Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sorrento 4 stars

900 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104, USA

#33 of 89 hotels in Seattle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 299 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant was not that good. The hotel overall needs some updating....especially the dirty old daily rugs inside the elevator.....that say the day of the week. All the rugs in the entrance area are worn and dirty looking.

    The size of the 1 Bedroom suite was very roomy. The staff was friendly, but there wasn't a concierge to help with things about the city. The outdoor patio was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy at night due to windows. I would to see hotel make investments to keep hotel in pristine shape.

    Historical site and easy walking distance to other downtown sites.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a warm weekend in Seattle so it was very warm in the room. Since our window was right next to the medical center/hospital, street noise was a lot for us since we live in the country and are used to quiet. Anyway since it was hot and a little on the noisy side, we didn't sleep all that well. The bathroom had the old charm but pedestal sinks do not have space for your things. The room had lots of old charm, like a coffee press instead of the normal coffee maker, which is different and fit with the old charm feeling but not as convenient if you are in a hurry to get going in the morning, and not used to using one. But I have to admit, the morning we weren't in a hurry, we did enjoy a good cup of coffee. The room not only looked old but it had an old smell also.

    charming old building with lots of beautiful wood in the lobby, restaurant, and bar area. There was a very nice patio area, which we didn't have time to enjoy but it looked like a nice place to hang out. The staff was super, super, super nice and helpful, couldn't ask for a better group of people. The ride to the airport by the hotel arranged town car service was very prompt and professional, highly recommend letting the hotel set up your airport transportation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sorrento Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought everything was too expensive for what you got. They told me Mother’s Day buffet was 20.00 per person ended up being 38.00 per person and the room wasn’t very pretty

    The service was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It had that old stale smell and it hadn’t been kept up for it’s potential over the years. The room was NOT like the room depicted in the booking.com app by a long shot. The water for a shower took about five minutes to heat up for a comfortable hot shower.

    I liked the architecture of the building, it felt like you were transported to the 50’s.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside noise but that can't be helped..it's a big city! LOL

    This turned out to be rare find. Hotel Sorrento is a very special and unique hotel!I will be back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot. But no time now. Definitely not staying here again.

    I was actually quite disappointed. The staff excellent but room very dreary and pieced together by odds and ends lamps and rundown furniture.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom tile work needs updating- some grout was missing.

    The bed was comfortable and the room had wonderful light. The staff was wonderfully accommodating and thoughtful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated infastructure.Very loud heating system. Woken up by very loud noise at 3 am.Complained to the clerk at checkout. The noise came from the room above.

    Clean room. Attractive decor, Comfortable bed.enjoyed breakfast in the restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant had cold décor, menu was limited, and prices were high. Breakfast starting at 7:00 may be too late for business travelers.

    Although the hotel is old, the room was nicely furnished and the tub/shower was updated. Wood paneled elevator was nice. Fireside common room was well appointed and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They do advertise a wine hour from 5 pm to 6 pm, but the bartender doing the wine night did show up about 15 minutes late and still ended at 6 pm. While not a big deal, I do appreciate events being on time.

    We stayed at Hotel Sorrento for a staycation. We were very pleased with the accommodations. Location is great. We parked right across the street overnight, a little more affordable than valet parking. Staff was friendly. We were able to walk to breakfast and dinner spots. Very romantic!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness - they baseboards had not been cleaned (wiped down) for quite some time, made me feel that the floors were probably not that clean either. Overall, just didn’t feel that comfortable with knowing the rooms were not cleaned that well. :( Price wise, was not impressed.

    Most accommodations were very good, food was good if you like heavy meals, not much for lighter meals. Staff was very nice, accommodating. The extra activities in the bar area were nice as well

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are loud and cold. Hotel room (junior suite) was very loud - windows are old and not double-pane, so you can hear all the busses and cars passing through. You also get to hear wine bottles being throw in the recycle in the late night. It was far from quiet and relaxing.

    The staff is very friendly and helpful - best thing about the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room temp and unable to control, air conditioning.

    Niceley appointed rooms, old style, showing a little wear and tear in bathrooms but a 4 star. Away from lower CBD, and a difficult walk with the very steep terraine. Very good restaurant and bar, complimentary wine in the afternoon. Check in staff were pleasant and helpful, couldnt check in until time. Rooms far too warm, airconditioning couldnt be adjusted and appeared old and slightly falling to bits, other guest agreed, difficult to sleep and noisey if windows opened.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All a bit dated. The elevator (singular) was unbelievably slow. So you wait quite a while to go up and down. The cost of the hotel made us expect something a bit fancier but it was an average hotel in an old elegant building. If you expect anything modern, look elsewhere. If you want an authentic experience from an hotel in the 20s, is ideal.

    The bed was super comfy with about 400 pillows. The hotel is within walking distance of some really cool areas. Nice outdoor area for drinks in the evening also.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was a little run down but it wasn't bad. Lots of windows but opened to the street or wall.

    The hotel had a slightly run down quality about it but they had a nice lobby with a fireplace and wine hour. The room was spacious and had a warm homey vibe with a living room, separate bedroom area and nice bathroom. They supplied bathrobes and umbrellas in the room with a nice minibar. The cleaning staff was friendly and very accommodating. We stored our luggage before checking in and after checking out and they were very friendly and good about it. They had flavored water and fruit in the lobby. Lots of windows and very comfy bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Small, crowded room. Matress worn on room side to the point where I fell off of it during the night. Bathroom fixtures upgraded on the cheap; result was a crowded, ineffecient bathroom that didn't evern look good.

    Small room in old hotel with insufficient bathroom. Looks like they tried to upgrade the property from 1920's original fixtures on the cheap; didn't get away with it. Moved hotel after the first night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room airconditioner was leaking water and had a mody smell. Old building. Hot water was sparse at certain times of the day in the bathroom. Bathroom doesn't have a fan. Again, old building problems.

    Location. It is a pretty building. Very nice and friendly staff. Free water at the front anytime you ask for it! Nice touch!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was awesome! Super. nice, very accommodating. It was a heat wave and our room was warm so they hunted down a portable air conditioner for us at no charge! Top notch!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facility needs a little upkeep. I could not get hot water. They told me I should have let it run 15 min, but I Iet it run longer than I was comfortable wasting the water. The boiler is in the basement. I think it should be updated.

    The place was very warm and inviting. It was very comfortable. The location was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's an older building, which I really liked about it. However, this means some appliances are a bit older or workarounds (like the AC unit).

    The staff was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was incredibly expensive for a very small room and parking was an additional large expense. No pool, no sauna, no hot tub. The ad for the hotel rooms boasted great city views, which was not the case at all for us, even though we were on a higher floor. I was hoping to wow my boyfriend with a unique fancy hotel room with views for his birthday and I was disappointed in my experience overall. We slept comfortably, but for the price I had hoped for more than just a good night's sleep.

    I liked the fact that the facility was not like every other hotel in the universe. It is an old building with charm. It is well situated within walking distance of fun things to do on Capitol Hill.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff became overwhelmed at the front desk and in the restaurant at times, my breakfast order was overlooked and as a result I had to call to correct. The problem was handed, however, and the meal was comped.

    Classic, old school Seattle atmosphere. Great distance from downtown and various landmarks. Staff was accommodating and gracious on all levels.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit cold, No view.

    The staff and the hotel has a real personality to it. Everyone so nice. Hotel feels like old school Seattle. Location is close enough to most but just enough outside the hectic areas. Bar and restaurant were awesome, room was spacious. All good here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this was booked for a client and the client complained a lot. It could be the client, that said, there was no air conditioning in the hotel onm 80 degree days. I got no discount.

    it is a classi old hotell

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't too impressed with the food in the restaurant.

    Amazing bed and robes! They had some live music which was awesome and a crime fiction reading night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures online show modern facilities in room. However, rooms were old. Sofa bed was terrible. We left early, didn't want to stay the extra night. I understand older, unique hotels, but this was not worth the price. I would never stay there again. Waited hours to get the crappy room.

    The courtyard was kinda nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner in the room was a tad noisy but kept the room at a perfect climate. Not much else not to like. We will return - can't imagine staying anywhere else now that we've found Sorrento.

    The old world beauty and charm of this hotel are only surpassed by the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. Walkability to popular attractions was a plus...until you started the trek (all uphill lol) back to the hotel. Great way to walk off dinner :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air condition so have to open the windows then it was so noisy to sleep. The carpet's color is black. Building is old and nice, but need to renovate it. The whole room stinks.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unimpressed by the restaurant, although we only ate breakfast.

    Quiet. Elegant. Felt like a European hotel. Close enough to walk to downtown, without the traffic and hustle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was the best. The Valet guys were super casual when we weren't yet sure if we wanted to use them for parking. Everyone was professional, yet easy going, making us feel at ease as we wandered and lounged in this beautiful old building. The bed was extremely comfortable. We opened the windows to let in the cool breeze and we were greeted by the sound of lovely live music coming from the courtyard. We stayed here just one night before we left for an Alaskan Cruise and we both felt that Hotel Sorrento was the most relaxing part of the entire trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On our 2nd night, the A/C in our room wasn't working. (Seattle was experiencing a heatwave, so this may have been a factor) I mentioned it at check out, they confirmed there had been a problem with the fuse box and adjusted our bill. We were satisfied with the outcome and recommend this hotel.

    Very comfy bed, no loud interruptions. When we arrived earlier than check in time. we found our room was ready AND they upgraded our accommodations at no charge! Lisa at the front desk was gracious and friendly. We did quite a bit of walking, but keep in mind, Seattle is a hilly town! Seattle has plenty of Lyft & Uber drivers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cost is really high.

    Had an excellent breakfast with good service. Very friendly staff and accommodating; the bed was comfortable so that we rested well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was very overpriced for how much food you got and we came in one day when it was 84 degrees the aircon had been turned to warm and we had to turn it to no fan and sleep in a hotbox! I have no idea why they did that but they turned it off the next day.

    The lounge was stunning, the bed and bathroom perfect and lovely. The staff were all very friendly, and we loved the little bar room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A. I was very pleased with the stay. It was a little pricey is the only thing.

    The building was an old property, but it did not feel old. And, it had unique features such as being able to open the windows to get fresh air that were key.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you're a flatlander be prepared for hills!!

    Great location. Things tend to close early in this area though so if getting dinner either take a cab somewhere or just eat at the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their booking.com description listed a pool and spa and there WAS NOT either one of those. The hotel was nice so I stayed anyway, but the main reason I chose sorrento was because I thought there was going to be a pool. I was pretty disappointed when I arrived and found out there wasn't one.

    The free upgrade they gave me to a designer suite, comfy bed, size and design of room. Very clean. Free wine tasting downstairs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel it is not located conveniently for going back and forth to downtown Seattle. Nothing can be done about this. There used to be a hotel shuttle, but not presently. Could offer a one-way drop-off to down town at 1-2 locations and then guests return on their own. The shower curtain uncomfortably blew into one's body when taking a shower; the hotel could install the shower curtain rods that curve out, and away from the bathtub to remedy this. Simple fix. Room service did not come on a cart making it difficult for two people to eat in the room without putting the food on the bed. In fact, if one used the desk for a desk, there was no where to set the dishes from room service except on the bed or the floor. Cleaning service was not thorough each day (e.g., did not wash sink, vacuum, replenish shampoo, or remove old ice bucket).

    The property is conveniently located near Virginal Mason Hospital, the purpose of my trip. The staff is very cherry, positive, outgoing, friendly and helpful; first rate staff at entrance, front desk, restaurant and maintenance (not housekeeping performance). The restaurant is significantly improved from past years; the food was very good, whereas in the past we avoided the Dunbar Room. Kudos to improvements in the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a big deal to me because I understand it's an old building but, I did see a mouse in our room.

    All of the staff we encountered were wonderful. Customer service can make or break an experience for me. Right off the bat, Jackie at the front desk, was so warm, positive and friendly. It really kicked off our stay in a very positive way. Thank you, Jackie and everyone at Sorrento Hotel!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is the only place we will stay in Seattle. Our home away from home. Always feel welcome and treated beautifully. And everyone adores our dogs, Bingo and Ditto!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Printer in the business office didn't work (so front desk printed our documents)

    Bed was super comfortable, staff were very friendly and helpful. Happy hour was a great treat.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were just a tad warm. I'm from the deep south and enjoy the air conditioning at night. There was an air conditioner, but it was not very effective. It was April, so I kept the windows open day and night. This will not effect my future stays at this hotel. It was a very minor issue.

    I was traveling alone and the room size was perfect for 1 person. The bathroom and room were clean and recently updated. They had a beautiful soft robe for me to use while there. I loved the closet and antique desk that was in my room. All the furniture was antique and very practical. The bed was very comfortable and it was quiet at night. I traveled alone and felt safe the entire time I was there. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. I was in walking distance to the conference center and the different attractions offered ie shopping, restaurants. I really liked the outside entry, meaning when you walked out the front door you weren't BAM already in the street. There is an area for valet parking and a sitting area to wait on your ride or just hang out. I cannot say enough positive about this hotel. The exterior was beautiful. My whole experience was perfect. I cannot wait to come back again with my family!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the bathtub had been bigger but that did not detract from my overall happiness with this room.

    The room was lovely,the bed was comfortable, and the balcony was like a scene from a romantic French film.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is a nightmare in Seattle. I chose to park down the block in a garage for 2 nights and walk everywhere. Took Uber 1 night because my feet hurt.

    The old charming hotel feeling. The look of the room, clean and comfy. The staff were all very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prior to arriving I got differing answers to questions about transportation (from parking to transportation to and from the airport). Staffing seemed to be limited, especially in the restaurant where long waits for food were a part of every service.

    The banquet staff did a good job with the event we attended and the food at the event was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the junior suite, one side of the bed doesn't have any end table or outlet, so you have to put your water glass, etc. on the floor. Also, this trip we found a half-used bottle of vodka in the closet..eww. Finally, sadly, the bar and restaurant consistently offer poor, slow, almost sullen service and mediocre (at best) food . This is a real deficit for such a nice hotel.

    We've stayed several times at this hotel; I really like the Sorrento's old world vibe, and the fact that the windows can be opened, which is very important to me. I also appreciate a HOT shower with good pressure. The room's are generally very nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seemed that the photos on the site might have been for an updated room so ours was a bit different than the picture but I know this happens and it is not a big deal. There was an issue with the hot water but the staff were able to guide me around it and fix it.

    Location is great, love the Capitol Hill neighborhood. Staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a historical building, the flooring is making noise when you walk on. There is no ventilating fan in the restroom, there are lots of steam after shower.

    Beautiful place.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was perfect. I needed to ship some gifts back home and the front desk was helpful and provided me packing tape closed my shopping box. The staff was friendly. I love the location for being able to walk to the Link line and Capital Hill.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was VERY cold and there was no heat source. Some how the windows allowed the outside noises into our room. Maybe it time for some new windows.

    The bedding and the bed was very comfortable and the room was nicely furnished. The valet staff was very accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ingress and egress to the property is a major negative.

    the beauty of the historic property, the attentiveness of staff, appetizing menu and comfortable surroundings.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful 1909 luxury decor. Staff was welcoming and helpful from valet to front desk and waitress. Charming lounge with fireplace, "olde world" wood paneling on walls and ceiling. It was quite busy before 7 pm, but quiet and relaxing after later. Our room was nicely furnished with period style pieces, comfortable king bed, and clean bath. A fun detail was the carpet in the tiny elevator has the day of the like, like on cruise ships.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We checked in at 3. As soon as we got to the room, the sink wouldnt drain but we thought no big deal-we were leaving to go out anyway. We informed the staff at 3 and left. We got back in at 10 pm and it wasn't addressed. Still not the worst thing. However, the a/c did not work! It blew HOT air. We called downstairs multiple times. They sent someone up with 2 breakfast vouchers and a stand up fan and told us the engineer was gone for the evening. We called downstairs and asked to switch rooms and they said there were no more rooms available. So we went downstairs and spoke to the manager. He was helpful and moved us to a different room but 2 things with that room: it still didn't cool sufficiently and the tub was dirty!-it had a ring around it. (Also we,went from a king corner room to a double bed corner room). At this point we were tired as we had to check out at 6am and we just stayed. Bottomline--don't waste your money! One of the basic things we expect in a hotel room us a working a/c...not in Hotel Sorrento

    Location was great. .downtown. central to public transportation

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative is that the hotel isn't really within walking distance of Pike Place Market, etc., so we had to take our car back and forth. The heaters also need to be turned on in the rooms once summer is over. We were told that none of the heat had been turned on yet in any room - so they had to bring us up a space heater. They also put a substantial "hold" on our credit card without telling us (which is routine from what I hear), but it was not taken off our credit card for a few days until our credit card was processed. It would have been nice to have known that right when we checked in since that is when they did it unbeknownst to us. The hold was for a larger amount than our actual charges were. We should have been notified of this.

    My husband and I were here for the first time for my birthday. The hotel is beautiful - inside and out - and the staff was amazing (especially Front Desk Agent Jorie and Valet Driver Bill). We had to switch rooms the first night due to loud noises coming from the roof/fans of the old building next door. They actually sent us to a much larger room - and also supplied us with a microwave oven free of charge when we needed one. They were polite, professional, warm, friendly, etc. ~ and we had top-notch customer service. We felt truly welcomed and cared for in this lovely boutique hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has amazing staff, extremely helpful and very friendly. The congierge went out of his way to help with a booking at a newish restaurant that was superb! The rooms were very spacious and the beds comfortable. Loved having a drink in front of the fire. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one elevator made for a long wait sometimes but it's an old building and it's worth it to be in such a beautiful place.

    Gorgeous hotel. Room service was excellent, we ordered it 5 times and every time was fast and delicious. Cleaning staff did a great job and the toiletries were from C. O. Bigelow. No complaints!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Sorrento Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is old and not my preferred staying type. It is well maintained but not upgraded in any mean. It is going back in time. If you like these kind of places than its wonderful. Prices are definitely high.

    Stuff are very kind and professionals, the location is good and it's clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm really sorry I have to say that we were very disappointed with our stay. We are usually not the most demanding people, but the price compared what you get for it was not in comparison. The rooms are not up to the current standard of what you might expect of a hotel that profiles itself in a higher category. Paints are chipped off doors etc, but also the bath is painted and paint is coming off. The curtains are of a quality I wouldn't even put up in my basement. The queen size bed is to small, as are the towels. If we wouldn't have paid so much for the room (over 500 usd per night) it would have been fine, but if you pay that price you just might expect more. Also the bathroom was not clean (hair of previous guest stuck on the wall). We mentioned it but when we came back in the afternoon at 4 pm the room was not made jet. We wanted to relax a little in the room and prepare to go out in the evening, but because the room was still dirty we were not able to do so. Sorry about the negative review but I hope it will help to make improvements, or adjust prices so people can adjust expectations.

    The entrance and main area are very charming and authentic. It creates a nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bell hop was instructed to shut off the outside fire place even though there were still three people (including myself) sitting and quietly enjoying the fire. Would have been easy to turn it off once we had left but he was just following orders. The food was excellent and the outside patio was pleasant place to dine, except that the servers seemed to have forgotten about us once we were served in the evening. The air conditioner was on blast when I arrived. Granted, it was a hot day so it should have been on for sure, however it made the surrounding area including part of the sofa chair quite damp. A couple of the windows were partially steamed up from the AC. I also didn't like that I was told that the hold on my credit card would be removed once my friend paid the balance upon checkout. I waited for two days afterwards and I still had to call my bank to remove the hold.

    There were musical performers on the outside patio during lunch time. They were excellent, and their style was fitting to the feel of the décor (1920s/30s). The room was beautiful. I liked the picture of the turtle. At the restaurant, the food was good and the honor bar in the room had a good selection.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located at the top of a steep hill, not an easy walk to/from hotel to main tourist attractions. Expensive, would not consider value for money.

    Lovely staff. Free vodka tasting on arrival. Nice bar, restaurant and cocktails. Lovely rooms (although a little small for price).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice historical hotel within walking distance to many good restaurants and downtown Seattle. The staff was friendly and welcoming, room was comfortable, bath products were very nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came at 3pm with another couple who booked direct with the hotel. Their room was ready ours was not. Their room was bigger, brighter. Our room was dark on a corner with smaller bathroom "really small" and the price was same. Just an fyi

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was ready before time, staff was happy, service oriented and very helpful. The check out was very smooth. Overall all staff members made us feel like we'd been friends for along time! I would definitely recommend to anyone! :-)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled like it had previously been a smoking room. Hotel smells old. Also toilet area in room we stayed in was tiny. Could barely sit without a foot in the shower. I was excited to stay there because it looked like a quirky hotel. It was quirky but not in a good way, especially for the cost. The best thing about the hotel was that it was walking distance to downtown. Would not ever stay there again.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location at top of hill would make for a challenging walk for the unfit. An on-site restaurant would have been helpful as local restaurants close by 8pm.

    Staff was wonderful. Appreciated historical decor.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived at 9.30am ( with a published 4pm check in) and an upgraded mini-suite was made available immediately - great service which was really appreciated.Excellent service Ex

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water in my room to shower. I called the front desk they said to run it for 15 mins to get it up from the boiler. I did, and it didn't happen. I ended up taking a sponge bath both days. The walls are very very thin and I heard every bed movement and footstep of the person above me. The mattress was very worn. The TV only worked sporadically, and the elevator wasn't working when I arrived.

    The lobby was lovely, as were the sheets and pillows.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plant is seedy...air conditioner antiquated Once upon a time hotel Totally overpriced

    Friendly staff above all

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Sorrento Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were nice, cozy and well equipped and the staff was awesome. I really felt at home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing problems

    Old and stylish . A lot of character

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfy bed, good in-room facilities. All great staff - very friendly, genuine and welcoming. Good room service!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet did not flush, and hot water was not very available.

    Close by medical facility.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i got an extra free martini which made me really drunk but guess that’s on me : (

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, breakfast was delicious, location is very good for down town

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Sorrento traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: