Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. California hotel reviews
  4. Los Angeles hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Shore Hotel

Reviews of Shore Hotel 4 stars

1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, Los Angeles, CA 90401, USA

#56 of 381 hotels in Los Angeles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1085 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really - didn't use the swimming pool so cannot comment on that

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were given a welcome drink on arrival and an upgrade to a room with a view. The room was very clean & comfortable and the hotel was in a great location.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2018

    10
    everything was better then expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was better then expected. they had cookies and champagne on arrival and cookies every evening .. the facility was amazing and all the staff were helpful . can't wait to go back

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2018

    9.6
    We only stayed 2 nights so we wanted to be close to the pier...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices of a pot of tea :(

    We only stayed 2 nights so we wanted to be close to the pier and promenade. Shore Hotel was perfect. We were going into LA on two of the 3 days we were there and an Uber would easily appear within 2 minutes ($40 approx). -So many places to eat nearby (especially on the pier) and so many shops on third street. -I chose the cheapest room with two twin beds and loved the glass screen between the bathroom & bedroom (there was a privacy screen you could use if you needed). -Music I could hear every day coming from somewhere outside was nice -Our room got the morning sun -I slept soundly every night, didn’t hear much music/noise & we stayed on a weekend -2 types of water available all day in foyer -alcoholic drink on arrival -Gluten free pancakes on the brekky menu! -No bikes available at the time but given a voucher to a shop on the pier where we got the bikes for free instead! -Staff were really friendly and polite -Clean foyer and toilets An Aussie couple (aged 33).

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2018

    8.3
    Overall we loved the property. It was a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Things were moved around too much when the rooms were cleaned. My daughters eye liner went missing after the room was cleaned and she never found it. My husbands jeans were put "away" and he couldn't find them until we left. We were in our rooms for 4 days and I never felt that they were "cleaned" but rather the beds were just made and new towels put out. Trash was not thrown away and the floors didn't seem to be cleaned.

    The employees at the hotel were excellent. Personable, helpful and pleasant. The kids especially enjoyed the apples, cookies and water in the lobby each day. The pool and hot tub were great as well - everyone enjoyed them! We checked out early on Saturday and the hotel staff helped us by holding our bags and allowing the kids to shower in the fitness center after their surf lesson so they didn't have to fly home dirty. That was a huge help!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2018

    3.8
    Pricey but with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is very costly and not convenient. Wished the shower had some pressure. Exhaust didn't work for bathroom. We checked in four hours late but were still denied 2 hr late check-out

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2018

    7.1
    Too expensive, but nice bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fridge was not cold. The cost ($400 plus per night) was excessive. Maybe you can charge those prices in the height of Summer in Santa Monica when it is impossible to get a car space, but for late Octorber, not so much.

    Bed was excellent. Shower very good. Privacy and quietness very good. Close proximity to Blue Plate tacos a massive bonus. Beachfront view is nice, although you can barely see the beach due to pollution and smog, in late October, at least.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2018

    5.4
    Location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the room for 4 people, by bad was so small that was only for 2, but I paid for 4.. The second thing,when you check out they charge you extra 20 $ for welcome drink, apples and coockies ,if you eat theme or not 🙄 but they didn’t even offer a welcome drink to us... if they change that they should let tou before that

    Location is good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    5.4
    Good spot near the Santa Monica pier
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room , two nights, my wife was pinching from bed bugs.After the interview with the manager, he offered us a discount “40” usd , after our discusion it was “120” usd. Next time I would rathercpay higher price whitout bed bugs. The hotel is immature in this case, This is not proffesionalism from their side.

    Good spot near the Santa Monica pier

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed staying at this property but the extra charges and the pool area were disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The photos on the website are misleading - the swimming pool is small which was a disaapointment when you are holidaying as a family. There is alot of hidden costs if you haven't read through all the information. You are charged an additional $20.00USD per night resort fee to use the facilities wifi etc, taxes etc. There is no real parking close to the property and if you do have a vehicle it is another $49.00USD per day/night to park at the Hotel or a charge of about $15.00USD per 2 hours. - On top of the room cost we found this outrageous.

    The location of the property was excellent - right across the road from Santa Monica Pier and the Beach. Nice restaurants close buy and excellent shopping a short walk away. The rooms were very nice spacious, modern and clean and one room with 2 queen beds accomodated our family with 2 children sharing one bed- however you really need to be in a partial or full beachfront room with a balcony to make the most of the view and the location due to the cost of staying at this property.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel, nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive. Lots of extra charges. Did not appreciate that we had to valet park as guests. That doubled our parking costs & was silly since we never used the car.

    Gorgeous property. Very nice rooms. Super close to the pier, shopping, beaches & restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.3
    Great location, short walk to Santa Monica pier and several...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool looks a lot bigger when viewing online compared to actual size.

    Great location, short walk to Santa Monica pier and several restaurants. Nice beach view of the sunset.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    A pleasure to stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff on board here! This is always an A+ in my book when staying at a hotel. They made us feel right at home. The hotel stands right across from the beach and santa Monica pier. Lots of activity and lots of people. Fantastic restaurants in the immediate area with no need to drive much. The hotel was clean, well designed and very comfortable. If I have a choice to stay here again, I totally will! Thanks to everyone at the Shore for a most pleasurable and relaxing stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    Great stay....very confusing check out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    confusing check out....different story of the reception when I checked in and out. I feel like I was charged more...when I checked out...Although when I cheked in all the things were included except parking!! Even parking When I called the hotel they said $30 for the guest /stay...but I was charged $39 PLUS Tax!!.....keep your story straight!!

    location friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    Good but good be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room view was not as expected meaning not facing the sea directly as per my booking and once i asked for better one they asked for extra money.

    The location was good very near to the main shopping street and also steps from the beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Room service was great. Made our stay wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely Beautiful and Great location .Staff were great and extremely helpful. Great Atmosphere. Very clean and modern.

    Clean.Pool great. Great staff. Very helpful wirh my 86 year old mum .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    Pool was great and open till 11 o‘clock.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The employees at the reception could have been a bit friedlier.

    Pool was great and open till 11 o‘clock. The hotel is at a great location. The room cleaning service was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Good eco hotel and location, helpful staff, comfortable room / packed pool and too close to the road
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    very close to the road and didn't realize from the photos, very small swimming pool and very packed area in front of the road, 1st staff that checked us in chose one of the most noisy room (in front of the elevator) when we had asked specifically for a quiet room due to sleeping issues, fortunately another very nice staff changed that and gave us a very appropriate room; we didn't ask for cleaning the room according to the eco commitment and were supposed to be refunded but this refund never happened and our room wasn't done for two days

    Eco friendly hotel, some staff very nice and helpful, kind to children, clean room, the little snacks: cookies, apple (but we had to pay daily for it and compulsory), location, sport room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful view from the hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    security of the foyer - it felt a little open at times - anyone could walk in (the lifts were card only operated so the rest of the hotel felt safe). Bikes to borrow - not fully clear how to book these up. When i did want to borrow two together I found out that i needed to reserve them the day before.

    Great view from the bedroom to the beach and Santa Monica Pier. Very friendly staff. great to be able to borrow a bike for a ride on the boardwalk (see point below on this). Great choice of nearby restaurants and food in the hotel restaurant was good too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel with excellent staff in a wonderful location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't really have a bar where you could grab an end of evening drink and have a quiet chat.

    Everything. Staff couldn't have been more helpful, rooms very comfortable, complimentary tea/coffee in rooms and apples in reception, and just across the road form the pier and beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful place to stay, great location and friendly staf
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey and with lots of extra charges. I felt a bit stung by the $39 a day to park that was hidden in the small print.

    Wonderful place to stay, great location and friendly staf

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.7
    It’s location was great, close to the Pier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s location was great, close to the Pier. We had a room with view and it was so cool we could see so many fun things happen as we sat on our balcony.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.1
    Carpet in bedroom are very dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in the bedroom are very dirty, water is the toilet is very slow flow , the housekeeping needs to clean more the rooms

    Carpet in bedroom are very dirty

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    If you plan Santa Monica. Plan in this hotel. Little bit expensive but worth its price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t find any

    Excellent personnel and very honest and ethical. Even we left some stuff near trash bin, they sent us an email asking if those things were lost or left intentionally. Such happened first time to us. Comfort and location was increadable. No fight or “towel mark reservation” for sun beads in the morning on the pool. There were always some spare available.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. The staff are so nice and friendly. The location is perfect. The new addition of complimentary coffee every morning in the lobby was great. Also this year we got free passes for the rides on the pier as part of the $20 a day resort fee, which we haven’t had before. This was our third visit in three years because we love it so much. The ocean facing rooms are the best!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    The location was amazing from santa monica and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged me an extra 180usd a couple of days after my stay for no reason and i couldnt find a number to contact them about it while i still havent got my money back

    The location was amazing from santa monica and the staff were great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.4
    Hoteö does not match European Standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well overpriced. Hotel does not meet European standards (corresponds european 3-star level). View on Restaurant beckyard instead of sea vew, very small pool (no showers, disgusting and unhygienic), the whole coast in Santa Monica is rather dingy and tatty. Nobody cares about the masses of homeless people, they are everywhere. One day visit is more than enough.

    Friendly staff but well overpriced. Hotel does not match european stamdards at all

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Overly and modern and great location right by the pier and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price we found it extremely expensive a night at least £400 PER NIGHT dearer than a 5 star in London !! Overpriced for what it was - we couldn't have afforded more than 2 nights it was our dearest stay of all our trip

    Overly and modern and great location right by the pier and in the centre of things

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    The pool area is great and the location couldn’t be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of extras - despite paying a lot not much apart from the room itself seemed to be included. Particularly annoyed that a bar bill was left open even though a generous tip had already been added.

    The pool area is great and the location couldn’t be better. Right by the beach and pier and round the corner from lots of shops and restaurants. Staff were helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small pool, basic decoration, expensive for what you get compared to other beach hotels of the same range. I travel a lot on the west coast and this is not at all the best price to quality ratio.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible smell in the room from the restaurant below (all day). Though there was 3 levels difference the burned oil smell was not pleasant. Apart from that, great.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is located a short walk from the bridge that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located a short walk from the bridge that connects to Santa Monica Pier. Good location for restaurants and bars nearby. The parking is valet and very quick and efficient. The staff were extremely helpful - when we called to confirm we would be arriving later than planned they offered to assist with dinner reservations nearby. And also assisted with restaurant recommendations. They were able to hold our bags on the last day while we traveled after check out. Clean hotel rooms and no noise (we had a garden facing room). Easy access in and out of the property.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    It was a perfect stay-cation! Lovely to explore the Santa Monica beach front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was small and crowded. The traffic outside was a little noisy.

    The staff was excellent. Minimal wait and Erik at the front desk was professional and went above and beyond to make our stay special for my husband's birthday.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 21 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small swimming pool, but it wasn’t a big problem, because we preferred going to ocean.

    Very nice hotel. I really can recommend it to everyone. Everything was awesome. I enjoyed staying at the hotel for 3 weeks! Very helpful staff, tasty breakfast, fresh apples every day 😊good location. It’s really in the heart of Santa Monica.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Had a great time in Santa Monica and loved staying at the Shore Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't use elevator near room to get to lobby and tried to take stairs which led to locked door. Had to walk to a different elevator to get to lobby. It was a little confusing.

    Slept very well at this hotel the windows were sound proof and was next to elevator and didn't hear people coming or going either. The room was spacious especially for three women, my daughters and myself. The hotel was close to Santa Monica Pier, shopping and restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel. All staff members were very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Santa Monica & LA in general. Fly in then drive up the coast bypassing this sprawling mass completely! The coast gets better as you head north!

    Good view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little loud by the street and gets very crowded on weekends.

    Excellent location. Walking distance to restaurants, beach, entertainment and shopping. Excellent service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    If you want to be in the heart of Santa Monica this is the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive only because of the location. I wouldn’t really pay the price again. Parking is $40 a night.

    If you want to be in the heart of Santa Monica this is the way lace to be in but be warned it does get crazy packed!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Location, modern design , clean, swimming pool, breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The required charge for extra amenities $20 per night.

    Location, modern design , clean, swimming pool, breakfast, staff, fancy private screen in bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Excellent Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an ocean view room which we loved. There was one night that was a little loud, but otherwise the sound from the street below was reasonably blocked out once the balcony door was closed.

    Excellent Location!!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Met expectations and I would suggest for either couples and/or families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking was expensive, so I parked in Santa Monica municipal lot on 4th street across from the Double Tree for $12 a night only a 5 block walk. Also for some reason the back door towards the shopping mall is not functional would create a nice short cut to Starbucks/McDonalds for the morning coffee.

    The bedding was very comfortable and the balconies were spacious. A newer property within comfortable walking distance to the Santa Monica pier and many "Bird" scooters available just outside (Bird scooters are the best way to get around the local area)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the the extra $100/nite for fees and taxes was too much.

    Very clean. Central location. Nice pool Loved that the rooms very very sound proofed against the outside noise.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Trendy Spot with Perfect Comforts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby was always super busy. Pool was a bit small. Took a while for our bags to be brought up to our room.

    I liked all of the special amenities and touches with champagne upon arrival, freshly baked cookies and fruit in the lobby. Our room was immaculate and the fun glass shower wall. We loved the ocean view and quick access to the Santa Monica pier. Front desk staff were friendly and professional. Bellhop was very nice. They also gave guests options to rent bikes, and valet always had my vehicle ready when I text to retrieve it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    I loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The view.

    Location was perfect! I traveled with three kids (two teenagers) and they loved the restaurants, shopping , the beach and got to see a few youtubers. BTW, thank you for the free coffee!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.3
    Too expensive hotel - but great stafff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was small for a familly of 4, there was no room for our bags unless on the floor and still it was tight space. I did not like that the bathroom was a glass wall, open into the room. You could draw a curtain but still - I like my privacy at the bathroom and this was not so comfy. The hotel was good located but I still feel I payed too much for it. We were therefor a little disapointed.

    The best thing about this hotel is the staff and location. The staff was helpfull and lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    Worth a stay perhaps not worth the price though?
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See above

    The check in staff and porters were excellent! The rooms could have been a bit more prepared. All the dodgy costs for water and snacks...really for the price per night? What ever. The concierge was OUTSTANDING. Excellent knowledge of surrounding amenities. The room View was good, access / security was very good. The breakfast staff was decent however the cost for food received was not a par value! The pool staff was excellent! Checkout staff was kind and eager to see you depart including the parking folks. Odd as though they were receiving a benefit of some sort?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked for ocean view. There was a pool view & a large tree, with slight ocean view, was disappointing as it came recommended from a friend. I’d suggested if you have more than two people don’t book this hotel. There are some amazing accomodation around don’t waste your money on this hotel. Four or more try another hotel, if wanting a ocean view, as they only do full ocean views for one king bed rooms. If not just pay for pool or garden views as that’s what your paying for, for more than two guests.

    Location was great for Santa Monica pier & shops, restaurants were close by & enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like the water pressure in the shower.

    Great location. We reached all the places we wanted to visit in a reasonable time. Santa Monica gave us a resort feeling in a big city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Location is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service after 3pm despite having printed menus stating otherwise. It was ridiculous that while traveling with an infant, we couldn’t order room service and had to go outside to the pool to ask for cold dips and chips or were told to find a place nearby. If it wasn’t for Raul doing his best to accommodate our hunger while stuck at the hotel with a sleeping baby, I would rate less. He saved the day.

    Location is fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    We had an ocean view room, worth the money.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet is unreliable, take an internet cable with you if you plan to use laptop. Coffee in the morning was not refilled in the mornings. Hotel promised to fix both.

    We had an ocean view room, worth the money. Comfortable beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Location, cleanliness, staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is very expensive. Even tap water is meant not to be good to drink so you have to buy bottles for 8$ each... car park costs 50$ per night !

    Location, cleanliness, staff... pleasant place to stay at...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Love the location, the rooms are great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the "partial ocean view" rooms are better than others. Although we loved the location, we expected the facilities including the pool to be a little bit nicer.

    Love the location, the rooms are great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, very nice hotel, nice to stay at coast yet close to all the highlights around LA
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First of all, upon check-in : very nice and friendly welcome by Brittany at the front desk ! Nice rooms, nice views, great location. And easy parking (however, valet parking only at the hotel). Great place to visit Santa Monica, Venice Beach, Beverly Hills, Hollywood, LA, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt stale on arrival, we opened both doors to get a through-breeze and after half an hour it was perfect.

    Location great, room very good, wonderful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Awesome!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was high but to be expected for area .

    Location is perfect for shopping, beach/pier and awesome dining choices... Hotel was a great place for kids... my 3 year old twins loved the heated pool! Staff even provided beach buckets and coloring books with crayons at check in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Super in Santa Monico
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception area could be more cozy (carpet, more places to sit)

    Comfortable beds, great location, quiet, nice staff, nicely decorated, nice touches in reception like apples and water

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay in a great hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't close the plug in the shower so couldn't have a bath in the beautiful deep bath 😞

    Sound proof rooms were fantastic! No noise from outside resulted in the best sleep ever!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Boutique hotel with small pool and rooms but excellent staff and stylishly presented, poor value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only two issues with this hotel would be the general cost and the parking setup/cost of parking. This ended up being the most expensive Hotel stay have ever had and that includes the Savoy in London. I really am not sure that it adds up. Maybe being British we just didn't understand, but having just been staying in Vegas this looked poor value. I think that the real price needs to be more transparent on booking, and I think that the parking costs are a real issue, and not explained on check in sufficiently to understand the set up. Do not park your car at the hotel, otherwise you will need to pay the equivalent of a small car to pick it up!

    This is a stylish hotel in a great Location right overlooking the pier in Santa Monica. You really can't get a better position. The staff are generally excellent and the rooms are small but beautifully put together and presented. The position is great near restaurants, beach and bars, and everything is nicely presented including small pool and hot tub.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice but overly expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that I paid 400+ dollars while also having to pay for my breakfast and Parking. It wasn't even a room with much a a view. When I booked I thought for that kind of money it would at least have included parking or breakfast! Also charged me 20 dollar destination fee and didn't receive welcome drink or anything else that was suppose to be included.

    The bed was very comfortable. The television was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the pool would be bigger and the room as well. Not like the picture.

    The location is perfect. It is literally step away from the Santa Monica Pier. The staffs were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    A short stay messed up by hotel making a mistake with our booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite booking full ocean view rooms with two beds 11 months in advance the hotel could not honour the booking because they messed up so my daughter spent the first night sleeping on a camp bed with her feet sticking out the bottom. Then we had to change rooms after the first night. Very disappointing

    Location great and ocean view rooms very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    5.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    for the price I paid for the hotel I was not happy with the $20 charge for Internet and coffee (with a few extra bits) was not worth it and I was mandatory

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.5
    Top location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After staying for 6 nights and having a 11pm flight back to Australia, the staff could have been more accomodating with a late checkout. Instead I was charged $200 USD to stay til 6pm...

    Top location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful property. Pool was wonderful.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room to small for the money. great view but its cold so we were in the room a lot.

    Great place and close to the Pier. Don't pay for the ocean view the room was really small for $400+.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    This Hotel is right across the beach with amazing food & pool.We have stay their with friends & it w
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This Hotel is right across the beach with amazing food & pool.We have stay their with friends & it was such an easy access to Santa Monica( just a 5 min walk).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    4.6
    Price does not match the services
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room there was no hot water in the morning! In the evening from the faucet flowed only hot water that my wife seared hand To our requests to bring slippers replied that they ended Very expensive Parking $46

    Location good!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.6
    Hotel was close to everything .. Will be back in the future!
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t dissatisfied with anything except the price for parking but I understand that’s what hotels do on the west coast.. it was just expensive!

    Very clean and comfy place to stay.. love the openness of the windows and doors to let natural light in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    Great Family Holiday in an idyllic location.
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of valet was excessive. Not given option at Check In to self park.

    Location could not be better with the Pier across the road and proximity to Restaurants and Shopping

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Perfect boutique hotel right on the beach and close to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - it was a beautiful hotel

    Everything was great - special thanks to Randal who helped us with our luggage and gave great directions for places to eat and shop. The internet was slow and when we asked at the desk they restarted the router and it worked great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.7
    Very clean and close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small. Felt they are understaffed at reception

    Very clean and close to the beach. Soft colmfortable beds. The valet parking was excellent and after reading reviews thought we would try to find cheaper but I’m the end was compareable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    6.7
    This hotel did not meet my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every amenity was closed, which the hotel clearly anticipated but didn’t tell anyone before booking. We booked this hotel for the heated pool and it was closed the entire time. The room service was also closed. We essentially paid $400 a night for a bed. Totally unacceptable.

    The bed is comfortable. It is in close proximity to everything you would want in Santa Monica.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Shore hotEl Santa Monica
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One frosted window away from bed area allows light through whole room so if you need a dark room to sleep you will have issues

    Staff were friendly and informed location across road from pier and proximity to good restaurants and shopping was ideal

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    Everything went perfect and the service was exceptional by the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My view wasn’t the best but I could see the Ocean. I really enjoyed my stay and the food was excellent

    The front desk accommodated in my booking and extending my stay matching the price which I greatly appreciate. Also, I requested a refrigerator and it was delivered in minutes. Also the cleanest of the room and shower area was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel, right by the pier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room service food is mediocre at best. Stay away from the lava-cake, it is appalling. Parking is only valet, and is quite expensive.

    Very nice hotel, right by the pier.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    The location of the property to Santa Monica Beach and Pier...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the property to Santa Monica Beach and Pier was incredible. The hotel had a great contemporary feel. Additionally, you are surrounded by great shopping and restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    5.0
    Not a hotel I would stay at again nor recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Way overpriced for the facilities and the services. Too many extra charges. Pool and surrounding area very small and service at pool was very poor. Small rooms.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: