Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of South Beach Plaza Hotel 3 stars

1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139, USA

#246 of 390 hotels in Miami Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2050 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room I was in had a terrible smell as did the lobby. They moved me to another room and it was a little better but it still smelled of mildew we spent most of our time outside

    Staff was great and the location was fabulous very nice bar and patio fried calamari to die for!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    4.2
    Bad facilities. Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds literally squeaked so badly. The bathroom door wouldn't shut. It wasn't the best stay. Lot of things were dirty. The AC flap wouldn't turn, so we were hot during most of our stay

    Location wise it's a good place.but services and facilities aren't good at all.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    Very central but quite old
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel would need renovation, you tend to avioid touching any object in the room because they look old / greasy. The breakfast was available between 7.30 and 9.30. Come on, usually when you go in Miami Beach you re going for leisure purposes and rest, so you should not have to set your alarm clock at 9, to have the breakfast until 9.30 when they close it.

    The staff was very nice and supportive. At first we had a room at the 1st floor, in the back of the aisle. A dark and very noisy room because it was near some compressor located behind the hotel and early morning the garbage truck was coming to pick up containers and made a lot of noise. But the staff was friendy and the following day gave us a larger and quieter room at the third floor. The location of the hotel is very close to the core of Miami Beach. You reach Ocean Drive and the beach by walk in 1-2 minutes. Moreover, you have a 24/7 store right across the street.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    3.8
    Location was very close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable like a wooden board. Room needed obvious attention from sink backing up, shower being very dated and toilet being very old. Room could have been cleaner.

    Location was very close to everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    4.2
    Not pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smell shower not working.breakfast too late considering people have activities parking too expensuve and not coveniente for customers..and too noisy

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    3.8
    i wouldn’t stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasn’t friendly, the rooms smelled like smoke, the bathroom was disgusting, the beds were outdated and old, they didn’t have towels, room service or water. We could also hear the neighbors every move, word and activities next to us. Overall, this place needs a lot of work done to it.

    I liked that it was near beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    2.9
    This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, location isn't everything! Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old dusty, dirty, moldy/smelly, poor and unsafe electrical outlets/cords, poor roomplan not functional, blinds broken, only 2 person elevator, outdated tvs, no accomdating appliance in room. VERY DISAPPOINTED!

    The only thing that I like about this hotel was that it was close to beach and walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    We very much enjoyed the stay. Location and amenities were great for the price we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front desk clerk was not nice. We had problems with calling the front desk several times and she never acknowledged it. She maintained an unfriendly attitude each time we dealt with her. Also, there is a free shuttle that nobody bothered mentioning to us until we asked. That shuttle proved to be crucial to our sightseeing needs.

    All was good for the price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.3
    cheap noisy room for an expensive price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked a room with view to the street anf gave me a room on the back of property with view to a bar. Very noisy until late. The door of the room was horrible, a strong wind would put it down.

    Room was spacious and clean but doesnt worth the price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    Great Experience Overall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Other guests who were smoking in the same area where we were having breakfast in the morning.

    We got upgraded to a suite and the stay was enjoyable. The breakfast was really nice as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Great getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Something I didn’t like was the restrooms were a bit small and uncomfortable in the rooms.

    I definitely loved the location. Great distance from the beach and night life and restaurants! Customer service was great. Never had any problems.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator in the room. With the temperature in Miami, every hotel room needs a refrigerator to keep water, soft drinks cold.

    Location is perfect. For the low $60 plus resort fee plus taxes I paid the hotel exceeded my expectations. Hotel staff very professional. Hotel safe and secure. Wall safe in the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.0
    The hotel does NOT match the pictures on the site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and dated hotel. Very small bathroom. Uncomfortable bed. Not even one chair or table in the room. No parking or valet available.

    Location is great. Very central. Just a block from the beach and close to all restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.4
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not. I had to carry my bags up a flight of stairs thru a narrow passage. Not very private, blinds were not fitted to windows properly so you could see thru. I'll not going so far as to say the bed had bed bugs but I found numerous itchy bites on my leg after the first night. I will not stay again.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.8
    It was disappointing for a birthday celebration
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors did not shut completely when entering and exiting the room. The windowed has water leaking inside which caused a mini flood by our suitcases. The staff was rude they did not feel welcoming or attentive to me when I was asking questions about facility and locations. The toilet was clogged for 2 days.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant modern decor but with little thought given to practicalities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor. Cheap over-sweet cereals, disgusting sunny delight orange drink, stiff thawed out bagels. Little choice and not very nice start to day. As with most hotels nowhere to put anything in the bathroom - in this case I really mean ‘nowhere’ Noisy ground floor room with our windows no more than 2 feet away from bin lorries and delivery vans starting very early in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.8
    Staff was great room was a so called suite bed was hard as...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was great room was a so called suite bed was hard as hell kitchen water was dripping when i turn it on. No phn in room no coffee maker door to room was damn near off the hinges all bad u could see thur the door crack i felt unsafe so we put the chain across the door and locked it. Air condition kept going in and out the whole room was bogus and antique looking the safe was rusted out the futon was tore. Only brand knew looking in the room was the remodeled bathroom. When called to front desk to complain they went up to my suite but nothing was done still did not put a phn in there i wanted clean face towels they said they didnt have none. My knob on my room door was wiggly wish i would have chosen better next time i will and they got the nerve to charge all that money and the hotel is ranned down looks good from the outside but them rooms r hit.they need to upgrade on everything. Of course payment process going to be easy when they take ur money. Until u actually see when u arrive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    Location, cleanliness and staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint was that I could not use the in room phone to call the front desk or my fellow travelling companions in the other room. Otherwise it was good.

    Location, cleanliness and staff were great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    4.2
    HORRIBLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a whole 10hrs there was no power!!!! They didn't offer a complimentary anything for the inconvenience of the guest.... I WILL NOT STAY THERE AGAIN AND I WILL TELL ANYONE WHO WILL LISTEN NOT TO STAY THERE!!!!!-

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    4.2
    Property was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was okay. This booking was just a disaster because I was charged a extra 137 for two extra people when I already booked for 4 people when I booked for hotel for my trip. Will never use this website EVER again. They mess up your booking and you have to pay for it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.5
    bed was amazingly comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All rooms should be equipped with a microwave and mini refrigerator.

    bed was amazingly comfortable!! Staff was extremely nice except for the gentleman that works in the early mornings around 3am.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Location was perfect but the rooms can use some updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our phone in the room didnt work, our room didnt get cleaned for 2 days, and our ac wouldnt get cold just stay on medium. Between my friends and I we called the front desk 3-5 times. I stayed here before and this time was very dissapointing. I like a clean room I did more cleaning in my room when Im supposed to be on Vacation

    I love the restaurant on the first floor it had the best vegan sandwich!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Great stay for a very nice price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You should have easier access for suitcases. In our case, we had several big suitcases and having only steps are never an easy way to carry them.

    Perfect location. Nice and good sized room. Allways great when hotels have breakfast included! Sadly we could stay just one night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Son's 16th birthday, in SoBe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The extra fees at check-in we a bit of a hassle. Finding parking close to the property.

    Overall the property was nice. The building is old but they kept it clean. The rooms are small and the door to the room is thin so you hear everything. The breakfast consist of muffins, fruit, cereal, juice and coffee. I was there for a quick trip with my son. Perfect location, the beach is around the corner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.3
    It's Miami i had a great time barely was in my room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are to old no microwave or refrigerator place needs some updating.

    It's was clean staff was coo but other than location I wouldn't stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.8
    Worst receptionists, good hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst receptionists ever (especially Sebastian). Everything they do even a basic smile is fake. You will understand if you end up staying here... They are after charging you with something extra if you are looking the other way for one second, be aware!! Meaning of hospitality for these receptionists is unknown. Humanity and honesty is at basic minimum...

    Other than the receptionists, all hotel employee was nice. Hotel is clean and the location is the best after Ocean drive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast was probably typical continental typical for US,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast

    Breakfast was probably typical continental typical for US, so the quality probably will disappoint Europeans which are used to higher quality. Location perfect, reception staff perfect, room a bit too expensive for the quality but maybe because it is Miami Beach, good AC, good WiFi,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Very good hotel in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was a little odd. It was set up in the bar area, which is very small, so we kind of had to fight our way through to get coffee in the morning.

    Very good hotel in a fantastic location. Surrounding neighborhood felt safe, and we were able to walk around and take in all of the awesome art deco architecture. We scheduled a hop-on/hop-off bus tour through the concierge, and the nearest hop-on point was only a few blocks away. Plenty of restaurants nearby to discover as well as a restaurant/bar in the hotel. There is a wonderful little private patio to have dinner/drinks, and the beach is only 2 -3 blocks away! Staff was friendly and accommodating, and the rooms were nicely sized and comfortable. This is an older hotel (I think from the 1930s) and is not perfect, but we enjoyed our two-night stay very much!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Continental breakfast was offered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini fridge or microwave was available. And when asked it was over $39 a night. Thought that was very unreasonable.

    Continental breakfast was offered. Staff was friendly and as accommodating as possible.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.7
    If you just want a clean room and Comfy bed for a reasonable price for the area then go for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok but the way it’s set up is a little chaotic, especially when a lot of guests were trying to get breakfast. No fridge or coffee making in the room, hotel generally a little dated . Described as a 3 star, but I would say barely a 2 star

    Good bed clean room and good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    4.2
    Will not consider to stay in this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is old, grandfather TV, HVAC is in the room that you can feel the vibration, bathtub and basin were choked, no electric kettle and complimentary water were provided, door and window are not soundproofed, very noisy in the room day and night.

    Located near the beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Great night before joining our cruise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very close to the door, which made it difficult to get into the room, and a chair for the dressing table would have been handy. Noise from traffic was a bit annoying.

    Location was excellent. Room was clean and staff helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    The hotels atmosphere on the outside was amazing, relaxed and chill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like my room on the first floor, my view was a dumpster behind another hotel, and the beds were very squeaky. Lastly the breakfast was so sub par, they could’ve atleast had eggs and bacon.

    I loved the location and proximity to the beach!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.4
    The hotel served its purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an overwhelming smell of urine permeating from bathroom. Had to have the maid let me spray the bathroom walls to get rid of it. My room wasn't serviced to late afternoon every day.

    The location was great since it is in south beach and near restaurants and across the street from Walgreen's.It was quiet at night so was able to sleep uninterrupted.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    Fair. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took them really long to clean room. Sometimes I room wouldn’t be cleaned until very late in the afternoon, or when we asked. There were also days it was missed.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.0
    below the average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not working AC in the room.that was really anoying. Also room was kind of dirty. I saw a lots of dust and floor wasn’t clean. Than they moved us to another room. And room had a strong smell of mold and toilet wasn’t working. We had to wait a few hours to get it fixed:(

    Some of the staff was very helpful. Sebastian and the night shift guy helped us to solve the problems like not working AC and broken toilet. And also Sebastian let us to check out later than 11 am

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Front desk worker made our day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra area taxes, the hotel next to us were less expensive

    I wish you could add some protein to your breakfast menu like eggs.. there was not much to choose from for the price we paid

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price is little more.

    Awesome breakfast. It includes Coffee, Juice, Yogurt, Orange, Cupcake, Cereal with Milk , Bagel etc. Rooms are big. They provided beach towels. Great location. Walkable to Española Way as well as South Beach. They keep our bag even after check-out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.0
    very nice outside area for coffee and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    showers in the bathroom need improvements, also we had many issues with key cards had to change several times

    very nice outside area for coffee and relaxing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Cute hotel, great location and value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs some updating but can’t beat the price and location.

    Great Location!!! Price was great, staff is excellent and very friendly. Steps away from beach and ocean avenue, close to shops, restaurants and anything you would need in South Beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only bad thing about this hotel is that the room smells on moisture - Guess bc the building is old but you have to find the way to somwhow refresh the building ... After only three nights all my clothes got that smell

    All the staff was great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.4
    not happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking price per day is extremely high they charge 37 dollars par day, i do recommend to use public parking is 10 dollars a day and is only 2 blocks from hotel, please get new mattresses and try to shampoo the carpet more often, i got there on friday at 3 pm and my room wasnt ready for check in when the check out time is 11 am, so i have to wait at the lobby, o top of that there is a 20 dollars charge per day and they called RESORT FEE..!!!

    The only reason i do chose this hotel is because the location, i been there like 6 times and i dont know what happened but the old stuff was a lot nicer, dont know if i come back again..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    2.5
    I don’t like anything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel bad the staff for hotel mean the not comfortable AC not Working good noisy The hotel not safe The breakfast Not good The price is not worth it

    I don’t like anything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Was cool. STAFF was cool , great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small, sheets was ripped , ppl complaining about loud noises then they shouldn’t get a room 1 block from ocean drive , hot water kept burning me kept going from hot to EXTREMELY HOT

    NEXT BLOCK OCEAN DRIVE ,BEACH , everything walking distance

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    3.8
    Made the best of it. Wouldn’t stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms paint peeling. The first room I had paint peeling and the bathroom had rust on the tiles. The desk did change my room but the secound room paint was peeling to. Room above had children running in room.

    Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    4.6
    You wont get much rest here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff kept knocking on my door maybe 5 times waking me up before my check out time to see if I was ready to leave. Then when I had to extend my trip for work they had no idea how to transfer me rooms.

    Location was the only thing great about it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    2.5
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smelly, filthy and rigidy. No noise privacy. One towel for two people. I emailed the service desk and they basically called me a poor , inexperienced traveler. I have copies of those emails. I will report this facility and staff

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in Miami
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The public bathroom near the lobby didn't lock the door.

    The location was great and very close to shops, restaurants and the beach. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    2.5
    NEVER STAYING HERE AGAIN!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is so old and in need of MAJOR renovations. There was an AWFUL smell, almost like bug spray in the room. There was only one elevator and only 1 person with luggage could ride at a time. The a/c made a buzzing noise all night. And the beds were extremely uncomfortable.

    The only plus about this property is the location. THATS IT!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    4.2
    If wasn’t for lovstiukt would have been horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They lied about the price of the room They also charged more to my card then they say they did an I showed them proof an they could not explain There was an added fee when we got there to check in The hotel old rooms out dated an it really wasn’t worth the money we paid to stay there, an the so call breakfast was nothing to talk about at all that’s if you made it to get it in the two hour window they served the bagel an yougart never book them again

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress needs replacing.

    Close to everything 5min walk to beach. Staff excellent always helpful. Young man Henry who works there can't help you enough very polite always made me smile and laugh, he is a great asset to your hotel. Tour desk manager great went out of his way to book me a tour they didn't have. 24 hr Walgreens across road . Dinning at onsite food really great love the Salmon good prices

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Good for large groups and family. Excellent location close to the beach, opposite 24 hr Walgreens
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Building is aged and in art deco style. Although building and rooms are a bit dated. It is very clean, spacious and comfortable

    Rooms comfortable, Cool a/c even with the Miami heat. Attentive cleaning staff. Attentive and freindy front desk

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.8
    The location es nice, but it is a very basic hotel, with a horrible breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast. Really bad, they use plastic utensils which is completly no ecologic, they have one toaster, so people have to do a long line and quality of food is poor. I had breakfast only first day.

    I liked the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    2.9
    Horrible experience. Would never stay there agein
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    South Beach Plaza Hotel Venetia Powell - manager Price issue at check in - they tried to charge more than the booking.com confirmed price Staff at check in was rude and not accommodating. Electrical Outlets in room did not work well. Cord kept falling out. One outlet was unsafe and made popping and crackling sounds if used TV did not working Pillows did not have normal pillowcases Bathtub would not drain and nobody available to fix it that first night Shower water temperature got very hot twice while I showered Elevator not working sometimes Cooling/ heating system malfunctioned. Room temperature extremely cold on the last night. I had to put on my coat in bed. They later provided a space heater. My travel pillow stolen when I checked out I met with manager and no compensation offered for any of the issues. Horrible experience

    The location was convenient

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.3
    The potential for a good place to stay is there. Need to update & workeres need to be friendlier
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room furnishings were old and out dated, and in poor conditions. The TV was not working well. We couldn't use the remote. The main door and framing was in poor condition. The contin. breakfast was not orgainized well. The lines were long and slow moving. (one toaster???) The area and space were too cramped for people to get to food iems. Some of the staff were very rude and not very friendly. The lady behind the bar during breakfast esp. In the bathroom is the metal cabinet sticks out to much. I hit my heas a few times/

    I felt the location was idea for our family. Everyhjting was in walking distance.. Our room location was very quiet. The cerk behind the desk was very helpful and courteeous. (esp the morning perspn)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    I am completely satisfied to have chosen this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The departure time, it must be 12pm.

    The breakfast was really good. The staff was very nice and helpful. They have people who speak other languages making easy to fullfil ourneeds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.5
    For the location, the price, the staff, it was a great value.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was small. No towel rack in bathroom made it a little difficult.

    The waitresses up front were extra nice. Happy hour was great. $5 mojitos. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    6.3
    Basic accommodation and breakfast - more costs to accommodate gaps (parking, b/fast)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking situation (valet an parking garage extra costs), basic room facilities (bad TV reception, limited plugs, old furniture) and very basic breakfast. One of the key things for me was the included breakfast - if I had known what I now know was on offer breakfast wise I would not have booked with this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.1
    Great trip to sunny South Beach and stayed in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    size of the beach towels, not enough space to put cloths away, closet was dirty, hallway carpet needs to be replaced, selections for breakfast were limited and repeated the same thing each day, breakfast ended too early

    Location to the beach and local restaurants and transportation to Miami or around the area, the weather!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    4.5
    Unfriendly Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the size of the room nor the quality of the room (especially for the amount I paid). Also, Staff was not friendly which is unacceptable when manage a Hotel. I would not stay at this hotel again unless they work on their customer service and put some work into renovating thier rooms.

    I liked the location of the hotel,the air conditioner, and the water pressure in the shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    5.8
    Tolerable because of location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a old smell that you get used to as time goes by. The sheets were stained, the maid did not sweep the floors properly. The first night the keys didn’t work. Hot water wasn’t working for a few hrs. The cable sucked. The hotel needs some renovation.

    The bed and location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    3.8
    Whilst we appreciate the Art Deco style of the hotel the rooms are in desperate need of Updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar only open short period also restaurant so nowhere to purchase food or drink . Bathroom very ancient it was clean but towels were small and thin the shower was weak and the water flow was very poor water also coming out of taps and odd places on shower head. There was a unit above the basin and toilet to hold towels etc which was dangerous as it protruded over the basin and toilet which meant that you had to be careful flushing not to hit your head and brushing teeth or washing was difficult as you couldn’t bend over basin without bashing you head. The bedding was awful thin and scratchy . There was no fridge in the room no glasses only 1 accessible power point . Had to chase for room to be serviced and when it was they didn’t replace hand towels when I asked for some I was told they didn’t have any when I complained they said they would send some up. Some time later I asked where they were and was told the housekeeping had gone gone and as the manager wasn’t on duty they couldn’t access supplies. I complained and they managed to produce 3’ bath’ towels 2 thin and 1 which was much nicer .

    Restaurant was very good general public areas were nice outside courtyard was nice The bell hops were very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    2.9
    Terrible hospitality and dirty/moldy rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was extremely unprofessional. My friend and I were followed by staff. There was no running water and the toilet did not work. The room was dusty, smelled like mold, and the sheets were dirty. The staff was not willing to accommodate us until we threatened to leave. We left the hotel after 1 night.

    The location was decent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    6.7
    This hotel has a lot going for it but needs the owners to invest in its maintenance very soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very narrow steep stairs to our room. Our room needs new bedding. Bedspread looks old and a bit worn. Washable duvets would be cleaner. Shower leaked through the door. Blinds in the bathroom and kitchen need to be replaced with ones that work and properly fit the windows. Found hair in the shower.

    Great location only one block walk to the beach. Close to many sights, restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location as easy to get to any sports in south beach. Love the Art Deco feel of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole space smells of cleaning products, nice that is clean but they should choose less strong smells. The kitchenette in our room didn't have one dish or plate, if they have a kitchen they should equip it a little.

    I liked the location as very convenient.the rooms are comfortable but need a little update The outside space/gardenis lovely and large

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.8
    Alright I guess
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi, I struggled the entire time had to keep going outside for the WiFi to work . You have to re sign up every 15 mins. Room could do with a lick of paint and more mirrors in the room

    Staff was friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.8
    it was not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the facilities were too old and the staff was not that good. You could hear people in other rooms next to you talking in the middle of the night. The tour desk guy was good, and the front desk guys were alright.

    really close to the beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.7
    Great location, but not a comfortable place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was hard like a brick and the room was extremely noisy, waking us up every morning at 6:45 am honking and beeping horns (for at least 30-45 minutes) in the alley for the deliveries to the hotel behind us.

    The breakfast buffet which was included was cheap (like warm Tang instead of orange juice, Folger's coffee, and only whole oranges for fruit). The only thing I consumed each morning was coffee that was only so-so.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    5.4
    Great location on south beach but the building is in need of proper maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door handle to the room looked like it would break off at any moment. The shower was in poor condition and we were interrupted by a member of the staff saying the shower was leaking down to the room below, and we couldn't shower the following morning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    Good location for South Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If we could have regulated the airconditioning better. Thermostat very high and room was VERY cold.

    I realize the property is older, but feel a little upgrading in the rooms could be used....a little paint touch up and caulking in bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.1
    location is the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    quality of towels wi-fi signal

    beautiful external garden perfect location next to beach and in the heart of art deco. room 308 has a beautiful view from Collins Av x 14th very nice staff on the breakfast area nice decoration

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.7
    Valet was Horrible..not part of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Valet was a joke...left our car in the middle of Collins Ave with the hazards on...just left it there and didn't cone back for 25 minutes...luckily my husband was able to move it..after traffic was backed up and people were laying on their horns...the valet was not a part of the hotel...there is a parking garage a block down for 20 bucks a night...

    Location was good. Air conditioning worked great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a little earlier..like 7:00

    I especially liked the couch in my room. Also the remote was much easier to use than most remotes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    It was a very nice and relaxing experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints they make our stay pleasant and there was a little situation about the parking; they didn’t have. They show us a public parking one block away and we used it.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    5.0
    Could be a bit more friendlier
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated and dull. Beautiful place Miami but hotel needs full update. Take your own towels as likely to get cut by their rough ones.

    Location spot on for beach and bars

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: