Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Monarch Beach Resort 5 stars

One Monarch Beach Resort, Dana Point, CA 92629, USA

#2 of 7 hotels in Dana Point

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 148 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort View King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that there were no toothbrushes in our room, so we have to call and ask for them and wait. Weddings are too noisy, I tried to read a book and relax, but there was a wedding ceremony downstairs.

    Beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    We will be back for 17th for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View King
    • Stayed 1 night

    We registered at Monarch for our 16th Anniversary, Surf and Sand was booked. This is a treat for us each year, Lovely stay and staff ! Exceptional property !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    My Partner and I use to go to the Monarch Resort together...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My Partner and I use to go to the Monarch Resort together for quick weekend getalways from LA. This past February Andy passed away so in his memory I took friends of ours there to experience what we loved so much about the Monarch and for my friends Virginia and Lee it was a perfect getaway at a resort like no other. Thank you Justin for making this trip even more memorable by remembering me from past stays the moment we arrived. The thing that makes the Monarch so special is it’s staff like Justin. They go above and beyond. Thank you so much for everything to the entire staff! Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Best Mother/Daughter splurge-in-the-sun getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Pool View Two Queens
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The meal cost was high but not unexpected. Food was exceptional. Good choices - Poolside, amazing Bourbon Steak, Aveo outdoor Brunch, Beachside Monarch Beach Club, Links-side Monarch Beach Cafe-Superb

    Lovely, beautifully maintained resort. Every staff member was friendly and responsive. The pools were our favorite - with lounge chairs, towels, umbrellas, hot tub provided and good lunch and drinks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    The luxury style of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was disappointing. i booked an ocean view room when we got there it had nothing to do with the ocean. Mainly it was golf view.i asked for an ocean view they said no availability. I'm there only for 4 nights although there were more cheaper options with direct ocean view.

    The luxury style of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    The beach was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fireside Terrace Two Queens
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was overpriced for being a mile away from the beach- A room service burger was $27, kids sliders at the pool were $19- We stay at many luxury properties and the costs for everything seemed to be 25% more than other comparable properties

    The beach was awesome

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.0
    Expensive luxury but excellent if you want to spoil yourself
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to request the room to be serviced one late afternoon as it had not been done. The extra 18% service charge for food & drink down at the beach makes it expensive for the sundowner but the location is very good for watching the sun make its way westward.

    Amazing beach which is in easy walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Very relaxing and easy to reach from our house in San Diego.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My wife and I have stayed many times at the St Regis Monarch Bay. I had a hard time finding Monarch Beach Resort on the internet and determining that it replaced the St Regis. I do not like to redesign and the place has lost the warmth of the St Regis. The redesign is too cold and austere for me. On Saturday night there was NOBODY in the bar area and the musician was playing to nobody !!! Then I heard that the new focus will be on families with children. Oh Boy, that is the last thing I want at a hotel like this to find a bunch of screaming kids. Bring back the ambiance of the St Regis.

    butterfly wrapped chocolates

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice staff, luxurious surroundings but needs better management
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a 5 star resort that can be better run. I left my phone charger at home, they directed me to the gift shop instead of offering a charger for me to borrow. Self parking was full, so I had to valet. Disorganized--the shuttle to beach was not operating and we initially had no one to take us to sunset yoga class. Thank goodness a nice man stepped in to drive us

    Staff was very welcoming, bellhop was super super helpful and knowledgeable. He took the inititative to look up things such as the sunset time for that day

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    This resort is on another level.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Pool View Two Queens
    • Stayed 1 night

    This resort is on another level. Amazing staff, stunning setting, ideal beach set up including a restaurant. Expensive, but worth the splurge for an occasional getaway.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.3
    Very disappointed to pay for an ocean view room and not get what we paid for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had reserved and paid for for an ocean view room with booking.com, but they gave us a room with golf course view and other houses. Much to my disappointment they did not move us to an ocean view room nor reduce the price appropriately to reflect the room they gave us since it was pre paid!

    Nice beach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful property but was expecting something more refined
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort View Two Queens
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many young people who weren't very professional at their jobs; private beach needed a thorough machine raking of sand

    The expanse of the property; big rooms; beach restaurant; live music

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    Food and amenities were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pool View King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While renting a cabana, you don't get dedicated service. We frequently had to flag down wait staff (which wasn't their fault as they had a large area to cover). As with many resorts, EVERYTHING is overpriced. $40/day to park. $6 for a simple cup of coffee. Every meal will run you $40-$80/person (not including alcohol).

    Food and amenities were excellent. Property is beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Elegant, but busy hotel in Dana Point
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions to find rooms and elevator are not clear Checking in waiting lines Valet waiting lines Breakfast buffet waiting lines No direct access to beach

    Bed and bathroom - all decoration in general

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    The stuff, they are extremely friendly and lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked the hotel in Booking.com they said that I can delay my checkout to 4pm, this not true, but was a Booking.com fault! The restaurants at hotel definitely need a new and more attractive menu.

    The stuff, they are extremely friendly and lovely. The pool is amazing and the bedrooms are really clean and comfortable!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice Place, But a Few Hitches Hold it Back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's more ocean view than beachfront, as one has to take a trolley for beach access. It's a small inconvenience as the wait can be 10-15 minutes. A couple of small things bothered us a bit. First, it's a very family-oriented spot. Don't get me wrong, we love kids. We have four of our own. But this is not the quintessential couples getaway spot. There are lots of young kids, and dogs, too, for that matter. I don't get the dog thing on vacation, but that's not the property's fault! I also booked an oceanfront table at the Beach Club for our anniversary dinner and did that about a month in advance. I had the concierge check back ahead of time, to make sure. And that night when we arrived, we were told they were busy and our table wouldn't be available. A young busboy named Cory was very helpful and attentive, much more so than our waiter, Sam, who seemed genuinely disinterested that we were there that night. Another hitch were the massages we received in the spa. Both were supposedly deep tissue, but when I asked my masseuse for a little more pressure, her very polite response was that she 'would try'. She might have done that, but there was virtually no change so a very expensive massage was just..... fine. Not exactly what you're looking for when you invest the kinds of resources they charge.

    The customer service is outstanding and the property is lovely. The staff is very courteous and respectful and of course, you can't beat the weather.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.2
    Awesome resort but very pricey
    • Couple
    • Resort View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meal prices were over the top. Way too expensive. Soup and a sandwich for 2 for lunch with water was $71.00. Breakfast for 1 was $66 for eggs bacon and a waffle.

    The service was supreme from the time I stepped off the shuttle. The rooms were really nice and the bed was heavenly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    8.8
    relaxing
    • Solo traveller
    • Resort View King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is inclusive in my room rate. However, staff didn't explain where, when can I have the breakfast and also how it works. I called the front desk to ask, staff told me I can have my breakfast in any restaurants in the public area. Next morning, I asked again while walking pass, the staff said I should go to "Aveo", it is the only restaurant to serve breakfast............as there is no buffet but A La Carte on my first day, I don't know how much can I order, so I called the front desk again at night, this time, the staff is very helpful, she explained clearly, I have $50 credit everyday, now I know. I think the front desk should provide more information regarding my booking, like the wifi service, info of breakfast. Besides, I checked-in at around 10pm on my first day, there is no turn down service. The housekeeping didn't replace all I consumed at room, like coffee caplsure, tea, bathing set...they didn't give me extra bathing set for my three days accommodation unless I asked on the third day. Overall, all staff are helpful and friendly, but as a luxury hotel, the service should be more considerate.

    I am so pleased to being upgraded to a sea view room, the view of my room is excellent and I love the fire place so much! Breakfast is tasty, staff are very helpful especially Nancy. She is very pro-active, she always sense my need before I asked, she also explain that I can have a complimentary tea or coffee to takeaway after breakfast, which no one told me on my first day. No wonder everyone have a takeaway drink when leaving.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.8
    Pretty nice re-model, but never going back due to no one telling me about "3rd night free"
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean View King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Worst thing: Booking.com FAILED to tell me there was a "3rd night free' promotion during the time I booked it. I paid over $700 a room for 2 nights, and I'm really not happy that no one pointed out the deal, as I would have saved a ton.

    Great location, staff very courteous

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful, full-service resort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Accessible King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful, recently renovated resort with amazing views! Although it was a busy Easter holiday weekend, the property did not seem crowded at all. A lovely experience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.2
    Staff were fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort View Two Queens
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was unfortunately shut for a day. There was a back up pool. when we did get to the pool it was wonderful. The tram to the pool was not as regular as they stated. We waited longer than the 10 minutes

    Staff were fabulous. Nothing was too much trouble. The remodel of the foyer area is really fantastic-great design. Rooms were clean and large for the standard size.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.2
    Great weekend getaway, only one small hiccup.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fireside Terrace Two Queens
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were only there for one night and the main pool area was closed for the day. I guess there was an issue with drainage, so my wife and I had to hang out in the kiddie pool area for the day. Even though we made the most of it, (given the price for one night) it wasn't ideal.

    The staff was amazing, the room was great, and the location was breathtaking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    9.6
    Couldn't have asked for a better honeymoon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View King
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not a thing. Loved every bit of it.

    Couldn't have asked for a better honeymoon! Absolutely beautiful property. My wife and I had a great room on the first floor with a fireplace. Great place to watch the sunset and enjoy a glass of wine. Played a round of golf and couldn't ask for better conditions...or a better breakfast burrito from the cafe at the turn.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    9.6
    A perfect end to a holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hidden charges should be given - tax; valet parking and use of pool should be free for the cost of the room. Golf overpriced as course not in great condition.

    The facilities and service were excellent

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.6
    Still my favorite resort in SoCal.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa is extra, so even for using the steam room there is an extra charge. When going to a 5 star hotel its a bit strange to have to pay to use the spa.

    I like that its not changed much from St Regis times. Its a beautiful hotel and the staff was wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    10
    40th Anniversary at the Monarch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wish we could have stayed longer!

    We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary and the staff went above and beyond to make our stay extra special. We were given an upgraded room with a beautiful view. Once in the room we received fruit and champagne. We received a special dessert at dinner out on the beach. They also accommodated a late check out. Each member of the staff greeted us by name and gave us congratulatory wishes throughout our stay. We had an absolutely wonderful time!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    10
    Beautiful hotel, amazing amazing staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort View Two Queens
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one staff member that we came in contact with was anything but outstanding. They all went above and beyond as far as customer service. I've never stayed at a hotel this amazing from customer service, to cleanliness to location, on and on. Can't say enough good things about this beautiful friendly accommodating hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pool View King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Aggressive pool towel people.

    View! Big rooms, ride to the beach, Starbucks coffee shop. It is fancy:)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Beauty and elegance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Accessible King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beauty and elegance

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Luxury stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fairly expensive

    Facilities at the Monarch Bay Resort at excellent as is the food and service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean View King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was well

    Entire stay very nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.9
    Gd but far away from activists
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Resort View King
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The system of hotel play with my credit all time

    Clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Great hotel good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pool View King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel good service. Beautiful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Amazing resort, great for relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Resort View King
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hospitality.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.9
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You closed both pools for and event. We were here for one night that was not acceptable for the guest’s. I won’t be returning

    Staff was excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View King
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beaches and the beach club particularly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous. A little expensive but fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Accessible Two Queens
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking expensive. Pool a little noisy due to guests using cell phones

    Everything. Fab hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.3
    Our stay was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Accessible Two Queens
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Seemed the staff could use more training from management.

    The location and views

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    5.0
    Will not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fireside Terrace King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was dismissive. Seating by the pool grossly inadequate for the number of guests. Exorbitantly expensive for what you get.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Always the Best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pool View Two Queens
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beach and property

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent 5 Star Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool View King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance to the beach

    Service was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Pool View Two Queens
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food just okay for the price; room not ready at check in time; beach not as clean as expected.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Resort View King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!!! Service was absolutely amazing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel, friendly staff & very relating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pool View Two Queens
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants & room service were highly over priced. So was the parking.

    Beautiful hotel, friendly staff & very relating

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.6
    There is no 'adult' pool it was filled with little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Accessible King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no 'adult' pool it was filled with little kids

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Beautiful Butterfly Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Accessible Two Queens
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast options suck in the sit down restaurant

    The private club is Bomb BestBloody Nsrys in the world

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful but pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool View King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little far from the actual beach. Everything was a bit pricey.

    Room was spacious. Bathroom was huge. Pool staff was nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    7.1
    nice relaxing environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fireside Terrace King
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inconsidtencies in service-- lacking toilet paper

    Outside balcony with firepit

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    10
    Better signage in hotel - hard to find where the other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pool View Two Queens
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better signage in hotel - hard to find where the other bars/restaurants were.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    9.6
    Bravo an excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pool View Two Queens
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very nice staff and excellent property

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    7.5
    Spa prices too high for quality
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fireside Terrace King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa prices too high for quality

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    9.2
    Fabulous property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Pool View Two Queens
    • Stayed 1 night

    the food was mediocre

    the property is magnificent. the beach club is excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.6
    Dreamlike
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pool View Two Queens
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely

    The ocean views!!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    6.3
    Posh hotel, too far from ocean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pool View King
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to take a trolley to the beach.

    The bed was very comfortable. Very attentive staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.6
    beautiful, lovely, top-notch resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Accessible Two Queens
    • Stayed 2 nights

    $40 per day parking.

    gorgeous setting. comfortable beds. so kind to upgrade view. excellent food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    9.6
    Very nice property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was comfortable and spacious! Stone hill tavern was very nice. We had the tasting menu with wine pairing, marvelous!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful spot that too many people know about
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pool View King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crowded and felt a little chaotic

    Staff was helpful and responsive; facilities and views stunning

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful setting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fireside Terrace Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar service was slow. Bartender (female) was talking to a group of girls thus ignoring other patrons.

    Food everywhere was awesome.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.5
    loved the entertainment:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King
    • Stayed 1 night

    loved the entertainment:)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    Perfect again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Resort View Two Queens
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kori Walker at the Front Desk was super helpful!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    9.0
    The room was extra nice and big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was going through a major construction project on their out door facilities so there were no pools, spas or grounds to use. had I known this prior to our reservation, I would not have stayed during their construction.

    The room was extra nice and big. The bathroom was extraordinary and made the lack of a spa, due to construction, easy to forget. The view from every floor was beautiful. The private beach and beach side bar were nice surprises. Can not wait until the construction is completed so we can gladly return.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    9.6
    The service was amazing - enjoyed every minute of our time...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The service was amazing - enjoyed every minute of our time there! And the butterfly chocolates delivered in the evening were an extraordinary touch. Cannot WAIT to go back!

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.6
    Love the design of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Service at the bar area was a bit spotty and slow. This was the only thing I didn't like about the hotel.

    Love the design of the room. All designed by Jonathan Adler. Rooms were clean. The downstairs deli place was perfect for a quick breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    8.8
    Everything was exceptional.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    There were major renovations going on so we couldn't try the spa or enjoy the grounds. The location is ok, I would've liked to have been closer the ocean. But the short drive to laguna beach is very nice and scenic.

    Everything was exceptional....the room was big, clean, and comfy. It was perfect for a romantic get away. It was very close to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    9.2
    Everything was fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The pool and the spa were closed due to construction. There should have been a caveat when booking. Thank goodness there at least was beach access.

    Everything was fabulous.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    5.8
    Not a lot to like- our stay was off to a bad start.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Soooo we enter the hotel at 3.30, it was me and a friend. Waited in a fairly long line only to be told check in isn't until 4, so we'll have to wait. To be noted here: everyone in the line was being served champagne except for my friend and I. At this point I am not that concerned with being passed over for some cheap champagne. The guy behind the desk tells us it is worth waiting for our room because our room was amazing- he could put us in another room but that was a pool view room and the pool was under construction. First off, I would be PO'd if I was there to enjoy the pool, because there was no indication at the time of booking or after that the pool was under construction. So we wait. At 4.10ish, I ask someone in the lobby to check if my room was ready and she comes back and says yes. So off I go, stand in a line AGAIN only to be told AGAIN at 4.20 that the room wasn't ready and it would be another 30 mins. Now I am passed over for champagne yet again and this time I am ticked off. Check in was at 4, so where is my room? And where is my cheap champagne? Profuse apologies at this point and a promise that there will be a bottle of Champagne that will follow us to the room and that they will give us a $50 credit. How generous of the St. Regis to give me a $50 credit- not even a full meal in the OC. We had dinner reservations at 6.30 for a restaurant in Newport Beach and needed to leave by 5.45 for that and get dressed before leaving (2 girls, so that would take some time). So half an hour later I get a call on my phone, saying my room is ready and there will be a person in the lobby (the awesome lady who couldn't care to serve me champagne when she was falling over herself to serve everyone else) who I can just tell to get the room keys for me, because they did not want me to wait in line again. Ok, great! So I go there, only to watch awesome champagne lady walk away to the back of the house to replenish cheap champagne for weary arrivals.

    Not a lot to like- our stay was off to a bad start. The bellboys did good, I guess.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The fact that I learned of no pool/spa at check in Golf staff was rude at check-in Restaurant hostess at the Beach club and Hotel restaurant were rude

    Location Actual golf course Cart drivers

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    7.5
    Loved the location and overall venue;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Booking.com did not indicate that there was major construction going on during our stay. This is evidently why it was reasonable considering a 5 star resort. Things like that need to be disclosed prior to arrival.

    Loved the location and overall venue; beautiful view!

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    6.3
    Beautiful room and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stay away until May! My wife and I went to the hotel for a weekend away from the kids and to lie by the pool as have had fabulous experiences in the past. E But the entire grounds are undergoing a full renovation. I don't remember being notified of this when I made the reservation it's a shame to spend the money to stay at a 5 star hotel and see greens construction netting outside your windows. I appreciate the fact that these renovations are to make the hotel better but we may have made a different choice if we knew that we were not going to be able to use the pool.

    Beautiful room and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    9.6
    The room was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Closer to the ocean when it says ocean view. Our room was a great location except for the fact that all the work trucks, porta potty and materials for the work they are doing to the resort were right outside are window. Took the romantic evening sunset away. Noisy, people moving furniture very late in the evening and early in the morning.

    The room was very nice. Bed was comfy but a little high. The room came with everything you would need for a romantic evening. The bathroom had everything I brought from home. Turn down service was an extra nice touch.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    10
    the private beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    well, to me, having to give your room number to take the tram and give your name was a little off putting to me, especially as it didn't seem like people were trying to sneak or steal that ride and although i gave the facilities perfect scores, i didn't know that the pool was torn up and some people would not like that as it was prominent, that and some of the parts of the hotel behind make shift barricades...but the places that are fine are so awesome that overall i still wanted to give it a great rating; i like to support service people, but several times a day i was giving out tips and usually that meant about $60 per day, sometimes more and i almost would have rather had one person that was my go to person, but not a big deal; these are just suggestions if i ran the place i'd work on

    the private beach...paradise....the take your breath away view as you enter...sublime....the elegance of the room...terrific....the genuine joy and politeness of staff...refreshing

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    7.5
    The rooms are very comfortable, with high end bedding and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Facility is under refurbishment which distracted from the overall experience. Some of the restaurants were closed which put more guest load on the ones that were open, which made reservations a must at all meal times. Our first discovery of that cost us an hour and a half.

    The rooms are very comfortable, with high end bedding and bathroom features. For my birthday, they had complimentary Champagne and chocolates waiting in the room when we arrived. A very nice touch.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    10
    I took my husband to celebrate his 60th Birthday.
    • Family with young children

    I took my husband to celebrate his 60th Birthday. And we were extremely pleased with our overall experience. From being greeted at valet parking to when we walked into the hotel, we were surrounded and greeted with such a heartfelt welcome and beautiful big smile from everyone around us. We had a fabulous time! The private beach was our highlight of our trip. The sound of the waves and ocean breeze was perfect! My husband & son truly enjoyed relaxing outside on the patio chairs as they were both listening to music on their headphone set; while I was enjoying my delicious Mai-tai drinks. They were the best #1 Mai-tai's ever!!! Compliments to our bartender!! A HUGE THANK YOU & KUDOS to Francis, Ricky, and Marcello for helping me make my husband's 60th birthday a SUPER SPECIAL & SPECTACULAR SUCCESS!!

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    9.6
    Lovely room and luxurious bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    View of dug up pools and boarded up areas of lobby and restaurants from window/balcony of room. Shampoo was not good for long hair.

    Lovely room and luxurious bathroom. Fabulous!!! Could see ocean in distance from room balcony. 1/2 price valet parking and no resort fees. Close proximity to several beach cities. Definitely a Booking.yeah! moment upon entering room :)

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    8.8
    I paid for a garden room but got put next to the dinning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not getting what I paid for

    I paid for a garden room but got put next to the dinning area, and workers started working very early Sunday morning, just not as good as the first time I stayed there

There are also 62 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: