Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel 3 stars

12825 Ventura Boulevard, Studio City, Los Angeles, CA 91604, USA

#158 of 352 hotels in Los Angeles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1347 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in the pool was hot like a bath. The weather was exceptionslly hot so maybe there was nothing they could fo about it but we could not enjoy the pool and that was a major bummer.

    We liked our room a lot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    It was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was scary

    The rooms were and nice size. The food was really good. The staff was very accommodating with the tram to Universal Studios. All around it was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.6
    The staff in the cafe and bar were very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was located at the rear of the hotel and was very noisy. There were constant events at the hotel with very noisy guests. We were woken every morning at 6:30 by the bin men.

    The staff in the cafe and bar were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    If you are into the 50's style design this hotel will give you that feelings.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building interiors design needs upgrading and exterior windows need replace can hear outside noise from people talking.

    Employees are super friendly and the maids at our floor are very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful grounds and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was listed as non-smoking but definitely had a bit of a stale smoke smell.

    Beautiful grounds and pool. Very cool old school L.A. vibe with a hip twist. Food at the cafe was very good. Excellent location!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.0
    Not worth it - bad experience.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    •the rooms had no mini fridge and no microwave •the walls were peeling and the rugs were gross •the hot tub wasn’t rinsed well after being cleaned and when we got inside the cleaner burned our eyes and we had to get out immediately •my hotel door was locked and the door was knocked on - I didn’t get to the door fast enough to answer and a hotel staff member unlocked the door and walked in, which I’ve NEVER had done - and felt so unsafe. What if I had of just gotten out of the shower? Shame on you guys for allowing staff to enter locked occupied rooms. •the porch view was looking at parking lot •price is expensive, breakfast is expensive. Go stay somewhere else.

    The staff were friendly and quick to answer any questions we had, lobby looked nice, check in was quick, free water in the lobby. The neighborhood was beautiful, and walk-in distance to everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Superb location for Universal Studio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that I was given was next to the ac cool system or laundry so did not like that aspect of it as they did not change the room even though I request them to do so when they had availability.

    Superb location, great facilities warm water pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.0
    Not like the brochure says! 5/10 at best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at 7pm and the restaurant was closed, staff couldn’t suggest anywhere close by to eat...yet in the morning we found plenty of options close by. Rooms do not have a mini bar or fridge...so the drinks we brought remained warm. Unless you want to pay an extra $20 a night for one. No hairdryer and if you are from a 220-240 volt country your own dryer will only blow cold air because of 110 voltage. Walls were paper thin and we heard every door open and shut, every toilet flush (not ours), the sewage draining down the pipes. The people in the room next to us having after party drinks and talking at 5am. The couple in the room above us having adult fun, although it didn’t last long it happened a few times! The wifi is painfully slow. Housekeeping knocking at 8:30 each morning including the day we checked out even though we had a 12pm checkout.

    Low rise property with heated pool and spa

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant, nice area, but a long drive from most things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one of the lifts was working so had to take the stairs....Also very noisy rooms as the walls are thin. Old Motel done up nice in most places.....Balconies were a bit ho hum with unstable rails.

    THe rooms were modern and clean, the bed was so comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Staff and location were wonderful. We will be back. :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the elevators didn't work so that was the only inconvenience.

    The swimming pool was really fun...kid and adult friendly. The food was amazing and room service staff was fantastic. The beds were very comfortable. Very much enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back. :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.4
    Nice staff and great shuttle service, but not-so-clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we stayed in was a bit dirty when we checked in and the towels didn't seem all that clean. Having to pay for parking was a bit strange, but I guess that's how it is in California at some hotels.

    I enjoyed the friendliness of the staff within the hotel, restaurant, and the shuttle drivers. The restaurant does indeed have some vegan options as well as many other food options for breakfast. They have a shuttle which takes you directly to Universal studios so you don't have to worry about parking and parking fees.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    I enjoyed our stay, my kids loved the swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No exhaust fans in the restroom. No fridge and microwave in room. No Coke or Pepsi in vending machine. Vending machine wouldn't take cash.

    Did not have breakfast there. Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Close to relative house, so very easy to get together.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AHU on roof top outside room window. Workers doing maintenance work early morning, banging sounds.

    Beds comfortable. Server, Mo, patio cafe, wonderful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    The heated pool, shuttle to Universal Studios and House...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need to be upgraded , bathrooms need to be a little bigger , the walls need to be re done . Also it will be wonderful if the rooms will come with a nice microwave and refrigerator for free .

    The heated pool, shuttle to Universal Studios and House keeping was fast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Amazing staff were so attentive 100% recommend. In a brilliant area with free shuttle to universal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to pay for parking and it’s done per night even if you arrive at 10pm at night that’s classed as one days pay

    Staff were super friendly, pool was amazing. We needed a fridge in the room for medication and someone wheeled one up for us. Nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Convenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My toilet was dripping so I didn’t sleep the first night and the toilet seat wouldn’t stay up so it was annoying. Also some huge wedding party last night u should warn people I would’ve stayed somewhere else if I had known

    Convenience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    quiet and peacefull
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No refrigreator in the room, parking fee

    Room was clean and big enough for 3 people, free ice from ice maker, free Universal Studios shuttle, supermarket opposite, cozy and quiet area, easy acces to the city center,Universal Studios, close to Highways for intercity trips

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location to explore Studio City and Neighboring Hiking Trails
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wished they had better signs on where to park in the back area. I wasn't so sure where I was allowed to park or not. Overall, felt like the website over hyped my expectations for this hotel. The front of the hotel and into the lobby was great. As you head towards the back inside and around back outside of the hotel it just felt like they neglected it. I got a room on the bottom floor with a balcony but it was simple and no privacy from next door neighbors. Didn't used it at all.

    The hotel staff was nice and friendly. They were able to help with a missing ice bucket right away by sending someone with a full bucket of ice. They sell Universal Studios Hollywood tickets at the front desk so you can skip the lines at the ticket booths. A lot of food options down and up the street that are in walking distance. The pool area had its own bar which made the experience much more relaxing. Our room had great blackout curtains that prevented any sunlight getting in and that was a big plus when sleeping in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Conveniet location. Comfy beds. Helpful staff. Pretty pool. Tasty cafe food and poolbar drinks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Disappointed a room described as havng a 'city view' looked out over the parking lot. We spent five nights there and wanted a room change. I was shown a new room with a pool view, agreed to it, then was told I couldn't have it. So that was a bummer. We were then offered another room with a garden view but declined. Tip: ask for suitcase racks; all we had was the floor. Also, lighting in room was harsh and shower wall paint was peeling.

    Bed was very comfortable. Drinks at the pool bar were fabulous. Lunch was also terrific. Staff was friendly and helpful. Good bed. Good shower pressure. TV and wireless good. Staff helpful and friendly. Pool very pleasant to sit around and swim in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.3
    the bed arrangement and it was so clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was no fridge , no dresser theres no couch just one chair the walls are very thin i can hear everything going on in the room next door and the parkings arent free and cost too much

    the bed arrangement and it was so clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.1
    Fond memories of growing up the the area. Needs a facelift from the dark walls in the corridors.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool area was dirty and unkempt. The trans bins were dirty and always overflowed.

    The help were energetic and helpful. They were very kind and cheerful. Best asset.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Everything was great EXCEPT a breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first breakfast was COLD, THE BUTTER FROZEN ABD COULDN'T BE SPREAD, THE SYRUP COOL ! I wasn't happy !

    Everything was great EXCEPT a breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Super Cozy & Comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room Poolside
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not sound proof. You can hear everything that happen next to your room & hallway.

    The place is nature friendly. We saw ducks stopping by the pool & friendly squirrel that came & stole our Randy’s Doughnuts. The bed was super comfort & our pool view balcony was cozy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    A great place to see Universal /Hollywood/LA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm really struggling to find something wrong here but have to say that the cable selection while nice in itself, the remote for the tv/satellite was not very user friendly. I don't expect it to perform like mine at home but it could have offered a few more basic functions.

    A very clean room, the housekeepers do an exceptional job. The linens were very fresh and the bed most comfortable. We asked for a front garden view but there were no rooms available so the clerk gave us a pool/garden room that was very private but still had a great view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.3
    Not worth the money should of been $350 less
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was expensive, our view was a car park with no sun on balcony, bath was too small to lay down in, the walls were so thin you could here next doors tv, dogs were allowed ! So were left on their own to bark for hours

    the swimming pool was warm

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough parking, and pool hours could be longer. The deposit $250 for each room was a little much because I used a debit card

    Great location. Clean rooms, nice retro decor. Great pool. Great balcony

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful place will return
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maids made a lot of noise before 8AM outside our door. They were being very chatie.

    Room service food is good. Large room with comfortable beds and pillows.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting in the room, wire hanging out of bathroom mirror which has an extra light but didn’t work, need ventilation in bathroom, elevator was scary & old, also more handicap parking.

    The pool was excellent and the location even better for people going to Universal Studios.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Only thing I didn't like was I asked the front desk what...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only thing I didn't like was I asked the front desk what time the pool bar closed and was informed 10. Went to the pool to have a drink at 8 and it was closed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    2.9
    Great location. Hotel is not nice, feels more like a motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty carpet, peeling paint in the bathroom, old rusty refrigerator you have to pay extra for, dark hallways. When asked for extra towel, staff left it on the floor outside of the room in a plastic bag.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't care for all of the additional fees added to the tab after arrival.

    The staff at check in were super helpful and kind. The staff at the dining room were very kind, generous and caring. They were super attentive. We loved the look of the hotel. The bed was comfortable and clean. We enjoyed staying here. Loved the privacy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    3.8
    Room was clean however very noisy. No noice retardant. The staff appeared to be robotic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to carry my suitcase down stairs at arrival in front of 2 male receptionist. Rude check in staff. Even more rude manager. Room service ended at 9pm.

    Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.7
    I liked the lobby section and the pool area
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that there was not a mini fridge inside the hotel like most hotels have and the iron never worked

    I liked the lobby section and the pool area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.3
    I liked that the facility had a restaurant and the Pool was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt that for the $$ the room did not meet my expectations. The room did not have a refrigerator which is necessary when you are traveling with kids. The colors chosen for the property were awful.

    I liked that the facility had a restaurant and the Pool was nice size and heated. Additionally, the location was ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice place I would come back again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no washer and dryers and the entrance to my room was to far plus the building wasn’t connected to the office. No microwave or mini Refrigerator.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    Eccentric hotel - have stayed there for more than twenty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eccentric hotel - have stayed there for more than twenty years - could do with some updating but staff, character and setting more than make up for it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    A favorite alternate month getaway in Studio City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Found out after check out that refrigerators are available in the rooms on request.

    The room was spartan in regards to decor but was very big for the area. The bed was indeed very comfortable and the housekeeping impeccable. The restaurant food is your standard breakfast/lunch fare but well done and the service was very good. The Desk/Check In staff are fantastic and really do the Sportsman proud.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    Location was good but it’s a party hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud music from other rooms connected balconies. Also, people talking and making a lot of noise in the hallways. Not very sound proofed.

    The grounds are nice and the location worked well for us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.7
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is dated and very worn out. Rooms need a refresh. Smelled like weed everywhere. Rooms were large but not much furniture in the room. Door handle fell off the door to our adjoining room, they have a power strip in a plug to accommodate the need for outlets. It was clean and the staff was very nice. Just not what I expected for the price. I didn’t feel comfortable letting my kids go to the vending machine on the first floor alone and they are 11 and 14. If they would update it with some fresh carpet, take the mirror out of the bathroom that used to light up but now just have wires hanging out from behind it, add a dresser and real nightstand it would make a huge difference.

    Location was good. Central to most tourist places like Universal and Hollywood. You would need a car to get around but can get to most locations by car in less than 15 minutes. Staff was friendly. Food in the hotel restaurant was really good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.8
    Great beds and loved that the bedspread was covered in a...
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buildings are old and sound travels thru walls. Lighted mirror in bathroom wasn’t working.

    Great beds and loved that the bedspread was covered in a washable (and washed) sheet. Public spaces had a lot of charm. Staff was all around very nice and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.5
    My wife and I liked it overall and we get it it’s and old property but as I mentioned above those ar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fix the dry rot railing on the deck instead of trying to cover it up with paint, there pretty bad. When you paint the door casings try scraping and sanding the old paint so the new paint will stick and not blister off.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.9
    Staff was very very nice and the pool is a lot of fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were two homeless people who slept on the property then bathed in the lobby bathroom sink and walked the property the better part of the morning. It felt very unsecured

    Staff was very very nice and the pool is a lot of fun. The hotel decor is modern and inviting

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    5.4
    I would go back if I knew they finished the upgrades.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some things seemed to have been updated recently (lobby and in the room, flooring, sinks, counter and shower), yet the paint in the hallways, elevators and room was dirty and beat up. The base boards and bathroom door frames were filthy and dinged up. We were baffled as to why upgrades were made, but other things weren't even cleaned, much less painted. There was also zero sound proofing.

    Nice grounds with big trees and flowers. Funky sports lodge/mid-century modern/Hollywood decor. Good location with a lot of restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.5
    The location is really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no microwave or refrigerator in the room.

    The location is really good. It's close to my favorite bunch restaurant - the six. And very short distance to most of the interesting place in LA. Such as Universal Studio, Griffith Observatory an so on.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.8
    There was something very dirty on what i thought was a clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was something very dirty on what i thought was a clean towel. I reported this to the front desk, and gentleman at front desk gave a discount on my stay which nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have nothing bad to say about Sportsmens Lodge Hotel.

    Excellent facilities. Our room was very spacious and clean. The staff were very helpful especially since we arrived short one piece of luggage, they offered all the help they could.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    3.8
    Poor value for what is in reality a two star or one star property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom is old, poor amenities, little hot water, uncomfortable bed, mildewy carpet, paint flaking off the walls. This hotel is in serious need of a refurbishment. Would not recommend it at all.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.7
    It was an okay hotel. Staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pictures looked better on the internet than in person. This hotel was recently refurbished but there are a few things that they should focus on, such as the railings on the balcony. They were wobbly and unsafe (they did have a sign posted advising not to lean on them).

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    6.3
    Fine overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful older man on reception. Exceptional service. We got the woman who knew nothing without googling; even just asking about local attractions, didn’t know what was nearby; however the actual accommodation was perfectly fine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    third visit mainly chosen for its location and cleanliness rather than any other facilities.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights

    tea making facilities would be nice. wrap around sheets. no hand shower. only one lift working.

    cleanliness and fresh towels daily. coffee machine. nice big room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.7
    Hotel in need of some TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel felt run down and in need of repairs. Chipped paint, old stained carpets, and squeaky beds and shower. Really needs some touch-ups and repairs. The walls are very thin and you can hear conversations, people coughing, etc. The cleaning staff starts vacuuming at 8am, so very loud hotel. Also, the free shuttle they provide for Universal Studios was just a tiny weird van that showed up late.

    Very nice staff and the breakfast at the cafe was fantastic

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free WiFi, but terrible reception. Might as well not offer it at all.

    Nice location. Has a cafe on site. Across the street from Starbucks and a grocery store. Good banquet facilities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.3
    overall pleasant, had to pay for parking. $18 per days
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub was being maintenanced on one occasion I planned to enjoy. Paint peeling in shower and shower head was loose and weak.o

    Very comfortable bed and pillows. Black out curtains. Organic soap and shampoo.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.3
    Pleasant. My stay was pleasant. Love their out door garden and pool
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are paper thin. I could hear my neighbors. Too loud. Halls and elevator smelled. Parking was $18 a night.

    Great location. Surrounded by great place to have lunch/dinner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    4.6
    Not a bad place but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very dated property. You should remove all of the pine needles off of the roofs. It is a real fire trap. Only one elevator worked and the price of the room was a lot for a facility that is so old

    The parking was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.0
    Would never stay again. Too overpriced for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room Poolside
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had hair in the tub from the previous guest. Housekeeping knocked on our door at 9am asking if we were checking out that day (which we were) but why knock and ask? Don't they have their systems to show we are expected to check out? Didn't like that the coffee stand couldn't give my husband a few napkins when he asked for it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    6.3
    It was alright but will not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were outdated and we had to ask for a different one when we arrived because the first one smelled bad. The toilet started leaking one evening and a repair guy had to come fix it.

    The staff was very friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    6.7
    Motel level...good place for Universal Studios, nothing else great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Honestly this place shall not be called "hotel", quite like a hostel or motel. No laundry service, no fitness room but seems spend a lot on lobby. Close to Universal studios (approx. 10 minutes drive) but far from everything.

    hmmm.... the pool is lovely. Parking space is sufficient and cost $18 per day but it is resonable compared to other places in LA.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice Hotel and relatively close to city attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Recommend to improve the lighting in the room very dark, make more location for storing clothes (not enough storage if there are four people in a room), in the bath it is desirable to add hand dripper will be more comfortable for children to wash and was helping with was a small refrigerator

    The staff was very welcoming, the room was big enough for four people, the cleanliness was fine, the breakfast was reasonable but expensive ($ 21 per person) and the location was relatively good from all the attractions

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    6.3
    Nice neighbourhood, great pool, but would look around at other properties next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were not very friendly or helpful in booking travel to airport. Bathrooms are old and not renovated - painted over old grout in shower. Paint chipping on entry doors. You can tell this is an OLD property they have reno'd in some areas and lipsticked in others.

    Pool area was awesome. Lobby very funky but rooms large and very simple.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.1
    Reasonably priced good base for exploring LA
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms quite basic, very noisy pool parties and events until early hours and extremely thin walls. No fridge in apartment and the taking of $250 for incidentals on arrival from credit card which can take up to 21 days to return to your bank

    Great base for visiting LA, free shuttle to Universal Studios. Domestic staff and the men who drove the shuttle bus were excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    4.6
    The landscaping is very pretty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wedding at the pool with loud music kept us awake. Carpet is old and dingy. Could hear people upstairs and next door. We were there just for a break and get rest - we didn't get it.

    The landscaping is very pretty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.1
    We were there because of a family death. Staff was understanding.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the prices, the room should have had a refrigerator. Only one elevator was working. Pool ran out of towels. Smoking area is too close to handicap parking.

    They let us bring our grandchildren over to swim. Ww

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.0
    We arrived early and room was not available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived early and room was not available. Took 3 times to try to check in before getting room at 4pm. Problem with 1 lady's attitude on 2nd try to check in ( I had spilt ice tea and was soaking wet asking if our room was ready yet) had to stay in another family members room, I was told they would bring the key up to me as soon as the room was ready. No keys were ever brought to us, so I attempted to check in for the 3rd time, also asked to speck to the manager. Luis Gonzales (?) was VERY VERY RUDE!!! This was my 1st experience with Sportsman's Lodge Hotel and will be my LAST!! I had the rest of the family book there and I had the worst experience! My CC was stolen last week and they would not take my temporary card so I could check in, I had to get another family member to come down and put on his CC. My daughter hurt her ankle going to the pool that evening, because there was NO signs or notices posted that there was a HUGH step down when entering the pool. I did not file a report since staff was so RUDE! We had a crying baby in the next door room and since the walls were so thin, it sounded as if they were in my room. Doors slammed very loudly on each room, so that you heard slams all night long!! I absolutely would NOT recommend this place to anyone again!!! There was a wedding and a reunion that seemed to be the only focus of the staff. NOT worth my $200 bucks :(

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    I liked it and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Slow WiFi. Need more speed to work on laptop.

    Great beds, I slept very well. Great big pool, and even heated! Walking distance to excellent restaurants and bars, from eclectic to chic, inexpensive to high-end.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    6.7
    Best place to stay in The Valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two Queen Room poolside
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator noise pronounced in rooms near elevator, could hear it all night. No mini fridge or microwave.

    Fabulous pool area, nicely remodeled rooms and comfy beds.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Great location for a great night out with my man! Hip, cool and relaxing.....I'd go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the restaurant choices. They were good and fine but not awesome. I think people in LA want really healthy choices and I was surprised that at breakfast they didn't offer a gluten free option for toast or a substitute for not having toast. Also the room was a little loud. You can hear people talking in the hallway or in your room and walking above.....it wasn't bad but I noticed it. For example, someone's room service order woke me up in the morning.

    To me, the best part is the location of this place. There is so much to do....shopping, eating, bars. It's fun. They've redone the property nicely. It feels cool and hip. It could be cleaner, for sure. The carpet in the hallways and entrances was sort of grimy but the hotel is clean. The pool is great with a really hot Jacuzzi. We had a room overlooking the pool area with a beautiful view of all the trees they have on the property so it was a great room. I saw that there were rooms that over look the back parking lot and on the ground floor...I imagine those people weren't as happy as me. I was thinking that would be pretty bad. Hopefully those are cheaper.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Overall not bad.. Comfortable bed.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Elevators were out and the noice level (with door slamming and could hear others opening there doors). first night was a bit noising to sleep, 2nd night was better. Had a DO NOT DISTURB on the door (housekeeping came in the room anyway). Don't know if someone took off our door. But should a better system for that. Could hear the elevator operating once it was fixed.

    Convient for the event we were attending. Close to places we need to see Universal, The Grove and Pasadena. Overall not a bad location. Just a few more upgrades needed for privacy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    If I visit California again. I'm coming back to the Sportsman's Lodge Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean. Beds comfortable. The food was good. Heated pool, in case it gets chilly out. The whole staff was accommodating, especially the front desk! Amenities nice. Complimentary shuttle to Universal Studios.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.5
    The room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I despise paying for parking. I think it should be included with the room fee. The elevator was very slow so we usually walked the 4 flights of stairs.

    The room was clean. The shuttle to Universal made things very nice. The pool and hot tub were great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    Good location to visit Hollywood, universal studios, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, the walls of the room are not soundproof.

    Good location to visit Hollywood, universal studios, the Walk of fame. Free shuttle bus available from the hotel to the Universal Studios ( you must book it the day before). Very comfy and big room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.9
    Sportsmen’s Lodge offers convenience, affordability snd accessibility in a great Studio City locatio
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service stops fairly early, even on the weekends

    I love the location, it’s in walking distance to dining and shopping. There is a neighborhood feel, you don’t feel like you’re staying at a hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Bed big and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting outside to indicate where it is when driving a car would help. Second elevator not working.

    Bed big and comfy. Location great for getting to Beverly Hills and Universal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Very good location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Maybe the price for parking is too big.

    Very good location. Convenient for both: business and leisure. Friendly and totally caring staff. Plenty of parking lots, never had any problem on founding one. The most impressive thing about this hotel is the Pool. It’s big, clean, nicely surrounded by the hotel itself and beautiful palm trees. There’s a pleasant small garden and a Jacuzzi near the pool. I will totally recommend this place for anyone, families’ ore couples.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    5.8
    This was the worst stay, and least helpful desk staff I've encountered in 40 years of staying there.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room Two Queen Beds with balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was not advised in advance of the parking fee ($18 per night). There is not a business center or computer to use unless you pay for it. There was a fire alarm early on Friday morning: There was not staff in the hall to direct guests to exit, nor to explain if it was a serious event. The second night of my stay a guest across the hall was locked out of his room by whoever he was staying with. He pounded on the door for over an hour before hotel staff showed up. The parking lot is not well lighted.

    The location is great. I've been staying at the Sportsmen's Lodge because of it's convenience for over 40 years. The air conditioning seems to have been updated. In my previous few visits it was mediocre at best. Pool area is great. The hotel's general staff (maids, maintenance, etc.) is pleasant and always greets you when passing.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: