Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Stanford NYC This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

43 West 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10001, United States of America

#302 of 415 hotels in New York City

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2956 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    4.2
    2
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are very small. There is no room service and there is no self laundry service only. They have room cleaning service. There is no breakfast. Deluxe buffet breakfast. Cheese, croissant and butter only.

    I do not like this property and there are no parking spaces

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    8.8
    Location was good, right near several subway stations, close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didnt have a city view :( (even though i was expecting not too cause i paid a cheap price) - maybe just specify on the details that there is no city view Elevator is small.

    Location was good, right near several subway stations, close to hop on hop off empire state building location, CVS store nearby, liqour store over next block. Staff was friendly and helpful, 24hour service. Facilities were clean, aircon was strong.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    5.8
    No comments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I requested for 2 single beds 5 months in advance but they gave me 1 bed. I have to pay more money to upgrade to 2 single beds. One trick of getting more money from the clients. Not good.

    location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    8.8
    if I pay a little lower price, I can stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the room was dark because it was on the back, and the lighting was insufficient.

    the location was great, the room was huge and the maid was cleaning and gathering every day. the staff was helpful. breakfast was average.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.6
    I forgot my new phone on reception while checking out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    I forgot my new phone on reception while checking out. The receptionist ran after me to handover. I really want to thank him for that. Overall it was great hotel, great location and helping staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    7.1
    Location and good night sleep; very poor breakfast; only one and slow elevator; bad wifi connection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor and bad breakfast. No eggs, no vegetables, no cheese, no ham, bacon. Only pastry full of sugar and fruit yoghurt, also loaded with sugar. Nothing to give you energy for the hours to come. Only one and very slow elevator. Poor internet.

    Location.... room was cleaned everyday...good bed ti sleep in

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    Staff was very receptive and attentive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was very receptive to our requests. They gave us all assistance and information needed. They help us to store our luggage before our check-in and even after our check-out. For this reason we enjoyed our trip much better. The room was confortable and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    4.2
    Will never stay at the Stanford and will never recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi was terrible. If you need to use WiFi (and who doesn’t) don’t stay here. The rooms, although advertised as renovated, are not. We had to change rooms 3 times to get one that was clean and the bathroom up to speed. Breakfasts was terrible.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    8.8
    Rooms were comfortable and quite good in standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wi-fi was very slow. Concerned about the reliance on single-use plastics for breakfast.

    Rooms were comfortable and quite good in standard. Good continental breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.9
    Spacious room, staff is very helpful with check in and check...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No microwave oven, breakfast is very sweet (all you can find is coffee/tea with croissant, jam, bagels, sweet corn flakes and sweet yogurt, bananas and red apples), I wish there was something for people who avoid eating sugar. :)

    Spacious room, staff is very helpful with check in and check out, great location, room was really clean (checked by our 10 months old crawling daughter)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay, great value- would definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suites
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one slow small elevator. Noisy outside at night.

    Friendly helpful staff. Close to Times Square. Easy access to subway. Over hotel but we’ll maintained. Nice sheets and towels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location and large rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    one elevator for 12 floors breakfast is average not exceptional

    perfect location in the Korean Area, close to restaurant and attraction, big junior suite and large bathroom sake bar, whiskey bar in the building

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    3.3
    Hotel rates are over priced for their old and beaten facilities plus elevator cannot serve the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suites
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The elevator was over capacity any time of the day. The pillows were old already, you can see the cotton crumpling. The doors aren't new and sometimes you won't notice it's not fully closed because it's old. The staff can't resolve problems of guests complaining especially with only 1 elevator working. Hotel rates are overpriced for its old facilities.

    Free breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    3.8
    Will not stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sign said "Complimentary breakfast". It was continental. . Cookie service in the 2nd floor lounge. It was a bag of Oreos dumped onto a plate. Communication issues with the front desk not being native english speakers. Could not understand request or comments. Overnight staff was grumpy. Arrived at check out to get finalized bill, staff was yelling cuss words at the computer @ 645am.

    The location is the only thing that I liked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    7.5
    It was a convenient night out in NYC, I would likely not go back to that restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The terrible service at the restaurant/bar, and the lighting in the bath room was too much and no option to dim. I had to wait 30 minutes for a quesadilla, and that was after my first choice of oysters was not available any longer. My drinks were great and the staff was very sweet, but highly under-attentive.

    Never got to eat the eggs...lol..so I wouldn't know...They were able to accommodate a late check out, after some convincing, because of missing breakfast cut off and having terrible service at the restaurant the night before, so that really made a difference.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    7.1
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one elevator in use. Long waiting time especially in the mornings. Would appreciate less use of disposable tableware.

    Perfect location. Good selection of nice Korean restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    6.7
    Only one elevator was working and stairs were being...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suites
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one elevator was working and stairs were being renovated and therefore closed. Breakfast has only bagels, croissants, muffins, apples and some days bananas (no eggs, no bacon, no ham, no cheese...).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    7.1
    Cheap place to stay in the centre of Manhattan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    - the room was noisy due air circulation, what can not be stopped - the elevator was very slow and full every morning - they often run out of bananas for breakfast, refilling could be more often - there was sun coming in trough the closed door, not a huge issue, but could be fixed

    - Breakfast was even better than expected - Staff was very kind and cooperative when solving heating issues and other questions - nice welcome gift, many program booklets to use - very good location close to metro station and Empire State Building

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    8.3
    Beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1st floor stairwell blocked, so elevator swamped in the morning. A full elevator at floor 10 stops for people standing at every floor all the way to the bottom. Good way to make people angry! Fix Your Stairwell!!!

    Beds were comfortable. Temp set OK. Staff at tentative and pleasant. Clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room had no view, breakfast is good but simple. Cutlery and plates are plastic so a lot of garbage is being produced.

    The hotel has a great location. Close to the sites, supermarket, metro and train station. Rooms are clean and bed is good. Staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast is enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower head.

    Location was perfect! I stayed in New York for the first time for 6 nights and it made it so easy. A very short walk from a few different subway stations and walking distance from the big tourist attractions. Plus you are surrounded by lots of shopping that wasn’t near as packed as Times Square which was awesome. The room was excellent in terms of the cleanliness and the size was all you needed considering you aren’t even in the room. The bathroom was big and super clean (very important!) but the only issue I had was that or particular shower was the best (a leak in the shower head) but wasn’t a deal breaker. We also didn’t have a kettle/hot water for tea/coffee in our room but I don’t think any of them did. America in general just don’t have electric kettles in hotel rooms? However the hotel staff were more than happy to bring me a kettle full of boiling water and paper cups whenever I wanted to make a tea :) We ate breakfast downstairs everyday which was a great way to start the day. It consisted of a variety of bagels with spreads, cereals, yoghurt and fruit. I loved that it was only this much as we ate A LOT of food during our time in New York. Overall it was an awesome place to stay. Would definitely recommend and will stay again!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location and staff, would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Getting a hot shower was luck of the draw!! Only one very slow lift, can be a pain at busy times.

    Beds huge and very comfy!! Staff friendliness and location of hotel excellent. Breakfast adequate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    8.8
    New York is a wonderful discovery !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very poor breakfast: only sweet, no salty food, and really bad, served in the dishes of cardboard and plastic. However everything was served in sufficient quantity, at will and included in the price of the room. Being able to prepare a hot drink (tea, coffee or tea) in the room would be welcome.

    Staff smiling and helpful, hotel ideally placed near Times Square and room very clean. The receptionist even deserves a medal for his patience with me, as I was bothered with a credit card problem!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    8.8
    Great location with everything you need for a comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Our room was clean and large enough for 2 people. The TV had more than enough channels to entertain everyone. Breakfast in the morning was an awesome extra, so you can fill your tummy and get your day started- no bacon and eggs but the croissants were always fresh. And who doesn't appreciate fresh coffee and croissants in the morning. The staff are lovely and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    6.3
    Good Location but change the elevator please!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The elevator , they only have one elevator and during the peak times is a nightmare to reach the top floors or to go down, you can spent easily 20 minutes to go down from the 11th floor during the peak time. We organised the transfer to the airport with the hotel. We asked for a taxi and they organise it with a private driver, the agreed cost with the counter was 70$, including tips and tolls , before arriving to the airport the driver started to ask for the money, asking for 100$, we refused to pay till the arrival to the airport and we refused to pay more than the agreed price with the hotel but it was a quite uncomfortable moment. I think the hotel should not use this driver anymore and provide a taxi when we ask for a taxi.

    The location is excellent, just between the 5th and the 6th Av, just minutes away from Times Square and well connected via subway. The breakfast is ok , with bagels and croissants but no too much variety.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    10
    Perfect stay at Hotel Stanford!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. This was my second time staying st the Stanford and I’ll be back next year!!

    Perfect location, very friendly staff, strong WiFi, great coffee!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    5.8
    Excellent location, shaggy hotel, no value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Location, bed, room size (OBS it was a Delux room) excellent. Bathroom big but shaggy, tiles repaired with gaffer tape. TV had only voice guidance terrible, couldn't be removed. Breakfast was ghastly. Do yourself a favor and don't book the room with breakfast, its' thrown money. Personnel, mostly youngsters apparently under paid as there was no hint of service-mindness. There is no lobby for that matter, but merely an larger entrance. It turned out to be a Greek youngsters hotel - surely no value for the bare 200 EUR per night LOL. We regretted we didn't book next door Radisson for maybe 15 % more in price. Still the location is top notch for visiting Manhattan!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    7.5
    great location and close to 2 subway lines
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    there is only one slow elevator - in busy times (e.g. breakfast times) you have to wait several minutes for elevator when your room is on one of the upper of 12 floors.

    great location and close to 2 subway lines

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    9.6
    Great find - will be recommending to others heading to NYC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms a bit tired but didn’t matter to us at all (might do to others)

    Fab location - right in the thick of it so perfect for our needs. Really nice staff - efficient. Room was really spacious so ideal for family of four (junior suite) - and very clean. The beds were really comfy, lots of fluffy white towels, enourmous TV. The breakfast was great - unlimited continental breakfast which was ideal for a family including hungry teens! - and served in nice modern restaurant setting. Totally great all round. Fantastic value - would highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    8.3
    Amazing location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast - all throw away cutlery, plates, cups etc! We should be trying to change things. Cheese and ham for bagels would have been a good addition. Room a little dated and bed not the most comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    8.8
    Very nice, would definitely come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The AC did not work properly. the room was very hot. The elevator was sometimes very slow.

    I liked that I could park my car right across the street and was given a discount. This was wonderful and think more people will want to take advantage of this when travelling from out of state as we were.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, friendly staff and clean comfortable rooms equals The Hotel Stanford.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The thermostat did not work properly. At one point in the middle of the night it was 84 degrees in our room despite being set on Cool at a temperature of 72. We had to open the windows - it was only 30 degrees outside.

    The room was spacious, clean with a comfortable bed and fabulous shower head.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    10
    Excelent choice for its location and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was only one elevator, which was not good for waiting for it, mainly at the mornings.

    Breakfast did not have lots of options, but it was good for NYC standards. The room was big, the AC/heating syste, worked perfectly. The location was very good, just a few minutes from Times Square.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    10
    As always the beds are great the bathrooms are neat and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing serious to dislike maybe not having an ice machine lol

    As always the beds are great the bathrooms are neat and clean. Never an issue. The staff was quick and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    9.6
    Stay in NYC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilet had to be flushed twice. Shower wasn't very powerful. The bar attached to the hotel was very expensive

    Very comfortable beds and very central . Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    9.2
    Big rooms and nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast choices weren't enough

    Location was very good. Near main attraction sites and restaurants. Subway stations were a few steps away. Shopping area was just around the corner. Rooms and bathrooms were clean and large

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    9.2
    Spacious rooms with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could be improved.

    Rooms were clean and spacious. Beds were comfy. Location was great, near subway stations. Not too busy and noisy at night. Walking distance to tourist attractions and Big Bus hop on hop off stop. Staff were accommodating. Check-in and check-out went smoothly. Overall stay was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    7.5
    Good place near the Empire State Building
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The window in our room was leaky, so that the cold wind frequently blows into our room. Due to the single pane window it was very noisy inside our room during the night. Earplugs are definitely recommended.

    Breakfast was good for american standards. Service was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    9.6
    Really great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was only one problem. Just 1 elevator for all the customers , that makes really long wait sometimes. Breakfast isn't too bad, but exactly the same every days.

    Really helpfull staff Rooms cleaning service Nice location in the city, close to the cbd and subway. Internet desk for guests Good wifi

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    7.5
    The staff manager Lizzie was unbelievably accommodating and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff manager Lizzie was unbelievably accommodating and helpful when we had some problems the night before. She was understanding and fixed our problem on the spot yet thoughtfully.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    8.3
    Location king. Staff all very helpful and arranged our transportation to airport with pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one lift. Fine for us as we did not stay in the hotel much during the day but tedious during morning pre and post lunch. Especially as we were on the 12th floor.

    Good breakfast. Croissoints, tea coffee, cereal and yoghurt plenty for us. Bathroom nice, bed v comfy. Location king here. Staff very kind. Allowed us to store our bags after checkout as our flight was late. Even organised an SUV to take us to the airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, large room with a sofa - would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lift was slow - but this provided the opportunity to exercise the leg muscles by using the stairs

    The location was great - close to shopping, subways and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    8.3
    It was okay. Nothing special.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room had everything I needed but was a little small. The hallways are about three feet wide.

    Good location for every subway line you'd ever have to use.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    6.3
    Not good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The furniture was very dated. The room was lit by lamps which were not very bright. There was a shortage of power points.The room view was of a tall building opposite. The room was on the 12th floor. There was only one small lift and it took a long time to reach our floor. The breakfast was very basic continental style. The room was overpriced at 336 dollars for one night stay.

    The bed was comfortable and spacious. The room was large and had a seating area. The location was fairly central he hotel room was quiet at nighttime.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    7.5
    Good location, clean, nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is only one (and very slow) elevator. The room was old fashioned, with no natural light, and the bed had a thin blanket.

    Good location, clean, nice staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    7.5
    Room size and good continental breakfast to Start the day...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suites
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shame room 508 excuitive suite very run down, carpet well stained and sofa too, just felt it needed updating and a good clean, just took The edge off things.

    Room size and good continental breakfast to Start the day off with. Staff very friendly and very obliging in all departments

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    10
    Fab stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. It was great for value

    It was lovely and clean. Room cleaned to A* standard everyday. Reception friendly and helpful and breakfast was always topped up. Could of done with some ham or cheese for bagels though

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    7.5
    Nice staffs, bad internet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The internet was so bad during my stay. I couldn’t watch any YouTube video without stop/loading. If you want faster internet, you will need to pay $5 for 30 minutes, which I will never pay.

    The hotel staffs are super nice! They always smile and help me to open the main door when they saw me walking in with a baby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    4.6
    Excellent location. Go with very low expectations so you're not disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilet flooded twice, once flooding the entire bathroom. Front desk were less than helpful. They couldn't understand English. If we spoke Spanish or Chinese we'd have been fine. Poor knowledge of transport options both in the City and to JFK. Breakfast served on paper plates and cups with very basic food choices. The taxi from hell was supplied by the hotel to JFK. Driver demanded more fare than we'd been advised and shouted at us while taking a route via some very rough areas to save the toll fare he was demanding.This hotel has the opportunity to be a great hotel because of its excellent location, but unless some serious changes are made; including investment in the building, services and staff training, this will not happen. Hotel Stanford is a 2 star hotel in a 4 star location.

    Location was the only thing going for this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    7.5
    Hotel Stanford is a good place to stay in a convenient midtown location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only one elevator; breakfast was high carb and disappointing

    Great mid-town location; junior suite room was large and comfortable; facility was clean and the staff was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast was continental but with plenty to go at, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower pressure was on the low side .

    The breakfast was continental but with plenty to go at, the rooms are a little tired and dated however the bed was very comfortable and the room was spotless. Nice Helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    9.6
    Great place for shopping and getting around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms were sometimes a little cold, we told the staff and the temperature did improve.

    The hotel is in a great location, near shops ,the subway and in a safe location too. Staff were helpful and attentive. It was clean and functional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    7.9
    Good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the receptionists were not good at English. The number of the plug sockets in the rooms was insufficient.

    Location is great! And the breakfast is fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed it and would stay again upon returning to NY
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air conditioning in the room (and others) had issues with cooling the room but it wasn’t too uncomfortable.

    Comfortable beds, clean rooms and good breakfasts selection. Wine bar was lovely as were the whiskey and Sake bars too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    9.2
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The korean staff may not good in communication. They talk to each other in korean language and I can think they gossip their customers. Also, I'd never got their greeting back when I say hi to them.

    Location is great. It is in the korean town and easy walk to Times square. The room is good, clean and warm. A lot of good korean restaurant nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    5.0
    I didn’t like that they gave us the wrong room, I asked for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t like that they gave us the wrong room, I asked for a room for 2 adults and 2 kids and they gave us a room for only 2 adults. When I asked to change the room, they didn’t help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    7.5
    The breakfasts were very nice albeit in a confined space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfasts were very nice albeit in a confined space. Bagels and cheese are the way to start any New York day. The shower (at least in our room) was great, loads of hot water and good pressure. (i have thing about showers and their quality in all my reviews on here) and this one hits the mark for me. The bed was also very comfortable. This hotel is a definite candidate for the old "See - Saw" method, i.e good points versus bad points. It's location is ideal for the city and like i said earlier the food was more than adequate, however, the decor was in real need of a facelift with the carpets threadbare in places. The reception area is nice and bright, however the rooms although comfortable were also in need of a bit of attention. If you only need a base for sleep and a bit of a rest during your stay then the cost for the stay, breakfast and location does actually out way the overpriced wine bar (even during happy hour) on site and the somewhat long faces of the staff. All in all yes, it's an ok place to stay and would have no issues staying again should we need to.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The $30 holding fee per night ($150 in total) charged at check-in, which was not written anywhere as far as I am aware. Not automatically out back in account, have to wait a couple of days for it to clear with the bank.

    The room was clean and the bathroom was a great size it's a lovely big bath. Breakfast was a choice of bagels, muffins, cereals, yoghurt and fruit. There was also a wine bar in the hotel which had a nice vibe to it in the evenings.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms. We had to upgrade to king room for comfoort .Original room we booked small facing wall of building next door. Air conditioning didnt work.

    Location excellent. Queen room that we booked very small and very warm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    8.8
    A great central location to see all parts of New York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We did have cold water only for 2 mornings out of 10.

    Location location location. Subway resturants bars madison square penn station empire state building time square and central park all within easy walk. We had the king room, excellent sitting room with the best bed. Furniture a little old world. All spotlessly clean though. Breakfast nothing special but does the job.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    5.4
    Don’t think we would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s not the same as the pictures online , the room was horrible but they did change us when we complained, when I booked the hotel it was as listed as one with no resort fees yet we were charged

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    9.2
    We arrived early morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived early morning. Our checkin was at 3pm, but they gave us a room at 11 am once it was available. After checkout we left our luggages till 8-9 pm without any problem.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    7.9
    JUST ALRIGHT AND COMFY FOR THE BUDGET
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    IT IS OLD, SMALL ROOM, ONLY ONE ELEVATOR FOR ALL THE FLOORS, A SMALL BREAKFAST PLACE WITHOUT VARIETY, IT IS JUST OK FOR THE PRICE.

    LOCATION, THE STAFF VERY HELPFULL,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    7.5
    Good location, subway access a few steps away. Clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Sitting area would be nice to have with a small table and 2 chairs, queen room does have the space for it. Coffee maker in room would have been a nice bonus as well.

    Comfortable bed, clean, and spacious compared to the average nyc hotel room. Great cleaning staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    6.3
    Loved being with the family
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suites
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff in bar level two.17 people in our party all found them unwelcoming.They need to work on approaching all people not just Asian. The bar should be a guest bar but it was partly filled with public guests therefore not leaving seating for real guest.Down stairs is bigger so this should be a public and guest type bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bath a little small but shower superb. Only one lift so wait times were sometimes quite long. We were on 4th floor so no issues, but i wouldnt fancy the walk to the 12th if there was quite a queue

    Excellent value for money. Not luxury but far better than 'basic'. Perfect central location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    9.2
    Good place where to stay in NY. Price and comfort ratio was the best on that day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast- very limited choice. Only bagels, muffins and cereals. No any vegetable (cucumber or tomato) was served.

    Location! Between Broadway and 5th Avenue. If you stay one or two nights, very good choice. Price that we paid was very attractive for Family of 5 people.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    9.6
    New York trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed wasn't that comfortable but manageable. Room can get too hot in the night.

    Friendly staff and free breakfast. Hotel is located in a great spot easy to get to tourist attraction

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    9.6
    Thank you for comforting two 75+ adventurers in a busy, strange, city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This time I got a "modern" bathroom -- I liked the old tub/shower better (I told you, I'm old)

    Accommodating staff, late checkout, lounge, closeness to Penn Station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel with great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic location close to everything by foot and just 50m from the sub station. Quiet,clean and warm room. Comfortable bed! Polite staff. Basic breakfast. Would stay again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2018

    7.9
    Location was easy to get to and from where we wanted to go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sheets didn’t fit the bed well and TV reception was poor on most channels

    Location was easy to get to and from where we wanted to go. Breakfast was basic but fresh. Good hot shower and warm room in January. Whiskey bar and wine bar on premises

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    7.5
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small room, no wardrobe at all - there was no place for clothes! Quite outdated apartment, renovation is needed. At breakfast there was only diposable dishes - plastic plates and carton cups.

    Location is perfect. Everyday cleaning was surprising and wasn't charged. Personnel at reception was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2018

    9.6
    Convenient, clean and pleasant!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Though staff was pleasant and helpful it was often slow -- everything seemed to take a while. The shower also leaked badly which we were going to report but they came to us as it was leaking below our room!!

    Great location -- near subway, Penn station and Vamoose bus stop. Very helpful and pleasant staff. Very nice continental breakfast included. Hard to beat for price though obviously price varies with time of year and availability.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suites
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very hot and stuffy in winter, without the option of allowing cool air or at the minimum air that is not hot to blow into the room.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could be better could be improved

    Great hotel With fantastic location 2 minutos walking to empire statue bulding Walking distance to Times Square

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: