Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Solaire Los Angeles 3 stars

1710 West 7th Street, Downtown Los Angeles, Los Angeles, CA 90017, USA

#240 of 352 hotels in Los Angeles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1508 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    6.3

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    3.5
    Stay here if you won't spend too much time in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The bathroom door would get stock when opening and closing. You had to push very hard to make it move. 2. The bed was so uncomfortable! My friend and I weren't able to sleep all night and we weren't sharing a bed. 3. Our room didn't have a number so we had to guess that that was our room. 4. Leaving the worse for last... we got a flying cockroach in our room!! So disgusting and scary to me!

    The hotel was close to the venue we were going to.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    3.8
    Unsatisfactory Hotel and complaint procedure with Booking.Com
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking was shambolic, and overly congested with difficult access due to incorrectly parked cars / vehicles. The swimming pool was not available due to being a building site and the passage ways in the hotel smelled of urine which was very unpleasant. Booking.Com were unaware of the standard of the hotel and have been very unhelpful with the complaints passed on. The hotel spoilt a very good experience and I will not use Booking.Com again or recommend this hotel in any way.

    The walk in shower wa the only positive I can or am willing to give.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    3.3
    Worst place i have stayed in over a decade, and i have been homeless for most of that duration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged an extra $100 deposit to stay, would of been nice to know before the choice of this stop was decided upon.

    Welcome to wait in lobby until i got extra $100 deposit that wasn't mentioned before i crossed the country to stay in this horrible establishment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    3.8
    with some perspective, you can say the room is clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is terrible, at some point I thought I was in enimem’s 8 mile movie set. No curtains so you get a lot of sun in your face. The AC was the loudest AC I have ever heard. I honestly think they use Boeing 747 engines for their ACs.

    with some perspective, you can say the room is clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area was a lttle scary for me not having been there before. Lots of rubbish in the streets. WiFi would only work outside the room. Strange odour in the lobby.

    Felt secure at the hotel, rooms were clean. Pool was clean. Included breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.8
    For the price and location, you make it work.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The AC unit was horrendous, all of the numbers were wiped off - appeared to be falling off the wall. Front Desk agent wasn't the most helpful, arrived 30 minutes before check-in and was told I had to wait. Given the wrong room key, twice.

    You can't beat the location if you need to move quickly around the sprawl that is LA. Breakfast is standard fare and well serviced, I typically grab a piece of toast before running out the door.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Good place to rest up while working at a convention over the weekend. I would here stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was pretty crammed, but they did their best to get everyone in. And I swear the people above me were wearing iron shoes and stamping around! That's why i always bring ear plugs when staying at hotels.

    Claudia at the front desk was helpful and professional. Loved the industrial- chic feel. It was clean and comfortable. Perfect for my needs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Overall a good value for the price, but would stay closer to Koreatown next time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs more parking. They allow people to double park at night, blocking others in the morning. Noisy from street noise, thin walls, and air conditioner. Relatively safe for walking to food during daylight, but wouldn't try it at night.

    Room was clean, no odors. Location easy to navigate from. Refrigerator and microwave in room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    Rooms were very cool and clean parking provided and location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this place because it had a pool and it was the last 4 days of our holiday. The pool was out of service and we were not notified of this before hand or even when checking in. We were incredibly disappointed. Very unhappy about it.

    Rooms were very cool and clean parking provided and location was okay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    2.9
    We chose this hotel for our family stay in LAX as first 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We chose this hotel for our family stay in LAX as first 2 nights of our 2 weeks trip. The location didn´t meet our expectation at all as the area was really messy and dangerous. The swimming pool was under reconstruction and unfortunately we chose the hotel because it has a swimming pool. The room was not clean, for 4 people pretty small and humid but breakfast was good. The hotel staff was friendly and the hotel has a free parking for their guests which is fine. Next time we will definitely choose some other property and other location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    4.2
    Hotel not well maintained. Swimming pool out of order. Breakfast not up to standard. Staff excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel and property was run down. Swimming pool out of order. Breakfast was included but totally under standard and bad.

    Staff was good and helpful. that made experience better. Location is good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Great great great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was not working but they are obviously making this a lovier place to stay at. I wouldnt walk around here at night but we got taxis home when dark. But this is us being careful.

    This was a lovely place clean, newly renovated and a nice breakfast. Very comfortable, clean and so very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    3.3
    The se luxe room was good enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed and dirty, the same the structure (not clean). Terrible and very poor breakfast. Waitress not kind

    The se luxe room was good enough... other not!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    3.8
    DONT BOOK!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible attitude from one receptionist, rude and unhelpful, she even had food left on her top! No pool so when we asked she claimed it broke the day before we arrived but reviews said different. Room was damp and smelly. Breakfast room was tiny.

    Good location to attractions and metro. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved my stay at Hotel Solaire. The staff are friendly, the breakfast is okay and more importantly, the rooms are spacious and clean I would recommend it any time

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.3
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool wasn’t open. The parking . The area is nasty and noisy.

    I can’t complain. We wanted something close to the staple center. It was only a 6 min drive. The room was spacious and bed was comfortable. And our room had a small balcony I thought it was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel in a shady area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the hotel was fine the area was a bit dodgy to walk around. We didn't have any problems but there is a lot of homeless.

    The hotel room was spacious and comfy and close to the city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.4
    Shower was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Majority of staff was nice. Sad that the pool was out of order. Bed felt like a full mattress instead of a queen sized one.

    Shower was amazing. Loved the shampoo, conditioner, and body wash provided. Room was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    3.3
    Horrible. Hotel did not provide what was advertised!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amenities the hotel promised were not available, some of which I booked specifically because of the work I needed to do while in LA. The fitness center and pool were both under maintenance (the pool was disgusting and overwhelmed with algae). There was nothing in the lobby to indicate these changes, nor was there anything on the website indicating that the hotel facilities were not available. The area where the hotel is located is very deprived and dirty, as a we man I was extremely uncomfortable walking to the bus and metro stations, and experienced some inappropriate approaches by local men- though the staff member checking me in assured me of the safety of the neighborhood. When asked about finding alternative gym facilities, the staff member was unwilling to help me- saying you had to have memberships for the gyms in the area- this was not true as I was able to find a nice facility on my own and get a pass for free. After finding a rip in the bedsheets and some dust on the floor I asked about a refund- the place was not as advertised, the staff member could do nothing and there was no management available to help me either, they wouldn’t be in until the next day. It was just after 5:00- I was not asking for a manager in the middle of the night. The staff member was utterly powerless in the situation- which is the fault of management. But the staff member’s refusal to help me or contact someone who could was infuriating. Breakfast was an additional disappointment, some coffee and fruit is not a continental breakfast, what did I pay $170 for?

    The first staff member we encountered after our flight was very pleasant, and was helpful in storing our bags until check in time. It was all downhill from there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    3.3
    Stay Away From This One!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stay in hotels every week, this is one to which I will never return. For almost $200, the price was ridiculous for a hotel of this caliber. It is basically in a ghetto, wouldn't step foot outside after dark. Go anywhere else but here.

    Not much

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee making facilities Dirty pool Couldn't open the curtains

    Great breakfast Pretty good spot Clean rooms Comfy bed Nice staff I find it hard to believe some of the poor reviews on this hotel. If you want a 4/5 star hotel - pay for one dont complain about a hotel because it's not in the perfect spot or you dont get a full cooked breakfast. Your reviews effect hard working people 😡

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    4.6
    Staff is very welcoming and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty. I arrived and the bed sheets were the same ones of those who were utilizing the room before me. You could see the stains on them and it showed that it was just a done bed after usage. I had to change the sheets myself because on my arrival hour there wqs noone at the hotel to do that while this should have been conducted prior to my arrival. The sound of the heater is highly irritating you can barely sleep.

    Staff is very welcoming and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Great value. Iffy neighbourhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The front desk staffs were very helpful in answering our queries. Breakfast was simple but good (esp the waffle) and the fruits were always fresh, looked good and tasted good. There is also a laundromat just down the road, and the metro is a relatively short walk away. However, I'm not sure if it was because I booked the double queen room, but my room was situated at the refurbished wing (not that i am complaining) so everything looked and felt very new. So they may be refurbishing in sections, so do not be alarm if your booked room is not as "new". The rooms in the older wing looks like an average motel room as compared to their refurbished one. I hope they continue to refurbish all the rooms.

    The room was very spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The front desk staffs were very helpful in answering our queries. Breakfast was simple but good (esp the waffle) and the fruits were always fresh, looked good and tasted good. There is also a laundromat just down the road, and the metro is a relatively short walk away. However, I'm not sure if it was because I booked the double queen room, but my room was situated at the refurbished wing (not that i am complaining) so everything looked and felt very new. So they may be refurbishing in sections, so do not be alarm if your booked room is not as "new". The rooms in the older wing looks like an average motel room as compared to their refurbished one. I hope they continue to refurbish all the rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    A good hotel in Downtown LA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is Downtown LA and so the surrounding area is not very clean and people sleeping rough.

    It was good value for money. The breakfast was good. Tour buses and Supershuttle pick up from this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable bed internet was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit tatty, but clean. Chose a room with a balcony but the chairs were missing although other balconies seemed to have chairs .

    Comfortable bed internet was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    2.9
    There was nothing to like in this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible location. Very bad maintenance. No facilities. Not even Bellman 😢😢. Very dirty room. Sub-standard toilets. Everything hopeless. Worthless. I will never ever suggest anyone to opt for this property. Los Angeles downtown is very dirty area for place to stay

    There was nothing to like in this property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.0
    The hotel should kept a kettle in the room to make hot water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel should kept a kettle in the room to make hot water for drinking It was uncomfortable to get self serviced hot water from the lobby Since we had children it’s very much uneasy to pick it up

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    2.9
    Wifi was good :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was in very bad state, pretty much needs major remodel, lady on front desk was very rude & pretty much didnt want to talk to us, the hotel or shall i say (Motel) was in the mexican hood i think, did not feel safe at all and we pretty much ran to station every day, Do Not Stay Here.....

    Wifi was good :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed both times I visited & contrustion was still going from the last time I stayed which was a year ago ! The surrounding area is not the best buts it’s not the worst either for the price . It’s still in the middle of downtown la. When I went to check out they informed me they lost well “misplaced” the copy of my license and debit card which is scary !

    I’ve stayed at this hotel twice now ! They have remodel some rooms that are really nice ! I love the big mirror and bathroom is really nice !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Easy access to the convention center; free parking a major perk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast area is super tight in the mornings. I don't understand why the hotel uses the creepo peeking through the trees photo as its profile picture on here. Don't let it stop you from staying!

    This is the second time I've stayed at this property, both times while attending an annual event at the Los Angeles Convention Center. Since last year they've made some nice upgrades to the rooms--a pleasant surprise! For the price you can't beat the location, free parking, and breakfast. It's a short and easy drive to the convention center. Despite staying a Saturday night over a very busy weekend we had no problems with noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    Not at all like pics on the internet we looked up the street...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not at all like pics on the internet we looked up the street and it was nice and down the street was a mess of homeless people and filth ,the staff were very nice but the carport were sticky and gross

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic little hideaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were super comfortable, and the room was very swanky. Nice little find in the middle of L.A. We will definitely use this hotel again when we make our annual trip in May!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    2.9
    Overpriced horrible motel sold as hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and smelly hotel in the middle of nowhere- it may be downtown LA due to area but definetly does not look like the rest of the downtown. Check-in as of 3 but room not ready for another hour and staff said "you arrived to early" horrible room,dirty and old. Small bed (kingsize size they say) and old features. Super noisy both nights,you hear everything and everybody around and there was a buzzing noise during the whole night in the sourroundings.breakfast is just poor. They indicate they have a pool but it is just abandoned and dirty. Do not trick clients! You also have to pay to park in an open unsafe space they do not take responsability for...

    Nothing -worse stay ever!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    3.8
    Definitely not what it says on the tin
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was not conveniently located for walking distance to sights of Hollywood, There was a very strong pungent smell of bleach upon arrival and all over the hotel, The pool was dirty and cordoned off, the gym was not functional and we were not notified prior to our arrival. I generally did not think it was great value for money and we cut our stay short after 1 day to move to a different hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn’t stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, noisy, the bedroom was in an appalling state, paint and wallpaper peeling off. Bath was worn out, paint peeling off walls, toilet cistern chipped.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    2.5
    Disgusting, dated, unhygienic, manager is rude, pool is vile
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything; the manager, the room, hairs and dirt in the bath, pillows made out of lumps, nothing near what it looks like on pictures

    The shower is the second room we stayed in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    5.4
    Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel needs a total refurbishment. The bottom of my shower was virtually worn away. Carpets were worn and very stained both in my room and in corridors. The swimming pool looked disgusting and I wouldn't have used it. Located in a very poor neighbourhood. Very expensive for what it was

    The staff are the total asset to this hotel - I hope the management appreciate this. Really helpful front desk, good cleaners and helpful breakfast staff. All efficient, friendly and welcoming etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Spectular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complimentary breakfast as promised only juice and coffee was provided. Also wanted a room on the 2nd floor with a balcony, but got a 1st floor room.

    Bed was comfy, loved the eco-friendly feel of the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed my stay but because of the area wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location, even though it was about 9 min walk to the Metro, the area was very seedy with a lot of homeless people and there is no way I would go out at night. The Hotel hallways were filthy, the whole time I was there never vaccumed.

    The room was very comfortable was apparently newly renovated, it really needed a coffee/tea maker, you had to go to reception to get tea or coffee but it was available & free all day. The Continental Breakfast was basic but sufficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    3.8
    a hotel with poor facilities and unclean environment.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very poor and inconvenient facilities inside the room, no power socket either beside the bed cabinet or above the table, air conditioner too noisy, water in the bath room not hot enough, very few breakfast items.

    I could not actually find anything I like about the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    The refurbished rooms with are modern clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Two Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area is really rundown and dated and the pool is a no go.

    The refurbished rooms with are modern clean and comfortable. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to downtown LA and the metro line. The hotel is an a good location however the area does feel a little unsafe at night

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    Helpful Staff and Good Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Room that I got needed lots of refurbishing Pictures of rooms on internet sites are not like the one you get at the Hotel Small area for the breakfast room Noisy Air Condition

    Very helpful Staff on the Reception and for the Room Services Breakfast is very nice with varieties of options Comfortable Beds and Pillows Location to the Metro Station is around 10 min walking distance

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    Good location, nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real cons to the hotel. We searched online for ages for a decent hotel and found this. The only thing I would say is update your photos! It makes the hotel look terrible lol. But it's really nice for the price.

    This was the only hotel from our trip (stayed at 3 places total) to have a lovely hotel clerk. She was polite, smiled and never left us in the dark on what was going on. It was so nice to have someone not treat us like crap. Thankyou! The hotel has obviously gone through renovations and it looks really nice. The rooms were great, bed was comfy and the room itself was a really good size. The complimentary breakfast was also lovely. They have a nice waiting area too. It's about a 20 minute walk from staples and downtown LA.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    Thank you to Sylvia for her advice from reception. She was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially we were concerned with the area. We had just arrived in LA and found the homeless people confronting. But turns out we were fine and the hotel close to the Metro and bus lines.

    The room was very nice. Lovely decor and plenty of space.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    4.6
    Cheap stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wall paper was peeling off the walls, communal areas smelt of weed, cleaning was non existent in the room and hallways

    Breakfast was good and parking was good value and convenient

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable place although perhaps a little pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighborhood is far from glamorous

    Comfy bed and reasonable basic breakfast. Reasonably central to Allie normal tourist locations and public transport. Property is old but too we newly refurbished.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.4
    Just so so...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are several things I didn't like. 1) The hotel swimming pool is extremely tiny. I guess it is just a show. 2) The air-con/heater inside the room is too noisy when operating. 3) The breakfast is very minimum. 4) The location is quite far from the downtown area. Hence, I would say the price I paid (close to USD200/night) is not worth to be spent. The hotel price could be a little cheaper.

    The hotel room is clean & comfortable. That is the only one I can think of.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.5
    Quirky and stylish rooms, very comfortable bed which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not great but a cheap taxi fare to downtown

    Quirky and stylish rooms, very comfortable bed which was welcome after a long flight. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    6.7
    Clean affordable place in DTLA
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looked like it was stuck in the 90's, but it was clean. The elevator is also quite old so it looked like I might get stuck, but thankfully did not.

    Liked that it was in Downtown LA. Staff were friendly. They had free breakfast: fruits, coffee, milk, cereal, waffle, bread selection. Bed was big enough to accommodate me (5'6) and my husband (6'1).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    5.4
    Lobby was very well decorated and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not located in a nice part of town. Not enough parking. Front office nice and modern - our room we had was very old. Yellow and rust. Many layers of paint. Had to yank on the bathroom door to get it to close.

    Lobby was very well decorated and modern. Hot water and coffee available all day. Staff was nice and informative. Breakfast was well stocked and had a decent variety. Off street parking was a necessity.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    2.9
    Do not stay here; rundown and dangerous
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    BEWARE, this hotel is not located in a good part of DTLA. The pictures are not accurate. They make it out to be a boutique hotel. It is not. It is a rundown motel. There were scary bums walking up and down the street all day and night. It was super sketchy. The pool was dirty and NOT heated as listed. The room itself was ok, but the chair and the bathroom were worn out. The bath towels were teeny tiny and cheap. The bed was actually pretty comfortable, but that is about the only nice thing I can say about this place. In general, you get want you pay for but I still spent $165 for a room and location I thought would be decent and safe. It's totally rundown. DO NOT STAY HERE.

    The bed was the only nice thing I can say about this place. DO NOT STAY HERE.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    Great for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have some ham and cheese. The swimming pool was dirty. The neighborhood was not the best for walking when it is dark (go for dinner).

    The room was big. Coffee and tea available 24/7 free of charge. The hotel personnel was very polite and helpful. Our TV was not working properly, so we asked for some help and within 1 hour, the problem was fixed. Breakfast was OK. close to downtown and reasonable price. 5 minutes of walk, there is a great Chinese buffet that is worth of visit.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    The room was clean and fresh, bed was comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no trash bags in the bins, The plates were paper so they dripped when food was heated in the microwave

    The room was clean and fresh, bed was comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    3.8
    Could have been better........Much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property claims to be in downtown LA but it is a mile and a half from downtown and it's not situated in an easily accessible area and not a pleasant area for a couple either. There are not many restaurants close by and it's half an hour drive from Hollywood. There is no service at all at this property, we had to manage to drag our own luggage as the receptionist told us "there's no bellboy service at our property". No room service, No bell boy service, House keeping is good and courteous. Breakfast is ok at the best , as the spread includes white bread, brown bread and some jams, an added bonus is there's is a waffle maker with plenty of batter. All in all I was disappointed with my stay at this property .

    The rooms were neat and tidy with a microwave and mini refrigerator

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    2.9
    Waste of money and awful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is a mess: - stuff is never at the reception - the bed sheets are dirty and not always replaced - the room was not clean, they left stuff on floor and did not change the towels - the doors close loudly and wakes everybody up on the floor - all the noise on the street is so loud in the room, especially the police machines and garbage collection at 6.30 AM - the location is full of homeless on the streets

    There was very little to like there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    3.8
    Location is LA downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Blankets are too heavy, I couldn't move and their were someones undergarments lying in the cabinet under the microwave, housekeeping was also horrible when we came back in the evening the beds were made but small bits of trash was still lying around the floor and room amenities were not placed in place.

    Location is LA downtown

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    6.7
    Mediocre, maybe it was my hotel for being cheap and booking it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was not in the best part of town, on the website it says there is a heated pool, there isn't, the pool was super cold. it gives motel like vibes.

    staff was very courteous and friendly. room was clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    5.4
    A goo value and quiet but ther is room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior of the property needs to be refurbished. The parking lot didn’t feel entirely safe especially at night. Vending machines were not stocked with bottled water. The nice person at the front desk provided me with some water. Not their fault but the area where the property is is not very nice.

    The lobby was nicely appointed along with the section where our room was. The room interior was upgraded all NG with the hallway leading to our room. The price was ok for downtown LA. The breakfast was adequate it could be a little more.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    6.3
    It was good for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were thin, we heard other rooms late night activities. The Pool area was really dirty. The neighborhood was a little sketchy. The rooms needed maintenance. The outlets were loose and some didn’t work.

    The property was close to everywhere we wanted to go. It had a fridge and microwave. Balcony was nice!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.1
    Very convenient carpark with cheap rates!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were the size of cushions... Would have preferred normal-sized pillows. Shady neighbourhood, did not feel safe walking around at night especially alone. Breakfast options can be improved.

    Very convenient carpark with cheap rates! Metro station just a short walk away. Staffs were helpful and friendly. Some rooms seem to be newly renovated, which we were lucky enough to live in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    4.6
    Well, paid $143 per a night...should been better for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool not hot...when the receptionist told, stated won’t be fixed right away! Warm pool was one of the reason to get a room there!! Coffee, OJ not up to standard! Noisy, people smoking on the property!!

    Close to downtown and breakfast included

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.1
    Courteous and Friendly Staff, centrally located with great parking and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The neighboring area hosts some wanders, however; this is the typical case for downtown L.A., so you can't really hold this against the Hotel. Other than that, my only gripe would be that the pillows were a bit lumpy for my taste - otherwise a great stay. I would stay here again.

    The parking lot is very well lit and easy to find/park in, which isn't always the case in downtown L.A. The lobby of the hotel was beautiful and clean. The front desk staff was very professional, courteous, and kind. Check-in/Check-out was quick and easy. The rooms are clean and include in-room coffee makers, refrigerators, and microwaves.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    6.7
    The hotel was quite nice, nothing too fancy but clean with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the area isn't great for walks in the evening as it does't feel too safe (it's on if you keep to the main street but some of the smaller ones gave us the creeps). about 20-30 min walk to Downtown

    The hotel was quite nice, nothing too fancy but clean with very friendly staff. Looked a bit Mexican which later made sense as we realized that it was based in a Mexican area. Continental breakfast included was very basic and the swimming pool looked rather old and not too clean so we didn't use ut

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.5
    Great for downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was kind of old and weathered. They were in the process of upgrading rooms. The room wasn't ready at check in.

    It was very close to downtown. It was close to the metro. It had great cheap parking. There was included deluxe continental breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    2.5
    TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE - NOT AT ALL RECOMMEND TO STAY HERE!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The delayed check in despite being a genius member. The rooms were not occupied but still. 2. Water problem hence we were without water for 2 out of 3 days 3. Bed bugs which bit us really bad 4. Filthy corridors with litter around 5. Rude & unhelpful staff 6. Filthy breakfast tables that werent cleaned in ages 7. Nothing in buffet breakfast 8. Rusty corners 9. No storage space in the room

    NOTHING - the worst hotel I have ever booked using booking.com

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Good stayed, friendly staff, well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast could be improved

    Super friendly staff, the new rooms are very comfy, nice and clean. Silvia in reception was very helpful. The breakfast could be better but is enough to kick off the day! is very well located close to Mc Arthur park metro station and Expo metro station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect, upgraded to a room with balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect, upgraded to a room with balcony Room very spacious, huge shower room, very clean and very good bed. Breakfast is basic but ok

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.9
    Pretty good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Rooms need updating, I think they are starting to refresh the rooms ( saw one room mid reno) but I had a old room. -Carpets were questionable -The area is ok in the daytime but I've been advised not to walk around at night, I didn't have any issues though. -Streets are a bit loud at night

    -Free parking and wifi is stable -Computer in the lobby was available to guests to look up info or checkin for flights! -Breakfast was standard, waffle maker was a plus and the attendant was super sweet

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    3.8
    Very loud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud. Uncomfortable bed. People knocking on our door both at night and early In the morning . Lights outside were very bright ... hard to sleep when it looks like daylight outside. No conditioner

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.9
    Typical American breakfast,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typical American breakfast, Free parking, nice staff. Hotel is situated in Mexican district. There is a supermarket 5-7 min walking distance. Ther eis a bus stop close to the hotel as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    5.0
    Wouldnt have stayed here if i had more time to choose other hotels.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was next to renovaton works, had bad smell. There was no complimentary coffee or tea. Provided plastic cups only, not ceramic ones, hence cannot use the microwave to heat water. Front desk did not return my passport after checking in- both of us forgot about it . Only upon check out the next day then another receptionist returned to me, saying that it has been left at their counter overnight. This was a HUGE MISTAKE! There wasnt much food options around the hotel.

    it was the few hotel with available rooms within my budget at that time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.2
    Good value stay in downtown, will be even better once upgrades completed throughout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy aircon so managed without, but in summer that would be impossible. Room in need of update, which we noted was occurring in other rooms. Once completed, this will be a very good value stay in downtown LA. Breakfast was disappointing as there was only coffee, juice and (excellent) fresh fruit! No toast/bread/pastries, so I do NOT regard this as "breakfast".

    Friendly staff. Good price. Close access to some excellent local family-run restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    5.0
    Not satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old and with noises from the top floor. The street were hotel is located are full of gabbish and not good to walk. They did not have laundry services or laundromat.

    Parking on site. Close to downtown.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.1
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell in corridors and in room even though it was clean. Very dated swollen bathroom door from excess water which made room look cheap.

    Continental breafast good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    2.5
    We hated it couldn't wait to leave and I feel our money should be refunded and room 301 should not b
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area the room had broken furniture the door was broken then we were moved and the air condition was broken.a disgusting dirty floor and I am going to contact booking.com when I return to the U.K

    Nothing overall the accommodation was terrible will not stay here again and would not recommended it to anyone.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Solaire Los Angeles traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: