Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of South Seas Hotel 3 stars

1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139, USA

#207 of 390 hotels in Miami Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1938 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.8
    Swimming pool, drinks (for charge), free water all day in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a cockroach in the room and it was really funny for all hotel staff that we wanted to solve it in the middle of the night. It is supposedly normal for theml!!! Sorry, not for us... after our request (took more than one hour) they changed room. We should be grateful for that - said manager. Oh god - you should be happy that still you have guests in your hotel... The breakfast was the same everyday. Juice was rotted, no ham, salami, cheese....Really poor!!!! We were 3 but everything in the room was twice (towels, shampoo, bathrobe,.... - hotel knew we will be 3 guests!). It was really hard to get everything 3 times because cleaners spoke only Spanish..... Really poor hotel...

    Swimming pool, drinks (for charge), free water all day in a pool area!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.1
    The Place was clean and tidy, staff friendly and helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the place needs a refurb room on small side did not need two beds a seating area instead of one of them would have been better and certainly would have opened the room up, and the beds around the pool need replacing, but all in all I guess for money paid it was reasonable

    The Place was clean and tidy, staff friendly and helpful, access to beach great , breakfast ok , should really have the word continental in its description, pool area ok

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    4.2
    Don't waste your money. Do not stay on this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff are very rude which is a surprise as they all expect that you give them tips. They are very unhelpful and everything you asked they answered as you are bothering them. I have never been in a place like this. The room was not very clean and look very old and rusty.

    The location only

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    liked the location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sheets when we arrived had blood stains on them. Staff did come up and change them. When their cleaning service came back to change our sheets the next day they left the same sheets on the bed and just changed the top sheet but not the fitted sheets.

    liked the location and staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    4.2
    Misleading, advirtised as double room however they offer a single room with double beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.confirmation mislead people and advertising. I bookedon't double room double room. I find out that they have only one room double bed .and I paid for double room double bed and they offer me only one room with double bed.I called a week before my travel date requesting a refiregerator they told me no problem you can have one, when I got to the hotel the front desk told me, the hotel has only couple and all has been taking . Very disappointed. I paid for double room they offer me only a single room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    2.5
    This is by far the worst place we have ever stayed at. If I could give this place a negative 0 I wou
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is by far the worst place we have ever stayed at. If I could give this place a negative 0 I would. Let me just say the courtesy desk was rude and unprofessional. The rooms are old dirty and filthy. I actually slept on top on the covers with clothes. The towels that were left were used unclean to towels with someone else's hair on it which we realized when we opened it up and hairs fell out of it. The elevator are small and feel like it's going to fall they are dirty. . Save yourself the money and the aggravation. This place needs to be gutted and rebuilt. With new professional personnel.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.9
    Walk from the pool area through the gate and onto the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fan in the bathroom for circulation. I was told beach chairs were not included unless you book directly with the hotel

    Walk from the pool area through the gate and onto the beach. Location was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast is not very complete and eggs didn't taste well, also there are really few tables so it's kind of hard to get a seat. You have to pay for the beds on the beach

    The place is really nice, bedroom are comfortable and it's closer to lots of places (stores, supermarket, coffeshop, etc.), you can do a lot of thing just walking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    Not tok many options but great breakfast with all you need...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be nice with a little update of the inside.

    Not tok many options but great breakfast with all you need to start the day. Nice outdoors, right at the beach. Clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I stayed last year all the staff was friendly and smiled at everyone This year it’s new mgmt and staff was not as attentive and friendly

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    The Best
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't a fridge or microwave so your food will spoil. And the breakfast isn't bad, but not the best.

    The staff was great! The rooms were comfortable, and the bar and restaurant there is the absolute best! The location is a plus! Located on the most popular strip in South Beach and a beautiful view of the Ocean behind us, and All access to the beach. I most definitely be staying again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty pool, no room for everyone at breakfast if you come around 9AM, not enough sunbeds for everyone and there were ants in hotelroom and at breakfast

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Pool open 24 hours.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little outdated. They also give free breakfast but don't allow you to bring it up to the rooms. The pool cleaning procedure also didn't seem very sanitary.

    Pool open 24 hours. Great location. Nice Staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Hôtel familial bien situé entre piscine et mer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I always waiting thé crédit amount on my card i think it snot fair. Thé standing is more 2stars than 3. From Our room we saw à wall ! No view ar all.

    The pool is well. thé localisation is perfect. And thé staff very kind.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    six days of complete relaxation - very nice hotel next to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    - no fridge in the room - the window in the room couldn't be opened - the restaurant adds 18% tip automaticly, otherwise good food and service

    - very nice pool area - perfect for relaxation - perfect pool water temperature - pool big enough for swimming - hotel right next to the beach - nice breakfast - hammock garden with palm trees - shade around the pool all day

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is at the best part of Miami, not on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is at the best part of Miami, not on the overcrowded ocean drive but cc 100 meters from it. Parking was around 35 USD which is quite high, however, within two blocks you can find parking garages for a half price. The garden with the pool good and from the garden you can go out to the beach directly. Breakwast was not so much, but ok for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.8
    Good personnel,but bed hotel because they didn,t inform about contration work at near hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1:,!!!! Wery noisy at the swimming pool.because of a contraction work at near hotel,like a dinasour screaming from 8:00 am to 6:00 pm all 5 days.In the booking com. didn,t mentioned about his issue and beach was wery dirty by brown alg (after swimming you are getting brown colour on all body). 2:Poor breakfast 3:unbelievable poor internet specially swimming pool area

    Personnel is wery friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.8
    Uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were rude. The only plug socket the hair dryer fit in was hanging out of the wall and created a shock when used. The TV wasn’t programmed the remote was broken. The bed was hard the pillows like rocks. I would not recommend to anyone

    Closeness to the beach and shops, bars and restaurants

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Short and sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comfort of the mattress I slept on.

    Great friendly staff, close to all things that are "South Beach", definitely the best bang for your buck around!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.3
    Pool access to beach
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor air conditioning with dirty filter and window leaks while rainy. Very disappointed I came down for breakfast for my last stay they wouldn't let us eat breakfast until 7. It was out and ready to eat. I ask can we have at least a cup of orange juice the lady said no wait until 7 and that you have 8 more min to go

    Pool access to beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Extremely good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What you get for your money is unreal - best location, super clean rooms and really friendly staff!!! The free breakfast is a choice of 3 hot dishes, bagels, toast, cereal, fruit salads, coffee, tea, juices, loads and loads of cakes and croissants. All set in a beautiful setting - beautiful pool with warm water, very comfortable thick cushions on the pool beds, fantastic happy hour. I would come here again for sure. Didn’t hear neighbours or any noises.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    value and lovatiom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very basic but it was free for a change in us

    Great stopover hotel as right in central beach area and 150 bus from airport outside front door. 150 bus tkt $2.50 and runs every 20 minutes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    4.6
    Not what j expected, i am very disatisied
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My overall experience. I purchased an ocean view room, i paid so much extra for it, instead. I got a prison view window.

    Nothing. Except the staffs were nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    It was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet service was slow. Called 10 mins before as instructed and waited an extra 30 mins before the car arrived.

    Beach and hotel location, pool and hammock area, front desk services.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    The bartender was absolutely amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is horrible. Not much that can be done about that though.

    The bartender was absolutely amazing! She was incredibly nice and personable. I would go back just for her!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.6
    Just the location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so expensive to get a pool view and then it was near the machines so load o could not sleep with the noise. The employees were very unfriendly, everyday I would say good morning or hi and the reception people never reply. Breakfast was terrible, short choice, on the final days I went out because I was tired of eating the same thing.

    The bed was nice and the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.1
    Hotel was fine, just felt like a second class citzen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    My friend stayed at the hotel prior to my arrival, her room was beautiful with many amenities. When I checked in with the reservation booked through booking.com we received a not so desirable room and all the amenities she enjoyed in the prior stay was not available to us. Makes me want to book directly through hotel and not through booking.com. I don't feel like you are as 'valued' as a guest when booking through discount sites.

    The location of this hotel is great. Beach was beautiful. Hotel offers a discount for chairs and umbrellas at the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one downfall, there was chewing gum stuck to the wall in my room.

    Everything. The facilities were absolutely fantastic for the price. I absolutely loved the pool area and the hammocks towards the back of the property. The beds were also comfortable and bathrooms were wonderfully clean, also lovely towels. The Reception and front of house staff were also so helpful. Double thumbs up for this hotel. I will be staying here the next time I’m in Miami, without a moment’s hesitation!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.7
    the location and cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    some of the staff working the desk were very unpleasant. The place is very rundown and needs freshening

    the location and cleanliness. The pool staff including the bar waitresses were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel for relaxing stay at South Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Suggest that you make small changes to breakfast buffet from day to day so it is not just the same every day

    Everything was perfect and we really enjoyed our stay. In addition we found it very convenient that we could use a PC with internet connection and a printer (in the business room) for online check-in of flight

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.8
    They charged and held over 30000 US dollars on my card as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged and held over 30000 US dollars on my card as they forgot the decimal point and despite repeated calls didn’t reverse it so I had to wait two weeks for the charge to reverse off automatically.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    Good Breakfast and excelent location. Garden to go direct to the beach and 1 block from Lincoln Road
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    general maintenance details.

    Good Breakfast and excelent location. Garden to go direct to the beach and one block from Lincoln Road. No space for parking but they offer valet parking services using a close private parking for 5-10 additional dollars per day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    2.9
    Do yourself a favor and for $100 more/night- stay at the loews down the street
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wow- where do I start... first- they had my name wrong on the reservation! I waited 30 minutes to check in because they were dealing with 2 other check in issues in front of me. By the time we got to our room, the annoyance continued- Room was dirty- cockroaches everywhere! Did NOt look like the pictures. It was very timy and the bathroom was right in front of the beds, with a tiny pedistal sink and barely enough room to open the door. We witnessed the staff actually “cleaning” the rooms with fabreeze. Room was never vacuumed or cleaned. The pool was OK. But had some serious foundation issues in the cement around it. I was extrememly Dissapointed. Breakfast was gross and they were always out of utincils so I ate with my hands for 2 days. There was no deadbolt on the door so we felt a little unsafe. Had people knocking on our door every night and were woken up by staff every morning yelling in the hall way outside. The walls were paper thin and we could literally hear neighboring conversations.

    Location was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    4.2
    Worst Hotel I've stayed in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Towels have red and black stains. Pictures are not accurate. Rooms are small, the whole room is smaller than my house's washroom. View from the room is inaccurate from the photo. Show queen beds, but gave us double beds. Breakfast are expensive with such limited choices they have, you'd rather go across the street. Wifi is super super super slow! The staffs are okay, and it's close to the beach, but definitely not going to book again with this price. Go for other hotels, it's not worth it.

    Other than direct access to the beach, anything else is horrible.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    On Miami honeymoon with my Husband - the sixth floor view and gorgeous view- was perfect for romance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a breakfast rush in the morning with the staff working hard to keep up with the demand...but they did!

    The beautiful Art Deco architecture and quality of room plus the amazingly kind and generous staff! Ana Rules!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    2.9
    terrible went home the next day
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    see above

    room was terrible; size of a closet. floor was soaking wet in bedroom. no bar no restaurant view looked at the ally. ON the internet it looks really nice - terrible

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.3
    Too pricey for what hotel offers.
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Very small rooms - pictures make them look way bigger than they are. No nets on the windows to stop mosquitos and bugs (so you have to use A/C overnight, which is blowing air almost directly on the person sleeping on the bed next to it). The hotel could benefit from a renovation. Breakfast selection is really small and does not change over days. Pool could be cleaner.

    Location, location, location. Also, the rooms are very clean and cleaning service is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    3.3
    Slightly overpriced related to it’s neighboring peers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t love that the pool wasn’t very clean. The rooms weren’t very clean and the sheets had a stain in it. Even for the rate we paid I expected more. This feels likes a cheap hotel yet for a little more money you could stay at the SLS 10 feet next door.

    The location is the only benefit to this hotel. The room and pictures online are deceiving. All the surrounding hotels seem to be a better bang for your buck.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    4.2
    So so
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows could have been fluffier. Air conditioner not working properly. The whole hotel needs an update. The pool had cracks.

    The bed was fine. The staff was helpful and nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    4.2
    The hotel was not worth the money they charged.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was old and needed paint. The room/bathroom was dirty. Although breakfast was included they ran out of breakfast meat and never replenished. The front desk could not help direct to things to do in the area. There were no brochures available.

    The location was ideal. The pool was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing, not adequate value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated sad and small rooms / bathrooms, old motel like feeling, unfriendly front desk staff, below basic breakfast. Very upsetting beach access did not include beach chairs (misleading reps of resort fee included), the hotel does NOT have privte beach facilities. location and pool area are only aspects meeting expectations and representation.

    location and pool area are only aspects meeting expectations and representation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.8
    Lobby smells amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Supposedly our bed was a queen...wish I had a tape measure!

    Lobby smells amazing. Beautiful pool area. Loved sitting out front watching the night life!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    The bed and pillows were very comfortable, bathroom was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was not usable by me as I cannot handle very high steps and cannot use a ladder to get in and out.

    The bed and pillows were very comfortable, bathroom was updated and very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.7
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar food cold under staffed. Breakfeast included stinks cause its buffet eggs and potatos .your paying for it so u use it.rather have cheaper toom and go get something other than crap.room has wall ac unit smelled and centrat ac is less noisy.lobby small only place to sit and try to make phone calls.way overpriced .would never go back.its a $200 a night hotel max.bath room small. HallwAys beat up .elevator slow. Room stinks like they just vacumn burned the rugs.ac unit maybe.buffet breakfeast almost no seating left.small area i ever saw for bar eating area.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Fab holiday in great location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !

    Location great and for a 3 Star hotel it is well equipped clean and staff helpful. Pool area v nice and easy access to boardwalk and beach .Breakfast included and reasonable choice but only one cereal ( not being picky just think there could be a few different ones) Bar staff, cocktails and food great . This place hits above its weight ! Would go again .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    2.9
    filthy and very dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I usually don't leave reviews, but this is been the filthiest hotel I've ever been to. I felt bad for my family, to the point that we left in advance... I could live with an outdated hotel (and it was too), but definitely not with a dirty one. Stains on the bed sheets (that an apologetic staff member, not even house keeping, had to replace), broken toilet, smell, hairs everywhere. It was unbelievable!

    absolutely nothing, just probably the convenience of a pool and the beach right next to it

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    We had a great week
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little dated, but very clean. Wifi wasn't the greatest

    Staff was amazing. We had an extra charge on the bill and the staff member corrected the issue immediately.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    2.5
    I cancelled my trip and went to a different hotel within 24 hours, it was that bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was filthy and old, there mold on the ceiling in bathroom, the sink was broken and not draining. The sheets were wet, the doors broken and looked like someone had knawed on the edges. We walked around in socks because the carpets were sticky and moist. The whole place smelled like mold. Easily the worst hotel I’ve ever been to, I felt completely duped after getting there. If I could rate it a 0 I would.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    4.6
    It’s was bad the works stole my Rolex.
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s was bad the works stole my Rolex. I️ made a police report I️ will be back to see the updates on my watch next week they try to keep my deposit It’s was just bad but the room are clean and the hotel is really nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.8
    The pool area, bar, and bartender were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms and building are outdated and I think really overpriced despite the great location.

    The pool area, bar, and bartender were amazing. The valet staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    Location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall nothing to really complain about except the price.

    Location was fantastic. Overpriced, perhaps because we stayed over New Year. Lots of restaurants close by. Lincoln St a short 5 min walk away. Breakfast was good - enough to get us going for the day. Beach directly out front of hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.6
    South seas hidden paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All in all I can't really say anything I didn't like.

    It was very handy to the beach and stores to get about anything we needed. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was very good. The pool area was very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.7
    I booked a room with two double beds but they wanted to give...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I booked a room with two double beds but they wanted to give me a room with king bed' I had to argue a lot to get a double bed room which I had prepaid.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice, no frills hotel right on Collins near EVERYTHING..backs onto beach, beautiful pool and yard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bare bones for a hotel that cost 300 a night,,even with the beautiful pool and beach behind. Two things that should def be added..hooks on the back of bathroom doors ( for clothing and robes) and small mini fridges. Those two wee upgrades would make a big difference imo. Change the rugs in rooms to bare floors. Reading lights next to beds would be a nice addition as well.

    Loved the pool and backyard and beach access. The apples at counter were lovely. Clean hotel. Friendly staff Nice to eat breakfast out on patio by pool lovely spot. Quiet laid back ,fruit salad was delish.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel, near restaurants and beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Althought I had a problem at the reception due to hotel has to clean a room in the last minute. And this room be in front of the Avenue, I was travelling with 2 kids, the hotel is very good. Maybe next time the reception needs a bit more of training to deal with this kind of situation. Apart from that issue the hotel and staffs are great, even the reception girl that gave me the attendant.

    The staffs are great. Very helpfull and always there to assist you. Hotel is very close to the beach and I strongly reccomend. Beach clean breakfeast good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    3.8
    It was a nightmare. DO NOT GO!!! Pictures do not match reality!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -PICTURES IN WEBSITE DO NOT MATCH REALITY AT ALL. DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL!!! -EVERY time we used the toilet we could not flush it. - the man who came to unclog the toilet was very disrespectful and even asked us to pump the toilet for ourselves and to throw the toilet paper in a bag even if we want to do number 2 - the windows DID NOT open - it is NOT clean (windos with moist, bathroom not clean, carpet not clean, etc) -doors are broken - VERY bad smell and humidity - wifi does NOT work in the room - there is no fridge in the room -the elevator’s certificate has expired more than 2 years ago

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    2.5
    A nightmare
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the worse experience ever! I am a local, and have never been treated worse! The staff could care less about your stay, complaints or anything else! That goes from the front desk including manager all the way through the hotel! I will never stay here again and am ashamed that the lack of customer service is found right here in my home town! Smelly rooms smelly hallways and terrible terrible service! Here is a picture of the bathroom door. Pictures look nice on website , it’s the smell that you can’t imagine. Stinky feet all over the carpets . I wish I could give it 0 stars! I had to check out in the morning and stay at another hotel! Nightmare, and they do t care! I should get my money back!

    The pool area is nice but the moldy pool tile ruins it! The lunch by the pool was actually good. The valet driver, security guard and the two bartenders were nice. Everyone else was the pits!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    Lovely older Art Deco hotel - over priced but great spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Extremely over priced - equated to AUD630 per night. I understand it was 4 nights over the New Year, but I can't see how the hotel could justify that price. The hotel and service did not match the price. However, price aside, it was in a great spot and we would go again (if the price was lower!).

    The location was fantastic. Lots of restaurants, shops and transport very close by. Beach a short walk. Good breakfast included in the price. Room ok - not huge, but big enough. Breakfast included in our booking and was quite good. Enough to get us going for the day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    3.8
    Great location. Nightmare of a hotel. Go elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dated, there were pipes going through the room, the room was moist and damp you could smell it walking in and feel it on your clothes and bed. The hotel has only 2 elevators which felt like they were going to break every time you got in. At breakfast your fighting to get food and find a place to sit to eat your breakfast. And the maids are god awful rude.

    Location was great. South beach was right on your doorstep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    3.8
    Wouldnt stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All of it apart form location.

    Staff very unfriendly. Breakfast is rubbish. Room is small. The toilet is so close to the door that you cannot shut it. Needs updating. Beds too small for doubles.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.8
    Its a good hotel if you just want somewhere to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small,hotel is a bit old.The breakfast was very poor.Not a lot of variety.Staff are not welcoming or friendly.

    I liked that it was walking distance from the beach and also lincoln road which a shopping road.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.9
    This is a great hotel to stay in south beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness in the room could have been better as we found some animals in the room. Also the air in the room is not good, you have the ac to be turned on all the time. When booking via the platform you dont get free beach chairs.

    This is a great hotel to stay in south beach. It was quiet during the night and breakfast is good. Resort Fee includes WiFi and beach towel. Also the pool area is very nice. Cocktail hour from 5-7pm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    5.4
    Right on the beach, private entrance to get back into the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioner didn't work in my room, you have to pay for everything, beds are hard as a rock, and pretty much nobody spoke english.

    Right on the beach, private entrance to get back into the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.9
    Accessible to the beach, nice pool area, helpful courteous...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast was extremely basic, the same everyday and not well stock, ants in our room, small room size and no ventilation in the bathroom, also smelled stuffy or the air filters need to be changed, noise from the walkway of the hotel next door.

    Accessible to the beach, nice pool area, helpful courteous staff and right on the main strip

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    6.7
    We would probably not choose this hotel to stay in again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at the breakfast buffet was very poor - stale pastries/ bread and lack of variety - some mornings food was not available - eg choices of fresh fruit and no bacon or pancakes -service was also very slow

    The location and view from our room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is very close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very close to the beach. Most of the tourist locations on South Beach are a walking distance. The rooms are a bit small for the charges but maybe its because of Miami. Breakfast was good but the same everyday. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.5
    Good place but nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is expensive if you are unfortunate enough to bring a car to Miami like we were. Rooms were a bit dated but still functional. Pretty expensive when you consider how many other hotels are around the area offering same or better facilities.

    The location was perfect. Originally we were planning to stay on Ocean Drive but after we saw it at night we were very glad we went with South Seas. The area was a lot quieter but definitely not boring. Lincoln street was the next block down with lots of cafes and restaurants right nearby and Ocean Drive was still within walking distance. The pool area was also really nice with shade and hammocks for people who don't want to pay $25 to hire an umbrella at the beach. Food and drinks at the bar are also really good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.1
    breakfast was same every Morning, it have to change...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 9 nights

    breakfast

    breakfast was same every Morning, it have to change sometimes so many days have to ask, towels was not put our rooms, sometimes waterbotells have to bring when we asked them

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    5.8
    Miami , but hotel was so expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is so small, much more smaller than normal, pics is totally different than real, it was raining and water came inside room from the window, don't know how cause even windows is not opening.. Room service all of them can't speak English only Spanish is the main language so if you want anything from room service and you can't speak Spanish that will be a mess.. valet was so expensive Smell of all the hotel was bad, cause of the carpet.

    Stuff, breakfast and location was amazing, happy hour in cocktails from 6-7 pm

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.5
    Bed were comfortable!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    HOTEL and POOL AREA NEEDS RENOVATION!!!

    Bed were comfortable! The staff at the restaurant, bar and pool area were EXCELLENT! Food and drinks were GREAT! Location was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.1
    Great location...could be much better with a little work
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was poor. not much choice...scrambled eggs were more like an omelette that had been cooked for too long. Hotel staff were a bit hit or miss...one or two could not have been more helpful. Couple of others were service with a snarl!!!

    Room was very good...beds were comfortable. Public areas could do with a spruce up to say the least. However room and location does go a long way to making up for the shortfall in the rest of the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    5.0
    The hotel has a great location in Miami Beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found cockroaches in the room and it was not just once. Disorganized and bad breakfast. We prefer eating out. Pool contains lots of chlorine.

    The hotel has a great location in Miami Beach. Facing the beach and close to Lincon Road.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel next door was very noisy - but all went quiet at 22:30 hrs. Probably says more about my age than the hotel.

    Beautiful location right on the beach. Staff were wonderful and allowed to check in early and check out late. Lovely bright comfortable hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.4
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small and need renovation. There was no fridge in the room and when we asked for one they put us on a waiting list and it took 2 days for them to get one and take it to the room. The staff was not that friendly. I would not recommend it. Too expensive for what we got.

    The breakfast was good and the hotel has a direct access to the beach. They serve a cold water with lemon at the pool area which was quite refreshing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.3
    Good place to stay and use as a base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the whole experience reasonable.

    We found it a little difficult to find even though we were on the correct road. Sign covered by foliage. Staff were excellent, I know Hurricane Irma was imminent and as tourists we were ordered to evacuate, the staff dis everything the could to make our short stay and exit a very pleasant experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse South Seas Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: