Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sheraton Kona Resort and Spa 4 stars

78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740, USA

#10 of 11 hotels in Kailua-Kona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 553 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lacked direct beach-access. 20USD parking charges/day was too steep. Buffet breakfast wasn't worth ~30USD.

    When the shower in our room stopped working midway into our stay, they moved us to another room (which was a tad smaller than the previous one, though on the same level). The manager gave us a voucher for 75 USD (to be used for F&B at any of the restaurants on-site) to compensate for the inconvenience. Great gesture! Also, the manta ray sighting from the restaurant was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed 1 night (ocean view) and returned for last night again (ocean front). The Ocean front room were much better, larger, cleaner, new and nice view. A small hot spring pool were excellent to relax. We strong recommend to becoming a SPG member, because there are a lot of privilegies.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in/out staff not very friendly. No lei. Dirty rooms. Humid muggy rooms. Expensive breakfast. Run down a bit, needs a remodel.

    Nice buffet, nice pool and attentive poolside service, nice shop with long hours

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintenance of property, breakfast variety and staff availability could be improved.

    The bed, pool and manta ray viewing from the restaurant were AMAZING.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Partial Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner in room was not working Had to call maintenance staff to come fix at 10 pm at night. Should have been properly checked for operations prior to me checking in

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Partial Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very large conference hotel. The beds supersoft for my taste Waterfall at the center of the courtyard is guite noisy.

    Great view from restaurent for Manta Rays and really the Rays burger is the Best burger in town - staff was very Nice and accomodating. Nice pool for children with waterslide. Big rooms and a very good fitnesscenter.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    given a king size bed for 4 people for the first 3 nights instead of our two double bed room moved to a 4 person room, double beds too small they should be queens Not offered any discount or anything for our inconvience

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Moldy bathroom, no robes in room. Booked two full beds was given a king. My son complained and was told nothing could be done had to show booking confirmation and rely on the reservation person on site to fix this, same thing happened to another member of our party. Members in party who paid for daily breakfast were disappointed.

    Staff was amazing. Always smiling, helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area littered with trash, no food and beverage service offered by pool. Cocktails (13.00 and 14.00, during this visit) were watery, flavorless, and possessed no discernible “kick”, both at the pool area bar and at Ray’s.

    Staff at front desk and others pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Resort fee (useless for travelers...) and the parking fee additionally to the big bill. Rooms need renovation, breakfast needs much more variety and especially lack of fresh vegetables if you stay for more than 3 days. Room key didn’t work well almost every second day...

    Location, view of the bay from the room, nice and big garden.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    THe hot tub and pool were cold. A staff member told me that the heater had been broken for months. My balcony wasn’t clean-there was a hair scrunchie out there when I arrived

    It’s pretty! Staff super nice, water slide was an unexpected bonus

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coin machine in laundry room, & no sign stating where to obtain coins

    Bed was comfortable. Lockable safe. Ocean views. Flowers & shrub. Fitness centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that they treated me as if I was living in the 60s in America where, colored skin didn't matter. I felt as if my hard earned money was made from coconut leaves. I would never make a recommendation.

    Not a damn thing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel really needs a renovation, the location is so beautiful that it is too bad they haven't done any renovations. The toilet bubbled whenever someone flushed it from another room. It was quite startling. The drain in the shower was plugged and didn't drain well. There was mold in the grout.

    The breakfast was nice and the location was beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dated, and semi clean. Not worth the rate we paid. This was disappointing! Both hot tubs on the property were out of order. Long wait for a table at Rays on the bay although we had a dinner reservation. Hostess at breakfast sat us at a tiny bar top table that could not fit our 3 breakfast plates. We had to put our coffee carafe and condiments on a chair and I held my plate and ate so my 6 year old could put his on the table. Really disappointing when you are paying 29.95 per adult , and 15.95 per child for breakfast.

    Front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    more shuttle service/carts from the guest parking lot!! what a walk but it was convenient being in the green wing and exiting the end of the building closer to the parking lot.

    Walking the grounds, pristine and clean, excellent location and service. Rooms were spacious, clean and quiet. Awesome fun on the waterslide and great service from the Towel people!!! The staff are all friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is becoming worn out and needs dramatic upgrades to justify the prices. Hotel restaurant is also rediculously overpriced for the food and service quuality.

    Location is great, and views are fantastic. Relaxing location and ambience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Club Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The rooms are looking a little tired but everything was clean. Sometimes the little things are annoying, like not repairing the only printer in the business section the whole time we were there. The pool is too shallow to actually swim in.

    Generally everything was fine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ants in the room, empty retail spaces in the hotel. Only one bar/ grill open. Rest of them were out of business. Bathroom needs remodeling. Parking lot is far away and the charge $20 per day for parking.

    spacious room. Nice lobby. Beautiful pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at the bar (5 servers, 6 patrons, couldn’t get someone to wait on us), the pillows were gross.

    Drinks at the bar were very tasty and reasonably priced

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would have liked more restaurant dinner options on-site.

    Loved the Manta Rays in the bay that we could view every night from the walkway or the restaurant. The beds were the most comfortable we experienced in our whole trip - loved them. Restaurant food was good, but Rays on the Bay was our only dinner option on-site.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The swimming pool was too busy and crowded There's no beach

    The breakfast options were excellent, from made to order omelettes to waffles and pancakes, fresh fruit, pastries and other alternatives.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was expensive, and an extra resort fee was tacked on to booking.com advertised price. The available facilities are great but kind of a waste on a single night stay.

    Ocean facing rooms were fantastic, with private balcony overlooking the ocean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loading and unloading the car sucked as there is no good place to do it, due to the valet area.

    Right next to great snorkeling and manta rays. It is a nice hotel and pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the resort looked a little tired and the bathrooms were only ok.

    On arrival our room was upgraded. The pool and pool bar were great with wonderful views of the ocean and sun sets. We also saw manta rays!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Partial Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Food, was expensive and there was a worm in my salad one night. The trolley filled up and we were denied access. 7 miles is a long walk to Kona and with no rental cars available for the peak holiday season, this was disappointing.

    Location, location, location. Ability to pursue snorkeling right outside the door.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you don't use valet parking the parking lot is not really close. Also the breakfast menu in rays in the bay is pretty expensive for what you get. The bathroom is a bit outdated.

    We had a Mountain View room. It was nice and quiet. Overall the resort offers everything you can think of. It's nice that they have a shop in house where you can get snacks and drinks. The bay is good for snorkeling.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs a complete overhaul - its very dated, rooms dont smell good, carpets are old and stained, and rooms don't seem to be clean. Whilst I was there they were fumigating whole wings of the hotel! I stayed in three different rooms during my four day stay because the standard of the rooms is so poor. The only positive thing I can say about the hotel is the beds are of good quality. Overall not good value for money at all. Some members of staff were polite, but overall members of staff came across as insincere, with no genuine interest in customers' wellbeing. My recommendation would be to avoid this hotel.

    nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restauarant, Ray’s on the Bay was below expectation. Service and view was good, but at night, it was all dark, and there’s little you can see. There were very few options, I choose roasted chicken and burger, costing 30 and 20 dollars, but were just so so. The shower water in room was unstable in temperature, becomes cold suddenly and returns to warm in seconds. The drainer was a little blocked, so I finished my shower with my feet soak in the water.

    There should be a beautiful view of sunset, but I missed it when I spent 15 minutes from parking my car to find the check-in. The view in the morning was also excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room seemed a little old and for ocean front room I couldn’t see it much from the low room they gave me😳! There were ants also in the room?

    I liked the grounds and closeness to the ocean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds which are too small and the parking charges for the hotel guests' cars

    The hotel facilities and the friendliness of the hotel staff. Great location and the beds are comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ‘Resort charge fee’ extra $30 to cost.

    The view was amazing for a small extra cost. Kids loved the slide and games room. Small basic store meant I could enjoy a simple cereal breakfast on the balcony looking at the ocean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is old and dirty looking, stains on chair in room, stains on carpet, room smelled like mildew. pool isn’t very kid friendly for non swimmers. There is a cool little slide but the in and out is hard with no walls to hold onto so requires two parents to be with child. No room service. Only restaurant open late is super expensive.

    My kid loved the water slide.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excessive resort charges. Not that clear in paperwork would prefer those costs were clearer when booking. Added £200 extra to stay. Not value for the money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Surprise, add $15/day for parking. Jacuzzi cold and dirty. Kids' water slide not working. Tons of rodent droppings outside my door. Higher staff was "plastic" and rude. No more wonderful Sheraton shampoo. The drinking water is not good -- they have their own water system -- instead of wonderful lava rock-filtered Kona water. Many stray cats on grounds. Non-guests using swimming pool. Far, far too much second-hand smoke.

    Nice room. Housekeeping staff was wonderful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like that when you check in they tack on extra fees. I did not like that the walls were dingy and there was no bathtub. I did not like that it was very noisy and you could hear everything in the next room and outside. The food in the restaurants was overpriced and poor quality. My wife took one bite of her food at "Ray's at the Bay" and could not eat anymore. I was not happy with my food either. I would never stay here again.

    I really did not like anything. It was very basic and not worth the price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we had a king size bed for four guests! I booked through you guys reading the small print that said one king bed or two double beds...we are tall people and knew we'd suffer in two doubles thinking that's what you'd give us, but all they had was a king room left. They were nice enogh to give us a complimentary roll away.

    The grounds are beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking and resort fees (plus taxes on all that) can add hundreds to your bill at the end. The resort is really large, so longish walk to the room, lots of people, quite impersonal. it is on the sea but there is no sand beach just volcano cliffs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The property is isolated and lacks any nearby shops. The nearest mall is 2 km away. Going to/from the airport by taxi costs over US$ 50 (each way), so renting a car is nearly mandatory. Parking is paid and the parking lot fills up. The room offers nothing beyond a regular roadside motel room. My room had stained bathroom tiles, a weak shower and very little noise insulation from the hallways and from the luau yard. Some of the photos in the property entry in booking.com are not from the property (i.e., the rental shop with the mountain bikes and kayaks is not part of the property; all the hotel had available were heavy beach bikes with worn out brakes); The breakfast service is barely acceptable, served by slow and annoying staff. There are no vending machines on the property (something that any two-bit roadside motel has), and getting something to drink late at night is a problem.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms need updating. Better noise control. Water inconsistent ... scalding one minute, ice cold the next. Potentially dangerous. Noise between rooms disturbing. Public areas beautiful. $20.00 for an ice tea and one cocktail at beach bar seems exorbitant.

    Room decor

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have our reservation in system and tried to turn us away. Only after I left and returned after trying to secure another room elsewhere, did they offer us a room. (At a higher rate than my booking). Had to go back to the front desk 3 times to get the billing correct.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a twin room through Booking.com and this information was not passed onto Sheraton Kona Resort. The result was I had to pay for an upgrade for each night there which just added more cost to my trip and frustration at the booking process. Should have firm pillow options, not just lumpy or feathers. Breakfast and dinner was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views were partly blocked by a tree and the wall of the next section of building. The bed was on the opposite side of what we felt it should have been. Laying down you couldn’t see the whole views you had out on the balcony. The balcony wall could have been a few inches shorter. You had pay parking. It was a slight walk to get around some areas in the resort. Rays on the bay was closed. There was some construction going on. We heard a saw running and power tools the first night.

    It was high up and you could see the ocean. The views were partly blocked by a tree and the wall of the next section of building. The bed was on the opposite side of what we felt it should have been. Laying down you couldn’t see the whole views you had out on the balcony. The balcony wall could have been a few inches shorter. It was a short drive out of town so that was nice you weren’t in the tourist spot trap and it was on a dead end road. You could see the mantas rays with some luck from the room or property

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very crowded self parking, need more spaces and an updated way to monitor those coming and going out of the gate. I wasn't easy to figure out the first few days. After 7:00 or so, there appeared to be only fine dining, and you couldn't really find a snack to eat, or casual dining after returning from a day of sightseeing.

    Great views, Manta Rays, Clean. We would return no doubt. JMB

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms left a lot to be desired. My sons room smelt mouldy and there was a leaking roof in the hall outside with black mold growing around it, which is a health hazard. My daughter, husband and two young children under 5yrs, couldn't use the bath in their room because of huge flakes of enamel flaking off. The accomodation side of the hotel is very tired and in need of maintenance. Not what I expected for the price we paid. Parking is expensive considering the car park belongs to the hotel.

    The staff at the Sheraton, were friendly and helpful with the exception of the restaurant Rays on the Bay, some of the staff in the restaurant were quite rude. The pool area is wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely disappointed to be charged a USD$30 per day 'Resort Fee'. The booking didn't say how much but no way to opt out. Being charged for poor quality facilities is a straight rip off. Breakfast was literally awful. Bad quality food I'd expect in a 2 star resort. Fruit was limited to three types..... on The Big Island! Seriously Sheraton?? I've visited the Big Island many times. I'd stay anywhere else but here.

    Leaving. Sheraton should be embarrassed by the standard of the facility. Staff pleasant enough but the place is falling apart.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Expense of the breakfast options. Allot of deferred maintenance. NO BEACH! Representation that "microwave" was one of the amenities but (1) none available, (2) that would be an extra charge, (3) 3 days of requests before one was provided.

    Pool area. Most staff was cheerful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towels in my room. I had to wait for 2 hours to check-in.

    The Pool was great. If you want to stay and relax in the resort, this place will be a good choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was below average at best. For the price you pay you expect a lot more. They don't offer room service which is something that should be standard at a resort like this.Also when the rooms got cleaned they did not replenish tea or coffee they also didnt replace our used wet towels for fresh ones.We wanted a casual meal from the bar and it was probably one of the worst meals I have eaten. The calamari was just batter, people next to us comppained as well. The fish and chips was fish and crisps not fries. All and all if this hotel is a reflection of all of The Sheraton's I would not stay at one again.

    The beds were super comfortable. the lower pool is also open 24 hours which is nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The signage around the grounds could have been a bit clearer. We are smokers and found it very difficult to distinguish where the smoking areas were. We also weren’t forewarned about the extra charges that were made to our credit card after we checked out (resort fees and such) so this kind of ruined the perfect stay we had.

    Firstly the bed and pillows were amazing! So comfortable! The room was beautiful and very clean. The staff were friendly, and helpful when it came to most things, the hotel and grounds were gorgeous and well-kept, the pool was incredible and the food was great. After being screwed over by the place we were originally supposed to stay, we found this place a haven for a fairly reasonable price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were fantastic and welcoming, the grounds and site are beautifully kept and on a great location for spectacular views. Our room was spacious and the private lanai was a great spot to watch the sunset.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay a surcharge of 270$ for 3 days upon check out, which we were not told about, so ended up paying 770$US instead of 507$US. Booking.com did say there were extra fees (without any precision on the amount) but we couldn't have imagined it was that expensive! We would have booked somewhere had we known it. I do feel those partially hidden fees are illegal.

    Nice pool. Could see the Manta Rays from the restaurant at night. Good location near airport and attractions (beaches, snorkeling)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms appear to not have been updated since the 80s. Still old cordless phones. no wifi access code- must pay for wifi. For the cost the room is terribly basic, bathroom looks like a motel. Took 20 minutes for the water to get warm and pressure not good. When I complained about the room quality and that I wanted to cancel the remaining nights of my stay the staff simply said "well, there's not really anything we can do because we already charged your account for the whole stay". Seriously? Then once I called bookings.com and told them my story I had to sit on the phone and hand the phone to the receptionist (who just minutes earlier had told me I was not going to receive any refund) who promptly refunded me was told to do so my the booking agent. Very expensive with a location very far from town and crappy rooms. would not recommend.

    The pool area is very nice. Great if you have a family and will spend all of your time outside your room. They have a small water slide too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs renovating. Concierge closed early each day, 5pm, which makes it difficult when your out all day.

    The surroundings are good. The staff were very helpful. They catered well for people visiting for the ironman. We were able to get a taxi into Kona for the start of the race, but it was difficult to get back to the resort at the end of the day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Somewhat distant from town.

    Close, walking distance to harbor with activities. Many fine amenities: pool, very helpful concierge to advise on programs. Well-appointed room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Guest laundry room was filthy and the bath tile was filthy and needs to be updated.

    The large room, the pool, the beautiful lobby, the spa, the outlets.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one bath towel in the room for my granddaughter and I. I called Housekeeping and requested another towel. They promised to deliver one but never did. I finally asked at the front desk and they gave me an old pool towel to use. Kind of ridiculous. The staff was friendly but I did get the feeling like they were doing me a big favor when I requested something.

    There is a nice pool and the garden view from the room was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities are badly in need of renovation or update. Corridors are dreary, carpet is tired looking and the same holds true in the room. The bathroom was tiny and the ceiling paint was peeling. We stayed at the hotel because it was fairly close to the airport and we had an early flight. the location was fine relative to the airport, but there were also additional fees beyond the daily rate that you should be aware of including $30/day resort fee and $15/day for self park. At the hour we arrived (late in the day), we were a bit put out by the resort fee as there was no time to use the facilities (although I'm not sure we would have wanted to). Also, the layout of the hotel is quite confusing as it is a series of buildings connected with poor signage to get one to restaurants, lobby etc. If your goal is proximity to the airport, the place is ok, but I would check out other places. This was below par for a major brand.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner not working. Was gone from room until late at night, discovered a/c malfunction. Maintenance person arrived ~midnight. Shower drain extremely slow. Within five minutes, several inches deep water backed up into stall/tub. Lidless industrial toilet with step-on flushing mechanism in our room. Aging concrete missing and coming off underside bridges of swimming pools revealing rebar and rust beneath. Numerous large art/accent decorations along walkways on 1-4 floors worn, scuffed tattered in places. Some lit panels missing lights. Nonoptional "Amenities Fee"@$30 per stay in addition to charge for room. Seemed like deceitful use tax to spread costs and capture revenue disguised as a pro-guests benefits package. "Self-Park Fee"@$15 (higher cost Valet Parking was available). For~19:30 check-in, self-park spots available only at furthest side of lot. Frustrating to pay to walk to hotel. After voicing complaint, front desk rep waived SP fee. Selected room listed as "Ocean View" (NOT "Partial Ocean View"). View was actually 4/5 parking lot view and 1/5 ocean over beyond far building.

    Water temperature in pools. Food and waitress at Jackie Rey's Ohana Grille Restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The girls at Rays (restaurant) were rude. They were young and looked at us like we were something they scraped off their shoes because we did not have a reservation. We left but came back and finally found room at the bar later.

    Comfy bed, gorgeous views, good food, welcoming valets and ck in guy and also bartenders.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No beach, located a way out of town. Only one restaurant was open with a poor choice of menu; continental breakfast was very poor. The fees for parking are extortionate. In fact all the fees & taxes add nearly 40% to the advertised rate. The bathrooms had industrial plumbing fittings & the air conditioning was very noisy with no option to adjust the fan speed. The hotel is mainly constructed of concrete & looks (and sounds) a bit harsh. Cannot really hear the sea!

    Bed was very comfy & the room was large. The viewing of the Mantas was a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very tired and needs a lot of love. Paint is peeling off the doors, lifts don't work, etc. The executive club is a bit of a joke, the breakfast was better in the normal place by miles (buffet vs scrambled eggs) even if it was $30 pp. Food wise, the service is bad - I was embarrassed to how my guests were treated by the staff and wouldn't recommmend eating there.

    the pool was great and had a fun slide for everyone to play on.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maid services were fair/good. Each day of 4 day stay, we had to call for towel items, etc not restocked. Ray's service was very disappointing/bad and the food was not all that good. No rolls/bread as "they don't have a good baker/bakery at this time. They are working on it". Really?? This restaurant was not up to "par" for a Sheraton resort/restaurant.

    Great/comfy bed. Gary at concierge desk was awesome! Went above and beyond to accommodate us. Front desk staff was pleasant and efficient. The staff and food at the small breakfast bar was really good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Partial Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did have a issue with our ceiling by the sink leaking from floor above. Other then that rm was great and paying that nightly rate to me should not have to pay for parking.

    The whole experience was great, food , shops and pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room had water damaged (moist, blistered & soft) wall area at bath door. Vanity sink only about 28" above floor level. Room TV responds to remote very slowly and channel guide offered no program information. Front desk repeatedly understaffed to handle guest traffic without excessive waiting in line (more than 35 min in line). $15 per day parking fee excessive considering high room cost. Elevators frequently required multiple commands to close doors and often went to wrong floor. Elevators not air conditioned or properly ventilated (very sauna-like in the afternoon and evening hours).

    Nice location and pool area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all. Will definitely be back.

    The staff were fantastic. Particularly Marvin at check in.the facili t ies goegeous. We loved the manta ray viewing from the restaurant ans the food was auperb.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I did not like.

    The luau was great entertainment seen from my balcony. The staff was awesome and made my husband’s birthday special.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tap water had a smell to it. We did not receive all the items that was offered as part of the $30 resort fee.

    Room was a nice sized room with a balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - very isolated. Not able to walk to any restaurants / shops for supply's - staff very unfriendly and unhelpful - only two places to eat at premises and either are any good - staff very unfriendly

    Pool and not slide was good for kids

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Partial Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom still had an old style flush industrial toilet, that when flushing was loud. I've stayed here many times and booked through my own or through my SPG preferred guest rewards member. However because this accommodation was booked through Book.com, somehow the front desk personnel, his name was Jojo, an Oriental male, was not very accommodating and rude. When I asked if I could get upgraded to my usual rewards benefit, he responded that the booking was not done through my rewards membership so I was not entitled to my benefit, which includes free daily breakfast.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean, and sizeable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service😐 I never get room service, but this was a long overdue "stay-cation" and I was going to treat myself. No big deal, the rest of our stay was perfect.

    The staff was great! Beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked two rooms at this hotel. We were 3 adults and 3 kids, I asked one of the rooms with two beds and they couldn't arrange it. Than the pool is so packed with children of local people whom have some sort of membership, it was over crowded and some of the local families' kids were even bullies to our children , they didn't let them swim at certain parts of the pool. The food service so extremely slow that made us miserable , to make children to wait... when we asked the staff told us they were under staffed. Its very puzzling to see a hotel packed and so little people working for service. Kids were jumping in the pool with their food, so really that was too much. If only these issues could have been taken care of its a beautiful hotel.

    It was close to the touristic activities, like the boat tours and manta ray snorkeling. The rooms were spacious and clean. It wasn't noisy. We even had a bit of a nice view. The staff always tried to help and smiling.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like the $30 resort fee, that they charge you for each night over and above the cost of the room. I can understand the $15 parking fee but adding a random charge so your room rate looks lower is unacceptable to me. Just increase your rate to include the $30 fee so there are no surprises.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were rundown and one thing I like to do is collect the little shampoo, and they were nothing special. Parking for hotel guests was $15/ night,?

    The pool and hotel grounds were beautiful! Also seeing the mantarays right infrount of the hotel at night were amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A/C didn't work in the room and there were no other rooms available. Parking is on site, but it was raining so we were pretty wet after walking back to the hotel. Could have used valet parking I guess

    Very nice facilities. Staff was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sheraton Kona Resort and Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: