Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Red Lion Hotel St Louis City Center 3 stars

400 South 14th Street, Downtown St. Louis, Saint Louis, MO 63103, USA

#35 of 43 hotels in Saint Louis

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 683 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Queen Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t care for the persistent timeshare salesman lurking in the reservation area. He was pushy, irritating and annoying. The front desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly, but the timeshare salesmen made me want to avoid the front desk area COMPLETELY!

    The room was much more spacious & roomy than expected. Ate at two of the hotel restaurants and the food portions were very large & very tasty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay to park on-site ,only a bar to eat on-site ,no complimentary breakfast,no hot tub. Advertisement misleading

    Pool was ok a little out of the way being on the 13th floor

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ill repair, no extra pillows for couch sleeping. No extra towels, rags. Couch was filthy. Carpets stained up. Linens- wash rags, were frayed. Was told parking was included but was extra $25 per day.

    It was downtown.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fold out couch seemed broken (eanted to fold up if you hot on the one end) and had to go to the desk to get linens for it, but it worked not a huge deal

    We stayed one night at the hotel for a family trip. The hotel was very pretty, the pool was nice, and we had an overall great stay! Staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast at the Bistro was affordable and the waffles were amazing. Parking was easy, as well as entey to the hotel from the parking garage. Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been cleaner, had a very large stain on the carpet. No bath mat for the shower, heated pool was ice cold!

    The staff was exceptional! Very friendly and helpfull!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    few nearby restaurants...you need to drive or taxi to restaurants. Coffee shop at hotel could use a better brand of coffee.

    hotel close to venue we were attending

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    New attendant at the desk didn't have any information about the MetroLink to the airport. Asked me if I had a smart phone and to download the App. Despite that lack of simnlpe information, the attendant kept pushing me to make sure I got a "departing gift", which is really just a sales pitch by an external vendor. Transport to the airport is a simple question, which any hotel should be able to provide to its guests.

    Great value and location. Appreciated being able to check in really early.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Suite with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    your weekend breakfast buffet is way over priced for only few items to pick from swimming pool very cold water

    we took Amtrak to st Louis for baseball game this hotel was right across street from station and 4/5 block walk to bush stadium, the convenience was perfect yes this hotel is older but really pretty nice over all only complaint I would have is on weekends breakfast is buffet only which is ok but they charge $15.99 and only have bacon sausage scrambled eggs pancakes way to costly for breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get our room cool enough. I called and asked for a fan, but they said “I don’t think we have one.” The sink kept backing up in the bathroom. The stool leaked also. Not the cleanest room. The bed was very uncomfortable.

    The location. Also nice that the parking garage is located in the building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Queen Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress in the pull out couch was stained horribly. that needs replaced for what you are charging for the room. Also there were no extra blankets or pillows or a sheet in the room for the pull out bed. Parking was also very expensive for what we already paid for the room! The room was also very stuffy with no ceiling fans and u had no fans available.

    Location was great and the bar restaurant was very good. Coffee bar was good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Studio - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were multiple stains on the carpet in our room. The beds and sofabed were pretty worn and broken down.

    Location was perfect. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Roll-In Shower - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The checkout person took a long time to process my checkout and eventually could not do so but offered to email an invoice. This took at least 10 minutes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ownership should be ashamed of the condition of the hotel considering the location. Needs a lot of tender loving care. Tiles falling off the pool, the pool is not heated as advertised, and the hotel itself is very outdated. Specifically in our room wallpaper coming off the wall and dirty. All the ice machines were inoperable in my opinion I don't believe they're planning on fixing them anytime soon

    The hotel staff itself or very friendly and helpful. Honestly with what they have to work with every day I can't believe how friendly they are

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Studio - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was horrible they gave the room away after having it for almost a month. Then said they cant help us. Said rhey would refund the room but instead changes me again. So i was out $400.00 no room and no help.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower outdated and not much pressure. Was charged for parking without being told there would be a charge. Beware of what is not listed on Booking.

    Pretty good location near the stadiums. Large room with comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When paying 200.00 for a room customers should not have to pay a additional 25.00 to park in their garage. There is no other options for parking so you have no choice but to pay. They do not tell you this when booking.

    Location to Scott Trade Center is fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had dirty linens on floor upon checkin. The elevators were broken half the stay, we were on the 8th floor. Pool had trash at the bottom.

    Good location. Convenient parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of a little attention to detail, wallpaper patches and dim or flickering lights. Everything closes at 10, wish the bar or the balcony stayed open later.

    Clean, spacious, comfy. Great rooms, great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seriously needs to be updated and renovated. The carpets in the hallways were very worn and ripped I places. The walls in our rooms had marks all over them...the wallpaper in one bedroom had a slash in it.

    The location was excellent and easy to find. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool was nice. The rooms seemed to be clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Suite with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all, the parking is horrible. The parking garage really should only be for small vehicles because we had a hell of a time getting our jeep commander around in it. And $25? For just around 18 hours? That's quite ridiculous after paying so much for the rooms. Plus on the website it says that WITHOUT a reservation it costs $25 a day, but it doesn't say that you still have to pay even with a reservation. Very misleading. Second, there are absolutely no carts to carry your items inside. Unless of course you pay for valet parking. It's not very easy to haul 3 young kids, 1 of whom doesn't walk, and suitcases pillows blankets and toys for a family of 5 all the way from the car to the elevator then up to the 8th floor and then down the hallways to your room. Once in the room there's no booklet or pamphlet telling guests where the pool is, tv channels, close-by places that deliver, nothing. Had to call the desk to see about the pool. Then we go to the ice machine for ice and it doesn't work. Go back to the lobby to see about ice and to see if they have breakfast in the morning, and I'm told we have to get the ice from the bar and that the hotel restaurant opens at 6 where again we pay ourselves. After we get food delivered and eat we all suited up to go up to the 13th floor and swim in what the website calls an "indoor heated pool". Pool is nice and big but come to find out the only thing that is heated is the room. Pool room was like a sauna and the actual pool was really cold. Cold enough we couldn't let our 2 youngest swim very long because they were shivering. Our oldest swam for about an hour but then got out. Then we went back upstairs, after trying to get our room card to work in the elevators, turned the tv on and the tv guide just says "regular programming". So I go online to directv to see what's on which channels.

    So far they haven't charged us for anything extra so I guess that's good. Oh and our room was good sized and fairly clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Queen Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we got there our reservation for the room was not available. They upgraded our room but the first room was dirty. Had lipstick on the walls and a chunk missing out of corner of the coffee table. Then our toilet overflowed and we had to get another room. The second room was a lot cleaner.

    The staff was great and very helpful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our beds were very uncomfortable. The floors were so dirty that our socks were almost black by the end of the night. There was also something pink and crusty all over the living area that looked like dried vomit.

    The kids really enjoyed the pool area. The sun deck was a nice place to hang out with our family.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Suite with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Key card for the elevator didn't work. Had to ask repeatedly for sheets and toiletries.

    Great location for what my family and I wanted to do. Good restaurant and bar on the property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    when we go to our room big stains on carpet looked like someone was sick. Counter by coffee maker still dirty. Told front desk. The stains were NEVER addressed. We had ordered in pizza stacked the boxes up and the maids never took them away or vacuumed that day.

    The location in proximity to Barnes Hosp was very helful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was average. Smelt funny inside. Things were dusty and there was visible trash laying on the floor and behind the couch, one of which was cannabis gummies. There were cups in the hall from the time we checked in till when we left.

    Location was excellent to everything around. Staff was kind and the restaurant inside was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like waiting for 2 hours for my room to be ready. I had a reservation and was there on time. Waiting around for 2 hours is completely unacceptable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not ready at check in time 2 hour wait and lots of chaos in lobby No hot water in morning Parking garage was a confusing mess

    Location and room size

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was a nightmare. Although there was 4 total computer kiosk for staff to use , they only had 2 people available for check in. Most people including myself could not get into room until 6pm. There was no hot water in the morning for showers.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They overbooked or didn't have enough cleaning help. Guaranteed check in at 3 though I got there at 1:30 didn't get room till 4:30. Dozens of people after me waiting for rooms before concert. Couldn't get food or drink at bar before concert because they were so far behind and couldn't handle crowd. Also parked in their ramp and then got a surprise additional $25.00 charge. Paid $220.00 for the rtoom and not worth it by far.

    Was across the street from concert venue but had to walk for blocks to get food cause hotel couldnt handle crowd.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location absolutely fantastic but need more staff a lot of people waiting for their rooms great bar on site but need a store to buy anything you may of forgotten

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Suite with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not get into our room until 4:30pm. No hot water for shower. Tv didn’t work. Ice machine close to room didn’t work. No place to eat in hotel after concert. Needed more help at desk for checking in , waited in line 30 minutes.

    Beds were comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our towel bar fell off wall. Someone came into our room when we were out and took two of our pillows. We were left with not much. Two tiny flat feather pillows. Not happy someone came into our room.

    Was right next to our event at scotttrade. Easy and safe walking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See answer above.

    When we booked we estimated our time of arrival between 3:00 and 4:00. We arrived around 4:00. Our room was not ready until 7:00. All guests were waiting for their rooms to be ready. One guest had waited since 11:30. Most guest had been waiting since 2:30. There were not enough chairs available in the lobby for guests to use while waiting for their rooms. The following morning we had no hot water. The television didn't work in the bedroom. The only compensation offered was not to charge us for our overnight garage parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Queen Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our phone didn't work. It was very dark in our room. There was no do not disturb sign therefore they kept knocking on our door all morning.

    Great location and easy parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Queen Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at 5:15 pm and our rooms were not ready, that we found out by waiting in line for 15 minutes. There was no communication by the staff until we got up to the front desk, which they told us it would be any hour or so

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not being ready at 300 check in.

    Extremely slow on check in due to rooms not being ready. Front desk was good. They were taking guests phone numbers to call when rooms were ready. Some people were still waiting after 500pm to get their room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Queen Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. H

    First room smelled like a locker room, second room wasn’t much better. It was a suite with no microwave, pullout bed was old and very uncomfortable. We only had 4 towels. Carpet was dirty, furniture was old and banged up. Pool was cold, tile around it was very slippery and depth of water markings were not labeled correctly. There were numerous tiles around pool missing. Everything was just old and outdated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Studio - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smells bad, overnight staff rude, didn't provide us with proper bedding, TVs didn't work, bedroom didn't get cool, very outdated, no microwave

    Location, beds were comfortable, cool sundeck

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Suite with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely overpriced for the room quality and furnishings. It’s in severe need of some updating. The carpets were all loose and old and the room and furnishings were very out dated. The room was large and the bed and pillows were comfortable. However, the cost, plus parking, were excessive for the hotel.

    The proximity to the venue we were visiting was amazing. Just a short walk to Scott Trade and union station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower did not work. The bath tub was a bit small. The pipes were obviously old and annoying. It was very difficult to get into the garage due to the traffic and amount of cars blocking the entrance. I didn't like having to pay for parking (especially when the room was $352.00 for Friday and Saturday night). I suppose the location and the fact that it was the weekend is the reason. If I want to attend another concert I would book this hotel again.

    My room came with a refrigerator, coffee maker, (2) televisions, a nice sitting area, a large desk and a comfortable bed. The elevators were fast......virtually no waiting. Great staff......very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Suite with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More like a motel than a hotel.. very old furniture and not clean.. overpriced

    Smelly, halls cold, expensive parking, surprise expenses, dirty carpets, outdated period

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty. There was a can of dip left on the floor and the towels were crusty. The staff was friendly but this location needs to pick it up in the cleanliness department.

    Within walking distance to Scottrade

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness. Felt I paid a lot of money and was not “worth” what I hoped for. Also $25 a night for pairing is a lot when I just spent $150 for a room.

    I liked the size of the pool but it was outdated and things were broken.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    LOOKED AS THOUGH THERE WAS BLOOD SMEARED ON THE WALL. CARPET IS RIPPLED. THE PLACE IS AN ECHO CHAMBER. IT'S TIRED AND IS IN NEED OF UPGRADES. NO CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST. YOU COULD CLEARLY HEAR THE GUESTS IN OTHER ROOMS. IT WAS MARDI-GRAS WEEKEND IN ST. LOUIS AND THERE WERE KIDS EVERYWHERE, DRUNK AND LOUD AND DISRESPECTFUL. SUCKED. WILL NEVER GO BACK.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Studio - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were not placed in the room we reserved so we had to change rooms which took over an hour. We had to change rooms again after that due to broken couch bed. Third room still had broken couch so our children had to sleep on floor because they fell asleep waiting to change rooms. The hotel staff had to bring up a new bed the next day which took well over an hour wait time. When we arrived we were told that we would pay an additional $25 per night per car totaling $100 in additional charges. When we asked if there were alternative parking options we were told they didn't know of any. one person staying in room had military ID. She asked if a discount could be applied to her car and they said no. Our room keys wouldn't work when we came back to hotel Saturday afternoon. It took multiple trips to front desk and maintenance assistance to figure out that our room keys had been blocked which caused us to miss our reservations with a planned group event. Front desk staff were very argumentative when we were explaining our disappointments and concerns with so many issues with our stay. Pictures online of Deluxe Queen suite with disability access was very misleading and not easy for wheelchair to be moved around in room.

    Beds were comfortable. Temperature of room was easy to control. Pool was nice. Location was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no workers to help you with anything, we paid for valet and they didn’t even help us unload or load our bags. Pool said opened at 8 at 8:15 still not open so we went searching for someone found someone at front desk setting in the office off to side on her phone. She called for someone but said would be at least another 10min. We will not stay again, rather pay for Uber to have better stay. Rooms were dirty also and beds terrible.

    It was located very closely to the Scottrade Center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They checked us into an already occupied room. Split each member of my party onto different floors and told us it would be an additional charge to change all our rooms to the same floor. Charged my credit card three days BEFORE we checked in, Charged us $30 for the privilege of parking ourselves in their parking lot, put a $74 charge on my card the day I checked in "If you don't mess the room up, a portion of that MAY be returned", and then argued with me when I told them it was an unauthorized charge, and finally agreed to reverse it while i was on the phone with my bank reporting it as a fraudulent purchase. Don't ever stay here, or if you do, pay cash only and get reciepts.

    It was conveniently located. That's it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs new bed linens. After switching rooms twice, because of stained and dirty sheets, we settled on minimally stained sheets. The front counter employee offered us free breakfast for our troubles. I didn't read the coupon until the next morning when we tried to use it. The coupon was only for one specific meal or the buffet but they did not have the buffet set up because it wasn't busy. We didn't want to hassle with asking for something else but the free breakfast was a bust.

    The location is great and the workers were all very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are absolutely ZERO restaurants close to this hotel and one of the hotel restaurants closes after breakfast. There is no heat in the hallways, even in -14 degree weather... Turn the heat on... Towels were very hard.

    One of the best thing about this hotel is the fact that it is walking distance from the Scottrade Center. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Queen Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The room was overpriced. 2. Ice machines on each floor were not working. Did not like having to go to the 1st floor to get ice. Room service should have been available. 3. Cost to park will staying in the hotel.

    The room and size.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to watch to make sure they don’t over charge you. I was told that since my room was already paid for all I would need was 50$ Just in case something happens. I have a 73$ pending charge a 35$ pending and a 25$ pending charge which is 123$ pending which is ridiculous!!! Seem like I’m being double charged for this room. The elevator wasn’t work properly and the the building was cold. The towels was worthless.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room carpet wasnt very clean. Could see diet and dust all around baseboard. Bathroom floor was dirty in corners.

    The location was great for the hockey game.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The payment process was not explained or emailed correctly. I got charged an extra $75 i didnt expect and driving from out of town thats an issue. And parking was an issue

    Loves how close it was to my event and after parties and events i attended

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated. Hotel was freezing. Front desk clerk had coat on with space heater. Ice machine on our floor was out of order. Expensive with few ameneties. Parking costs $25. No free breakfast. Bar and restaurant opens late, like 3pm. Not good if you have a 3pm show at Scottrade!

    Closeness to Scottrade Center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Suite with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really rude staff at front desk

    Very nice spacious room with everything you need in it with a beautiful view nice bathroom nice pool nice everything love the parking being right there to the elevator to your room. Very clean they brought up an actual crib instead of the pack and play smells nice in there especially the elevators for some reason lol I was very impressed and very happy with the money spent and the quality of the room very affordable and a great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Queen Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no microwave in our room. I could see that other rooms were equipped with one. I stayed other nights during this trip in this hotel with family and staff did not clean our room. They provided a pretty lame excuse about why it didn’t happen.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Suite with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    First room was very dirty. Had to be moved. They were very quick to move us. Second room was clean but very uncomfortable. The bed sheets are basically plastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room needed a thorough cleaning..behind couch and under things. There was a used washcloth on the shower curtain.

    The beds were super comfortable, the staff were friendly and knowledgable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was stopped up when I arrived. Partially full glasses of water on the table. Shower shampoo and conditioner was missing. Overall room was clean and undisturbed with these exceptions.

    Fantastic location near Scott trade center Large room size.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Suite with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is generally in need of updating--stains on sofa, small thin towels, furniture shows wear. Room and bathroom lighting are dim.

    The room was spacious, and the hotel is well located.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Suite with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The plumbing noises from nearby rooms were excessively loud. The room wasn't dirty, but not fresh. Condition of all furnishings showed considerable wear. Surprised to find no blankets on the beds.

    Location was exactly what I needed; parking accessible and no additional cost! City sounds were reasonable, and a good night's sleep was not a problem!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking rate too expensive, and the towels and wash cloths were like sandpaper. And $15.95 for a hot continental type breakfast.

    Location was nice, walking distance to alot of venues

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Queen Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the first 3 days we had to call guest services for more towels, coffee, toilet paper and other toiletries. The room cards were used for elevator service but we had to swipe the card sometimes 4 or more times before the elevator would go to our floor. The elevator swiper needs replacing.

    The bed was very comfortable. The pillows were sooo soft. I never sleep on pillows because Property is beautiful. I usually wake up with a headache, but those pillows were nice. I actually wanted to ask if I could have one or purchase one, lol.😄

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Roll-In Shower - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to ask for towels twice, none were in the room when we checked in. We stay here most of the time when we come to St. Louis, it is usually very accommodating and a wonderful place to stay.

    Closeness to Blues Hockey. Calvin in the Hotel Bar is the absolute best.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Roll-In Shower - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel placed a $200.00 incidental deposit. (Will sleep outside before staying here again), the walls were dirty, the refrigerator was nasty, the carpet was stained and the chair had stains that I pray was not what I think.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price for parking for guests was a little steep ($25 a night). We ate breakfast in the hotel bistro and the first 5 things we tried to order off the menu were not available. The pool water was not very warm.

    Staff that we encountered were all very helpful and friendly. Room size was fine for our family of 6 (had a 2 queen bed suite with queen pullout). The food (we did end up getting) in the bistro was very good!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Queen Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa bed could have been more comfortable. Bistro 14 should be open later. Room service should be available 24 hours.

    Beds were comfortable. Room service was prompt. Good coffee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Queen Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet looked like a crime scene, smells bad, no fitted sheet on poorly made beds, no linen for sofa bed, charge $24 for microwave, walls dirty, normally I have to pay a $50 incidental when I travel there’s was $200. This could be a very classy place if they clean it up

    Good location fair customer service old historic which I love maid service good lobby beautiful. It’s not a 4.6 as you’re grading it

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ice machine on our floor did not work vending machine took our money with no purchase. Our door did not latch on its own.. bed comforter was dirty or stained I'm not sure.

    Centered in town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Queen Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel need to upgrade the carpeting in the halls. On our floor some of it was ripped which would really cause a fall if you were not looking.

    The room was nice. Breakfast was very good. We really liked the location. We went to the Blues hockey game and the hotel was right across the street from the event!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The onsite parking was $25 for self and $30 for valet. This seemed high for the area. We parked overnight at a meter which are free on Sunday and our car was fine. There were other lots that were $10.

    It was a simple hotel. The room was clean and spacious. The location was convenient with the bus and metro station right across the street. I enjoyed the fact is was right downtown. If you're not a city person, you might not feel safe but it seemed like any other downtown area to me. It was pet-friendly which was a huge selling point since we were bringing our pup. $25 pet fee was very reasonable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All of the people who work here are very helpful. Room is very big and comfy. Metrolink station (which can get you to the airport, to the Arch or to many other places) is just across the road. The building is very tall and unique so you can see it from many different places of Downtown St. Louis and fine your way back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room service was a little long but food was good.

    Location was right next to the Scottrade Center and they gave us a room with a great view of the city. Will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seating and decor was a little dated in the hotel room.

    Within easy walking distance to Busch Stadium and nearby excellent restaurants, easy access from the interstate, very comfy bed and bedding.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Sleeper Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is very dated. I felt like I jumped back into the 80s. The bathroom needs updating. Everything does. I felt like I was at an elderly persons nursing home apartment. And the smell- we had a nonsmoking room but clearly years of smoking had taken place there.

    Good water pressure, staff was very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Red Lion Hotel St Louis City Center traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: