Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel 4 stars

450 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102, USA

#110 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1504 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    4.6
    Sir Francis wouldn’t be happy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee/tea facilities in the room, old and desparate need of updating. They charge top dollar purely based on their location but nothing else. You need to wait an age for the ancient lifts. Hotel lacked atmosphere and staff felt like they were just doing their job.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Pet friendly no additional cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like. Everything is to like.. perfect location Pet Stay free. Love love in the heart of San Francisco night Life the best...

    Pet friendly no additional cost

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    4.6
    Awful, terrible, noisy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A terrible hotel. Don’t be convinced by the claims of “charm and character”. The property and facilities are far below what is expected from a 4 star hotel. The room we had was pokey and the bathroom so small you had to dry yourself outside. No tea and coffee facilities, noisy, elevators out of action , just a bad experience all around.

    The location is the only thing going for this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    3.8
    Awful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was awful small smelly bathroom was tiny you could have a bath wash you teeth and go to the toilet in one go The hole hotel was tired and needs a complete overall The corridors were so tired the doors were all noisy when closing you could hear the next door rooms so easy The location maybe be good but at £269 a night look elsewhere for a better quality hotel.

    Not a lot I was so disappointed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Was very convenient to Chinatown, and transportation for sight seeing and the ATT Ball Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of parking is high, $100 a day for hotel guests. Elevators are very slow and not all the cars were working. Morning coffee in the lobby ran out by 8 a.m. Saturday morning.

    The rooms are quiet and beds comfortable. A nice feature was to have a coffeemaker and coffee brought up to our room for that first cup of coffee in the morning. The happy hour has good wine and the foriccia bread and the best I have had. Check-in was very fast and the staff very helpful with directions to the sights and using the transit system.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced and run-down. Kimpton needs to invest in this classic property. They obviously have not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kimpton lost the booking, room was tiny, only 3 elevators working and very slow service, meaning ridiculous waits in a 21 story building, clueless doorman.

    Lovely old building with elegant lobby and central location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room. Hotel is a throwback to the cheap 90's hotels that were fully stocked to increase revenues: water, nuts, wine, and more. And then of course is the pathetic "RESORT FEES" of $29. It is apparently for internet and $10 off a restaurant where you have to first spend a much larger amount. All in all: BAD VALUE FOR THE MONEY in every way.

    Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    This is one of the hotels you talk about when explaining...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This is one of the hotels you talk about when explaining your vacation. It was simply amazing. From the time you pulled up the hotel until the time he checked out everything was a perfect 10.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Very good place for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and the bathroom were small. There was not a refrigerator or coffee maker. The elevators were slow and we had to wait quite a while to get in.

    Great location, cable car stops at the door, excellent restaurants and shops in the area. Nice room and comfortable bed. Polite and knowledgeable staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall the staff were great especially Eddie the doorman he...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was good and staff were pleasant however the service at Scalas cafe was slow and lacked attentiveness.

    Overall the staff were great especially Eddie the doorman he was great ! He was very informative of transportation needs and just all around welcoming !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Extremely comfortable hotel. I would definitely stay there again.
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was smaller than I expected for that price. Considering it's San Francisco, it was still very nice.

    Very professional, very attentive and friendly staff. The Wine hour was wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.7
    Hotel is very convenient to most things and very close to the Union Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms were very small not enough vanity space to put your toiletries on. We did however get a room with a view when we asked for a bigger bathroom when we returned for our second part of our visit. The room was much bigger and lighter which we appreciated. The lifts are extremely slow due to the age of the building.

    The building was very historical but the foyer was quite cold especially when the wind came through the doors.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    5.4
    The location is exactly what I needed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevators took a very long time. Wifi was an extra charge. Room service closes early on Saturday evening and didn't start early on Sunday morning. For the cost of the room I was pretty disappointed.

    The location is exactly what I needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.8
    The bed was comfortable and location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How old the hotel was, the bathroom was small and dingy. The lifts were awful and slow, the extra taxes & charges added to our hotel bill. Then paid cash to settle bill and amount was taken off credit card and waited a week for refund and it was £120 short and it’s still not been refunded. Worst hotel I’ve stayed in.

    The bed was comfortable and location was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    The best of San Francisco!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It was great!

    Everything!!! The staff was friendly and helpful, the hotel was beautiful and clean, the location is AWESOME - close to everything, and the Starlight Room is phenomenal!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.0
    expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    broken windows old bathroom with a plastic wc cover! noisy woken up at 5 am by the delivery of the hotel's invoice very expensive for what you get

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Overpriced for what you don’t get
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No literature in room re activities in San Diego. Beds are narrow for 2 adults. No communication as to hotel facilities. Only way to find out is ask front desk. I don’t think it was value for money.

    Location. Nice and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely old historic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If heading out between 8-9 in the morning allow a bit more time for the elevators. They are slow but in keeping with the era of the hotel.

    Lovely old historic hotel. Bed & pillows really comfortable. Happy hour drinks a bonus. We were upgraded to a corner room. Had a great view over Union Square.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    I enjoyed this hotel and it was located in a prime area. Excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathrooms are a tad small but that is expected based on the historical layout of the building. Not sure what you can do about that. I didn't like the slow closing doors of the elevators but I learned to live with it.

    I loved my view from my room because I happened to be on the 18th floor. It was nice waking up and looking out over part of the city. The room has an elegant feel which I believe has been updated. I like the wine display even though I am not really a drinker, it was a nice touch to the atmosphere of the room. The iconic doorman is great. Eddie is the one I talked with most of the time and he is great for the company. He is a wealth of information and is really a helpful guide to getting you where you want to go.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    4.6
    I will never go back, what a jip.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The guy dressed up in the front of the hotel did not offer to help my wife or myself with your bags. We paid 720.00 for one night and you can't help with our bags? The girl that checked us in was super rude acted like she hated her job. The rooms were old and beat up, the shower looked dirty but maybe the tile was just old. The water presser sucked and you could not get it cool, it was hot all the time (so weird) When I finally got the temp right I had to stand ageist the tile to get close enough to get under the water. The door to the bathroom would not close, the sink faucets leaked. If you stand way back and look at it, it looks ok but when you get in the room it felt like I had been tricked by a good photographer. This was a $150 room at best, I will never go back and this was a total rip off in my opinion.

    The room was big and it was mostly clean. there was ONE guy behind the desk that smiled and cracked a joke.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    A generally enjoyable stay, with a few disappointments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sir Francis Drake Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The suite we had was rather tired and the bathrooms were in need of modernisation. Also the room was underneath a penthouse nightclub which was very noisy on the Friday night. The Hotel did offer to reduce the room rate for that one night by 50%, which was a nice gesture but had I of known about the noise issue, I wouldn't have booked this room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    We love San Francisco and the location of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room was large there was a very small bathroom and the vanity had no counter space. We could have used more drawers for clothe storage as well.

    The location is wonderful and the bed was so comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    In the center of SF
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. It has not been mentioned on Booking.com but if you arrive by car you should expect ~$70/day for parking. With a hotel tax and city tax you will "arrive" to ~$100 "overhead" to your room price. Well, in the most progressive city in the US, the progress doesn't come for free ... . 2. Bathroom a bit small. 3. Not so safe outside late evening - our play ended past 10PM and there were quite a few angry and mentally unstable homeless people on the walkways by the hotel and Union Square, shouting to someone invisible ... a bit spooky (especially with no patrol police visible at all, I guess locals must have just got used to it).

    1. Premium location, walking distance from Union Square, cable car, play theaters and good restaurants. 2. The view from the StarLight Room on 21st floor is priceless (not only the view - music, staff, drinks, seating area - very nice). 3. The room was very clean, nicely decorated with AC very responsive and quiet. 4. Interesting "romance kit" in the mini bar (maybe I'm behind the trend but haven't seen this in other hotels ...). 5. Bathroom very clean with fantastic organic toiletries.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    4.2
    Don't bother.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Though historic, the hotel is 'tired.' The room we were given was TINY. There was barely enough room to walk around the bed. There was no place to put luggage. The bathroom was the size of a closet and there was no room to put toiletries. We asked for a larger room and were told that since it was an historic property, they weren't allowed to renovate further--and there were no other rooms available. We left the property the next morning and checked into another hotel.

    The location is good--Union Square. There is a great old diner, Sears, across the street!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.3
    Good overall with exception of the discomfort with guests smoking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People were smoking pot on our floor....we complained the room...elavator and floor were very uncomfortable.....we complained manager acknowledged he too had experienced the problem...was unable to do anything as it would have meant they would have approach each guest on our floor and that would compromise their privacy'!

    Great staff.....very accommodating.....fantastic location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    We have stayed here a number of times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Barman in the lobby bar was rather surly & quite rude

    We have stayed here a number of times. Last time our room was dreadful but this time you redeemed yourselves & we will be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.5
    great location, nice property & friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The tariff had a facility fee $25usd per day and it wasn't clear when making the booking. It may have been in the fine print but who reads fine print. I'm more annoyed with bookings.com for not making it very clear. 3 day stay X $25 was a big surprise

    Friendly staff, good breakfasts, they even made real tea, not teabags) which was awesome. Room was comfortable and clean. Great location for shopping

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.1
    restaurant had delicious dinners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    décor was updated, but it is obviously a really old hotel. closet was larger than the bathroom

    restaurant had delicious dinners. no need to leave at night

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Due to my own mistake - I booked a hotel room for a wrong date... when checking in the lady at reception helped me amazingly! She offered me a room for a super good rate and included complementary WiFi... thanks a million for this greate service!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    4.6
    Only ,that you at Union Sq.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel need renovation-upgrade !!! I never seen in my life such old used hotel!!! FIFT never works.Ist better to use stairs and walk....up to 20 floors.Rooms looks in UK Imperial time in 17 century.Very used!! The cersmics in the batroom looks like in military camp in 2nd w2. The bad was clean! Great.🖒Noise from music grom 21 floor grom bar. Noise from elevators when works, noise from aircontidioners units from outside areas.No cofee makers at room.! Crazy price for such services.Never more.

    Only ,that you at Union Sq.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel with comfy rooms and location is excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bar in lobby closed at 10 monday night?? Scala's too.... Came down to lobby at 9am for coffee...had coffee cup in my hand and staff said no more coffee but then right in front of me started pouring out the cream / milk and coffee still in containers??? what a waste! 2 people in front of us got starbucks cards and nothing for us.

    Comfy bed .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.0
    Average accomodation in a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The compulsory facilitation fee of US$25 per day for morning coffee and evening wine nights was unwelcome. Coffee should be part of the room charges (as it is at any other hotel) and someone who doesn't drink wine shouldn't have to pay for other people to drink it. Waiting for elevators was excessive at times.

    The location was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower: only cold or hot water, no way tuning to acceptable temp. Small room: not a problem coming from Europe. But a problem when paying high price. In general, most features are ok but at such outrageous price this is not good. I stayed during JPM, therefore I know the cost of accommodation on union sq during that week. However next year will not choose this hotel. Not recommended as business hotel.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.3
    Dia Sappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small. The bathroom is about the size of a small closet. My biggest gripe involves the elevators. I was on the 8th floor. On average, I'd say the wait for an elevator down to the lobby was 4 or 5 minutes. Unacceptable. Also, once you arrive, you are informed of additional fees that are not included in the price you pay through booking.com. One of the fees is a $22 a day 'facilities' fee. To me, that is very cheesy. On prinv iple, for this alone, I will not be staying here again.

    The location was great. The staff was personable and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, friendly staff, well worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t expect tea making facilities in your room, we did get some after asking.

    Old Hotel, excellent location, friendly staff. Plenty of places to eat nearby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.1
    Terrific location, great access to Union Square - room size not like the images provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The size of the room. Having booked a Historic Queen Room, I came in with the expectation that the room itself would be either average or slightly above average in size. In reality, the room was extremely small, which made it extremely hard to move throughout the room with luggage, while the bathroom was extremely small, with no draw space whatsoever for toiletries or other belongings.

    Terrific location with walking access to major shopping destinations and Union Square. Direct access to the cable car route to Fisherman's Wharf. Beautiful reception area and historic feel to the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in a wonderful location for a really great rate!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a small garbage can under the desk for miscellaneous trash, candy wrappers, etc. The positioning of the TV was awkward in relation to the bed, I was not able to read the complete guide due to the inset angle.

    I love that the hotel was right in the center of everything we wanted to visit in San Francisco! The interior was beautiful, and the staff was always helpful. The bistro's linguine was very delicious!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.9
    Always enjoy visiting SF. First stay in the Drake and, all-in-all, would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was uncomfortable. I noticed you were moving a lot of new mattresses in. Please start in Room 1005. I think the first Queen Bed when you enter the room has broken springs. The hotel maid cleaning room 1005 needs to be sacked. Outwardly unfriendly and totally the opposite of the rest of your staff.

    Amenities very good and location is wonderful. Welcome wine hour is great bonus and concierge was very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Old world hotel with modern conveniences and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historic hotel with a quality old world feel, but with all the mod cons you would expect. Very convenient location, great bar and restaurant, helpful staff. We especially loved the daily free (included as part of their compulsory although good value daily room surcharge) morning coffee (7-9) and free wine (5-6) which the hotel puts on for all guests. It creates a very friendly atmosphere and brings everyone together daily as a melting pot of people, stories and cultures. It gave the hotel heart.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    The bed was very comfy and there's free wine in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You cant mix the water in the shower...it's either way too hot or freezing cold...the bathroom was a bit small but that's not a problem...

    The bed was very comfy and there's free wine in the lobby everyday from 5 to 6 p.m.😊

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    Lovely and inviting Lobby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are exceptionally small, despite the quaintness of them. However the bathrooms and especially the toilet are even smaller !! Noisy ....

    Lovely and inviting Lobby

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.3
    It was fine but won’t a tay then her work again.
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures looked better and the room wasn’t very nice smelled, someone hand dogs that sounded like coyotes next to are room barking all night. Asked to changed room and upgrade wouldn’t let me, and room service took a hour and a half and was gross food. Won’t stay there again.

    The location was perfect, I️n the heart of the city and the staff was lovely

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location with clean and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar extremely expensive. Lifts slow.

    Clean rooms. Lovely view. Fridge in room. Comfortable bed. Temperature of room perfect. Close to everything and all kinds of transport.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.4
    Location great, wouldn’t stay here again though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms tiny Bathroom ridiculously tiny Poor water pressure in shower & basin Bath filled with water when showering and drained slowly TV was parallel to bed, very hard to watch Lifts slow and unsafe with more than 10 ppl Front desk took $100 per night as deposit on top of full amount of stay. This is to be returned ‘within a few days’

    Great location Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    6.7
    Ok but would choose another hotel next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smallest room I ever stayed in. Light switch in bathroom had mind of its own. Tv was on side of bed and difficult to watch. Lifts were very slow.

    Position was great. Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    4.2
    The architecture was great and the room was nice but small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was cold and slow. The wait for elevators was rediculous. There was always a line of people waiting for the elevator. The top floor bar didn’t help.

    The architecture was great and the room was nice but small

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.1
    Location, location with historic charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms a bit small, especially the bathrooms. Only real problem is the elevator wait. Too few elevators for the size of the hotel.

    Nice historic hotel in an excellent location. Just off Union Square, near BART station, shopping. Staff is friendly, doormen dressed in period outfits and always helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.7
    Couldn’t get a live person on the phone to find out where to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get a live person on the phone to find out where to drop the car - lots of one way streets in the area and only one spot to approach for valet. Room was noisy with lots of traffic heard even with all doors/windows and curtains closed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    3.8
    Pre-paid for Deluxe Double Queen Room, got Standard Queen until I got to room and complained
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small sized Queen beds, more like double beds. Cramped bathroom. Not enough room to put toiletries on bathroom dresser, no cabinets. Toilet in cramped space an inch from the wall. More like European toilet BUT we are in America! Scala restaurant kicked my family/party of 6 from table deep inside the restaurant because they were getting ready for lunch! Breakfast was $$$. Spent more money for this hotel stay than Clift Hotel where rest of my family stayed, and I was the most inconvenienced. Hotel deducted $100 from the final bill for the first night in standard Queen Room, but woopdeedoo

    Comfortable bed and beddings.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.5
    San Francisco is a great city
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The booking process got mixed up . We were moved because our room booking had been given away. The restaurant adjoining the hotel could have been better we got very unsatisfactory meals. It was quite cold in the meeting rooms of our conference.

    Great location .The greeting , the costume, and friendliness and helpfulness of the doormen provided a welcoming service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    3.8
    Was not a very enjoyable weekend in San Francisco pretty much due to the accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Like many historic property in the area the facility was old, not overly remodeled or maintained as I would have expected. The rooms were extremely small wall to wall furniture just to get the main pieces in to function. The bathroom was so small it was cramped just trying to close to door. The bathroom sink was about it, I wouldn't call it a vanity as there is virtually no space to place your toiletries on. I had to place everything out on the dresser in the bedroom which also had minimal surface area as that was where the tv sat. Even though the walls seems to be concrete, you can hear everything next door. It was loud, guest in their rooms helming and partying. 2 nights of that made the weekend not very pleasant. The yelling and partying would last way past midnight. I called guest services and it didn't seem to help much. The bed gave me a backache the next morning, I haven't had a bad hotel bed for several years.

    The location was great if you want to walk around that specific area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Great experience in an amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small and only one chair

    Amazing city to visit hotel us very central so if you’re able to you can walk most places. Plenty if cable cars and teams to ride too

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.1
    I LIKE THE OLD CLSSIC STYLE OF THE HOTEL. EVERYTHING IS FINE EXCEPT THE SECURITY ISSUES.
    • Group
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    SECURITY IS LACKING. THE SECOND TIME I HAVE STAYED AND HAD AN ISSUE WITH HOMELESS PEOPLE INSIDE THE HOTEL. THE BATHROOM IS REALLY SMALL.

    THE CONCIERGE SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT. THE STAFF ALL VERY NICE. THE ROOM WAS LARGE BECAUSE I PAID EXTRA FOR A JUNIOR SUITE. EXCELLENT LOCATION. THE STARLIGHT LOUNGE AND DOWNSTAIRS BAR HAS A REALLY NICE ATMOSPHERE.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    5.8
    Would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken elevator, broken light in room, broken catch on bathroom window so freezing cold and a tv remote that had us locked on full volume for 10 minutes before we pulled the plug.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.1
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was extremely small and poorly designed. I probably would not have stayed here if I realized how small it is. Elevators are slow.

    Location is good. The bar/lounge (Starlight room) was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    5.0
    great location , disappointing rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mistake at check in we were only given 1 room instead of 2. The rooms are very small and pokey. the pizzas at the bistro are grossly overpriced $17 for a small pizza! The "free wine" served in the reception at 5pm is horrible

    very good location, great view from bar on 21st floor , helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    Bed was cozy.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevators were partially down so getting to and from took way too long. We were almost late to dinner reservations and luggage was still not delivered to our room.

    Bed was cozy. Staff friendly, pet friendly, goid holiday decor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.8
    Not the value we thought it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    2 of 4 elevator cabs were inoperable causing extended wait time. Our bathroom only had hot water, which became scalding, even on the cold side, including toilet, weird.

    Location, complimentary cocktail

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.2
    We had a perfectly lovely time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of it’s central location, the noise from the street was a bit noisy

    They brought my son a birthday cupcake since they knew we were celebrating his birthday. Very sweet and thoughtful. The conceirage was very friendly and helpful. The door man was amazing. The social hour was very nice and relaxing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    4.6
    Comfortable bed but everything totally not worth the price!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bad attitude of the staff - who do not understand customer service

    The bed was about the only value for money about this hotel. For the amount of over $200 a night - you dont get as much as a bottle of water. Service of front office was less than below expectation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Perfect place to start the holiday season!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrific historical SF hotel. Lots of character and super friendly staff. Great views of the city on upper floors. Rooms are clean and comfortable and more quiet than most modern hotels.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice building, perfectly located, friendly staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only 4 small, slow lifts in a hotel this size meant that we were sometimes queuing for more than 10 minutes (I was on the 18th floor therefore walking not an option). Bathrooms tiny. There was a guide dog convention on which we were not informed about - added to the lift problems.

    Nice building, perfectly located, friendly staff particularly LaBann the doorman - concierge also very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    Overall a great experience for those wishing to explore and be in the heart of Union Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The single rooms are very tiny. The bathroom was in need of repair.

    The doorman was excellent - such a unique touch. The decor, chandeliers, and stairway were all breathtaking. The location is hard to beat. The trolley car swept right by, the best places to eat were super close - Sears is a must. The happy hour wine tasting (free) was an added surprise. The rooms are cozy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended for location and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff, were able to me to a better room that was available for the same cost. I appreciated the $10 coupon for breakfast each morning and the free, high quality early morning coffee in lobby

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    5.0
    not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    saw a huge cockroach in the bathroom. After left the hotel, my daughter suffered from a swollen hand with lots of pain. Doctor diagnosed it as caused by insect bites. Contacted hotel a couple of time but received no response. deeply disappointed.

    location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    -Lobby is amazing- classy old (but well kept), ornate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly great- only complaints are: -That the much played up rooftop bar was closed for a private Halloween party (sad for us but costumes coming in and out looked like a sweet party!). -Parking cost was outrageous- $65 for valet (per night!)- think there was no self-park option. -The bathroom tile was well kept and otherwise spotless room, why can't housekeeping people use bleach spray on the shower mildew? Seriously so easy to ensure a totally clean shower- it wasn't all over but some black was there. Maybe it's just me but for $250/n I expect mildew-less grout! Otherwise not really a complaint from us but as fyi- - Not much of a view from our level but that was about as was expected. - Room smaller/tight but that's a 100 year old hotel! Bathroom is TINY fyi- again typical for an old hotel but barely room to turn around esp toilet/door.

    -Lobby is amazing- classy old (but well kept), ornate lobby/lobby bar. - Room well done with new beds and furniture but in ornate old looking/glam style. - Nice toiletries in bathroom. - Doormen in costumes fun. - Location good- easy to pop on the trolley nearby to do touristy things- shopping super close. - - We walked to a fun bakery nearby for a grab and go breakfast coffee and croissants. - They have some fun old historical stuff about the place in cases if you wander around a bit (up the staircase in the lobby area). - They had a housekeeping pumpkin carving contest going on where those staying could vote. - Staff was great- we checked in early, so room wasn't ready but they let us drop bags and called us when the room was available. Everyone very friendly and in good moods- not like some where it can be obvious people hate their jobs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.3
    We arrived earlier than planned but were pleased to find...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been nice if the bedroom window could have opened - even a little bit. I understand this may not be possible on the 15th floor but some fresh air would have been nice!!!!

    We arrived earlier than planned but were pleased to find that the room was already ready - although this is by no means guaranteed! The staff were welcoming and helpful in answering questions we had about getting around San Fran. The room was clean and tidy - the mirror on the back of the bathroom door - right in front of the loo - was a little unnerving! But, other than that it was an ideal location to be based for exploring the whole of San Fran.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.0
    The hotel was nice but just a little disappointing with the rooms
    • Couple
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little disappointing on the rooms little small not as luxurious as the website didn't think the price for the hotel that we got was worth it could have stood at a Best Western for that price for a week

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.4
    No free wifi, no in room coffee/tea, no coffee...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi, no in room coffee/tea, no coffee consistently available in morning in lobby, no offers of help with luggage or doorman greeting, Room bathroom in poor condition, especially for price. No place in bathroom to store toiletries.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    It was absolutely great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed lamp had a layer of dust... that was a low point.

    Location is absolutely perfect. The decoration of the hotel makes you feel like part of San Francisco History. This place is a must.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    high cost Hotel but San Francisco is a high cost area - all in all very clean and tidy Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no coffee/tea making in rooms - even in reception only available for approx. 1 hour in the morning. High cost! Made my Wife wait for 2 hours while I dropped rental vehicle back to Airport prior allocating room.

    clean tidy rooms, friendly staff, great location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.9
    We had a very pleasant stay and would book there again if I made a return visit to SF.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant had limited menus and we found ourselves having to go to outside places to have our meals.

    The ambiance of the reception area was superb including the helpful attention we got from the staff whenever we needed assistance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    3.8
    worst
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After checking out, I was charged for an unknown charge. Since I do not speak English, I asked my family in the US to contact the hotel. Still no solution. It is the worst hotel for non-English speaking citizens.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.0
    Polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was dreadful. No fridge, was provided on request.. Very small room....and bathroom was tiny and very old.... Bit disappointed as we paid lot after taxed.

    Polite staff. Interior nice. Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    Great check-in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive but OK value. Doors/walls thin so you will definitely hear an early riser next door. Starlight room was about 90 degrees. A little pretentious.

    Great check-in. Very comfortable room. Outstanding location. Staff was great. Facility is beautiful. Walk to anywhere in Union Square area. Cable car right out front. Starbucks in the facility. WiFi was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: