Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Spanish Villa Inn 3 stars

474 Glass Mountain, St. Helena, CA 94574, USA

#13 of 14 hotels in St. Helena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 234 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They really need to do something about the floors and walls. You can hear footsteps and neighbors quite easily at night.

    Was pleasantly surprised by the place. Better than I expected from reviews I found. Loved rear patio/door access from bedroom to large back yard/field. Breakfast was delicious. Location in quiet area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    I love the style. The unplugged no TV. Atmosphere. I would highly recommend for a relaxing getaway to tour the wine country. The owner was very accommodating for my late check in. It is a beautiful old world in like so many I have stayed at in Europe. Loved it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was adequate but not for the money. Lighting was particularly bad for reading at night, especially since there was no TV (which was fine) but reading (our preferred option) was very difficult. Toilet didn't flush adequately, almost clogged several times.

    The grounds are very well maintained and beautiful, the staff was very very warm and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating came on in the night so needed to open the door, bathroom needs updating. Seemed expensive but so is the whole valley. The NZ Wairarapa is missing a few tricks to capitalise on the wine trade.

    Good location, comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise level from talkative guests could be disruptive for early-to-bed types.

    The Spanish Villa Inn looked like its name, with attractive architecture, artifacts and setting. Its location was perfect: near St. Helena and excellent restaurants, wineries and shopping. The continental breakfasts were exceptional. Well worth the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plastic Motel 6 tub shower combo, no TV in room, very old furniture and rooms sparkly decorated.

    Great location, beautiful grounds, very friendly and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived it was very stuffy, u could smell it . The court yard into the house , neglected, the water fountain near parking area not working , also neglected. The grounds have enormous protental. Very dark inside house , turn on lights or light candles... the rooms are clean , everything elsa not .

    The room we stayed in was nice and quaint

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed sheets were stained...or perhaps dirty. We felt like sleeping with our clothes on. There was no one there to address the issue. Dirty coffee cups in the common area service area from previous guests. Spider/cob webs hanging on doors in breakfast area. Place was dirty and not fit to stay in.

    Not much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was in need of a face lift. Just old and tired looking. Windows are all fogged up and difficult to see through.

    The breakfast was outstanding. Lots of parking. Easy access.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely Soft Matress made for uncomfortable nights, sore back, and neck. We expected some hot breakfast choices.

    Very Quiet location and beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the weather!

    Everything was exactly as depicted and expected. Elegant and lovely with beautiful grounds and very reasonably priced for Napa Valley.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For those who like to watch TV there are no TV's in rooms.

    The house is out in a rural area. The rooms do not have a TV and there is not much to do after hours very small town. Good for honeymoon very quiet. The breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is a tad tired. Hot tub filled with mold- would have been great if we could have used it. Whole entrance is a bit weird. it is more of a bed and breakfast. With some updating of furniture, art etc and it could be a really great place.

    The bed was super comfortable- location was great and the yards were lovely. Breakfast was nicely done.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were thin. When another traveler arrived back late night the high heels clacking back and forth for a bit was disruptive. Thankfully it was very short and got back to sleep.

    Fresh squeezed OJ, fresh bagels, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, boiled eggs, and cereal choices

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the property didn't have a TV in our room which was fine because we didn't spend much time there anyway (I mean your in wine country for god sakes who wants to sit around inside) but after wining and dining all afternoon and evening it would have been nice to relax and watch something for an hour before sleep took us, but over all not a big deal! I cant speak for other rooms though, I didn't see in any other so maybe the others did? I'd call and ask just in case.

    Nice and pleasant property owner, easy check in and easy check out! The breakfast that was provided was really tasty and had a touch of love with it! The granola and fruit together with a splash of milk was great as well as the coffee, hard boiled egg and various selection of bagels muffins and pastries! we did a picnic outside at one of the tables around the property and it was lovely : ) oh and the beds are super comfy with tons of pillows!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First time at a B&B and It felt like we were at home. We could hear our neighbors. No privacy. No tv and WiFi was spotty.

    The location was beautiful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness and the property is run down. The walls need paining and windows need to be cleaned. It just looks tired.

    The location is great. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was acceptable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was OK, not great but not a dump or dirty. Some of the things we were not to pleased with were the large spider and spiderweb over the bed and spiderwebs in the corners of the bathroom door, I know it's the off season and spiderwebs can show up overnight; however it was obvious this spider has been living there a while. We opened a bottle of wine and went to use the wine glasses in the room and discovered lip marks on one of them, we just used our own at that point! The one thing I will say that I read in other reviews that is very true is the walls are very "thin" and you can hear everything not only in the room next to you but nearby, I was woke up by breakfast being set out. I don't want to give a negative review because the place isn't that bad, I know the Napa Valley is very expensive to stay in, which is why we initially booked here. I feel it could be a lot nicer with just a little more attention to detail and being a little "warmer" to the guests when interacting with them.

    The overall house and grounds were nice, the bed was comfortable, and breakfast was as described- continental featuring bagels, granola, hard boiled eggs, yogurt and fruit. That said this is the first "B&B" I have stayed at that did not offer a hot breakfast, especially for the price of stay per night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower/bathroom was dated and in need of repair/updating, not what I'm used to in terms of B&B, seemed over priced

    dirty, old, in need of updating

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything!!!!!!

    The Villa is amazing tucked into the country, but short distance drive to town. The people are very friendly and accommodating and helpful. We will return some day!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the property is very pretty, it is dated and we got the impression that the owner(s) have lost their mojo. As far as B&Bs go this is at the basic end. The breakfast is very simple (granola, fruit and bagel) and there are no additional amenities that you would otherwise see at other B&Bs. We enjoyed our stay and there is so much potential with this property, but it would really benefit from a refresh and some money spent.

    The property is in a beautiful location at the northern end of the Napa Valley. It's located in a very quiet area and is only a short drive to the surrounding towns and numerous great wineries. Externally, the property is very pretty with lush gardens.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hostess was a little put out that we were ready for breakfast at 9:38 that was stated as served till 10, And she had already quit cooking eggs so no eggs or pancakes, she did bring us a fruit bowl and a couple boiled eggs, little less than a continental breakfast.. Cant see the sign at the gate until you are past the property. Bathroom was in the hall not in the bedroom.

    Nice walnut wood trim and doors, nice looking place, a couple nice pianos that I could play, Hostess was friendly for the most part, Room was comfortable and clean. Nice yard from the bedroom balcony.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly accommodating staff. Beautiful site with our own private balcony. Good breakfast in the morning with fresh eggs. House was a little outdated, but very clean quiet and private. Good value for the money considering surrounding hotels were about 3x the price. Uber takes you quickly to many wineries close by.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room needed quite a bit of updating - especially the bathroom. The house keeper/hostess was very nice but didn't manage to get our room tidied before 3:30 in the afternoon by which time it was too late for us as we needed to be in the room.

    The breakfast was very nice. The grounds are lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was just bagels and yogurt. We were on the first floor near the breakfast area and it got very noisy starting around 6am. Also, the parking was a little tight at times.

    The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was comfortable and newer, and room was clean. But other furnishings were past their useful lives. Some items damaged, like the crispy burn in the shape of an iron on the bedside rug.

    Quiet Spanish style home with eight guest rooms. Nice caretaker. Located on about 2 acres in a mountain valley surrounded by trees, with feeling of privacy. Our upstairs room was larger, though still with 70's style bath. Balcony opened to sights and sounds of nature. Enjoyed sharing breakfast with other guests.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get wifi or cell service I from our room, although could from the public ares or outside.

    Beautiful setting. Like a nice private beautiful home. Beautiful grounds. Comfortable beds nice sized rooms, Froend but non intrusive staff. Nice delicious contiental breakfasts..included.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing...it truly was the perfect place to stay.

    The location was fantastic and the host and hostess of the property were absolutely wonderful. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. I do not know to what is being referred to in the third bonus question above when it references something called "Genius" perks... What I can say is that there is an awesome simple but fresh breakfast everyday that is wonderfully prepared, live fig trees on the property that were magnificently in season while I was there...yes they did taste phenomenal. The area is quiet and tranquil and one of the best locations that I have ever stayed at. Minutes away from Napa downtown St Helena is a five minute drive, Calistoga is a 15-20 minute drive straight up the road...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hostess not helpful or friendly...your payment...here is your room, breakfast served here at 6-10. Breakfast is continental..coffee, pastry, oj and cold grainola. If your looking for a bubbly, friendly hostess with wine and cheese..this is NOT your place. None of that here!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't say we disliked anything. The location requires one to have a car to get to/from, which I guess is the case for most accommodation in Napa Valley.

    The property is just perfect, set on a quiet location surrounded by beautiful nature. The quality of the breakfast served was one of the best we've had on any of our trips.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Spanish Villa Inn provided a large, quiet bedroom and bath with a small private patio. It was a very charming bed and breakfast, just a short drive from everything. A true gem.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too old and had virtually no support. Air con goes off at night so need to leave sliding doors open -but not a comfortable secure option on first floor. Best to stay on second floor for less noise and secure feeling. Outdoor seating was dirty and could use some updating.

    Fresh fruit with good coffee and a hard boiled egg were very healthy and good start. The grounds were lovely and owner was very nice. Only 20 minutes to Yountville and closer to some great wineries

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was completely worn out and should have been replaced long ago. Very clear depressions.

    Very quiet area, close to Calistoga and downtown St Helena as well as Silverado Trail's numerous wineries.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the B&B's I have stayed included a gourmet hiot breakfast. The Spanish Villa did not! What a disappointment 🙁

    The location is very private 😊

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the second mornings breakfast many things ran out (e.g. berries, yoghurt). It was a pity, because the selection was not very large. Outdoor furniture was in poor condition

    Own patio was nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little bare. Could have done a little more homemade items.

    I loved the private patios and the fact that I felt like I was in Tuscany. Beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was not close to anything, so we had to drive more than we expected. We knew it wasn't in town when we made the reservation, so we aren't complaining, just noting this for others.

    It was comfortable and the grounds were lovely. We could take our glass of wine and appetizers out under the trees and have a relaxing pre-dinner time. The included breakfast was ample and served in an attractive manner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cute and comfortable place. The location is awesome for exploring the wine country and we were able to get a Lyft easily! Highly recommended this villa!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager should show more positive interest in her guests interests while at the Villa; TV should be added to the rooms since the property is isolated; outdoor furniture is old, filthy & broken; whole outdoor sitting areas are screaming for overhaul or at least considerable improvement; guest kitchen was messy & dirty; Villa should provide maps of the area, including vineyard locations; housekeeping is minimal at best

    Relatively close to vineyards in St Helena area; quiet, unkempt property with great potential,some improvements were being done (outdoor painting),

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the master suite and it was extremely spacious, had a vanity area w sink in addition to a cute Mediterranean style bathroom and a big private deck. We LOVED the room. The bed was amazing and felt like sleeping on a cloud!!! Breakfast was also amazing and it was my first time being situated IN the countryside surrounded by vineyards, and wineries- Most relaxing experience ever!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures of the property and the reality are two different things. Major settlement crack in privacy wall. Hasn't been painted for decades. A pressure washing would help. A continental breakfast. Way over priced for the overall package.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was included in our stay, but it was not comprable considering the room cost. It was a continental breakfast as best. The b&b could provide better locally sourced food options to go with not only the cost but also to ambience of being in wine country.

    Beautiful bed and breakfast! Even though it's about 30 minutes from Napa, the b&b was in a beautiful location. The property is well taken care of.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Brown nylon sheets. You could hear EVERYTHING next door. No Granola left at breakfast-guests earlier in the morning "liked them too much"!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed could have been firmer. No television in room. Could hear people in next room.

    Good wholesome breakfast. More of a bed & breakfast type of stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You could hear people talking in the adjoining room and when the folks in the room above us arrived late at night you could easily hear them walking around with roller suitcases. The eating area could have been cleaned up a bit as there were cobwebs around the sliding door that appeared to be ready to fall out onto the patio.Affordable

    Check-in was easy. The owner was very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only problem was that my wife is allergic to feathers, and the bed had a feather cushion on top. For most people, this would probably have been a feature. We didn't know about it the first night, so she woke up congested. Was easy to fix.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room's bathroom is so small that is hard even to dry your self after showering. One day the room wasen't cleaned, and bother my husband and me a lot, the bed is not properly set, is full of wrinkles.

    The property is very nice, the person who attend us was very helpful; breakfast, because of my schudele, I only had the chance to enjoy it once, was really good, best Granola ever.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed. The property was run down, not attended to, smelled due to lack of use and not airing out or updating any of the rugs- mildewy-WAY overpriced for condition of property. Would never recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A small inconvenience was the lay out of the bathroom/shower.

    The accommodations were authentic in terms of the Spanish theme of the inn. Beautiful grounds and amenities; perfect sitting areas and natural lighting. The atmosphere was serene and relaxing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reviews told us the hosts were very friendly. We found the opposite. Did not even smile or greet you except to take your money. Did not engage in conversation at breakfast. I had to say good morning. The pictures were deceiving as some of the grounds and property were not well kept. Windows were extremely dirty. I know there has been a lot of rain but they looked like not cleaned in many years. Pillows in our room were the worst. Totally flat and bed not the most comfortable. Good location but not worth the money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buildings really need to be painted and cleaned up. Everything felt a little dirty and musty. Our room was not reflective of the photos on the web site. It was pretty sad.

    Lovely location and grounds.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The biggest issue for me was that I had no telephone reception. They had added a booster, but it only worked for iphones. Since I was traveling alone (and was alone in the inn) I would really have liked to be able to speak to family. The breakfast was identical every day and was not a hot meal. I was given English muffins to toast, there were hard boiled eggs and fruit. I was the only person in the inn, it rained the entire time I was there. Neither is the innkeepers fault. However, except for 10 or so minutes of talking to the manager, I never saw another person while I was there.

    There was breakfast included. Coffee was very good. Coffee and breakfast were provided at times I requested. The rooms were lovely and kept very clean. When I requested something (a bedside lamp) it was provided.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was Thanksgiving so the rate was increased a bit. Although it was a wonderfully warm place to stay the $250 for one night was hard to swallow.

    The finishings were simple but pretty and the bed was crazy comfortable!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows in our bedroom were worn out. Needed reading lights by the bed.

    Location is excellent- in the country, but close to Silverado Trail, and the town of St. Helena.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very dated accommodations, WiFi was poor. No phone, TV, or thermostat in bedroom. had to sleep with the window open do to the musty smell ........Sorry to have to give it such low marks but it did not come close to what you have it rated at and the cost was way......over priced! :(

    The landscape setting was nice

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Driveway/parking is a little tight.

    Breakfast was very good wholesome food. Very quiet neighborhood. Beautiful setting. Terrific location for visiting wineries. Owner is very nice without being intrusive. Other guests are friendly, nice people.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was ancient--two very deep hollows with a high ridge in the middle. Extremely uncomfortable. Mattress pad loaded with strange little lumps. Just awful. Sheets either dirty or stained. Either way unacceptable. The walls are as thin as paper. Every single word of your neighbors' conversations are as clear as a bell--not something you want at 11:30 at night.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything met our expectations as per prior reviews of the site.

    The staff was outstanding. Went out of their way to accommodate our family group and to meet all our needs. Very good value for the money. Location close to places we planned to visit.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to start. It seems criminal to charge that much per night for a B&B where: the breakfast was bagels and yogurt (serve yourself) from Safeway, served in a hallway between two sets of sliding doors. we left our room at 12:30 on our first day and the cleaning lady dropped our clean towels on the floor outside our room and never came back. There was a big stain on one of the folded clean towels when we first arrived. The sink leaked all over the counter. We had to hunt for the person to show us to our room when we arrived and she forced me to pay at that moment and told my boyfriend exactly how much the room rate was in the process (this was a surprise to him and she had my credit card from the reservation. It was very embarrassing for both of us.) The dimmer on the room light was broken so it was lit like a hospital room or pitch black. There is no heater in the room and no way to adjust the temperature (we were cold). There wasn't a book, game, radio, or clock in the room. It was the opposite of every other B&B I've been to, not at all romantic. We left early and went out for a real vacation breakfast.

    This was close to town and the bed was nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As some others have mentioned, there are small matters of upkeep that need attention: top sheet on the bed had holes, a hand towel had bleach stains.

    Beautiful, relaxing setting for a getaway. Nice enclosed patio with the room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was soft and a bit worn.

    If you're looking for convenience this is it. Located less than 2 miles from downtown St. Helena, The Culinary Institute of America, Duckhorn and Beringer vinyards, yet tucked into a quiet side road, this location is a great central starting point. We visited 12 different vineyards during our stay and none were more than 30 minutes away. The grounds were deliberate and very well manicured. Our room was large with many closets and pleasant furnishings. Be aware that there is no TV in the room and we were thankful for it. The mattress was a bit worn and soft and could stand to be replaced, but the large bathroom/dressing room was comfortable with plenty of hot water and water pressure. We were also lucky enough to have a rooftop patio. The breakfast was consistent every day, with fresh strawberries and sliced grapes, along with freshly picked figs (delicious and sweet!), breakfast breads, quite good coffee and granola and yogurt, as well as hard boiled eggs. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially when we needed to alter our stay slightly because of return flight constraints. There was ample parking for all guest vehicles, and a Bocci court to boot! The area was quiet and conducive to a relaxing afternoon in the sun and sipping the day's purchases. Relaxing if you wanted to be, convenient location for venturing out. And only a 20 minute ride to Calsitoga for the ultimate in relaxation!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was pretty firm/uncomfortable and there was no ceiling fan or temperature control in the room.

    Location/proximity to wineries and wedding venue, beautiful & serene property, and breakfast included extra bonus!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You could hear sound from the other rooms. Steps and conversations.

    It is a beautiful house in St Helena. The rooms are named as places from Spain and the house does have a Mediterranean flavor to it. The rooms are comfortable (no TV, no air conditioning). The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place needs to be upgraded carpets from the seventies as well as doors . Bathrooms need to be upgraded. As well as some furniture. Will not come again! Also towels in rooms need to be replaced with new ones.

    The grounds are nice.very quite location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was all cold cereal, bread and bagels. There was no TV in the room. There were no extras that we've seen in other similar places...like wine and cheese in the afternoon. Totally overpriced for what we got.

    The grounds were pleasant and attractive, the room was clean, the bed was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls were VERY thin. You could hear just about anything and everything going on outside your room. We felt obligated to make sure we were in turn being very quiet in the room so we weren't being disrespectful. It did make sleeping in the morning a bit tough. Also, the shower head/pressure was pretty dismal, but it's a small complaint. It is a little off the beaten path/outside downtown St. Helena. It was around an $8 Uber ride (without surge pricing) to downtown. However, as the night gets later, surge prices go up, so we paid 3x that just to get home. Obviously worth it so we could enjoy wine with our dinner, but it does impact the location if you planned on enjoying the fantastic restaurants downtown.

    The name matches the property. It felt very Mediterranean and had an adorable back patio for our room. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They should run breakfast to a later hour, so you may sleep late.

    The owner is more than all other attributes combined. Shirley is fantastic, like you have known her all your life. There are no words for Roy, he is like a friend from the word go. His spanish just like a native Venezuelan, his japanese impecable and his british english better than none. Besides being warm and engaging. Will recommend the villa and will stay there in a next visit to the area. GREAT PLACE

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property needs to be renovated, bathrooms updated and the walls soundproofed. At 3 AM on the first night of our stay a gentleman on the second floor (no elevator) began talking loudly on his cell phone. His voice carried down to our first floor room and kept us awake for 20 minutes. My husband called the property owner who happily answered her cell. She apparently asked the guest disturbing our sleep to be quiet because the noise stopped. The next morning staff began setting up breakfast for all the guests outside our room at 6 AM. The slightest noise in individual rooms echoed throughout the downstairs, largely a function of Spanish tile floors and little carpeting. Even the click click of heels walking on room tiles could be heard in adjacent rooms. Not fun when trying to sleep.

    We were 2 hours late returning from our hot air balloon excursion followed by a wine tasting at Chandon on the day we checked out and the owner was understanding. Note that she called us to inquire where we were.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was old and out dated. The location was a challenge to navigate late at night.

    The room was very private with a patio. The staff was friendly and attentive to our needs.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even a small pool should have improved the place, but there is draught in California.

    The quite place and the green around the house. The Italian feeling of the house. Outside but still close to St Helena.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple request, replace a nicked toilet seat, add a bath mat in front of tub. More extensive would be to replace sliding shower doors and tub with a walk on shower.

    The room was spacious and quiet. The bed was very comfortable. The property was really lovely with chairs and tables set up in private and open areas all over the gardens and yard. The house inside had the same feel with great rooms, living rooms, library, dining, all open and available at any time. Our host was charming and thoughtful as was the house manager.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very quiet. (We're used to sirens and beeping from big trucks backing up.) People were friendly; shady areas to sit around the property; the room was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was very challenging at this site. There were service issues with another guest and the manager discussed those with the involved parties in a public manner. I should have never been privy to this situation.

    Clean rooms and well groomed grounds. Nice breakfast with multiple options.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful villa with proximity to Yountville restaurants and Napa attractions

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was beautiful. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The location was fantastic. Breakfast was minimal but perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: