Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of SoBe Hostel & Bar 3 stars

235 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139, USA

#160 of 390 hotels in Miami Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1808 hostel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The music in the lobby is very loud, can't hear the person next to you and they always play the same horrible reggaeton and spanish trap. The windows of the rooms can't be opened (at least not in our room) so you have to keep the door open to let some air go through. Bathroom curtains are filthy, doors of the showers are broken or don't close properly. 2 washing machines, 1 wasn't working. Totally useless WiFi which only ''works'' in the lobby, when it does. Not everybody is travelling to get drunk, so there is no excuse not to have a decent wifi connection that reaches the bedrooms. It's just plain lazy not to update the connection.

    Reception staff are very friendly. Breakfast is always the same, but included in the price. Dinner is free if you get there in time. If you are only going for the beach and party, then it's your place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty..room was really basic:beds,a small table and broken lockers.2 electric plugs only close to the bottom bed.Bathroom too small for so many people:6 showers,3 wc and 2 sinks for a female toilette...and it was getting clean maybe 2 times a day...maybe..very rude staff

    Location was ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in 12 Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. There are people coming in and out of the hostel/rooms at all times. You can rarely get a good night’s sleep.

    Very close to the beach and ocean drive. Miami Beach isn’t that big so we could walk everywhere. There is a free trolley/bus stop right next so you can go about. It’s pretty clean and the staff is very friendly. You have breakfast and dinner included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ---

    It is good located area and easy access to beach. It s very close to Ocean Drive and most of popular bars and restaurants. Staff was really helpful and I really appreciate airport pick-up. This is the so far the best hostel I ve ever experienced

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I didn't like that they were, maybe, TOO relaxed and that the staff didn't deliver me flowers that i got (it supposed to be a surprise). It arrived from a flower shop with my name on the card and the staff member signed that they delivered it to me, but it stayed on the reception desk for 2 days, until I was informed and went to claim it. Nobody of all those working there felt any responsibility to leave me note or to deliver it to me. That moment was really disappointing.

    The location was excellent!!! I like that the atmosphere was very relaxing and everybody was nice. I also like that they maintained the hygiene well. And I liked that people in general, both gusts and employees, were polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    even tho dinner is included, do not expect large portions - for a guy its basically just a starter. Rooms were quite small - 4 of us stayed all together in one 4 bed room and there was basically no space for us - at least a shelf would be appreciated.

    Staff was very helpful, good location - close to the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was not as expected

    Great location, just 2 mins walk from the beach. the free shuttle from the airport to the hostel was just on time. The breakfast was very nice also. Beds are comfortable and clean. Hot showers are available 24/7 Parties everyday and I just loved it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They work too hard they should be able to get more days off. They really deserve it...

    Very Friendly staff. Big thank you to all of you for helping me out during my last week at Miami. Especially after the horrible experience from another hostel. Excellent breakfast and dinner. Extremely helpful receptionist team. Very clean bathrooms and rooms. Quiet place and quiet area and a great sense of safety. Big thank you to Lazara for the wonderful waffles for breakfast. I love you guys SoBe the best in Miami...❤ HIGHLY RECOMMENDED ❤

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The doors for all the rooms are extreme loud when opening/closing them. So when all the guests come back from doing party in Miami, it's hard to sleep. Besides that most of them are really loud while walking through the corridor. Another point is that we asked 2 times for clean towles, but they were always dirty.

    The guys at the counter are super frindly and helpful. The hostel is well equiped incl. an own bar (with affordable drinks) and offers a lot of trips for a nice stay in Miami/Florida. Besides that you are very close to the Ocean drive!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free drink offered - but the beer was truly awful, flat and weak. Would have honestly preferred to pay, as in 'you get what you pay for'.

    Friendly staff, efficient operation, walking distance to beach, restaurants etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi didn't reach bedroom, if you weren't there to party you were unlikely to sleep due to loud noises and roommates coming in late (6am) to then be grumpy if you got up early at 8am. All bathrooms cleaned at same time so inconvenient if you need to use one and cant use any at all. Breakfast consisted of a toasted bagel and too sweet orange juice.

    good location; imagine its great for party-seekers

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12 Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the staff, the location was pretty nice away from stuff, but if you wanted to be more in the scene of things it’s. A bit of a walk. But beds were more uncomfortable then most hostels but that’s not a make or break

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - TOO LOUD (there is a set of rules but no one enforces them) - so starting at around am 22:00 till 04:00 in the morning it's a jungle on the corridors, extremely loud outside as well (music blasting) - smells like marijuana in the common room at the entrance - internet does not work in the rooms upstairs - the mattress had holes in it - no blanket so you will probably freeze during the night (had to use towels) - bathrooms not always clean, toilet doors not working in the bathrooms - $10 from hostel to airport

    - free airport shuttle from airport to hostel (hostel to airport costs $10) - good location in South Beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my opinion, it would have been better if there were more bathrooms/toilets available. The hostel did their best to keep everything clean, but because of the full occupancy, and some guests that didn’t cared to much about keeping things clean, everything got dirty quite fast. So for a big parts is was something the hostel couldn’t do anything about it, but if they had more available bathrooms it would have helped for sure.

    The rooms were very clean. They were doing a lot of cleaning and I liked that each bed had its own cloth-hangers. Overall I didn’t experienced a lot of problems with being noisy(like some people say), even with full occupancy. After 11-12 it is usually quiet in the corridors. They have a nice bar to meet up with other travelers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Food options, not having a veggie option usually for dinner, not having much of a fresh breakfast--- just having proper juice and milk would have made it 100x better!

    Great location, super friendly staff, having a "breakfast" and "dinner" so even if you want to go out you saved that much more money by having something to start off at the hostel. Although I didn't do the night parties, people seemed to like them and they seemed to have great prices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are looking for a place to sleep before 1 am, forget this hostel. When I just got there and went to my accommodation, I realized that the air conditioner was making too much noise that I wouldn't sleep at night. When I complained about it, one of the staff laughed and said that I should go drink in their party and then I wouldn't even listen the air conditioner. Then they gave me free ticket drinks to try to make me less upset. This is so ridiculous! The silence time should be at midnight, but people were making a party inside the kitchen until 1 am. The "dinner" is from 6:30 pm to 6:40 pm. If you're not there this time, you're gonna lose it. The "free shuttle" to the airport coasts $10. Basically, this is the worst hostel that I've ever been.

    Good location, close to the beach. Fair breakfast for a hostel. The staff tries to help. They accept guide dog inside the rooms which is amazing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -the best hostel ever!!! A year ago it was my first experience to live in hostel, and I 'm back) -super staff thanks to them it's not just a place where you can sleep and take shower (as it is at many other hostels), it's party hostel, it's your home! -it's really clean! really clean!!!! -I love this queues for breakfasts and dinners, crazy announcement for nights' parties -great location! close to everything you need in Miami beach)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner is difficult to get because once they don't have any food left, you won't have it. Some bedrooms don't have a window. Lights in some bedrooms should be better.

    This hostel is located in a very good place, 5 minutes walking from the beach and from South beach downtown. The staff is super funny, kind and helpful. You have a good breakfast included and dinner too (even if it is more difficult to get). It is clean and the bedrooms are fine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathrooms were not the cleanest. Lockers could be noisy, beds are not the most comfortable. Lockers located under bottom bunk so have to be up close to person on bottom bunk to stash/retrieve items.

    Good value for the money. Locker was large enough for an "oversized carry-on" (something you can fit in overhead bin on large plans but need to gatecheck for puddle jumpers). Friendly staff. Party bus was hella fun.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt liked the fact that my card to go in room had to be activated daily for some reason it was not working.

    I liked the environment always cheerful and very pleasant it was small but clean. Staff always willing to help. Mehdi was a staff member there who was always smiling looking out on the group making sure we were ok and always so friendly please recognize his hard work that he does with a beautiful smile.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12 Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To small, no space for opening lagguage, loud, no WiFi in the rooms, not enough plug stations in the rooms. Not enoug bathrooms and showers for the amount of people. Looked dirty and in clean in general

    Close to the beach, and you have a bed and a roof. But that was it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could be a bit cleaner; some exta storage space would be good in the room, mainly if you sleep in the upper beds. No personal lights, only one big one. If someone comes late to the room, the others will wake up. Ladies WC is way to small and also no storage space, mainly if you want to take a shower.

    Staff was super friendly and helpful. Whatever we needed, we just needed to ask for it and they helped us immediately. Super location, near the beach, bars, restaurants and shops. Perfect public transportation nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy from the reception didn't agree to let me to do the check in till I pay for all the money so I had to looking for ATM to get money and then to do the check in

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music on all night. Can also head street noise from my room which is on the second floor facing the street.

    Very close to the beach & bus stops as well as shopping and restaurants

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was like a hostel for party people and not even the guys from SoBe hostel have been not drinking (our point of view). They charged us twice plus the room was poor.... We thought the bed is going to break! Showers were disgusting. If you have other options to stay at Miami Beach, choose the other option! If you are in Miami to party and never in the hostel but over night then you can book that hostel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the rooms, only in the common area. Bathroom were very dirrty sometimes and there were no space to put the stuff

    Breakfast and dinner okay, although not a lot of variety, but if you staying only for a short time it's okay. Staff was really nice except one guy who seemed to be a little bit arrogant and the cleaning ladys could also try to be more friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi is terrible, couldn't even get it in my room and when you did have it in the lobby is was slow AF. Beds are old and creaky so getting into bed is noisy as hell and not the most comfortable. The AC units barely worked at all, moldy smelling rooms and maybe half the lockers in the rooms are usable. Standard get up early to use the shower to get hot water or it's gone. Cleanliness in the rooms and bathrooms is bearable, but a lot of stuff could use some basic maintenance and TLC. Doors slam all times of the day so bring ear plugs.

    Standard free hostel breakfast with bread and jam, every night there was an event or a special, free dinner here and there and a free drink on check-in. Cool place to chill and socialize and drink prices are reasonable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    disrespectful guests,specially girls, had to switch room 3 times, always cause the staff is ready to solve problems , if your young and don't care about confort, or sleep as should be, I definitive recommend it, but if you are more calm , is not for you

    Excellent staff very friendly and always helping , but can't say the same for guest...the location is for my taste the best in sobe

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For this price it is nice as it is.

    It is excellent for backpackers and young people. If you older but a young spirit it is good too. We spent our entire days out on the beach or on bus and boat tours. Was nice to get back to the hostel for the night. Brekfast is nice, and if you need dinner that is included in the price too. They have a lot of fun programs for everybody. I had fun meeting nice people around the world. A big plus the hostel is only couple minutes walk from the beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little warmer in temperature, it was difficult to use the computers.

    I appreciated the staff and how helpful and welcoming they were. The free meals we convenient and tasty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very simpel beds, hard to get a good night sleep. Bathrooms far from European hostels standard. The staff seems to put most effort in making guests drink as much as possible in the bar....

    Location. I Guess SoBe Hostel is nice then you are young and travel with limited budget.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12 Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I was put in smelled disgusting. I took a short nap in it, and woke up with a pallet and sinus full of bad smell and taste. I could not remove that taste for 2 days!

    Diverse crowd

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12 Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sleeping quarters were a little cramped compared to the other hostel I stayed at.

    Great value for the money and meeting so many unique people from around the globe

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bunk beds were uncomfortable. But that is they only thing I didnt like!

    The staff was really nice and will do anything to make your trip better! Every night they organize al to go to a club where they will bring you with a party bus! Locations is nice to it’s a 5 min walk to 5th street and a 5min walk to south beach

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12 Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpfull staff. All hostel has the atmoshpere that you are more than welcome and part of SoBe family. Honestly I love this place. It was my second visit and definitelly the last one ;)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathrooms could be cleaned more frequently. Need better mattresses.

    Good place if you want to party, go to the beach, and make friends. Not so good if you just want to sleep and be quiet. My case was the first one, so I'm happy. Also, great staff!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed a little dated, but was functional. Could use some fresh paint in the rooms and also on the the storage units under the beds. They were rusty.

    The fact that meals are offered when the price of the room is already super low is a bonus! They even offered a welcome drink. Who knew? The location is great and everyone was very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A busy place with staff that wasn't so professional. A party place for sure. Standard beds and small rooms.

    Good location close to the beach, restaurants and bars. Free food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a bit of a party hostel so great for socialising and having drinks but it does mean it is quite loud all night long.

    Cheap good value accommodation, great location on South Beach. Meals included are very basic but fill a hole in a hungry stomach. Very sociable, bar crawls every night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom got clogged up several times, the kitchen needs cups and other things. Food amounts sometimes is not enough for everyone. Loud noises from other guests. Lockers in the Rooms were very uncomfortable and rooms have very little space for luggage...

    The stay included breakfast and dinner. Three streets from the beach! Many staff memebers are really nice!’

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 12 Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel need to improve the accomodation. It’s necessary have a power plug an each bed.

    I had an excellent experience in this hostel! If you like to party, is the ideal place for you! The staff is great and the bar have excellent prices. It’s excellent to drink a beer when you wait to go to the party that the hostel advertises. It’s amazing to meet people of all world and the same place!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were basic, but I was surprised by the lack of cleanliness, the incredible noise everywhere, and how many things were broken. I was shocked to find diarrhea splattered down the hallway that was not cleaned up until the next day.

    This is the cheapest or one of the cheapest hostels on Miami Beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no WiFi in the bedrooms and no plugs for each bed.

    It’s a nice place to stay in Miami! I really recommend it and want to come back! There’s free breakfast, lunch and dinner (I couldn’t believe that!) The staff are so friendly and helpful! The location is pretty good and near to the beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no WiFi in the bedrooms There’s no plugs for each bed

    The staff are pretty kind and cool. There’s free breakfast, lunch and dinner! It’s an awesome atmosphere and a great place to stay in the city. Fantastic location, I really would come back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bed is uncomfortable and really like sleep on a train for 4 days. There is a bar in the lobby, so every day is very noisy. Most of the places are untidy. All in all, the location is perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The housekeeping staff could use a little more consideration to the guests, they often discuss work topics in the corridor or in the kitchen ( which was by my room) in a very loud manner in the early morning hours anytime from 6 am to 9 am. I was woken up by the head housekeeper, Lazara. It's very uncouth to talk so loud. I understand if I am woken up by my room mates I don't like it but it's not as bad as being woken up by staff. I don't want to be woken up by inconsiderate employees at any hotel and this happened a few times which is very annoying. This is in very poor taste and it seems like they just don't care. I spoke personally to Yamile the Head Housekeeper, but it seems like they are just set in their ways. I think everyone should learn English. I would like in the future for all people to be kind and control yourself when others are sleeping. The complimentary food was tasty, however, there could be more of a variety and creativity. It was basically the same combination of pasta, garbanzos, black beans and rice. They should serve Oatmeal for breakfast, it's inexpensive and delicious. The rules for quiet time and hostel etiquette should be more strictly enforced and guests should be penalized. Guests should not get away with misbehavior and lack or respect for their other dorm mates. Some guests would just throw their belongings in the middle of the room so everyone can trip over them and the staff never said anything about it. They need to put more mirrors in the ladies dorms and have closets so we glamorpusses can hang our dresses so when we go to Nikki Beach and Mangoes.. The washer needs to be fixed so we can wash our clothes properly.

    SoBe Hostel is one of the best hostels to stay during your sojourn in Miami. The staff at SoBe Hostel are wonderbar! Every person that works the front desk at SoBe hostel are exceptionally hospitable, professional, helpful, patient and friendly. I especially want to thank Rosita, she's the only female working there and she has exceptionally graceful positive and helpful attitude, she's also very professional. I also loved Luisito, Junior, Julio, Mehdi and the manager, Jay, these young men are always so warm and charming with everyone and treat everyone like family. In addition, to the wonderful staff, SoBe Hostel, offers complimentary breakfast, lunch and dinner----- the food is tasty and nutritious. Upon check in they give you one free drink coupon for their bar. I really loved the big sunny kitchen, they have amenities like a refrigerator, stove, oven and hot plate so you don't always have to eat out at McDonalds. The energy is always high and positive which makes it easy to meet other travellers. They also offer events to many of Miami's hottest nightclubs and other touristy attractions. I highly recommend staying at SoBe hostel, it's really a magical place to stay in Miami- The Magic City.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Few bathrooms for the number of ladies staying in tje hostel.Only two sinks per bathroom and someone destroyed door locks in the toilet which wasn't fixed during many days.

    The breakfast and dinner option were nice. We could leave our suitcases before check in and after check out im safe place. Great option to borrow umbrella or beach ball.the staff was super friendly and nice. We could also book a trip trough hostel which was super great.recommended for young travelers and especially for those travelling alone!you get to.know many.new people.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They claim that the shuttle bus to the airport is free, but in the end you have to pay it - 10 dollars for the 1st person and 5 for every other person. This could be written in the booking that you need to pay extra money - in that case travellers could look into another options.

    Very nice welcome at the check-in - charmy, welcoming - really made us feel like at home. There were breakfast and dinner provided which is an excellent add on if you are on a budgte. The rooms were simple, but clean, and everything in this hostel worked perfectly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Front desk staff was super nice, other staff members - not so much; hair is literally always in the showers (everything else is clean though); party people sometimes get rowdy (well, it's Maimi...)

    Location - super close to the beach; free breakfast, lunch, and dinner (like what!?); price was simply great; bar on site; good place if you come to Miami to party - they have nice deals for going out to clubs (I am not into that)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The door handles of 2 of 3 bathroom were broken. Bathrooms were shared. So they should be more diligent about tissue replacement. In the morning, there was no toilet tissue. Some of the shower room door was not working. Don't be tempted by the free dinner. It's poor quality and finished within 20 minutes. If you are a little late to get there, you would not get any dinner and have to buy from somewhere else.

    Friendly stuff. I mistakenly booked 2 times. I did not notice that the free cancellation option was not there. I called SoBe Hostel and they cancelled one booking for free.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The door handles of 2 of 3 bathroom were broken. Bathrooms were shared. So they should be more diligent about tissue replacement. In the morning, there was no toilet tissue. Some of the shower room door was not working. Don't be tempted by the free dinner. It's poor quality and finished within 20 minutes. If you are a little late to get there, you would not get any dinner and have to buy from somewhere else.

    Friendly stuff. I mistakenly booked 2 times. I did not notice that the free cancellation option was not there. I called SoBe Hostel and they cancelled one booking for free.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Most significantly disturbing was the "sound of music" from the broken speakers. The distortion is tremendous and still, they just keep playing it out as loud as possible in the only common area. There were no padlocks to buy at the facility. No shelves by the bed or small lockers. Pretty worn down rooms. Breakfast would have been ok if there would have been enough fruits for everyone, instead, people crashed the line once they knew it would run out only to get the fruits. Dinner was actually ok a few nights, and quite terrible others.

    Great location, and if you want to get here from the airport, just take the local bus 150, runs very often and will bring you approximately 25 meters from the entrance, very convenient and cheap. Great breakfast waffle.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 12 Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 12 people room is very old and the air is poor. My roommates came back at around 3pm and talked loudly with the light on for quite a while. It’s okay to stay just a short night. Only 2 chargers worked in the room. I had to charge my phone in the living room where the music is loud. Yeah it is a cheap bar where you can sleep at night. And a good choice if you are a guy. Ladies should find somewhere decent.

    The location is good, facilities are nice. Free breakfast is nice. The free dinner is kind of disappointing but free beer is nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Punch before the parties, seriously sub par compared to the other hostels. Took people to bars and clubs that were dead. The metal lockers under the beds make a heap of noise right next to peoples heads.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A good place to stay if you want to meet new people and party during the evenings. Very priceworthy as all good was included (but only smaller meals) even if the facilities and the cleaning wasn't the best.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not big enough but ok. Air con was too high at night and no blankets were given. If you want to go to bed early you will need earplugs as you can hear the music being played at the bar.

    Really good hostel very close to South Beach - about 5 to 10 mins on foot. Perfect if you travel solo as you will meet many people from different parts of the world. Food is also included and they have a bar in the ground floor serving cheap drinks until 2am or so. They organise bus parties every night!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12 Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately my stay was not really what I was expecting. It wasn’t a nightmare but it could’ve been so much better. - The lockers under my bed (room 105 I guess) were all broken and very noisy. - The eletronic key to get access to the dorm is a joke. I had to change 5 times in ONE day. It wasn’t only me - other guests related the same to me. It’s annoying to keep asking to replace credentials every time you need to access your dorm just because the hostels system doesn’t work properly. - No hot water in the shower. That was what I hated the most.

    For sure the best thing the hostel has to offer is it’s amazing staff. Everybody is very helpful. I also like how simple and cheap it is to get to (and from) the airport by bus. My room was not really as it was shown in the pictures but I can say I got what I paid for - even tho I was expecting to have some hot water in the shower.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bedroom is very very small and not really clean. No personal light, bed not confortable. The hostel is very noisy, you can hear all people walking, talking... in the corridor. I paid for the breackfast, which is served beween 8 and 10am but sometimes 9.30am there is no more food. The staff is ok but not really pleasant Cheap hostel, but other more confortable and clean are at the same price.

    You meet nice people there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Group
    • Single Bed in 12 Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room for 12 is really very small and can be crowded and noisy and overall cleanliness of the room wasnt very good, no wifi in room

    great location near the beach

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little uncomfortable, no mirror in the room, small ants everywhere. Also I didn’t like the dampness which was in the room.

    The atmosphere was incredible! All staff were so nice, helpful and very friendly! A lot of interesting people from all over the World.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had no light in our room at the beginning, took some time to fix that, but then it was OK :)

    The staff is really nice - especially everyone at the reception was awesome!! It was also good that you could borrow blowdryer/iron/.. The 30 minutes all you can drink offers were also a lot of fun

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon In the rooms was too high and couldn't be adjusted by room.

    Very secure hostel with key carfz needed for bathroom, hall ways and dorms. The rooms were quite basic and I can imagine these to get cramped if all beds were occupied. Breakfast changed each day and was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very narrow to people's ratio living inside, the cleannless of hostel needs improvement

    The break fast is cool awake well as location and transportation, the reception staff are friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12 Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was not 100% comfy and I felt my body scratching. But besides that, everything was fine.

    Good value for the money. Very affordable with dinner and breakfast. Location is pretty good as well, very close to the beach and shops, drugstore etc. It's also a party hostel, they have good deals for the clubs and they organize everything. The bathroom was pretty clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice to have internet in the rooms and not only in the lobby

    The free transportation from the airport to sobe was a plus, the driver was a very nice and helpful. Got to the establishment and was given a coupon for a free drink from the bar. The staff was very friendly, helpful andaccommodateing. The rooms and bathrooms are exception ally clean.free breakfast and dinner another plus,this was my first time at a hostel, I was umpressed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it would be necessary to have at least a chair or a table in the room. Also a shelf for the top bed, there was no place to put a phone or key card or such, which risks the stuff falling on the ground when you sleep. Also a normal locker for the bags. The lockers were under the beds which is extremely unhandy, to reach for the bag you need to crawl on the floor. The lockers are also were noisy and probably will wake up other people sleeping in the room.

    I liked to have some dinner in the evening. The staff was cool and relaxed. Everything was clean and easy and the rules were clear, which makes living in a dorm nicer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was terrible experience. We booked 2 beds in 4-beds room. And room was without any windows. There was dark any time. We couldn't sleep in this environment. Even very loud music wasn't so matter. Also there was terribly loud air conditioning, and we couldn't adjust it or turned it off.

    free dinner, but it's ended in 20 minutes after beginning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Water in the shower was hot one day, and it was cold another day. This problem must be solved, because girls like to take a hot nice shower after long day. Also there is no a locker in the ladies' restroom on the second floor (second cabin). SoBe hostel, I like you so much, I'm sure you can fix it easily, so please do it as soon as possible)

    Staff is super friendly and is ready to help you) Size and taste of the breackfast and dinner are good enough for such a low price. Hostel is located very close to the beach and Ocean Drive and we enjoy every our walk)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con too noisy

    The staff was so friendly, always ready to help. The location is really good. Housekeepers were cleaning rooms and toilets/bathrooms every day. Nice music, nice to have a breakfast and dinner for free too ( portions were very low tho’...) Well, I recommend it for everyone. I travel alone but never was during my stay. I will defo come back there. And big mention to the staff members, Alex and mehdi ! Thanks for the chats and for your help ! See you soon !!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 12 Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nobody takes care if you want to sleep or not. Even the stuff. Rooms and bathrooms are small. Breakfast is poor - a bread (or waffle) and a cup of coffee. For a dinner you will have a plate of rice of pasta.

    A lot of youngsters. Party every night from 9 p.m. till 3 a.m. A lot of activities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was one meal that there was not enough vegetarian food and I ended up eating mashed potatoes with nothing else. It is worth notice that this was a one time thing, it did not happen again.

    The hostel, as the name states, has a bar. I went in with the expectation of not being able to sleep much due to the music and general noise. I was very positively surprised when I noticed that the noise did not disturb me at all, it is not noisy in the rooms which I appreciated! Additionally there are parties every night, always different activities which makes the stay very interesting! The staff is great, super friendly and always ready to help.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12 Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could of had more options but then again it is hostel so .. i didn’t known better

    The free complimentary drink that they give you when you walk in the door The bartender was super nice and the staff was awsome aswell i meet some awesome people who were traveling there as well

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found the bunk bed quite hard to get in and out of the top bunk, you have to be a bit of a ninja. Also the storage cupboards under the beds were annoying cos you couldn't keep them shut without a lock and they kept swinging open and making noise. Was really nice to get breakfast included, but there wasn't much variety (only waffles / bagels and the occasional fruit if you got there in time). Would have been nice to have maybe basic muesli / oatmeal with milk and fruit, although can't complain about this when the price per night is so good!

    The location is excellent - a short walk to the beach and all the bars and restaurants along Ocean Drive, also close to South Pointe Dr which has lots of nice restaurants and cafes. Would highly recommend Cibo Wine Bar. Was super easy getting there from the airport, you can catch the 150 bus and it stops right outside, costs about $4pp. The hostel has an awesome, fun, social vibe and they organise great value parties at night so you can go out, have fun and don't have to spend a fortune. Good shared shower and toilet facilities - never needed to wait for a free one, and they were reasonably clean. Overall really great value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect place! Dinner and breakfast included in the price (really the best waffles on the south beach). And it was quite easy to get there from the airport by bus 150. I would definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I watched them check another young lady in and I noticed they offered her the free drink tokens but did not offer me the same thing? :-( I still recommend it over most hostels in the area because the value for your dollar is there.

    A beautiful young man helped me get my oversized suitcase upstairs. They solved the air conditioner noise the same day. I felt safe even though the showers aren't in the rooms. The building smells clean and is clean! Free dinner was healthy and yummy!

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse SoBe Hostel & Bar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: