Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Starlight Inn Huntington Beach This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

18382 Beach Boulevard, Huntington Beach, CA 92648, United States of America

#15 of 16 hotels in Huntington Beach

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 344 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    5.8
    Weird strong smell woke me up, the overall look of the room was decent, could be a bit more clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff goes missing during early hours 5-6AM, making it impossible to check out before the cutoff time. Very frustrating if you HAVE to leave early and need your security deposit back (still waiting as I type this June 26th 5:17 AM)

    The price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    Front desk agent was very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Front desk agent was very nice! He Offered us a room on the bottom floor when he realized one of my friends had an injured knee. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    6.7
    Fine for a short rest, if you can't find something else. Amazing Staff, but that's about it.
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely old everything. High price. Small parking lot. Old beds. No towels, had to ask. Pillows were pretty useless and the room was actually a "smoking" room, which I didn't know even existed any longer. But the man who was so wonderful gave me a spray bottle of air freshener which helped a bit.

    The man that works there was as nice as can be. Couldn't be more kind. He was really the primary positive element about this hotel. Really nothing else to say that was so amazing about this place to be honest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    4.2
    You get what you pay for Not much to like besides the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The manager wanting a deposit and the room smelled HoRriBle Not recommended and won’t return

    You get what you pay for Not much to like besides the price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    6.3
    The staff was really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds and pillows were extremely hard and in comfortable I recommend you guys at least spend some money on better pillows.

    The staff was really nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    5.0
    Dirty room. Not worth $189. Was more like a $80 per night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was not cleaned before we arrived. Sticky counters, unwashed crusty stains on the carpet. One of the towels had brown stains on it as well. Room smelled like old cigarettes, though we requested and were assured it was a non-smoking room. The bed was hard, had cheap sheets that didn’t breath, and there were only three small pillows to split between two people, and a sheet and comforter with no extra blankets.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    4.6
    This place is why people should do research before booking hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I don't even know where to begin on this. I guess what I didn't like the most was the lack of the pool. I was looking forward to that,but unless they were talking about the plug in water fountain outside the main office, I could not find one.

    It's proximity to other places with amenities (as there were none here!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    2.5
    Frightening, unless you are looking for the cheapest place to smoke crack, then by all means...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The doors were broken and I am scared. The place smells like an ashtray. I asked for a different room, I got a non smoking room, also smelled like an ashtray. The walls need washing, there are holes in the walls where the outlets should be. There's chairs in the closet. The windows are broken and taped back together.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    7.5
    All in all it was a good stay. Since we were there for just one night it was well situated for our
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet was too close to the wall. There was very little room between the toilet and the toilet paper.

    The bed was huge but the sheets kept coming off.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    10
    Always very happy with the very courteous and prompt service from the staff and management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My wife and I enjoy staying at the Starlight in from time to time whenever we feel like getting away from our normal routine. Our last time staying at this hotel was made even more enjoyable by our housekeeper made when she in the most thoughtful way made our 4 month old baby boy his very own baby's bed out of Linens and extra pillows on top of one of the two beds in our room. Even though we had our bassinet for him we couldn't help but to utilize her greatly appreciated attempt to not only satisfy the Mrs and myself but also our little Prince Charming. We couldn't resist even though we had our best net for him the opportunity to sleep on both sides of him in his throne like bedding made by our wonderful wonderful Keeper of the home at Starlight Inn which also actually made middle-of-the-night feedings and diaper changes so convenient LOL.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    3.8
    The worsest inn I ever have in my 39 yrs in USA
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All of above.I listed all in box ( what did I like)

    Only Location,*** no tissues, no bath mat floor, very WiFi,poor fitting sheet,no private door sign,no offering coffee in the room, the worse and cheapest thin, rough towels, cheapy soap, shampoo and conditioner, very thin and rough toilet paper ever seen in my life. Even in my country better than their, pictures and description online not even close to what I saw in real. As a courtesy I should receive the whole credit back to my account.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    2.5
    It was horrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was horrible. The beds felt like you were sleeping on cardboard. There was mold in the bathroom and dirty towels when we first walked in and the employees were irritated when we asked for clean ones.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    8.8
    Adequate for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Minimal extras like soap, shampoo. squeaky beds. No blankets...just sheets and bed cover

    Lots of parking. Great location, near lots of restaurants and stores.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    4.2
    Staff made us pay extra because I had three extra friends...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff made us pay extra because I had three extra friends (who were not staying at our hotel) use my shower. Ended up costing almost the price of two rooms to stay the night there with 5 people in the room. Claimed they had camera footage of at least seven people sleeping in my room, only gave us $40 back on a $100 security deposit after I begged. We left the room spotless. Doesn't seem fair to pay an extra $60 just to let friends use my shower after a day at the beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    4.2
    Blah
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rather rude staff, problems getting the room I requested and was put in a double when I booked a king size. An disabled and requested first floor..was put on second floor.Our key card would not work after the first time so all our stuff..wallets etc were locked in the room..and the door never did get fixed. So 1 of us had to stay in the room all the time. There was a frozen beer in the freezer, and poop on the base of the toilet.The pillows were like bricks shoved in a bag. Bed was hard and springy.

    There were no roaches and it was fairly quiet.. good sized TV

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2018

    8.3
    Will use this place again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coffee is not good for you... So no in room coffee is not a problem. I do not RATE according to terms and guidelines....I rate according to feelings and experience.... If you do not like MY ratings... Don't ask.

    Just the basics... exactly what we needed..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    4.6
    Poor customer service, disgusting rooms with stained bed sheets and duvet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The woman that runs the hotel during the night was very rude. There was throwup on the floor of our room when we arrived and it reeked like puke. The best she told she could do was refund our money and check us out but we had been drinking so we had to stay. We got back to the hotel around 9pm and were sitting outside talking with our neighbors. Went to bed around 10 and she felt the need to come pound on our door until we answered as we were already in bed, to tell us that she was going to call the cops because she heard people fighting. There was no fighting happening?

    Our neighbors were friendly, and seemed to have the same ideas about the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    4.2
    I made the mistake of choosing the cheapest hotel in Huntington Beach. Spend a little extra!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cigarette burn holes in the comforter, dirty room, internet did not work, television did not work...I felt dirtier and more tired leaving the hotel than when I arrived.

    There are no positives to this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    10
    checked in 10pm, checked out 5am (transit stay)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    i liked everything, but floors are white ceramics, no carpet. a bit low end. nothing fancy, yet, decent to feel safe with bags, sleep confortable.

    its an inn, the reception is glass window room, bank looking security, then you have rooms, not fancy, clean and cable tv, quiet, area is good part of huntington beach. is very close to 7 eleven and nothing out of the ordinary, i cheked in at 10pm and left at 5am, transit for taking my flight to LAX. has microwave, refrigerator.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    9.6
    Great nights sleep at a great price.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The window in the bathroom was loose, so you hear it moving all night. Nothing that closing the bathroom door couldn't handle.

    Great place to stay for the money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    10
    If your rich and snobby don't stay here because people like you give small guys bad names.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi was slow but we didn't really stay in the room much and bathrooms were kinda small.

    The cleaning ladies were awesome they keep the rooms clean and had no problems with them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking lot had homeless people living in their cars. There were drugs being sold on the property parking lot as well. Children ages 14 - 21 were staying at this hotel Terrible experience. They also charged an additional $100 fee, that I cannot get them to refund.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    5.4
    It was short and uncomfortable because we didn't know how clean the room actually was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows already had hairs on them, and we didn't really know how clean the rest of the room was. It was also dusty and dirty around the windows. Windows were also pretty dirty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    4.2
    Yuck
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We got the 3rd story and no elevator. Toilet paper you could read through. The bedspread was dirty and\ or stained and no blanket.The bathroom mirror belonged in a circus. No facial tissue. The shower was so low you had to bend over. But the water presser was good. Mold on the short curtain and shower.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    9.2
    It was ok for a 1 night lots of places to eat.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Did not like paying for ice and there was a man spray painting his truck with a can of spray(fumes). People parked their cars in the handicapped parking and sleeped in their vehicles. I think people live there like an apartment. Bottom floor those people where up all night making noise. We left at 5:30 in the morning could not sleep.

    It was ok for a 1 night lots of places to eat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2017

    5.0
    Take your own sheets and pillows!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows were awful! It was like sleeping on cardboard. My neck and shoulders were in so much pain. Didn't sleep the entire night. Not to mention there was no fitted sheet on the mattress. So gross. I don't k i.e. Who's been on it.

    Looked clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    2.9
    Buyer Beware - Spend alot 4 Worst Hotel Ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More expensive than any of the other hotels we stayed in on our trip with no amenities, room was hit because air is not left on, only a shampoo packet and mini bar of soap. They also charge .50 for ice!

    Nothing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    3.3
    Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room had a moldy smell, bathroom toilet seat kept falling off. Wifi does not work. Noisy, had to keep a/c on all night to keep out noise but a/c was so noisy it was hard to sleep

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    5.0
    It's a dump but it's cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Certain TV channels are intelligible, the toilet is too close to the wall (poor install), the place needs a complete remodel.

    This place is a dump, but it's cheap for an O.C. So that's why I stay here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2017

    2.5
    The location is the only great thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Front desk was rude. The hotel had live in tenants (yes multiple tenants, I counted at least 3) that would watch you. When going up the stairs, a person living on the 2nd floor (which also works at the front desk) went up to the 3rd floor when I walked past the 2nd floor onto the 3rd floor and watched me walk into my room. It was very weird. Also they only had basic cable, like the kind you get with an antenna and the wifi that they offer wouldn't work. It was too slow to even load my news feed on Facebook.

    I like that it is 3 miles from the beach. Location is the only nice part.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    6.3
    It is convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely hard bed. Pillows like a rock, no coffee, no soap, no blanket-just sheet and bedspread, no shampoo, They could not possibly have found thinner toilet paper. Room looked clean until you closed the bathroom door. It was obvious that no one had cleaned behind the bathroom door for quite some time. Not a deal breaker but---

    It was available and close to where we wanted to go. Nice size room, enough parking, easy to get in and out. It was quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2017

    7.9
    Life's a beach !
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No pets allowed .

    The new gourmet coffee machine which was accessible in the office 24/7 and offered quite a good selection of tasty coffee ... like having a mini Starbucks w/o the baristas.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect bang for your buck!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking lot is kind of small but very close to rooms.

    It was a good size room, good size bed, clean, had a mini fridge and microwave. Great room for the price i paid in a perfect location!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows are flat. There were 2 towels but no hand towels or washcloths.

    It was very quiet, the people next door had children and I only heard them when they were outside walking past.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2017

    10
    Excellent Reception THRU to the Final Departure.
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a question I am quite Befuddled in finding an answer regarding this & previous Visits.

    The Room was nice and clean. I would have no reservations in saying the Room & All its Furnishings are well Above Standard compared to the Competition in this Area. The Previous Statement INCLUDES the EXCELLENT ASSISTANCE of the Professional Management & Staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2017

    8.8
    Precious Cheap Gem, Family run hotel , a great Deal for the price!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staircase steps needs repairs.

    The family run business took such pride in the old 3 story motel. They gave us a choice of a joining rooms, replaced our lost key free w a smile and had a modern designer coffee/cappuccino machine in the entry way. The rooms were simple but clean, new TV's and fast wifi.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2017

    6.5
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is little overpriced for what it is . I understand it's in Huntington area .but it is still kinda motel . It's clean, staff could be more friendly .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2017

    3.8
    If you're picky this isn't for you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel didn't even have water for purchase and you have to pay for ice. Mold on ceiling of bathroom and someone's leftover hair was in the shower. I doubt the bathroom was even cleaned.

    If you just want a place to sleep for a brief visit then this place is fine. Sheets appeared to be clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2017

    2.9
    The worst place every
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above.

    Did not like anything about it, noisy, sheets had stains or grey spots, TV had 1 channel. Terrible people outside making noise nobody reprimanded them, doors slamming at 2 and 3 in the morning. We will never stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    7.9
    Great restaurants near but a long way from the besch
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too far from the beach a good hours walk and a taxi back cost 30$ including the tip

    Near shops and restaurants quiet area no homeless not afraid to go out at night

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    7.5
    Quiet night getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows are flat, not even good when doubled up.

    The bed was amazingly comfortable, this last stay was in a recently renovated room. The shower had the best water pressure of any hotel I've stayed in.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2017

    7.9
    Good value for the money. Very helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not the most comfortable. The rest of the accommodations were satisfactory. It was a bit noisy at times.

    The manager was most accommodating and responded immediately and rectified the situation when called upon. The room was fairy nice, the bed was a bit uncomfortable but it is a good value for the money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2017

    3.3
    Not much to like about this former motel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a clean barebones dive. Look for something for a bit more money.

    Not much to like about this former motel. Bed like a rock. Clerk spoke broken English. Really just a band change, old motel info still posted.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2017

    2.5
    Never Again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was so cheap and gross. My room had not been cleaned even though they said my room was ready. There were spilled drinks and crumbs on the countertops that didn't get cleaned off. The room had a very gross scent to it and I wasn't comfortable with the people that were staying in the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    2.5
    Wouldn't recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were awfully disgusting. It smelled like smoke. There were nails on the ground and bugs flying around in the room. There was construction on the roof so it was really loud consistently. House keeping didn't even come clean our room. The staff and management team of this hotel rigged me and my friends and took our money and they yelled at me for no reason. This place needs to be shut down.

    nothing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    2.5
    Worse customer service
    • Couple
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lady voided my transaction then she told me it was okay to stay then her husband i never talk to him that night locked my room. Overall they wanted to double charge me and left me with no money.

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2017

    7.1
    affordable, clean enough and quiet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    bit of mold on bathroom ceiling. nbd. office smelled like curry, but like tasty sutting on the stove smell. front desk guy was kinda rude to my gf for vaping outside on the second floor, dont really understand why. said to smike downstairs only. idk.

    it wasnt as big of a hovel as i anticipated from previous reviews. its was clean, sheets were washed NOT full of bed bugs like yelp said, bed wasnt bad at all. quiet location. 5 min from main st

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2017

    2.9
    Horrible customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The customer service was absolutely horrible. My reservations were lost and I was made to feel blamed for booking.com/ the property loosing them. The beds were stiff as a board, the property smelled, and the toilet was broken when we arrived. When we arrived there was a customer who was also having issues with their reservation (mind you, it was 1230 at night) I definitely wouldn't recommend staying at the hotel. The only positive was that it was less than two miles from the beach.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2017

    10
    The room was very well decorated and appointed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WIFI connection could have been faster.

    The room was very well decorated and appointed. It was sparkling clean. The front desk clerk was very welcoming, helpful and had a good sense of humor. I think this is an excellent hotel and the price was more than competitive for the area. I will be staying there again, and highly recommend it to other travelers. It is close to the beach, has many restaurants and shopping that is within walking distance. Parking was great as well ! David Smith

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2017

    7.5
    Idk why some peoole rate this place bad by saying it's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's starting to get pricey. I usually stay Saturdays and they would charge me $85-$90 today I called wanting to make reservations for tomorrow lady said it would be $100 +tax, NO thank you!! You have lost a loyal customer.

    Idk why some peoole rate this place bad by saying it's dirty, that theres roaches ans bugs. I have stayed several times (possibly more than 7 times here). I have NEVER seen bugs or roaches in any of the rooms I've stayed in. The only thing I can say that I don't like is the funky smell (like Indian odor) but it's tolerable, at least for me.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2017

    10
    The Room was Clean and Very Tidy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When encompassing the Area, Room Rates and Staff Accommodations, I have NO COMPLAINTS. I'm Looking Forward to my next visit/

    The Room was Clean and Very Tidy. Staff were very Congenial. The Area is most Accommodating when in search of Restaurants with Varied Cuisine. 5 Points Shopping Center is walking Distance and they have one of the Best Jewelers in 25 Miles. Sporting Goods and excellent Clothing Stores

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2017

    6.3
    will not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No dresser. On our 2nd night there about 10pm a couple tried to come in our room. I then got a call from the front desk and a knock on the door from mgr. We paid for 3 nights I showed my receipts I will never stay there again also the bed was hard

    Clean and good location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2016

    6.7
    location was great and close to my work site
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    heater in room did not heat up, a lot of traffic noise, room was not finished with renovations exposed lighting wiring. Sign is Rodeway and does not say starlight

    location was great and close to my work site

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2016

    6.3
    Great in a pinch, but look around if you can
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a bad smell. There wasn't a fitted sheet and the flat sheet that was used was too short to fold under the head and foot of the bed. We had to remake the beds from the bottom up.

    There was a small fridge which worked well.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2016

    5.0
    it was a cheap hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very tired and dated motel (no longer called the "starlight"). The windows were broken, and the in room services were zero. The wifi didn't work. You get what you pay for.

    it was a cheap hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2016

    2.5
    Run or stay at your own peril
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I made a reservation requesting a room on the first floor because I'm handicap. I was assured I would be placed on the first floor. When I arrived to check in I was told the only room available was on the third floor. The clerk appeared not to know what he was doing and fumbled around a lot. From the outside the place looked like a dump and not very appealing to the eye. The lobby if you want to call it that was no better. Booked a room at Motel 6 and it was awesome. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Lobby was immaculate.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2016

    10
    Good location, clean room, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no elevator for a three level motel.

    Clean room and the staff was very accommodating with our request for a ground floor and non smoking room. I found the staff to be very friendly over the 3 days of our stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2016

    4.2
    Not the best place to stay!
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Starlight Inn as represented on the web and through general information IS NOT the Starlight Inn. This hotel is ACTUALLY a Roadway Inn. I stayed at a Crowne Plaza in August in FL, a King Suite with all amenities and extremely clean for only a few dollars, $4.00, more per day. You really need to do your due dilligence when advertising these places to ensure they are truly as described. I view your ads as false advertisement.

    The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2016

    6.7
    For over one hundred dollars, they could at least give you a "free" cup of coffee in the morning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No "free" coffee in the morning in the lobby at this place. It will cost you one dollar for each cup of morning coffee.

    Location met my needs.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2016

    7.9
    Good for one night type of hotel! But overall friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom door was broken, so it wouldnt lock.

    They let us do extended check out, which was great. it looks like they just remolded because there was a ton of old furniture out in the parking lot.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2016

    5.0
    :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beside the obvious low score on cleansliness the business is actually called the Roadhouse inn. So at first I could not find it. If I initially knew it was called that I would of never booked it because I have had a negative experience with Roadhouse inn before. For a night at the beach for a birthday. It was pretty bad

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2016

    7.1
    Comfortable bed and pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A/C not working so well. Could probably be fixed easily. Didn't mention it to staff since it wasn't too hot both days we were there.

    Comfortable bed and pillows. Office staff were accommodating and nice. Fridge and microwave. Large closet area. Proximity to beach-short 10min or less drive. Good for a night or two stay near the beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2016

    5.0
    Cheap motel.. you get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleanliness lacked in comparison to your average hotel. There was a group of small flies hanging around the sink, the room smelled a little funny and being a hospitality manager myself, I could tell the hard to reach places weren't being cleaned.

    The price allowed us an affordable place to stay, and we had the king size bed which was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2016

    10
    Great stay very close to the beach!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More parking would have been nice but it is manageable.

    The bed was extremely comfortable. Nice for family with small children. The whole place was super clean great price for being so close to the beach, there is a walmart right down the street. I give this place 5 stars all the way. I stayed at a well known brand hotel the RAMADA the day before I stayed here for the same price and it sucked! I wish this hotel was closer to disneyland because I would have stayed here my whole trip!! Awesome awesome awesome!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2016

    7.9
    Clean convenient reliable courteous accommodating...
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little outdated furnishings but for the dollars charged a good value for spending the night

    Clean convenient reliable courteous accommodating refrigerator

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2016

    3.3
    Honest review -Read before booking!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like the glass in the parking lot, the 2 gun shots in the parking lot at night, the holes burned into the bed comforter that smelled like urine, the sink that couldn't be used due to the clogged drain, the 5 inch drywall hole in the bathroom. The 1 inch thick pillows and hard beds didn't help either. Talking to the staff about all of this was worthless. They are foreigners who definitely have a different idea of what a quality hotel is all about. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again even if they paid me double what I paid them for my stay. Any positive reviews for this hotel are either guests from a poor 3rd world country, or just completely made up and bogus altogether.

    I've been trying to think of something we liked about this place for about 20 mins now, and there really is absolutely nothing at all that we liked about this hotel. Nothing!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2016

    5.0
    Staff were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The website said it had a pool and the photos indicated that. Was told by the owner that the photos were of the Westin down the road and not the Starlight. The name change was also confusing - now called the Rodeway.

    Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2016

    4.6
    Not bad, definitely not worth the money paid.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price gouging during the US Open of Surfing was unfortunate. There's nothing that would make this hotel room worth $260.00 per night, ever.

    The new carpet was nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2016

    4.6
    Before you stay at Starlight check the mattress firmness to spare your back some pain!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mind you I've checked in this hotel three times before and in all three instances, the mattress that I had was normal. This time around I arrived late around 8:30 p.m. I was extremely tired. By the time I had transferred all of my personal effects from my car to the second floor where my room was located, I was ready to straight to sleep. When I was already in my sleepwear, I laid down on the bed and my back felt like iit was touching a concrete floor. I fell asleep nevertheless. The next morning I woke up with a nasty lower back pain. When I went to the office to request the receipt, I asked the gentleman what we could possibly do about that and he replied "you should have brought this issue last night" Even if you're a customer and you have to go out of your way to be comfortable, there's a problem. I've stayed at 5 star hotels for this same price where your experience is always guaranteed to be a good one. I gave this person at Starlight to redeem himself but his greedy attitude causes this type of review.

    Location is conveniently located. Staff process check-in quickly. Location feels safe.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2016

    7.5
    close to all the beaches for a good price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows were flat. BRING YOUR OWN PILLOWS. No elevator. Had to carry huge uce chest up 3 levels of stairs.

    Nice clean room. The AC, microwave, and refrigerator worked great!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2016

    2.5
    Discusting
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That place is disgusting I couldn't sleep because there were bugs the air conditioning didn't work it was horrible don't stay there it's nasty

    There was nothing I liked about that property I paid $283 for a total dump it was filthy it was small and there were bugs in the room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    6.7
    It was decent for location
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was dirty like

    The t.v. and staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    6.7
    The location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Is kind of a cheap motel but they charged a lot of money

    The location was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    2.5
    Staff is trying to make money on everything .
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    10
    Great costumer service
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great costumer service

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: