Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Shoreham Hotel 4 stars

33 West 55th Street, New York, NY 10019, USA

#350 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1490 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Paid WiFi

    3.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    No fridge in room meant could not have a cold drink or tea/coffee. Really expected this as a bare minimum for the price of room. TV was small and old but serviceable.

    Great location, perfect for tourists wanting to access key NY landmarks. Helpful staff and comfy beds, clean rooms and good aircon. Very quiet despite central location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is really small and I believe Wi-Fi should be free in rooms too, not only in public areas.

    Staff is really polite and ready to help you and solve any problems you may have. Queen Suite with one bedroom is a really large room despite the small bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was not comfortable. TV was snowing - picture not clear. AC would only cool to 74 degrees. Padded walls were extremely dirty. Carpeting and desk chair were grimy. Room is in need of major renovation

    Location was good. Shower was good. Towels good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for Wifi to use it. The hotel takes a security deposit off your card of $50 a night but refundable. We only got one set of shampoos and soaps during our 5 night stay. Check out was at 11 think too early.

    Very good location in New York, rooms are very basic but that is expected. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Air conditioning was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Photo on booking.com that looks like shared terrace does not exist (aparantly is part of one of the rooms). Very basic place; felt like being in a time warp in terms of service, IT and facilities; no bar fridge or coffee-making facilities; patchy internet even when paying the extra $15/ day.

    Walking distance from Central Park and Times Square

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small dark rooms, no opening windows, air-conditioning temperamental. Make-up stolen from room. Bathroom very small. Poor quality picture on TV screen. No tea and coffee making facilties

    The location is great close to Central Park!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom design in bedroom. No wifi in bedrom, only in reception. Price. Problem with booking, breakfast included in deal but reception did not know this. This caused confusion and loss of precious time.

    Business centre. Bed was comfortable. Location was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was acting weird. Too much humidity inside the room. The breakfast was inacceptable. Poor WiFi.

    Great location. 15 minutes walk from times square but still not a noisy street. Daily cleaning and change of towers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to change rooms due to an issue with AV. We had to move our bags ourselves, using the luggage trolley. Porter did not attempt to help, not sure if this was due to fact that we did not tip him enough when he brought our bags up on Day 1. Not sure how tipping works, but I thought $1 per bag should be ok ?? Only issue with this porter, other ones were fine.

    Excellent location for Central Park, 5th Ave, Times Sq. Comfy beds. Staff friendly & helpful. Try get room up on 9th or 10th floor as it can be noisy at night time. Be aware, bar closes at 10pm if you are looking for a nightcap. We didn't eat in restaurant so cannot comment on food. Overall, good experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I have to complain about something it would be the small bathroom ;-)

    For New York it’s a perfect location and many things can be reached by foot. Hotel is pretty good for what you pay, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room was a shocker. Airco unit extremely loud, could hear neighbouring rooms flushing their toilet, taps running, complained so our next room was quite ok.

    Location was good, reception staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor upkeep (worn, dirty); poor air quality (from carpet, wall coverings, draperies), moldy refrigerator. Ineffective staff. No bathroom counter space. No in-room or lobby coffee. Towels, like overall hotel, has seen better days. Real disappointment.

    Location suited trip purpose. Nice acting staff. Allowed us to change rooms (same type) at no charge. In-room safe. Shower had good water pressure and consistent temp. Nice sheets.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably our fault but we should have complained about the double bed as it was well passed it’s sell by date as it dipped in the middle and wasn’t mega comfy,However we were so exhausted every day from walking that we just flopped & fell asleep straight away so it didn’t really present a problem. Also bizarrely there wasn’t tea/coffee making facilities in the room & WiFi was only free in lobby but hey ho!!!

    The staff were amazing, very friendly, helpful, your quintessential American, outgoing, your welcome & have a nice day!!!!!!! The location of the hotel was perfect, 2 mins from 5th Ave, 15 mins from Time Square, 5 mins from Subway, what more can you ask for & our room was very quiet, ask for room 820!! On 8th floor. Good shower & air con as it was very hot outside. Would definitely stay there again when we return to the Big Apple!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free WiFi in your rooms.

    The staff were ever so friendly and accommodating to ensure we had a great stay. The first night we couldn’t sleep due to the noise from the work being done on the road outside. The hotel kindly moved us to a different room the next day, which was a lot bigger, very spacious and a lot quieter at night. Couldn’t thank them enough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small, and old - but I think it's part of the Manhattan story. AC does not work at all, if yes it sounds like a rocket launching - we were lucky the weather was calm so we just turned it off. Double bed in the standard room is rather for 2 children.

    Excellent location, all Manhattan in walking proximity. Very good breakfast, it was worth to wait for it. Very friendly and helpful staff. Suite quite ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payment policies (hotel refused to accept my registered card on arrival, despite charging the first night and bar drinks throughout our stay to this) and staff proved awkward numerous times in dealing with this issue

    Very welcoming, spacious room, comfortable living and clean - cleaners did a fantastic job!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area was great, felt really at ease and safe. Great location for walking/ open top bus. We’re able to leave luggage on the last day which was a massive help. No complaints at all here and would happily return

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointing for a 4star hotel: - no ironing machine, nor any complimentary coffees or teas; - no mini fridge; - the room wasn’t the cleanest, there were traces of dust everywhere; - the bathroom sink was too small, very uncomfortable; - the air con system wasn’t very user friendly, and it made a lot of noise and a strange smell. The overall feeling of our room was that it was cheap, unkept and frankly just old looking - so basically nothing like what you see in the pictures.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-fi is to be paid in the rooms? also breakfast is very scarce and at the reception upon check-in we were not informed about our breakfast deal and all.

    Amazing location! Good price for NY

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no fridge in the room although previously advertised online. There is lots of space in the room yet very little wardrobe space, more storage space is needed. Outside is a very noisy machine I think it’s an extractor fan, the windows need to be sound proofed. Not good if you’re a light sleeper the noise will keep you awake, also lots of noise from the elevator.

    Excellent location, large room (409), comfortable beds, very clean, fresh towels every day, Bose speaker in the room, air con. Bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Room size and bed different than pics 2. Charge for storing packages even small ones which is against what their webpage says 3. Super slow service and zero customer service 4. Hotel was not full yet the rooms they assign for promotions are not even Standard Android has no Windows. 5. Price at checkout varies to what os shown in Booking.com pace 6. Staff lost a package and were dismissing the fact saying they did not know what to do

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Provision of free bar refrigerator and WiFi in the room .

    Great customer service, in particular evening reception manager and staff. Central location, with access to restaurants, Museum of Modern Art and shops. Good housekeeping.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were really bad - that impacted my sleep. The room was small but ok for the brief time I was in the room.

    The omelette I had for my breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING!! I love the place!

    The night desk person, who has been there twice when I've stayed, Dany, is AWESOME!!! He is so cheerful and so happy to see you, even when it's 1:00AM. Anything you need he will take care of. He is a definite asset to The Shoreham Hotel. It's in a perfect location, walking distance to many things to do. Not to mention the great room service and the Five Guys right next door!!! I love this hotel and I will ALWAYS stay here!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Minibar fridge lacking in the room. Very small sink A/C can be very cold, which is good. But the setup is uncomfortable Picture quality from the TV (reception) looks from the 80´s

    The location is very good, if you plan to be next to 5th Av-Time Square. Good shower Good size bedroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy aircos in the room and noisy 'machines' just outside the bedroom window. The sofa bed is miserable to sleep in. Why isn't WiFi included in the price?

    The location is very good.Very helpful staff.Spacious room (PH).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction works nearby annoyed my wife a little. A small fridge, tea and coffee in the room would have been favourable.

    The staff were excellent. Most helpful and accomodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/C was very noise, even when turned off. Wifi is ridiculously expensive. Toilet a bit small.

    Location is great next to Central Park, next the subway and 5th Avenue. Walking distance from many places. Beds are really comfy. The shower was very nice and impressive pressure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite annoying that there was no WiFi in the room unless you wanted to pay $15 a day. Overall we found the hotel to be quite pricey $99 for early check in and the breakfast was a little overpriced especially for room service as our coffee turned up cold.

    We loved how close it was to Central Park and Times Square. The room was comfy and roomy and the shower was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    small rooms, no view just buildings, maybe because this is New York. First room we were provided was way too small for a couple who is going to stay nearly 10 days, fortunately staff helped us and put us in a little bigger room but again it was still small but managable.

    Location, staff! They were all very helpful and kind, thank you guys!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fan wasn't working in the bathroom so it was pretty humid in there. Parking was not clear so we parked in a different lot.

    The size of the room and the beds were awesome! The guy at our check-in was incredibly friendly and welcoming. Great area as well!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi free only at reception area. Breakfast not included and costs $20 I decided to go to Dunkin Donuts next door...

    I missed my Delta connection in JFK and found myself with no luggage at 1 am looking for a hotel in NYC for that same night. I found this hotel as suitable because it could still accept reservations for this night. When I got there they didn’t receive the reservation from Booking.com - probably a problem with Booking and not the hotel. In any case they booked me at the same price and even gave me a toothbrush... The room was better than I expected, and I didn’t expect much. No view from the window but location iwas good and it was clean and comfortable. I also asked for a late checkout and got 13:00 instead of 12:00. Not so bad.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was great. The location of the hotel is amazing: near subway lines, Central Park and a lot of attractions. We didn't had any problem with noise or bedroom maintenance! Also, the hotel gave us an upgrate without any additional charge!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have liked some gluten free muesli or bread for breakfast. I would have liked to open the windows of the bedroom.

    The staff is incredibly kind and efficient, specially Gina and her manager Daniel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    i think 14 dollars for the internet in the room is to much! the mattress is a bit soft, but I slept well. dont have fridge in the room.

    the hotel is excelent for the price, the staff is outstanding. clean! bathroom is good also, water hot and pressure. I use the transfer betwin JFK and the Shoreham hotel, it was excelent, great american car, nice driver, great, great, great, for only 70 dollars, basic the same that pay for a cab!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The heater was stuck on high for 2 days, then turned off completely and a small oil heater brought into room for remainder of stay. A new room was not made available for us to look at during a time that suited. 1 elevator did not work to our level for 3 days, Staff outside in alley way smoking at 0730 every morning smell went through our room. Reception did nothing about it and did not refund us for x2 sweaty nights of uncontrollable heat. Hotel engineer advised that half of the hotel has the same heating issues.

    location is good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We changed rooms because workers were re-pointing the brick outside our window the first morning. The bed in the second room was softer and better than the bed in the first room. They advertise pillow-top beds, but maybe not all of the beds have been updated? The rooms are very nicely designed, but showing signs of wear. Given the location and the price and the well-designed if a bit worn facility, I would stay there again for sure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI was spotty and inconsistent. If I was not traveling for business, my score would have probably been higher since this is a must for me when I travel for work.

    Nice accommodations, in close proximity to Central Park and Subway.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room, very drab and dark, one window where no light could come in. Carpet and furniture was cheap. The bed seemed to be starting to sink. There were makeshift fabric coverings on the larger furniture. The hallway was unfinished and needed a fresh coat of paint. I couldn't believe I was staying in a junior suite.

    The location, the outside appearance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we a window view to the street and the heat was a little sporadic and hard to control.

    Very close to subways, to Central Park, and the room was a decent size for New York, and the bathroom was really nice with a jet tub and separate shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a queen “suite” .. no mini bar No coffee maker Absolutely no view of city ... had view of back of an apartment building .. one room with wall separating bedroom, from “living room “you are not able to control the room temp. From inside your room. Our room temp was 90 degrees at (5am) and again at (7am)and had to call down twice. Toilet ran off and on all night and heater knocked through out the night.asked to speak to a supervisor upon checkout but he/she wasn’t there. Left email but am certain we won’t hear back. We do NOT recommend nor will EVER stay there again. Worst place ever!

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is a bit small and facilities aren’t nothing special, but still clean and comfortable.

    Staff is very kind and helpful and the location couldn’t be better. Great value!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air in the room, very stuffy and for us impossible to stay yn there xcept for sleeping.The telephone didn't seem to work even after the technician promptly came to fix it.

    The staff, the location, the convenience of the room;the quality of the bed, the shower, the quiet albeit being in the midst of a lively neighborhood.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid WiFi was very slow in my room and very expensive. Some receptionists weren’t very friendly. Room service too expensive for the quality of the food.

    Comfy clean rooms. Amazing location. Nice gym. Most of the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    About an hour after retiring, around 1 am, I woke up freezing and realized there was no way to adjust the preset thermostat in the room. Eventually, I slept with my down coat over me. When I mentioned my discomfort to the young lady on the checkout desk the next morning, she told me I should have called room service to come adjust the heat. So if you stay here, I recommend doing that BEFORE you put on your pajamas and climb into bed.

    Midtown location is terrific and the price was very reasonable. Hotel is updated and room was very well equipped, sleek and hard-edged. Not much upholstery that could harbor bedbugs. Unfortunately, that meant a light blanket on the bed and no extra blanket in the cupboard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We didn't like the fact that you had to pay for wifi.

    The bed was very comfortable, good storage closet and the bathroom was nice and big. The room itself wasn't very big but we were out most of the time. It was kept clean but like all the hotels I've stayed in, in the US, nobody vacuums the floors. The staff were very friendly and helpful and it's in a great location. We never had breakfast so cannot comment.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would like to have been able to adjust the heat more. It was just a tad warm but still ok.

    Loved having the breakfasts included and the room service!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It doesn’t stand out when you walk on the street, so might prove hard to find entrance, hope they improve that!

    Location is great, rooms are cozy! The staff was extremely polite and friendly, helping all along!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The situation of this room made it far too noisy at night interrrupting our sleep for the night. Getting up the next day for our business meeting we felt tired and irritable.

    Beds were comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pictures of the property are misleading. Hotel was very dim and dingy. Looked NOTHING like the photos. Room was dirty and much smaller than indicated. Will not stay here again.

    Location and staff were great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in room 607 2 bed suite Room *had to pay a $50 dollars a night for my 7 nights stay so $350 was on hold!!! *massive DIP in the middle of the bed!! *Heating was dodgy had to call maintainace twice then I just gave up and used the blow dryer. *no free WiFi in the rooms only Lobby area *most staff had unpleasant faces. And at the end when I ordered transport service and paid with a different card!! When I collected my bill they added it on again which thanks to Danny it was corrected. So be careful when checking out!

    *The cleaner did a great job! *power shower was amazing *ice machine in the lobby was a life saver. *music playing in the lift *location. The fact that I wasn’t happy when I first arrived but got offered free WiFi🙌🏾

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service upon arrival Bath jacuzzi wasn’t working No towels or sheets when arrived Staff were not great at giving us directions

    Bed was comfy, well situated

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel only has a small cafeteria but they're short on staff and the kitchen is really slow. I stayed there on a busy week (New Year's) and they only had one guy working the tables. Management needs to pay more attention to the cafeteria service and breakfast should ALWAYS BE INCLUDED.

    The hotel's location is simply PERFECT. Most of the staff is kind and helpfull and the Jr.suite is super spacey.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Excellent hotel. Great location just off 5th Avenue and close to all major activities in Midtown. Would definitely recommend to someone who was looking for a central location on a first time visit to New York.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were unfriendly! The rooms and the hotel were dirty and neglected. It was a disappointment for us that the hotel has been co-operated with booking.com

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff needs some education on billing. They charged my credit card twice. The second charge is nearly twice the original price. They told me that it was for authorization only but it blocked my credit card usage and they could not release it even after 1 week. Still waiting for them to release the incorrect amount of charge.

    Location is very good. Price is reasonable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst bed, my back was killing me everyday for the mattress was horrible. Couldn’t sleep at all. And the tv had really bad service. Also, their wi-fi is too expensive. 15 bucks a day... thats ridiculous!

    Location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Missed not having tea and coffee facilities in the room, however, we were told that this is normal in New York!

    The Hotel was in an excellent location for us. The room was ideal for travelling with a young adult child, as we had two separate bedrooms and a small settee area too. Staff were always helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They made us pay extra for the mini fridge and the was no complementary free wifi in the room.

    The room was spacious and really good for a party of three.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could've done with a couple of hooks to hang your coats on when wet. Didn't want to hang in the wardrobe with the clean clothes.

    The beds were big and comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centrally located hotel. Easy to get to. Very helpful staff, responded quickly to questions or issues. Rooms cleaned daily to high standard. Room had all basic necessities and gym well kitted out. Kindly upgraded for my birthday! Overall great stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't know about the security payment of 100 dollars per night. Was returned but kept for duration of stay. Would have preferred wifi in bedroom.

    Location of hotel was excellent. All staff were extremely pleasant to deal with. Couldn't do enough for you once we had checked in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we went to check out, we were told it would take 10 minutes to bring down our car. It took almost an hour. It looks like the clerk at the desk who checked us out never gave our parking ticket to the person who gets the cars. We were in a hurry, so it was a bummer to stand around for almost an hour.

    Great location. Staff at check in were very accommodating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No way this is a four star hotel. We booked a junior suite for 3 perople but I had to sleep on the sofa (not a bed! a sofa!). The heating did not work properly since the beginning of our stay, and we had to ask several times for a portable heating (every day they would promise to fix the heating but this never happened). Vending machines were broken (we stayed 5 days..). Jacuzzi broken.

    Fantastic position and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed that my room wasn't ready when I returned to finish checking in. I arrived around 1pm and was told the room wasn't ready yet, which was understandable since check in isn't until 3pm. I was told to return at 3pm to get my key. I checked my luggage and took a stroll around Central Park. I returned at 3pm and was told the room was still not ready. I stood in the lobby waiting for an additional 40 minutes. What was more frustrating is that they knew I was there earlier, why wouldn't they have asked housekeeping to clean that room knowing I would be returning soon? I watched as one guest after another checked in, got their key card and went up to settle in. I had to check in twice with the front desk staff on the progress of my room because the 3 people behind the desk didn't offer me any updates on the status of my room and I was afraid they had just forgotten about me. They were all pleasant but I didn't feel like I was a priority and that was a bit disappointing. It also would have been nice to have a coffee maker in the room for us early risers.

    I loved the location. So close to Central Park and Rockefeller Center. Good sized rooms for New York City. Clean property and friendly staff. Comfy beds and good amount of storage space for clothing. Hallways always smelled clean, and the rooms were very quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i made my reservations, I asked to not be by the elevator and was put in a room where the elevator was basically my headboard. The cables banged against wall. Then we asked to be moved. Had to share a bed. No credit was given for this. The staff was very nice about helping.

    The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was great too!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room with a HUGE comfy bed, staff as expected in the US couldnt help enough they were great when needed, location was perfect, Inbetween Central Park & Times Square, perfect break away, will be back!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed and pillow. Great bathroom facilities. Great location for time square, Central Park, all within walking distance with tube and bus’s at street corner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    My only complaint is the Wi-Fi. It's a shame that it isn't included in the price and is quite expensive at $15 per day. We tried to get paid Wi-Fi in our room but it wouldn't work. However, to make up for this the staff did give us free breakfast which was appreciated.

    Great location. Walking distance to subways, Times Square, Rockerfella, Central Park and many more attractions. Rooms are spacious and bed very comfortable. Staff were friendly and always willing to help. Spacious bathrooms with great water pressure.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The concierge were not very helpful and confusing. The WIFI connection continually dropped out and didn't work, when assistance was required the issue was still not corrected. As an international traveller we rely a lot on wifi and this was a real let down. We were also incorrectly charged for our stay and I have had to go through a tedious process to get my money back!

    The location of the hotel was amazing. Staff at front desk were extremely friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hotel restaurant was expensive, low quality and slow service. the hotel was very worn since we were there ten years ago. the mattress was old and needed to be replaced as did the carpet. It was slimey. the window looked into a decrepit back alley I wouldn't stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    concierge not so helpful and couldn't speak english. Air conditioners were very loud and paying for the slowest internet

    location location location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs a good cleaning and a coat of paint in halls to freshen up. The lobby and halls look tired.

    Location, location-so central! The hotel rooms are roomy for nyc, great natural light, beds comfy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little on the small side but we spent most of our time out exploring the city. The bathroom was large but the switch between the tap and the shower head wasn't working properly which meant that both were running at the same time. Many of the TV channels were fuzzy/poor reception.

    Staff were friendly and the location was very convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff! Check in and parking car was quick and easy. We were early for check in so they held our bags until we returned from sightseeing. We will be back again.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Shoreham Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: