guest service. No willing to accommodate or help customer even with simple requests like restaurant recommend in the Area Room was not cleaned until we had to request several times. Quality of room Vs. Price was not good value for money.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    LOVE THIS HOTEL!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I LOVE THIS HOTEL! It is in such a fabulous location. So central. We could walk to Ocean Drive and Licoln Rd. The pool area is so vibey and right on the beach. Staff were very helpful too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    2.5
    We booked a townhouse but they oversold our room and then...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Townhome
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a townhouse but they oversold our room and then They downgraded us, but didnt tell us about it until we actually got there. They had an entire month from the time we made our reservation to tell us about it. They put us in a spot where it was too late now to book anything else.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    All in all, it was literally a perfect experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Twice at the pool bar, the waiter forgot to put in our drink orders and we waited more than 30 mins on one, and an hour on another occassion. He made no adjustments to the bill nor apologized- which was odd given how great the rest of the staff was.

    Top to bottom 10. The staff couldnt have been more helpful, the location is amazing, the facilities are gorgeous. Despite the fact that more than 50% of the rooms were damaged during the hurricanes, you would have never known. Perfect experience for our family

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    4.2
    Promises made, promises broken - Shelborne does not deliver room promised by booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Where do I begin... We made our reservations in June, 2017 for the Shelborne from Feb 18th-20th. This was to be one leg of our first "adults only" trip since before our son was born 9 years ago. We wanted a room with a great view, so we purchased an Oceanfront King room with a balcony on booking.com. On September 9th, Hurricane Irma hit Florida, causing extreme damage in the Keys, and less damage in other areas of Southern Florida. Between September 9th and February 18th, we received no communication from either the Shelborne or Booking.com that there was any problems with our reservations at the Shelborne. We weren't too concerned about it though, since Booking.com and (supposedly) the Shelborne had our contact information, plus the Hurricane had hit the Keys directly, and not Miami Beach. We arrived on Feb 18th, only to be told that they didn't have an Oceanfront room for us because of the Hurricane. I get it ... there was a hurricane and perhaps there still was damage to some of the rooms. However, they EASILY could have informed us of this problem and let us choose to whether we still wanted to stay at the Shelborne (or even in Miami Beach for that matter - we could have stayed anywhere in Southern Florida on the Atlantic or Gulf side). If we had been informed of the problem, we could have made a choice that best fit us ... however the Shelborne didn't give us that option. Instead, they decided to keep quiet and spring it on us when we arrived. To "compensate us" for the issue, they initially stated they would give us a $150 food/beverage credit and waive the resort fee (already paid in the booking with booking.com). I wasn't happy with this, since we already had paid extra for the Oceanfront room - the food credit wouldn't even cover the difference between the room type they were planning to give us vs. the Oceanfront room.

    The staff on the beach was nice. The restaurant was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous Hotel great staff good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A room to change and shower for people with late flights would be good as this was not offered but would have been appreciated.

    The staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Fabulous cozy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Fabulous, very cozy hotel, three-room suite, TV in each room, kitchen with all conveniences. Wonderful pool. very comfortable sunbeds. The staff in the restaurant and check-in exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location, service could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mandatory hotel fee includes only beach chairs, however if you want to use a beach umbrella you need to rent them separately. The umbrellas should be included in the hotel fee, otherwise it ends up looking like a scam where you overcharge for the umbrellas rent on top of the not that cheap hotel fee. Their gym was under maintenance and I had to use a lower level gym from another hotel. They could have told us this in advance instead of letting us discover only when looking for the gym door...

    Great location and comfortable room. Nice welcome drinks!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing—
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tired & worn — no real view —linens were not changed completely each day / just top & 2 pillow cases / not Hotel policy — lazy housekeeper ?—front desk handled — Shower Floor is 24”x24” shiny tiles VERY SLIPPERY & dangerous— Bathroom was not completely cleaned each day / Ex: vanity top /

    The personnel were great considering the issues they have to work with

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music at the pool couldn’t be a little more relaxing. But I know it’s South Beach and most enjoy the upbeat club music.

    The staff was beyond amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.9
    I thought the hotel was good although for the price there should be better rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could use a facelift. Not always serviced well. Called before I went and asked if they had a gym. Was told they did. When I got there learned they have one but it was under renovation.

    Service from the staff was excellent. Location great. The pool area was wonderful and staff great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    6.7
    We had a great stay due to staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are in need of renovation, the pool and beach area is much better than the guest bedrooms and reception area

    The staff were all amazing and very helpful especially Kyle who could not do enough for us and made us very welcome

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    4.6
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    we booked a room with a balcony and could not use the balcony as the noise of generator directly outside, we could not even keep the door open as the noise was too much. this room should not be sold as a room with a balcony. also upon arrival the balcony was not cleaned as there were dirty coffee cups still left, we requested it to be cleaned and then when we returned to the room our backpack which we left out to dry had also been taken, we did get this back though later that evening. We also had money stolen out of a bag sometime during our stay, sterling and euro notes, we reported it to reception who told us security would do a report on it but when security met with us the took our name and number and never asked how much what currency, even though we told them all the details they never wrote anything down as we though it would be a report written down so as it could be investigated but nothing and we have not heard anything from them since. The pool area was lovely but I'm sorry I could not recommend this hotel to anyone based on our experience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.3
    Overall a good pick for your stay in Miami Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should have written out that the gym and spa was closed, and deducted the price. The common areas inside was freezing cold.

    Nice and spacious room with a good ac (not to loud, not to windy). Location was spot on. Good poolarea

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    Chic, Cosy and Comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Service in outside restaurant was poor. It took 10 minutes to get a menu (considering it was not busy at all) so left after coffee. Room was not serviced on the first day and had to request 3 times before any action was taken.

    Room was clean, modern and bed was extremely comfortable with good quality linen provided. Overall room and decor met expectation. The reception/lobby area including the inside bar/library was also well kept, clean and smelt great. Great ambience in the common areas considering the fact that half of the rooms were out of operation at Shelbourne South Beach due to the storms the previous year. They did an excellent job to hide away the working areas/renovations without causing any disruption to customers. Staff were all friendly especially the guys at the inside bar. Top marks. Great access to the beach and loads of options for south beach dinning and entertainment including Lincoln Road shopping.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Pool service was fantastic, we couldn’t want for more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the last evening, there was a staff event, and the pool and lobby of the hotel was over run by party goers. We had no notice of this and we felt a little put out as we had paid resort fees and taxes for 4 days and in reality we had 3 and a half. It was a little unfair to be unaware of this.

    Pool service was fantastic, we couldn’t want for more.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    6.3
    Good location but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was under renovation due to hurricane and hence the oceanfront rooms which we asked for weren’t given. However, staff did their best to accommodate us which was good. But if room category was not available due to renovation - they should have told us - we could have changed The hotel system deducts a lot of money on preauthorisation that too randomly which blocks the card limits for some days before it gets reversed

    Staff very cooperative Location was on south beach and everything was close by

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Our first stay at the Shelborne after many years visiting SB. My new, modestly priced favourite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, the work out room and spa were out of service due to hurricane damage. Alternative facilities were arranged for at a nearby affiliated hotel. No fridge or coffee maker in the room.

    The staff at the Shelborne were fantastic. This was our fourth hotel stay in and around the Miami area on our recent extended holiday, and the customer service at the Shelborne was superior in comparison. Kyle at the front desk was welcoming, extremely pleasant and accommodating, and the staff at the poolside bars and lobby restaurant were very friendly and efficient. Even the doormen and parking attendants were noticeably polished and professional. We loved the modest yet elegant, front lobby restaurant called "Root & Bone". This is an absolute hidden gem with creative, Southern dishes that will surprise your taste buds in a very good way. Two nights in a row, the tastiest meals we have had in South Beach in quite some time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    Do NOT book this hotel if you want see view. We booked and paid for see view but got street view an
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do NOT book this hotel if you want see view. We booked and paid for see view but got street view and no money back. We were compensated with breakfast. After asking we got 150$ voucher to the restaurant.

    Great location and nice staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping did not clean my room until 4pm. And the beds were not made well. Sheets just thrown and covered by blanket. Mildew stains in the shower.

    Great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Staff is superb, everyone of them
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms will be renovated and deserve to be renovated.

    The staff was outstanding. Every member of the staff went out of their way to make our stay the best possible. Root and Bone restaurant was a very pleasant surprise, we ate there 3 nights of our stay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    3.8
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Check in was a disaster, it is hotel policy, that no matter what room you booked you get assigned whatever is left, as rooms are assigned as a "first come first serve basis"(confirmed by 2 front desk staffers). If you don't like it they can cancel your booking no charge and you are free to leave. (only option they give) Renovated on 2014 does not look like it, mattresses need changing. decor not so nice.

    location is awesome

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    5.0
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    they charge me usd 5 per package received few days before my arriving... I never saw so much cruelty in a hotel in Miami Beach, I usually shop online and then when I go to the hotel, the packages await me, but in this hotel, they charge me 5 per package. amazing!!!

    close to Lincoln Rd

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay and would probably choose this hotel again, location is really great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We took the "Do not Disturb" sign off of our door and left the room at 12:45 and did not return until 9, our room was not touched. We expected fresh towels and maybe the trash taken out. The drinks at the bar were very expensive, but maybe this is common for Miami Beach.

    Great location, near shopping, restaurants and the beach! The staff was friendly and helpful. The pool is beautiful, plenty of lounge chairs. Restaurant and bar by the pool is convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    The service at the hotel was amazing and I would stay again for all the accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think that they should let you know in advance if you are to arrive at no rooms that you booked being available and should do a better job of inspecting/replacing bad furniture in the rooms. We had a couch in our suite that had noticeable yellow stains on it. Their fitness center was unfortunately closed but it is because the hurricane had wiped it out.

    The Shelborne was a pleasant place to stay at. On the first night, we weren't able to get the room we booked, but the staff accommodated us and gave us $100 to spend at the hotel. Then for the following nights, we received the right room and had amazing service. The pool was quite nice too and it was a breeze going from pool to beach and we had lounge chairs by the beach that was really convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    The service at the hotel was amazing and I would stay again for all the accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think that they should let you know in advance if you are to arrive at no rooms that you booked being available and should do a better job of inspecting/replacing bad furniture in the rooms. We had a couch in our suite that had noticeable yellow stains on it. Their fitness center was unfortunately closed but it is because the hurricane had wiped it out.

    The Shelborne was a pleasant place to stay at. On the first night, we weren't able to get the room we booked, but the staff accommodated us and gave us $100 to spend at the hotel. Then for the following nights, we received the right room and had amazing service. The pool was quite nice too and it was a breeze going from pool to beach and we had lounge chairs by the beach that was really convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    FABULOUS
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We hadn't realised how bad the recent hurricane had been The hotel was doing its upmoast to run as normal we didn't realize The Beautiful Shelborne had been hot so hard it was it was running with less than half their rooms occupied simply because of storm damage felt so sorry for the managers and the staff on the same note is like to Congratulate them for their professionalism in dealing with this matter we will Certainly return to the iconic Shelborne Hotel we loved it Thank you All so Much Chris Pugh

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    5.4
    Good time but. Too expensive for this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that they did not have automatic doors. It was a struggle to get my luggage through the door. This hotel doesn't have hotel shuttle another negative for the amount of money paid just to stay here.

    The room was nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    Above my expectations!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived to park the car I was told that the charge was 45 USD for the entire stay (6 nights), instead, to my surprise at the check-out the charge was 45 USD PER DAY!!!!!!!!!!!!! If I knew it or if I would have been clearly advised I would have done other parking arrangements!!

    The view from the room, the bed was really good and the staff was amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.4
    Expected better service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't get the room I had booked as there were no rooms of that type available. The hotel must have known this already months ago if it's due to the hurricane damage. So they could've informed me upfront. Slippery in the shower, must be dangerous, since I almost fell and my knee got twisted instead. So hope for the best.

    Good location just across the street is the beach and stylish interior design. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing and fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom was immaculate and had a wonderful view of the ocean and city. The bed was the most comfortable sleep. I didn’t want to leavve the poolside and was sad that it was booked out so I could not spend more time there. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.1
    Few problems
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked late check out till one only they wanted 75 dollars for anything above that .one minute past twelve the housekeeper was knocking really loudly on door. Thanks 20 mins later nother one asking when I'm checking out !!!! Also when the room above or below door has a shower it was like a pipe knocking alarm for the duration it was so loud rm 339 really was a nightmare at 6 am ! Not good

    Good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    Good value for the price and 4 nights were plenty of time to unwind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and maintenance uses the guest elevators, which is very disruptive. Bed too soft for our taste and some outlets broken. Beach view obstructed by huge cabanas that were placed in front of everyone else in chairs.

    City View King room on the 16th floor was small but functionalfor our 4 night stay. Clean and also nice views. Nice pool area and easy beach access. They have a pool bar and Dominic is a great server at the beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.9
    Last minute booking - great for that..but otherwise pretty boring
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It feels very old. The food was just ok for and the room was just ok too. The air conditioner is REALLY loud. Small gym. I would say this place is for people with kids and older couples. If you are looking for something swanky this is not the place. That being said, I was there only for one night on a Wednesday - so maybe the weekends are better.

    To stay at a place right at the water for under $200 is clutch. The staff was really nice too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    5.4
    Needs a facelift, plenty of hidden charges, poor ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool surround is all cracked and has seen better days; the bar in the hotel close at 10pm (or earlier) and so with a family the only option is to be out; the room was a 'city view' but looked directly into the rooms of the next hotel, no more than 50 feet away. With all the extra costs for resort fees and three separate taxes it added hundreds of dollars onto our two rooms for two nights. Frankly very disappointed.

    Good location, lovely beach and good beach facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    Great 4 day getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't get the ocean view balcony we reserved due to damage from hurricane Irma

    Right on the beach, lots of choices for breakfast, can walk to Lincoln Road

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location, great price, great trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was very loud and it was too hot to sleep without it on. Room could have been a bit cleaner, durty marks on bathroom door frame and in shower. There was only a nightstand on one side of the bed. Music by the pool during the day was very loud and rubbish!

    Food was delicious and very reasonable. Room was lovely with nice balcony overlooking beach, great. Happy hour is a nice touch offering cheap drinks and food each evening. The staff were all very feiendly and incredibly helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Good location, within easy walking distance to lots of bars, restaurants and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oceanfront King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon checkout there was no facility to shower. As our flight was an overnight flight we had the full day by the pool/beach. For a five star hotel to have no facility whatsoever to offer these facilities which are usually standard is very poor and disappointing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    Good but not well managed
    • Group
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service is horrible, they don't clean every day even when you call guest services at least five times and when they finally clean it still is no well done

    The location is perfect, people were very kind and professional

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful room with excellent location but expensive as the price on booking.com is not Total costs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was very pricey I only stayed one night (arrived quite late) but had to pay for two days 'facilities access' which I only used for half a day. Was not told upfront of this cost!!! Also did not include breakfast? Very expensive for basically a room.

    The room comfort was excellent, and pool was lovely (for when I used it!).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect especially the stuff. I didn't like my view from my balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a high floor room and they gave me 5th floor. From my balcony I could see only the a/c unit.

    It was a dream!!! Leave me there for ever.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    The bed is so comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oceanfront King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant in the hotel was very expensive, but this Miami! I think south beach is expensive and overpriced in general, so be prepared to spend money here.

    The bed is so comfortable! The balcony room is amazing with views of the city and the beach! You get a welcome drink when you arrive which is nice! The bathroom is very spacious and if you have any housekeeping concerns or anything, the hotel addresses your issues very quickly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    Great location, shame about organisation within the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had lost our booking so didn't know we were coming, our rooms were split up on different floors, bathroom items requested from reception took 10 hours to arrive, and the bill was wrong.

    Location, pool, beach, nice hotel Lots of shops nearby and eateries.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Superfantastic Miami Vibe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AC could be more silent

    Lovely foyer, roomy bedrooms, attractive facilities, lovely part of the beach, very clean, very comfortable beds, very helpful staff, beautiful ambience, chic, relaxing, cool, great Miami vibe! Close to shops of all budget types, Lincoln Road shopping and dining, Rosetta's bakery, Espanola Way restaurants...This is the hotel I would choose again in Miami!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.7
    5 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 4 nights

    However, we would never ever pay the full amount for this hotel,as it does not worth it. First of all is the service. Every day when we were coming to the beach when it was almost empty, we were standing next to the counter for 20 minutes waiting for someone to come and give us towels. 4 out of 5 days they did not have towels at the beach and we were waiting until they bring them from the linen rooms. Also, we ordered water only once and I was waiting for it 30 minutes. The room was cleaned well, but one day we requested the cleaning, as no one came during the day, they promised us to send someone and no one got back to us. The biggest disappointment was the pool, as almost every chairs' cover ups are covered with mould! It was nasty. And it feels that they do not have a good filter system in it, as when you swim, you can see people's hair in the water. There is no feeling of cleanliness at the pool and it was the first time when I felt like not diving into the water. One more drawback is that no one keeps an eye whether people are hotel guests or not. You can easily access the pool and the beach, even if you are not from this hotel. I will say again that overall the hotel is nice, but for this price you can find other nice places.

    Overall the hotel is nice and they offered a good discount. Check in and check out were really fast. The room is clean, new and modern. The view is beautiful. The beach is clean. At the pool they have a fruit water for free. The hotel is located just in the center of Miami beach, so it is accessible from everywhere. Main streets are 5 minutes walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    I liked the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is overpriced. I booked and ocean view room but got a "roof"view instead. Price for bottled water and other snacks is way too expensive.

    I liked the location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    I didn't like how I could not check in before 4pm I...
    • Group
    • Double Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like how I could not check in before 4pm I arrived to Miami at 11am had brunch and still would not let me check in at least 1-2 hours early. I was tired and in need of a bed. Also room service was very slow. I had to ask to get toilet paper or ice 2-3 times before receiveing anything. Plus the hall way and restroom is very small. I would not stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    Bed was very comfortable , room was great, make the good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The $40 valet parking to me is excessive, considering every time I called for my car I felt obligated to tip them. Loved the hotel, the rate was awesome , but the resort fee and valet parking make the great rate , not so great.

    Bed was very comfortable , room was great, make the good room rate I received , not so great. All in all very nice hotel , great accomodating staff and we had a great time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.5
    Great lobby, enjoyable pool area, room, bed, breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of hidden fees. Cost more than it looks.

    Great lobby, enjoyable pool area, room, bed, breakfast, general ambiance. Good entertainment but not over the top. Beach perfect. Good for families, singles and couples.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.5
    nice, but..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - We booked a King Room with balcony, unfortunately we got one at the lowest possible floor (4) and some of the higher rooms 'lost' food and drinks that ended up on our balcony. I know it's not the hotels fault but we ended up having cigarette buds, fries and sticky fruit juice on our balcony so we didn't really wonder about having a cockroach as a visitor one evening. - There's no ice machine. The idea of ordering ice via housekeeping/Guest service is nice but waiting for 1,5 hours for some ice cubes is way too long. (the long waiting time happened a few times) - For that price level the room was a bit shabby (but really spacious and nice style): wallpaper got off in the bathroom, the door of the closet was broken and fell out. - we booked for 2 persons but upon arrival there was just 1 towel of each size and 1 bathrobe.

    location, spacious room! nice pool and sitting area, great beach area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    The decor , the coffee bar, the beach access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was fair at the hotel. Not enough pool chairs and too many kids. I'd prefer an adult only crowd.

    The decor , the coffee bar, the beach access.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    I loved everything!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is all positive!

    I loved everything! Definitely will keep bringing our company guests to this hotel! Specially the staff service and overall amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel, Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge me 100$ upon arrival from security deposit and still they didn't return it back. They charge for the beach umbrella 19$ And they removed the beach chair and the umbrella very early.

    Nice hotel, Nice location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.4
    could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -bad attitude from girl at front desk at check in -requested early check in and higher floor and had to argue and wait to get both -room was hot and thermostat was locked, could not change temp -room was VERY small -room was not serviced by maids at all the entire weekend -cost of EVERYTHING, from breakfast, to mini bar, to beach umbrellas was ridiculous -after paying for beach umbrella, had attendent try to take it away from me saying i didn't pay for it -had to listen to beach attendent tell other guests how bad the manager of the hotel was -had to endure outside vendors, not connected with hotel, bugging me on beach trying to sell various items and services such as entry to nightclubs and coconuts -very little control from beach attendants over hotel chairs. fear of everytime you get out of your chair, another guest or attendant would attempt to take cushion and/or umbrella -just did not meet my expectations of a high end hotel

    valet was excellent notifications on available services was excellent location was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.5
    Good and helpful staff, poor maintainence
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 2 rooms. One of them had a problem with the safe. The other room's bathroom door was stuck (something that housekeeping should have noticed earlier). We were moved to another room with a TV that didn't work (how do these things go unnoticed?). But the staff was top notch and immediately swung into action and sorted everything out for us. One of us was hit by the heat wave and the staff immediately helped us out. That was much appreciated. Thr hot pool is a joke, it has cold water and they didn't fix it for the time we were there. The beach chairs are free for guests but you have to pay $19 for the umbrellas. This is a 3.5 or 4* hotel at the most, not a 5* hotel.

    Good location, walking distance from most stuff and a convenient spot for Uber pickup. Decent decor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    enjoyed my stay at the Shelborne great staff and clean hotel. Pool area was very nice lots of places
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I enjoyed my stay at the Shelborne great staff and clean hotel. Pool area was very nice lots of places to sit with umbrellas available. Location was also great!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.5
    I did not like that people could come in from the beach...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like that people could come in from the beach without security stopping them, my wife went to the ladies room for 2 minutes and all her chair pillows and towels were gone and her bag was on the chair. the was a problem with the young people sitting next to her. they were accused of using a credit card that was no good or stolen. I stayed in the hotel next door and they did a better job keeping people out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    7.9
    Was ok
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet really weak Staff during the night were rude The complimentary breakfast was just a coffe

    Price and location Staff upon arrival were very friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.2
    Great location, buzzy poolside vibe and nice lobby bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small touches missing like shower cap/ a complimentary bottle of water at night. The poolside sun chairs are a little uncomfortable when lying flat, not ideal if you are a sunworshipper x

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    City view was noisy hlad we switched.

    When we checked in we didn't get our room reserved. I had to get up and go to a new manager to get the room we wanted. The manager gave us an upgrade.it worked out but frustrating when you check in late.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Shelborne South Beach traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: