Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stage Coach Lodge 3 stars

1111 Tenth Street, Monterey, CA 93940 , USA

#24 of 67 hotels in Monterey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1397 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    Pleasant, relaxing & comfortable 2 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed exceptionally comfy, good breakfast, Guy on reception very helpful and informative. Very kind considering I flooded bathroom and soaked reception area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    8.5
    Great for a Honeymoon - close to attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfortable. Room was clean. The bed had a lot of pillows and we didn't need to ask for extra. The room even had a no slip mat to put down for the shower. The property was pretty with trees and flowers in the parking area.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    A super place to stay, in the heart of everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    A super place to stay, in the heart of everything. We had organised car rental and Sportsman Lodge was easy to find. Parking was perfect at the back and café in the hotel was super.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    8.8
    Cute little lodge on the edge of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little out of the heart of things but a short drive in if you have a car. I think about 30minute walk. Wouldn’t deter me from staying again though, especially given the value for money.

    Staff were friendly and offered plenty of recommendations. Rooms were spacious and clean. Breakfast space was small but pleasant. Free parking.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.2
    Manager was very personable and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Person in room above was noisy in middle of last night. Repeatedly walked back and forth apparently making no effort to be quiet(3:45 to 4:30 and 6AM).

    Manager was very personable and helpful. Housekeeper also very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    6.3
    Very comfortable location if you are travelling along the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was just terrible

    Very comfortable location if you are travelling along the PCH. But there was almost nothing around the hotel, so it is ok only for night

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    There was nothing to dislike.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to dislike. We booked on the spur of the moment when our previously booked motel did not live up to expectations. Everything was great from the management to the facilities. Would definitely book again if in the area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.4
    I’d rather stay at a place with a restaurant/bar nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for an out of the way hotel. The tiny tiny pool wasn’t heated. The smoke alarm went off from the shower steam, rang for at least 5 minutes, and there was no response from the staff.

    The room was spacious and clean. The breakfast offerings was very nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    We loved it here! Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t ask for more for the $!!!!!

    If you like friendly staff, extremely clean comfortable, tastefully decorated , quiet rooms , this is the place for you. We could not have asked for a better stay and would recommend over many of the higher end motels. Easy walking distance to all you want to do!!! We are so glad this was the place we chose!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.0
    A basic down-to-earth motel; VERY basic breakfast which we did not eat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found a dirty sock by the bed which means I doubt the room had been vacuumed - bathroom and beds fine. Little too far to walk to tourist things such as Fishermen’s Wharf

    Michael at front desk was exceptional

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.1
    Economic price during the week in Monterey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic breakfast. It was not very clean in the room. E.g. there were hairs in the shower at the wall. It was very loud. But mostly you heard the neighbours upstairs.

    We liked that it was central. Unfortunately we just were able to stay the night in Monterey. The price was ok. Parking is included.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location for seeing Monterey & Carmel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bigger selection for breakfast e.g. more fruit options

    The room was great. Hotel is in a good location and all places of interest are within easy walking distance. The breakfast was basic and the breakfast room is tiny, however you can take it back to your room to eat.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    4.2
    Not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses are old and uncomfortable. You also sink into the middle. Cheap quality mattresses for $350+ a night.... i should have slept in my car that night. Free breakfast included?? Would have expected scrambled eggs and bacon.... definitely not what you pay for here. I don’t understand how this site calculated the rating to 4.2 it should be at most a 1.2

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    We only had one night in Monterrey but this was a perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only had one night in Monterrey but this was a perfect stopover. We could have stayed longer. The hotel is in a good location for the town and provides a simple but perfectly adequate breakfast in the morning which saves lots of time. Good shower in the bathroom. Each room is named after somewhere along Big Sur with a picture in the room which was nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.0
    If I go Car Week I guess you stay where theres room no matter this review is just for people to know
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beds have to be 12 years old the springs were squeaky it was old and for the $ not worth it although it was Car Week and everyone hoses you. But I guess thats what it is and will be.

    The coffee was awful. The rest was just basic cereal and croissants were so so

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Very clean and beautiful room. Stayed in a Queen room with 2 queen beds. Awesome. Very friendly staff. I highly recommend staying here. Close to everything including the park, fisherman's wharf and cannery row. Will most definitely use them again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    see above
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    coffee

    Clean room; OK breakfast-what can you expect for free? The coffee needs an upgrade-great location; close to everything. More than I would pay ($221) for this type of motel-but travelling in August (high season) and in central Monterey; was the best I could find.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Pretty flowers on outside wall of building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was way too small. There was only one staff at the concierge all the time. But he was kind.

    Pretty flowers on outside wall of building.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    A nice place needs nice people to run it.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    In booking, my request for "Pet Friendly" was lost. I checked in. Checked the room, which was very nice and took my 4lb 11 year old Maltese to the office to ask where the walking area was for her. They really could have handled it better. I was treated as if I was trying to sneak her in. and nothing I could say made any difference. Such as out of all of the properties that are friendly, Why would I choose one that wasn't and walk in with her? When I offered to leave and asked for a refund, the room had not been used, I was told because I had gone through Booking.com a 3rd party they could not refund me, they were not helpful at contacting booking, they finally did back down after saying at first that they could not contact you they did but my paperwork was in the room (I was just walking my dog not going to the office) and I would have to pay an additional $160 for her. I finally took her to a friends and climbed in bed after midnight, exhausted with a big day the next day. I felt rather abused. There are ways to deal with an honest mistake. The customer is not the enemy. Help them. And they looked at my little clean white dog as if she was a huge filthy slobbering mess. That was just rude.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property was lovely, it was a nice place to stay and felt very safe when walking to the beach/pier area closeby. We had a great stay and we would definitely go back again. Breakfast was nice too!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    This was a lovely place and the staff were really helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all good

    This was a lovely place and the staff were really helpful giving us lots of information about what to do. Location was excellent for the fisherman’s wharf area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    See above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager and his wife are special people. I had several needs, and lots of questions, and every thing was answered with a smile. I just hope that I will,travel this part of,California again, because I, want to stay here again. There was nothing I did not like.

    See above. The Manager is just fabulous. Due to disability, I was able to stay on the first floor. What a great place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    I felt safe & rested well at this lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Stage Coach Lodge was such a pleasant find at our recent stay in Monterey. The location is near some main roads that get you where you need to go. It was so quiet as well, being on the edge of a residential neighborhood. The review regarding cleanliness was totally accurate!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast which was a shambles not enough room very limited choice and limited seating an accident waiting to happen! Got charged for an extra adult for no reason which the owner said was booking.com’s fault. Both children are under 18. Am awaiting recompense for this....

    Room size and decor

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    I will stay here again when in the area. Excellent facility!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't anything I didn't like about this facility.

    The room was very spacious and very comfortable. Very quiet, with no noise from other rooms. Facility is not a real large facility and it is well located to all the places in Monterey and the surrounding areas. Bed was very comfortable, and the room was well decorated. Front desk was very helpful. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Clean, modern and quirky motel, would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was lacking, very limited choice and not great quality of what was on offer.

    The rooms are clean and modern, the motel itself is quirky and has a beautiful bloom of flowers outside when we stayed. There are washing and drying facilities and a safe in your room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a good 20 minute walk into town so I would have preferred somewhere a little closer

    Lovely large, clean rooms and friendly, helpful staff. Plenty of parking and a surprisingly good selection for breakfast. Good coffee too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    We had a room upstairs at the end of the coridor, so it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small breakfast room.

    We had a room upstairs at the end of the coridor, so it was quiet. We didn't even hear the nearby highway, because our room was at the backside of the house. Luxurious bathroom! Wonderful bed. It was easy to get into the town centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    It was such a sweet surprise to be upgraded to a king suite,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was such a sweet surprise to be upgraded to a king suite, especially since it was our honeymoon. The room was beautiful! The man who checked us in was so friendly and went over a map of the area without us even requesting it. He said if he had known it was our honeymoon, he would’ve put a bottle of wine in the room too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    4.6
    This was a truly expensive mistake for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dark and dreary; the refrigerator didn't work; the shower in the tub wouldn't drain; the hair dryer screeched when used; the coffee pod was already used; the sheet on one of the beds had a blood stain so was not useable; the styrofoam coffee cups in the office didn't have lids available to allow it to go on the road when we decided to pass on the breakfast offerings.

    Honestly, we found the gentleman who checked us in the only positive of this experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Good clean motel with very friendly and helpful staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a problem getting hot water in the shower in the morning. Got there in the end but took 15 mins or so.

    Good clean motel with very friendly and helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    The couple that runs the hotel is very,very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The couple that runs the hotel is very,very nice.The room was clean and the breakfast was for the low price more than good.You can even create your own waffles.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money, great for a one night stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    General issue with US is that what is called 'Continental' breakfast is nothing more that few pastries, a coffee machine and some toasts.

    Good value for money. Great for one night stop. Clean and comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    The room was spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast seating arrangement

    The room was spacious and clean. We definitely enjoyed our stay here and will stay here the next time we are in Monterey..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    A refreshing Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was a little out of town, but not too far.

    The room was very comfortable, it had a fridge and a microwave as well as a coffee machine. The breakfast was slightly limited but enjoyably. I particularity liked the decor throughout the place and also the fact that the rooms all had names. We had the Jelly Fish Room, nice touch. We also had a nice book on the local areas with tips for getting the most out of the area. The staff were really helpful too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    Lovely outside area, room was comfortable everywhere was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cramped area for breakfast not really enough room for the guests Toilet seat was broken and there was a terrible drain smell outside the day we left

    Lovely outside area, room was comfortable everywhere was spotless

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Super comfortable, like a much more expensive hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right next to the cleaning closet so it was a little loud in the morning but no big deal

    Super nice hotel. For just a little more money than the crappy motels, the inside of the room felt like a Hilton or something that’d cost way more. The front desk staff were amazing and very courteous and the whole experience was great for our stay. Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    We will defy one back.!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From our room we could hear the air conditioning unit going on and off during the night at a room near by..

    Cleanliness, convenient and how relaxing it was staying here. Very quite...:)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    It is quite close to the centre of Monterey and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was disappointing. There was a very small area so it became crowded, but there was nothing gluten-free that I could eat anyway despite including the request on my booking.

    It is quite close to the centre of Monterey and the abundance of flowers around the front of the property makes it look nice. The staff like to offer suggestions of what to see and do in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    The person at check in and check out was always cordial.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very comfortable. The only down side was, being advertised as including breakfast, it was more of a continental breakfast than full.

    The person at check in and check out was always cordial. Greeting people as they came in for breakfast and inquiring if anything was needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant. We are from New Zealand and appreciated the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location. We had trouble finding the property and found it difficult to get there from the freeway.

    Everything was provided. It was clean and well presented.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    A pleasant surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little hard to find. If you don't come in from the right direction it can be easily missed. I'd paint over the Stagecoach mural out front and change the name of the place. But a nice find for the price.

    It is an older property but the room and bathroom were updated and much nicer than I expected. The continental breakfast was good enough to get you going, the staff was friendly and the pillows were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Excellent value, top notch service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The customer service was top notch! We didn’t know what to expect when we booked last minute at a rate of $85 for a king bed room. We arrived at midnight and the gentleman working the front desk was so friendly and helpful. Our room was absolutely spotless and had everything we needed. We will absolutely be back and we’re going to recommend this hotel to everyone!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.0
    The lobby people was nice and friendly give USA info to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t like that it shows that the have pool and it dosent said that they don’t have a heating pool and the reason I get this hotel was because of the pool since I traveled with my kids. Water was so cool my kids were very disappointed. I should said that they don’t have so people will no and decide if they want to get this place I will not rent this place again.

    The lobby people was nice and friendly give USA info to where we can go which it was a nice place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only slight downside was that the junction leading from the main road to the hotel road was weirdly positioned so you had to be careful when entering as other drivers didn't seem to know how it worked so it wouldn't be too difficult to have a little crash BUT this is not the hotel's fault and in no way is it a reflection of the hotel at all! Just be wary when driving there, especially at night as the road signs and markings are ambiguous.

    Nicely positioned basic but comfortable and clean hotel/motel. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. The rooms were absolutely fine, they were clean, everything worked and it was in a quiet neighborhood. The wifi worked well, there's a very small pool although we didn't use it and the beds were nice and comfy. It takes 15 to 20 minutes to walk into Monterey but it's a nice walk and there's always Uber if you feel lazy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Very clean hotel. If you choose to book here, be sure to call and request a room upstairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More training is needed at the front desk for checking in. Also, we were four best friends on a weekend away and was given a room downstairs with children running around in the room above us. Perhaps rooms booked with children can be assigned downstairs for the comfort of others. No jacuzzi. Very cold pool. A jacuzzi is needed if the hotel continues to have a non-heated pool. We took a dip but just too cold. If we had a jacuzzi we would have been fine.

    Very clean facilities and the staff were very congenial.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Very happy we stayed at the Stage Coach Inn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could say negative was the shower was not hot enough and did not have great water pressure.

    It was super clean, had everything we needed, and the price was great!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location to town centre, surrounding amenities.

    Good value hotel, situation 20 mins walk from fisherman’s wharf. Quiet location in residential area. Nice to have had continental breakfast included, great. Not much around the hotel in terms of restaurants or bars, need to drive or taxi. Small pool on site if weather warm enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    The rooms are clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man at the front desk wasn't welcoming to my child. He barked at him for gently touching things in the waiting area that were right at his four year old eye level and looked just like toys. When we arrived at 8pm they couldn't find our reservation and wanted us to wait while they searched and called booking.com despite the fact that they had rooms available and I had several copies of the reservation. I insisted that they put us in a room and sort it out on their own time.

    The room was so clean and recently updated. The bed was very comfortable and the room was nicely decorated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Overall it was such a blessing to stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn’t bring my pet if I wanted to.

    Especially the cleanliness. Also with a big Vehicle they made it easier to park. Meaning they accommodated me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    Decent motel short driving distance from downtown Monterey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast too sugary and served with plastic cutlery and plates. Didn't use the swimming pool as out of season, but the pool being located in the parking lot isn't very appealing.

    Comfortable room and large bed; perfectly clean bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Great value, comfort, situation and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything that I didn't like.

    Ideally situated, great value hotel. Clean and spacious rooms, with coffee maker, fridge and microwave. Lovely little dip pool area too. Good selection of breakfast items, which you could eat in and chat with fellow travellers, or take back to your room. The customer service was great, informative and nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely stay there again and recommend to others, if I returned to the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    Quaint, quiet place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very distracting creaking of floor boards from visitors who stay in the upper level. Could hear sound from their TV. It was especially bad when they get up at around 4-5 am and start moving around. Didn't like the lighting of the bathroom - not well lit, It wasn't abit further than expected if you are planning to walk.

    The breakfast was really simple. Toast / Jam/ Butter/ fruit / 2 choices of cereal / milk / coffee. The bed was comfortable, with clean linen. They go a further step and provide makeup remover towels. I thought that was really sweet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Stayed like a queen, very beautiful and comfy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only downside was the breakfast. It was not exactly scanty but much more was desired. They had the usual cereals, milk, coffee, juices, bread, butter, jam, muffins, croissants. But some kind of egg or sausage would had made it more fulfilling.

    The small hotel and the rooms were very beautiful. Very comfortable. Very spacious. Had all the amenities such as Safety safe, kettle, Iron board, microwave, fridge, big screen hd tv, loads of channels to watch, bath tub, 24hrs hot and cold water, air condition etc. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They let me check in early and check out late. I had a conference at Hyatt which was 5 min walking from this hotel and hence I found the location excellent but its not exactly in the city center. But its very close to the Monterey regional airport. Also the bus stop is just 5 mins walk. However the Fisherman's Wharf was not exactly near but walk able and Del monte shopping center is one bus ride away. Will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.5
    The room was more roomy than most motel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in room 129 was extremely noisy...woke up thinking I was in Washington machine. Told the front desk and hopefully just a maintenance issue and not a standard ac/heater style

    The room was more roomy than most motel. The mattress was nice and thick with new clean linen. The bathroom did not show your standard wear and tear.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.9
    We had a good stay for a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel met our expectations very nicely.

    The rooms were clean and comfortable. The useful, friendly information that the desk clerks provided enhanced our visit to Monterey.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    Absolutely recommandable for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the motel was not exactly noisy, it might be difficult for light sleepers. There is some sound from the airco/heating systems. You can hear traffic, but not extreme, more like a humming. Additionally, on the second floor (top level) rain hitting the roof can be quite noisy. Tiny breakfast room (reception area), but you may the tray to your room.

    Super WiFi. Sufficient parking spaces available. Friendly staff Sufficient space in the room. Comfy bed. I especially liked that - besides the usual soap, shampoo etc - make up remover tissues were provided.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    AMAZING!!! Will definitely be staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in the bottom row of rooms, and we could hear the people above us as they walked around. Even at 3am, though that is more the people's fault than the hotel.

    The hotel was so nice and clean!!! First thing I smelled when I walked in was a light soapy clean smell that was NOT overpowering which was nice. The room was also very organized and beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Very comfortable, convenient to attractions. Will book here for future visits/stays in Monterey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to go to office for coffee as there was only 1 coffee in room (de-caffeinated 😣), and it was Mid evening. We slept in a little so was unable to enjoy the continental breakfast.

    Room was very clean, the bed very very comfortable. Plenty of lighting but would have liked at least one lighting dimmer. Overall facilities kept exceptionally clean. Front Desk Agent very professional and kind. Smoking Area was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet (via the WIFI) was not working.

    Rooms were nice. The location is in a residential area, so it was quiet. Bed was very comfortable, (not to soft - I like a firmer bed). Current road work makes it impossible to access 10th Avenue from Camino Aguajito. To avoid a long re-direction, turn left on 7th street, right on Ocean Ave., to reach property.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    5.0
    not happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the check in time is 4pm and the check out time is 11am, and they donot provide service of luggage storage, had to change our plan for touring. also the floor is not clean and the sheet is not clean, there is even blood spot

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.8
    Room clean and adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast left much to be desired. No fresh fruit; no yogurt; very limited, crowded seating, in the tiny lobby. Only one person in the lobby. When I arrived, it took about 15 minutes for him to check me in, as there were 2 guests ahead of me.

    Room clean and adequate. Front desk staff pleasant and helpful. When we complained about sluggish drainage in tub, it was addressed promptly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    Good quality budget hotel ideal for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good quality budget hotel ideal for short stay. Quite a walk from the facilities on Fishermans Pier and Cannery row but very comfortable and would recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Wish we could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Staff was super friendly and accommodating. We were offered a free upgrade to a king suite that was very roomy, clean and comfortable. Room was ready when we arrived (1 pm) and were allowed to check in. Location was good, only a couple of miles to Cannery Row and all the action.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.4
    Comfortable rooms, but far from the main tourist area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The front staff were not helpful, no elevator to second floor, no lights in the corridor after midnight. The breakfast area is very small, the coffee is from a machine and is really bad. Stick with the coffe-maker in your room. The hotel is very far from Monterey tourist area, you need to drive to all the attractions. No restaurants around either.

    It is a simple hotel, the rooms and bathroom were comfortable and clean, small amenities like coffee maker, fridge and microwave can be hand. Parking lot is easy to maneuver, and there is a very small swimming pool in the corner. It is a good place to stay if you are on a budget, but have a car.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    Cozy and clean motel, quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was nice and clean and all the furniture, walls, appliances etc were in good condition. The entire property had a cozy and well maintained feel, and I enjoyed my brief stay here. Also, while being located in a quiet residential neighbourhood, the hotel is just a 2-minute drive from the Monterey state beach and Fisherman's wharf.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.3
    We would find another place to stay with better parking and breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was difficult at night - sometimes had to park on the street. Also, breakfast was very poor compared to other places I've stayed. I had to throw away my pastry after the first bite; it was disappointing as did my companion.

    It was a traditional less expensive motel. The staff who checked us in was very nice and it was clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    5.0
    Fair accommodation, overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise coming from the street and from guests in the room above was annoying. Wooden ceiling resonated at every step or sound they made.

    The room and the bathroom were large enough.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Fit all my needs.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee would have been better stronger.

    I did not eat breakfast, but juice was good. Staff was excellent and room extremely clean every day. I loved the hardwood floors.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.1
    Good staff, generally a good room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given a room where the shower curtain was too short. The water flooded the bathroom. They clearly know there was a problem as they said a curtain was on order but they didn't warn us and could have given us a different room. The breakfast was awful with the apples being the only food on offer that was not incredibly sweet; the worst breakfast ever.

    Good staff, generally a good room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Great relaxing hotel with clean accomodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fresh water available other than tap, except during breakfast.

    The bed and pillows were soft and comfortable. Breakfast options are small but sufficient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a little bit far to the restrant, and without light on the road.

    The room is big and clean with full facility, car parking is free, good value with the price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.5
    Very affordable, complimentary upgrade due to a problem in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast could have been better, very minimal. The first night we stayed here we were woken up by an extremely loud noise coming from the toilet. We complained to the front desk the next day and they did move us into a nicer room which was nice.

    Very affordable, complimentary upgrade due to a problem in our original room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Brief but comfortable. I would be happy to stay for a longer visit.
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We phoned to ask for an early check in but our call was not returned. (As it turned out, we arrived later than we'd planned.)

    Pleased to park right in front of door since I had recently injured my ankle. There was adequate room and lighting for two women getting ready for an event. We felt safe returning after dark and enjoyed the light breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.5
    The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the ground level. The noise from the floor above interfered with my ability to sleep. We were without hot water the first night we arrived.

    The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: